Loading
to

Old Course Reviews

marinus matheus from Netherlands
on Thu, 5th May 2022
Good course but expensive
ian from United Kingdom
on Sat, 23rd Apr 2022
Always a pleasure to play.
Anthony from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Apr 2022
Excellent as ever
What a joy to play this classic course in pristine condition

Couldn’t find fault and can’t wait to return

STEPHANE from France
on Mon, 18th Apr 2022
A la hauteur de la réputation
Très beau parcours très bien entretenu à rejouer avec plaisir
paul from Netherlands
on Sat, 19th Mar 2022
club house may be renewed.
nice old golf course. clubhouse dated
Grant Stephenson from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Mar 2022
A beautiful gem & must play course in Vilamoura.
Aesthetically beautiful to the eye and a pleasure to play. A real test of accuracy & course management. Played early March and it was in a very good condition. First time visit, but safe to say, I’ll definitely be back again. It’s very up & down in elevation, so it’s well worth investing in a golf buggy. One minor little niggle… there needs to be a large net installed to separate the driving range from the 5th fairway, as there were practice balls everywhere.
Lee from United Kingdom
on Thu, 10th Feb 2022
Lee on tour
Played at 13.30, “twilight” terms.

Joined by a very nice Dutch couple.

Not held up at all.

Finished in just less than 4 hours.

Fantastic mature course in great condition.

Very fast greens.

PHILIP from United Kingdom
on Tue, 8th Feb 2022
Great day brilliant sunshine good people
Great day brilliant sunshine good people
PHILIP from United Kingdom
on Tue, 8th Feb 2022
Very enjoyable
Lars from Sweden
on Sat, 1st Jan 2022
Old is undoubtedly the best of Dom Pedro courses.
Dom Pedro courses are generally nice and well planned. Care and finish are okay/good when it comes to greens and bunkers. Unfortunately, the feeling is of a weak commercial will as there are no offers on balls, no takeaway solutions for drinks / snacks / sandwiches. The restaurants have larger menus than they can handle and it does not feel like the owner has any sense at all of the service that a golfer appreciates. It seems more important to have a dry and non-commercial environment than a selling and for the golfer, well-thought-out service.
Henrik from Sweden
on Fri, 24th Dec 2021
Wery nice golfclub to be at!
Jerome from France
on Sat, 4th Dec 2021
Great experience
Great course : old fashioned . Very challenging design . Good quality of bunkers . Greens ok for the season . Good welcome . We played in 4 hours as a four ball which is reasonable. No need for buggy because few space between the holes
Andy from Canada
on Fri, 3rd Dec 2021
Classic older course
A classic older course. Good condition overall. Tricky greens with a fair bit of break on some. Lots of mature trees that can really get in your way if you don't find the centre of the fairway. Nice layout and hole design. Interesting.
Jack from United Kingdom
on Sun, 28th Nov 2021
Quality greens and hole design.
Excellent greens, very true roll. I liked a lot of the shorter par 4's, you have to play sensible tee shots to leave a good chance in. Inviting first hole downhill, some great looking par 3's. You can see why this has held pro tournaments as from the tees looking out onto the fairways, the design is there to see. Bunkers immaculate, tees well used but good, lots of traffic over peak months. Fairways great. Would recommend! Walked with a trolley, some up and down bits so buggy may be more suitable if you don't like some walking up slope. Distance between tees not an issue, majority are close by.

Greens and hole design stand out here.

bernard from United Kingdom
on Fri, 26th Nov 2021
HOME FROM HOME
The Dom Pedro Old is a fine course strikingly similar to Sunningdale /Wentworth which i was not expecting -i go on holiday to find places different to what we play in UK which is not a criticism but an observation.V good condition throughout.
Douglas from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Oct 2021
Simply the best! We played a few courses during our stay but this one is by far the best course in Vilamoura. If you only play one course it has to be this one. The welcome was warm and very well organised.
Jorge Arizpe from Russian Federation
on Thu, 7th Oct 2021
Poor Course Management
I played as a 1 ball at the beginning of twilight hours (1545). The first hole was great--a two ball was finishing as I got ready to tee off. The second hole not so good. The two ball was in the middle of the fairway waiting for a 4 ball group to finish. By the fourth holeI had to wait 5-10 minutes at every tee box because the two four ball groups were constantly look for their balls. By the ninth hole the two ball in front of me were so frustrated they left. Four hours after starting my round I had to quit at the end of the 16th hole because the course closed. The two 4 ball groups still playing past the closing time as I walked up to the club house. The course marshal did not care that the two groups were holding up 4 groups behind them. The wait times were not worth the price I paid to play on the course.
Patrick from United Kingdom
on Fri, 1st Oct 2021
Great course but Marshall's didnt get onto the slow play 5 hour round for 2 ball spoilt the round
Robert from United Kingdom
on Thu, 23rd Sep 2021
Great course but needs a few paths tidying up since I last played
Steve from United Kingdom
on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Mr Stephen Hather
Fantastic as always all seven golfers enjoyed this course some playing for first time
Steve from United Kingdom
on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Mr Stephen Hather
Fantastic as always our favourite course in the area all seven golfers enjoyed the course some playing for first time
petrus from Netherlands
on Mon, 13th Sep 2021
Beautiful course, but unfortunately too busy
Played for the second time today at the OldCourse. The course looks fantastic. Very friendly staff.Unfortunately, we were disappointed by a large group of Englishmen (4 flights) who played very slowly and very poorly, so we had a lot of delay and eventually stopped earlier.
Mark from United Kingdom
on Sun, 29th Aug 2021
Excellent condition
Stefan- from Germany
on Fri, 27th Aug 2021
Classic course
The Old course is a classic design in very good condition. Some holes are a little tight, the front nine are better. Not a world class design but very good. One of the very best on the coast.
Gary from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th Aug 2021
Super course
Absolutely fantastic, got to be up there with the best on the algarve, staff brilliant,course immaculate,all round superb
merci from United States
on Mon, 2nd Aug 2021
A must if in the area
merci from United States
on Mon, 2nd Aug 2021
Course was incredible. Greens were fast but rolled well. Beautiful holes. Loved it
Darren from United Kingdom
on Sat, 17th Jul 2021
Old Course
Lovely course very quiet on the day we went which was also good.
Dana from Portugal
on Tue, 13th Jul 2021
Great round of golf
Very much enjoyed our 18 hole outing on the Old Course. The layout is challenging, with lots of narrow fairways placing a premium on driving accuracy. Not much water on the course, but plenty of ways to lose balls if you stray from the fairways. The course was in excellent condition from tee to green.
Tony Higgins from Ireland
on Mon, 5th Jul 2021
Classic golf course - not to be missed.
Jan Bruegelmann from Portugal
on Mon, 21st Jun 2021
Course marshal missing
I really love the Old Course - so beautiful and also challenging. Reason for the mediocre rating: there was ni course marshal on duty after 2 pm probably due to personnel problems - so the two of us were stuck behind a four-ballflight for 10 out if 18 holes - just incredible ignorant players! Regards Jan
Javier from Spain
on Sun, 6th Jun 2021
Quallity and tradition, worth the visit
Very smooth flowing course, Not very wide fairways, huge old trees, need to hit straight. Very good golf course
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Sat, 15th May 2021
Top Algarve Course
This classic course is the pearl of the Dom Pedro courses (Victoria is the championship course). We played it 5 times this year due to the non-opening of the other Dom Pedro courses, which allowed us to fine tune our strategy. Not that that made the course an easy play, but it did eliminate excuses for not playing well. The course is in good condition and the range is so improved from the Oceanico days. We did lose a couple of balls when hitting the trees LOL.
Thomas Manth from Germany
on Thu, 6th May 2021
Absolutely Recommended
Beautiful, and extremely well maintained. Well worth the fee
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Thu, 29th Apr 2021
Probably the area's best
Rated it a 5 taken in context of the area - it probably wouldn't be a 5 if compared to Pebble Beach. The course has benefitted from the improvements made since the takeover by Dom Pedro. The fairways were mostly nice and cushy (not much roll though). The greens were still lightly sanded, but seemed fine. Good pace of play even considering that it was the best booked course we've played on this trip.
Denise Hennin from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Jan 2021
Great Classic Course
My first experience of this lovely course and thoroughly enjoyed it. Look forward to playing it again. A classic proper golf course. Staff friendly and helpful. Food menu limited but tasty.
Denise Hennin from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Jan 2021
A proper golf course
A beautiful original course with plenty of trees and challenges. Love it!

Staff were all friendly and helpful as well.

Michael from Ireland
on Fri, 30th Oct 2020
A real classic , tight fairways and nature at mature stages makes this a treat so if you can take it in - it’s a joy to play
peter from Russian Federation
on Thu, 29th Oct 2020
Played this course a few times and never fails to impress. Always immaculate condition, some super holes and in my view the best course in the area. Didn’t get a chance to enjoy the restaurant due to covid but have previously and no faults at all. If you are in vilamoura, this is a must play course.
Renald from Belgium
on Mon, 19th Oct 2020
Great but expensive
This course is wonderful. Fairways and greens are state of the art. Not easy to play as fairways are not very large.

I give only 4 stars because of the greenfee which is too expensive according to me.

Michael from Ireland
on Thu, 15th Oct 2020
Old classic
A beautiful classic old style parkland in pristine condition with fast greens this was a very enjoyable experience , and would highly recommend if you can get a reasonable green fee
Boris from Switzerland
on Tue, 13th Oct 2020
Magnificent golf course with a fabulous welcome at the shop and at the reception. The course is very well maintained, clean and the greens are in perfect condition! I loved playing the Old Course. I would even say that I am interested in becoming a member of the Club.
Joaquim Vilà from Spain
on Thu, 27th Aug 2020
Course in perfect condition, including greens with perfect speed. We will come back to this course. We really enjoyed the course.
Dirk from Germany
on Sun, 23rd Aug 2020
Schöner Platz etwas teuer
Schöner Platz etwas zu teuer für das was er bietet. Hatten trotzdem eine schöne Runde. Anfänger werden unter den vielen Pinien auf die Probe gestellt
Susan from United States
on Sun, 1st Mar 2020
Mixed review
Loved the course but play was very slow. Caught behind a bunch of foursomes who took 4 3/4 hours to play! Greens were in superb condition; some of the fairways suffered from bare and patchy areas. Regardless, we would want to give the course another go!
Mark from Portugal
on Tue, 11th Feb 2020
Twilight deal works great!
Very enjoyable day. Warmed up on the range, had lunch them played with Alex who I met on the first tee. We were joined on 14 th tee by Mark and Rob for more fun . Greens are in fine shape. It was a pleasure to play the Old Course. Mark from Canada.
DIncau from Switzerland
on Tue, 14th Jan 2020
Les premiers trous nous ont fait douter de la qualité du parcours, le 2, 3 et 4 n'avais pas le ferway en bon état.

Mais la difficulté du parcours ne nous a pas fait oublier qu'il faut de l'entraînement pour jouer sur ce genre de parcours.

thomas from United Kingdom
on Sun, 12th Jan 2020
Mr Thomas Orr
Excellent course ,

Starter was excellent

Course condition excellent,

Patricia from Portugal
on Sat, 11th Jan 2020
Disappointed in condition of course
Petra from Germany
on Mon, 6th Jan 2020
Nice beautifull Top Place to Play golf
Perfekt design course, Top quality

But a few trees ;-)

maurice from Netherlands
on Fri, 3rd Jan 2020
Visually one of the top courses
A must course to play at least once.

You feel an atmosphere of a real old course in the positive sense. A lady which you have to show respect and handle with care.

Very fast greens, fairways sometimes too bold.

Visually superb holes, especially the par-3's.

Why did I a 4-star iso 5-star score: we made use of a buggy and were not allowed to use the fairways. In the morning with dawn, this feels reasonable, however after a while when the fairways are dry, this makes playing less comfortable then it could be

Philipp from Switzerland
on Thu, 2nd Jan 2020
Some exceptional holes (Par 3)

Rest more or less standard

Andrew from United Kingdom
on Mon, 30th Dec 2019
Andy Redfearn
Course in excellent condition, greens fast and true. Every hole offers something different on the eye and presents a different challenge. The Old Course remains the the most picturesque course in Vilamoura.
Sjef Scholte from Portugal
on Thu, 24th Oct 2019
Fantastic course

Pretty expensive and buggy's not included???

Monica from Switzerland
on Wed, 16th Oct 2019
Super course
David Keating from Ireland
on Sun, 22nd Sep 2019
A delight of a course
Stunning place, from the moment you arrive you know you are in for a treat. Its a real course management round and it you behave off the tee you will make a score. Simply a beautifully crafted course among the trees and suitable for all abilities.
gary from United States
on Fri, 20th Sep 2019
old course review
best course in Portugal .great atmospheric feel and great layout,greens a touch slower than i would have liked but thats me being fussy .
René Duit from Netherlands
on Tue, 17th Sep 2019
Oldcourse
Blijft één van de favoriete banen in de omgeving Vilamoura.

Zeer verzorgd en vriendelijke baan.

Goede baancatering.

Tony from Ireland
on Sat, 14th Sep 2019
Traditional challenging parkland course. No hesitation in recommending this course.
Sam from United Kingdom
on Thu, 12th Sep 2019
Great as always.
Great service as always from the staff at the old course. Course in great condition can't fault it.
Guillaume from France
on Sun, 1st Sep 2019
Unavoidable
Typical Algarve golf course with holes in the middle of pine. Greens, fairways, rough and bunkers are excellent. The golf course team is very kind. Play it!
Erwin from Portugal
on Thu, 29th Aug 2019
Beautiful mature course for long straight shots
The course was beautiful, not crowded and clean.

It is a perfect course if you want to hit long straight balls.

We did find however, that the cart paths were damaged and needed substantial repairs.

debra from United Kingdom
on Mon, 12th Aug 2019
Very good course best one out of the 4 we played but not impressed had to pay €25 for golf buggy weren’t told when booked
David from United Kingdom
on Sat, 10th Aug 2019
Golf at old course
Brilliant looking course.narrow fairways,very tree lined. Lovely condition. Too good for my golf!
Orla O Sè from Ireland
on Thu, 8th Aug 2019
Excellent golf course,great character,need to be accurate off the tee!looking forward to playing it again
Brian from United States
on Mon, 15th Jul 2019
Challenging Day
Played on the 13th, a two and a three, best course of the three we played. Very undulating and challenging on numerous holes. Good hospitality and we will see you again.
Graham from United Kingdom
on Thu, 11th Jul 2019
A dream course in fantastic condition. Fairways are like lush carpets, greens are fantastic speed and as true as you can get. One of my favourite courses of all time. Simply superb and one to go back to again and again.
James Barnfield from United Kingdom
on Tue, 9th Jul 2019
Wonderful course.
Ulrich from Switzerland
on Mon, 8th Jul 2019
A great golf course in a stunning setting
Fantastic course layout and in great shape. The only course in Vilamoura that is easy walkable due to short distances between greens and tee boxes. Very nice landscape with old trees and many interesting holes. The best of all courses in Vilamoura we played.
giovanni from Italy
on Tue, 18th Jun 2019
I’m not happy
For the cost of the greenfee i world Line ti ha e a perfect course. The green aren’t ok the farway too but......
Marco from Switzerland
on Sun, 16th Jun 2019
Nice Course - bad Restaurant
The courses of the Dom Pedro Group are all very nice and well maintained.

However, it is completely incomprehensible that only one single menu is offered in all of the group's clubhouses - and even that is not really breathtaking.

I am therefore not surprised that very few of the guests there eat something - after the third time you have just seen it. Too bad.

giles from Russian Federation
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
Absolutely peerless. Very nice staff.
Rob from United Kingdom
on Sun, 9th Jun 2019
Really nice back 9 well worth the money
stephen marjoram from United Kingdom
on Sun, 26th May 2019
EXCELLENT ,WOULD GO BACK TOMORROW
Everything about this course was 1st class .

The way you are greated by the staff , the warm up facilities ,the little touches of ice and bottled water , and the magnificient golf course .

It is a bit pricey ,but for me it was well worth the money .

Mark
on Tue, 14th May 2019
very good course, have played this about 5 times now over the years and it was as good as i have ever seen it this year, quite a slow round as it gets very busy but worth the wait
Kieran from United Kingdom
on Tue, 7th May 2019
Fantastic
Fantastic course, great staff, tough greens
Scott Kerr from Europe
on Sat, 4th May 2019
Fantastic course. Couple of fairways very bare but otherwise in good nick. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Anil from South Africa
on Wed, 1st May 2019
Best of dom Pedro courses

Park like tree lined and great condition

Adam from United Kingdom
on Tue, 23rd Apr 2019
Average & Tired
Fairways were very bare in patches, it's definitely had it's wear over the years. Greens were the best bit about the course
Dave from Switzerland
on Mon, 15th Apr 2019
Now overpriced,
We played the Old Course in April 19 - it has long been a favourite. The new owners have spent money on the infrastructure, adding 30m to the driving range. The green fees have however risen sharply and are comparable to the prestige Quinta courses and Victoria, This is fine if you get a prestige experience but you don't. Buggies @ 45€ but no ice. Fairways 2 & 3 is really poor condition, 80% devoid of grass.
Olli-Antero from Finland
on Thu, 4th Apr 2019
Very very

good

Klaus
on Sun, 24th Mar 2019
Everything is good
As usual a great experience to play. Good facilities in the clubhouse. Good food.
Klaus Oltscher from Germany
on Mon, 18th Mar 2019
Für mich der beste Platz am Standort. Ich habe deshalb gleich 2 Runden in 6 Tagen gespielt. Platzauslastung war aus meiner Sicht eher gering.

Der Zustand des Platzes war gut. Auch bei starkem Wind gut spielbar wegen der Lage und der Bewaldung.

Eddie Cooper from Austria
on Wed, 13th Mar 2019
Always enjoy playing the Old course, my group was playing for the first time and had a great experience
David from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Feb 2019
Good round
First class course all staff very pleasant, tree on the middle of the fairway on the first about 150yards out plays on your mind teeing off if you can draw then bang on if you go left to right then can be an issue but can’t fault the course lot of hanging around tees and fairways due to slow play
Paul Stedman from United Kingdom
on Sun, 3rd Feb 2019
Unlike many of the courses on the Algarve this course is established amongst the towering pines and does not wind through rows of endless villas but sits naturally in the landscape

From 1st to 18th you need to shape your drive and position the ball on the fairway to get the best line into the green.

Once on the green don’t be surprised if the ball does not move the way you think it will !!

If you only have time to play one course in Villamoura I would recommend you play this one - it is one you should rember

Lin from Portugal
on Mon, 14th Jan 2019
Superb course
Superb course had a great day
Mikhail from Portugal
on Sun, 13th Jan 2019
Very satisfied with the golf course, very comfortable, good greens and fairways. Felt the fundamental school of design for golf courses, beautiful nature,minimal sense of urbanization.
Wesley from United Kingdom
on Tue, 1st Jan 2019
Beautiful course
Stunning course, superb condition, a lot of pine trees all around and some great views
Guilhem VIELJEUF from Europe
on Fri, 28th Dec 2018
The perfect Christmas experience!
We played the course on Christmas day, December 25th, and had a wonderful experience at the old course!

We were almost the first group to tee-off that day, came with the rest of the family to caddy the 3 golfers from the family, the weather was absolutely perfect, bright sun and 20 degrees.

The course, that I had been players a few times several years ago, was in perfect condition, the staff was friendly, and we had a great lunch after the game on the terrace... A perfect Xmas day for golfers !!! I recommend!

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Old Course page's or to connect with other Old Course golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.