Loading
to

Old Course Reviews

giovanni from Italy
on Tue, 18th Jun 2019
I’m not happy
For the cost of the greenfee i world Line ti ha e a perfect course. The green aren’t ok the farway too but......
Marco from Switzerland
on Sun, 16th Jun 2019
Nice Course - bad Restaurant
The courses of the Dom Pedro Group are all very nice and well maintained.

However, it is completely incomprehensible that only one single menu is offered in all of the group's clubhouses - and even that is not really breathtaking.

I am therefore not surprised that very few of the guests there eat something - after the third time you have just seen it. Too bad.

giles from Russian Federation
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
Absolutely peerless. Very nice staff.
Rob from United Kingdom
on Sun, 9th Jun 2019
Really nice back 9 well worth the money
stephen marjoram from United Kingdom
on Sun, 26th May 2019
EXCELLENT ,WOULD GO BACK TOMORROW
Everything about this course was 1st class .

The way you are greated by the staff , the warm up facilities ,the little touches of ice and bottled water , and the magnificient golf course .

It is a bit pricey ,but for me it was well worth the money .

Mark
on Tue, 14th May 2019
very good course, have played this about 5 times now over the years and it was as good as i have ever seen it this year, quite a slow round as it gets very busy but worth the wait
Kieran from United Kingdom
on Tue, 7th May 2019
Fantastic
Fantastic course, great staff, tough greens
Scott Kerr from Europe
on Sat, 4th May 2019
Fantastic course. Couple of fairways very bare but otherwise in good nick. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Anil from South Africa
on Wed, 1st May 2019
Best of dom Pedro courses

Park like tree lined and great condition

Adam from United Kingdom
on Tue, 23rd Apr 2019
Average & Tired
Fairways were very bare in patches, it's definitely had it's wear over the years. Greens were the best bit about the course
Dave from Switzerland
on Mon, 15th Apr 2019
Now overpriced,
We played the Old Course in April 19 - it has long been a favourite. The new owners have spent money on the infrastructure, adding 30m to the driving range. The green fees have however risen sharply and are comparable to the prestige Quinta courses and Victoria, This is fine if you get a prestige experience but you don't. Buggies @ 45€ but no ice. Fairways 2 & 3 is really poor condition, 80% devoid of grass.
Olli-Antero from Finland
on Thu, 4th Apr 2019
Very very

good

Klaus
on Sun, 24th Mar 2019
Everything is good
As usual a great experience to play. Good facilities in the clubhouse. Good food.
Klaus Oltscher from Germany
on Mon, 18th Mar 2019
Für mich der beste Platz am Standort. Ich habe deshalb gleich 2 Runden in 6 Tagen gespielt. Platzauslastung war aus meiner Sicht eher gering.

Der Zustand des Platzes war gut. Auch bei starkem Wind gut spielbar wegen der Lage und der Bewaldung.

Eddie Cooper from Austria
on Wed, 13th Mar 2019
Always enjoy playing the Old course, my group was playing for the first time and had a great experience
David from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Feb 2019
Good round
First class course all staff very pleasant, tree on the middle of the fairway on the first about 150yards out plays on your mind teeing off if you can draw then bang on if you go left to right then can be an issue but can’t fault the course lot of hanging around tees and fairways due to slow play
Paul Stedman from United Kingdom
on Sun, 3rd Feb 2019
Unlike many of the courses on the Algarve this course is established amongst the towering pines and does not wind through rows of endless villas but sits naturally in the landscape

From 1st to 18th you need to shape your drive and position the ball on the fairway to get the best line into the green.

Once on the green don’t be surprised if the ball does not move the way you think it will !!

If you only have time to play one course in Villamoura I would recommend you play this one - it is one you should rember

Lin from Portugal
on Mon, 14th Jan 2019
Superb course
Superb course had a great day
Mikhail from Portugal
on Sun, 13th Jan 2019
Very satisfied with the golf course, very comfortable, good greens and fairways. Felt the fundamental school of design for golf courses, beautiful nature,minimal sense of urbanization.
Wesley from United Kingdom
on Tue, 1st Jan 2019
Beautiful course
Stunning course, superb condition, a lot of pine trees all around and some great views
Guilhem VIELJEUF from Europe
on Fri, 28th Dec 2018
The perfect Christmas experience!
We played the course on Christmas day, December 25th, and had a wonderful experience at the old course!

We were almost the first group to tee-off that day, came with the rest of the family to caddy the 3 golfers from the family, the weather was absolutely perfect, bright sun and 20 degrees.

The course, that I had been players a few times several years ago, was in perfect condition, the staff was friendly, and we had a great lunch after the game on the terrace... A perfect Xmas day for golfers !!! I recommend!

Dany from Belgium
on Wed, 26th Dec 2018
The old course vilamoura
👍👍👍👍👍👍
Udo
on Mon, 24th Dec 2018
Old Course - disappointing
After 2 weeks closing/maintenace the course was widely still under maintenance, conditions of the fairways partly very poor, greens sanded and perforated, playable of course but not worth the money, even with the Christmas Special discount.
Rudy from Belgium
on Mon, 5th Nov 2018
Very good course!
Dany from Switzerland
on Thu, 25th Oct 2018
Nice course

OK greens

Michael from Portugal
on Thu, 18th Oct 2018
Great course to play!
Really fine course in very good condition. Staff in the Pro Shop were excellent. Also enjoyed a very good meal on the patio after playing our round.
Christian from United States
on Thu, 18th Oct 2018
Old Course not interesting
To expensive.
Frank from Portugal
on Fri, 12th Oct 2018
What a beautiful course and then I was hooked up with a threesome that were a complete disgrace. I have no problem playing with 60 handycappers as long as they understand and follow the ettiquette of golf. No, I certainly did not enjoy myself.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Sat, 29th Sep 2018
As always, excellent course great experience.
Robin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 24th Sep 2018
A must play course

Top condition and a real challenge

Samuel from Portugal
on Sun, 9th Sep 2018
Great classic course
Classic parkland course, excellent design, challenging, great variety of holes.

Negatives: at least half the tees were not level. Staff made an international issue over my playing partner’s wife,who was riding along. Her sin was wearing a denim skirt. Shamed her and reduced her to tears. Utterly unnecessary

Steve from United Kingdom
on Sun, 9th Sep 2018
Son beats Dad
Worth every penny. A true test of golf. Played from the tournament blocks as we’re both lowish single figure handicap. The greens were superb and true making it a memorable day. My son rated the course as one of the best he’d played but he’s not been around as long as me. That said it would be harsh of me to rate it outside my top 10. The whole set up is spot on from the meet and greet when you first arrive. It will be a certainty whenever we return.
Andy Symonds from United Kingdom
on Wed, 29th Aug 2018
Great course
Brilliant course well kept and very tricky to avoid the trees
Barnaby from United States
on Mon, 20th Aug 2018
Like an old friend
It was lovely to be back. The course was in the best condition I’ve seen. The staff are always friendly and I find the course to be very charming and approachable for a broad range of handicappers. It’s a great layout and lovely to be playing in amongst mature trees.
Gerlinde from Austria
on Sat, 4th Aug 2018
Definitely a Must when playing golf at the Algarve
Very beautiful parkland course!
Raj from United Kingdom
on Fri, 3rd Aug 2018
Superb course
Very well kept course. Tricky but very enjoyable. Highly recommend!
Aiden Keegan from Ireland
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
Old course
Excellent course in a beautiful setting. Not the longest but the design and layout make it the pick of the Dom Pedro courses.
Susan Tierney from Canada
on Fri, 13th Jul 2018
Course was in good condition, tight fairways, played long for women.
Tom from Ireland
on Wed, 27th Jun 2018
Great course and golfing experience
Beautiful course, plenty of challenge for all standards and great service to boot! A must visit if you're playing golf in Vilmoura.
Darren Howes from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Jun 2018
Course condition disappointing compared to others
I was really looking forward to playing this beautiful course again. The clubhouse is stunning. The views are also pretty, however the course was a bit scruffy. For the amount of money they charge to play this course compared to the other Dom Pedro Vilamoura courses. I found it strange that this course was by far in the worst condition with cracks in fairways and greens not in great condition either.
Merrill from United States
on Wed, 20th Jun 2018
MLM
Nice parkland course. We signed up for “play all day” and were assigned 4:30, but they allowed our foursome to go at 4:10. We finished at 7:30, and this being June 19 we could have played another hour if we wanted to. There were only 6 golfers on the course late afternoon.
Carl
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
Tree lined and so enjoyable some of the best greens I’ve seen
Jim from United Kingdom
on Mon, 4th Jun 2018
Mr Alister Ross
A classic design with narrow fairways flanked by tall pines ready to knock down wayward shots. Most likely my favorite course in Vilamoura.
Tom Fawcett from United Kingdom
on Wed, 30th May 2018
May 2018
Great condition course.
Rob Alexander from United Kingdom
on Tue, 29th May 2018
Great but slightly disappointed at the end
The course is fantastic and always in great condition, I have always played it early in the day, but this time we booked twilight all you can play. However this is not what it means. We played 18 holes and as we had a buggy thought we would play a few more holes. We had only played a couple of extra holes when the Marshall came and asked if we had a problem, we replied no, and were really enjoying the course when he said why had we not come back in and what were we still doing on the course, I replied we are playing a few more holes as we had twilight all you can play,, to which his reply was twilight golf is 18 holes only.. I think you should re-word twilight all you can play...
Stephen Lloyd from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st May 2018
Great Course
This was the third or fourth time over a number of years the two of us have played this course. It is in our opinion the best of the 5 Dom Pedro owned local courses. A very picturesque established course interesting but challenging too. Thoroughly recommend.
Stephen Lloyd from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st May 2018
Great Course
This was the third or fourth time over a number of years the two of us have played this course. It is in our opinion the best of the 5 Dom Pedro owned local courses. A very picturesque established course interesting but challenging too. Thoroughly recommend.
Mark Sheppey from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th May 2018
very good as always, really good layout and great condition
Dominic from United Kingdom
on Sat, 28th Apr 2018
The Old Course
Greens a little inconsistent but still enjoyable.
Bryan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 27th Apr 2018
Beauty
Beautiful course and a good test for my level of golf (18). All staff were very helpful and polite.
Hardy Riessen from Germany
on Tue, 24th Apr 2018
Great course.
Nick from United Kingdom
on Mon, 9th Apr 2018
Lovely course, well maintained and staff very friendly. Some challenging holes, some fairly straightforward ones, but many were a bit similar to one another. If you missed the fairways you struggle to go for the green in regulation. No real water hazards apart from the 3rd. Rough not penal. We were given towels to shower and change after the round and the beers were reasonable.

The Easter special gave us 18 holes for €100 , expensive but just about worth it.

Klaus
on Mon, 26th Mar 2018
The best you can get - atmosphere, style and great layout
John
on Sun, 25th Feb 2018
Three Seniors From Ely
Of all the Vilamoura courses we played this was our favourite. The course was a stiff challenge but fair. The layout and variety of the holes was classic . The fairways were not too fast, as we found elsewhere, good tee shots and approaches were usually rewarded.

good tee shots and

Anne from United States
on Mon, 13th Nov 2017
Umbrella pines galore
Lovely lined with umbrella pines. paths rough and just sand but that didn't bother us. some sameness in certain holes, but definitely kept our attention
Andrew from South Africa
on Mon, 13th Nov 2017
Maginicant but expensive
Magnificent course although very expensive for those coming from the third world. Green fees we noticed had already dropped considerably before we had even left. I will be sure to negotiate harder next time should there be one.
Peter from United Kingdom
on Fri, 3rd Nov 2017
Picture postcard course
Beautiful course and really tough test with narrow fairways and tree lined throughout. Really picturesque
Finn from Denmark
on Sun, 29th Oct 2017
Still one of the best
Excellent course and all the staff were service-minded. Definitely be back
Antony from Portugal
on Mon, 23rd Oct 2017
The old Vilamoura
This course never disappoints , from the welcome you get at reception ,the very helpful green staff and the starter.

As courses go in the Algarve the green fees are 'expensive ' but worth every Euro.

The par 3 4th is a fantastic hole that can fight back!

If you are thinking of playing the course do not hesitate , it is my favourite in the Algarve..

Jeremy from United States
on Fri, 20th Oct 2017
Nice layout but the greens were so slow and the tee boxes were in bad condition. Monte Rei is a great course
chris from Europe
on Wed, 18th Oct 2017
Best Course....great welcome!
surely the best course in Portugal!
Mark from United Kingdom
on Wed, 11th Oct 2017
great course....good test of golf
Best course we played all week. Great set up and interesting holes that make you think about your shots...will definitely play again
Chris Jager from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Oct 2017
Dusk Golf
A superb golf course with some incredible scenery plus picturesque T-box to greens challenges.

I recommend and will play this course again as its one of the best I have ever played in Europe.

Darren Salisbury from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Oct 2017
Old Course review
Amazing golf course, stunning setting and all of the staff very welcoming.
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Sun, 1st Oct 2017
A must visit
3rd visit to the Old Course over the past 3 years. This is a beautiful course, not long so course management is the key to a good score. Umbrella pines line every hole and will punish a bad shot, but the course is not unfair with plenty of fairway to hit. A 'mini Augusta' in my mind.
Ian
on Tue, 26th Sep 2017
Played twice previously, hoping to return in April .
David from United Kingdom
on Fri, 15th Sep 2017
Old course
Great course, expensive but worth it.
Martin from United Kingdom
on Sun, 20th Aug 2017
Decent course but in need of investment- looks a little run down compared to others in the Algarve.
Jean francois from Portugal
on Fri, 18th Aug 2017
We are Alone on the course . It Was amazing. We are very happy .
Olivier from Portugal
on Thu, 17th Aug 2017
Nice Golf and service
Robert from United Kingdom
on Mon, 14th Aug 2017
Mr Smith
Best Golf course I have played in Portugal.

They could take a few tips on Customer Service from the Faldo and O'Connor courses!

Michael from United Kingdom
on Sun, 13th Aug 2017
A real test of golf, fantastic course.
Fabulous course and a great test of golf. We were greeted on arrival by friendly staff which really added to the whole golf experience. Affordable buggy hire at 25€ each was very welcome. Look forward to return visit in the future. Thank you. Michael Currie, member of Edenmore Golf and Country Club.
Michael from United Kingdom
on Sun, 13th Aug 2017
Fabulous course and a great test of golf.
Fabulous course and a great rest of golf. We were greeted on our arrival by friendly staff which really added to the whole golf experience. Affordable buggy hire at 25€ each was very welcome. Look forward to return visit in the future. Thank you.

Michael Currie, member of Edenmore Golf and Country Club.

Andrew from United Kingdom
on Wed, 9th Aug 2017
Algarve golf with scratch golfer (son!)
Have played the Old Course around five times now & it is still in great condition. The greens were good but not as quick as I remembered. Still a really enjoyable experience!
David from United Kingdom
on Mon, 31st Jul 2017
Lovely course and worth playing
Great course, tight with lots of overhanging trees to catch you out. Course layout is great, greens are pretty slow which is fairly typical of the area.
Lee Cummings from United Kingdom
on Fri, 28th Jul 2017
Review on the Old Course
The Old Course is just superb!! Well lay'd out and the holes are and can be testing. Some of the comments on TripAdvisor are just plain rubbish and nonsense... I found the staff very helpful, friendly and they accommodated me in ref to my son been presented. I would have no hesitations in recommending this course to anybody. First Class
Adam from United Kingdom
on Mon, 17th Jul 2017
Excellent course worth the green fee
PAUL MCPHERSON from Australia
on Tue, 4th Jul 2017
Excellent condition & presentation.
Peter Gladwin from United Kingdom
on Sat, 10th Jun 2017
Fantastic course.
This course is immaculately maintained and a real golfing test. I absolutely love it !!
bastien pigeyre from France
on Sat, 10th Jun 2017
très beau parcours & bien entretenu

temps de jeu trop long à partir de 15h40 avec golfette (4h10)

sur les départs, trop de mégots de cigarette

service personnel très bien

Michael Sabourin from Germany
on Fri, 9th Jun 2017
Best of the best !
This course is the best in Portugal. Very very nice to Play. Every hole is different.
Julie from Europe
on Tue, 30th May 2017
Old Course - Fabulous
Still one of the best courses in the region, it's a must play although those overhanging Pine trees can catch even the sweetest shot! In good condition.
David from Portugal
on Thu, 25th May 2017
Old course review
Very busy, so slow round. Good condition, but would like to play again when quieter. Interesting course - maybe a little over-priced though.
Ronald from United Kingdom
on Mon, 22nd May 2017
Good facilities and friendly staff
Stan Mack from United Kingdom
on Sun, 21st May 2017
Good course
As usual this course is excellent and in very good condition - both high and low handicap players will enjoy this course
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Thu, 18th May 2017
The round was almost totally spoilt by slow play. Clearly too many players of dubious quality on the course and inadequate marshalling to maintain speed of play discipline - very poor for the price !
Stephen from United Kingdom
on Tue, 9th May 2017
Great course 👍😊
Harry
on Tue, 2nd May 2017
Worth trying
Very nice and variate golf course
Heather from Portugal
on Sun, 23rd Apr 2017
Penalizing with the umbrella pines and extremely narrow but well maintained.
Charles from Germany
on Sun, 2nd Apr 2017
Old course
Good service and course. Fairways were patchy but it had rained a lot so course maintenance was in progress.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Old Course page's or to connect with other Old Course golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.