Loading
to

Vale do Lobo Royal Reviews

Scott from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd Oct 2019
VVDL Royal course is truly outstanding
Probably 4 if the tightest opening fairways I have ever played. Exceptional course with some real course management required.

Best course I have played in Algarve 👍👍⛳⛳

Joerg from Germany
on Tue, 24th Sep 2019
wonderful course but extremly slow play in front of us. the regulate by the marshall was too late
Mark from United Kingdom
on Sat, 21st Sep 2019
Great to Play
This is a great course. It plays like a links course. The pine trees are not encroaching on the fairways like so many courses. The bunkers can be trying but generally a lovely course to play
Michael from United Kingdom
on Thu, 19th Sep 2019
Beautifully maintained.
Beautifully maintained and managed course. Extremely courteous and helpful staff.

Great day on the golf course.

Tony from Ireland
on Sat, 14th Sep 2019
Fabulous course in a great location
Eoin from Ireland
on Mon, 9th Sep 2019
Very tight track with out of bounds on most holes..not suitable for the high handicapper..course in good condition though
grant ritchie from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Sep 2019
Grant
Great course , 5 star facilities and are welcomed every year by the staff.

This is my favourite course in the Algarve as I always score well 😂😜

Adam from Portugal
on Sun, 1st Sep 2019
Good as usual
Always a good round and plenty of easy on the eye holes, not in bad condition. Maybe a little busy but not complaining when the sun is out!
david bates from United Kingdom
on Sat, 31st Aug 2019
Excellent course

Good challenge

No wind meant the signature 16th just needed a good straight shot

Roderick from Netherlands
on Wed, 28th Aug 2019
Excellent golf course
Great course to play and in a perfect condition!
simon nash from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Aug 2019
Excellent course and service
Gareth from United States
on Sun, 11th Aug 2019
Great views
Fantastic course with great scenery and views. Signature 16th amazing hole (see photo).
Charlie from Portugal
on Wed, 26th Jun 2019
Quality course
Best golf course I have ever played. And I have played some amazing courses all over the world. Top notch! Well worth a game.
Arend Koster from Netherlands
on Tue, 25th Jun 2019
Good maintained course, not to difficult, but nice plating there; the 16th hole is off course a must play at the Royal Course; the only thing is that a lot of holes are between the house so keep straight
James from Ireland
on Sun, 23rd Jun 2019
excellent
Dougie from United Kingdom
on Sun, 16th Jun 2019
Lovely Course
Great course in fantastic condition.
giles from Russian Federation
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
Great course but day spoiled by groups of very slow players. No intervention by course stewards. Over 5 hours.
Cliff from United Kingdom
on Mon, 3rd Jun 2019
Will return, only 4 star due to lack of sand in left bunker on 16th.
Chantal from Portugal
on Sat, 1st Jun 2019
Well maintained
Well maintained. We walked but next time we take a buggy because sometimes there is a lot of distance between the holes. Greens were good but not really quick. Played at 3 p.m and did 18 holes in 3 hours. Great!!
Anthony from United Kingdom
on Fri, 10th May 2019
Lovely day at The Royal
AlgarveGolf.net
Brilliant photo, thank you kindly
Gary Rayner from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th May 2019
Royal top (tee)box!
What. A. Course.

The best course I have ever played. Challenging (whilst being slightly more forgiving that Ocean for my wayward drives..), outstanding greens, perfectly kept fairways and the iconic 16th over the cliffs is a hole I will never forget! A perfect round of golf to play at least once in your life!

Jonathan from United Kingdom
on Tue, 30th Apr 2019
Tight, beautiful and a real test.
Fairways like velvet carpets. Greens very true but I found them a little slow. Hence the 4 stars. Buggy recommended. Great hole designs. 16th was spectacular with the sun going down in the background. Houses a little close for comfort at times but that's not going to change.

Great rate on the twilight offer.

Kathleen from Switzerland
on Wed, 10th Apr 2019
A real pleasure
Of all the courses we have played in the Algarve (at least 12), the VdL courses and the Royal in particular have the best fairways. It is such a pleasure to be able to hit a ball from grass and not stubble or cut-to-the-level-of baldness so-called fairways. The greens are immaculate, although not lightning fast (which we don't need anyway). There were a few hard areas around the greens, but not nearly as many as on every other course in the region. The course has many great holes and only a couple which seem 'squeezed into the landscape'.
Piet Rikkert from Netherlands
on Mon, 1st Apr 2019
Nice course
Fast greens . Beautifull golfcourse. Hole 16 very spectaculair.
Klaus
on Sun, 24th Mar 2019
High quality
Fantastic course, beautiful layout, a great experience
Stephen Alleyne from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Mar 2019
Made very welcome by the staff and the course was in great shape.
Marilyn from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Mar 2019
Good course. Expected more ocean view holes
Paul from Ireland
on Mon, 18th Feb 2019
Vale Do Lobo -Royal
Beautiful course, well presented, we paid “twilight’ fees - very good value.
larisa from Italy
on Wed, 13th Feb 2019
Bellissimo e molto ben curato
Antony from United Kingdom
on Wed, 6th Feb 2019
Great course in all respects
This is a world class course. Every hole is worth playing. Some are simply fantastic. Lovely from green to tee. Friendly staff. Great fairways. We were delighted to have the privilege to play it today
Barbara from Portugal
on Thu, 3rd Jan 2019
Lovely old course
Haven’t played on this course before, we played 18 holes on the Royal, it was a lovely course and the all the fairways and greens were in excellent condition. My only problem was the tee off time, there was lots of confusion about who was going off and they tried to pair us with another couple, apart from that everything was perfect...especially the 16th...amazing!
david from Netherlands
on Wed, 2nd Jan 2019
Vale De Lobo Royal
Superb GC. Good, challenging par 3’s. Course in good condition - some bunkers may need more attention.
Guilhem VIELJEUF from Europe
on Tue, 1st Jan 2019
Great course, spectacular 16th hole!
We had a great day at Vale do Lobo! I played the course many years ago, when new holes were not yet created. The addition of the new holes fits perfectly, and the result is a magnificent course, with a good mix of challenge provided by water and trees. The 16th is of course very spectacular, with a nice shot to hit above the cliffs.

The course is quite demanding physically when walking, hiring a buggy may leave more stamina to play the last holes properly :-)

Wesley from United Kingdom
on Tue, 1st Jan 2019
Great course
Beautiful course in superb condition! Hole 16th is stunning!
Udo
on Mon, 24th Dec 2018
Vale do lobo Royal Course - Royal
course in excellent condition, greens like carpents, superb roll. Fairways in a very good condition. Amazing landscape, great views. Again it was great fun to play.
Mike Dee from United Kingdom
on Thu, 20th Dec 2018
Royal Review
Unfortunately the Ocean course (my original planned course) was closed for maintenance however the Royal was a beauty.

Great service from all the staff and as for the 16th, am absolute stunner of a hole.

One I would definitely recommend

Guenter Girkinger from Austria
on Wed, 12th Dec 2018
14 to 17 always awesome to play!

Greens in poor condition and not mowed today.

blair keeling from Canada
on Tue, 20th Nov 2018
Lovely setting and backdrop. Excellent shape. Way OVER PRICED compared to local courses. Very challenging. we enjoyed, but not likely to return at price we paid.
Kevin from Belgium
on Sat, 17th Nov 2018
Loved the variety of holes and excellent value on early bird rate.
Dany from Switzerland
on Thu, 25th Oct 2018
Signature Hole - 16 - outstanding !

Good greens 👍

Bernard from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd Oct 2018
Disappointing Val de Lobo
Big disappointment, lovely club house but Royal course very disjointed with little in fill holes stuck here and there, quite a lot of housing along it- Ocean course is better than Royal. There are many nicer and better value courses
Peter from United Kingdom
on Thu, 6th Sep 2018
VDL Royal couse
Very tough test of golf. As with both course it was in immaclate condition with views of some stunning villas. If i had to level a critcisim it would be the jorneys between holes
marc-alrxandre FUMEX from France
on Fri, 31st Aug 2018
buggy to expensive
Ludmila from Czech Republic
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
Disillusionment
Great course maybe maintained but play was terribly slow because the ocean course was close. Lower quality of fairways
Josephine from Portugal
on Sun, 8th Jul 2018
First time playing Vale do Lobo
Fantastic fairways and condition. There were many flights playing twilight so it was slow. Signature Par 3 was spectacular but the sun glare was strong at that time. Overall enjoyable and possibly come back during off peak season.
Richard from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Jul 2018
Great course very well maintained but play was terribly slow because the ocean course was closed
Stuart from United Kingdom
on Sat, 30th Jun 2018
Great round at Vale do Lobo Royal
Excellent strategic course. Maybe a bit too tight for those who like to get the driver out. Fairways and greens in fantastic condition. Amazing views from the 16th.
William from Portugal
on Tue, 26th Jun 2018
The Vale do Lobo Royal experience.
Not quite up to the standards of Amendoiera, surprised that there is only a driving range for max 9 iron, some tee boxes moved up to the ladies tees, which made a great hole at once boring, and not the same 'visitor experience' . Almost no mens XL branded polos in the shop, which was also a minus point. Course 8/10, whole experience 7/10.
Carl
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
Favourite course in the area! Not long but make sure you put the ball in the right place or you will struggle
Brian from United Kingdom
on Fri, 1st Jun 2018
Awesome
Never been disappointed with this course, love it .
Lars from Denmark
on Thu, 17th May 2018
Very very good course in fantastic conditions.

I want to play this golfcourse again ASAP!

Lutz from Germany
on Wed, 2nd May 2018
sehr schöner und gepflegter Platz
Gavin from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th Apr 2018
Wow!
Superb and great fun course, would put it in my top 3 on the Algarve for sure.
Klaus
on Mon, 26th Mar 2018
Fantastic course, but a bit hard to play because it's so narrow
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Sun, 25th Mar 2018
A favorite
The course is in excellent condition, with the nicest fairways (mostly) in the area. We really enjoy this course except perhaps for hole 17. Playing the early bird slots are best, as there is generally no waiting and we can finish the course in 3 hours.
Jeff from Canada
on Thu, 15th Mar 2018
Vale do Lobo Royal
Interesting course and good greens.

Wind was crazy, gusting to 40 mph.

Blew my golf ball off it’s tee several times on the 200 yd par 3 16th hole. Took several minutes to be able to tee off on that hole. Haven’t seen that happen since Carnoustie 35 years ago.

Philip from Portugal
on Wed, 7th Mar 2018
Opinion
An enjoyable 14 holes of golf, weather cloudy but no rain.
Marc from United Kingdom
on Thu, 1st Mar 2018
Excellent
Excellent course and facilities, some of the tees need levelling and the practice area isn’t the best. Apart from that excellent, and very good value for money on the twilight deal which we were on.
James from Portugal
on Sat, 24th Feb 2018
The course was beautiful and in great shape. some very challenging holes for sure. Service was great at desk and on course. Very friendly.
Jeff from United Kingdom
on Mon, 12th Feb 2018
Vale do Logo Royal, what a great great test of gol
Great layout that's much more than undulating, on some of the holes there is a bit of a climb. The 16th is a classic that's a real stretch into the wind with the bunker in front waiting to catch anything under hit. The greens were as I expected very tricky to get the pace and if you miss the cup you could end up with a lengthy put back.
Udo Behrendt-Janke from Germany
on Wed, 20th Dec 2017
Gerne wieder
Der Kurs ist wunderbar in die Landschaft eingepasst, es kommt keine Langeweile auf. Es gibt Spielbahnen mit blinden Schlägen, die durchaus für Überraschungen sorgen können. Die Löcher am Meer, insbesondere das Loch 16 Par 3 mit den Klippen, haben für einen richtigen Kick gesorgt. Der Pflegezustand der Anlage war ausgezeichnet. Die Grüns waren sehr schnell und sensationell gepflegt. Das Personal im Clubhaus, beim Caddiemaster und in der Gastronomie war überaus freundlich und sorgten für einen aufmerksamen und professionellen Service. Interessant: Es war die erste Golfrezeption in Portugal, die das Handicap abfragten. Meinen DGV-Ausweis wollten sie allerdings nicht haben. An diesem Tag waren einige Gruppen unterwegs, die aber nicht wirklich die Spielgeschwindigkeit beeinträchtigten. Ich werde diesen Kurs gerne im nächsten Jahr wieder spielen.
Umberto Trulla from Italy
on Sun, 17th Dec 2017
My first time in Algarve.....and not the last.
Great location,great design fantastic last 4 holes (especially 15-16),perfect maintenance ,reception desk perfect,only bad the driving range little and maximun practice concess are 9 iron.
David from United Kingdom
on Sun, 3rd Dec 2017
A Classic
Loved this course. Played it 20 years ago and still superb. Missed the green on 16th but still got my par. A must play course.
Thomas Nordlund from Portugal
on Sun, 3rd Dec 2017
Nice company, but many crossroads. And the buggy was not loaded enough for the last holes. Needed pushing by one of us to reach the tops of the hills.
Edward from Portugal
on Fri, 24th Nov 2017
Lovely well maintained course
Lovely course, well maintained in a beautiful environment. I have previously played the Ocean course several times and this is, if anything, even better.
richard brindley from United Kingdom
on Wed, 22nd Nov 2017
Always good to return to an old favourite, condition excellent and always a challenge.
Terry
on Tue, 21st Nov 2017
Course great at usual. Set up is very disjointed - it doesn’t flow.
Anne from United States
on Mon, 13th Nov 2017
great course
very much enjoyed this
Barry from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Sep 2017
Good but not quite as good as Ocean
Good but not as good as Ocean. This is a very good resort course but I personally prefer the Ocean Course. The course is in good condition and well looked after. Greens on both courses are good and a consistent speed which allows confidence in putting.
Jack from Portugal
on Fri, 25th Aug 2017
Though but Fair
Good course, tough but fair. Played as a three ball and walked round in just under 4 hours. Greens show signs of the maintenance that was done but nothing too major just coring and sand on some more than others. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Marcel Brunner from Portugal
on Fri, 14th Jul 2017
perfect !
PAUL MCPHERSON from Australia
on Tue, 4th Jul 2017
Good presentation.
pierre from Canada
on Mon, 3rd Jul 2017
Good older design course, hole 16th is spectacular
Good older course requiring all the shots in your bag. Very hilly with stunning views of the ocean and cliffs on hole 16th. A bit on the expensive side for the quality of the course. Most holes have homes on each side of the fairway. Good pro shop.
George from United Kingdom
on Sat, 24th Jun 2017
Slow!!!
Course was in good condition however the pace of play was horrendous. We considered walking in after nine holes, others did!!! Even with the marshals out it didn't seem to make any difference. Pity as it spoilt a nice course
Matthias from Switzerland
on Sun, 28th May 2017
Gut gepflegter Platz
Schöner Platz. Gut gepflegt und spurtreue Greens. Schöner Blick aufs Meer.

Anspruchsvoll zu gehen.

Steven Brice from United Kingdom
on Thu, 18th May 2017
Some spectacular holes and others very similar. Greens excellent some bunkers not. I preferred the Ocean course.
Uno from Denmark
on Tue, 11th Apr 2017
The look to the ocean is priceless.
Mikhail from Sweden
on Fri, 3rd Mar 2017
Fantastic course but Very expensive buggy
Rebecca from United Kingdom
on Wed, 22nd Feb 2017
Royal Course
Lovely course and will go again. However, the corse management could be improved by putting pairs together to make four balls, so that there is less waiting around time.
Peter from Portugal
on Thu, 15th Dec 2016
One of the best in the Algarve.
This course is a good challenge with its tight fairways and well protected greens. The ocean holes are beautiful and to walk the course is also an accomplishment as there are some very long walks between holes with many hills. Altogether a great day's golfing.
Michael Allen from United States
on Thu, 24th Nov 2016
Eye Candy
I loved this track, especially the holes down by the beach. Superb conditioning. A challenging walk but worth every step.
Christian from Germany
on Sun, 23rd Oct 2016
Narrow - but by houses instead of nature

Fairways mediochre

Would clearly prefer ocean course

Barbara OBrien from United Kingdom
on Wed, 19th Oct 2016
Good, especially the 16th
Some great par 3's including the sensational 16th, fairly tight fairways on the other holes. In great condition though. I prefer the ocean course as it's a bit more open and scenic. buggies expensive at 45 euros
Gareth Purshouse from United Kingdom
on Sun, 16th Oct 2016
Interesting and fun course to play. Our first time of playing Royal and thoroughly enjoyed having to plot our way around the holes with plenty of scenic views, water and intricate bunkers.
Gordon from United Kingdom
on Tue, 20th Sep 2016
Very Slow play in front of us but a fantastic course none the less!
Eric from Italy
on Mon, 15th Aug 2016
Algarve's must
A good course, set in a beautiful context. Hole 15th and 16th will make your day
Ian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 2nd Aug 2016
Really good track
Really nice layout, enjoyable game. Pace of play significantly better than my experience on the Ocean course. Terrific final 3 holes finishing stretch. Most enjoyable.
Patrick from Portugal
on Mon, 18th Jul 2016
Perfect 18 holes
I Loved playing over here! Courses are well maintained
David from United Kingdom
on Sat, 4th Jun 2016
Superb Day at Vale Do Lobo
Superb course in great condition fabulous views on 15 th out to sea and 16th over beach was stunning . The staff were also extremely welcoming made it a very special day
GICQUEL Pierre from France
on Mon, 16th May 2016
changing tee-time
we regret not to have the opportunity to change our tee-time.

We were 4 players in our group and its unpleasant to have several teams of 2or3players behind us not very glad because they wait althoug we were strictly on time.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Vale do Lobo Royal page's or to connect with other Vale do Lobo Royal golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.