Loading
to

Old Course Reviews

Frank from Portugal
on Fri, 12th Oct 2018
What a beautiful course and then I was hooked up with a threesome that were a complete disgrace. I have no problem playing with 60 handycappers as long as they understand and follow the ettiquette of golf. No, I certainly did not enjoy myself.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Sat, 29th Sep 2018
As always, excellent course great experience.
Robin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 24th Sep 2018
A must play course

Top condition and a real challenge

Samuel from Portugal
on Sun, 9th Sep 2018
Great classic course
Classic parkland course, excellent design, challenging, great variety of holes.

Negatives: at least half the tees were not level. Staff made an international issue over my playing partner’s wife,who was riding along. Her sin was wearing a denim skirt. Shamed her and reduced her to tears. Utterly unnecessary

Steve from United Kingdom
on Sun, 9th Sep 2018
Son beats Dad
Worth every penny. A true test of golf. Played from the tournament blocks as we’re both lowish single figure handicap. The greens were superb and true making it a memorable day. My son rated the course as one of the best he’d played but he’s not been around as long as me. That said it would be harsh of me to rate it outside my top 10. The whole set up is spot on from the meet and greet when you first arrive. It will be a certainty whenever we return.
Andy Symonds from United Kingdom
on Wed, 29th Aug 2018
Great course
Brilliant course well kept and very tricky to avoid the trees
Barnaby from United States
on Mon, 20th Aug 2018
Like an old friend
It was lovely to be back. The course was in the best condition I’ve seen. The staff are always friendly and I find the course to be very charming and approachable for a broad range of handicappers. It’s a great layout and lovely to be playing in amongst mature trees.
Gerlinde from Austria
on Sat, 4th Aug 2018
Definitely a Must when playing golf at the Algarve
Very beautiful parkland course!
Raj from United Kingdom
on Fri, 3rd Aug 2018
Superb course
Very well kept course. Tricky but very enjoyable. Highly recommend!
Aiden Keegan from Ireland
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
Old course
Excellent course in a beautiful setting. Not the longest but the design and layout make it the pick of the Dom Pedro courses.
Susan Tierney from Canada
on Fri, 13th Jul 2018
Course was in good condition, tight fairways, played long for women.
Tom from Ireland
on Wed, 27th Jun 2018
Great course and golfing experience
Beautiful course, plenty of challenge for all standards and great service to boot! A must visit if you're playing golf in Vilmoura.
Darren Howes from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Jun 2018
Course condition disappointing compared to others
I was really looking forward to playing this beautiful course again. The clubhouse is stunning. The views are also pretty, however the course was a bit scruffy. For the amount of money they charge to play this course compared to the other Dom Pedro Vilamoura courses. I found it strange that this course was by far in the worst condition with cracks in fairways and greens not in great condition either.
Merrill from United States
on Wed, 20th Jun 2018
MLM
Nice parkland course. We signed up for “play all day” and were assigned 4:30, but they allowed our foursome to go at 4:10. We finished at 7:30, and this being June 19 we could have played another hour if we wanted to. There were only 6 golfers on the course late afternoon.
Carl
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
Tree lined and so enjoyable some of the best greens I’ve seen
Jim from United Kingdom
on Mon, 4th Jun 2018
Mr Alister Ross
A classic design with narrow fairways flanked by tall pines ready to knock down wayward shots. Most likely my favorite course in Vilamoura.
Tom Fawcett from United Kingdom
on Wed, 30th May 2018
May 2018
Great condition course.
Rob Alexander from United Kingdom
on Tue, 29th May 2018
Great but slightly disappointed at the end
The course is fantastic and always in great condition, I have always played it early in the day, but this time we booked twilight all you can play. However this is not what it means. We played 18 holes and as we had a buggy thought we would play a few more holes. We had only played a couple of extra holes when the Marshall came and asked if we had a problem, we replied no, and were really enjoying the course when he said why had we not come back in and what were we still doing on the course, I replied we are playing a few more holes as we had twilight all you can play,, to which his reply was twilight golf is 18 holes only.. I think you should re-word twilight all you can play...
Stephen Lloyd from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st May 2018
Great Course
This was the third or fourth time over a number of years the two of us have played this course. It is in our opinion the best of the 5 Dom Pedro owned local courses. A very picturesque established course interesting but challenging too. Thoroughly recommend.
Stephen Lloyd from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st May 2018
Great Course
This was the third or fourth time over a number of years the two of us have played this course. It is in our opinion the best of the 5 Dom Pedro owned local courses. A very picturesque established course interesting but challenging too. Thoroughly recommend.
Mark Sheppey from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th May 2018
very good as always, really good layout and great condition
Dominic from United Kingdom
on Sat, 28th Apr 2018
The Old Course
Greens a little inconsistent but still enjoyable.
Bryan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 27th Apr 2018
Beauty
Beautiful course and a good test for my level of golf (18). All staff were very helpful and polite.
Hardy Riessen from Germany
on Tue, 24th Apr 2018
Great course.
Nick from United Kingdom
on Mon, 9th Apr 2018
Lovely course, well maintained and staff very friendly. Some challenging holes, some fairly straightforward ones, but many were a bit similar to one another. If you missed the fairways you struggle to go for the green in regulation. No real water hazards apart from the 3rd. Rough not penal. We were given towels to shower and change after the round and the beers were reasonable.

The Easter special gave us 18 holes for €100 , expensive but just about worth it.

Klaus
on Mon, 26th Mar 2018
The best you can get - atmosphere, style and great layout
John
on Sun, 25th Feb 2018
Three Seniors From Ely
Of all the Vilamoura courses we played this was our favourite. The course was a stiff challenge but fair. The layout and variety of the holes was classic . The fairways were not too fast, as we found elsewhere, good tee shots and approaches were usually rewarded.

good tee shots and

Anne from United States
on Mon, 13th Nov 2017
Umbrella pines galore
Lovely lined with umbrella pines. paths rough and just sand but that didn't bother us. some sameness in certain holes, but definitely kept our attention
Andrew from South Africa
on Mon, 13th Nov 2017
Maginicant but expensive
Magnificent course although very expensive for those coming from the third world. Green fees we noticed had already dropped considerably before we had even left. I will be sure to negotiate harder next time should there be one.
Peter from United Kingdom
on Fri, 3rd Nov 2017
Picture postcard course
Beautiful course and really tough test with narrow fairways and tree lined throughout. Really picturesque
Finn from Denmark
on Sun, 29th Oct 2017
Still one of the best
Excellent course and all the staff were service-minded. Definitely be back
Antony from Portugal
on Mon, 23rd Oct 2017
The old Vilamoura
This course never disappoints , from the welcome you get at reception ,the very helpful green staff and the starter.

As courses go in the Algarve the green fees are 'expensive ' but worth every Euro.

The par 3 4th is a fantastic hole that can fight back!

If you are thinking of playing the course do not hesitate , it is my favourite in the Algarve..

Jeremy from United States
on Fri, 20th Oct 2017
Nice layout but the greens were so slow and the tee boxes were in bad condition. Monte Rei is a great course
chris from Europe
on Wed, 18th Oct 2017
Best Course....great welcome!
surely the best course in Portugal!
Mark from United Kingdom
on Wed, 11th Oct 2017
great course....good test of golf
Best course we played all week. Great set up and interesting holes that make you think about your shots...will definitely play again
Chris Jager from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Oct 2017
Dusk Golf
A superb golf course with some incredible scenery plus picturesque T-box to greens challenges.

I recommend and will play this course again as its one of the best I have ever played in Europe.

Darren Salisbury from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Oct 2017
Old Course review
Amazing golf course, stunning setting and all of the staff very welcoming.
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Sun, 1st Oct 2017
A must visit
3rd visit to the Old Course over the past 3 years. This is a beautiful course, not long so course management is the key to a good score. Umbrella pines line every hole and will punish a bad shot, but the course is not unfair with plenty of fairway to hit. A 'mini Augusta' in my mind.
Ian
on Tue, 26th Sep 2017
Played twice previously, hoping to return in April .
David from United Kingdom
on Fri, 15th Sep 2017
Old course
Great course, expensive but worth it.
Martin from United Kingdom
on Sun, 20th Aug 2017
Decent course but in need of investment- looks a little run down compared to others in the Algarve.
Jean francois from Portugal
on Fri, 18th Aug 2017
We are Alone on the course . It Was amazing. We are very happy .
Olivier from Portugal
on Thu, 17th Aug 2017
Nice Golf and service
Robert from United Kingdom
on Mon, 14th Aug 2017
Mr Smith
Best Golf course I have played in Portugal.

They could take a few tips on Customer Service from the Faldo and O'Connor courses!

Michael from United Kingdom
on Sun, 13th Aug 2017
A real test of golf, fantastic course.
Fabulous course and a great test of golf. We were greeted on arrival by friendly staff which really added to the whole golf experience. Affordable buggy hire at 25€ each was very welcome. Look forward to return visit in the future. Thank you. Michael Currie, member of Edenmore Golf and Country Club.
Michael from United Kingdom
on Sun, 13th Aug 2017
Fabulous course and a great test of golf.
Fabulous course and a great rest of golf. We were greeted on our arrival by friendly staff which really added to the whole golf experience. Affordable buggy hire at 25€ each was very welcome. Look forward to return visit in the future. Thank you.

Michael Currie, member of Edenmore Golf and Country Club.

Andrew from United Kingdom
on Wed, 9th Aug 2017
Algarve golf with scratch golfer (son!)
Have played the Old Course around five times now & it is still in great condition. The greens were good but not as quick as I remembered. Still a really enjoyable experience!
David from United Kingdom
on Mon, 31st Jul 2017
Lovely course and worth playing
Great course, tight with lots of overhanging trees to catch you out. Course layout is great, greens are pretty slow which is fairly typical of the area.
Lee Cummings from United Kingdom
on Fri, 28th Jul 2017
Review on the Old Course
The Old Course is just superb!! Well lay'd out and the holes are and can be testing. Some of the comments on TripAdvisor are just plain rubbish and nonsense... I found the staff very helpful, friendly and they accommodated me in ref to my son been presented. I would have no hesitations in recommending this course to anybody. First Class
Adam from United Kingdom
on Mon, 17th Jul 2017
Excellent course worth the green fee
PAUL MCPHERSON from Australia
on Tue, 4th Jul 2017
Excellent condition & presentation.
Peter Gladwin from United Kingdom
on Sat, 10th Jun 2017
Fantastic course.
This course is immaculately maintained and a real golfing test. I absolutely love it !!
bastien pigeyre from France
on Sat, 10th Jun 2017
très beau parcours & bien entretenu

temps de jeu trop long à partir de 15h40 avec golfette (4h10)

sur les départs, trop de mégots de cigarette

service personnel très bien

Michael Sabourin from Germany
on Fri, 9th Jun 2017
Best of the best !
This course is the best in Portugal. Very very nice to Play. Every hole is different.
Julie from Europe
on Tue, 30th May 2017
Old Course - Fabulous
Still one of the best courses in the region, it's a must play although those overhanging Pine trees can catch even the sweetest shot! In good condition.
David from Portugal
on Thu, 25th May 2017
Old course review
Very busy, so slow round. Good condition, but would like to play again when quieter. Interesting course - maybe a little over-priced though.
Ronald from United Kingdom
on Mon, 22nd May 2017
Good facilities and friendly staff
Stan Mack from United Kingdom
on Sun, 21st May 2017
Good course
As usual this course is excellent and in very good condition - both high and low handicap players will enjoy this course
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Thu, 18th May 2017
The round was almost totally spoilt by slow play. Clearly too many players of dubious quality on the course and inadequate marshalling to maintain speed of play discipline - very poor for the price !
Stephen from United Kingdom
on Tue, 9th May 2017
Great course 👍😊
Harry
on Tue, 2nd May 2017
Worth trying
Very nice and variate golf course
Heather from Portugal
on Sun, 23rd Apr 2017
Penalizing with the umbrella pines and extremely narrow but well maintained.
Charles from Germany
on Sun, 2nd Apr 2017
Old course
Good service and course. Fairways were patchy but it had rained a lot so course maintenance was in progress.
Stuart Gardiner from United Kingdom
on Mon, 6th Mar 2017
Old course
Lovely course

Greens needed a cut

Played before and will play again

Claire from United Kingdom
on Mon, 13th Feb 2017
Stunning course
Ivor De Meza from Portugal
on Wed, 25th Jan 2017
Greens best we have played in Algarve,but fairways not so good
James George from United Kingdom
on Wed, 30th Nov 2016
Old course 28th Nov 2016
Such a nice course and kept in excellent condition. Staff were excellent in every aspect. A very well set up and run operation all round!
Peter from Portugal
on Fri, 25th Nov 2016
Cold shower 😬
I liked the course. Good condition. Even if you didn't hit the fairway it wasn't too difficult to save a decent score.

But to shower without hot water was 👎🏼

/Peter from Stockholm

Craig from United Kingdom
on Wed, 19th Oct 2016
Cant fault it
Great course in good condition and fast greens.
anders from Sweden
on Mon, 17th Oct 2016
best ever
Gareth Purshouse from United Kingdom
on Sun, 16th Oct 2016
We played the Old Course as our first course of our trip, we played twilight at 3.10pm and the pace of play was exceedingly slow with groups backed up in front and behind. The light eventually faded and we ended up playing the last 2 holes in dim light. The course itself was challenging as expecting, with the trees providing very good shelter for what was a reasonably short course off the yellow tees. Keeping the ball in the fairway is a must on this course otherwise you will end up playing most shots around and underneath trees. The greens were in average condition and were slowing than expected.
John
on Mon, 26th Sep 2016
Be straight off the tee otherwise you'll be playing under trees. Played off the whites which made it more challenging. Lovely condition would play again.
Gordon from United Kingdom
on Tue, 20th Sep 2016
By far the best and hardest course in Vilamoura but thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Excellent course.
Geraint from UK
on Thu, 15th Sep 2016
Tees looked as though they hadn't been cut for a week. Greens were bumpy . The fairways were ok but bare and hard in patches. Our group were really disappointed as we were expecting more from Vilamoura's premier course. Some of our group had played it previously and have never seen it so bad. This was our ninth consecutive year golfing in Portugal and it's very unlikely we will be playing the course next year.
BjøRn from United Kingdom
on Fri, 15th Jul 2016
Very good layout. Good quality on the greens.
Paul from Portugal
on Sun, 10th Jul 2016
Beautifully mature tree lined course manicured to perfection.

If I've played a nicer course I can't remember when it was, an absolute treat to play.

Paul Garneys from United Kingdom
on Fri, 24th Jun 2016
Very enjoyable round. Course in good condition with very true greens on lots of interesting holes. Clubs I hired were good quality condition Titleist with a Scotty Cameron putter so couldn't blame them for bad shots. Would certainly play again.
Remi
on Tue, 21st Jun 2016
Superb course with magnificent fairways betweé the pines
Vickie from United States
on Thu, 16th Jun 2016
Dorseys from Atlanta
Challenging but fair. It is a very beautiful, mature course. Most picturesque!
Phil from Portugal
on Sat, 11th Jun 2016
Great course
Perfect as always.
Colin from Kuwait
on Tue, 31st May 2016
Great
The course was fantastic and we were off first which means there was not hold up during our round, loved it. The pro who was organizing our cart first thing in the morning was the most disinterested person at the club, starter was good but pro shop girl stated that shoes were compulsory at all their courses, wrong we didn't have to buy golf shoes at the Victoria and we were not told when booking that this would be a requirement, also she said that we should have booked our clubs online, wrong we could not book the clubs online through algarvegolf. A very pleasant experience.
Derek from United Kingdom
on Mon, 30th May 2016
Excellent all round.
Course was in great condition, especially the greens. Best overall course played and best test of golf in many ways.
Angus from United Kingdom
on Mon, 23rd May 2016
The Old Course Review
Very enjoyable round of gold. a very well thought out course with amazing views and scenery. tall pines and deep bunkers surround immaculate fairways.
Paulwatson from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th May 2016
Excellent golf course, quite tough but very fair
James from United Kingdom
on Tue, 10th May 2016
Expensive but worthwhile
Excellent golf course in very good condition. Great layout through the trees - good test of straight hitting. Poor course marshalling left a long line of 4 balls in total frustration at very slow play by 1 x extremely slow group. 5 groups were already waiting on the 3rd tee !! €40 for buggy. Expensive to play.
Philippe CUOC from France
on Thu, 5th May 2016
Very nice course

You must play it

Celine
on Sat, 30th Apr 2016
Magnifique golf
Christy from Ireland
on Mon, 18th Apr 2016
Christy Handicap14
Beautiful course, you must drive the ball straight and be in the right place to hit onto the green the trees seem to catch everything a bit off and the ball drops down straight. Had a HOLE IN ONE on the 10th which made my week.
Dirk
on Mon, 4th Apr 2016
wenn die Bäume nicht wären...guter Parkland-Course mit gutem Pflegezustand. Service der Gastronomie und Candy-Master lässt zu wünschen übrig.
Clive from United Kingdom
on Mon, 4th Apr 2016
First time on Old Course
Really well looked after by the staff. My group really enjoyed this course and would have been happy to play it all week. It suited our high handicaps well giving opportunity for good strokes and reasonably forgiving of, shall we say, less than perfect strokes. Our trip was well organised by AGC Algarve Golf

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Old Course page's or to connect with other Old Course golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.