Loading
to

Pinhal Reviews

Trevor Richardson from United Kingdom
on Thu, 10th Sep 2020
Pinhal one of Vilamoura's iconic courses
First thing to say is excellent friendly staff here! From golf reception to buggy master, all helpful and obliging. This is a course we've played many times but the design never fails to impress. Tight fairways require accurate tee shots but reward with pars or birdies. We always stay in Vilamoura so this course is on our doorstep, almost walking distance so very convenient. The greens were good if not exceptional, fairly quick but a little patchy in places. Much improvement work has obviously been done and is bringing this course back to its best. One of the origionally 3, you simply must play it if you get the opportunity and will not regret. We will be back.
Ray from United Kingdom
on Tue, 8th Sep 2020
Greens in need of repairs. Patchy in places.

Turned up in Nike collar less golf shirt like a certain Mr Tiger Woods. Told had to play with in a shirt with a collar.

Need to smarten the course up if strictly adhering to old fashioned dress codes!!!

Far better courses to play than this one for sure

Ian from United Kingdom
on Mon, 31st Aug 2020
Excellent course buggy is required as it is a very long hike. All in all as a high handicapper it is still very playable.
Dirk from Germany
on Sun, 23rd Aug 2020
Top Preis Leistung zu Empfehlen
Super schöner Platz mit Hammer schnellen Grüns. Uns hat er sehr gut gefallen
Mark Kirkman from United Kingdom
on Wed, 29th Jul 2020
We play this every year as it is my son’s favourite. This year was very different. The course was very shabby in appearance and very busy due to the fact that only Pinhal and The Old Course were open of all the Dom Pedro Courses. The reception desk took an age to take everyone’s booking and consequently there was no time to use Pinhal excellent driving range prior to play. Free golf for juniors is a great offer yet again as a summer special but overall a big disappointment this year.
Jean-Patrick from Belgium
on Wed, 22nd Jul 2020
Nice course and friendly people!
Very nice course, friendly people. The bunkers were not in shape. But the overall quality is good. The price is OK and the starter is a real professional. If you come to Algarve you should play this course!
Edward from Russian Federation
on Sun, 12th Jul 2020
Dom Pedro Force Golfers To Rent Their Equipment
We used the Dom Pedro Pinhal golf course) today paid my green fees and arrived at the 1st tee with my clubs on my push trolley. The starter told me I could not use my own personal push trolley and I was forced to rent a ride on buggy. This is Dom Pedro group trying to make extra money out of golfers during Covid 19. This is wrong and using my own equipment is

much safer and in line with Covid 19 recommendation rather than force golfers to use rental equipment. This is the only hotel/golf chain in the Algarve that forces golfers to rent equipment where they previously pre-Covid 19 didn't. There are more ethical golf clubs out there. I will never play on a Dom Pedro course again after their treatment of golfers post Covid 19. I feel sorry for the staff who have to enforce the company policy as it is clear they are very uncomfortable with how their company is treating and ripping off golfers.

Susan from United States
on Sun, 1st Mar 2020
Not coming back again
The starter was rude. Somehow our ticket disappeared. He could’ve called to the front but made us feel awful instead as if we were trying to sneak onto the course.

Also, bottled water was provided at two other Dom a Pedro courses but nothing h here. We had to go inside fir water which sloshed everywhere in the cart because lids were not provided. We will return to the other courses but not to this one.

DIncau from Switzerland
on Tue, 14th Jan 2020
Tres difficile mais beau. les arbres au milieu du ferway , c'est pas facile
Steve Armstrong from Portugal
on Sun, 5th Jan 2020
Great relaxing place
Playing for the first time in the Algarve.

Really enjoyed the course, challenging but rewarding if you hit the fairways.Hired clubs(VG) and buggy for a very reasonable deal.

Was stung for a box of Prov1...65 euros.

Other than that a great day out.

maurice from Netherlands
on Fri, 3rd Jan 2020
A nice start for a week of golf in Portugal
Interesting to start with a par-5 hole. Many holes with nice umbrella pines, however no clear signature hole to remember.

Fairways and greens okay, comparable with Milennium.

Two items which I did not like so much:

A lot of times you had to cross a car road used to enter the surrounding houses

Buggy could be cleaner.

Philipp from Switzerland
on Thu, 2nd Jan 2020
More interesting to play than old course and millenium
Martin Lofthouse from United Kingdom
on Mon, 30th Dec 2019
Pinhal Golf Course
Very reasonable round. Good experience.
Petra from Germany
on Wed, 25th Dec 2019
Traum-platz
Ein ruhig gelegener Platz mit viel schönen hohen Pinien, die leider öfters im Weg stehen! Viel Spaß ;-)
Ingrid from Portugal
on Wed, 25th Dec 2019
Gevarieerde baan in een mooie omgeving. Door het verbouwde clubhuis, blijf je graag nog even nagenieten op het nieuwe terras.
John
on Fri, 8th Nov 2019
Pinhal - always a pleasure to play
Considering how busy this course gets, it's always in great condition and we enjoyed it yet again. It's a very sociable course but testing nevertheless and we're always happy to play Pinhal.
Marc from Belgium
on Fri, 25th Oct 2019
Ok
Colin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 14th Oct 2019
A lot of money for average condition
I undestand these courses get a lot of golfers but greens were poorly maintained, grass around hazards disproportionately high. Over €110 per round €45 for a buggy you do expect good quality and this is not.
Carl from United Kingdom
on Wed, 9th Oct 2019
Played Pinhal twice with Laguna in between. I honestly cannot split the 2, both great courses, well run, good pace of play without being too slow and no miserable Marshalls running round trying to get you to speed up if you are not playing at warp factor 10 and picking your ball up if a double bogey is likely.

If you backed me into a corner I would say Pinhal is better but this is largely because it was a short walk over the road from The Hilton where we stayed (also thoroughly recommended). The 2 are totally different to play on but that made our experience all the more enjoyable. Hcp 21ish, Social Golfer in a group of 5 with similar abilities.

Gary Scullion from United Kingdom
on Mon, 30th Sep 2019
Mr G Scullion
Really enjoyed the course and all its facility's, was easy to rent clubs and they had lots of buggies for hire, would recommend for all types of golfers.
Keith from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Sep 2019
Wonderful Pinhal.
Wow what a fantastic course. Need to be able to hit the ball straight off the tee or you will find yourself in the trees and trying to hit a low/high shot to get around them. Not like British trees that you can hit through these stop the ball dead. Most holes are tree lined with some with trees in the middle. Great short holes too. Great fast greens. Good buggies that you need as some of the walks between holes are quite long and go back and forward over a road. Fantastic practice facilities with a grass driving range two putting greens and short game area. Fantastic restaurant

and bar with open patio area.

Sam from United Kingdom
on Thu, 12th Sep 2019
Great Service.
Course and overall experience was great. would have liked to have complimentary water and tees in the buggy considering the price that we paid for both the green fee and the buggy. On another note I left my GPS device in the buggy and didn't expect to get it back but went back the next day and the buggy staff had it saved and locked away in a drawer for me. Great service.
David from United Kingdom
on Sat, 10th Aug 2019
Golf at pinhal
Lots of trees and very long.very pretty
Francis from Portugal
on Thu, 25th Jul 2019
Great course in top condition. Friendly helpful staff.
Niall from United States
on Wed, 24th Jul 2019
Solid golf course.
A well rounded golf course. Tight in places and requires a good drive for placement. Greens were excellent. I played in very little wind, nice warm day, could imagine that when the ball flies above the trees that it would get blown around. Loved the feel from the bunkers, chipping around the greens was a dream. Would definitely play again.
Roger from United Kingdom
on Sun, 21st Jul 2019
Pinhal
Played at pinhal today fab day ,really enjoyable experience from start to finish
Brian from United States
on Mon, 15th Jul 2019
Mind The Trees
The first course we played on this trip, tight fairways and suits us older folk who don't hit it as far as the youngsters. We really enjoyed the tight fairways and the challenge, will be back again soon.
Sam from United Kingdom
on Mon, 15th Jul 2019
Great Course
Another great course. Wide open fairways off the tees makes for a fun round.
Keith from United Kingdom
on Fri, 12th Jul 2019
Untidy
Poor, untidy course, maybe overplayed, had to wait on every tee! Course marshall in evidence but did nothing to change the situation, I suspect that one player was 'a begginer' and took forever to play. No intention to 'let us through'
Graham from United Kingdom
on Thu, 11th Jul 2019
Pinhal golf
Great course and friendly staff, one or two scruffy areas but in the main course in good condition.

Enjoyable and on the doorstep.

Ulrich from Switzerland
on Mon, 8th Jul 2019
Nice course and setting
A pleasant golf course in a nice setting. Most fairways are surrounded by old pinetrees. Walking the course is a bit cumbersome due to some lenghty distances between greens and tee boxes. We had a good time playing it and enjoyed every hole.
Marco from Switzerland
on Sun, 16th Jun 2019
Nice Course - bad Restaurant
The courses of the Dom Pedro Group are all very nice and well maintained.

However, it is completely incomprehensible that only one single menu is offered in all of the group's clubhouses - and even that is not really breathtaking.

I am therefore not surprised that very few of the guests there eat something - after the third time you have just seen it. Too bad.

Conor from Ireland
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
Beautiful course. Not easy due to crazy amount of trees but I would highly recommend
Rob from United Kingdom
on Sun, 9th Jun 2019
Lots of trees so you need to be accurate. Placement key, would get better the more you play
Lindsay from United Kingdom
on Tue, 28th May 2019
Mr lindsay dawson
course condition poor very disappointing
Michael from Ireland
on Thu, 23rd May 2019
Course was in v good condition but large number of umbrella pines were very penal to wayward shots.
Ron Pearce from United Kingdom
on Wed, 15th May 2019
Most enjoyable experience
Great Course - forgiving - Great Club House Staff - Great food - Great Buggie Master / Starters / Marshals - Great Pro Shop Staff 😁 Made to feel exceptionally welcome by all - Most enjoyable visit.
Kieran from United Kingdom
on Tue, 7th May 2019
Enjoyable
Great test and enjoyable to.play
Thore Carlsson from Sweden
on Fri, 3rd May 2019
5 of 5
Steven from United Kingdom
on Wed, 1st May 2019
Pinhal
Played course and it’s just ok. Nothing special

Also played Laguna which was very nice - much nicer than Pinhal.

Clubhouse at Pinhal not great and felt a little run down. Reception staff not friendly.

No buggy with refreshments on course

Frans from Portugal
on Sat, 27th Apr 2019
Beautiful sunny day for playing golf
Fast greens, well maintained golfcourse, only 10 euros for good rental clubs (Titleist), 6 euros for 50 driving range balls is not cheap, many holes have small fairways “guarded” by many trees.
Patrick from France
on Fri, 26th Apr 2019
Too Slow
Far too slow. Course overbooked. 2 hrs and 40 minutes for 9 holes with a buggy and two single figure handicap golfers. Had to wait for every shot. Walked in after 9 holes. Staff couldn’t care less and suggested that perhaps last 9 holes would be quicker. Give yourself 5 and a half hours for a round.
Arto from Finland
on Thu, 25th Apr 2019
Ok
fred from United Kingdom
on Mon, 8th Apr 2019
5th/6th april 2019
played 2 rounds 5th 6th april 2019

lovely course fast greens pace was slow both days but we were a 2 ball

and didnt rush. will come back again.weather was wet and a bit windy.but buggys not aproblem

Olli-Antero from Finland
on Thu, 4th Apr 2019
Nice
Peter from Germany
on Thu, 28th Mar 2019
Just wonderful and enjoyable
Klaus
on Sun, 24th Mar 2019
A course we always play
A lot of Pinetrees :-( But the best of the rest
Klaus Oltscher from Germany
on Mon, 18th Mar 2019
Guter Zustand. Gut spielbar. Schön gelegen mit teilweise tollen Aussichten bis zum Meer. Etwas weite Wege zwischen den Abschlägen auf Grund der Lage mitten im Ort.
Stephen Alleyne from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Mar 2019
Lovely course but they were a bit confused on tee times as they are changing to a new system. Also my wife and myself book a tee time as a 2 and they put a single with us who’s standard of golf was different from ours.
Neil from United Kingdom
on Wed, 6th Mar 2019
Twilight was very slow....over 4 hours! Course ok but nothing special. Reasonable value for money at €60
Jaroslav from Czech Republic
on Wed, 27th Feb 2019
pleasnat to play but nothing exceptional
Matthew from United Kingdom
on Sun, 24th Feb 2019
Incredibly tight course, very tough but a great course nonetheless. Pace of play slow but was helped when Marshall’s came out on course.
Paul from Ireland
on Mon, 18th Feb 2019
Pinhal - Feb 2019
Very fair course, tight, lots of trees, good quality presentation.
Wesley from United Kingdom
on Tue, 1st Jan 2019
Very nice course - in very good condtion.
Udo
on Mon, 24th Dec 2018
Pinhal - always good to play
course partly in maintenace condition, after 2 weeks of closing. By and large, the greens were in good condition with good roll. Value for money is ok.
blair keeling from Canada
on Tue, 20th Nov 2018
Enjoyed this course. Some peculiar placing of pine trees in middle of fairways! Greens/tee boxes good shape. Staff attentive. Pace of play excellent. Play it again anytime.
Rudy from Belgium
on Mon, 5th Nov 2018
Do it on heavy rain so quite difficult!
pamela from United Kingdom
on Thu, 1st Nov 2018
Lovely course, very friendly staff.
Marc
on Sun, 28th Oct 2018
Nice course
Mette from Norway
on Tue, 23rd Oct 2018
Very good
Svend Gravdal from Norway
on Fri, 19th Oct 2018
Nice and interesting course
Very nice course. Both challenging and varying.
Christian from United States
on Thu, 18th Oct 2018
Nice course not so expensive
Nice course in the middle of habitation area, very nice and lower costs than other courses in the near..
Frank from Portugal
on Fri, 12th Oct 2018
Greens are a disaster. Way too high a price to play with a inferior service to top it.

Yes, I understand: if you can get away with over charging you do it. However, I am out. I wish I would gave taken photos of freebs and tee boxes.

Marc from United Kingdom
on Mon, 8th Oct 2018
I have played Pinhal several times previously, albeit a few years back, as I thought the course set out well and well maintained however this year it appears to have changed as fairways and greens were cutting up very easily. Unfortunately I won't be returning to Pinhal anytime soon.
Frank from Scotland
on Mon, 8th Oct 2018
Played the course many times and it’s a nice course. Only small criticism is I would prefer the fairways to be more closely mown
Tim Knowles from United Kingdom
on Mon, 24th Sep 2018
Twilight Value for Money
Whole course in excellent condition apart from certain areas of the greens that had been hollow tined. Made to feel welcome in Pro shop
Robin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 24th Sep 2018
Forgot how good this course was
James from United Kingdom
on Sat, 15th Sep 2018
Good course, greens were slow
Anthony
on Fri, 14th Sep 2018
Great course well maintained and staff very helpful

Thank you

Steve from United Kingdom
on Sun, 9th Sep 2018
Dad beats son
Great day for our first Vilamoura experience. Only played from the yellow tees but it was still almost 6600yds. Great set up at this course, good practise facilities, grass range right next to the club/caddy master/1st tee. The course was in immaculate condition albeit the green were a little slower than you would expect. Didn’t detract from a really challenging layout and enjoyable day. Great value at the price we paid. Would definitely play again.
NIGEL from United Kingdom
on Sat, 8th Sep 2018
Improved dramatically
Have played here many times but condition of course much improved since new ownership. Only down side is that we followed 2 ignorant 3 balls who kept us waiting on every hole .Not their fault as they probably didn’t know any better. Course marshal should have sorted it.
Graham from United Kingdom
on Fri, 7th Sep 2018
Pineal golf club
Course was in good condition and staff hwere very welcoming

Half way bar was closed and no drinks service going around was my only gripe

Christian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 14th Aug 2018
Need to hit them straight.
Lovely course but not much room for error. Tightly tree-ligned design with great conditions and greens. Good value.
Raj from United Kingdom
on Fri, 3rd Aug 2018
Fantastic game of golf
Well kept, very friendly, highly recommend
Aiden Keegan from Ireland
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
Pinhal
Beautiful course, well maintained and a great test of golf.

Positioning of the clubhouse a little odd overlooking only the range!

Garry from United Kingdom
on Fri, 27th Jul 2018
27th July 2018 - Pinhal
Excellent course. Fantastic service. Great value. Very steady rate of play.
Petri from Finland
on Fri, 27th Jul 2018
Long ... but narrow
Quite a challenge as it is quite long for a club player from yellow tee, having for example a par 5 uphill over 500 meters, quite narrow fairways shadowed by pine trees, back 9 is a little bit shorter
Matthew from United Kingdom
on Thu, 26th Jul 2018
A Day amongst the pine trees
An exceptional course. An amazing experience from to start to finish. Beautifully landscaped, imposing mature pine trees and very tight fairways. Greens are amazing. Strongly recommended.
Susan Tierney from Canada
on Fri, 13th Jul 2018
Course was in great condition. Speed of play was good.
Tom from Ireland
on Wed, 27th Jun 2018
Not the best by any means.
The service at this golf course is way below other Dom Pedro courses such as The Old Course. Don't expect water in your buggy or for the caddymaster to load your bag onto the buggy. Considering the price isn't much lower I wouldn't bother with get his course. The course itself is good but the pace of play is amongst the slowest in Vilamoura at 4.5hrs .
Darren Howes from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Jun 2018
Lovely course
Some people won't like the fact that the course is split up into little groups of holes in between villas. However, we did. The layout of the holes was excellent and the views of the lovely villas was really nice. You ideally need a buggy though due to long distances between greens and tees.
Peter from United Kingdom
on Fri, 1st Jun 2018
Very pretty course in good condition
Sean
on Thu, 31st May 2018
lovely course, greens very good
Stephen Lloyd from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st May 2018
Enjoyable Course
A very pleasant course part of the group of 5 local Vilamoura courses owned by Dom Pedro. Whilst I’d be more likely to play a few of other courses in Vilamoura before this one it is nonetheless a very enjoyable course to play and if you stay at the Hilton by far the most convenient one!
steve from United Kingdom
on Mon, 30th Apr 2018
A tight course.Greens in great condition
Kerry from Portugal
on Tue, 3rd Apr 2018
Great course!
Really enjoyed playing this course - it was in such good condition and well layed out. Will definitely go back!
Arnaud from France
on Thu, 29th Mar 2018
Excellent. Well kept. Very pleasant.
Klaus
on Mon, 26th Mar 2018
Undervalued !!! This have always been one of our favorites
Richard from Portugal
on Sat, 20th Jan 2018
Excellent course
Karen Wright from United Kingdom
on Tue, 21st Nov 2017
Excellent game of golf
My Partner and I had an enjoyable game of golf. The weather was glorious for November and the course is well served with drinks and access to toilets. Staff were friendly and very welcoming. Lots of bunkers!!!

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Pinhal page's or to connect with other Pinhal golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.