Loading
to

San Lorenzo Reviews

Michael from United Kingdom
on Mon, 18th Oct 2021
Still wonderfull if past its best
The areas around the lagoons remain among the very best of golf experiences in the Algarve worth 5 stars. Sadly the overall quality of the course has clearly declined to nearer 3 stars since last played about 5 years ago. There are many competitors at the same price in much better condition if course maintenance is your priority but if you like a watery challenge and stunning location, this will tick your box.
Sonia from Switzerland
on Sat, 18th Sep 2021
Traumhafte Kulisse
Einfach ein super toller Platz, der unbedingt gespielt werden muss. Sehr abwechslungsreiche Löcher.
Scott from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th Sep 2021
Had high hopes of this being a great day considering the cost to play the course. However, the hospitality in the pro shop was limited at best - attitude of the staff was very unfriendly, however the staff in the bar after the round were very good. Lack of buggies on arrival having booked one and then told there wasn’t one also didn’t help, course was in good condition.
Mark from United Kingdom
on Thu, 2nd Sep 2021
Disappointing
Have played and loved San Lorenzo for years. However a bit of a disappointment this time around, both in terms of the course and the management attitude. The greens were hollow tined last week, I understand this has to be done - but no mention was made to us about this when booking. After our round, when I asked if we could play another 18 holes at a reduced cost due to the greens, - the guy in the shop went and consulted the director of golf, and I was quoted more than the initial booking cost. And the course was empty. I didn't want a freebie, and would have happily paid a certain amount, but they refused to budge and do anything for me. You have to question some of the decisions these courses make - make money yes as a business, but to not try and show any leeway at all for golfers who have travelled a long way to play a course, whose greens are not as they should be, is just poor. I wont be returning
Stefan- from Germany
on Fri, 27th Aug 2021
Beauty with some issues
Maybe the most beautiful course on the Algarve. The issue is the condition for years. Not bad, but not as good as the design. They build a pedestrian bridge on the holes around the holes 5 and 6. It is visually a disaster. 50 Euros for a buggy without screen of the course is way to much
Iain
on Thu, 12th Aug 2021
Memorable Game at San Lorenzo,
Course condition superb and layout memorable and challenging. I will return to play again next year.
Nicholas from United States
on Mon, 2nd Aug 2021
San Lorenzo
Lovely course in every way other than the greens are rather slow and could be in better condition.
Jean Manuel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Aug 2021
Joli parcours, plutôt cher.
Très beau parcours qui côtoie des habitations mais également des zones très Nature (beaucoup d’oiseaux marins et des marais).

Pas moyen d’avoir un départ en fin d’après-midi ni le matin. Nombreux buggys défaillants.

Prix soutenus (pas happy hour).

Tony Higgins from Ireland
on Fri, 25th Jun 2021
Fabulous course in a unique and magnificent setting and very fair to the average golfer. Have played countless times and will continue to do so.
Pamela Grant from Switzerland
on Fri, 25th Jun 2021
Scenic and well maintained course.
Lovely course, well maintained and scenic views from many fairways. Requires good variety of shots to stay on fairways. Staff friendly and helpful. Would get 5 stars if it had a second ladies depart as from red not very challenging for longer hitters and better handicap ladies.
Javier from Spain
on Sun, 6th Jun 2021
A MUST PLAY IN THE AREA
Beautiful and challenging course. Worth playing mor than once
Paul from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd Jun 2021
Bring your rake
Course well kept clubhouse and changing rooms tatty

No rakes in bunkers none provided to take out if you haven’t brought your own - presents a problem. Nice course stunning property surrounding the course I took a pull trolley some pretty steep inclines

Stephen from United Kingdom
on Mon, 31st May 2021
Thought the course was excellent. Great layout and some lovely holes.
Birgit from Germany
on Sun, 30th May 2021
The layout is great but the condition was not the best when we played. Fairsways were fair and bunkers very poor with little sand and not well maintained.
Jan from Netherlands
on Sat, 29th May 2021
Nice
Darren from United Kingdom
on Wed, 26th May 2021
Golf
Course in great condition pleasure to play clubhouse and pro needs investment looking tired. Intended on grabbing some lunch afterwards but left and went elsewhere.
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Sat, 15th May 2021
Scenic holes
The course deserves a 4 star rating due to a few of the very scenic holes which add to the hobby golfer's experience. The fairway conditions are considerably better than 2-3 years ago when the course had suffered from overplay and seemingly lower maintenance. There are a few pretty challenging holes but not enough to make frustrating.
Pieter from Portugal
on Sat, 15th May 2021
Course with a view 👌
Awesome golfcourse. Friendly staff.

Most spectacular setting around the formosa nature reserve. Loved it

Pieter from Portugal
on Fri, 14th May 2021
Favourite course in the algarve
Favourite course in the Algarve. Most spectacular setting, friendly and helpful staff.
Thomas Manth from Germany
on Thu, 6th May 2021
Wonderful
Excellent conditions, very friendly and professional staff
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Thu, 29th Apr 2021
Really a 3.5 - 'most improved'
This course has benefitted from the corona 'rest', recovering from the really overplayed condition of 2019. The staff were friendly compared to earlier years as well. The greens were in good condition and fairly easy to read. It's back on our 'to play regularly' list.
Pascal from France
on Sat, 17th Oct 2020
Lovely and scenic course
It’s a very scenic course. Only set back is the 3 holes next to the water where runners, walkers and dogs walk on the fairways and around the green with no concern And no one is there to explain to them how dangerous a golf ball could be if hit very strongly!!
John Moore from Portugal
on Mon, 10th Aug 2020
Nostalgic, with lovely views
You play this course for the views from 6&7...and 18 is an interesting hole. Otherwise you need to overlook the condition of the tees and many plug marks unrepaired on the greens. It’s a nostalgic experience but not top quality.
James from United Kingdom
on Sun, 9th Aug 2020
Club house old and tired, golf carts over priced, not very friendly and not value for money. The greens are bare in places and at 90 euros a round and 50 euros for a buggy go and play vale do lobo Royal, much nicer and better value at 91 euros with a buggy. Very disappointed.
Robert from United Kingdom
on Fri, 10th Jul 2020
Greens good, tees and fairways a bit untidy but it is still a spectacular course.
David from United Kingdom
on Sat, 4th Jul 2020
25 yrs return
Great course in great condition. Last played 25 yrs ago and so it’s not as neat as I remember but a very nice course.
john from Portugal
on Fri, 19th Jun 2020
Start Earlier Guys
The staff were standing on some of the greens when we were playing waiting to put a new hole in.

Why can’t they do that earlier.

Jochen from Germany
on Fri, 6th Mar 2020
Excellent
John
on Fri, 8th Nov 2019
San Lorenzo - must play again
First time to play the course and was not disappointed. Course in excellent condition with some superb water and coastline holes. A very tricky par four to finish.
Mauricio from Norway
on Mon, 28th Oct 2019
This course was without a doubt, the higlight of our vacation! What a fun course to play. A little bit challenging for the high handicaper. But we all had a blast. The greens, tees, bunkers and fairways was really good. The layout of this course was fantastic. And the 9th hole. Wow!! Fun!
richard from Portugal
on Mon, 30th Sep 2019
Lovely course with absolutely stunning views.
gary from United States
on Fri, 20th Sep 2019
san lorenzo review
The worst course in Portugal and also the most expensive.to just say i m dissapointed is an understatement.Millennium and The Old Course were as i expected but i payed 130 euro for San Lorenzo and it was worn tatty and the greens were sanded.I expected to find a manicured course with lightening greens and i found the opposite, It was embarrassing for them and myself but obviously the locals also feel the same as the course was empty. it would have been poor value at half price. golfers beware !! don't go there!!
Michael from United Kingdom
on Thu, 19th Sep 2019
Overpriced and too crowded.
Undoubtedly a great course with some very challenging holes. Our enjoyment was spoilt due to very slow groups ahead of us. Waiting on every tee is no fun. Well over 5 hours for 18 holes!! I’d also comment that the course maintenance could be improved - now quite shabby in places.
Douglas from United Kingdom
on Tue, 23rd Jul 2019
Has to be better
Tired looking course tried for a few years to play this course very disappointing although the greens were rolling nicely
James from United Kingdom
on Fri, 19th Jul 2019
San Lorenzo
Great course....a lot of fun
stella from United Kingdom
on Thu, 20th Jun 2019
Fabulous test of golf in the best setting
Still the most magnificent course in the Algarve and in better condition than recent years though greens a little sandy/slow and set up means that the course does play its full length (no run on fairways, rough m, greens or aprons) making it a true challenge of golf. Not for the beginner/higher handicapper. The setting is second to none and the clubhouse happily retains a little of the Pinehurst, Aldeburgh, St Andrews traditional olde world charm. Love this course and will be back again next year as always.
Dougie from United Kingdom
on Sun, 16th Jun 2019
Great Course but Expensive Extras
Great layout and a very challenging course. Greens and fairways were in very good condition. What spoiled the things for me was the added extras. The course is already one of the most expensive in the Algarve but to charge 50 Euros for a buggy and not even put a bottle of water in it is ridiculous. Also adding a 4 Euro charge for 24 balls on a scruffy practice area just takes the shine off what would have been a most enjoyable experience.
Colin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
The best
Our favourite course on the Algarve.

Every hole is individual and the views are breathtaking.

Wildlife everywhere as you play around the nature reserve.

The course is always in pristine condition

Manuel from Spain
on Tue, 9th Apr 2019
It’s really a worthwhile
A nice course really. Well preserved in a very sprecial place. We could play perfectly even if thhere was some marshall not too profesional.

I would repeat, no doubt

Colin from United Kingdom
on Sun, 3rd Mar 2019
Excellent course with some challenging holes at 6,7 and 8 along with great finishing holes.If you stay at Dona Filipa hotel then great value for money but if not an expensive course at 332€ for 2 people with a buggy
Michael from Portugal
on Fri, 1st Mar 2019
Michael Heron
Greens excellent

Fairways are not up to this standard

Andrea from Italy
on Tue, 30th Oct 2018
Andrea Trapani
neglected mantle, green and tee with little maintenance, not at the height of the nearby fields
Nicolas from United Kingdom
on Mon, 1st Oct 2018
San Lorenzo
The fairways and greens were in excellent condition and the course itself remains a great test of golf. The tees and buggy paths, however, look very tired and require some tlc.

San Lorenzo remains the best course in the area, but one worries for its future if sufficient funds are not found to maintain the general upkeep.

marc-alrxandre FUMEX from France
on Fri, 31st Aug 2018
very nice .buggy to expensive
Barnaby from United States
on Mon, 20th Aug 2018
One of the best I’ve Played
Frankly, I was amazed to read some of the reviews of this course from the last 12 months. I’ve played a lot of golf courses all around the world and I play to a single figure handicap; this course is possibly my favourite that I’ve ever come across. It tests every aspect of your game: long holes needing course management, short target holes, well placed traps and very impressively a few holes in links setup. The greens were in better condition than Quinta do Lago and the Old Course, and the fairways were a little bare in places, but by-enlarge were like carpets. It was well run by friendly staff, and the only small gripe I had is that it was €4 for 24 balls on the range. Honestly, an incredible test of golf and a beautiful setup.
Gordon from United Kingdom
on Sat, 7th Jul 2018
Love the course. Day of our trip coincided with recent tining and course maintenance. Layout however is really enjoyable and we have enjoyed playing it over the years.
Tom Fawcett from United Kingdom
on Wed, 30th May 2018
Mat 2012
Great course, service very friendly.
Frank from Portugal
on Mon, 28th May 2018
Great course, management attention required.
Magnificant course, well maintained. Management must however be aware that on the course players should be monitored regularly, a flight of 5 in front of our play today was not acceptable with significant delay for us and the flight behind us.
Julie from Canada
on Sat, 6th Jan 2018
Nice views
Played here in the middle of winter. The course is beautiful, the views are second to none!

Course plays a bit slow, but.... you're on hollidays so...Enjoy!!!

Umberto Trulla from Italy
on Sun, 17th Dec 2017
Exagerated price for a normal golf course
Exagerated green free price for the condition and the design of the course,fortunally we have payed a winter price reduced (120€) but also this price are exagerated,I will do not repeat the experience.....
David from United Kingdom
on Sun, 3rd Dec 2017
Must Play
This is one of the best courses in the world. Fantastic condition and stunning layout. Expensive but a must play if you are in the Algarve.
Steve from United Kingdom
on Sat, 11th Nov 2017
Steve Dickinson
Great weather great condition
Phil from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Oct 2017
Happy golfers
Great layout with some fantastic views.

This was our final round in our 4 day competition. The last 2 holes decided the outcome....risk and reward.

Shirley from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Sep 2017
My favourite course
My favourite course so far in Portugal never disappoints always challenges
Simona from Portugal
on Fri, 25th Aug 2017
All smoke....nothing roasted
All holes in bed conditions...bullshit greens. For all golf courses available saving golf packages, but not San Lorenzo. Vale do Lobo Ocean and Royal as well as all Pinheiros Altos are much better than this and cost less. Holes along ocean are not that great as those in Vale do Lobo, and too many people walking on the edge of the holes. This golf course is defintely worth less than 120 euro. They should pay us to play there
Martin from United Kingdom
on Sun, 20th Aug 2017
Great course although started from the 10th.
Marcel Brunner from Portugal
on Fri, 14th Jul 2017
fairway not in good condition, buggy old, no icebox, not water, restaurant with limited drinks, under staffed, no value for money
David from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Jul 2017
Good experience but......
Not in as good condition as expected. Some areas lacking water, others looking a bit scruffy, buggy paths bumpy and suffering from tree roots. Greens excellent but slow. Surprisingly quiet. However, as ever some great golf holes, wonderful views, and amazing bird life.
Simon from United Kingdom
on Fri, 7th Jul 2017
San Lorenzo Review
Challenging but fair course - it has an interesting layout of holes; with some beautiful holes next to the water on the front 9 (coastal aspect) and the closing holes on the back 9 (lake/lagoon aspect). Wind can be a factor. We found the course in good condition and the greens very true.

Expensive but a must play for the capable golfing visitor.

PAUL MCPHERSON from Australia
on Tue, 4th Jul 2017
Carts very expensive,

Beautiful views .

course well presented

RICHARD from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Jun 2017
Holiday high handicapper.
Course in excellent condition. Magnificent course up to expectations in terms of lay out and environment. A challenge for all handicaps. Expensive but justified by the experience.
David from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd May 2017
The epitome of millionaire golf.
Fantastically enjoyable course. A great mixture of challenging holes without being too unforgiving.
David from United Kingdom
on Thu, 20th Apr 2017
Reputation maintained
I was given trusted advice to play from experienced Algarve golfer. Recently played San Lorenzo on Easter Sunday early morning.

The drive to the course sets the scene of what this place is about; money, class and style.

Played course of white tee and I play off 4 handicap.

I really enjoyed the variety and style of each hole. Each hole different and require different strategy and shot type. A course you can play different strategy where I played aggressive, you could equally plot yourself around leaving longer second shots. Greens were very good and rolled well and receptive. Course was fair and errant shots were punished fairly.

Not 5 stars?

I have voted for 4 stars as I feel the price is high where reputation has maintained its stature. Signs of some disease damage and greens were not wiped of dew. Tee boxes were bit sloppy and grass not cut.

Definitely worth playing if happy to spend top money.

Graham Taylor from Portugal
on Thu, 9th Mar 2017
San Lorenzo
Attactive course, especially the front 9, with good fairways but unfortunately the greens were very slow. The 18th supposedly the signature hole was a bit of a funny hole, suppose the architect ran out of ideas ! Too expensive for the price (140€).
Francois from Portugal
on Thu, 9th Mar 2017
San Lorenzo
Fairways and course layout were good but greens were poor and slow.

Does not warrant the price requested.

Also the proshop lady assistant does not make customers welcome.

deborah from United Kingdom
on Mon, 27th Feb 2017
An enchanting golf course
A wonderful picturesque layout which provides a stern test of golf and every hole provides a different challenge. Loved it so much
Gary from United Kingdom
on Wed, 28th Dec 2016
Boxing Day golf
The greens were in excellent condition and the course was set up well considering the time of year. Unfortunately the welcome in the pro shop was very under par! As we were spending nearly 500 euros you would have expected a warmer welcome!
Peter from Portugal
on Fri, 9th Dec 2016
Lived up to its reputation.
The finishing holes on the back nine make a visit to this course worthwhile. Beautiful and tough. Great day out and worth the price.
Claudia from Germany
on Wed, 16th Nov 2016
perfect day!
some challenging holes along the water, but a very fair course.

welcoming staff, top condition of course

Peter from United States
on Mon, 17th Oct 2016
Favorite of the 4 that we played - super holes down by the bird preserve. Helps that we played with a regular, some holes definitely needed local knowledge. But spectacular course even if 18 felt a bit contrived - coming from a 5 handicap in case anyone cares. Club house and facilities on the rough side but you don't hit golf shots in the bar.
Ian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 2nd Aug 2016
Really good track, worth playing
Rated as a 4 simply because there were a few few holes where the fairways were pretty poor. A very good, picturesque golf course with very good greens. Would definitely play again, pace of play best of all four courses on this trip.
David Crews from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th May 2016
San Lorenzo from TAGGS tour 2016
An outstanding golf course and in excellent condition when we played in May. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Length is a challenge for mid handicappers with some long and well constructed par fours and even par 5s tough to get home in regulation but it was windy ! On the expensive side as a visitor but worth the money for a great golfing experience.
Anthony Fletcher from United Kingdom
on Thu, 5th May 2016
Best course on the Algarve
We have been coming to the Algarve to play golf for about 12 years and not had the chance to play San Lorenzo until this visit.

What a fabulous course---very tough but fair..We look forward to playing the course again next year

Michael from United Kingdom
on Tue, 23rd Feb 2016
Great course anyone would love playing this one.
James from Germany
on Mon, 22nd Feb 2016
Poor Service
Have played San Lorenzo around 10 times as own a property near by and always make an effort to play when I am here, one of my favorite courses in the region with a few stunning holes out towards the sea.

My opinion sadly has fallen down from my most recent visit. The course was as always in fantastic condition and I bought 5 other players with me this time, due to the poor quality of the golf carts and even poorer quality of cart paths the strap holding my bag onto the buggy failed on the 10th resulting in my bag falling off the cart and snapping my driver in half.

I reported this to the club house after my round, the golf pro and colleauges all but laughed and called me a liar. I was informed the manager was not around and he would call me the day after. No surprise that there were no attempts to contact me.. Not something you would expect of a club at this price point.

Poor show from a regular customer, in addition to bringing a large group with me this time round.

AlgarveGolf.net
Sorry to hear about the poor service your received at San Lorenzo . We will call the director this morning and send you an email later today.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on San Lorenzo page's or to connect with other San Lorenzo golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.