Loading
to

Vale do Lobo Ocean Reviews

Ron Cookson from United Kingdom
on Thu, 23rd May 2024
Stunning views
Ron Cookson from United Kingdom
on Thu, 23rd May 2024
Excellent
Chantal from Portugal
on Sun, 19th May 2024
Wow
Edith from United States
on Thu, 16th May 2024
Vale the lobo is really fun with nice views on the ocean. For a women it’s a long course even from the forward tees. Conditions were good!
Robert from United Kingdom
on Tue, 7th May 2024
Tough
Lots of blind tee shots. Not for the faint hearted. Difficult greens but the setting and layout is spectacular.
neil from United Kingdom
on Tue, 7th May 2024
Excellent & value for money
Top GC to play at, course layout brilliant, excellent condition.
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Sat, 27th Apr 2024
Ocean 5 *
Top course, greens very quick and some fantastic holes , 4th time of playing and never disappointed
Darren Howes from United Kingdom
on Thu, 25th Apr 2024
Impressive golf club
This is a better course than Royal in my opinion. The 9th is stunning and the back nine has several holes by the sea. Course was in great condition
Alastair from United Kingdom
on Sun, 21st Apr 2024
Fun in the sun
Some interesting holes and a good layout. Service is exceptional from check in to buggy hire.

Course in good condition although Royal a bit better.

Philip from Portugal
on Sat, 23rd Mar 2024
Incredible back 9
Get the early bird tee time and then both vale do Lobo courses become incredible value. Immaculate fairways. The back 9 heading toward the ocean is the most fun I have had for a long time. Dramatic, forgiving and not too long. Great course.
Tom from Belgium
on Fri, 8th Mar 2024
Beautiful golf course ! Challenging holes. Very well maintained!! We’ll be back
Colin from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Mar 2024
.
Michael Keith from United Kingdom
on Sun, 3rd Mar 2024
Great course, a must play whilst you are in the al
Everyone we spoke to was so polite nd helpful.

The ocean course is in great condition it was a privilege to play here

Peter from Germany
on Fri, 23rd Feb 2024
Beautiful settiings
Played on Feb 16 and 21.. Nice Course, beautiful setting. Handicaps should be monitored/verified, as sometimes it seems people don‘t know how to handle their Clubs, moving their Carts over the Greens…
James from Poland
on Mon, 5th Feb 2024
One of the most fun golf courses .. and definitely the most beautiful! Similar to a Poor Man’s Pebble Beach!!! Played Monte Rei yesterday and this was in better condition and more enjoyable. Some of the prettiest golf hole ever! Number 7 at at Pebble, the par 3 Cypress and 15 at Vale do Lobo are the best!
Armando from United States
on Sat, 27th Jan 2024
Espectacular
Espectacular!!

Además, teníamos hora de crepúsculo y nos adelantaron media hora

Gracias!!

Jouffre from Portugal
on Tue, 16th Jan 2024
very nice and well maintained course, unfortunately we played partly in the rain, but it is not your fault. I would recommend this route as we were advised.
Arve from Portugal
on Sat, 2nd Dec 2023
Nice course in stunning settings
The course was in good condition even though it was raining a lot the night before.
Gayle Boyce from United Kingdom
on Sat, 28th Oct 2023
Course in bad state of repair
Dermot
on Sat, 28th Oct 2023
Very poor
Very poor conditions all over
Daran from United Kingdom
on Sun, 22nd Oct 2023
Breezy ocean course
Nice course but holes 2,3,4,5,6, seem out of sync with the rest of the course. Great back 9 with stunning holes next to ocean and played in difficult windy conditions. Missed the rain but the staff were there with towels to give to those poor souls who got caught in the heavy downpour which was great service.
Kevin from United Kingdom
on Thu, 19th Oct 2023
Average course
Fairways poor greens poor not in the same condition as the Royal
Lesley from Portugal
on Fri, 13th Oct 2023
Vale do Moljmmm
To pay for coffees before my game was a slow process.

Buggies taken off course too far ahead of all course signs.

Darren from United Kingdom
on Mon, 9th Oct 2023
Stunning!
Sensational sea view course in stunning condition, wow!
colin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Sep 2023
Val do lobo ocean course - twilight
Course in reasonable condition and just love the views! Greens were good . However , need to monitor handicaps - 3 ladies were 2 groups in front and looked like they’d never held a club. Thankfully they gave up after 10 holes! Twilight at 1530 was good value .
Alistair Riddoch from United Kingdom
on Sat, 23rd Sep 2023
WOW, Cracking Course Remember Your Camera.
Wow what a fantastic set up they have at Valo do Lobo clubhouse, very efficient and helpful staff in reception and buggy station, great practice facilites. The course itself is a gem, remember to take a camera with you as you will play some fantastically laid out holes here with spectacular views. The course is in fantastic condition, many green maintenance staff in attendance fairways, bunkers, greens all faultless. The only issue as with many other holiday courses are the amount of unrepaired pitch marks on the greens, us golfers need to take a good hard look at ourselves with this and repair your pitchmarks...ok rant over. Buggys are all in a new condition, ice box and water supplied, the whole complex is great and the prices to play these courses are very competitive as you are playing a quality course. Can I also say that Algarve Golf are a fantastic company to book with, James Crawford was super helpful for the whole time we were there and could not do enough for us to ensure our stay and experience was 5 star.
Marc from Canada
on Mon, 18th Sep 2023
Excellent course , but staff too strict on some rule. Actually we had golf sandals which are not permitted but never before showing up have we been advice of that rule. Actually golf sandals are accepted all over Arizona in courses as respectable as the Vale do Lobo. It was unfortunate that we had to buy golf shoes on site. Please advise in advance in the future and show a little bit of common sense of ever a foreign customer come up with something unusual.
John from Ireland
on Fri, 15th Sep 2023
A solid test
The greens weren't the best, however its a fine course and a challenging test . The clubhouse facilities are very good.
Julian Anderton from United Kingdom
on Fri, 15th Sep 2023
Poor Greens
Lovely layout especially down by the ocean. fairways in reasonable condition.

However, greens terrible. Bare patches and dozens of unrepaired pitch marks. The course has been overplayed and unfortunately many people dont repair their pitch marks.

Alan from Ireland
on Sun, 3rd Sep 2023
Lovely course, was in fair to good condition with only minor issues. Would recommend
Stefan from Germany
on Thu, 17th Aug 2023
Nice Ocean views
Some nice holes close to the ocean, very nice par 3 right in the beach. The rest is ok, many blind uphill tee shots. Some greens have many dry spots. Good deals in the afternoon, played in 3 hours as a twosome at 12:10.
Deane from United Kingdom
on Tue, 8th Aug 2023
Some areas of the course seemed to smell quite badly and areas of the course was slightly overwatered but other than that a lovely course
Paul from Portugal
on Fri, 21st Jul 2023
Nice course
Nice course, very well kept, very friendly staff
Darren Howes from United Kingdom
on Thu, 15th Jun 2023
Darren Howes
Very nice course. I was surprised how much we liked it. Preferred it to The Royal. Great condition
Paul from United Kingdom
on Thu, 1st Jun 2023
Ocean course
Decent course.

Quite windy.

Didn't think the place was overly welcoming.

Daniel from Portugal
on Tue, 16th May 2023
Great, challenging course in beautiful condition.
This course was in great condition. The greens are fast, if you are putting down hill, good luck. The Fairways are plush, the rough is thick and sand traps are soft.

The course is challenging and very scenic as it has beautiful views of the ocean.

I highly recommend this course. Bring your A game!

Alain from France
on Mon, 15th May 2023
ocean, superbe
parcours en état exceptionnel, green parfait

préférence personnelle pour le parcours royal

Gary from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd May 2023
Scenic course in great condition
Course was very scenic and in great condition. Some memorable holes notably the 10th with a waterfall to the left of the fairway. Definitely worth taking a buggy as it was quite hilly
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Tue, 18th Apr 2023
Well maintained
With only a few small exceptions, the fairways were in wonderful condition .... not something most other courses in the area can boast of. The ladies tee boxes were also in good shape - so nice to be able to stand flat and not look down on hole after brown hole. Starting early, we finished play in just over 3 hours. It was a pleasure.
Meenh Fong from Singapore
on Mon, 17th Apr 2023
Truly enjoyable course
Nice course n many uphill holes. 2nd 9 was breathtaking esp H16
Roy from United Kingdom
on Tue, 11th Apr 2023
Scenic
Extremely scenic course with six holes by the ocean. Well kept and designed, but not at the level of the very top Algarve courses. A very enjoyable round.
Walter from Switzerland
on Tue, 11th Apr 2023
Beautiful setting, perfectly groomed .
Beautiful setting, perfectly groomed fairways and greens, interesting architecture(the course and the villas along the fairways) with at times spectaculare views. Enjoyable all around. The Restaurant completes the very positive experience. The driving range doesn`t do its name justice...
John Drake from United Kingdom
on Mon, 10th Apr 2023
Vale de lobo
Very nice course in fabulous condition. Paired with someone who had only just started playing and kept getting asked to hurry up by marshall and and rightly so but V de L need to have a think!
Sylvia from Netherlands
on Tue, 21st Mar 2023
A great course!
A course that lives up to its name.

The one thing I don't understand about Vale do Lobo is that everything is top of the bill, except the practice facilities. Having said that, what a wonderful course!

Tony from Portugal
on Mon, 13th Mar 2023
Great course
Great course and v.good condition. Unfortunately slow play has to be endured mainly due to people who are incompetent and likely not to have handicaps. One case: three buggies, 5 people, 5 sets of clubs!!!
Marcel Hungermann from Germany
on Sat, 4th Mar 2023
Ocean Course in March
Amazing Course with lots of ondulation. Some holes are good for Driver. Good Conditions, some tough holes. Overall fair course. Super friendly and helpful employees. Good welcome feeling.
pallier from France
on Tue, 28th Feb 2023
beautiful scenary but you need to take a buggy
4 golfers in february: beautiful golf course, with beautiful sea landscape especially on the back nine; but the course is long and with many slopes, so we advise to take buggies: we were walking and it was tiring, and with some stress because others players had buggy, so we had always the feeling to be slow, even if we finish the 18 holes in 4h30.
Mac Shiells from Canada
on Mon, 20th Feb 2023
Needs maintenance
Lots or rough patches on both some of the fairways and some of the greens. Not in the best of shape. Should be better given the price of green fees. Many blind shots which is not good the first/second time you play here.
Paul from Portugal
on Sat, 4th Feb 2023
Stunning Vistas
Beautiful day, very good course layout, spectacular back 9 views. Fast greens. Friendly staff. Could use a little TLC after particularly cold January.

,Very much enjoyed the round.

Tom from United Kingdom
on Sun, 1st Jan 2023
Good course
Lovely course with some very interesting holes. The greens could do with some loving but guess it’s the time of the year. Would recommend playing
Steven Dranfield from United States
on Fri, 25th Nov 2022
good greens, conditions pretty good, more memorable than most of Royal, enjoyed
Tony from Portugal
on Thu, 24th Nov 2022
Excellent course with good open spaces.
Excellent course with good open spaces. Unfortunately, due to slow play by groups ahead there was bunching on tees with 3-4 holes to play. More control is required on handicaps and whether players are not beginners.
Andy Richardson from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Nov 2022
Good course, poor welcome.
Enjoyed the course once again. Shame that the lady om reception wasnt more welcoming. It felt like i was interrupting her day!
Magnus from Germany
on Mon, 14th Nov 2022
Ocean Course is a expierence
much better than Royal; wonderful Views on the second nine; Greens are welldone
Thomas from United Kingdom
on Sat, 12th Nov 2022
Incredible course, please maintain its standard.
Reception to golf course non existant, quality of greens and tee box were not up to local standards. Fortunately the golf architecture and views on the ocean are perfect. Green fee or maintenance to be adjusted
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Fri, 11th Nov 2022
Very scenic at times
We unfortunately were given a start time in the middle of a member's tournament which meant lots of waiting. At 4.5 hours it was okay. The course is in decent shape, except for lots of pitch marks. It's somewhere between a 3 and 4 - the relatively slow pace of play always makes it less fun.
Paul from Portugal
on Sat, 5th Nov 2022
The course is well maintain but the holes are not for good players…

I would not call this ocean course as one hole is near the ocean

Not the best course for the money

Mario from Switzerland
on Tue, 25th Oct 2022
Magnifique parcours avec quelques trius au bord de l'océan, splendide
Claire from Ireland
on Wed, 19th Oct 2022
They could do a better job in pairing players…. Laranjal & Quinta north & south run much better, staff & course’s excellent.
Denis from Canada
on Thu, 13th Oct 2022
Well managed course. Great service. A real test. Fantastic layout.

Our favourite.

Marie
on Thu, 13th Oct 2022
Always enjoy playing Vale de Lobo
goetz from Germany
on Sun, 9th Oct 2022
fantastic course with stunning views
Fantastic course with stunning views towards the ocean, superb maintained
Gary from United Kingdom
on Sat, 8th Oct 2022
Very nice course and well organised.
Dan from Portugal
on Tue, 4th Oct 2022
Pretty good
For 129 euros, I really expected a nicer course. Beautiful ocean views on the back nine, but the greens were really beat up. One buggy bar serving 2 golf courses, not ideal.
Mark from United States
on Tue, 27th Sep 2022
Gos course and great set up
Alan from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Sep 2022
Lovely Track
Excellent course in great condition all round. Good test for all handicap levels. Generous fairways, no rough to speak of and fast tricky greens. Great day.
Derek from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Sep 2022
Worth Playing
Not as good as the Royal IMOP, but still good, some nice holes.
Glen from United States
on Sun, 18th Sep 2022
Best ocean views of the week with a couple of spectacular holes. Great conditions and a nice spot for lunch after.
Nick from Portugal
on Sat, 10th Sep 2022
Should have been better for £100
Lovely setting.

Disappointed that scorecard did not have map/plan of holes.

Having paid £100 for a round I expected the greens to be in better condition.

On the whole and enjoyable round.

James Symons from United Kingdom
on Mon, 5th Sep 2022
Vale De Lobo Ocean
Fantastic Course! Will come back!
Iain from United Kingdom
on Mon, 5th Sep 2022
Great track.
Eddie from Portugal
on Sat, 20th Aug 2022
Excellent
Tom from United Kingdom
on Sun, 31st Jul 2022
Mr Tom
Very enjoyable round. Holes that lead to the beach are stunning. Definitely will be returning.
Chris from Portugal
on Mon, 25th Jul 2022
Super course
Fabulous course in an amazing setting. A relaxed and welcoming clubhouse.
Lars from Sweden
on Sat, 23rd Jul 2022
Nice course with panorama views
Really nice course in good shape!
Tobias from Portugal
on Thu, 21st Jul 2022
Perfect afternoon
Nice staff - nice to play
Craig Smith from Portugal
on Mon, 18th Jul 2022
Lovely course, great condition
Really enjoyed my round here. The greens were very true, fairways and rough were nice to hit from. Best course so far this trip (including three in Spain). Recommend.
Stephen from United States
on Fri, 8th Jul 2022
The hack attack on tour
Brilliant course with stunning setting. Really enjoyed it and will be back. We not negative the lads were complaining the drinks truck only passed us 3 times 😂
Heinz-Peter Clodius from Portugal
on Sun, 12th Jun 2022
Excellent Ocean Course with wonderful views!
Wir sind jedes Mal begeistert: sehr freundlicher Empfang, guter Service vor Start, excellent gepflegte Fairways und Spurtreue Grüns!
Monika from Poland
on Fri, 10th Jun 2022
Spectacular views
Spectacular views! Diverse holes - you won’t be bored and will definitely need a camera 📷!
Glen from United States
on Fri, 27th May 2022
Val do lobo
Was in great condition. We’ll worth playing, was very quiet on the sunset tee time.
Paoloi w from India
on Wed, 18th May 2022
Spettacolo!
Campo spettacolare!

Struttura e organizzazione di gran livello. Bella club house e pro shop.

Il campo è praticamente perfetto.

Le seconde nove più difficile ma con una vista meravigliosa sull'oceano.

Assolutamente da provare!

Tiernan from Ireland
on Thu, 12th May 2022
Amazing course can’t wait to play here again
Veronique from France
on Mon, 9th May 2022
Fantastic course
Fantastic course.
Henrik from Russian Federation
on Sun, 8th May 2022
Nice round but a bit slow. Definitely come back again
Tony from United Kingdom
on Tue, 19th Apr 2022
A great course and staff
Karen Clarke from Portugal
on Tue, 5th Apr 2022
The Ocean Course atVale do Lobo another must play.
This is the second time I have played the Ocean Course. Every bit as good as the first time and of help is knowing my way round. I got out early and on my own so got round with no hold ups other than letting the greenkeepers finish on z couple of holes. They have sit on mini tractors to smooth the bunkers. An interesting watch. Everything is in terrific condition. The subtlety of the slopes on the greens still caught me out. The holes on the back 9, in particular 11, 14 and 15, the latter being the signature hole, are the most memorable although the 9th is right up there with the somewhat quirky. I rate this course another must play and only marginally behind the Royal course and the Old Course. A buggy or trolley definitely needed although I struggle to see how 50 euros is a fair price for a buggy. That though is my only gripe. Give both Vale do Lobo courses a go because you will definitely want to play them again.
Keiran from United Kingdom
on Thu, 24th Mar 2022
Enjoyable course but had higher expectations
A good course saved by the greens and the views. The course was a bit rough in all honesty and the conditions weren’t as I’d expect for a course that’s 100 euros. The service in the resort also was disappointing, range not open until 8am and cafe/clubhouse not open until 8am. No good for us if we’re teeing off at 7.50am. Not the 5 star resort we expected it to be.
Matthew from Portugal
on Sat, 19th Mar 2022
Amazing staff, great environment. Course was impeccable, very well taken care of especially the greens!

Can’t wait to try out the royal course soon.

Mike from United Kingdom
on Wed, 16th Mar 2022
An excellent course in excellent condition. Not to be missed.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Vale do Lobo Ocean page's or to connect with other Vale do Lobo Ocean golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Green Fees & Tee Times
All golf course green fees, deals, and tee times displayed on Algarve Golf are offered at the lowest discounted rates permissible. We look forward to assisting you with your booking in Portugal. ⛳
Algarve Golf uses cookies.