Loading
to

Vale do Lobo Royal Reviews

David from Portugal
on Sun, 19th Sep 2021
Fantastic course in very good quality…greens very fast 🙈

Hole 9 and 16 are spectacular!

Mark Fitzsimons from United Kingdom
on Sat, 11th Sep 2021
Some nice holes but the greens were like a pin cushion and quite bobbly.

Glad to have played it for the 16th

Iain
on Thu, 12th Aug 2021
Challenging Front Nine
First nine of this course is challenging and well designed but the second nine contains some silly holes which spoil the layout - 11th, 14th and 17th. However, the 15th and 16 th holes provide a spectacular back drop.

Course condition was very good.

Jean Manuel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Aug 2021
Superbe parcours
Excellent parcours, très bien entretenu même en été (pas de zones sèches sur les fairways). Greens techniques et roulants.

Le mythique trou 16 fait son effet ! Par 3 au dessus des falaises rouges.

Steven Tompsett from United States
on Thu, 29th Jul 2021
Always a perfect course
As always a stunning and enjoyable course in amazing condition.

The old course presents a test of golf set on amongst many tough but pretty tree lined fairways. Always the first course on list list anytime we are in the algarve

David from United States
on Thu, 22nd Jul 2021
Nice Views
IMHO the better of the two Vale do Lobo layouts. Fairway and Greens were in very good shape. Traffic ok. Booking painless.
Darren from United Kingdom
on Sat, 17th Jul 2021
Royal Golf
Played this course any times will be back.
Kevin from Portugal
on Sat, 10th Jul 2021
Vale do Lobo Royal
Not a great 1st impression when told that my wife as a spectator was not allowed on the course unless she had a collared shirt ? Really ? Pro shop was also closed for some reason and couldn't even purchase something for her ? I understand as a player there is a dress code but the above needs to be revised. Other than that, course was great.
david from Netherlands
on Thu, 10th Jun 2021
Good golf course - take a buggy
Great greens. No one in front so a speedy round. No rough to talk about.

I walked round but for the first time in my life I’d say you need to be very fit not to take a buggy. My own fault as I always like to walk a course. O

craig from Portugal
on Wed, 2nd Jun 2021
Lovely place to play
Great track, in good condition as well, greens rolling true etc.

Theres a few stunning holes.

would defo recommend

Arron Lemon from United Kingdom
on Sat, 29th May 2021
Course in great condition but certainly preferred the Ocean course for views and use of land. Generous courses with high quality greens amd good customer service.
Thomas Manth from Germany
on Thu, 6th May 2021
A MUST
Excellent Conditions, friendly and courteous people
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Thu, 29th Apr 2021
Very playable.
Lovely lush fairways on most holes. Greens in good condition, slightly slow which made them easier for us. Nothing really negative to say.
raymond from Portugal
on Tue, 17th Nov 2020
Vale do Lobo Royal
This is a fine golf course with many challenging holes. The par 3's are excellent & the 16th is one of the best I have ever played. The course was playing long due all the recent rain but very playable. We found the staff very warm & friendly. We will definitely come back to challenge ourselves once again.
Michael from Ireland
on Wed, 11th Nov 2020
Old is good
Royal is probably the slightly better of the two 18’s in Val do Lobo , it gets serious levels of play so can be a bit tired , some lovely holes near ocean and is suitable for all levels of golfers , has a real club feel rather than a country club , it’s kind of old school but well

Worth playing

Brendan from United Kingdom
on Thu, 5th Nov 2020
VDoL Royal
This was a course in absolutely top condition. All aspects were extremely well designed and maintained with beautiful fairways and perfect greens.
Boris from Switzerland
on Tue, 13th Oct 2020
Very nice course, very well located. The tees and greens are a bit marked but it is tolerable. A little bit poorly maintained. Very warm welcome from the golf and reception staff. To recommend !
mark from Ireland
on Thu, 24th Sep 2020
Decent track with nice feature but not as spectacular as Ocean
Sonia from Switzerland
on Mon, 21st Sep 2020
Toller Platz
Sehr gepflegter und abwechslungsreicher Platz mit einigen anspruchsvollen Doglegs!
Trevor Richardson from United Kingdom
on Thu, 10th Sep 2020
Val do Lobo is sooo special!
What can I say about this course! Firstly the set up and facilities at Val do Lobo have to be experienced. As a single figure handicap golfer I have to say the design and condition of this course if first class, in fact it's club class. Great design, many interesting holes with no two the same, and of course the excitement mounts as you reach 15 and face the ocean, knowing the next hole is the iconic 16th (known to be the most photographed hole in Europe) a tough par three over two ravines next to the ocean. This time I parred but needed 3 wood to get there, my son Jake (2 Hcp) put 4 iron to three feet and got the 2. Just a magnificent course which you feel privilege to play, and is a MUST for any serious golfer visiting the Algarve.
Ian from United Kingdom
on Mon, 31st Aug 2020
Excellent staff

Excellent course and other members place of play good.

Condition of course good.

I would return.

Joaquim Vilà from Spain
on Thu, 27th Aug 2020
To us, the course is only interesting for the 16th hole which we played well but, the rest is full of houses and apartments. Nothing comparable to Monte Rei or Dom Pedro Old Course
Abderrahmane Bouazza from France
on Wed, 26th Aug 2020
Très mauvaise expérience
Une très mauvaise expérience aujourd'hui a vale do lobo. Je joue seul et ma femme conduit le buggy mais ne joue pas. Et bien ces crétins nous ont forcé a acheter un polo sous prétexte que même si elle ne jouait pas, il fallait un polo pour conduire le buggy. Je précise que nous avons joué beaucoup de golf en Algarve et aucun n'a pose ce genre de problème. A propos du parcours, on a l'impression de jouer dans un square tellement il y de maisons autours.
Dirk from Germany
on Tue, 25th Aug 2020
Schöner Platz sehr gepflegt
Super schöner Platz die 45€ für das Car ist ein bisschen zu viel weil man nach dem Wasser fragen muss es wird einem nicht automatisch angeboten es gibt ebenfalls nicht mal Eiswürfel für den Kühler. Das ist etwas schade . Dafür ist der Platz Hammer
David from United Kingdom
on Fri, 31st Jul 2020
Just ok
Course very wet in places from over watering. Some tees really bad. Not a bad course but nothing to write home about
Ian from United Kingdom
on Wed, 29th Jul 2020
Watch for the collar.
Obviously very quiet which meant we were wound in 3 hours or less. Discussion about whether my partner’s top had a collar or not and we had to buy one so she could accompany me. Watch out. No standards set for the guy in front with his cycling shorts though. Enjoyed the course and the greens and some of the views are great. Good time.
andrew from United Kingdom
on Sat, 18th Jul 2020
Great game of golf
Great course. Need to be straight of the tee as some narrow fairways. 23hcp so swing easy and enjoy as I did.
David from United Kingdom
on Sat, 4th Jul 2020
Royal round
Nice course with some tight drives. Greens have been aerated recently so need a few weeks. Rest of course in great condition.
Franz from Switzerland
on Thu, 12th Mar 2020
Attractive course, great design.
Attractive course for experienced players. Well maintained. Fast greens.
Martin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 4th Mar 2020
Good course greens and condition good.
Nigel Nash from United Kingdom
on Sat, 25th Jan 2020
A Must Play
For me the Royal is the better course of the two at Vale Do Lobo, always in great condition with some challenging holes once you get passed the gentle start of the first 2 holes
Patricia from Portugal
on Sat, 11th Jan 2020
Thoroughly enjoyed the course. The condition was very good
Peter from United Kingdom
on Fri, 3rd Jan 2020
Very nice but Ocean is more interesting and scenic
Milan from Slovakia
on Fri, 15th Nov 2019
ok.nr 1
Andrew from Portugal
on Fri, 1st Nov 2019
Don’t be frightened to play off the white tees.
Tight in places but more room than you might think. Not that long so don’t be frightened of playing off the white tees. Overall in great condition and the stunning 16th doesn’t let you down,
Scott from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd Oct 2019
VVDL Royal course is truly outstanding
Probably 4 if the tightest opening fairways I have ever played. Exceptional course with some real course management required.

Best course I have played in Algarve 👍👍⛳⛳

Joerg from Germany
on Tue, 24th Sep 2019
wonderful course but extremly slow play in front of us. the regulate by the marshall was too late
Mark from United Kingdom
on Sat, 21st Sep 2019
Great to Play
This is a great course. It plays like a links course. The pine trees are not encroaching on the fairways like so many courses. The bunkers can be trying but generally a lovely course to play
Michael from United Kingdom
on Thu, 19th Sep 2019
Beautifully maintained.
Beautifully maintained and managed course. Extremely courteous and helpful staff.

Great day on the golf course.

Tony from Ireland
on Sat, 14th Sep 2019
Fabulous course in a great location
Eoin from Ireland
on Mon, 9th Sep 2019
Very tight track with out of bounds on most holes..not suitable for the high handicapper..course in good condition though
grant ritchie from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Sep 2019
Grant
Great course , 5 star facilities and are welcomed every year by the staff.

This is my favourite course in the Algarve as I always score well 😂😜

Adam from Portugal
on Sun, 1st Sep 2019
Good as usual
Always a good round and plenty of easy on the eye holes, not in bad condition. Maybe a little busy but not complaining when the sun is out!
david bates from United Kingdom
on Sat, 31st Aug 2019
Excellent course

Good challenge

No wind meant the signature 16th just needed a good straight shot

Roderick from Netherlands
on Wed, 28th Aug 2019
Excellent golf course
Great course to play and in a perfect condition!
simon nash from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Aug 2019
Excellent course and service
Gareth from United States
on Sun, 11th Aug 2019
Great views
Fantastic course with great scenery and views. Signature 16th amazing hole (see photo).
Charlie from Portugal
on Wed, 26th Jun 2019
Quality course
Best golf course I have ever played. And I have played some amazing courses all over the world. Top notch! Well worth a game.
Arend Koster from Netherlands
on Tue, 25th Jun 2019
Good maintained course, not to difficult, but nice plating there; the 16th hole is off course a must play at the Royal Course; the only thing is that a lot of holes are between the house so keep straight
James from Ireland
on Sun, 23rd Jun 2019
excellent
Dougie from United Kingdom
on Sun, 16th Jun 2019
Lovely Course
Great course in fantastic condition.
giles from Russian Federation
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
Great course but day spoiled by groups of very slow players. No intervention by course stewards. Over 5 hours.
Cliff from United Kingdom
on Mon, 3rd Jun 2019
Will return, only 4 star due to lack of sand in left bunker on 16th.
Chantal from Portugal
on Sat, 1st Jun 2019
Well maintained
Well maintained. We walked but next time we take a buggy because sometimes there is a lot of distance between the holes. Greens were good but not really quick. Played at 3 p.m and did 18 holes in 3 hours. Great!!
Anthony from United Kingdom
on Fri, 10th May 2019
Lovely day at The Royal
AlgarveGolf.net
Brilliant photo, thank you kindly
Gary Rayner from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th May 2019
Royal top (tee)box!
What. A. Course.

The best course I have ever played. Challenging (whilst being slightly more forgiving that Ocean for my wayward drives..), outstanding greens, perfectly kept fairways and the iconic 16th over the cliffs is a hole I will never forget! A perfect round of golf to play at least once in your life!

Jonathan from United Kingdom
on Tue, 30th Apr 2019
Tight, beautiful and a real test.
Fairways like velvet carpets. Greens very true but I found them a little slow. Hence the 4 stars. Buggy recommended. Great hole designs. 16th was spectacular with the sun going down in the background. Houses a little close for comfort at times but that's not going to change.

Great rate on the twilight offer.

Kathleen from Switzerland
on Wed, 10th Apr 2019
A real pleasure
Of all the courses we have played in the Algarve (at least 12), the VdL courses and the Royal in particular have the best fairways. It is such a pleasure to be able to hit a ball from grass and not stubble or cut-to-the-level-of baldness so-called fairways. The greens are immaculate, although not lightning fast (which we don't need anyway). There were a few hard areas around the greens, but not nearly as many as on every other course in the region. The course has many great holes and only a couple which seem 'squeezed into the landscape'.
Piet Rikkert from Netherlands
on Mon, 1st Apr 2019
Nice course
Fast greens . Beautifull golfcourse. Hole 16 very spectaculair.
Klaus
on Sun, 24th Mar 2019
High quality
Fantastic course, beautiful layout, a great experience
Stephen Alleyne from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Mar 2019
Made very welcome by the staff and the course was in great shape.
Marilyn from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Mar 2019
Good course. Expected more ocean view holes
Paul from Ireland
on Mon, 18th Feb 2019
Vale Do Lobo -Royal
Beautiful course, well presented, we paid “twilight’ fees - very good value.
larisa from Italy
on Wed, 13th Feb 2019
Bellissimo e molto ben curato
Antony from United Kingdom
on Wed, 6th Feb 2019
Great course in all respects
This is a world class course. Every hole is worth playing. Some are simply fantastic. Lovely from green to tee. Friendly staff. Great fairways. We were delighted to have the privilege to play it today
Barbara from Portugal
on Thu, 3rd Jan 2019
Lovely old course
Haven’t played on this course before, we played 18 holes on the Royal, it was a lovely course and the all the fairways and greens were in excellent condition. My only problem was the tee off time, there was lots of confusion about who was going off and they tried to pair us with another couple, apart from that everything was perfect...especially the 16th...amazing!
david from Netherlands
on Wed, 2nd Jan 2019
Vale De Lobo Royal
Superb GC. Good, challenging par 3’s. Course in good condition - some bunkers may need more attention.
Guilhem VIELJEUF from Europe
on Tue, 1st Jan 2019
Great course, spectacular 16th hole!
We had a great day at Vale do Lobo! I played the course many years ago, when new holes were not yet created. The addition of the new holes fits perfectly, and the result is a magnificent course, with a good mix of challenge provided by water and trees. The 16th is of course very spectacular, with a nice shot to hit above the cliffs.

The course is quite demanding physically when walking, hiring a buggy may leave more stamina to play the last holes properly :-)

Wesley from United Kingdom
on Tue, 1st Jan 2019
Great course
Beautiful course in superb condition! Hole 16th is stunning!
Udo
on Mon, 24th Dec 2018
Vale do lobo Royal Course - Royal
course in excellent condition, greens like carpents, superb roll. Fairways in a very good condition. Amazing landscape, great views. Again it was great fun to play.
Mike Dee from United Kingdom
on Thu, 20th Dec 2018
Royal Review
Unfortunately the Ocean course (my original planned course) was closed for maintenance however the Royal was a beauty.

Great service from all the staff and as for the 16th, am absolute stunner of a hole.

One I would definitely recommend

Guenter Girkinger from Austria
on Wed, 12th Dec 2018
14 to 17 always awesome to play!

Greens in poor condition and not mowed today.

blair keeling from Canada
on Tue, 20th Nov 2018
Lovely setting and backdrop. Excellent shape. Way OVER PRICED compared to local courses. Very challenging. we enjoyed, but not likely to return at price we paid.
Kevin from Belgium
on Sat, 17th Nov 2018
Loved the variety of holes and excellent value on early bird rate.
Dany from Switzerland
on Thu, 25th Oct 2018
Signature Hole - 16 - outstanding !

Good greens 👍

Bernard from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd Oct 2018
Disappointing Val de Lobo
Big disappointment, lovely club house but Royal course very disjointed with little in fill holes stuck here and there, quite a lot of housing along it- Ocean course is better than Royal. There are many nicer and better value courses
Peter from United Kingdom
on Thu, 6th Sep 2018
VDL Royal couse
Very tough test of golf. As with both course it was in immaclate condition with views of some stunning villas. If i had to level a critcisim it would be the jorneys between holes
marc-alrxandre FUMEX from France
on Fri, 31st Aug 2018
buggy to expensive
Ludmila from Czech Republic
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
Disillusionment
Great course maybe maintained but play was terribly slow because the ocean course was close. Lower quality of fairways
Josephine from Portugal
on Sun, 8th Jul 2018
First time playing Vale do Lobo
Fantastic fairways and condition. There were many flights playing twilight so it was slow. Signature Par 3 was spectacular but the sun glare was strong at that time. Overall enjoyable and possibly come back during off peak season.
Richard from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Jul 2018
Great course very well maintained but play was terribly slow because the ocean course was closed
Stuart from United Kingdom
on Sat, 30th Jun 2018
Great round at Vale do Lobo Royal
Excellent strategic course. Maybe a bit too tight for those who like to get the driver out. Fairways and greens in fantastic condition. Amazing views from the 16th.
William from Portugal
on Tue, 26th Jun 2018
The Vale do Lobo Royal experience.
Not quite up to the standards of Amendoiera, surprised that there is only a driving range for max 9 iron, some tee boxes moved up to the ladies tees, which made a great hole at once boring, and not the same 'visitor experience' . Almost no mens XL branded polos in the shop, which was also a minus point. Course 8/10, whole experience 7/10.
Carl
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
Favourite course in the area! Not long but make sure you put the ball in the right place or you will struggle
Brian from United Kingdom
on Fri, 1st Jun 2018
Awesome
Never been disappointed with this course, love it .
Lars from Denmark
on Thu, 17th May 2018
Very very good course in fantastic conditions.

I want to play this golfcourse again ASAP!

Lutz from Germany
on Wed, 2nd May 2018
sehr schöner und gepflegter Platz
Gavin from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th Apr 2018
Wow!
Superb and great fun course, would put it in my top 3 on the Algarve for sure.
Klaus
on Mon, 26th Mar 2018
Fantastic course, but a bit hard to play because it's so narrow
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Sun, 25th Mar 2018
A favorite
The course is in excellent condition, with the nicest fairways (mostly) in the area. We really enjoy this course except perhaps for hole 17. Playing the early bird slots are best, as there is generally no waiting and we can finish the course in 3 hours.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Vale do Lobo Royal page's or to connect with other Vale do Lobo Royal golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.