Loading
to

Vale do Lobo Ocean Reviews

Paoloi w from India
on Wed, 18th May 2022
Spettacolo!
Campo spettacolare!

Struttura e organizzazione di gran livello. Bella club house e pro shop.

Il campo è praticamente perfetto.

Le seconde nove più difficile ma con una vista meravigliosa sull'oceano.

Assolutamente da provare!

Tiernan from Ireland
on Thu, 12th May 2022
Amazing course can’t wait to play here again
Veronique from France
on Mon, 9th May 2022
Fantastic course
Fantastic course.
Henrik from Russian Federation
on Sun, 8th May 2022
Nice round but a bit slow. Definitely come back again
Tony from United Kingdom
on Tue, 19th Apr 2022
A great course and staff
Karen Clarke from Portugal
on Tue, 5th Apr 2022
The Ocean Course atVale do Lobo another must play.
This is the second time I have played the Ocean Course. Every bit as good as the first time and of help is knowing my way round. I got out early and on my own so got round with no hold ups other than letting the greenkeepers finish on z couple of holes. They have sit on mini tractors to smooth the bunkers. An interesting watch. Everything is in terrific condition. The subtlety of the slopes on the greens still caught me out. The holes on the back 9, in particular 11, 14 and 15, the latter being the signature hole, are the most memorable although the 9th is right up there with the somewhat quirky. I rate this course another must play and only marginally behind the Royal course and the Old Course. A buggy or trolley definitely needed although I struggle to see how 50 euros is a fair price for a buggy. That though is my only gripe. Give both Vale do Lobo courses a go because you will definitely want to play them again.
Keiran from United Kingdom
on Thu, 24th Mar 2022
Enjoyable course but had higher expectations
A good course saved by the greens and the views. The course was a bit rough in all honesty and the conditions weren’t as I’d expect for a course that’s 100 euros. The service in the resort also was disappointing, range not open until 8am and cafe/clubhouse not open until 8am. No good for us if we’re teeing off at 7.50am. Not the 5 star resort we expected it to be.
Matthew from Portugal
on Sat, 19th Mar 2022
Amazing staff, great environment. Course was impeccable, very well taken care of especially the greens!

Can’t wait to try out the royal course soon.

Mike from United Kingdom
on Wed, 16th Mar 2022
An excellent course in excellent condition. Not to be missed.
Bernd from Germany
on Fri, 11th Mar 2022
Mare e Monte
Challenging, changeable and great teeshots (e.g. 10) and greenviews (e.g. 11 & 14) and even after good teeshot at 9 a green high above defended by bunkers, pines and waterfalls.
Karl from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Mar 2022
An ok course but on some blind holes possibility of harming other golfers
Luc from Portugal
on Thu, 10th Mar 2022
Quality time
Played the Ocean 18 holes. Back 9 are the most beautiful playing close to the see. Green are fast and difficult. Had diner afterwards to conclude a great day!
francoise from Belgium
on Wed, 9th Mar 2022
Superbe
Incroyable vue

Superbe parcours

Christopher from United Kingdom
on Sat, 5th Mar 2022
Loved it even although our opponents were cheating barstewards
Thomas from Germany
on Tue, 1st Mar 2022
Lovely place
Very nice course and place
ian from United Kingdom
on Fri, 25th Feb 2022
Long way from some greens to next tee.
Tony from Portugal
on Fri, 18th Feb 2022
Love VdL Ocean course
Love Ocean course and my favourite over the Royal. Good variety of holes.
Urs Luther from Switzerland
on Sat, 12th Feb 2022
Vale do lobo super this year
Actually best in the area

Perfect round

Tony from Portugal
on Wed, 9th Feb 2022
Excellent
Excellent and a real joy to play and the views are genuine “ocean”
Chris from Portugal
on Mon, 7th Feb 2022
Beautiful course, well maintained, diverse, great ocean views. Fairways in great shape.
Tony from Portugal
on Mon, 7th Feb 2022
Love Ocean
Love the course that has challenging holes but nothing ridiculous and hence very enjoyable.
Michael Mclean from United Kingdom
on Sun, 30th Jan 2022
Bit pricey for the experience
Bit disappointed with course layout. Expected more. Not cheap to play and it wasn't worth the price. Nice open course with some lovely vistas. Club house very good and staff were excellent.
Lars from Sweden
on Sat, 1st Jan 2022
Wow feeling!
Real fun and exciting layout. In addition to hole 2, the course is an experience to play. Fantastic views and generally in good condition.

The restaurant is well worth a visit. Committed staff and really well-cooked food and good service.

Michael from Portugal
on Sun, 26th Dec 2021
Some strange hole, overall it’s just ok for me, nice view’s and environment
Andy from Canada
on Fri, 3rd Dec 2021
Good course but Royal is better
Not quite as interesting as the Royal course. A couple of ocean holes. Condition was slightly worse than the Royal course as well. Some blind holes.
Einar from Portugal
on Thu, 2nd Dec 2021
The fourth star for the Ocean holes!

Very modest start but second nine are really good with nice views!

Shop and restaurant what is expected. Staff friendly and service minded even if service in restaurant was slow.

bernard from United Kingdom
on Fri, 26th Nov 2021
Satisfactory only
I was somewhat disappointed by the Ocean ,only on 6 holes did i think it was worth the money and we paid 70 euro as an early bird. Nice 1st and last and the few where you can see the sea are okay.

My problem ? I have played Westcliffs north of Lisbon so everywhere else cannot match that gem.

Alexandre from France
on Thu, 25th Nov 2021
Beautiful course. Great value for Money.
Stuart from Portugal
on Tue, 23rd Nov 2021
Course in good condition overall with quick greens for time of year. Would recommend playing whatever your handicap.
Jens from Portugal
on Tue, 16th Nov 2021
Nice Course - great views
Always a pleasure
Hans from Germany
on Sun, 7th Nov 2021
Good Price to Performance Ratio
Course in very good condition, stunning , picturesque views and excellent course design.
Mark Kernaghan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Oct 2021
Ocean review
Excellent course and enjoyed the layout. Greens very soft and many unrepaired pitchmarks which made the greens less consistent.
Achim from United States
on Thu, 21st Oct 2021
Spectacular ocean views
Service at check-in could have been a little more friendly. Other than that a very positive experience. Very nice setting, spectacular ocean views , fairways and greens in excellent condition.
Jacky Cougrand from France
on Thu, 14th Oct 2021
Perfect condition, staff very friendly and wonderful view
Douglas from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Oct 2021
Superb course and one to add to your list. We received a very warm welcome when we arrived and nothing was a problem. The course was in great condition
Ricky from United Kingdom
on Mon, 27th Sep 2021
One of the best!
Cant fault Val De Lobo Ocean course, spectacular vistas, superb ocean views, changing terrains, interesting holes and the most plush clubhouse out there, our favourite course.
David from Portugal
on Tue, 21st Sep 2021
Good, but not great.
Condition of course was good, but having played at Vale do Lobo several times over the years, it did feel a little crowded and rushed, even though though not as busy as normal.
David from Portugal
on Fri, 17th Sep 2021
Fantastic view…nice course!
Roger from United Kingdom
on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Most beautiful course in the area - we had an amazing time and the views are
Iain
on Thu, 12th Aug 2021
Beautiful Beach Scenery
Front nine is a little boring with some silly holes - 3rd and 8th. However, the back nine is tremendous with challenging holes and spectacular holes along the beach.

The club really encourage juniors with their €1 offer and I will play again next year with my two juniors.

Course condition was very good.

Jean Manuel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Aug 2021
Superbe parcours avec trous en bord de mer
Superbe parcours entretenu à la perfection. Plusieurs trous en bord de mer qui offrent des points de vue magnifiques.

Greens de très bonne qualité et très roulants.

Michael Hackett from Portugal
on Sun, 1st Aug 2021
Great Golf course - the staff really looked after us 👍👏👏
Sebastien Bidault from Portugal
on Thu, 22nd Jul 2021
The most beautiful golf course in central Algarve
The most beautiful and the most interesting golf course in central Algarve
Darren from United Kingdom
on Sat, 17th Jul 2021
Ocean Golf
Played this course many times and always enjoy not always in the best condition only minor touches missed though. Great service at Spikes bar always and the pro shop is good.
Tomasz from Poland
on Tue, 13th Jul 2021
Beautiful course in excellent condition. Friendly staff. Good pace. Spectacular views. Course for everybody with wide fairways to use your driver but also tricky holes with blind shots and sophisticated par 3s. Worth playing. Definitely coming back.
Tony Higgins from Ireland
on Fri, 25th Jun 2021
Pleasantly surprised because I played the Royal Course a couple of years ago and was not impressed. Some fantastic holes on the back nine. Difficult for the average player but well worth playing especially the holes leading down to the sea.
Piet Rikkert from Netherlands
on Thu, 24th Jun 2021
Nice course, the greens are super and from some holes beautifull views.
Markus from Portugal
on Wed, 16th Jun 2021
Course with beautiful views
Played June 2021. course is in excellent condition, extraordinary views.

Nasty issue: even ladies have to wear an outfit with collars, even if dressed with proper golf attire (Lindeberg).

And driving range is poor, only up to 9 iron allowed.

Javier from Spain
on Sun, 6th Jun 2021
Nice course, good option in the area
Good course with spectacular views in some holes.
Joerg Krames from Germany
on Thu, 3rd Jun 2021
Hard to play Golf while enjoying the scenery
Great Course, good condition

The greens are really really big but on the other hand the par5 are not too long

Arron Lemon from United Kingdom
on Sat, 29th May 2021
Excellent course with beautiful views and good use of the land. Greens in good condition and watered regularly. Pleasure to play and a decent challenge.
Darren from United Kingdom
on Wed, 26th May 2021
Golf
Great course great facilities and lots of staff on hand to help. Excellent pro shop and good food afterwards.
Pieter from Portugal
on Fri, 14th May 2021
Spectacular second 9
Lovely views, spectacular second 9.

Not busy (due to covid)

Thomas Manth from Germany
on Thu, 6th May 2021
Tried once, but will not repeat
Not recommended for walking, and it is just another dull golf course with a lot of roads and traffic nearby
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Mon, 3rd May 2021
A favorite
A lovely course with very nice fairways for the most part. The greens were in good shape, although slower than we remembered from earlier years. The holes down near the ocean are super scenic.
Denise Hennin from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Jan 2021
Stunning Course
Stunning Course in a stunning location. Beautifully set out and thoroughly enjoyed it. The waterfall on the course is spectacular. Food and drink excellent afterwards.
helmut from Germany
on Sat, 2nd Jan 2021
Fantastic course
Les Bithell from United Kingdom
on Wed, 30th Dec 2020
A coarse that must be played
raymond from Portugal
on Tue, 22nd Dec 2020
Vale do Lobo Ocean
This is a well maintained & challenging course. The greens are in perfect condition.

We decided to walk despite being offered a free buggie, this was an error as the course is very undulating/very hilly.

The front of house were by far the most professional & friendly. We will return but definitely take a buggy

Brendan from United Kingdom
on Thu, 5th Nov 2020
V doL Ocean
Stunning design and varied layout. A course which must be played if you’re in the area. The ocean holes are spectacular and the ‘dog-leg’ waterfall hole is magnificent.
Boris from Switzerland
on Tue, 13th Oct 2020
Nice golf course, well located. The tees and greens are a bit marked but it is tolerable.
Jan from Netherlands
on Tue, 13th Oct 2020
Buggy needed to see superviews
The views are magnificant. For golf it is very much uphill walks and shots. Buggy is strongly recommanded.
Olivier Richard from France
on Thu, 1st Oct 2020
Very good golf
Very nice well maintained
mark from Ireland
on Thu, 24th Sep 2020
Spectacular scenery on the back 9
Tom from United Kingdom
on Wed, 23rd Sep 2020
Left a few out there
Enjoyable round - with some fabulous holes in the early part of the back nine, down towards the beach. Greens were very two paced - sometimes dry and fast, sometimes softer / more spongey.
Michael from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Sep 2020
Worth a visit
Despite the odd “rough” patch, the fairways were in very good. Greens were excellent. Not as quick as some but still fabulous to putt on. Enjoyed the round.
Stefan from Portugal
on Thu, 27th Aug 2020
Great!
Lovely views, the course was both challenging for pro golfers and for beginners and loads of fun to play on.
Dirk from Germany
on Sun, 23rd Aug 2020
Super Platz mit wunderschönen Clubhouse
Immer wieder herrlich zu spielen. Seit Jahren in einem hervorragenden Zustand
James from United Kingdom
on Sun, 9th Aug 2020
Lovely course good value for money, great clubhouse played it several times and always enjoy it.
Will Thornborough from Russian Federation
on Fri, 31st Jul 2020
Lovely course, very challenging
Lovely course, quite challenging, with a good mix of 3, 4 & 5 par holes. Plenty of very steep down and up holes too making club selection very difficult.
Mark Kirkman from United Kingdom
on Wed, 29th Jul 2020
Very good golf course everything in nice condition except the tees which were a bit worn. Excellent value for juniors 1 Euro and a free buggy as we played just after 12 noon. Great value.
David from United Kingdom
on Wed, 8th Jul 2020
ocean course in the wind
nice course and not so much in the houses as the Royal. Very windy today and so that made it a more challenging course. Its a great layout and in great condition. We played in afternoon in a cart and 18 holes took 3hrs and 10mins, so no sign of slow play here!
Jochen from Germany
on Fri, 6th Mar 2020
Ok course, a lot of up and down walking...
Paul from Ireland
on Fri, 14th Feb 2020
Paul (Ireland)
4 star. Consistently presented in very good condition. Very well run. Good challenge.
Nigel Nash from United Kingdom
on Sat, 25th Jan 2020
Brilliant Back 9
Great course and always in very good condition, i love playing the back 9 which has some great golfing holes along with some superb views
Denver from United Kingdom
on Tue, 14th Jan 2020
Special
Played on Jan 13 2020. Absolutely first class course. Challenging and beautiful with breathtaking coastal views.
Ralf from Portugal
on Fri, 10th Jan 2020
Nice resort - regulat Golf
Spectacular views, especially on the back nine. T-boxes ***, fairways *** - some only ** (too high), greens ** (slow and not the ones you expect for such a luxury resort course.
Iain
on Wed, 1st Jan 2020
Enjoyable round at the Ocean
Always in good condition but 17th tee being reconstructed so temporary tee in play.

Love the back nine holes as close to beach.

Challenging course with much undulation.

Ulrich from Portugal
on Mon, 30th Dec 2019
Very Nice Course but....
Enjoyed playing the course today. However, the Marshall failed to keep play moving and therefore play was extremely slow. Course generally in great condition, great layout. Unfortunately, the greens were fairly bumpy making putting quite a challenge.
Roberto from Portugal
on Fri, 27th Dec 2019
Beautiful and well maintained course
Beautiful and well maintained course! Overall it is also a forgiving course , excellent facilities and overall great scenery. I have played both in summer and winter and it is always enjoyable. Definitely worth a visit!
John
on Fri, 8th Nov 2019
We loved Vale do Lobo Ocean
First time to play this course and can't wait to play again. Some great holes from elevated tees and water to really test you in places. Stunning views along the coast.
Keith from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
Great course and service
Wonderful course and staff very accommodating and helpful. We had booked the Ocean course but asked if we could play the Royal which they managed to do for us.

Will return to play Ocean next year for sure.

Marc from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Oct 2019
Unfortunate couldn’t play.
Unfortunately I wasn’t able to play due to Illness however the rest of my group managed to play and was impressed with the course apart from the tee boxes on the front 9 which were cut up. Still one of my favourite course on the Algarve.
Scott from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd Oct 2019
Really good course - Ocean golf course
Wow what a golf course. Lovely views especially on back 9. Difficult at times and as you would guess lots of water on back 9. 16th is a beauty. ⛳⛳⛳
LB from Portugal
on Wed, 2nd Oct 2019
Elevated greens
Beautiful course. Could be better maintained for the price.

Lots and lots of up hill holes. Plays much longer than the distance on the score card

CYRILLE GUERY from France
on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
Magnifique golf , qualité irréprochable , parcours variés à ne pas manquer
Joerg from Germany
on Tue, 24th Sep 2019
the back nine are wonderful. it is better to take a buggy.
David Keating from Ireland
on Sun, 22nd Sep 2019
Glad I played it but.....
Decent course, first few holes are bland but then it reveals itself. Not that difficult and not many views of the ocean but a decent track nonetheless. Not sure its worth the price, clubhouse surrounds are lovely and course is in good condition but not that memorable.
Keith from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Sep 2019
VDL Ocean.
Played VDL Ocean early afternoon with the 20 Euro buggy deal. Very busy with large groups of mostly blokes who mostly it appeared should have been playing the the crazy golf course and not a very challenging golf course. The course is beautiful with two distinct halves. The front nine is tree lined but quite open. Some really challenging hilly holes with elevation changes. Coming from playing a flat course this really makes you think. Ninth hole with its waterfall next to the green and all the way down the left hand side is beautiful. Then the back nine and a total change. Now it's hilly with blind tee shots and tree lined. And that view of the sea. OMG what a view. A few holes run along the beautiful beach. Great fast putting surfaces. Not good practice facilities with a driving range off of mats where you can only hit a 9 iron. Does have a practice net but has huge holes in it. Has its own golf shop. Helpful starter who tried his best to find a gap for me. Lovely bar.
Tony from Ireland
on Sat, 14th Sep 2019
Challenging course in a magnificent location.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Vale do Lobo Ocean page's or to connect with other Vale do Lobo Ocean golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.