Loading
to

Balaia Reviews

Stephanie Roosenboom from Portugal
on Wed, 15th Jun 2022
Stephanie
Bit disapointed Aboutaleb the lengt of the slopes. Its more a par 3/4 court. But thats is the price. We Should have known. A flight after 6 people was not Nice.
James from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th Jun 2022
Par 3 test 👍
Great wee course .
Lavelle from Germany
on Mon, 30th May 2022
I took advantage of a round of golf while on vacation. Pros: The course was in good shape and easy to walk. Cons: The push cart and rental clubs (Wilsons) where old and the views from the course wasn’t the best. My overall experience wasn’t bad for the price.
John from Portugal
on Mon, 30th May 2022
1st class
Always a delight to play. Great condition and service
Dale from United Kingdom
on Sun, 29th May 2022
Chipping practice
Not a bad course but very short holes good for bit of practice before the better course’s
Bernie from United Kingdom
on Thu, 12th May 2022
1st time golf
I play golf in the UK and came away to Portugal with 3 friends that wanted to experience playing golf abroad .As these guys were not seasoned golfers I opted for what I felt would be a good course for them to play ,I was not wrong ,the course was great ,everybody had a great time .
Msrk from United Kingdom
on Fri, 6th May 2022
Too many allowed. No booking slots kept
I payed for 18 holes. I booked for 11am but when I got there I was told I could go on this was around 10am it was already busy but was able to play without hold ups. However as I came to go my 2nd 9 holes there were 3 groups waiting. I had a drink and waited. However this did not help as a group of 12 lads then decided to play and were only there for a laugh. I decided to join the line for my next 9 holes however after a 30 mins waiting in line and then again on 2nd hole 4 groups before me I decided to call it a day.

I played o holes having paid for 18. The rules are 12 mins between groups this was obviously not under control as it seems you just turned up and played. No control whatsoever in how busy and the booking slots just seem to be scrapped. Not happy with my day at golf ☹️

Daniel from United Kingdom
on Fri, 6th May 2022
As par 3’s go a very tricky little course. Had just undergone some maintenance so greens were very sandy. A little bit pricey for what it is but overall a really enjoyable 18 holes (went round twice) and ideal for beginners like my wife who played. Still testing on the short game for more experienced golfers.
Paul Mears from United Kingdom
on Thu, 28th Apr 2022
Lovely Par 3
Lovely course Not uoir average par 3 Some cute shots needed to achieve Par on most of the holes
Mike K. from Portugal
on Thu, 28th Apr 2022
Par 3 Only Course
Hello,

the course is okay , but very difficult. The green saves from a couple of trees. nice experience , but not played again.

Steve Armstrong from Canada
on Mon, 25th Apr 2022
Are there any social winter golf leagues that play 9 holes once or twice per week in Jan thru April, And if so you should we contact if we can play, thanks So much Steve and Tricia
Mark from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Apr 2022
Bale is course April 2022
This is a short course, par 27 for 9 holes. Sounds a bit tame for some folks but you need to be really accurate or you will loose a ball easily in water or thick vegetation. So its a fun course and god value that will still test you. Good clubhouse for food and drink. Friendly and helpful staff. Greens in v good order considering the treatment they get. So a quick cheap and fun course. Well located and easy to find.
Shaun from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Mar 2022
Great value for money
Had a great day, meet some really nice people, facilities were great, all for €50 that’s inc club hire as well, you can play as many holes as you like use all the facilities I.e. chipping areas putting green and

Driving range basically home in your short game, well recommended 👍🏻

Manuel from Portugal
on Wed, 9th Mar 2022
Confusing layout

But its cheap

Didnt expect that your non playing company will be charged the same green fee, it was not explained when i booked online.

Confusing rules: some are allowed to play whole day, some are not.

andrew from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Oct 2021
Great Balaia golf
Tricky par 3 course. Good fun and an excellent way to get your Algarve golf trip off the mark. Excellent service ny AlgarveGolf.Net too!!
Helena from Portugal
on Mon, 18th Oct 2021
Satisfying par 3 golf.
A 9 hole par 3 course with some very interesting/challenging holes. 9 holes can be played in an hour if not busy. Can take 90 mins if busy, but very enjoyable today.
Huub from Netherlands
on Wed, 13th Oct 2021
Hospitality was rude, impolite at Balaia Golf on tuesday 12 october 2021. We were a group of 11 pp.
Laura from United Kingdom
on Mon, 11th Oct 2021
18 holes with equipment rental
par 3 course in fair condition. Rental clubs not great plus no strap on bag which made it difficult to carry. Also was promised rental included shoes on 2 occasions but none were provided. Okay value for money overall.
Wayne from United Kingdom
on Mon, 27th Sep 2021
Watch out for the wicked witch of the west.
The course itself is in great condition but the lady receptionist has to be one of the rudest people I've met. We arrived at 7:50am for an 8:10 tee time but nobody was about so we teed off at 8:00. The first hole is only 70yds and the second tee is right next to the first heading in a different direction. When we arrived at tee 2 this harridan of a woman was shouting abuse at us for daring to tee off without her permission and ordered me to reception where she carried on abusing me until I eventually walked off after pointing out to her that this all could have been prevented if she got her arse out of bed on time to open up before the first tee times. Worth playing the course though.
Tushar from Portugal
on Wed, 22nd Sep 2021
Great 9 hole course
We enjoyed playing at this course. I’ve only been playing for two years and I found it pleasantly challenging, my partner who plays to a higher standard enjoyed the layout. We went round twice.Each round was par three but there were some interesting features on each hole. The only constructive criticism would be some bins for used T,s which were just left lying around by messy golfers,
Aaron from United Kingdom
on Mon, 13th Sep 2021
Poor
Very poor for the price you pay. Over 220 euros for a very average par 3 course. Would advise look elsewhere. More like pitch and putt. Very limited options on renting balls. Good gloves are 20 euros felt like a scam
Stuart from United Kingdom
on Mon, 6th Sep 2021
Great tight course
Lovely tight little course.

All par 3 holes but don't let that fool you , the tree placement makes for some great challenges.

Steven from United Kingdom
on Sun, 29th Aug 2021
Short and sweet course
A pleasant 9 holer all golfers
Barragao from France
on Mon, 26th Jul 2021
Good hospitality.nice pitch and putt
Barragao from France
on Fri, 23rd Jul 2021
Balaia
Nice pitch and putt
Thomas Manth from Germany
on Thu, 6th May 2021
Ok course
Nigel from United States
on Fri, 6th Nov 2020
Three old gits on a golfing week in the Algarve
Really enjoyable and challenging par 3 course.

The course was in lovely condition though one member of the party was disappointed when his rubbish shot on the seventeenth hit the microscopically small bamboo forest!

Seriously ..... loved it!

Jan from Netherlands
on Fri, 23rd Oct 2020
Challenging test for your short game
Balaia, former home of club med, is a 9 hole par three golfcourse.

I think it is a very challenging test for your short game and aproaches.

The nice clubhouse with friendly staff makes it a real golfing experience.

Hanging around playing par 3 's the whole day for 35 eur, surely improves your game

Patrick from Portugal
on Mon, 19th Oct 2020
Parcours idéal pour réaliser des approches avec le SW et lutter ( 9 trous par 3 ) qui ne sont pas toujours faciles.

Très bonne journée.

Patrick from Portugal
on Fri, 9th Oct 2020
Beau parcours pour les petits coups, quelques passages délicats, le trou 2 et le 7.
Olivier Richard from France
on Thu, 1st Oct 2020
Beautiful small course
Very nice small pitch and put

The gardens are splendid

Michael Cunningham from United Kingdom
on Mon, 23rd Mar 2020
Balaia golf
A great little 9 hole course, very friendly staff and a well looked after short par 3 course, really enjoyed.I played 3 times including the Tuesday competition.
Susan from Portugal
on Mon, 16th Mar 2020
Balaia golf
Great short game course. Expensive golf balls. 10€ for pkg three balls.
Franz from Switzerland
on Thu, 12th Mar 2020
Very short and hilly 9 hole course.
Very short and hilly 9 holes.
Graham from Portugal
on Wed, 1st Jan 2020
Pricey for what it is
Very short par 3 9 hole course, nicely maintained and a good workout for your short game but at £45 for 18 holes with hire clubs and 3 balls costing £10 not exactly value for money.
Jack from United Kingdom
on Thu, 12th Dec 2019
The course is amazing! A real test of mid iron, short iron, wedges, chipping, putting. Play here enough and your skill can only improve.

The greens matched the quality of the more famous courses in the Algarve where you pay 70 euros or more (maybe better). Manicured fairways and bunkers that would not be out of place on any local championship course. This place is looked after and who ever is in charge, knows what there doing. A real pleasure to play.

My only negative is there is no 9 hole pricing option and 18 holes at around 30 euros may put some people off for a par 3 course, when 18 holes twilight is available at full length courses for a similar price. I do feel however the quality of the course you are getting pretty much matches the asking price.

Here is a summary of the holes, distances from the back tees but second tee option available.

The 1st hole eases you in, around 70 yards down hill. Good chance of a 3 if you find the putting surface.

2nd hole was playing 170 yards with the miss being left, trees on the right. I didnt think there would be any holes this long! Mid or long iron or even a wood. A 3 here and you've done amazingily well.

The 3rd hole is around 70 yards up hill, hows your wedge distance control?

Cross the road onto a seperate bit of land for the next 2 holes. The 4th was playing 180 yards into wind! This is no pitch and putt. OB left and bunker greenside right. Hardest hole on course along side the 2nd.

The 5th takes you back running along side the 4th, around 110 yards. OB left, the miss is right. Play to the left of the green and the ball feeds down into the centre of the green.

Back over the road and a good chance of par on the 6th. A wedge down hill but there is trouble long.

7 was playing 155 and you can only just see the top of the flag, great looking hole. The miss is left, lots of room. Anything right of the green will kick further right and feed into a hazard and likely be lost.

The 8th is slightly up hill playing 140 yards. There is a large tree/shrub feature short right of the green, likely lost ball or unplayable. The miss is long and left.

The closing hole is around 100 yards down hill to a mackenzie green, pin position was at the back of green on top tier. OB long.

Ramon from Spain
on Sun, 1st Dec 2019
Little golf course but technical and difficult.
We enjoy a lot in this little golf course all my family together.
Jukka Ahtinen from Finland
on Sun, 24th Nov 2019
Variable par 3 golf course. A great place to practice melee. Friendly service. Thank you..!
Jason from Portugal
on Fri, 8th Nov 2019
Exactly what i was looking for
One of the boys got a hole in one, was amazing.
Simon from Ireland
on Mon, 14th Oct 2019
Way to expensive
Not a bad little par 3 course but way to expensive. €35 for a box of pinnacle golf balls on top of €45 for a round with clubs that are way below average.
Robert Vanglo from Norway
on Sun, 4th Aug 2019
Perfect for testing your short irons
Perfect course for a nice round of golf. Some of the holes are demanding and gave us a challenge. As it should ;-)
Ronnie Carswell from United Kingdom
on Fri, 2nd Aug 2019
Nice wee course, ideal for family/holiday golf
David Burke from United Kingdom
on Sun, 21st Jul 2019
Great for beginners
Terrific course. Very challenging. Great fun
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Fri, 19th Jul 2019
Must try this course
Very nice course. First two holes challenging, but a must for any wanna be golfer.
Andy from United Kingdom
on Fri, 7th Jun 2019
Lovely little course. A true challenge to any golfer. Great staff too
David from Ireland
on Fri, 31st May 2019
3 star rating because the facilities do not reflect the price. Enjoyed it all the same.
Thomas from Germany
on Mon, 6th May 2019
A big surprise as I was not aware having booked par 3 course. Anyhow we enjoyed playing it the whole day with break on beautiful terrace. Holes are nice build into landscape with some tricky approaches which need very accurate playing.
Raymond Peattie from United Kingdom
on Mon, 6th May 2019
Good but not grest
A tricky little course that is tricky for even the more experienced golfers in our group.

The course itself was ok but what you'd expect for the price.

The staff were excellent and very friendly.

The biggest down fall was the large groups that were being permitted to play. We had one group of x11 golfers golfing before us on one day despite us being told there should be a maximum of x4 golfers per group. However, the staff gave us a later tee off time with no hassle.

Good all round course if you want a relaxed fun tone with a bunch of mates but would not be suitable for the more serious golfer.

Would I return here? Yes I would and most likely will.

Bart from Belgium
on Tue, 23rd Apr 2019
Casual and a surprising 2 and 7 !
Very casual 9 holes course with a few nice holes, but all in all very small and compact. Nicely done though and the personnel at both the reception and the bar were very very friendly
Hanne Reinholt from Denmark
on Thu, 18th Apr 2019
Nice par 3 course
Choserot from Portugal
on Fri, 12th Apr 2019
Cadre sympathique, bon accueil.

Golf intéressant technique ou le par n’est pas donné

Bon greens mais bunker pas top.

Bon parcours d’entrainement

Jon from Portugal
on Thu, 4th Apr 2019
Nice but small
Handy little par 3 course, well maintained but too crowded for the game to flow. A lot of ‘pitch and putter’ types with very little respect for slow play. One three ball took almost 6 hours to play 18 holes which affected everyone else behind. Some great holes, some too short and if you’re used to playing regularly there might not be a club in your bag that you can swing at some of the shorter holes!
sean from United Kingdom
on Tue, 26th Feb 2019
nice par 3
nice par 3 course not overly challenging so will suit most golfers. very friendly, welcoming people in pro shop/bar. I had a very nice relaxed enjoyable time there.
Dawn from Portugal
on Fri, 4th Jan 2019
Blast!
Great time!!
Fernando from France
on Mon, 24th Sep 2018
Nice course
Pleasant pitch and putt.
Bert from Portugal
on Thu, 13th Sep 2018
Very nice course....playing 18 holes without any wood
Derek from United Kingdom
on Thu, 13th Sep 2018
Good second half
Had a very enjoyable round at Balaia. Teamed up with 3 Swedish guys at the second hole and thoroughly enjoyed my day. The course was in good condition and looked lovely. Some challenging holes where par was unlikely but I had one birdie and a number of pars. There was also a few fives! Would recommend for any reasonable golfer.
Alvaro from Spain
on Wed, 8th Aug 2018
Nice 3 par gomf course
Nice golf coirse for beguiners and very technic...
Peter from France
on Thu, 26th Jul 2018
Nice par 3 course
Played 9 holes, it provided us with what we wanted, a fun and competitive couple of hours away from the beach. Very nice clubhouse with snacks and drinks. Very friendly staff
Paul Bebbington
Hi Peter how much for 9 holes and hire golf clubs thanks Paul
Johnny Lauridsen from Portugal
on Tue, 17th Jul 2018
Only Reason for NOT 5 Stars is only 9 holes and only sport holes
Alan Frater from United Kingdom
on Wed, 30th May 2018
Novices playing golf
Exactly what we needed! We enjoyed the course.
Andrew Knowles from Portugal
on Fri, 25th May 2018
Good mornings golf followed by a few beers great little course
Andrew Knowles from Portugal
on Fri, 25th May 2018
Balaia golf
Good little course slightly on the short side but greens fantastic
William from Portugal
on Tue, 22nd May 2018
Great par 3 course. Good condition. Very useful for improving short game.
Angus Macneil from Portugal
on Sun, 20th May 2018
Very interesting par three course, not as easy as one would think....greens were slow in morning after wetting but sure quickened up a couple hours later, most enjoyable 18 holes good Spanish beer at the bar also. Angus
jeff from United Kingdom
on Mon, 23rd Apr 2018
Golf at balaia
Really good course, lovely walk couldn't ask for any better

Many thanks

Christine Ohara from Portugal
on Thu, 5th Apr 2018
We played Balaia course, 27 holes. Arranged THRU Algarve golf, very helpful. Greens are fast, a little confusing to know which hole to shoot at, as holes cross over each other. Had a great lunch after, recommend the club SANDWICH! Club rentals were good quality. Range in good shape, good practise green.
Susan Reddihough from Portugal
on Thu, 1st Feb 2018
Great course Balaia
Great course not so easy small hills and lots of wild life and trees very gud course but not for long hitters Who are often prepar ed to pay 5 x y that is he cost of smart 18/hole courses to hit further on parkland courses with a buggy pay 5 x
Sanchez from France
on Fri, 27th Oct 2017
Henri-Pierre from France
Good service by algarve.net.

No surprise. Good prestations with correct set clubs. Correctly par 3 course with nice greens.

We come back.

Eric Tocabens from France
on Sat, 21st Oct 2017
Bien
Les 9 premiers trous sont bien. Les 9 derniers sont plus courts, malgres tout cela reste un bon parcours
Roland from Austria
on Sun, 8th Oct 2017
Was fun
Nice tiny course. Necessary to play exactly.
Jim from Portugal
on Wed, 4th Oct 2017
Nice course
We booked for two people to play luckily joined up with a very friendly member who shows us around the layout. Although short and only a par 3 it is tricky.

Staff friendly.

Top tip is to make sure you remember your glove and some balls as 70 Euros for 2 gloves and 12 balls seems a bit steep to me.

Martin from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Sep 2017
Great par 3 course
Great little challenging course

Which has a little of e everthing

Trees water bunkers hazards the lot

Good outing practice greens and a driving range

Just wish they watched out for those who don't or can't play golf because their etiquette bunkers not being raked, pitch marks not getting repaired, turf being lifted and not being replaced. But don't be put off as this is a little gem for those wanting to learns and those who don't play often

Jason from United Kingdom
on Mon, 4th Sep 2017
Perfect
Great little course ! Perfect greens , perfect fairways , some challeging holes and easy holes , all made way for a great mornings golf

Club house and staff where second to none ! Loved it

Craig from United Kingdom
on Thu, 24th Aug 2017
Morning 18 holes
Fantastic little course very challenging holes and nice clubhouse.Service from staff was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our morning there.The clubs we hired were good quality Wilson Pro staff so no issues there!
Michael from United Kingdom
on Wed, 16th Aug 2017
Super little course ,only thing I could remark on ,is take your own balls .the shop charge for balls is a bit steep.course well maintained.staff friendly
James from Austria
on Sat, 22nd Jul 2017
Clean up the lake
Rather tight nine hole course, all Pär 3, moderate ground conditions, could be better. Filthy lake, overcome by algae. Limited choice of food in clubhouse.
Lynn from United Kingdom
on Mon, 3rd Jul 2017
Fun in Portugal
Great little course. Some holes requiremail a bit of skill. Driving range and putting greens are available . Staff were very helpful.
Theo from Netherlands
on Sat, 1st Jul 2017
Nice cource
A nice cource for the short play
Craig from United Kingdom
on Tue, 6th Jun 2017
Nice par 3 course
Nice enough course, greens were in good condition. Ideal for a beginner or high handicap. Staff were all friendly,
Peter from Portugal
on Tue, 30th May 2017
Great little place
It really is a little treasure this place! Maria and her team do a great job. One or two of the holes are distinct challenges!! Greens are kept in admirable condition.
Dan from Portugal
on Thu, 18th May 2017
Pleasant surprise
Challenging par 3 course, greens in good shape. Good test for irons and short game. Quirky layout transitioning from some holes but enjoyed it and would play again. Also, played 18 holes in 3 hours.
Alastair from United Kingdom
on Wed, 10th May 2017
Great course
Really nice course, very helpful staff in clubhouse, all in all a really good day out. I would recommend a round here as an essential part of everyone's golf trip.
Peter from Portugal
on Fri, 14th Apr 2017
Balaia Algarve
A testing 9 hole 3 par. Course was not busy (April) and was well maintained on the whole. Some tricky holes - plenty of challenges, water hazards and narrow fairways so you need to be able to hit fairly straight regardless of ability. Greens were quite tight and fast. Not too much sand thank goodness. The staff were very helpful and a credit to the course, but the hire clubs were generally of average quality. We enjoyed it nevertheless and would play again.
Gitte from Portugal
on Wed, 12th Apr 2017
Good value
Even though it is only a par 3 course, the challenges are there.
Stephen from United Kingdom
on Wed, 22nd Mar 2017
Balaia
This was the second time I have played here. As the first of 3 courses we played on this visit it was a great opportunity to practice in advance of playing the bigger more challenging courses we had booked. Interesting and quite tricky in places the course was quiet and well maintained.
Tim from Portugal
on Sat, 11th Mar 2017
Lovely and challenging!
As beginners, my wife and I have found Balaia great for developing our games. It may be a par 3 course, but there a plenty of real challenges. It is also a beautiful setting with a lovely clubhouse staffed by friendly and helpful people.
Benjamin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 22nd Feb 2017
Great course to work on your short game.
Well presented par 3 course. Staff were extremely friendly as well as other golfers on the course. I played rounds on my own and was invited to join other people's rounds who were fantastic and made fOr and even more pleasant experience.
Martin
on Wed, 22nd Feb 2017
Lovely wee course
First time having played this course although only a 9 holer it was a surprising challenge. We enjoyed it so much we played a second 18 two days later. Well laid out and maintained will certainly recommend this course and will be back to play it again.
Billy from Portugal
on Thu, 9th Feb 2017
Good course for practising your irons,will go back again.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Balaia page's or to connect with other Balaia golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.