Loading
to

Old Course Reviews

MARK SHEEHAN from Ireland
on Thu, 30th May 2024
A must play stunning course
Played twilight golf Wednesday 29/05/24 , had the course to ourselves( 7 golfers) , coffee and water on the first tee foc, bags taken from the bus and put on the electric trolleys for us , the best fairways and greens in Portugal, in far better condition than the 3 Quinta courses, they are in the process of redoing the buggy paths along with upgrading around the edges of fairways. A must play stunning golf course
Edith from United States
on Thu, 16th May 2024
Old golf course! Great golf course!
Such a nice course. Conditions were perfect! All the staff is so nice. Great experience!
Walter from Switzerland
on Sat, 11th May 2024
Nice place
Paul from United Kingdom
on Wed, 24th Apr 2024
Excellent
Superb. Work being undertaken but quality, challenging, fair golf
Peter from United Kingdom
on Sat, 6th Apr 2024
Amazing course
Brilliant set up, very professional, greens and fairways excellent condition and the staff were amazing. All in all excellent experience.
Iain
on Wed, 3rd Apr 2024
Slow Pace of Play Detracts From Nice Course
DO NOT PLAY this course if you like to play rounds in under 4 hours. Waited on every shot. Dom Pedro Golf think 4 hours 40 mins is acceptable for a round of golf. Too many sub standard players that should not be allowed to hold up play for the rest of the field. No one let us through and marshall was powerless.

The pace of play detracted from a lovely course in good condition.

Kevan from United Kingdom
on Tue, 26th Mar 2024
Happy Golfers
First time playing, both myself and my wife loved it, will definitely be back
Philip from Portugal
on Sat, 23rd Mar 2024
Must play!!
Winter green fee represents incredible value for what remains my favourite course in the Algarve. Dramatic, mature, and a real test for the thinking golfer. The old course is a must-play!
Dave from United Kingdom
on Sun, 18th Feb 2024
Amazing course
Gorgeous course , in good condition despite the wet weather recently, greens were phenomenal, definitely play this course again
Ian from United Kingdom
on Mon, 15th Jan 2024
Old course
This is without doubt one the great courses in Portugal the whole experience was fantastic from the minute I stepped out of the car and was asked for my clubs. The course has real character and was in excellent condition. The club house is small and friendly and again the staff were excellent.

I would say it’s a must play if your playing in the Algarve.

Arve from Portugal
on Sat, 2nd Dec 2023
The course is in good conditions
Good and well maintained fairways and greens. Cartpaths need maintenance. Missing short game practice greens.
Andy Richardson from United Kingdom
on Sat, 2nd Dec 2023
Great Condition
Really enjoyed the course. Greens, fairways bunkers all in very good condition. Pace of play on the day for a twilight round was very good. Thoroughly enjoyed the day. Staff were also excellent
Angelo from United Kingdom
on Sat, 25th Nov 2023
Great course, lovely condition
Great course, it's not the longest but you need to plot your way around it
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Thu, 16th Nov 2023
The oldest and (probably) still the best!
The oldest and probably still the best in the Algarve. The course was in magnificent condition when we played it, the greens were superb and fairways lovely to play from. It's such a great test of golf, I highly recommend playing off the back tees for low handicap golfers. The clubhouse is a little tired but staff were friendly and all in all it was the most enjoyable day of our 5 day trip.
Neil from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th Nov 2023
Still one of the best in the Algarve

Just a little busy.

Ulrike from Germany
on Sun, 29th Oct 2023
Vilamoura Old Course immer wieder
Der Platz ist in einem perfekten Zustand. Leider waren durch ein Unwetter zwei Fairways durch entwurzelte große Kiefern blockiert.
Dermot
on Sat, 28th Oct 2023
Dilapidated
Very poor condition All signs and pathways dilapidated Needs an overhaul
Mathew from United States
on Mon, 23rd Oct 2023
18 on The Old after Storms
Fantastic round on The Old this morning, storms the previous day meant 5/6 big trees had fallen down but no impact on the golf and I was really impressed with the drainage, no puddles at all just a few bunkers out of play and no buggy option which was ace.

I found it pretty tight even with no wind and playing off 3 handicap I was pretty rusty but lost balls were bad shots and good shots and straight drives rewarded with easier approaches and angles into the greens.

Green were great and fairways.

I can see why this was top rated in Portugal before Monte Rei came along

Highly recommend this golf course in the Algarve, not too dissimilar to Palmeras in places but better all round

Lesley from Portugal
on Fri, 13th Oct 2023
Old Course
Fairways, greens and tees all in great condition.

Buggy cost a little steep and dearer than thought at 60 euros.

Pathways a little rough.

Julian Anderton from United Kingdom
on Fri, 15th Sep 2023
Fantastic course showing signs of wear and tear
Superb course. Fairways and greens in good condition.

However the cart paths are in a terrible state and need repaired/replaced.

Morris McKinlay from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Jul 2023
To slow
5 hour round for a 2 ball is unbelievable in the current heat in Portugal. More attention needed to prevent this from happening and more refreshments available due to the length of time between shots and tee offs.
Morris McKinlay from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Jul 2023
Not enjoyable due to the length of waiting
Not all that is geared up to be, very disappointed with the course and the speed of play. Won’t be in a hurry to play it again.
Phil coupland from Portugal
on Mon, 3rd Jul 2023
Playing area was all pretty good and esp the greens; some of the holes are superbly shaped and thought out so it was a real test. !!

Cartpaths were a total joke though....like driving in a Beirut war zone......really hope they get fixed up soon and some real money needs spending to get it all back to former high levels

Rod from United Kingdom
on Mon, 26th Jun 2023
The Old Lady of Vilamoura
Lovely Course spoiled by terrible cart paths.
Kevin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 26th Jun 2023
Old Course
Course in excellent condition, maybe the best greens I've played on.
Graham from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Jun 2023
Disappointing Old Course
I have played golf all over the world and always rated the Old Course as my 2nd favourite behind Birkdale. How disappointing it was to see how the course had deteriorated since I last played here about 5 yrs ago. The buggies were slow and in poor condition. All the cart paths were in a very poor dilapidated condition .

The tee’s fairways and greens were just about ok but when you are paying top rate green fees I expect better.

So dissatisfied that we did not stay after the game for our usual couple of beers.

I do hope they sort the place out

Mike from United States
on Mon, 5th Jun 2023
Still,a great design and challenge
Niels from Netherlands
on Tue, 30th May 2023
Lovely but too crowdy
The course is very nice, though there are some point of improvement: the signs at the beginning of each hole are old and worn. Some are so bad that you don't even dare looking at them, being afraid they wil collapse. The same goes for the buggy paths. they really need maintenance! The course itself is marvellous, tee-boxes fine, fairway and greens very good condition. Why 3 stars? The course is too full with players who shoudn't be allowed on the course. This leads to in our case a lot of waiting time and is annoying. We skipped two flight to advance before them because there was a hole in the planning, but at the 13th hole the same thing occurred. We then spoke with that flight, but they were encountering exactly the same problem, and this was also at hand when they played the course some time ago! The greenfee is substantial, so a good flow should be a great concern of the marshalls! Take action please!
Ulrike from Switzerland
on Wed, 17th May 2023
Very good condition but it took a long time
Benedict
on Wed, 10th May 2023
Super course with a few weknesses
Superb golf course. Only teeboxes could have been in a better shape.

In front of us was tornament, therefore slow pace of play. Information beforehand would have been great.

JACALYN from United States
on Sun, 30th Apr 2023
Hole in one!
My husband had a hole in one on the fourth hole. This was a course and day to remember.
Jeroen Mustert from Netherlands
on Fri, 21st Apr 2023
Nice course
Nice course. Clubhouse facilities a bit outdated.
Boris from Switzerland
on Fri, 21st Apr 2023
For me, still one of my favorite course ! Well maintained fairways, well-mowed greens, pure happiness !!!
John Drake from United Kingdom
on Mon, 10th Apr 2023
Old course
Super course. Old fashioned/ traditional. Most greens good a few hollow tined.

Played off back tees. Very nice and relaxed. Nice welcome friendly place

Paddy from Ireland
on Mon, 10th Apr 2023
Beautiful course
Beautiful course
Sylvia from Netherlands
on Tue, 21st Mar 2023
Not very special ...
Boring ... Nothing wrong with the course but not one to remember . One par 3 that had water in front but besides that, all more of the same. Lots of courses that are more beautiful, more challenging
Joanne Burdett from United Kingdom
on Mon, 20th Mar 2023
Lovely course
This was my husband and myself favourite course beautiful , challenging
Steve from United States
on Sun, 19th Mar 2023
Greens were sanded but course pretty good.
Massimo from United Arab Emirates
on Wed, 8th Mar 2023
Old Course wonderful
Beautiful course and really enjoyed it, despite the rain. Special thanks to the marshall of the 6th of March who reminded slow pace players in front of us to speed up or let us go through.
Phillip from United Kingdom
on Thu, 16th Feb 2023
2nd best dom Pedro course
Brilliant course, green and fairways spot on.

Staff really nice, you got free water and tees which is a nice touch.

Very very tough course, greens caught us out with how fast they are…..

Worthy of the green fee.

julian from United Kingdom
on Mon, 6th Feb 2023
Lovely day
Great course and club house few fairs abit muddy
Brian from United Kingdom
on Mon, 6th Feb 2023
Perfect golf day
Really nice course - lightening fast greens in excellent condition- starter and reception staff friendly and polite - great days golf - thank you
Gerhard from Austria
on Sat, 7th Jan 2023
Perfect Golf experiance
Frindley Staff, perfect greens and Fairways, just the paths need renovation. Beautiful trees - somtimes to close…;-)
Tom from United Kingdom
on Sun, 1st Jan 2023
One of the best in Portugal
Cracking course in lovely condition
Colin Galloway from United Kingdom
on Sat, 31st Dec 2022
fabulous tree lined course
Course in excellent condition, a good challenge for us mid- handicap golfers ( hcp 8-14) . Received a warm welcome in pro shop and good food options for after the round.
Barry Delaney from Ireland
on Tue, 20th Dec 2022
super course
lovely lovely course...enjoy the contrast of the different holes and course in was in great condition
Bob from Portugal
on Fri, 25th Nov 2022
It is quite simply a brilliantly designed course. Deceptively difficult. As the name would suggest, very well established and as such, it is always so pleasant on the eye. A must if golfing on the Algarve .
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Sun, 20th Nov 2022
Classic Golf
A classic course in good condition. Fairways and greens are fine, but approach areas near the greens are rock hard ... my pet peeve. As long as courses get no rest, can't see that this will change. Bunkers were well groomed. Players had repaired their pitch marks - bravo. Despite the few complaints it's a very enjoyable course,
Adrian Hill from United Kingdom
on Sun, 20th Nov 2022
Stunning course
Thomas from Portugal
on Thu, 17th Nov 2022
For us the Old Course is the most beautiful Course
Gary from Bermuda
on Mon, 14th Nov 2022
Old course
Course was in good condition, but layout, especially the first 5 holes is a dangerous shooting gallery. Expensive and don’t expect service of any kind. Not really a great golf experience
Mark from United Kingdom
on Fri, 4th Nov 2022
Just fantastic
Tim from United Kingdom
on Fri, 21st Oct 2022
Good but needs TLC
This is a good course dominated by savage trees that punish a misdirected shot. Fairways and greens excellent. I have scored it 4 stars because it’s a little scruffy in places. The cart paths are terrible, the tee boards are old and rotting and barely readable. There are raised logs on cart paths to stop you going on the fairways at certain points and these were tired and in a lot of cases had just collapsed. This in my opinion is unacceptable for the high green fee. We are returning to the Algarve in the new year and will not be playing this course. When you compare this course with Quinta do Lago (similar green fees) and Vale do Lobo(lesser green fees) there is no comparison.
Taylor from United Kingdom
on Tue, 11th Oct 2022
Thanks for but no thanks.
The course was in ‘good condition’ took us 4 and half hours to get around.

Course was like a tube of tooth paste , we were waiting on each tee 10 to 15 mins just to take a shot, the course was definitely over booked and very commercialised.

How can the club charge €117 per person for a twilight tee off €30 for a buggy when they fully understand that they’re not going to finish that round.

Hopefully they correct this for next season.

Anja from Switzerland
on Tue, 11th Oct 2022
An Ll
Beautiful and challenging
Boris from Switzerland
on Tue, 11th Oct 2022
THE Golf Course in Vilamoura !!!
Pour moi, toujours le plus beau parcours de Vilamoura. Tout y est propice au golf. Les fairways sont parfait, comme les green. Je ne peux que le recommander à tous les passionnés de golf !!!
Duncan from Portugal
on Sat, 8th Oct 2022
Quality course But.....
Nice course with good greens in lovely condition, but a lot of holes were a bit the same. Found it a lot easier than I expected A’s course relatively short off yellows. Will definitely like to play it again which says it all but not sure it’s in the best 5 courses in the Algarve.
Michael from United Kingdom
on Sun, 2nd Oct 2022
Great established tree lined course.
Absolutely fantastic course. Well established, beautiful holes and challenges. Lots and lots of large trees with nice high crowns. Highly recommended.
Derek from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Sep 2022
Always worth Playing
Stunning a always, loved it.
Mark from United Kingdom
on Tue, 20th Sep 2022
Wow! Played this course many times in the past. Great holes, fairways and greens. A real test to any golfer. We loved it.
Glen from United States
on Sun, 18th Sep 2022
Great layout with nice fairways and greens. The rest of the course could use some work, especially the cart path/minefields.
William from United States
on Sun, 18th Sep 2022
Very pretty and challenging.
The course itself is nice. Good shape and very pretty. My big problem was the lack of information provided. I never knew any distances or where to hit my drives. Went through the fairways into the trees on almost every dogleg.
Jamie from United Kingdom
on Sun, 18th Sep 2022
Excellent condition really good course couldn’t say anything negative about it. Recommend
Brian from Ireland
on Tue, 13th Sep 2022
Super challenge
Fantastic course, really good challenge for any golfer. You need a wide variety of shots in your bag.

Pathways around the course are in terrible condition and in desperate need of repair.

Sam from United Kingdom
on Sun, 11th Sep 2022
Decent course
Decent course, greens played slow and fluffy but fairways were good and a lot of trees
Lars from Sweden
on Sat, 23rd Jul 2022
Nice course!
Classic course in good shape. Fast greens and over all a fantastic course.

Tee information/boards are in bad condition as all Dom Pedro courses! gives a bad impression and a feeling that the course/club has lousy finances.

Louis from United Kingdom
on Fri, 15th Jul 2022
Tough course, always in pristine condition. Greens spot on as always.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Jul 2022
Thoroughly enjoyed the course and facilities, played decent which always helps. Twilight deal was well worth the money, hardly anyone on the course. Enjoyed it so much I cancelled a game at Vila Sol to play the old course again
Mark from United Kingdom
on Fri, 1st Jul 2022
Great golf course although interesting that they let singles and two balls in amongst 3 and 4 Balls
Colm Burke from Ireland
on Tue, 28th Jun 2022
Challenging with tricky greens...and pricy
The Old Course was in great condition and will test your green reading skills to the limit. Super variety of holes -this & Victoria rank as the best of this cluster of courses. However- prices far exceed Quinta & Vale de Lobo and I fail to see why.
Monika from Poland
on Sat, 18th Jun 2022
A must play!
A great course in a perfect condition. Very challenging with narrow fairways and tree branches catching every mistake.
Darren Howes from United Kingdom
on Sat, 18th Jun 2022
Nice course and club but slow play
Always in good condition but pace of play was incredibly slow. We were the first twilight group and were 100 mins behind the last tee time. We played the first 7 holes in 1 hour and it took 3 hours to play the last 11 holes. So a 5-5.5 hour round pace. Not good enough
Stephen from Israel
on Fri, 10th Jun 2022
The Old met expectations
Very enjoyable and playable course that was still a good test of golf. Tree lined fairways also welcome in the heat. We play a lot of golf and this course was exactly as described - classy and well

presented.

Paul Kenny from Ireland
on Thu, 26th May 2022
Old Course May 2022
Great course, staff excellent, very friendly and welcoming atmosphere, facilities were excellent, all positive
marinus matheus from Netherlands
on Thu, 5th May 2022
Good course but expensive
ian from United Kingdom
on Sat, 23rd Apr 2022
Always a pleasure to play.
Anthony from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Apr 2022
Excellent as ever
What a joy to play this classic course in pristine condition

Couldn’t find fault and can’t wait to return

STEPHANE from France
on Mon, 18th Apr 2022
A la hauteur de la réputation
Très beau parcours très bien entretenu à rejouer avec plaisir
paul from Netherlands
on Sat, 19th Mar 2022
club house may be renewed.
nice old golf course. clubhouse dated
Grant Stephenson from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Mar 2022
A beautiful gem & must play course in Vilamoura.
Aesthetically beautiful to the eye and a pleasure to play. A real test of accuracy & course management. Played early March and it was in a very good condition. First time visit, but safe to say, I’ll definitely be back again. It’s very up & down in elevation, so it’s well worth investing in a golf buggy. One minor little niggle… there needs to be a large net installed to separate the driving range from the 5th fairway, as there were practice balls everywhere.
Lee from United Kingdom
on Thu, 10th Feb 2022
Lee on tour
Played at 13.30, “twilight” terms.

Joined by a very nice Dutch couple.

Not held up at all.

Finished in just less than 4 hours.

Fantastic mature course in great condition.

Very fast greens.

PHILIP from United Kingdom
on Tue, 8th Feb 2022
Great day brilliant sunshine good people
Great day brilliant sunshine good people
PHILIP from United Kingdom
on Tue, 8th Feb 2022
Very enjoyable
Lars from Sweden
on Sat, 1st Jan 2022
Old is undoubtedly the best of Dom Pedro courses.
Dom Pedro courses are generally nice and well planned. Care and finish are okay/good when it comes to greens and bunkers. Unfortunately, the feeling is of a weak commercial will as there are no offers on balls, no takeaway solutions for drinks / snacks / sandwiches. The restaurants have larger menus than they can handle and it does not feel like the owner has any sense at all of the service that a golfer appreciates. It seems more important to have a dry and non-commercial environment than a selling and for the golfer, well-thought-out service.
Henrik from Sweden
on Fri, 24th Dec 2021
Wery nice golfclub to be at!
Jerome from France
on Sat, 4th Dec 2021
Great experience
Great course : old fashioned . Very challenging design . Good quality of bunkers . Greens ok for the season . Good welcome . We played in 4 hours as a four ball which is reasonable. No need for buggy because few space between the holes
Andy from Canada
on Fri, 3rd Dec 2021
Classic older course
A classic older course. Good condition overall. Tricky greens with a fair bit of break on some. Lots of mature trees that can really get in your way if you don't find the centre of the fairway. Nice layout and hole design. Interesting.
Jack from United Kingdom
on Sun, 28th Nov 2021
Quality greens and hole design.
Excellent greens, very true roll. I liked a lot of the shorter par 4's, you have to play sensible tee shots to leave a good chance in. Inviting first hole downhill, some great looking par 3's. You can see why this has held pro tournaments as from the tees looking out onto the fairways, the design is there to see. Bunkers immaculate, tees well used but good, lots of traffic over peak months. Fairways great. Would recommend! Walked with a trolley, some up and down bits so buggy may be more suitable if you don't like some walking up slope. Distance between tees not an issue, majority are close by.

Greens and hole design stand out here.

bernard from United Kingdom
on Fri, 26th Nov 2021
HOME FROM HOME
The Dom Pedro Old is a fine course strikingly similar to Sunningdale /Wentworth which i was not expecting -i go on holiday to find places different to what we play in UK which is not a criticism but an observation.V good condition throughout.
Douglas from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Oct 2021
Simply the best! We played a few courses during our stay but this one is by far the best course in Vilamoura. If you only play one course it has to be this one. The welcome was warm and very well organised.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Old Course page's or to connect with other Old Course golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Green Fees & Tee Times
All golf course green fees, deals, and tee times displayed on Algarve Golf are offered at the lowest discounted rates permissible. We look forward to assisting you with your booking in Portugal. ⛳
Algarve Golf uses cookies.