Loading
to

Vale do Lobo Ocean Reviews

Michael from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Sep 2020
Worth a visit
Despite the odd “rough” patch, the fairways were in very good. Greens were excellent. Not as quick as some but still fabulous to putt on. Enjoyed the round.
Stefan from Portugal
on Thu, 27th Aug 2020
Great!
Lovely views, the course was both challenging for pro golfers and for beginners and loads of fun to play on.
Dirk from Germany
on Sun, 23rd Aug 2020
Super Platz mit wunderschönen Clubhouse
Immer wieder herrlich zu spielen. Seit Jahren in einem hervorragenden Zustand
James from United Kingdom
on Sun, 9th Aug 2020
Lovely course good value for money, great clubhouse played it several times and always enjoy it.
Will Thornborough from Russian Federation
on Fri, 31st Jul 2020
Lovely course, very challenging
Lovely course, quite challenging, with a good mix of 3, 4 & 5 par holes. Plenty of very steep down and up holes too making club selection very difficult.
Mark Kirkman from United Kingdom
on Wed, 29th Jul 2020
Very good golf course everything in nice condition except the tees which were a bit worn. Excellent value for juniors 1 Euro and a free buggy as we played just after 12 noon. Great value.
David from United Kingdom
on Wed, 8th Jul 2020
ocean course in the wind
nice course and not so much in the houses as the Royal. Very windy today and so that made it a more challenging course. Its a great layout and in great condition. We played in afternoon in a cart and 18 holes took 3hrs and 10mins, so no sign of slow play here!
Jochen from Germany
on Fri, 6th Mar 2020
Ok course, a lot of up and down walking...
Paul from Ireland
on Fri, 14th Feb 2020
Paul (Ireland)
4 star. Consistently presented in very good condition. Very well run. Good challenge.
Nigel Nash from United Kingdom
on Sat, 25th Jan 2020
Brilliant Back 9
Great course and always in very good condition, i love playing the back 9 which has some great golfing holes along with some superb views
Denver from United Kingdom
on Tue, 14th Jan 2020
Special
Played on Jan 13 2020. Absolutely first class course. Challenging and beautiful with breathtaking coastal views.
Ralf from Portugal
on Fri, 10th Jan 2020
Nice resort - regulat Golf
Spectacular views, especially on the back nine. T-boxes ***, fairways *** - some only ** (too high), greens ** (slow and not the ones you expect for such a luxury resort course.
Iain
on Wed, 1st Jan 2020
Enjoyable round at the Ocean
Always in good condition but 17th tee being reconstructed so temporary tee in play.

Love the back nine holes as close to beach.

Challenging course with much undulation.

Ulrich from Portugal
on Mon, 30th Dec 2019
Very Nice Course but....
Enjoyed playing the course today. However, the Marshall failed to keep play moving and therefore play was extremely slow. Course generally in great condition, great layout. Unfortunately, the greens were fairly bumpy making putting quite a challenge.
Roberto from Portugal
on Fri, 27th Dec 2019
Beautiful and well maintained course
Beautiful and well maintained course! Overall it is also a forgiving course , excellent facilities and overall great scenery. I have played both in summer and winter and it is always enjoyable. Definitely worth a visit!
John
on Fri, 8th Nov 2019
We loved Vale do Lobo Ocean
First time to play this course and can't wait to play again. Some great holes from elevated tees and water to really test you in places. Stunning views along the coast.
Keith from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
Great course and service
Wonderful course and staff very accommodating and helpful. We had booked the Ocean course but asked if we could play the Royal which they managed to do for us.

Will return to play Ocean next year for sure.

Marc from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Oct 2019
Unfortunate couldn’t play.
Unfortunately I wasn’t able to play due to Illness however the rest of my group managed to play and was impressed with the course apart from the tee boxes on the front 9 which were cut up. Still one of my favourite course on the Algarve.
Scott from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd Oct 2019
Really good course - Ocean golf course
Wow what a golf course. Lovely views especially on back 9. Difficult at times and as you would guess lots of water on back 9. 16th is a beauty. ⛳⛳⛳
LB from Portugal
on Wed, 2nd Oct 2019
Elevated greens
Beautiful course. Could be better maintained for the price.

Lots and lots of up hill holes. Plays much longer than the distance on the score card

CYRILLE GUERY from France
on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
Magnifique golf , qualité irréprochable , parcours variés à ne pas manquer
Joerg from Germany
on Tue, 24th Sep 2019
the back nine are wonderful. it is better to take a buggy.
David Keating from Ireland
on Sun, 22nd Sep 2019
Glad I played it but.....
Decent course, first few holes are bland but then it reveals itself. Not that difficult and not many views of the ocean but a decent track nonetheless. Not sure its worth the price, clubhouse surrounds are lovely and course is in good condition but not that memorable.
Keith from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Sep 2019
VDL Ocean.
Played VDL Ocean early afternoon with the 20 Euro buggy deal. Very busy with large groups of mostly blokes who mostly it appeared should have been playing the the crazy golf course and not a very challenging golf course. The course is beautiful with two distinct halves. The front nine is tree lined but quite open. Some really challenging hilly holes with elevation changes. Coming from playing a flat course this really makes you think. Ninth hole with its waterfall next to the green and all the way down the left hand side is beautiful. Then the back nine and a total change. Now it's hilly with blind tee shots and tree lined. And that view of the sea. OMG what a view. A few holes run along the beautiful beach. Great fast putting surfaces. Not good practice facilities with a driving range off of mats where you can only hit a 9 iron. Does have a practice net but has huge holes in it. Has its own golf shop. Helpful starter who tried his best to find a gap for me. Lovely bar.
Tony from Ireland
on Sat, 14th Sep 2019
Challenging course in a magnificent location.
philip from United Kingdom
on Mon, 9th Sep 2019
Golf- Vale do Lobo Ocean
Superb, great location. One of the best I have ever played. Ocean holes are s bonus.
Shelton from United States
on Sun, 8th Sep 2019
Good course with wonderful views.
Beautiful course, particularly the back 9 where you have some ocean holes. Absolutely spectacular. I would like to give it 4.5 stars but that isn’t an option. Course was maintained to a 4, not a 5. Everything else was great. Nice staff, great bar for drinks after.
david bates from United Kingdom
on Sat, 31st Aug 2019
Lovely views

Nice course plenty of room if your not straight

Only gripe was pitch marks everywhere as other players seem blind to the need to repair them when clearly there

simon nash from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Aug 2019
Excellent course and service
Charlie from Portugal
on Wed, 26th Jun 2019
Amazing golf course. Well worth a game
James from Ireland
on Sun, 23rd Jun 2019
excellent
giovanni from Italy
on Tue, 18th Jun 2019
Perfect
Fantastic beatyful location and the course too
richard from United Kingdom
on Mon, 10th Jun 2019
Very good I would recommend them this was the first time I used them every happy wish I played better
Dan from Portugal
on Tue, 28th May 2019
Great course
Dan from Portugal
on Tue, 28th May 2019
Great
The nicest course I’ve played in Algarve so far!!
Frazer from United Kingdom
on Sat, 18th May 2019
Beautiful course, the 14th and 15th in particular which are along the beach. Every hole brings a new challenge. It was the best course in the area we played on, is a must visit.
Gary Rayner from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th May 2019
Ocean experience!
Truly outstanding course, kept in immaculate condition. The changes in elevation, variety of water obstacles and keenly placed bunkers make this an enjoyable challenge all the way round. Amazing course, only down point was that I only got to play it once!
Le Roy Yannik from Portugal
on Mon, 6th May 2019
Splendide parcours
Enchanté par ce parcours qui jouit d’un cadre exceptionnel,incertain sur le relief du parcours j’ai opté pour la version tout à pied avec sac sur le dos cela équivaut à 45 étages montés et 11km de distance parcourue tous les trous sont intéressants avec une eau parfois très présente,mon trou préféré le 13 .Aconseiller sans modération
Scott Kerr from Europe
on Sat, 4th May 2019
Best course we played which considering we played the Old Course is praise indeed. Stunning golf course.
Adam from United Kingdom
on Tue, 23rd Apr 2019
As I Remembered
Course was in good condition. Stunning views, but tough on a really windy day!
Marc from United Kingdom
on Mon, 15th Apr 2019
Standard service at Vale do Lobo
The tee boxes needed a bit of TLC and apart from that it was everything you'd expect form the Vale do Lobo complex.
Klaus
on Sun, 24th Mar 2019
The best VdL course
The best Vale do Lobo course. Great holes, beautiful view and a course in superb shape.
Marilyn from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Mar 2019
Loved it. Back 9 holes beautiful views of the ocean
Dan from Portugal
on Sun, 10th Mar 2019
March Golf at vale do Lobo Ocean
We played on an early bird deal and pretty much had the course to ourselves. It was in lovely condition and we had no complaints about the checking in or our round.
David Corden from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Feb 2019
Half Term Golf
Excellent course in decent condition for February. Couple of tee beds been re-laid and not open so ladies tee beds used .
Sylvie from Portugal
on Thu, 14th Feb 2019
Tout est impeccable, accueil, parcours et vue magnifique. Le staff est très gentil et attentionné, passe régulièrement sur le parcours pour vous demander si tout va bien.

Tout est conforme et à la hauteur de sa réputation.

Buggy recommandé

larisa from Italy
on Wed, 13th Feb 2019
Molto bello e divertente
Fredrik from Sweden
on Wed, 30th Jan 2019
Beautiful course.
Marc from United Kingdom
on Tue, 8th Jan 2019
Happy
For me still one of the best courses on the Algarve, the back 9 needed a little bit of treatment around the tee box area but apart from this no complaints.
david from Netherlands
on Wed, 2nd Jan 2019
Vale de Lobo Ocean
Great course with some lovely holes near the Atlantic. Good early bird rates and even better when they throw in a free buggy (2 tees were being re-turfed).
Gerlinde from Austria
on Sat, 29th Dec 2018
Beautiful sea views
Wonderful course, very nice sea views! Very well maintained.
blair keeling from Canada
on Tue, 20th Nov 2018
Once again, perfect facility, excellent shape. Just way over priced.
Kevin from Belgium
on Sat, 17th Nov 2018
Some marvellous holes on the back 9 but front 9 could do with more characteristic holes like the 7th and 8th.
Dany from Switzerland
on Thu, 25th Oct 2018
OK - course

Faire Greens

Gilbert
on Thu, 25th Oct 2018
We enjoyed the course and had a pleasant moment playing the Ocean.
Christian from United States
on Thu, 18th Oct 2018
Ocean course recommended
Beautiful course near the beach, absolutely recommended.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Sat, 29th Sep 2018
1st time we have played there. Very impressed with the whole set up. Course, staff and club house were all exceptional. Would definitely recommend this course.
Mark from United Kingdom
on Mon, 24th Sep 2018
Must do.
Great course in a great setting. Managed round in 4.5 hours which considering how busy it was isn't bad.

Buggies a tad expensive.

Michael from United Kingdom
on Sun, 23rd Sep 2018
Awesome, golf pants but set up, course, staff all good, expensive but these days everywhere out here to play golf is dear
Eoin from Ireland
on Tue, 18th Sep 2018
Beautiful course with amazing scenery..in excellent condition.only fault it is a bit hilly but buggies off set this..clubhouse is spectacular with amazing facilities..
Michael from Portugal
on Sun, 16th Sep 2018
Challenging course and in great condition! Played a twilight round and just barely made it before sundown because there were so many players ahead.
Graham from United Kingdom
on Fri, 7th Sep 2018
Course was in great condition. Staff and bar was excellent afterwards
Charlene from Canada
on Wed, 5th Sep 2018
Vale do Lobo Ocean
Beautiful picturesque course with fast greens and very friendly staff. We saw some brave people walk it but we are glad we took a cart. groups were well spaced apart. We stopped for lunch after and the spiked salad was wonderful.
Domingo Ramos from Portugal
on Fri, 24th Aug 2018
Excelent conditions
Barnaby from United States
on Mon, 20th Aug 2018
Fantastic Views
This is a very well maintained course with some exceptional views. It is let down ever so slightly compared to some of the exquisite courses on the Algarve by the fact that it has a few holes which don’t linger in the mind. It is however a great test of golf and has some lovely moments. I’m pleased I played it, but would want to test out the Royal course before teeing up on the Ocean again. The condition of the course was excellent with lightening quick greens and very well maintained fairways.
Christian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 14th Aug 2018
One of the best courses I have played in Algarve.
Wow, Wow and more Wow. Great course for all levels. Fantastic course condition and views to take your breathe away. Will play again.
Gerlinde from Austria
on Sun, 5th Aug 2018
Wonderful course
Great course! Beautiful design and sea views - played it at 35 degrees, was pretty hot!!!
Billy
on Fri, 20th Jul 2018
Ocean Course...great panorama.
Stunning views down to the beach and the ocean.

Despite recent greens maintenance the course was in good order.

Mark Sheppey from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th May 2018
brilliant as with every other time i have played it, stunning location and very good condition
Steve from Portugal
on Tue, 8th May 2018
Vale do Lobo (Ocean)
Very nice course, a tricky test especially on the blind shots first time round.

Considering the price I was a little disappointed that the range balls weren’t free like nearly all the other courses I have played and the fact that no one told me until I was at the range and didn’t have time to go all the way back to the shop. Would have thought the starter would have some tokens.

Peter from United Kingdom
on Tue, 8th May 2018
Best course we have ever played
Awesome course, simply beautiful - clubhouse and surroundings are top notch and very high end but still friendly and welcoming. Golf doesn't get any better than this. Suprisingly undulating and quite hard work with a trolley but well worth it.

Only gripe was we played twilight (good value and a better time of day to play) and the sprinklers came on when we are on 17th, and there were people behind us - why not have them come on after play has finished?

Gerard from Europe
on Mon, 7th May 2018
Fantastic course. Pristine condition. Very enjoyable
Lutz from Germany
on Wed, 2nd May 2018
sehr guter und auch hervorragend gepflegter Platz
Steven from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Apr 2018
Five Star Course
Lovely course but difficult. My dad and I enjoyed two rounds here and would recommend to all.
Gerard from Ireland
on Wed, 28th Mar 2018
Val De Lobo Ocean
Excellent course, would give it five stars if I was a better golfer, tough track but some great holes. Also wind was well up when we played.

Will return to play again next year

Klaus
on Mon, 26th Mar 2018
Wauww - nice clubhouse, great golfcourse and friendly staff. I just don't know why the buggy have to be €5 more expensive than at other courses
Jeff from Canada
on Thu, 15th Mar 2018
Vale do Lobo-Ocean
Nice layout-a bit wet since it had rained a lot recently there. Greens were in good shape. Some significant elevation changes made for interesting club selections at times.
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Sun, 4th Mar 2018
Very good holes by the sea but too many average parkland holes
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Sun, 4th Mar 2018
Very good holes by the sea but too many average parkland holes
James from Portugal
on Sat, 24th Feb 2018
Beautiful course and well maintained. Some very long challenging holes.
Daniel J. from Portugal
on Wed, 27th Dec 2017
Very nice, not too demanding course. The location is simply awesome. Great clubhouse with decent food. Friendly service at both the restaurant and front desk.
Thomas Nordlund from Portugal
on Sun, 3rd Dec 2017
I played in the morning , I liked the course. Maybe a little better service from the reception would be good.
richard brindley from United Kingdom
on Wed, 22nd Nov 2017
Played this course a number of times in the past and still a great course in good condition. Service in the bar area a tad slow but ok.
Terry
on Tue, 21st Nov 2017
One of the best courses on the Algarve. Quite tough but playable. Fantastic views.
Nicholas from Germany
on Mon, 23rd Oct 2017
Critical Comments re. Vale do Lobo Ocean Course
A first-rate course with some challenging and scenic holes patricularly among the last nine. Regrettably some of the first nine holes were not in the best shape and were overly damp in some cases. The general upkeep of the

fairways and greens does not measure up to the standards of the Quinto do Lago courses: South, North and Laranjal.

Robin from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Sep 2017
Ocean golf course Vale Do Lobo
5☆ quality all round
Bradley Allen from Portugal
on Wed, 27th Sep 2017
Course was great with amazing views! Good challenge for all golfers!!
Alan from Portugal
on Thu, 21st Sep 2017
Interesting experience
Greens on the course had been subject to maintenance spiking the day before so not a great putting experience. Otherwise course presented very welll. Would have been useful to have had hole information on the white tees e.g. Hole length , stroke index etc
Barry from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Sep 2017
Superb course
Superb course in excellent condition . No boring holes on this course. This is one of the best courses that I have had the pleasure of playing in Europe
Richard from United Kingdom
on Mon, 11th Sep 2017
A must if visiting the algarve
This was the first course we played on our trip but I regretted it as I wished I saved it for the end. Everything about the course is what I would expect from a top course in the algarve. I found the course very challenging but I just seen it as the more shots I took the more of the beautiful course I'd get to see.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Vale do Lobo Ocean page's or to connect with other Vale do Lobo Ocean golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.