Loading
to

Portimao Reviews

David from United Kingdom
Alamos on Tue, 9th Apr 2019
Super sister course of Morgado, well presented when we played on 3rd April, fast greens and well presented course. Hardly anyone on the course when we played so speed of play was great
Philip from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Thu, 4th Apr 2019
Penina Phil
The Course was in fantastic condition (although a little tidying up required around the edges) and the weather was good to us. A great experience to play at a famous course. Will certainly be playing the course again and will book it through yourselves.
Kevin from United Kingdom
Alamos on Sat, 30th Mar 2019
Course in good condition and strong winds made play challenging. Greens very difficult and even the best of approach shots can be penalised.
Marilyn from United Kingdom
Penina Resort on Sun, 10th Mar 2019
Course a bit rough in places but a good one for a warm up playing holes twice
Harry from Portugal
Alamos on Mon, 25th Feb 2019
Alamos a Hilly Course
Very hilly course. Not good for walking. Could be in better condition. Friendly staff.
David from United Kingdom
Penina Resort on Sat, 16th Feb 2019
Nice to have two goes at the nine holes trying to improve on the first nine score albeit off slightly different tee positions. Greens more like we are used to.
Sylvie from France
Alamos on Thu, 14th Feb 2019
Golf service all a long the course.toilettes on the courses.bar service as Well.for the course it was Nice à bit dry fairway and very fast greens surrounded by bankers fairly technic. Long holes and the distance between the starters are long.i recommend a buggy
Libor from Czech Republic
Alamos on Mon, 11th Feb 2019
Below the average
Missing clubhouse (shared with Morgado course, but too far from holes 1 and 18). Only one functional toilet on the playground, the rest was closed. Long gradients with rocky surface, unsuitable for walking players. The layout of the course does not allow playing nine holes only.
Claus-Peter from Portugal
Morgado on Mon, 11th Feb 2019
Morgado needs much more maintenance
Greens in very good condition. Fairways far too dry. Looks that one saved water. Also in front of greens many areas were repaired.
Peter from Germany
Alto Golf on Wed, 6th Feb 2019
Quite narrow course in decent shape
Found the course a bit too narrow.
Peter from Germany
Morgado on Wed, 6th Feb 2019
Very poor shape. Not worth the money
Course was in a miserable shape! Fairways completely dry and brown. Ares around the greens partly without any grass.
Harry from Portugal
Alamos on Fri, 25th Jan 2019
Alamos golf is challenging
Very friendly staff. Course conditions not great. Greens were fun generally the course is very challenging. Directions to course are none existent. Our GPS took us on a terrible dirt road.
Jonathan Rutledge from Poland
Alto Golf on Wed, 2nd Jan 2019
Good winter golf
Nice course. Narrow with small elevated greens. A few pins in unfair places. Enjoyable.
AlgarveGolf.net
Great photo, thank you Jonathan
Carol from Ireland
Alto Golf on Mon, 31st Dec 2018
Nice course
Nice course and no issues with slow play which was great.
Carol from Ireland
Penina Championship on Mon, 31st Dec 2018
Very slow.
Lovely course but very, very slow.....nearly 5 hours to play a round!
Anders Waldebrant from Sweden
Alamos on Thu, 20th Dec 2018
Nice course , quick play ( no players )
Jukka Ahtinen from Finland
Penina Resort on Sat, 24th Nov 2018
Cource
Good 9 hole course, greens a bit soft, just playable course. 200 m par 3 was challenging. thank you
monty from United Kingdom
Alamos on Mon, 12th Nov 2018
Very slow play.
Course Ok but course management very poor, played 3 holes after over one hour. A round of golf should not be over 5 hours.
Frank from United States
Penina Championship on Tue, 30th Oct 2018
Penina Championship Course
We found it well kept and at times, challenging. We would certainly play there again.
Paul from United Kingdom
Morgado on Mon, 29th Oct 2018
Good holiday course
Good holiday course with rough that isn't too penal. Greens weren't great as had been dressed recently. A big course so you probably need a buggy if it's hot. Nice club house, good place to eat.
Marc
Alto Golf on Sun, 28th Oct 2018
Perfect ,very pleasant to play
Paul from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Tue, 23rd Oct 2018
Super day out
Super day out on an excellent course.
Irene from Switzerland
Penina Championship on Sun, 14th Oct 2018
Beautiful scenery in park style, some demamding holes.
keith from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Wed, 10th Oct 2018
Alto golf course
Best course for the price in Portugal
Alan from United Kingdom
Morgado on Fri, 5th Oct 2018
Morgado. A good test.
Very enjoyable, a proper test of golf with some long holes, as well as some that will punish a stray shot.
Alan from United Kingdom
Alamos on Fri, 5th Oct 2018
Alamos. A course for everyone
Probably one of the easiest golf courses on the Algarve but great fun. Some interesting holes which make you think about your tee shot and approach.
Terry from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Sat, 29th Sep 2018
Could not fault it , great course , and hospitali
Fantastic course
Keith from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Fri, 28th Sep 2018
Looking very tired maybe due to so many people playing but its a nice challenge especially if you haven't experienced it. Our group will probably give it a miss next time.
Fernando from France
Alto Golf on Mon, 24th Sep 2018
Good moment
Very pleasant . Course well maintained staff very pleasant
Alison
Alamos on Sun, 23rd Sep 2018
Good all round course
Lovely course, friendly and helpful staff. Was challenging in places but everyone loved this. Would highly recommend for medium to high handicap players.
Alison
Alto Golf on Sun, 23rd Sep 2018
Worth a go.
Difficult course, narrow tree lined, I enjoyed it but the people I played with did not. It is not a well kept as the Vilamoura courses but is significantly cheaper.
David Moore from United Kingdom
Alamos on Wed, 12th Sep 2018
A challenging layout
Geoff from United Kingdom
Alamos on Thu, 6th Sep 2018
Disappointing condition of a good course.
I have always been a fan of both Morgado and Alamos courses particularly the back nine on the former and the front nine on the latter. However I was disappointed on this visit in the condition of the course. The greens were slow and there was little definition between fairway and rough. Of greater concern was the amount of long coarse grass on the approaches and surrounds to the greens which made it look scruffy. I didn't understand why these areas hadn't been treated with a product like Rescue to kill off the invasive species. I am sure it just needs some care and attention to bring it back to normal.
Andrew from United Kingdom
Morgado on Thu, 6th Sep 2018
Greens were in poor condition as the course had been closed for maintenance. In fairness we were offered to play on the sister course (Alamos) as an alternative. Good layout with nice variety of hole layouts. Would recommend
Andrew from United Kingdom
Alamos on Thu, 6th Sep 2018
Really nice course, would definitely recommend hiring a buggy as its a long course to walk!
Christian from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Tue, 14th Aug 2018
Great course design and conditions.
Beautiful old style course. Lovely design and conditions great. A little more pricy than others but a worthwhile visit.
Chris Munro from United Kingdom
Alamos on Mon, 13th Aug 2018
Superb round at Alamos!
Alamos is a superb course with plenty of challenging and fair holes. The views are really nice and the course was in excellent condition. The only reason this doesn't get 5 stars is that the greens were extremely slow. The growth and coverage on them was superb, but they were more like really short fairways. However it didn't detract too much from the day as in most cases you could get aggressive with shots at the flag.

The clubhouse is really nice with a terrace over looking the driving range and some of the holes from the Morgado course. The food and drink was excellent.

Ronald from Portugal
Alto Golf on Wed, 8th Aug 2018
Alto August 2018
Course in excellent condition for the summer months with greens rolling well
Peter from Portugal
Alto Golf on Mon, 6th Aug 2018
Excellent course. Sufficiently difficult but little chance of losing your ball. Very good condition although some of the greens could do with a bit of attention.
Stewart from Portugal
Morgado on Sat, 4th Aug 2018
Really good back 9. Front 9 a little less inspiring but still a decent track.
richard from United States
Penina Championship on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
Don't Waste Your Money
Where do I start?

I played Penina about 20 years ago and remember it being a great course. Not anymore.

The greens had been hollow tined and sanded, but the course didn't think this was important enough to provide a discount or even let us know in advance.

They put us out on the 10th unnecessarily. Courses are designed to be played 1 through 18.

We were a 4-ball and as part of the terms and conditions the course reserves the right to make your group, if smaller, up to a 4-ball. Why then did they put multiple 2-balls behind us (all residents), therby putting us under constant pressure? During the round we let 4 groups through but this never relieved the pressure and we had to stop doing this as there was a never-ending stream behind us champing at the bit. Ther is no way that they were allowing 8 minutes between tee times.

The course itself is looking rough around the edges and they are obviously not carrying out enough mainenance. This was in evidence when one of my group thinned a ball into the face of a bunker only for the bunker to gobble it up. The lip of the bunker had, what can only be described as the bristles of a baleen whale (look it up) hanging down from it. In 30 years of playing golf I have never seen this happen before on any course, anywhere. The only way to retrive the ball was to rake under the bristles with an upturned club until it fell out. Find that one in the rules!

Finally, the staff are completely apathetic and customer care is not high on their agenda.

Paul Dix from United Kingdom
Alamos on Thu, 26th Jul 2018
Decent
Decent value for money, short and tight course with some nice and intersesting holes. Worth playing as part of a golf holiday but not as a main event I would suggest ...
Bjorn Egertz from Sweden
Penina Championship on Mon, 23rd Jul 2018
Old dull course
After 9 holes the course feels dull. Fairways not good with kind of rough gras.
Bjorn Egertz from Sweden
Alamos on Mon, 23rd Jul 2018
Alamos a nice course
Very good course. A little easy and not that long from yellow but really fun and good.
Stephen from England
Alamos on Mon, 23rd Jul 2018
Staff very friendly and course in excellent condition
Stephen from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Thu, 19th Jul 2018
Great historic course - just a shame greens were on maintenance week.

also buggies were not included but we believed they were.

Miikka from Belgium
Penina Championship on Thu, 12th Jul 2018
Our first time on Penina Championship course. Greens were with a lot of sand and under aeration, thus putting was not that much fun. Course itself is technical with perfectly placed water hazards and numerous bunkers. Old eucalyptus trees give a nice smell to the air. Although flat and without fantastic manoramas, it is very interesting for golf itself!
Martyn from United Kingdom
Alamos on Mon, 9th Jul 2018
Good condition but slow play
Course in great condition. Fairly short but means that you have to play for position rather than just smashing it. We were stuck a few groups back of a 40 man society. Very slow play.
Lee
Alto Golf on Sun, 8th Jul 2018
Alto golf course
Make sure you wear a collar!! But

What a little cracker of a course .

If you keep the ball in play from the tee you have a chance to hit all of the small two tiered greens in regulation ,but beware if you are on the wrong side of the hole 3 Putts are likely ,that’s a warning all of the greens are in fantastic nick but visitors really need to repair their Pitch marks thats just laziness.

All in all a fantastic course

Lee Meldrum 15 handicap

Caledonian golf club

Carnoustie

Karen from United Kingdom
Alamos on Thu, 5th Jul 2018
Álamos Golf Course
Very pleasant welcome, good hire equipment, well signed and nIce scenery. Greens were slow, bunkers need raked, long distance between holes. All in all nice course.
Philip from United Kingdom
Alamos on Thu, 5th Jul 2018
Alomos review
A very nice course although greens were a little hit and miss. No water to contend with. Well worth a visit.
Josephine from Portugal
Alto Golf on Fri, 29th Jun 2018
First time playing Alto Golf & Country Club
Pretty well maintained fairways, not challenging but a relaxed round of golf. Weather was perfect the day we played with a breeze and sun behind the clouds.
Tony Clements from United Kingdom
Morgado on Mon, 25th Jun 2018
6 of us played Morgado and we loved it. The course was demanding as it was windy when we played. Nice layout, but more of a links/moorland feel, compared to the typical resort courses on the Algarve. Would like to play it again on a less windy day.
Maurice Murphy from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Wed, 20th Jun 2018
Played 10-27 course was in great condition
Neill from Portugal
Morgado on Wed, 20th Jun 2018
Played alto golf 3 years ago and 2nd time playing Morgado in 2 years course in grear condition both timesand is good challenge for golferss of all handicaps
jeffrey hogg from United Kingdom
Morgado on Mon, 18th Jun 2018
The course is good value for money - but - they had lost our tee booking - squeezed us in - the course has a general air of being unkept - in particular balls going into the first cut can easily be lost - altogether disappointing - won’t be going back
Josephine from Portugal
Penina Championship on Sun, 17th Jun 2018
1st time playing Penina Championship.
Pretty course and well landscaped. Mature course with trees that can provide shelter yet a pain if your balls land anywhere below the trees. Bad experience was we started at hole 10 as it was a busy day and after hole 18, we went to hole 1. When we got there, a lady came up and said to us “You play fast? Did you book?”. She was quite obnoxious and I said this was our 2nd 9. I also said if you play fast, you can go ahead as this is our first time playing here. She mumbled something and her husband said is better we proceed as they are walking and we have a buggy.
Josephine from Portugal
Morgado on Sun, 17th Jun 2018
1st time playing Morgado
Great course!! Wide fairways but rough is treacherous!! Very dense and swallow the balls even though the grass is not tall. Trees are not mature enough to provide shelter from the heat. Best play in cooler months.
CARL from United Kingdom
Morgado on Wed, 13th Jun 2018
slow greens
course inexcellent condition except for one major issue, the long and fluffy slow greens, never putted on slower, i know the greens were recovering from the recent open but these should let people know, have enjoyed it previously
Phil from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
First golf holiday - 8 Lads
Great course to play on. Superb greens. Very pleasant staff, went above and beyond for us.

Golf Destination

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Portimao page's or to connect with other people who play golf in Portimao, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.