Loading
to

Penina Championship Reviews

Ben from Europe
on Thu, 15th Feb 2024
Great day
Loved it. Somehow we joined the practice round for the Portuguese Amateur Championship :-) You should get in the hotel for the buffet breakfast for 16 euros
Tomas from Portugal
on Wed, 10th Jan 2024
Disappointing
Maintenance of the course is substandard. Not sure whether the Head Greenkeeper recently visited the course? He could at least see the numbering of holes is confusing and clearly shows lack of attention.

In weather conditions like in Algarve one would expect to have a course in perfect condition and if not, at least they should not charge the green fee they charged.

The nature of problems doesn’t promise anything better going to spring and summer..

The layout of the course, with all the respect to Sir Henry Cotton, is a bit repetitive.

Chris from United Kingdom
on Tue, 5th Dec 2023
Good challenging course
A well laid out course with lots of nice holes. Long wide fairways in general. Good greens in nice condition. Fairways quite brown and bare in some places but playable.
Michael from United Kingdom
on Tue, 21st Nov 2023
Good for holiday golf
The championship course offers a good test for holiday golfers although the fairways are patchy but the greens good. Plenty of ditches and water to challenge golfers of all levels.
Richard from Portugal
on Tue, 21st Nov 2023
Surprisingly good!
Actually surprisingly good (despite loads of negative reviews). A bit bare in places and greens soft (so loads of pitch marks).
Jason from United Kingdom
on Sat, 4th Nov 2023
Penina golf
Played with a member fairways in terrible condition greens ok but loads of un repaired pitch marks - not great - probably would not go back- and also stuck behind a five ball 🤬
Duane from Spain
on Tue, 24th Oct 2023
A QUICK VISIT
A nice round at Pinana Championship course. In my opinion, it is not a great Championship course. The greens are quick, but to many bumps and scuffs that could be sorted.

The tee-offs needs some work. Overall, a good experience.

Jon Butler from United Kingdom
on Thu, 19th Oct 2023
Penina Championship - almost there
Almost back to it's best, a challenge for any golfer and highly recommended
Colin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 18th Oct 2023
Golf course and hotel are looking rather worn!
An OK course in reasonable condition, given the very dry weather this year. The main downside is that it seems to attract pretty poor golfers who, as many of the fairways are quite tight, seem to spend a lot of time looking for balls (hence our round was quite slow). The clubhouse and hotel are looking a bit tired and the service is not great.
Michael from Ireland
on Wed, 11th Oct 2023
Penina golf course
Lovely golf course

Greens in excellent condition

Very helpful staff

Leslie from United Kingdom
on Fri, 6th Oct 2023
Sad reflection of a Great course
The course is in a terrible state, most fairways have brown and burnt patches and sprinkler system doesn't to have been used. Greens have some tufts of rough grass in then and nobody seems to repair pitch marks. I have always thought this is a great course but this is the worst condition I have ever seems this in.
Michael from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Oct 2023
Lovely Greens
Lovely day on here Greens very receptive and the course is very nice.
John from United Kingdom
on Tue, 26th Sep 2023
Avoid
Played here on Sunday 24/09/23 at 3:20 and I am sorry but it was awful. My suspicions were raised when we got there to an empty car park. In fact the whole place was like a ghost town. We were told no buggies were available . When we finally found the 1st tee I realised why we had the place to ourselves. The tee boxes were a mess, the fairways worse. Greens were ok but full of pitch marks . Bunkers had very little or no sand . The only good point is we got round in 3 hours . Even the hotel looked run down and neglected. Found out from a member the next day that they have had trouble getting water hence the state of the course.
Anthony from United States
on Thu, 7th Sep 2023
Terrible condition
Four of us played the Championship course on 4th Sept 2023, on my recommendation, as I had last played it about 15 years ago and it was brilliant. But we were sadly met with a course in extremely poor condition. The club wants premium rates but it is not a premium course. Too many bare lies, terrible fairways and tees. The greens were acceptable. Needs a lot of work to recover and it's not just lack of water.
Ben from United Kingdom
on Fri, 4th Aug 2023
Fantastic Course
I absolutely love this course. It is not as pristine as some of the courses up near Vilamoura but it is absolutely stunning.

The tree lined holes are extremely well planned to make it a fair challenge and if forces you to think on all holes.

It is definitely the most peaceful course I have played in the World, where you can be at one with your thoughts, getting away from the world, yet enjoying a competitive round at the same time.

Can’t wait to play again.

John
Are you sure you have the right place !?
Karl from United Kingdom
on Thu, 29th Jun 2023
A little bit disappointed with Penina, the fairways were burnt and bare thus had some difficult lies to play from,. I don’t think we will be playing there next year.
Alexander from Portugal
on Wed, 21st Jun 2023
Die besten Zeiten sind vorbei …
Man kann nach wie vor sehen, dass dies einmal ein sehr schöner Golfplatz mit Clubhaus und Hotel war. Die breiten Fairways, die teils großen und ondulierten Grüns, der alte Baumbestand und wie der Platz angelegt ist, zeugen davon.

Der derzeitige Platzzustand spiegelt dies aber leider nicht wieder. Abschläge und Fairways sind großteils braun und oft erdig. Die Bunker hart und ohne Sand und vieles wirkt verwahrlost und ungepflegt.

Einzig die Grüns verdienen den Namen und wirken gepflegt, sind treu und die nicht ausgebesserten Pitchmarken sind Schuld der Golfer und nicht der Greenkeeper.

Wir würden den Platz auch mit Summerspezial nicht mehr spielen und regulär in diesem Zustand schon gar nicht.

Boavista und Espiche haben unserer Meinung nach das deutlich bessere Preis/Leistungsverhältnis und sind derzeit deutlich grüner und gepflegter.

Gareth from United Kingdom
on Tue, 13th Jun 2023
Greens lovely, fairways need more water. Very dry & patchy in places. Would I pay to play this course again for the price? No. Expected better being a championship course
Peter Wigg from United Kingdom
on Mon, 5th Jun 2023
Penina Championship.... check condition
For nostaga, we went back to Penina after 23 years. We were really disappointed the course is in a dreadful state of maintenance, particularly on the front nine. The Tees and fairways are just dirt. To be honest if I had paid £30 for a round I would have felt it held little value but I paid £80 and so I feel exploited. The greens and bunkers were good.
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Thu, 1st Jun 2023
Heard so much about Penina over the years and was bitterly disappointed. Greens were ok 7/10, fairways were burnt and bald. Condition generally scrappy. Didn’t stay in the hotel but looked like a coup as well. Salgados we played earlier in the week was superb and a much better course
Kevin from United Kingdom
on Tue, 30th May 2023
Very tired and needing investment
Course is very tired and lacking investment. Greens are good and you can see why this course once hosted the Portugal Open but it’s a long way from that standard now . Appreciate the lack of water but the green fess are high for the quality of the course .
charles graham from United Kingdom
on Wed, 19th Apr 2023
The party of 8 from Scotland Enjoyed playing the course again however two major issues

The steak sandwich was inedible

The fact we had paid over 90 plus euros we were unable to have a shower and clean up due to facilities closed at 7 pm

That is simply disgraceful

Norman from Portugal
on Sun, 9th Apr 2023
The greens were fantastic but the tees and fairways were very bare and dry .
John from United Kingdom
on Thu, 12th Jan 2023
Really tired and shabby. Greens were in pretty good condition but after a period of rain the course played long and wasn’t helped by an apparent lack of green staff.

A real shame because the course deserves to have better attention than it’s obviously getting

At €180 off season there must be better courses to play

Les from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Nov 2022
Disappointing. The fairways were very worn and damaged in places, and we decided to use preferred lies to compensate. The greens were also the worst of the courses we played in October. The course was also very slow to play and appeared to be particularly busy. Our pre-booked start time was put back 40 minutes with no prior warning. Penina was also 100 euros more expensive for four players with buggies than the other courses we played. Overall, less than satisfactory.
Hugh from United Kingdom
on Mon, 14th Nov 2022
Penina Championship
Having played this course previously about 4 years ago compared to now it appears the haven't invested any money for the upkeep of the course tee boxes are shabby,Greens worse than the 9 hole Resort course,the general condition is very run down and not worth the green fee we paid.
DAVID from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Nov 2022
This course has quite obviously had its day.Clubhouse & course is very tatty & looks to be in need of a major upheaval financially.Very expensive at 83€ a round & certainly not worth the price. No marshalls on course to speed up the pace of play,5 hour rounds unacceptable 😡Would not rush back to play here again ☹️
Charlie from United States
on Sat, 5th Nov 2022
Remembering 1970
In 19769,70,71 I played Penina with my father he passed away this year aged 94 and I wanted to play one more time the championship course, well I was surprised at just how rundown the golf course has become , sorry for this but I still felt the old magic .
Mark Bentley from United Kingdom
on Thu, 13th Oct 2022
Mr Mark Bentley
Very poor fairways. Slow greens which have not recovered from maintenance. Poor lies in bunkers with little sand. After 6 holes we were ready for walking in and asking for a refund. Over priced for the condition of the course which is priced at a peak rate for pristine conditions.

I will be posting on social media to avoid playing this course.

RACHEL from United Kingdom
on Fri, 7th Oct 2022
Penina
The resort is very tired and much neglect on the course. The basis of the course is lovely but it needs some care and attention. The range balls were absolutely shocking and the practice area hadn’t been cared for as much as you’d hope.
keith from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Sep 2022
Don’t go !!!
Miguel from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Sep 2022
Decent design, almost everything else poor
The bones of the course design are really quite good once you get through the boring opening stretch of up and down holes, the back 9 has some interesting holes

The condition is rather poor however and not worth the green fee, I had read this on other reviews and felt I had to check it out for myself. I made the mistake so you don’t have to, go to one of the Pestana courses or better yet Palmares, this is not worth the money! It was surprising it could be in such poor condition given the quantity of workers on the course with 2 stroke engines blaring on every hole and racing around in buggies!

Delusions of grandeur also come to mind, at half way 2 cans of beers cost €10, I’m not sure you could pay more anywhere in Portugal, a strange place stuck in the 80’s with 2040 prices

Simon from United Kingdom
on Fri, 2nd Sep 2022
Penina Championship
Unfortunately the course is trading on past history. Absolutely terrible condition. Fairways were lacking grass, the tee boxes were just dust and the greens had moss growing. Staff completely indifferent, shower facilities and pro shop from the 1960s. Avoid!
Curtis from United States
on Sat, 20th Aug 2022
August golf trip
Course was no more than average. It was overpriced and the facilities were slightly dated. Greens however were very good
Anders from Portugal
on Fri, 5th Aug 2022
Fairways a bit dry and ruf but played with a member and he said it’s getting better and better! Overall a great course and environment!
Thomas from United Kingdom
on Sun, 24th Jul 2022
Not worth travelling abroad to play
Disappointed with quality of course given its history. €50 buggy hire is steep compared to other courses.

Course is okay but not worth travelling abroad to play.

Gary from United Kingdom
on Fri, 1st Jul 2022
Poor Condition
In its day I would imagine it was a very nice course unfortunately the course is not in the best of condition very dry and bare and scruffy and is living of its past glory
Karl from United Kingdom
on Tue, 28th Jun 2022
Course was in decent condition, round in 4hr 20min… We will be going back next year. 👍
Moal from France
on Sat, 25th Jun 2022
Pourquoi pas
Golf agréable, intéressant, entretien perfectible
Bryan from United States
on Sat, 25th Jun 2022
Needs Some Investment
Could be a wonderful course again but the condition of the tee boxes and fairways leave much to be desired. Quite scrappy in parts, which is a shame as many of the holes are really pretty.

Also too many people on the course resulting in a 5 hour game.

Monika from Poland
on Sat, 18th Jun 2022
A big disappointment
The course in very poor shape - naked ground in the middle of the fairways, uneven tees with no grass, the course looks like somebody stopped investing in it some time ago. The design is not spectacular - quite boring to be honest. This was my last round in Algarve (I've played on 10 different courses) and this was a big disappointment.
Tom from United Kingdom
on Thu, 2nd Jun 2022
Disappointing
The course is in urgent need of renovation. It’s all very tired from the tee boxes to the distance markers, and signage. As others have mentioned, the fairways are in terrible condition, and sometimes you can find a better lie by missing them entirely. For the price of a round, you’d expect a much better experience. My advice is to avoid until the above is rectified.
Arie from Portugal
on Mon, 30th May 2022
old-fashioned coursee with a lot of overdue maintenance

friendly personal in the restaurant

Angela from United Kingdom
on Wed, 18th May 2022
Penina Fairways are dead grass
Unfortunately this course isn’t being maintained. All the fairways were dead due to no watering. Such a shame l haven’t seen this course in such a state before
Douglas from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th May 2022
Poor Penina
Greens are good but fairways and Teeing ground abysmal. Driving range balls extremely poor. Staff disengaged. Had to ask for everything. I just returned from Amendoiera where things were completely different with bottles of water and ice in carts. Won’t be back unless there is huge improvement.
Nick from United Kingdom
on Wed, 4th May 2022
Disappointing
No sand in the bunkers, fairways patchy and tees dry and grass less. Course packed and very slow round. Greens in good condition.
Mark from United Kingdom
on Tue, 26th Apr 2022
Not really Championship Standard
A bit disappointed by this Championship Golf course. Course not in the greatest shape and fairways dry and uneven. Greens nice and big and layout pretty good but requires some invested and lots of maintenance. On the positive side, long course and quite challenging.
Walter from Switzerland
on Thu, 14th Apr 2022
Splendidly landscaped course
Long wide flat fairways, makes it fun to play for us mediocre players.

Beautifully landscaped with grandios old trees and even cactii. Loved that.

Enough water hazards, quite amazingly managed to stay away...

The Restaurant Terrasse has a beautiful view

We felt that all was well maintained.

Leona from Norway
on Thu, 7th Apr 2022
Good lay out, but poor maintenance
The lay out is really nice, fairways are long and greens are challenging. It could have been a topnotch course but the maintenance is rather poor. The roughs are 'spottish' and the big bunkers have only 1 rake. The toilets both at the driving range and on the course are so poorly kept (dirty and no paper towels to dry your hands) . They say this was once a regal course and we could kinda see that. But the way it is maintained these days, seems its regal days are definitely over.
gordon from United Kingdom
on Fri, 18th Mar 2022
penina-March 2022
a bit scruffy but overall worth playing
francoise from Belgium
on Thu, 10th Mar 2022
Cher
Rapport qualité -prix médiocre

Trop cher pour des installations vieillottes.

Golf peu convaincant

Martine from France
on Sun, 30th Jan 2022
Even course but very enjoyable. Can imagine why it received the Portugal open so many times.
Petra from Germany
on Tue, 4th Jan 2022
Fine difficult course
A nice , difficult course with a lot of Bunker
Jerome from France
on Wed, 8th Dec 2021
Disappointing
« Old course » . Too much ditches crossing the fairways Maintenance seems poor and the greens are in trouble compared to the courses around Faro . Good welcome .
Ermanno Masa from Italy
on Sat, 27th Nov 2021
Buon livello
Bel campo tenuto bene e divertente. Ottimo rapporto qualità prezzo.
Malcolm Fisher from Portugal
on Thu, 7th Oct 2021
Now a disgrace
I’ve been coming to Penina for 25 years and never seen the course in such poor condition.

It is a disgrace the way this ex championship course has been allowed to fade into mediocrity.

There is nothing about which I can be positive. Both fairways and greens are in very poor condition, and there are leaks to the watering system all over the course.

You know things are bad when even the Pro Shop staff warn you the course is in bad condition!

I just hope that someone does take over the hotel and course and spend the £millions it needs to restore it to its former glories.

Martin from United Kingdom
on Sat, 11th Sep 2021
Great course but greens were awful and whole course looks tired and in need of some investment. Staff food and facilities all excellent.
Neil from Portugal
on Thu, 2nd Sep 2021
Penina course review
I had been warned about the condition of the course in July, but thought there should have been enough time for things to improve. Unfortunately the greens have not been taken care of as there is invasive grass and damage on all of the greens and they were bumpy and difficult to putt on. Having played other courses in the area recently this course is sadly behind on repairing them.

This course has a long history and pedigree but needs some TLC.

John from United Kingdom
on Sun, 29th Aug 2021
Overall a good course, challenging but lacking maintenance, debris about, layout ok but some tee points lacked hole information boards, and distance markers. Some greens a bit tacky and patchy. Val de Lobo Ocean and Old Course much better quality.
Gary from United Kingdom
on Sun, 22nd Aug 2021
Great course just not looked after
I’m really sorry to write this,could be an absolute fantastic course,unfortunately the maintenance standards were extremely poor,firstly refreshment facilities were non existent,general public just walking and jogging the course , no consideration for the paying golfer,the greens must be the worst on the algarve,leaves and debris all over,

This was the poorest experience I have had in all my algarve holidays

Allen Hirons from United States
on Sun, 18th Jul 2021
Meeting Henry Cotton
Played there on vacation in the mid-70s with my parents. I recall playing on Christmas Day and Henry Cotton was in the pro shop and took our greens fees. Seeing him was a great honor. I remember that more than the golf course.
Dave from Italy
on Mon, 10th May 2021
Historic course near Portimao
Very nice course but once you get of the fairway the grass is high and not forgiving. Very beautiful historic layout mostly flat but with some tough approaches with bunker and water hazards. Overall, we really loved the course!
Alan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Sep 2020
Penina Championship - good course
Playing Penina Championship you can be forgiven for thinking that you are in the UK (in summer of course). A really good tree-lined layout and not too difficult a walk as the course isn't hilly. Definitely worth a visit.
Timothy from Portugal
on Fri, 28th Aug 2020
Not worth the money
Clearly the course is not being properly looked after. The greens are pretty mediocre and very, very slow.

There is a general air of neglect.

Sadly, it's definitely not worth paying €154 for 2 players with a buggy.

Dirk from Germany
on Sun, 23rd Aug 2020
Platz bräuchte dringend eine Pflege
Platz bräuchte dringend eine Auffrischung

Schade drum würde ich keinesfalls empfehlen

Dirk Oehle from Germany
on Sun, 23rd Aug 2020
Nette Wiese die dringend Pflege benötigt
Platz ist in einem miesen Zustand. Faiways kommen eher einer Pferderennbahn entgegen

Das Gras um die Bunker lange nicht mehr gemäht von der Länge zu urteilen mindestens 6-8 Wochen

Als Fazit nette Wiese die dringend Pflege benötigt

Armin from Germany
on Wed, 11th Mar 2020
A reasonable round, fairways with many divots, greens o.k. Friendly Service.
Carol from Ireland
on Thu, 23rd Jan 2020
Very disappointed
Very disappointed. Course in poor overall condition.

Pace of play extremely slow. After just over 4 1/2 hours of waiting,waiting and waiting...and only 16 holes played ,we gave up!!

At no stage did a steward come round and try to speed things along.

Our 2nd time playing here and definitely last!! Never again will we waste money here.

Alan from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Nov 2019
Not the best of days.
Bit wet to really appreciate the course, the greens looked good however not swept of water, many par 3s same length, overall lovely walk and sure course has seen better days,. Real issue is paying 150 pair and the being asked for handicaps ( we were 6 &11) paired with another couple who struggled to often get off the tee., very slow and extremely frustrating. More care needed by course when taking bookings and matching pairs, get the impression it’s grab the money and who cares about the enjoyment.
Andy Cutler from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Oct 2019
Mr Cutler
Both myself and my playing partner were disappointed in the condition of the course, practise areas were still covered in dew at 9am.

General upkeep of the course made it look quite tatty, not what we were expecting considering the green fees, Oceanica courses around Vilamoura all put this course to shame.

As for the course layout, we found it to be a good challenge with some interesting holes, just let down by the shabby state of the course and facilities, just not worth the money.

paul from United Kingdom
on Sat, 12th Oct 2019
Penina
Excellent course, traditional design.
Marc from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Oct 2019
Fairly narrow and challenging course, good value for money when taking advantage of 2 player and 1 buggy deals. The only gripe would be the course management were unorganised when it came to collecting buggies. I would be keen to play here again.
Michael from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Sep 2019
Good condition great day golfing on a super test of golf
Mark from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Aug 2019
Very average course. Far to expensive compared to much nicer courses in the algarve.
Paul from Portugal
on Tue, 30th Jul 2019
Very enjoyable round of golf. Greens could be better. Staff were first class. Would recommend.
Matthew from United Kingdom
on Sat, 27th Jul 2019
Great Challenge
Fantastic course with a very warm welcome. Every hole has a ditch and this can sometimes catch you out! You need to know your yardages to play well around Penina. They have a buggy bar half way round plus a challenge hole which is fun.
Lars from Portugal
on Sat, 20th Jul 2019
Nice course in decent shape
Nice classic course in decent shape. The greens are very soft so you can really go for the pin. To live up to its old reputation they need to put some work in the areas just outside the fairway.
Graham from United Kingdom
on Thu, 11th Jul 2019
Long time since I last played here but it was still as good as I remembered it. Perhaps not the longest course in the Algarve any more but Henry Cotton designed it to be a good test of your complete game and it did not disappoint

I look forward to going back again

nick from Ireland
on Mon, 17th Jun 2019
Solid 7/10
Good course in good condition. A little flat so the challenge very much keeping the drive on relatively narrow tree lined fairways. Greens in great nick and facilitates excellent. Would definitely revisit but wouldn't be on the 'must play' list.
giles from Russian Federation
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
Lovely course. Buggy ridiculously expensive. Far more than all other courses
Colin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
A proper Championship Course
Great layout and a beautiful place to play.

This is a Championship course, so expect to struggle, but if you are on form you will be well rewarded

Philip from United Kingdom
on Sun, 9th Jun 2019
Penina Review
My favourite course. Steeped in history. A lot of foliage on the course due to trees but didn't affect the golf. The greens were in very good condition with lush fairways. All staff were very helpful.
James from Ireland
on Wed, 29th May 2019
Hi played here with my 2 boys and enjoyed it, the only thing was the bunkers were not good as they had not been raked and so they were just hard.james.
Sam from United Kingdom
on Mon, 27th May 2019
Fab course
Great course on a very hot day. Course was in great condition despite hot weather and a pleasure to play. Only complaint is making us wait for our tee time despite being a two ball and 40 mins early. There were plenty of gaps in that time unfortunately. The pro spoke with us and seemed like a lovely gentleman. Would recommend this course.
Gary Rayner from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th May 2019
A really nice course to play on, not overly difficult but lots of well place water and sand hazards to avoid. Good facilities. Lots of trees and a bit inland so wind was less of an issue - a great course to play on and have a really good time/round.
Hannes Loekkoes from Austria
on Fri, 3rd May 2019
Nostalgisch schön
Sehr schöner flacher Kurs, viele Flights mit kurzen Startintervallen.
Philip from United Kingdom
on Thu, 4th Apr 2019
Penina Phil
The Course was in fantastic condition (although a little tidying up required around the edges) and the weather was good to us. A great experience to play at a famous course. Will certainly be playing the course again and will book it through yourselves.
Carol from Ireland
on Mon, 31st Dec 2018
Very slow.
Lovely course but very, very slow.....nearly 5 hours to play a round!
Frank from United States
on Tue, 30th Oct 2018
Penina Championship Course
We found it well kept and at times, challenging. We would certainly play there again.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Tue, 23rd Oct 2018
Super day out
Super day out on an excellent course.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Penina Championship page's or to connect with other Penina Championship golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Green Fees & Tee Times
All golf course green fees, deals, and tee times displayed on Algarve Golf are offered at the lowest discounted rates permissible. We look forward to assisting you with your booking in Portugal. ⛳
Algarve Golf uses cookies.