Loading
to

Portimao Reviews

David from Portugal
Morgado on Mon, 10th Jan 2022
Excellent course and views.
The course was in very nice condition and the greens were faster than we thought when we started out. All in all we had a great day and thoroughly enjoyed playing Morgado and look forward to coming back soon.
Ian from United States
Alto Golf on Mon, 10th Jan 2022
Alto golf
Great condition, well kept, would recommend. The course does not overly penalise the average golfer on a wayward shot.
Petra from Germany
Penina Championship on Tue, 4th Jan 2022
Fine difficult course
A nice , difficult course with a lot of Bunker
Jerome from France
Penina Championship on Wed, 8th Dec 2021
Disappointing
« Old course » . Too much ditches crossing the fairways Maintenance seems poor and the greens are in trouble compared to the courses around Faro . Good welcome .
Josette from Portugal
Morgado on Thu, 2nd Dec 2021
Morganite golf
Course well kept and pleasant staff.
Ermanno Masa from Italy
Penina Championship on Sat, 27th Nov 2021
Buon livello
Bel campo tenuto bene e divertente. Ottimo rapporto qualità prezzo.
Volker from Germany
Alamos on Fri, 26th Nov 2021
Ungepflegter Platz
Ungepflegter Platz, Deutlich schlechter als vor 2 Jahren. Für den Zustand nicht gerechtfertigte Greenfee-Preise.

Ich werde diesen Platz nicht mehr spielen

Jonathan from Portugal
Penina Resort on Thu, 25th Nov 2021
Good all-round 9 hole
Long 9 hole course, good value for money, walkable and less busy.
Andy from Canada
Alamos on Fri, 19th Nov 2021
Worst course so far
A 5 hour 15 minute round with no rangers in sight. Awful! To add to that misery all the on course washrooms were locked, so not a very friendly course for ladies. Will not be back.
Roger from United Kingdom
Alamos on Thu, 18th Nov 2021
Average, bit pricey for an average course
Bit dry & boney!
Jeffrey from Portugal
Penina Resort on Wed, 17th Nov 2021
Penina resort course played November 2021
Course very dry due to lack of rain, but greens were fast although some showing significant wear and tear. Pace of play was good with no hold ups. This is a good course for practice but at €40 per person is overpriced.
James Deakin from United States
Alto Golf on Wed, 10th Nov 2021
A nice course to play!
A beautiful course! We loved it and can’t wait to play again.
Andrew from Ireland
Alamos on Mon, 1st Nov 2021
Superb condition, great greens and fairways.

Play was slow on the day though but that is similar with all courses at that time of year.

Rene from Switzerland
Alto Golf on Mon, 1st Nov 2021
Not the best in the Region but a good price.
Matthew from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Wed, 27th Oct 2021
Interesting layout and in good condition. Food could have been better in the clubhouse afterwards to improve the overall experience.
Mark from Ireland
Alamos on Mon, 25th Oct 2021
Alamos Course
Very friendly and helpful staff. Course was a little rough around the edges. Not much help in terms of distances when on fairways. Very acceptable greens in good condition. The pathways for the buggy’s were a little dangerous in some areas due to unfinished surfacing. All in all a very enjoyable days golf.
Lena Bohman from Sweden
Alamos on Wed, 13th Oct 2021
Too slow!
I agree-a marsall is necessary! Very,very slow today! We had to wait at least 10 min on each tee! After 14 holes we gave up, so far we had played for 4 hours and 20 minutes.

The condition is not good: very bumpy roads, fairways and greens could be better.

Finin Mac a Bhaird from Ireland
Morgado on Sun, 10th Oct 2021
Excellent with great greens
Henry from United Kingdom
Morgado on Fri, 8th Oct 2021
A very enjoyable coarse that we found fair but not penal, (21 to 28 handicaps).

Well maintained & the greens were superb, interesting 14th hole!!!

Well worth playing again.

Malcolm Fisher from Portugal
Penina Championship on Thu, 7th Oct 2021
Now a disgrace
I’ve been coming to Penina for 25 years and never seen the course in such poor condition.

It is a disgrace the way this ex championship course has been allowed to fade into mediocrity.

There is nothing about which I can be positive. Both fairways and greens are in very poor condition, and there are leaks to the watering system all over the course.

You know things are bad when even the Pro Shop staff warn you the course is in bad condition!

I just hope that someone does take over the hotel and course and spend the £millions it needs to restore it to its former glories.

Stuart from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Wed, 6th Oct 2021
Very nice condition, tight drives & small greens, a great test of golf highly recommended.
Marion Bakker from Portugal
Penina Resort on Sun, 3rd Oct 2021
Holes with a lot of space
Nice course but because of the long dry summer the grass was brown and difficult to play.
Jenneke from Netherlands
Alamos on Sat, 2nd Oct 2021
Where is the Marshall ….
The course needs a Marshall…. Slow play by Britts with hangover. Shame because course is nice and well kept.
Andre from Portugal
Alto Golf on Fri, 1st Oct 2021
Challenging course with good price compared to Vilamora courses
Andreas from Portugal
Alto Golf on Thu, 30th Sep 2021
Quit good
Andreas from Portugal
Alto Golf on Thu, 30th Sep 2021
Quit good
John Hampson from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Tue, 28th Sep 2021
Needs some attention
Course was somewhat untidy, and very worn in parts. Greens needed a little bit of attention in places.

Nevertheless the course is a good test of golf, with tight fairways, and tricky greens.

Lesley from United Kingdom
Alamos on Mon, 27th Sep 2021
Alamos not at its best
The course was in poor condition and I found the buggy paths a problem. I have a knee injury which means I need a buggy and with the “entrance “ to the fairway the best part of 200m from the . This meant I had to walk some considerable distance on each hole. I admit I didn’t ask if I could have a blue flag ( I have had this previously at Boavista) which would have allowed me more access to the fairway.

I have played Alamos before and the set up was different and the course was in much better condition- not sure I would go back

Susan from United Kingdom
Penina Resort on Sun, 26th Sep 2021
Disappointing
What a disappointment this was. I’ve played on better municipal courses! It definitely wasn’t worth the money
Susan from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Sun, 26th Sep 2021
A great day
Excellent course all round. Well maintained and lovely club house. We were made very welcome on arrival. Really enjoyed playing here
Del from India
Alto Golf on Fri, 24th Sep 2021
Fun Course
Course was in generally good condition - there were some very wet spots - but the greens had just been punched and sanded, so the putting was difficult.
Richard from United Kingdom
Morgado on Thu, 23rd Sep 2021
Always good to come back to Morgado!
Always enjoy Morgado and whilst we do have a 4.5 hour round we were happy to play at this rate.

Greens really good but one criticism is the untidy areas around the bunkers front and back.

Nearly lost a ball in long grass just in front of the bunkers but all round a good track!

Paul Woodward from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Tue, 21st Sep 2021
Woodward Party
Lovely course with tight fairways - and looked after properly which seems to be the Pestana way.

A proper members club and all staff were friendly and very helpful

Roger from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Great day
We had a great time playing a late afternoon round. The course was in good condition and the greens where super challenging
john from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Nice course
Pleasant reception staff, starter efficient and had been with the course since inception. Greens good fairways good, we teed at 8.30 and didnt catch anyone up, nor were we holding up anyone. Would recommend
ROGER BOWDEN from Portugal
Penina Resort on Wed, 15th Sep 2021
Penna is not up to standard
Very sorry to say that this course in very poor condition.

The greens are very bumpy and the fairways are up to the of most municipal courses.

Do not waste your money playing here.

Stuart from United Kingdom
Penina Resort on Wed, 15th Sep 2021
Nice course but needed maintenance
Bit disappointed with the over all conditions of the fairways on the 12.9.21 .

Decent enough course with some nice long holes and a good challenge for mid handicap golfers.

ROGER BOWDEN from Portugal
Morgado on Sun, 12th Sep 2021
Holidaying in the Algarve
Excellent
Martin from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Sat, 11th Sep 2021
Great course but greens were awful and whole course looks tired and in need of some investment. Staff food and facilities all excellent.
John from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Sat, 11th Sep 2021
Alto golf
Course in great condition, greens excellent. First time played would definitely revisit .
John from Portugal
Morgado on Fri, 10th Sep 2021
Good greens and fairways good test of golf
ROGER BOWDEN from Portugal
Penina Resort on Mon, 6th Sep 2021
A good experince at Penina
Very friendly staff. The resort course, which we had booked, was in very poor condition. After playing 9 I voiced my concerns tp Maria at the golf desk and we were having lunch Maria approached us and said we could complnatary use of the use of the championship course. A good outcome for us.
Neil from Portugal
Penina Championship on Thu, 2nd Sep 2021
Penina course review
I had been warned about the condition of the course in July, but thought there should have been enough time for things to improve. Unfortunately the greens have not been taken care of as there is invasive grass and damage on all of the greens and they were bumpy and difficult to putt on. Having played other courses in the area recently this course is sadly behind on repairing them.

This course has a long history and pedigree but needs some TLC.

Frans from Portugal
Penina Resort on Wed, 1st Sep 2021
Nice golf but the fairways ……!
This golfcourse needs maintenance, because the fairways were not in good condition.
John from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Sun, 29th Aug 2021
Overall a good course, challenging but lacking maintenance, debris about, layout ok but some tee points lacked hole information boards, and distance markers. Some greens a bit tacky and patchy. Val de Lobo Ocean and Old Course much better quality.
Stuart from United Kingdom
Morgado on Fri, 27th Aug 2021
Great open course
Lovely open course with a really nice relaxed flowing layout.

Buggy or trolley works as it's open enough to enjoy a good breeze everywhere.

Visually let down with the half constructed accommodation blocks but these will get done at some point.

Gary from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Sun, 22nd Aug 2021
Great course just not looked after
I’m really sorry to write this,could be an absolute fantastic course,unfortunately the maintenance standards were extremely poor,firstly refreshment facilities were non existent,general public just walking and jogging the course , no consideration for the paying golfer,the greens must be the worst on the algarve,leaves and debris all over,

This was the poorest experience I have had in all my algarve holidays

Susanne from Sweden
Alto Golf on Wed, 18th Aug 2021
We liked it!
Very beautiful course with various challenging holes. The grass is different than at home in Sweden so you have no roll. But nice greens and a wonderful day made us very happy!
Allen Hirons from United States
Penina Championship on Sun, 18th Jul 2021
Meeting Henry Cotton
Played there on vacation in the mid-70s with my parents. I recall playing on Christmas Day and Henry Cotton was in the pro shop and took our greens fees. Seeing him was a great honor. I remember that more than the golf course.
Stephanie from Portugal
Morgado on Wed, 2nd Jun 2021
A lovely golf course
A lovely golf course with very well maintained fairways and greens, amidst stunning scenery. And very nice, reasonably priced food at the restaurant. Wouldn't hesitate to return.
Stephanie from Portugal
Alamos on Wed, 2nd Jun 2021
Challenging for a beginner like me
Quite a tricky course for me being an inconsistent golfer but I would go again as it was very enjoyable and the scenery is stunning. Very well maintained fairways and greens.
Marco from Germany
Morgado on Mon, 31st May 2021
Nice but not the best
I am the first time playing in Portugal . Morgado was the last of 5th courses i played. It is much nicer than Álamos but not so nice than Alto - Gramacho or Silves. The price of 30 Euro was ok.
Marco from Germany
Alamos on Mon, 31st May 2021
You pay what you get for
I am the first time playing in Portugal . Alamos was the last of 4th courses i played. It is not nice and wast of time . Place number 5. I only pay 30 Euro - thanks god
Joerg Krames from Germany
Alamos on Mon, 31st May 2021
Wide fairways and nice views on the landscape
we played the course last year in February

I have to say the greenkeeper did an excellent job in the meantime

outstanding price value

will be a challenge if it get warmer

Joerg Krames from Germany
Alto Golf on Mon, 31st May 2021
Beautiful old trees and some challenges
Excellent fairways as well as the greens

Due to the lay-out - some holes are close to a residential area - some fairway are small

The greenfee is on the upper side but worth it

Johan from Portugal
Penina Resort on Fri, 21st May 2021
Boring and bad
Boring and badly maintained
Dave from Italy
Penina Championship on Mon, 10th May 2021
Historic course near Portimao
Very nice course but once you get of the fairway the grass is high and not forgiving. Very beautiful historic layout mostly flat but with some tough approaches with bunker and water hazards. Overall, we really loved the course!
Mathias from United States
Morgado on Sun, 25th Apr 2021
Perfect fay on a perfect course
Played Morgado a few times before, however this time, the course was in perfect shape. Tour like greens and very good fairways. And with am unbeatable price the day was great despite the early start.
Peter from Portugal
Morgado on Thu, 8th Apr 2021
Very good course in and well-kept condition. Good price and very friendly people, 100% recommendation
Andre from Portugal
Alto Golf on Wed, 13th Jan 2021
Super golf très bien entretenu. Réservation très facile et peu chère (twilight).Parcours long mais relativement facile.

Golf Destination

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Portimao page's or to connect with other people who play golf in Portimao, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.