Loading
to

Portimao Reviews

Paul Woodward from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Tue, 21st Sep 2021
Woodward Party
Lovely course with tight fairways - and looked after properly which seems to be the Pestana way.

A proper members club and all staff were friendly and very helpful

Roger from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Great day
We had a great time playing a late afternoon round. The course was in good condition and the greens where super challenging
john from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Nice course
Pleasant reception staff, starter efficient and had been with the course since inception. Greens good fairways good, we teed at 8.30 and didnt catch anyone up, nor were we holding up anyone. Would recommend
ROGER BOWDEN from Portugal
Penina Resort on Wed, 15th Sep 2021
Penna is not up to standard
Very sorry to say that this course in very poor condition.

The greens are very bumpy and the fairways are up to the of most municipal courses.

Do not waste your money playing here.

Stuart from United Kingdom
Penina Resort on Wed, 15th Sep 2021
Nice course but needed maintenance
Bit disappointed with the over all conditions of the fairways on the 12.9.21 .

Decent enough course with some nice long holes and a good challenge for mid handicap golfers.

ROGER BOWDEN from Portugal
Morgado on Sun, 12th Sep 2021
Holidaying in the Algarve
Excellent
Martin from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Sat, 11th Sep 2021
Great course but greens were awful and whole course looks tired and in need of some investment. Staff food and facilities all excellent.
John from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Sat, 11th Sep 2021
Alto golf
Course in great condition, greens excellent. First time played would definitely revisit .
John from Portugal
Morgado on Fri, 10th Sep 2021
Good greens and fairways good test of golf
ROGER BOWDEN from Portugal
Penina Resort on Mon, 6th Sep 2021
A good experince at Penina
Very friendly staff. The resort course, which we had booked, was in very poor condition. After playing 9 I voiced my concerns tp Maria at the golf desk and we were having lunch Maria approached us and said we could complnatary use of the use of the championship course. A good outcome for us.
Neil from Portugal
Penina Championship on Thu, 2nd Sep 2021
Penina course review
I had been warned about the condition of the course in July, but thought there should have been enough time for things to improve. Unfortunately the greens have not been taken care of as there is invasive grass and damage on all of the greens and they were bumpy and difficult to putt on. Having played other courses in the area recently this course is sadly behind on repairing them.

This course has a long history and pedigree but needs some TLC.

Frans from Portugal
Penina Resort on Wed, 1st Sep 2021
Nice golf but the fairways ……!
This golfcourse needs maintenance, because the fairways were not in good condition.
John from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Sun, 29th Aug 2021
Overall a good course, challenging but lacking maintenance, debris about, layout ok but some tee points lacked hole information boards, and distance markers. Some greens a bit tacky and patchy. Val de Lobo Ocean and Old Course much better quality.
Stuart from United Kingdom
Morgado on Fri, 27th Aug 2021
Great open course
Lovely open course with a really nice relaxed flowing layout.

Buggy or trolley works as it's open enough to enjoy a good breeze everywhere.

Visually let down with the half constructed accommodation blocks but these will get done at some point.

Gary from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Sun, 22nd Aug 2021
Great course just not looked after
I’m really sorry to write this,could be an absolute fantastic course,unfortunately the maintenance standards were extremely poor,firstly refreshment facilities were non existent,general public just walking and jogging the course , no consideration for the paying golfer,the greens must be the worst on the algarve,leaves and debris all over,

This was the poorest experience I have had in all my algarve holidays

Susanne from Sweden
Alto Golf on Wed, 18th Aug 2021
We liked it!
Very beautiful course with various challenging holes. The grass is different than at home in Sweden so you have no roll. But nice greens and a wonderful day made us very happy!
Allen Hirons from United States
Penina Championship on Sun, 18th Jul 2021
Meeting Henry Cotton
Played there on vacation in the mid-70s with my parents. I recall playing on Christmas Day and Henry Cotton was in the pro shop and took our greens fees. Seeing him was a great honor. I remember that more than the golf course.
Stephanie from Portugal
Morgado on Wed, 2nd Jun 2021
A lovely golf course
A lovely golf course with very well maintained fairways and greens, amidst stunning scenery. And very nice, reasonably priced food at the restaurant. Wouldn't hesitate to return.
Stephanie from Portugal
Alamos on Wed, 2nd Jun 2021
Challenging for a beginner like me
Quite a tricky course for me being an inconsistent golfer but I would go again as it was very enjoyable and the scenery is stunning. Very well maintained fairways and greens.
Marco from Germany
Morgado on Mon, 31st May 2021
Nice but not the best
I am the first time playing in Portugal . Morgado was the last of 5th courses i played. It is much nicer than Álamos but not so nice than Alto - Gramacho or Silves. The price of 30 Euro was ok.
Marco from Germany
Alamos on Mon, 31st May 2021
You pay what you get for
I am the first time playing in Portugal . Alamos was the last of 4th courses i played. It is not nice and wast of time . Place number 5. I only pay 30 Euro - thanks god
Joerg Krames from Germany
Alamos on Mon, 31st May 2021
Wide fairways and nice views on the landscape
we played the course last year in February

I have to say the greenkeeper did an excellent job in the meantime

outstanding price value

will be a challenge if it get warmer

Joerg Krames from Germany
Alto Golf on Mon, 31st May 2021
Beautiful old trees and some challenges
Excellent fairways as well as the greens

Due to the lay-out - some holes are close to a residential area - some fairway are small

The greenfee is on the upper side but worth it

Johan from Portugal
Penina Resort on Fri, 21st May 2021
Boring and bad
Boring and badly maintained
Dave from Italy
Penina Championship on Mon, 10th May 2021
Historic course near Portimao
Very nice course but once you get of the fairway the grass is high and not forgiving. Very beautiful historic layout mostly flat but with some tough approaches with bunker and water hazards. Overall, we really loved the course!
Mathias from United States
Morgado on Sun, 25th Apr 2021
Perfect fay on a perfect course
Played Morgado a few times before, however this time, the course was in perfect shape. Tour like greens and very good fairways. And with am unbeatable price the day was great despite the early start.
Peter from Portugal
Morgado on Thu, 8th Apr 2021
Very good course in and well-kept condition. Good price and very friendly people, 100% recommendation
Andre from Portugal
Alto Golf on Wed, 13th Jan 2021
Super golf très bien entretenu. Réservation très facile et peu chère (twilight).Parcours long mais relativement facile.
Marie from Portugal
Alto Golf on Tue, 24th Nov 2020
Ok
Jari from Portugal
Morgado on Thu, 12th Nov 2020
Nice golfing place
Nice not too challenging course, although par 73. Not much water.
Juergen from Germany
Alto Golf on Mon, 9th Nov 2020
Interesting Course
Very interesting Course. Really not boring. Unfortunately we played after few days of rain and the condition was special.
Nigel from United States
Penina Resort on Fri, 6th Nov 2020
Three old gits on a golfing week in the Algarve
This course was in dreadful condition.

Wild boars have caused damage in many areas but that wasn't the main problem.

The fairways were patchy in place (i,e, with no grass), and had weeds growing out in other places. It appears that they hadn't been watered for weeks.

The greens were consistent, save for one which was a temporary one, caused by boar damage on the real green.

Overall, it appears the Pennina Group ploughs its funds into the championship course and ignores the Resort course.

Very disappointing.

We will never return.

Patrick from Portugal
Alto Golf on Tue, 27th Oct 2020
Belle journée sur ce beau golf, en plus avec le soleil.

Dernière journée de golf en Algarve, il faut songer à repartir en Guadeloupe...nous reviendrons jouer sur ces beaux golfs.

Philip from Portugal
Alto Golf on Sat, 17th Oct 2020
Course in really good nick. Twilight rate must be the best value on the Algarve.
Eric from Netherlands
Morgado on Sat, 17th Oct 2020
Long, challenging, yet very enjoyable course
Friendly and helpful staff, long and well designed course. Fairways could use some water, but played in mid October so to be expected that there would be dryness. Grass was still very solid to play off and greens were immaculate condition.
Christophe from France
Alto Golf on Wed, 14th Oct 2020
Très bon accueil.
Deux fois neuf trous, différents, mais vraiment très sympa à faire, je conseille vraiment.

Très bon accueil.

Patrick from Portugal
Alto Golf on Tue, 13th Oct 2020
Superbe partie de ⛳️ 🏌️‍♀️ sur un beau parcours. Le personnel du golf est très accueillant et fait tout pour nous êtes agréable.

Nous reviendrons faire une partie la semaine prochaine.

Patrick from Portugal
Alto Golf on Fri, 9th Oct 2020
Beau parcours nous nous sommes bien amusés, un peu fatiguant aussi, mais heureux d’avoir passé une bonne après-midi.

Nous referons ce parcours mardi prochain avec grand plaisir.

Angela from Portugal
Alto Golf on Wed, 7th Oct 2020
Alto - We will come back
Alto is in good condition. The course has quite many similar holes finishing with the greens on a height. Still I enjoyed playing it.
John from Portugal
Alto Golf on Wed, 7th Oct 2020
Alto 2020 oct
Nice course to play easy to get round fairways burnt in places, greens OK some in need of work, warm welcome from staff not a bad day out
Fintan from Ireland
Morgado on Sun, 4th Oct 2020
A Gentle Test
Played on 4.10.20. Course in v good condition although greens are slow. First time playing here.....course is a gentle test and both my wife and I were a bit flattered by our scores. A resort course that does not beat you up.

.

Erin from United Kingdom
Morgado on Fri, 18th Sep 2020
Morgados - 3 stars but beautiful course
Beautiful course, however I don't think it was very well organized. I was playing in a two ball and we were told to start on the 10th tee (I can't imagine why given what happened). When we got back around to the 1st tee there were multiple four balls in front of us that made pace of play VERY slow. After 4.5 hours we had only been able to make it through 15 holes and unfortunately had to leave in order to make a (very) late lunch reservation. When you are paying this much money to play a course I think it's reasonable to expect to be able to finish all 18 holes in under (or at least around) 4 hours. If you aren't playing in a four ball I would make sure to inquire with the clubhouse about what groups are in front of you.
Tony from Portugal
Morgado on Tue, 15th Sep 2020
Morgado GC
Good layout & features with great greens really enjoyed the round and good value for money T.L.
Alan from United Kingdom
Morgado on Fri, 11th Sep 2020
Nice course
My second time at Morgado and pleasantly surprised at the course condition (early Sept). The back nine opens up a little more than the front and has some spectacular holes.
Alan from United Kingdom
Penina Championship on Fri, 11th Sep 2020
Penina Championship - good course
Playing Penina Championship you can be forgiven for thinking that you are in the UK (in summer of course). A really good tree-lined layout and not too difficult a walk as the course isn't hilly. Definitely worth a visit.
Paul Rimmer from United Kingdom
Alto Golf on Tue, 8th Sep 2020
P. Rimmer
Good course and well maintained. Definitely play again.
Timothy from Portugal
Penina Championship on Fri, 28th Aug 2020
Not worth the money
Clearly the course is not being properly looked after. The greens are pretty mediocre and very, very slow.

There is a general air of neglect.

Sadly, it's definitely not worth paying €154 for 2 players with a buggy.

Dirk from Germany
Penina Championship on Sun, 23rd Aug 2020
Platz bräuchte dringend eine Pflege
Platz bräuchte dringend eine Auffrischung

Schade drum würde ich keinesfalls empfehlen

Dirk Oehle from Germany
Penina Championship on Sun, 23rd Aug 2020
Nette Wiese die dringend Pflege benötigt
Platz ist in einem miesen Zustand. Faiways kommen eher einer Pferderennbahn entgegen

Das Gras um die Bunker lange nicht mehr gemäht von der Länge zu urteilen mindestens 6-8 Wochen

Als Fazit nette Wiese die dringend Pflege benötigt

Gaetan Guillermou from France
Alamos on Tue, 4th Aug 2020
Very good course , some hole very difficult and require a good technic , the landscape is wonderfull, long fairway as well, i have spent a good time. Probably one of the best golf course in the area
Mark Kirkman from United Kingdom
Morgado on Wed, 29th Jul 2020
Good golf course in excellent condition throughout. Reception very pleasant and driving range excellent and good value for range balls. No discount for juniors but we played at reduced rate anyway due to the Covid situation. Overall very enjoyable
Gaetan Guillermou from France
Morgado on Mon, 27th Jul 2020
nice course , medium difficulty to play
Ian from United Kingdom
Alamos on Thu, 23rd Jul 2020
Midday round.
Great value round. Big greens and very smooth. One or two holes need more water but it’s been very dry.
Lorrainne from United Kingdom
Morgado on Sun, 12th Jul 2020
Lovely course
Nice course, the front nine lulled us into a false sense of security as the second nine were significantly more tricky. Overall, a very enjoyable round.
Klaus-Dieter from Germany
Morgado on Fri, 20th Mar 2020
long and relatively flat course without any spectacular layout i. e. design but in good overall condition. Enjoyable for higher hcp
Klaus-Dieter from Germany
Alamos on Fri, 20th Mar 2020
Family course
Not as long as the Morgado course and a bit more effort made in the design.
Armin from Germany
Penina Championship on Wed, 11th Mar 2020
A reasonable round, fairways with many divots, greens o.k. Friendly Service.
Michael from Sweden
Alamos on Tue, 3rd Mar 2020
Short, tricky and very good but difficult greens
Short but tricky golf course in very good shape apart from tees. The greens are in very good condition but extremely difficult. The rest of the area could be in little better shape.
Martin from Portugal
Morgado on Fri, 28th Feb 2020
One of the nicest courses you’ll play in Europe.
Martin from Portugal
Morgado on Thu, 20th Feb 2020
Full power!
I like this course. Very long but you can always use the driver and go for it.

Wide fairways and good greens.

Golf Destination

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Portimao page's or to connect with other people who play golf in Portimao, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.