Loading
to

San Lorenzo Reviews

Didier from Belgium
on Thu, 13th Jun 2024
Course Quality & Employe bad behaviour
Super golf course, but very poor behaviour of people on the course. We were facing a employee for 2 holes watering the green. He did not want to stop doing it when we were playing, was agressive towards us and when we asked him to stop talking, he refused and started to insult us in Portugues while his colleague was asking him to stop and behave well.
Josee Bertrand from United States
on Sat, 18th May 2024
It's like they've given up
The staff was lovely and friendly but the course should be priced half of what it is for the condition it's in and the amenities it lacks. I appreciate that their clubhouse burned down, but it's not just that. The back nine fairways are dry and not in great shape. The greens are okay but slow. For the price maybe take a pass.
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Sat, 27th Apr 2024
Disappointing San Lorenzo
Greens great , paths are mostly in disrepair

Course very tired, no clubhouse due to fire 🔥 in March , shame as great layout but seen better days. Not worth the money paid !!

Matt from United Kingdom
on Sun, 21st Apr 2024
Fat Pete
Fantastic course - tight fairways and landing zones but rating reflects the disappointing sand in the bunkers - not pure sand but littered with stones
Joaquin from Spain
on Mon, 25th Mar 2024
Classic and always a magnificent golf course
The location of the course, its design and great difficulty make it exciting to play.

The disadvantage that the clubhouse is not available, it takes away some of its services to the player. The buggy paths are not very well maintained. And the buggies have very old technology.

Philip from Portugal
on Sat, 23rd Mar 2024
Disappointing
Great course design but has left to deteriorate by the current owners. No clubhouse due to fire. Although iconic (especially the front 9), it really was not worth the green fee. The tee boxes are in very poor condition, and the cart paths are pretty much not fit for purpose.
Peter from Germany
on Wed, 6th Mar 2024
Some Spectacular holes
Interesting Design, some spectacular holes on the front nines.

Cart path often a mess… no clubhouse is inconvenient.

Staff is very friendly, oncourse catering is ok

David from United Kingdom
on Thu, 29th Feb 2024
Again another great course in top condition ,the club gave us a lunch bag in compensation to having no clubhouse due to a fire ,very nice day .
Jim from Portugal
on Sun, 26th Nov 2023
Most enjoyable
Paul from Ireland
on Wed, 8th Nov 2023
Nice course but beware of sandflies and very long
No clubhouse. Nice course, but the sandflies would eat you alive. No marshalling on the course, which resulted in a 5 hr 10 min round. Had to wait to hit every shot.
Anthony from United Kingdom
on Fri, 20th Oct 2023
A great location but the course is declining each year. It needs some TLC and investment soon. You have to start questioning if the green fee is actually worth it. Yes there are some great signature holes but the rest need work.

Not their fault but as there is no club house due to the fire surely this should also be taken into consideration in the green fees.

Paul from United Kingdom
on Wed, 18th Oct 2023
Stunning course but needs a little TLC
I was tempted to mark the course down to a 3 but it is still undoubtedly located in a wonderfully unique location, skirting the Ria Formosa, so it’s a 4 presently (for me).

The course just needs a little TLC and it’s not too late, providing the owners invest quickly, to raise the standards a little to protect its heritage and reputation. I played the course 15-20 years ago when it was one of the best courses in Europe.

Guilherme from Brazil
on Sun, 15th Oct 2023
Dont Go!
Very Very bad.
James from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Oct 2023
Very disappointing - going downhill rapidly
Difficult to know where to start…..have played this course several times over the last 15 years. In June the aged clubhouse burnt down and therefore off course facilities are non existent. Check in is a portakabin in the car park which also contained a fridge for drinks. There previous supply of buggies were destroyed in the fire but the replacement are clearly very old and have been begged & borrowed from anywhere and everywhere. The biggest disappointment of all however is the way the condition of this course has been allowed to decline year on year to the point now where despite the excellent location and course layout, I will never return or recommend anyone to play until serious investment to turn things around.

The buggiy paths are dangerous - very uneven due to tree roots and numerous areas where the paving blocks are missing. A bridge over a road which was destroyed by fire 2 years ago has not been replaced. Bunkers unkept & poor quality of grasses on the fairways making taking your club away on the backswing very difficult.

Finally, the greens are just awful - see attached picture.

All the above is even more surprising given that the course is surrounded but some of the most expensive properties in the Algarve.

Darren from United Kingdom
on Sat, 7th Oct 2023
Stunning course with breathtaking views
Superb golf course with some absolutely breathtaking views, only downside a conspicuous lack of infrastructure spending leaving the pathways very rough bridge not in use & the obvious lack of a club house at the moment with the place being run out of a portacabin after the fire at the start of the year.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Wed, 27th Sep 2023
Stunning
Stunning holes! A real test!
Lee from United States
on Tue, 26th Sep 2023
Great course just fine details need correcting and would be exceptional
Alistair Riddoch from United Kingdom
on Sat, 23rd Sep 2023
Definately Not Worth Current Green Fees
Firstly lets put things straight, I am not in the habit of leaving negative reviews, I try to make them as constructive as possible, but I also believe honesty is equally important for other customers. San Lorenzo golf club had a fire recently and the clubhouse is burned to the ground, there is a temporary shop in the car park. Be aware of this before booking there is no changing facilities and no clubhouse facilities and restricted buggy bar facilities on course. We paid over €140 euro to play this course similar pricing to Quinta do Lago North, South and Laranjal courses also in the area. I was led to believe San Lorenzo was a top end course. Well on arrival on the course, tee banks and many fairways showed signs of dead grass and a total lack of maintenance. The standard of sand in the bunkers are a total disgrace. Many of the greens seemed to have some kind of disease and were very patchy. The mono blocked paths around the course for the buggies are also a disgrace and dangerous, many have tree roots underneath pushing up mono blocks everywhere causing uneven surfaces and likleyhood of damaging buggy suspension even at low speed. They say this course used to be one of the top in Europe. I am telling you now, DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY TO PLAY THIS COURSE. It is overpriced because of the 'location' mainly Quinta do Lago. Pay and extra 20 or 30 euro and play 3 quality courses next door as in Quinta do Lago North South or Laranjal which are all night and day compared to San Lorenzo. Even the Vale do Lobo Royal and Ocean courses are much cheaper and 100 times better than San Lorenzo. The course is crying out for some serious course maintenance, and a lack of TLC is evident all around the course. Simply not worth the money. Be aware.
David from Portugal
on Thu, 3rd Aug 2023
People lovely, overpriced compared to the other local courses.

Very tatty around the edges of the course ( bunkers / buggy paths )

To still charge full price given this and no clubhouse albeit not anybody’s fault is a touch unreasonable.

Marcus from United Kingdom
on Fri, 30th Jun 2023
San Lorenzo
Lovely course but sadly clubhouse had burnt down a few weeks before we got there so there were no facilities. Course was in good condition and some great coastal holes.
Patrick Coy from United States
on Sat, 17th Jun 2023
Clubhouse
Be aware. The Clubhouse has burnt to the ground. Buggies limited. Even if you've booked one it's a lottery as to whether you'll get. NO water on tge course our available to purchase
Juan Delgado from Spain
on Fri, 2nd Jun 2023
Gran campo, Greenfee desproporcionado
Gran diseño y paisajismo en los hoyos cerca del mar y la laguna alrededor del 8, 17 y 18. Greenes nobles y tupidos y calles mulllidas, aunque con mucha mezcla de hierba. Greenfee demasiado caro. No puedes cobrar más de 140€ y que los bunkers estén todos llenos de piedra y las banderas sucias.
Chris from United Kingdom
on Sat, 27th May 2023
Course great, buggy paths need some attention.
JACALYN from United States
on Sun, 30th Apr 2023
Breathtaking.
Course is breathtaking and perhaps the best sandwich at the turn I have ever eaten. Play this course. Don’t miss the snack at the turn.
Rhys from United Kingdom
on Fri, 21st Apr 2023
San Lorenzo - Good but could be so much better
Lovely golf course and the setting, landscape and properties are breathtaking.

My main gripe is yardage markers. Hard to see, some missing and most dont feel accurate. Paths are very scruffy and clubhouse food selection is dreadful given the wealth in the area and cost to play

Jeroen Mustert from Netherlands
on Fri, 21st Apr 2023
Nice course
Nice course. Club house facilities need a patch up.
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Tue, 18th Apr 2023
Some very attractive holes .... but
We wanted so hard to love the course, but the lack of maintenance made it difficult. The greens were in good shape, as were some of the fairways. But the course needs serious TLC to regain the top status amongst Algarve courses. Driving the buggy on many of the 'charming' paths was bumpy indeed.
Roy from United Kingdom
on Tue, 11th Apr 2023
Classy
Old school class. Mature scenic course. Sea views, lakes, wildlife. Not quite as well kept as Quinta North and South.
Olivier Richard from France
on Thu, 19th Jan 2023
Much too expensive for what it offers
Gerlinde from Austria
on Mon, 26th Dec 2022
Extraordinary course
Wonderful course, some holes directly at the sea, some at the laguna with thousands of birds!
Bernd from Germany
on Tue, 18th Oct 2022
San Lorenzo not good anymore
Hallo. San Lorenzo is still a beautiful course. But: the carts dirty, no water or ice on nord. For that money not ok!! The Cartways horrible bad!! Driving not possible. Bernd
Yvonne from United Kingdom
on Tue, 18th Oct 2022
San Lorenzo - not as good as it once was
Terrific layout and some really fabulous holes BUT it’s tired looking and not in the condition it once was. Some quite scruffy areas around edges of course and fairways. Greens ok but needing a good roll thoughwhen people don’t repair pitch marks it doesn’t help!
Marco Northland from Portugal
on Wed, 12th Oct 2022
not worth it for now
Gorgeous setting with incredible potential but the course is in poor shape, the staff is unhelpful with bad attitude. Do not rent clubs with this pro shop. We rented four sets and the bags were old, falling apart, and the clubs had mismatched set of clubs.
Paul from Ireland
on Wed, 12th Oct 2022
San Lorenzo
Would always have given San Lorenzo 4 or 5 stars. But not today. Greens in poor condition. Very light marshalling.
Tony Higgins from Ireland
on Wed, 12th Oct 2022
Tony Higgins.
Great golf course in a beautiful setting. Greens a bit ropey today- not a great roll. Not enough sand in the bunkers - hard not to fly the bunker shot across the green.
Derek from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Sep 2022
Not worth Playing
Terrible condition, fairways all ripped up, greens under maintenance, tired clubhouse, tired facilities, staff who couldn't give a toss quite simply not worth the money, much better courses out there. When mentioned about the condition admitted it was under full maintenance but gave nothing back !!! Will never play here again !!
Philip from United Kingdom
on Tue, 20th Sep 2022
San Lorenzo has a truly fantastic layout, but it was in pretty poor condition in September. the greens were slow and bobbly, and the holes hadn't been recut for days. The course was generally very scruffy, which was disappointing considering the green fees charged.
Peter from Portugal
on Fri, 9th Sep 2022
Great views, good challenge
Great views, course was overall in good condition. Tight fairways and a great challenge for a range of golfers
Jeff from Portugal
on Fri, 2nd Sep 2022
Needs work to bring it up to standard
The majority of cart paths are utterly destroyed, with parts of the course and clubhouse looking and feeling old and outdated.

Greens over watered, green staff need to get out earlier, I was coming in at 10am and waiting on fresh holes being cut and greens/fairways cut.

Steve from United States
on Tue, 30th Aug 2022
Nice course and great layout. €50 for buggy is a bit too much.
Iain
on Sun, 21st Aug 2022
Favourite Algarve Course
One of my favourite courses with variety of holes and plenty of elevation changes. Also spectacular views and many challenging approaches
Peter
on Sat, 20th Aug 2022
San Lorenzo
Played San Lorenzo, a course which we have always enjoyed. Exceptional design with some very challenging golf holes. We were very disappointed with the condition of the course. Clearly requires urgent investment to bring it back to its greatness.
Ayaz Khan from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Jul 2022
Quite water logged some fairways , but essentially was a good course - demanding with careful play required
Gary from United States
on Sat, 2nd Jul 2022
Too much money. Disappointing
Tired in places.

Course is nice but shabby in places.

Greens were v good though.

Certainly NOT worth the €120 pp to play plus €50 per buggy.

Other courses v nearby show it up and show how good it can be done.

Need to spend a lot on it or drop rates.

Shame as could be amazing.

Adam from United Kingdom
on Sun, 12th Jun 2022
Overpriced but good
Overpriced but still good
Mark Mcgregor from United Kingdom
on Sun, 29th May 2022
Don’t waste your money.
Struggling to find anything positive to write about this course, even more so given the cost. They should charge 50 euros tops including the buggy. Exceptionally poor condition from tee to green, I think the only maintenance they do is cut the greens, if I wrote about all the bad points this would be an even longer essay than it is. Staying near by overlooking 17 and they can’t even bothered to move the pins.

They should close this and overhaul it from start to finish including the clubhouse. Maybe even some new staff, grumpy old woman in the clubhouse was outright rude.

Paul Kenny from Ireland
on Thu, 26th May 2022
San Lorenzo May 2022
Beautiful course layout, a bit let down by course maintenance, considering this course was only €18 less than Victoria or the Old Course it was a considerably less manicured course, staff were extremely helpful and only disappointment was there was no breakfast available before our tee time due to our start being 08:28. In Ireland breakfast would start circa 07:30 so we were a little surprised to say the least, apart from that this course is definitely a challenge and worth a play at least once in your travels to the Algarve for golf, condition would need to improve to warrant a return
Neil from United Kingdom
on Thu, 12th May 2022
NP
Fantastic layout with some really great holes . The course presentation isn’t as good as the other courses in Quinta but greens still excellent
James from Ireland
on Tue, 10th May 2022
buggy shortage
Hi,

We played San Lorenzo on Saturday. Our tee time was 2.28. There were no buggies available that time and we had to wait nearly 30 minutes for them. This resulted in we having to finish our round early( at 15th). We enjoyed our golf and your beautiful course but feel you need to have more buggies available.Looking forward to returning next year

Roger from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Apr 2022
The course visually is almost perfect. However we should have been advised that the greens had been sanded and swept. Some of the fairways were below average so we ended up playing winter rules. Apart from that always been a treat to play.
Jan from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Apr 2022
Beautiful but in a bad shape
Could be an extremely beautiful course, but fairways are in a very bad shape, bunkers are like concrete, tees are uneven and stony, driving range is a shame.

What a pity that such a course is in that shape.

Bernd from Germany
on Fri, 11th Mar 2022
San Lorenzo - a challenging and changeable pearl
Great course where you have to think from the first Teeshot, what to do and which club to use. Huge bunkers defending the greens and specially the 8, the narrow 12, the 17 and 18 are really challenging. Large but difficult Greens, where hitting the ball to the right quarter is essential for any real birdie chance. Nice landscape accompanies the course. Only fly in the champagne may be inhomogeneous looking, but turfy fairways and the bit high greenfee.
Karl from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Mar 2022
Really disappointed at the state of the course and clubhouse. Needs a major overhaul
Tony from Portugal
on Wed, 26th Jan 2022
Excellent and challenging course
Fantastic course with great variety and some very challenging holes. 17 and 18 are tight with the water on the left. Very nice and attentive staff on hand.
Mattia from Portugal
on Sat, 1st Jan 2022
Great course, great views, and everyone is friendly and soo kind.

I’ve really appreciated them and the course.

The only improvement could be the fairways not top.

Alexandre from France
on Thu, 25th Nov 2021
Interesting course with beautiful views. But it's expansive compared to other courses at the same price.
Viviane from Belgium
on Fri, 5th Nov 2021
No buggy on feet and after is 2 players with buggy đź‘Žđź‘Žđź‘Ž
Candice from Portugal
on Wed, 3rd Nov 2021
Magnifique
Très beau golf dans un environnement magnifique. Un parcours exigeant et intéressant. Une superbe promenade. Le seul défaut ce sont les greens qui étaient trop mous et gras, manque de roule.

Nous avons aimé le clubhouse à l’ancienne dans une ambiance très « anglaise ».

Candice
To discover the golfcourse : https://youtu.be/VyoPtFkCkbQ
Michael from United Kingdom
on Mon, 18th Oct 2021
Still wonderfull if past its best
The areas around the lagoons remain among the very best of golf experiences in the Algarve worth 5 stars. Sadly the overall quality of the course has clearly declined to nearer 3 stars since last played about 5 years ago. There are many competitors at the same price in much better condition if course maintenance is your priority but if you like a watery challenge and stunning location, this will tick your box.
Sonia from Switzerland
on Sat, 18th Sep 2021
Traumhafte Kulisse
Einfach ein super toller Platz, der unbedingt gespielt werden muss. Sehr abwechslungsreiche Löcher.
Scott from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th Sep 2021
Had high hopes of this being a great day considering the cost to play the course. However, the hospitality in the pro shop was limited at best - attitude of the staff was very unfriendly, however the staff in the bar after the round were very good. Lack of buggies on arrival having booked one and then told there wasn’t one also didn’t help, course was in good condition.
Mark from United Kingdom
on Thu, 2nd Sep 2021
Disappointing
Have played and loved San Lorenzo for years. However a bit of a disappointment this time around, both in terms of the course and the management attitude. The greens were hollow tined last week, I understand this has to be done - but no mention was made to us about this when booking. After our round, when I asked if we could play another 18 holes at a reduced cost due to the greens, - the guy in the shop went and consulted the director of golf, and I was quoted more than the initial booking cost. And the course was empty. I didn't want a freebie, and would have happily paid a certain amount, but they refused to budge and do anything for me. You have to question some of the decisions these courses make - make money yes as a business, but to not try and show any leeway at all for golfers who have travelled a long way to play a course, whose greens are not as they should be, is just poor. I wont be returning
Stefan from Germany
on Fri, 27th Aug 2021
Beauty with some issues
Maybe the most beautiful course on the Algarve. The issue is the condition for years. Not bad, but not as good as the design. They build a pedestrian bridge on the holes around the holes 5 and 6. It is visually a disaster. 50 Euros for a buggy without screen of the course is way to much
Iain
on Thu, 12th Aug 2021
Memorable Game at San Lorenzo,
Course condition superb and layout memorable and challenging. I will return to play again next year.
Nicholas from United States
on Mon, 2nd Aug 2021
San Lorenzo
Lovely course in every way other than the greens are rather slow and could be in better condition.
Jean Manuel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Aug 2021
Joli parcours, plutĂ´t cher.
Très beau parcours qui côtoie des habitations mais également des zones très Nature (beaucoup d’oiseaux marins et des marais).

Pas moyen d’avoir un départ en fin d’après-midi ni le matin. Nombreux buggys défaillants.

Prix soutenus (pas happy hour).

Tony Higgins from Ireland
on Fri, 25th Jun 2021
Fabulous course in a unique and magnificent setting and very fair to the average golfer. Have played countless times and will continue to do so.
Pamela Grant from Switzerland
on Fri, 25th Jun 2021
Scenic and well maintained course.
Lovely course, well maintained and scenic views from many fairways. Requires good variety of shots to stay on fairways. Staff friendly and helpful. Would get 5 stars if it had a second ladies depart as from red not very challenging for longer hitters and better handicap ladies.
Javier from Spain
on Sun, 6th Jun 2021
A MUST PLAY IN THE AREA
Beautiful and challenging course. Worth playing mor than once
Paul from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd Jun 2021
Bring your rake
Course well kept clubhouse and changing rooms tatty

No rakes in bunkers none provided to take out if you haven’t brought your own - presents a problem. Nice course stunning property surrounding the course I took a pull trolley some pretty steep inclines

Stephen from United Kingdom
on Mon, 31st May 2021
Thought the course was excellent. Great layout and some lovely holes.
Birgit from Germany
on Sun, 30th May 2021
The layout is great but the condition was not the best when we played. Fairsways were fair and bunkers very poor with little sand and not well maintained.
Jan from Netherlands
on Sat, 29th May 2021
Nice
Darren from United Kingdom
on Wed, 26th May 2021
Golf
Course in great condition pleasure to play clubhouse and pro needs investment looking tired. Intended on grabbing some lunch afterwards but left and went elsewhere.
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Sat, 15th May 2021
Scenic holes
The course deserves a 4 star rating due to a few of the very scenic holes which add to the hobby golfer's experience. The fairway conditions are considerably better than 2-3 years ago when the course had suffered from overplay and seemingly lower maintenance. There are a few pretty challenging holes but not enough to make frustrating.
Pieter from Belgium
on Sat, 15th May 2021
Course with a view đź‘Ś
Awesome golfcourse. Friendly staff.

Most spectacular setting around the formosa nature reserve. Loved it

Pieter from Belgium
on Fri, 14th May 2021
Favourite course in the algarve
Favourite course in the Algarve. Most spectacular setting, friendly and helpful staff.
Thomas Manth from Germany
on Thu, 6th May 2021
Wonderful
Excellent conditions, very friendly and professional staff
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Thu, 29th Apr 2021
Really a 3.5 - 'most improved'
This course has benefitted from the corona 'rest', recovering from the really overplayed condition of 2019. The staff were friendly compared to earlier years as well. The greens were in good condition and fairly easy to read. It's back on our 'to play regularly' list.
Pascal from France
on Sat, 17th Oct 2020
Lovely and scenic course
It’s a very scenic course. Only set back is the 3 holes next to the water where runners, walkers and dogs walk on the fairways and around the green with no concern And no one is there to explain to them how dangerous a golf ball could be if hit very strongly!!
John Moore from Portugal
on Mon, 10th Aug 2020
Nostalgic, with lovely views
You play this course for the views from 6&7...and 18 is an interesting hole. Otherwise you need to overlook the condition of the tees and many plug marks unrepaired on the greens. It’s a nostalgic experience but not top quality.
James from United Kingdom
on Sun, 9th Aug 2020
Club house old and tired, golf carts over priced, not very friendly and not value for money. The greens are bare in places and at 90 euros a round and 50 euros for a buggy go and play vale do lobo Royal, much nicer and better value at 91 euros with a buggy. Very disappointed.
Robert from United Kingdom
on Fri, 10th Jul 2020
Greens good, tees and fairways a bit untidy but it is still a spectacular course.
David from United Kingdom
on Sat, 4th Jul 2020
25 yrs return
Great course in great condition. Last played 25 yrs ago and so it’s not as neat as I remember but a very nice course.
john from Portugal
on Fri, 19th Jun 2020
Start Earlier Guys
The staff were standing on some of the greens when we were playing waiting to put a new hole in.

Why can’t they do that earlier.

Jochen from Germany
on Fri, 6th Mar 2020
Excellent
John
on Fri, 8th Nov 2019
San Lorenzo - must play again
First time to play the course and was not disappointed. Course in excellent condition with some superb water and coastline holes. A very tricky par four to finish.
Mauricio from Norway
on Mon, 28th Oct 2019
This course was without a doubt, the higlight of our vacation! What a fun course to play. A little bit challenging for the high handicaper. But we all had a blast. The greens, tees, bunkers and fairways was really good. The layout of this course was fantastic. And the 9th hole. Wow!! Fun!
richard from Portugal
on Mon, 30th Sep 2019
Lovely course with absolutely stunning views.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on San Lorenzo page's or to connect with other San Lorenzo golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Green Fees & Tee Times
All golf course green fees, deals, and tee times displayed on Algarve Golf are offered at the lowest discounted rates permissible. We look forward to assisting you with your booking in Portugal. ⛳
Algarve Golf uses cookies.