Loading
to

Old Course Reviews

Steve from United Kingdom
on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Mr Stephen Hather
Fantastic as always all seven golfers enjoyed this course some playing for first time
Steve from United Kingdom
on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Mr Stephen Hather
Fantastic as always our favourite course in the area all seven golfers enjoyed the course some playing for first time
petrus from Netherlands
on Mon, 13th Sep 2021
Beautiful course, but unfortunately too busy
Played for the second time today at the OldCourse. The course looks fantastic. Very friendly staff.Unfortunately, we were disappointed by a large group of Englishmen (4 flights) who played very slowly and very poorly, so we had a lot of delay and eventually stopped earlier.
Mark from United Kingdom
on Sun, 29th Aug 2021
Excellent condition
Stefan- from Germany
on Fri, 27th Aug 2021
Classic course
The Old course is a classic design in very good condition. Some holes are a little tight, the front nine are better. Not a world class design but very good. One of the very best on the coast.
Gary from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th Aug 2021
Super course
Absolutely fantastic, got to be up there with the best on the algarve, staff brilliant,course immaculate,all round superb
merci from United States
on Mon, 2nd Aug 2021
A must if in the area
merci from United States
on Mon, 2nd Aug 2021
Course was incredible. Greens were fast but rolled well. Beautiful holes. Loved it
Darren from United Kingdom
on Sat, 17th Jul 2021
Old Course
Lovely course very quiet on the day we went which was also good.
Dana from Portugal
on Tue, 13th Jul 2021
Great round of golf
Very much enjoyed our 18 hole outing on the Old Course. The layout is challenging, with lots of narrow fairways placing a premium on driving accuracy. Not much water on the course, but plenty of ways to lose balls if you stray from the fairways. The course was in excellent condition from tee to green.
Tony Higgins from Ireland
on Mon, 5th Jul 2021
Classic golf course - not to be missed.
Jan Bruegelmann from Portugal
on Mon, 21st Jun 2021
Course marshal missing
I really love the Old Course - so beautiful and also challenging. Reason for the mediocre rating: there was ni course marshal on duty after 2 pm probably due to personnel problems - so the two of us were stuck behind a four-ballflight for 10 out if 18 holes - just incredible ignorant players! Regards Jan
Javier from Spain
on Sun, 6th Jun 2021
Quallity and tradition, worth the visit
Very smooth flowing course, Not very wide fairways, huge old trees, need to hit straight. Very good golf course
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Sat, 15th May 2021
Top Algarve Course
This classic course is the pearl of the Dom Pedro courses (Victoria is the championship course). We played it 5 times this year due to the non-opening of the other Dom Pedro courses, which allowed us to fine tune our strategy. Not that that made the course an easy play, but it did eliminate excuses for not playing well. The course is in good condition and the range is so improved from the Oceanico days. We did lose a couple of balls when hitting the trees LOL.
Thomas Manth from Germany
on Thu, 6th May 2021
Absolutely Recommended
Beautiful, and extremely well maintained. Well worth the fee
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Thu, 29th Apr 2021
Probably the area's best
Rated it a 5 taken in context of the area - it probably wouldn't be a 5 if compared to Pebble Beach. The course has benefitted from the improvements made since the takeover by Dom Pedro. The fairways were mostly nice and cushy (not much roll though). The greens were still lightly sanded, but seemed fine. Good pace of play even considering that it was the best booked course we've played on this trip.
Denise Hennin from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Jan 2021
Great Classic Course
My first experience of this lovely course and thoroughly enjoyed it. Look forward to playing it again. A classic proper golf course. Staff friendly and helpful. Food menu limited but tasty.
Denise Hennin from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Jan 2021
A proper golf course
A beautiful original course with plenty of trees and challenges. Love it!

Staff were all friendly and helpful as well.

Michael from Ireland
on Fri, 30th Oct 2020
A real classic , tight fairways and nature at mature stages makes this a treat so if you can take it in - it’s a joy to play
peter from Russian Federation
on Thu, 29th Oct 2020
Played this course a few times and never fails to impress. Always immaculate condition, some super holes and in my view the best course in the area. Didn’t get a chance to enjoy the restaurant due to covid but have previously and no faults at all. If you are in vilamoura, this is a must play course.
Renald from Belgium
on Mon, 19th Oct 2020
Great but expensive
This course is wonderful. Fairways and greens are state of the art. Not easy to play as fairways are not very large.

I give only 4 stars because of the greenfee which is too expensive according to me.

Michael from Ireland
on Thu, 15th Oct 2020
Old classic
A beautiful classic old style parkland in pristine condition with fast greens this was a very enjoyable experience , and would highly recommend if you can get a reasonable green fee
Boris from Switzerland
on Tue, 13th Oct 2020
Magnificent golf course with a fabulous welcome at the shop and at the reception. The course is very well maintained, clean and the greens are in perfect condition! I loved playing the Old Course. I would even say that I am interested in becoming a member of the Club.
Joaquim Vilà from Spain
on Thu, 27th Aug 2020
Course in perfect condition, including greens with perfect speed. We will come back to this course. We really enjoyed the course.
Dirk from Germany
on Sun, 23rd Aug 2020
Schöner Platz etwas teuer
Schöner Platz etwas zu teuer für das was er bietet. Hatten trotzdem eine schöne Runde. Anfänger werden unter den vielen Pinien auf die Probe gestellt
Susan from United States
on Sun, 1st Mar 2020
Mixed review
Loved the course but play was very slow. Caught behind a bunch of foursomes who took 4 3/4 hours to play! Greens were in superb condition; some of the fairways suffered from bare and patchy areas. Regardless, we would want to give the course another go!
Mark from Portugal
on Tue, 11th Feb 2020
Twilight deal works great!
Very enjoyable day. Warmed up on the range, had lunch them played with Alex who I met on the first tee. We were joined on 14 th tee by Mark and Rob for more fun . Greens are in fine shape. It was a pleasure to play the Old Course. Mark from Canada.
DIncau from Switzerland
on Tue, 14th Jan 2020
Les premiers trous nous ont fait douter de la qualité du parcours, le 2, 3 et 4 n'avais pas le ferway en bon état.

Mais la difficulté du parcours ne nous a pas fait oublier qu'il faut de l'entraînement pour jouer sur ce genre de parcours.

thomas from United Kingdom
on Sun, 12th Jan 2020
Mr Thomas Orr
Excellent course ,

Starter was excellent

Course condition excellent,

Patricia from Portugal
on Sat, 11th Jan 2020
Disappointed in condition of course
Petra from Germany
on Mon, 6th Jan 2020
Nice beautifull Top Place to Play golf
Perfekt design course, Top quality

But a few trees ;-)

maurice from Netherlands
on Fri, 3rd Jan 2020
Visually one of the top courses
A must course to play at least once.

You feel an atmosphere of a real old course in the positive sense. A lady which you have to show respect and handle with care.

Very fast greens, fairways sometimes too bold.

Visually superb holes, especially the par-3's.

Why did I a 4-star iso 5-star score: we made use of a buggy and were not allowed to use the fairways. In the morning with dawn, this feels reasonable, however after a while when the fairways are dry, this makes playing less comfortable then it could be

Philipp from Switzerland
on Thu, 2nd Jan 2020
Some exceptional holes (Par 3)

Rest more or less standard

Andrew from United Kingdom
on Mon, 30th Dec 2019
Andy Redfearn
Course in excellent condition, greens fast and true. Every hole offers something different on the eye and presents a different challenge. The Old Course remains the the most picturesque course in Vilamoura.
Sjef Scholte from Portugal
on Thu, 24th Oct 2019
Fantastic course

Pretty expensive and buggy's not included???

Monica from Switzerland
on Wed, 16th Oct 2019
Super course
David Keating from Ireland
on Sun, 22nd Sep 2019
A delight of a course
Stunning place, from the moment you arrive you know you are in for a treat. Its a real course management round and it you behave off the tee you will make a score. Simply a beautifully crafted course among the trees and suitable for all abilities.
gary from United States
on Fri, 20th Sep 2019
old course review
best course in Portugal .great atmospheric feel and great layout,greens a touch slower than i would have liked but thats me being fussy .
René Duit from Netherlands
on Tue, 17th Sep 2019
Oldcourse
Blijft één van de favoriete banen in de omgeving Vilamoura.

Zeer verzorgd en vriendelijke baan.

Goede baancatering.

Tony from Ireland
on Sat, 14th Sep 2019
Traditional challenging parkland course. No hesitation in recommending this course.
Sam from United Kingdom
on Thu, 12th Sep 2019
Great as always.
Great service as always from the staff at the old course. Course in great condition can't fault it.
Guillaume from France
on Sun, 1st Sep 2019
Unavoidable
Typical Algarve golf course with holes in the middle of pine. Greens, fairways, rough and bunkers are excellent. The golf course team is very kind. Play it!
Erwin from Portugal
on Thu, 29th Aug 2019
Beautiful mature course for long straight shots
The course was beautiful, not crowded and clean.

It is a perfect course if you want to hit long straight balls.

We did find however, that the cart paths were damaged and needed substantial repairs.

debra from United Kingdom
on Mon, 12th Aug 2019
Very good course best one out of the 4 we played but not impressed had to pay €25 for golf buggy weren’t told when booked
David from United Kingdom
on Sat, 10th Aug 2019
Golf at old course
Brilliant looking course.narrow fairways,very tree lined. Lovely condition. Too good for my golf!
Orla O Sè from Ireland
on Thu, 8th Aug 2019
Excellent golf course,great character,need to be accurate off the tee!looking forward to playing it again
Brian from United States
on Mon, 15th Jul 2019
Challenging Day
Played on the 13th, a two and a three, best course of the three we played. Very undulating and challenging on numerous holes. Good hospitality and we will see you again.
Graham from United Kingdom
on Thu, 11th Jul 2019
A dream course in fantastic condition. Fairways are like lush carpets, greens are fantastic speed and as true as you can get. One of my favourite courses of all time. Simply superb and one to go back to again and again.
James Barnfield from United Kingdom
on Tue, 9th Jul 2019
Wonderful course.
Ulrich from Switzerland
on Mon, 8th Jul 2019
A great golf course in a stunning setting
Fantastic course layout and in great shape. The only course in Vilamoura that is easy walkable due to short distances between greens and tee boxes. Very nice landscape with old trees and many interesting holes. The best of all courses in Vilamoura we played.
giovanni from Italy
on Tue, 18th Jun 2019
I’m not happy
For the cost of the greenfee i world Line ti ha e a perfect course. The green aren’t ok the farway too but......
Marco from Switzerland
on Sun, 16th Jun 2019
Nice Course - bad Restaurant
The courses of the Dom Pedro Group are all very nice and well maintained.

However, it is completely incomprehensible that only one single menu is offered in all of the group's clubhouses - and even that is not really breathtaking.

I am therefore not surprised that very few of the guests there eat something - after the third time you have just seen it. Too bad.

giles from Russian Federation
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
Absolutely peerless. Very nice staff.
Rob from United Kingdom
on Sun, 9th Jun 2019
Really nice back 9 well worth the money
stephen marjoram from United Kingdom
on Sun, 26th May 2019
EXCELLENT ,WOULD GO BACK TOMORROW
Everything about this course was 1st class .

The way you are greated by the staff , the warm up facilities ,the little touches of ice and bottled water , and the magnificient golf course .

It is a bit pricey ,but for me it was well worth the money .

Mark
on Tue, 14th May 2019
very good course, have played this about 5 times now over the years and it was as good as i have ever seen it this year, quite a slow round as it gets very busy but worth the wait
Kieran from United Kingdom
on Tue, 7th May 2019
Fantastic
Fantastic course, great staff, tough greens
Scott Kerr from Europe
on Sat, 4th May 2019
Fantastic course. Couple of fairways very bare but otherwise in good nick. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Anil from South Africa
on Wed, 1st May 2019
Best of dom Pedro courses

Park like tree lined and great condition

Adam from United Kingdom
on Tue, 23rd Apr 2019
Average & Tired
Fairways were very bare in patches, it's definitely had it's wear over the years. Greens were the best bit about the course
Dave from Switzerland
on Mon, 15th Apr 2019
Now overpriced,
We played the Old Course in April 19 - it has long been a favourite. The new owners have spent money on the infrastructure, adding 30m to the driving range. The green fees have however risen sharply and are comparable to the prestige Quinta courses and Victoria, This is fine if you get a prestige experience but you don't. Buggies @ 45€ but no ice. Fairways 2 & 3 is really poor condition, 80% devoid of grass.
Olli-Antero from Finland
on Thu, 4th Apr 2019
Very very

good

Klaus
on Sun, 24th Mar 2019
Everything is good
As usual a great experience to play. Good facilities in the clubhouse. Good food.
Klaus Oltscher from Germany
on Mon, 18th Mar 2019
Für mich der beste Platz am Standort. Ich habe deshalb gleich 2 Runden in 6 Tagen gespielt. Platzauslastung war aus meiner Sicht eher gering.

Der Zustand des Platzes war gut. Auch bei starkem Wind gut spielbar wegen der Lage und der Bewaldung.

Eddie Cooper from Austria
on Wed, 13th Mar 2019
Always enjoy playing the Old course, my group was playing for the first time and had a great experience
David from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Feb 2019
Good round
First class course all staff very pleasant, tree on the middle of the fairway on the first about 150yards out plays on your mind teeing off if you can draw then bang on if you go left to right then can be an issue but can’t fault the course lot of hanging around tees and fairways due to slow play
Paul Stedman from United Kingdom
on Sun, 3rd Feb 2019
Unlike many of the courses on the Algarve this course is established amongst the towering pines and does not wind through rows of endless villas but sits naturally in the landscape

From 1st to 18th you need to shape your drive and position the ball on the fairway to get the best line into the green.

Once on the green don’t be surprised if the ball does not move the way you think it will !!

If you only have time to play one course in Villamoura I would recommend you play this one - it is one you should rember

Lin from Portugal
on Mon, 14th Jan 2019
Superb course
Superb course had a great day
Mikhail from Portugal
on Sun, 13th Jan 2019
Very satisfied with the golf course, very comfortable, good greens and fairways. Felt the fundamental school of design for golf courses, beautiful nature,minimal sense of urbanization.
Wesley from United Kingdom
on Tue, 1st Jan 2019
Beautiful course
Stunning course, superb condition, a lot of pine trees all around and some great views
Guilhem VIELJEUF from Europe
on Fri, 28th Dec 2018
The perfect Christmas experience!
We played the course on Christmas day, December 25th, and had a wonderful experience at the old course!

We were almost the first group to tee-off that day, came with the rest of the family to caddy the 3 golfers from the family, the weather was absolutely perfect, bright sun and 20 degrees.

The course, that I had been players a few times several years ago, was in perfect condition, the staff was friendly, and we had a great lunch after the game on the terrace... A perfect Xmas day for golfers !!! I recommend!

Dany from Belgium
on Wed, 26th Dec 2018
The old course vilamoura
👍👍👍👍👍👍
Udo
on Mon, 24th Dec 2018
Old Course - disappointing
After 2 weeks closing/maintenace the course was widely still under maintenance, conditions of the fairways partly very poor, greens sanded and perforated, playable of course but not worth the money, even with the Christmas Special discount.
Rudy from Belgium
on Mon, 5th Nov 2018
Very good course!
Dany from Switzerland
on Thu, 25th Oct 2018
Nice course

OK greens

Michael from Portugal
on Thu, 18th Oct 2018
Great course to play!
Really fine course in very good condition. Staff in the Pro Shop were excellent. Also enjoyed a very good meal on the patio after playing our round.
Christian from United States
on Thu, 18th Oct 2018
Old Course not interesting
To expensive.
Frank from Portugal
on Fri, 12th Oct 2018
What a beautiful course and then I was hooked up with a threesome that were a complete disgrace. I have no problem playing with 60 handycappers as long as they understand and follow the ettiquette of golf. No, I certainly did not enjoy myself.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Sat, 29th Sep 2018
As always, excellent course great experience.
Robin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 24th Sep 2018
A must play course

Top condition and a real challenge

Samuel from Portugal
on Sun, 9th Sep 2018
Great classic course
Classic parkland course, excellent design, challenging, great variety of holes.

Negatives: at least half the tees were not level. Staff made an international issue over my playing partner’s wife,who was riding along. Her sin was wearing a denim skirt. Shamed her and reduced her to tears. Utterly unnecessary

Steve from United Kingdom
on Sun, 9th Sep 2018
Son beats Dad
Worth every penny. A true test of golf. Played from the tournament blocks as we’re both lowish single figure handicap. The greens were superb and true making it a memorable day. My son rated the course as one of the best he’d played but he’s not been around as long as me. That said it would be harsh of me to rate it outside my top 10. The whole set up is spot on from the meet and greet when you first arrive. It will be a certainty whenever we return.
Andy Symonds from United Kingdom
on Wed, 29th Aug 2018
Great course
Brilliant course well kept and very tricky to avoid the trees
Barnaby from United States
on Mon, 20th Aug 2018
Like an old friend
It was lovely to be back. The course was in the best condition I’ve seen. The staff are always friendly and I find the course to be very charming and approachable for a broad range of handicappers. It’s a great layout and lovely to be playing in amongst mature trees.
Gerlinde from Austria
on Sat, 4th Aug 2018
Definitely a Must when playing golf at the Algarve
Very beautiful parkland course!
Raj from United Kingdom
on Fri, 3rd Aug 2018
Superb course
Very well kept course. Tricky but very enjoyable. Highly recommend!
Aiden Keegan from Ireland
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
Old course
Excellent course in a beautiful setting. Not the longest but the design and layout make it the pick of the Dom Pedro courses.
Susan Tierney from Canada
on Fri, 13th Jul 2018
Course was in good condition, tight fairways, played long for women.
Tom from Ireland
on Wed, 27th Jun 2018
Great course and golfing experience
Beautiful course, plenty of challenge for all standards and great service to boot! A must visit if you're playing golf in Vilmoura.
Darren Howes from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Jun 2018
Course condition disappointing compared to others
I was really looking forward to playing this beautiful course again. The clubhouse is stunning. The views are also pretty, however the course was a bit scruffy. For the amount of money they charge to play this course compared to the other Dom Pedro Vilamoura courses. I found it strange that this course was by far in the worst condition with cracks in fairways and greens not in great condition either.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Old Course page's or to connect with other Old Course golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.