Loading
to

Portimao Reviews

Erin from United Kingdom
Morgado on Fri, 18th Sep 2020
Morgados - 3 stars but beautiful course
Beautiful course, however I don't think it was very well organized. I was playing in a two ball and we were told to start on the 10th tee (I can't imagine why given what happened). When we got back around to the 1st tee there were multiple four balls in front of us that made pace of play VERY slow. After 4.5 hours we had only been able to make it through 15 holes and unfortunately had to leave in order to make a (very) late lunch reservation. When you are paying this much money to play a course I think it's reasonable to expect to be able to finish all 18 holes in under (or at least around) 4 hours. If you aren't playing in a four ball I would make sure to inquire with the clubhouse about what groups are in front of you.
Tony from Portugal
Morgado on Tue, 15th Sep 2020
Morgado GC
Good layout & features with great greens really enjoyed the round and good value for money T.L.
Alan from United Kingdom
Morgado on Fri, 11th Sep 2020
Nice course
My second time at Morgado and pleasantly surprised at the course condition (early Sept). The back nine opens up a little more than the front and has some spectacular holes.
Alan from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Fri, 11th Sep 2020
Penina Championship - good course
Playing Penina Championship you can be forgiven for thinking that you are in the UK (in summer of course). A really good tree-lined layout and not too difficult a walk as the course isn't hilly. Definitely worth a visit.
Paul Rimmer from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Tue, 8th Sep 2020
P. Rimmer
Good course and well maintained. Definitely play again.
Timothy from Portugal
Penina Championship on Fri, 28th Aug 2020
Not worth the money
Clearly the course is not being properly looked after. The greens are pretty mediocre and very, very slow.

There is a general air of neglect.

Sadly, it's definitely not worth paying €154 for 2 players with a buggy.

Dirk from Germany
Penina Championship on Sun, 23rd Aug 2020
Platz bräuchte dringend eine Pflege
Platz bräuchte dringend eine Auffrischung

Schade drum würde ich keinesfalls empfehlen

Dirk Oehle from Germany
Penina Championship on Sun, 23rd Aug 2020
Nette Wiese die dringend Pflege benötigt
Platz ist in einem miesen Zustand. Faiways kommen eher einer Pferderennbahn entgegen

Das Gras um die Bunker lange nicht mehr gemäht von der Länge zu urteilen mindestens 6-8 Wochen

Als Fazit nette Wiese die dringend Pflege benötigt

Gaetan Guillermou from France
Alamos on Tue, 4th Aug 2020
Very good course , some hole very difficult and require a good technic , the landscape is wonderfull, long fairway as well, i have spent a good time. Probably one of the best golf course in the area
Mark Kirkman from United Kingdom
Morgado on Wed, 29th Jul 2020
Good golf course in excellent condition throughout. Reception very pleasant and driving range excellent and good value for range balls. No discount for juniors but we played at reduced rate anyway due to the Covid situation. Overall very enjoyable
Gaetan Guillermou from France
Morgado on Mon, 27th Jul 2020
nice course , medium difficulty to play
Ian from United Kingdom
Alamos on Thu, 23rd Jul 2020
Midday round.
Great value round. Big greens and very smooth. One or two holes need more water but it’s been very dry.
Lorrainne from United Kingdom
Morgado on Sun, 12th Jul 2020
Lovely course
Nice course, the front nine lulled us into a false sense of security as the second nine were significantly more tricky. Overall, a very enjoyable round.
Klaus-Dieter from Germany
Morgado on Fri, 20th Mar 2020
long and relatively flat course without any spectacular layout i. e. design but in good overall condition. Enjoyable for higher hcp
Klaus-Dieter from Germany
Alamos on Fri, 20th Mar 2020
Family course
Not as long as the Morgado course and a bit more effort made in the design.
Armin from Germany
Penina Championship on Wed, 11th Mar 2020
A reasonable round, fairways with many divots, greens o.k. Friendly Service.
Michael from Sweden
Alamos on Tue, 3rd Mar 2020
Short, tricky and very good but difficult greens
Short but tricky golf course in very good shape apart from tees. The greens are in very good condition but extremely difficult. The rest of the area could be in little better shape.
Martin from Portugal
Morgado on Fri, 28th Feb 2020
One of the nicest courses you’ll play in Europe.
Martin from Portugal
Morgado on Thu, 20th Feb 2020
Full power!
I like this course. Very long but you can always use the driver and go for it.

Wide fairways and good greens.

Daniel from Slovakia
Alamos on Thu, 13th Feb 2020
All ok...
Daniel from Slovakia
Morgado on Thu, 13th Feb 2020
All ok..
Allison from Canada
Morgado on Tue, 11th Feb 2020
Morgado
Wonderful course fun to play and wonderful people
William from United Kingdom
Alamos on Tue, 4th Feb 2020
Bill Stoker Stocksfield golf. Club
Enjoyed playing the course it getting better as the years go by. Greens in great condition whether that's got something to do with Margodo and Alamos hosting some pro comp. However I was pleasantly surprised
Carol from Ireland
Penina Championship on Thu, 23rd Jan 2020
Very disappointed
Very disappointed. Course in poor overall condition.

Pace of play extremely slow. After just over 4 1/2 hours of waiting,waiting and waiting...and only 16 holes played ,we gave up!!

At no stage did a steward come round and try to speed things along.

Our 2nd time playing here and definitely last!! Never again will we waste money here.

Tapio from Portugal
Morgado on Mon, 20th Jan 2020
Morgado
Great course, in good condition. Generous areas, it is always easy to find the ball. Staff was friendly, but some more knowledge of English in the restaurant is desirable.
Tapio from Portugal
Alto Golf on Sat, 18th Jan 2020
Alto
Very difficult an tricky course, often narrow. In my opinion there are too many holes that you have to play upwards against the greenes. In reality, that makes the course much longer then the distance on the score card. The staff in the reception and restaurant are friendly and servicemindet
Petra from Germany
Alamos on Sun, 5th Jan 2020
Quitly, Naturell Place
A quitly Place with tricky fairways.. very Naturell.. wonderfull View, Not crowed

Not easy

Gerlinde from Austria
Alamos on Mon, 30th Dec 2019
Lots of landscape!
Nice, beautifully landscaped course. Not very tricky, but a joy to play.
Manfred from Portugal
Morgado on Sun, 8th Dec 2019
Ok
Jukka Ahtinen from Finland
Alamos on Thu, 5th Dec 2019
The golf course was surprisingly diverse. The Greens were brisk and fast. Nice experience. Thank you
Jukka Ahtinen from Finland
Alto Golf on Mon, 2nd Dec 2019
Well maintained golf course. The fairways require a good opening because they are quite narrow. Greens are fast but in good shape. Club cozy.
Alan from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Mon, 25th Nov 2019
Not the best of days.
Bit wet to really appreciate the course, the greens looked good however not swept of water, many par 3s same length, overall lovely walk and sure course has seen better days,. Real issue is paying 150 pair and the being asked for handicaps ( we were 6 &11) paired with another couple who struggled to often get off the tee., very slow and extremely frustrating. More care needed by course when taking bookings and matching pairs, get the impression it’s grab the money and who cares about the enjoyment.
martin from United Kingdom
Morgado on Fri, 22nd Nov 2019
Real Challenge.
Course was in great condition when we played mid November. Glorious fairways, huge bunkers and fast greens made for a real challenge. Didn't take advantage of all the facilities due to pressure of time hence only 4 stars, otherwise perfect days golf.
Steve from Portugal
Penina Resort on Wed, 6th Nov 2019
Small resort course ( 9x2)
Good course for starting with on a vacation. Greens are good but very flat, not hard to read. Fairways are flat and wide. Not a big challenge, can be played easily in around 4 hours unless allowed to get overloaded.
Robert from United Kingdom
Morgado on Mon, 4th Nov 2019
Lovely course in great condition
Lovely course in great condition. We played off the yellow tees which made the course a little too easy, so would have liked the option to play off more difficult tees but they were not marked. We hired clubs (old Nike woods, irons and putter), they were OK but not as good as I would have expected and have seen at other courses.
Mauricio from Norway
Alamos on Mon, 28th Oct 2019
Excellent course with a lot of water hazard. The greens was really good. Some dry areas on the tee. A great excperience!
Marc from Belgium
Alamos on Fri, 25th Oct 2019
Ok
Marc from Belgium
Alto Golf on Fri, 25th Oct 2019
Ok
Wayne from Portugal
Alto Golf on Thu, 24th Oct 2019
Alto greens were okay, fairways need some work. The course is a tight layout causing some worry of errant shots.
Andy Cutler from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Mon, 21st Oct 2019
Mr Cutler
Both myself and my playing partner were disappointed in the condition of the course, practise areas were still covered in dew at 9am.

General upkeep of the course made it look quite tatty, not what we were expecting considering the green fees, Oceanica courses around Vilamoura all put this course to shame.

As for the course layout, we found it to be a good challenge with some interesting holes, just let down by the shabby state of the course and facilities, just not worth the money.

Knut from Norway
Alto Golf on Sun, 20th Oct 2019
Oki course
Nice round
Jeff from Ireland
Alamos on Wed, 16th Oct 2019
Alamos
87.50 for a course that’s v average and in poor nick!

Greens have an issue of some kind.

Tees brought very forward...... holding up play even more as one waits for some par 4s greens!

Course generally in poor nick/ v dusty turf.

Colin Hayes from United Kingdom
Morgado on Tue, 15th Oct 2019
The fairway fringe rough was unplayable for average golfers if you were slightly off line it was to punishing. This is one course we will not be playing again
paul from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Sat, 12th Oct 2019
Penina
Excellent course, traditional design.
Keith from United Kingdom
Alamos on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
Don’t bother.....
Despite teeing off on time, it took 3.5 hours to play just 12 holes and it completely ruined the game and we walked off. Far too many groups playing. The groups in front of us were playing Texas scramble which should be quick but they were holding us and others up on every hole. The marshal said he would sort it out but nothing improved.

We complained to reception but they wasn’t interested.

jaap from Netherlands
Alto Golf on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
Horrible
Terrible reception, no buggies and dry fairways. Not nice at all
Mr from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Tue, 8th Oct 2019
Challenging Course
Difficult but challenging course . Accurate driving required. Greens in good condition that require a high level of skill to score well.
Gary from United Kingdom
Morgado on Mon, 7th Oct 2019
Very slow , arrived for tee time 30 minutes early , to be told there is a 25 minute delay due to the course being busy , waiting every hole ,

Cramming golfers in to make money, will not play again

Marc from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Mon, 7th Oct 2019
Good first days play.
Fairly narrow and challenging course, good value for money when taking advantage of 2 player and 1 buggy deals. The only gripe would be the course management were unorganised when it came to collecting buggies. I would be keen to play here again.
David Bigelow from United States
Alto Golf on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
Bigelow Group Review
Well designed resort course, in good condition, however some fairways were overwatered. Nice setting with being able to see the ocean from a couple of view points. Would play again but seemed a bit expensive for the experience.
David Bigelow from United States
Alamos on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
Bigelow Group Review
Obviously a well designed course, visually pleasing and challenging, but was in poor repair the day we played it. Dry in many places, several greens had patchwork of new turf that had not been rolled correctly. We were especially disappointed that no one mentioned the toilets on the back nine were out of order - with no alternative provided - not good for the ladies in our group.
CYRILLE GUERY from France
Alamos on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
Correct mais beaucoup mieux en Algarve
Terrain correct mais monotone toujours les mêmes paysages bordés de palmiers terrain plat sans surprise

bien entretenu greens corrects

Ian from Ireland
Alamos on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
Not great. 10 min queues in every timebox
Daniel from Portugal
Alto Golf on Tue, 24th Sep 2019
The course is in good condition. The service is very good . Thank you !
Brendan from United Kingdom
Alamos on Wed, 18th Sep 2019
A nice course with some interesting holes. They had suffered with a lack of rain this summer which meant that some of the fairways were a little brown, which didn’t affect the golf and the course gave us a free drink due to this which was a nice touch! A good course with plenty of character.
Freddie from Ireland
Alamos on Tue, 17th Sep 2019
Terrible
Played 13 Sept. terrible condition. No grass anywhere but for a few greens. Stay away from it. Treated poorly by staff as a EuropeanTour event on. We paid too much to be treated that way.
Freddie from Ireland
Alto Golf on Tue, 17th Sep 2019
Played 15th Sept. Very wet underfoot. Greens and tee boxes good.
Philip from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Mon, 9th Sep 2019
Pleasant course...very heavily watered in places..which meant no run on the ball..

Played 2 nd September..

Felt the green fee of 134 euros for 2 players and 45 euros for a buggy very steep ...would not do again at that price

Jean Pierre from Portugal
Alto Golf on Sun, 8th Sep 2019
Très joli parcours
Parcours très intéressant à jouer ..le plaisir était au rdv entretien terrain parfait accueil sympathique
Martin from United Kingdom
Alamos on Sun, 8th Sep 2019
Martin Smith
The course is suffering from the lack of water so many fairways are brown and dried out. Greens still ok

Golf Destination

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Portimao page's or to connect with other people who play golf in Portimao, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.