Loading
to

Vale do Lobo Royal Reviews

Morgan from Portugal
on Mon, 23rd May 2022
Course is not that interesting and lacks distance by modern standards.

Needs a lot of upgrade especially bunkers which are well overdue for modernisation

Standard of players playing the course must be poor as pitch marks and bunker raking is virtually non existent

Tiernan from Ireland
on Thu, 12th May 2022
Wet tight course with no forgiveness for a miss placed shot
Hugh from United Kingdom
on Mon, 9th May 2022
Really enjoyable
Played this with my 21 year son and he said it was best course he has played, not a bad hole on the course. My third time playing and I probably appreciated it more this time. Some cracking holes. One of my favourite holes I have ever played is the 9th playing down to lake on right then large water feature on your left as you play up to the green. Iconic holes to the beach never fail to impress. Course was in pretty good condition and the green were very receptive. Great way to spend 3.15 hours.
Karen Clarke from Portugal
on Sat, 2nd Apr 2022
Vale do Lobo Royal Course is a must play.
This is a stunning golf course. Tees, fairways and greens all in first class condition despite some evidence of small areas of ongoing maintenance and upgrades. These did not detract from a thoroughly enjoyable round in the company of a retired couple from Norwich who, incidentally, played the most consistently straight hitting off the tee you can imagine and they backed this up with some excellent grenside bunker play. What I would strongly advise is to get a buggy. The course is a long walk, as I found out, and harder still to carry. There are consistently changes in elevation throughout the course and at times a bit of a trek from green to tee particularly on the back 9. 16 to 17 is some distance and a little confusing so look out for the stone columns either side of a walkway / buggy track. Other than that the frustration was not with the course but other players. It was slow going and way too many bunkers had been left unraked and pitch marks not repaired. Nevertheless I would not hesitate to go back as I think it is better than the Ocean course, the other Vale do Lobo course, which is another belter, and as good as the Old Course which I think is the best course I have played here. All in all a must play in my opinion if you are staying in Villamoura. By the way the surrounding properties are equally fabulous.
David from Portugal
on Sun, 27th Mar 2022
Not Great
Greens were good but rest of the course scrappy to say the least. It looks overplayed and wouldn’t hurry back
Richard from United Kingdom
on Sun, 27th Mar 2022
Losing something
Marginally disappointed in conditions when we played there in March 22. Opinions vary of course but I just feel that VDL Ocean was better, however it is some time since we played there. We all felt that the famous par 3 - 16th - is over-rated (but we have had the good fortune to play on many courses).

Tees a bit untidy, although greens ran well (but not as slick as say Alamos). I wonder if VDL is losing out to nearby neighbours at Quinta ….. ? Much better options in the Algarve I feel.

paul from Netherlands
on Tue, 22nd Mar 2022
Royal course.
beautiful challenging golf course with a beautiful hole 16 on the sea. nice terrace to finish the round of golf.
Karl from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Mar 2022
Without a doubt a jewel

Every hole is a different challenge Nice social scene and clubhouse

Bruno from Portugal
on Thu, 10th Mar 2022
Toller Platz
Toller Platz! Sehr gepflegt! Gute Zeiteinteilung
francoise from Belgium
on Wed, 9th Mar 2022
Très beau parcours
Les derniers trous sont les plus beaux

Et par 3 au trou 16 .. challenging

Ricardo Paulino from Canada
on Mon, 7th Mar 2022
All around nice , 16 hole over the gully was hard , lots of wind from ocean side,

View of 16 hole is priceless!!!

Christopher from United Kingdom
on Sat, 5th Mar 2022
Great course in great condition - loved it
Tony from Portugal
on Fri, 18th Feb 2022
A pleasure to play
Great course and a pleasure to play.
Urs Luther from Switzerland
on Sat, 12th Feb 2022
Vale do lobo excellent
Excellent condition

Must play

Chris from Portugal
on Tue, 8th Feb 2022
Excellent fairways and greens,but a lot of crossing roads. Views are nicer on the Ocean course.
Tony from Portugal
on Mon, 7th Feb 2022
Enjoyable Royal
Always enjoy Royal but on balance the Ocean course is better.
Birgit from Germany
on Mon, 31st Jan 2022
Overall good condition. Nice greens. Bunkers a bit varying depending on location on the course. Challenging but fair course.
Michael from Portugal
on Wed, 12th Jan 2022
Fantastic course, great facilities and in mint condition.

I thoroughly recommend the royal course.

10 out of 10.

Didn’t do it justice😩

Ken Norden from Portugal
on Wed, 5th Jan 2022
Ken
The condition of the course and greens are great. However, this is not a course for a serious golfer. It's almost as if you had some spare land so you decided to squeeze a golf course in there. It's way too short for serious golfers and probably suits golfers who are excited when they can drive 150 metres. We had to wait on every hole for the players in front to be almost on the greens before we could tee off. Very frustrating to take over 5 hours to play. The marshall needs to be involved in moving people along.
Lars from Sweden
on Sat, 1st Jan 2022
Nice and fun course to play.
Really nice couse. Good finish and many fun holes to play. The restaurant is well worth a visit. Committed staff and really well-cooked food and good service.
Mattia from Portugal
on Sat, 1st Jan 2022
Great course, service can be improved.

Pull trolley 9€, pitch and put at the end of driving range, no possibility to wash your clubs alone.

bernard from United Kingdom
on Fri, 26th Nov 2021
Early bird fly round 3hrs 15 mins
A pleasant course in great condition -definitely the better of the 2 at Val do Lobo. All was going well all day apart from the 2 par 3s which unfortunately were card wreckers for both me and my playing partner-slight wrong choice of club on one and a ball still travelling to USA on the other.

Let down a little by the 18th which does not even end up near the clubhouse.

Alexandre from France
on Thu, 25th Nov 2021
Always between houses. Very easy. Thé Ocean course is largely better.
Andy from Canada
on Fri, 19th Nov 2021
Best round this week
Our quickest round yet at 3.75 hr. Good course conditions, very fast greens, which took some getting used to after the slower greens at other courses earlier in the week. Get there early and hit the practice green!
Grigory from United Kingdom
on Thu, 11th Nov 2021
Some nice very well maintained holes. Slightly over developed surroundings, virtually every fairway is sandwiched by villas or building sites if villas to be.
Thomas from Austria
on Mon, 8th Nov 2021
great layout, good course, greens could have been better
Candice from Portugal
on Wed, 3rd Nov 2021
Pas trop mal
Bon golf, le parcours est joli mais il y a vraiment trop de monde. Les parties se suivent comme au supermarché, c’est agaçant. Le prix est trop élevé pour la qualité de parcours. Bonne partie avec des trous très intéressants et variés.
Peter Thornton
on Tue, 2nd Nov 2021
A treat.
Vale Do Lobo Royal is not just about the feature hole 16th. It is a very diverse and enjoyable layout. We play this every time we come to Portugal as it is in my opinion one of the best and can be played without paying rip off 150 euro that some of the other courses are charging. Last time I played it the greens were showing a little signs of heavy traffic as this is normally booked out and I did find some slow play a little frustrating. Normally it would get 5 stars every time. My party normally hit some decent scores around this course, it is tricky and interesting without being too difficult to enjoy on holiday golf. Of the two courses here it is probably the most scenic and there really is not a bad hole on the course. Highly recommended
Mark Kernaghan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Oct 2021
Royal Review
Good course. Condition not as good as Ocean and can tell it is a second course. Turf quality not as good and many trips between the property. Enjoyable round none the less.
Jon Brown from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Oct 2021
Sensations
It’s all about the 15th and 16th holes. On the 15th, you play straight towards the beautiful, blue Atlantic Ocean but the 16th is what you come for. What a spectacular hole along the cliffs and over a couple of ravines. It’s every bit as good as it looks on the photos. The rest of the course is good, if a bit short, with some interesting and challenging holes. The course condition is not quite as good as the Quinta courses but it’s still very good, although some of the tees are on a bit of a slope. I loved playing this course, especially the 16th, and would recommend it to any keen golfer.
Jon Brown
The title should read ‘Sensational sixteenth caps great course
christian from France
on Thu, 28th Oct 2021
Fantastic view and course !
Wonderful place !
Jorge Arizpe from Russian Federation
on Sun, 24th Oct 2021
Vale de Lobo Royal
I enjoyed this course much more than the Old Course. Played a twilight round at the unexpectedly right time. The course was beautiful, challenging and well paced. The 16th hole was the slowest (as was expected--players taking pictures of the signature hole); yet, well worth waiting to play. I would definitely come back to play this course.
Alain from Portugal
on Mon, 18th Oct 2021
Beaucoup de trajets le long des routes. En commençant à 14h30 à 4 à la mi octobre , on finit à la.nuit tombée.
Paul from Ireland
on Thu, 30th Sep 2021
Played here the last 3 times I’ve come to the Algarve. Love the course. In good condition.
Ricky from United Kingdom
on Mon, 27th Sep 2021
Not impressed
Not a patch on the Ocean course and apart from the 15th and 16th Signature hole there isn't anywhere near the quality of the Ocean. Added to that, it was our 4th and final round on the Sunday from a very busy week at Vale De Lobo, over 400 Golfers playing both courses on the Friday. This meant the greens very in a pretty battered and dire state unfortunately. Also at a 3pm tee off they were stacking up the tee times too close to each other early and not sticking to the allocated tee times, causing inevitable bunch ups and everyone having to let every man and his dog through!
David from Portugal
on Sun, 19th Sep 2021
Fantastic course in very good quality…greens very fast 🙈

Hole 9 and 16 are spectacular!

Mark Fitzsimons from United Kingdom
on Sat, 11th Sep 2021
Some nice holes but the greens were like a pin cushion and quite bobbly.

Glad to have played it for the 16th

Iain
on Thu, 12th Aug 2021
Challenging Front Nine
First nine of this course is challenging and well designed but the second nine contains some silly holes which spoil the layout - 11th, 14th and 17th. However, the 15th and 16 th holes provide a spectacular back drop.

Course condition was very good.

Jean Manuel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Aug 2021
Superbe parcours
Excellent parcours, très bien entretenu même en été (pas de zones sèches sur les fairways). Greens techniques et roulants.

Le mythique trou 16 fait son effet ! Par 3 au dessus des falaises rouges.

Steven Tompsett from United States
on Thu, 29th Jul 2021
Always a perfect course
As always a stunning and enjoyable course in amazing condition.

The old course presents a test of golf set on amongst many tough but pretty tree lined fairways. Always the first course on list list anytime we are in the algarve

David from United States
on Thu, 22nd Jul 2021
Nice Views
IMHO the better of the two Vale do Lobo layouts. Fairway and Greens were in very good shape. Traffic ok. Booking painless.
Darren from United Kingdom
on Sat, 17th Jul 2021
Royal Golf
Played this course any times will be back.
Kevin from Portugal
on Sat, 10th Jul 2021
Vale do Lobo Royal
Not a great 1st impression when told that my wife as a spectator was not allowed on the course unless she had a collared shirt ? Really ? Pro shop was also closed for some reason and couldn't even purchase something for her ? I understand as a player there is a dress code but the above needs to be revised. Other than that, course was great.
david from Netherlands
on Thu, 10th Jun 2021
Good golf course - take a buggy
Great greens. No one in front so a speedy round. No rough to talk about.

I walked round but for the first time in my life I’d say you need to be very fit not to take a buggy. My own fault as I always like to walk a course. O

craig from Portugal
on Wed, 2nd Jun 2021
Lovely place to play
Great track, in good condition as well, greens rolling true etc.

Theres a few stunning holes.

would defo recommend

Arron Lemon from United Kingdom
on Sat, 29th May 2021
Course in great condition but certainly preferred the Ocean course for views and use of land. Generous courses with high quality greens amd good customer service.
Thomas Manth from Germany
on Thu, 6th May 2021
A MUST
Excellent Conditions, friendly and courteous people
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Thu, 29th Apr 2021
Very playable.
Lovely lush fairways on most holes. Greens in good condition, slightly slow which made them easier for us. Nothing really negative to say.
raymond from Portugal
on Tue, 17th Nov 2020
Vale do Lobo Royal
This is a fine golf course with many challenging holes. The par 3's are excellent & the 16th is one of the best I have ever played. The course was playing long due all the recent rain but very playable. We found the staff very warm & friendly. We will definitely come back to challenge ourselves once again.
Michael from Ireland
on Wed, 11th Nov 2020
Old is good
Royal is probably the slightly better of the two 18’s in Val do Lobo , it gets serious levels of play so can be a bit tired , some lovely holes near ocean and is suitable for all levels of golfers , has a real club feel rather than a country club , it’s kind of old school but well

Worth playing

Brendan from United Kingdom
on Thu, 5th Nov 2020
VDoL Royal
This was a course in absolutely top condition. All aspects were extremely well designed and maintained with beautiful fairways and perfect greens.
Boris from Switzerland
on Tue, 13th Oct 2020
Very nice course, very well located. The tees and greens are a bit marked but it is tolerable. A little bit poorly maintained. Very warm welcome from the golf and reception staff. To recommend !
mark from Ireland
on Thu, 24th Sep 2020
Decent track with nice feature but not as spectacular as Ocean
Sonia from Switzerland
on Mon, 21st Sep 2020
Toller Platz
Sehr gepflegter und abwechslungsreicher Platz mit einigen anspruchsvollen Doglegs!
Trevor Richardson from United Kingdom
on Thu, 10th Sep 2020
Val do Lobo is sooo special!
What can I say about this course! Firstly the set up and facilities at Val do Lobo have to be experienced. As a single figure handicap golfer I have to say the design and condition of this course if first class, in fact it's club class. Great design, many interesting holes with no two the same, and of course the excitement mounts as you reach 15 and face the ocean, knowing the next hole is the iconic 16th (known to be the most photographed hole in Europe) a tough par three over two ravines next to the ocean. This time I parred but needed 3 wood to get there, my son Jake (2 Hcp) put 4 iron to three feet and got the 2. Just a magnificent course which you feel privilege to play, and is a MUST for any serious golfer visiting the Algarve.
Ian from United Kingdom
on Mon, 31st Aug 2020
Excellent staff

Excellent course and other members place of play good.

Condition of course good.

I would return.

Joaquim Vilà from Spain
on Thu, 27th Aug 2020
To us, the course is only interesting for the 16th hole which we played well but, the rest is full of houses and apartments. Nothing comparable to Monte Rei or Dom Pedro Old Course
Abderrahmane Bouazza from France
on Wed, 26th Aug 2020
Très mauvaise expérience
Une très mauvaise expérience aujourd'hui a vale do lobo. Je joue seul et ma femme conduit le buggy mais ne joue pas. Et bien ces crétins nous ont forcé a acheter un polo sous prétexte que même si elle ne jouait pas, il fallait un polo pour conduire le buggy. Je précise que nous avons joué beaucoup de golf en Algarve et aucun n'a pose ce genre de problème. A propos du parcours, on a l'impression de jouer dans un square tellement il y de maisons autours.
Dirk from Germany
on Tue, 25th Aug 2020
Schöner Platz sehr gepflegt
Super schöner Platz die 45€ für das Car ist ein bisschen zu viel weil man nach dem Wasser fragen muss es wird einem nicht automatisch angeboten es gibt ebenfalls nicht mal Eiswürfel für den Kühler. Das ist etwas schade . Dafür ist der Platz Hammer
David from United Kingdom
on Fri, 31st Jul 2020
Just ok
Course very wet in places from over watering. Some tees really bad. Not a bad course but nothing to write home about
Ian from United Kingdom
on Wed, 29th Jul 2020
Watch for the collar.
Obviously very quiet which meant we were wound in 3 hours or less. Discussion about whether my partner’s top had a collar or not and we had to buy one so she could accompany me. Watch out. No standards set for the guy in front with his cycling shorts though. Enjoyed the course and the greens and some of the views are great. Good time.
andrew from United Kingdom
on Sat, 18th Jul 2020
Great game of golf
Great course. Need to be straight of the tee as some narrow fairways. 23hcp so swing easy and enjoy as I did.
David from United Kingdom
on Sat, 4th Jul 2020
Royal round
Nice course with some tight drives. Greens have been aerated recently so need a few weeks. Rest of course in great condition.
Franz from Switzerland
on Thu, 12th Mar 2020
Attractive course, great design.
Attractive course for experienced players. Well maintained. Fast greens.
Martin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 4th Mar 2020
Good course greens and condition good.
Nigel Nash from United Kingdom
on Sat, 25th Jan 2020
A Must Play
For me the Royal is the better course of the two at Vale Do Lobo, always in great condition with some challenging holes once you get passed the gentle start of the first 2 holes
Patricia from Portugal
on Sat, 11th Jan 2020
Thoroughly enjoyed the course. The condition was very good
Peter from United Kingdom
on Fri, 3rd Jan 2020
Very nice but Ocean is more interesting and scenic
Milan from Slovakia
on Fri, 15th Nov 2019
ok.nr 1
Andrew from Portugal
on Fri, 1st Nov 2019
Don’t be frightened to play off the white tees.
Tight in places but more room than you might think. Not that long so don’t be frightened of playing off the white tees. Overall in great condition and the stunning 16th doesn’t let you down,
Scott from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd Oct 2019
VVDL Royal course is truly outstanding
Probably 4 if the tightest opening fairways I have ever played. Exceptional course with some real course management required.

Best course I have played in Algarve 👍👍⛳⛳

Joerg from Germany
on Tue, 24th Sep 2019
wonderful course but extremly slow play in front of us. the regulate by the marshall was too late
Mark from United Kingdom
on Sat, 21st Sep 2019
Great to Play
This is a great course. It plays like a links course. The pine trees are not encroaching on the fairways like so many courses. The bunkers can be trying but generally a lovely course to play
Michael from United Kingdom
on Thu, 19th Sep 2019
Beautifully maintained.
Beautifully maintained and managed course. Extremely courteous and helpful staff.

Great day on the golf course.

Tony from Ireland
on Sat, 14th Sep 2019
Fabulous course in a great location
Eoin from Ireland
on Mon, 9th Sep 2019
Very tight track with out of bounds on most holes..not suitable for the high handicapper..course in good condition though
grant ritchie from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Sep 2019
Grant
Great course , 5 star facilities and are welcomed every year by the staff.

This is my favourite course in the Algarve as I always score well 😂😜

Adam from Portugal
on Sun, 1st Sep 2019
Good as usual
Always a good round and plenty of easy on the eye holes, not in bad condition. Maybe a little busy but not complaining when the sun is out!
david bates from United Kingdom
on Sat, 31st Aug 2019
Excellent course

Good challenge

No wind meant the signature 16th just needed a good straight shot

Roderick from Netherlands
on Wed, 28th Aug 2019
Excellent golf course
Great course to play and in a perfect condition!
simon nash from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Aug 2019
Excellent course and service
Gareth from United States
on Sun, 11th Aug 2019
Great views
Fantastic course with great scenery and views. Signature 16th amazing hole (see photo).
Charlie from Portugal
on Wed, 26th Jun 2019
Quality course
Best golf course I have ever played. And I have played some amazing courses all over the world. Top notch! Well worth a game.
Arend Koster from Netherlands
on Tue, 25th Jun 2019
Good maintained course, not to difficult, but nice plating there; the 16th hole is off course a must play at the Royal Course; the only thing is that a lot of holes are between the house so keep straight
James from Ireland
on Sun, 23rd Jun 2019
excellent
Dougie from United Kingdom
on Sun, 16th Jun 2019
Lovely Course
Great course in fantastic condition.
giles from Russian Federation
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
Great course but day spoiled by groups of very slow players. No intervention by course stewards. Over 5 hours.
Cliff from United Kingdom
on Mon, 3rd Jun 2019
Will return, only 4 star due to lack of sand in left bunker on 16th.
Chantal from Portugal
on Sat, 1st Jun 2019
Well maintained
Well maintained. We walked but next time we take a buggy because sometimes there is a lot of distance between the holes. Greens were good but not really quick. Played at 3 p.m and did 18 holes in 3 hours. Great!!
Anthony from United Kingdom
on Fri, 10th May 2019
Lovely day at The Royal
AlgarveGolf.net
Brilliant photo, thank you kindly

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Vale do Lobo Royal page's or to connect with other Vale do Lobo Royal golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.