Loading
to

Penina Championship Reviews

Graham from United Kingdom
on Thu, 11th Jul 2019
Long time since I last played here but it was still as good as I remembered it. Perhaps not the longest course in the Algarve any more but Henry Cotton designed it to be a good test of your complete game and it did not disappoint

I look forward to going back again

nick from Ireland
on Mon, 17th Jun 2019
Solid 7/10
Good course in good condition. A little flat so the challenge very much keeping the drive on relatively narrow tree lined fairways. Greens in great nick and facilitates excellent. Would definitely revisit but wouldn't be on the 'must play' list.
giles from Russian Federation
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
Lovely course. Buggy ridiculously expensive. Far more than all other courses
Colin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
A proper Championship Course
Great layout and a beautiful place to play.

This is a Championship course, so expect to struggle, but if you are on form you will be well rewarded

Philip from United Kingdom
on Sun, 9th Jun 2019
Penina Review
My favourite course. Steeped in history. A lot of foliage on the course due to trees but didn't affect the golf. The greens were in very good condition with lush fairways. All staff were very helpful.
James from Ireland
on Wed, 29th May 2019
Hi played here with my 2 boys and enjoyed it, the only thing was the bunkers were not good as they had not been raked and so they were just hard.james.
Sam from United Kingdom
on Mon, 27th May 2019
Fab course
Great course on a very hot day. Course was in great condition despite hot weather and a pleasure to play. Only complaint is making us wait for our tee time despite being a two ball and 40 mins early. There were plenty of gaps in that time unfortunately. The pro spoke with us and seemed like a lovely gentleman. Would recommend this course.
Gary Rayner from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th May 2019
A really nice course to play on, not overly difficult but lots of well place water and sand hazards to avoid. Good facilities. Lots of trees and a bit inland so wind was less of an issue - a great course to play on and have a really good time/round.
Hannes Loekkoes from Austria
on Fri, 3rd May 2019
Nostalgisch schön
Sehr schöner flacher Kurs, viele Flights mit kurzen Startintervallen.
Philip from United Kingdom
on Thu, 4th Apr 2019
Penina Phil
The Course was in fantastic condition (although a little tidying up required around the edges) and the weather was good to us. A great experience to play at a famous course. Will certainly be playing the course again and will book it through yourselves.
Carol from Ireland
on Mon, 31st Dec 2018
Very slow.
Lovely course but very, very slow.....nearly 5 hours to play a round!
Frank from United States
on Tue, 30th Oct 2018
Penina Championship Course
We found it well kept and at times, challenging. We would certainly play there again.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Tue, 23rd Oct 2018
Super day out
Super day out on an excellent course.
Irene from Switzerland
on Sun, 14th Oct 2018
Beautiful scenery in park style, some demamding holes.
Terry from United Kingdom
on Sat, 29th Sep 2018
Could not fault it , great course , and hospitali
Fantastic course
Keith from United Kingdom
on Fri, 28th Sep 2018
Looking very tired maybe due to so many people playing but its a nice challenge especially if you haven't experienced it. Our group will probably give it a miss next time.
Christian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 14th Aug 2018
Great course design and conditions.
Beautiful old style course. Lovely design and conditions great. A little more pricy than others but a worthwhile visit.
richard from United States
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
Don't Waste Your Money
Where do I start?

I played Penina about 20 years ago and remember it being a great course. Not anymore.

The greens had been hollow tined and sanded, but the course didn't think this was important enough to provide a discount or even let us know in advance.

They put us out on the 10th unnecessarily. Courses are designed to be played 1 through 18.

We were a 4-ball and as part of the terms and conditions the course reserves the right to make your group, if smaller, up to a 4-ball. Why then did they put multiple 2-balls behind us (all residents), therby putting us under constant pressure? During the round we let 4 groups through but this never relieved the pressure and we had to stop doing this as there was a never-ending stream behind us champing at the bit. Ther is no way that they were allowing 8 minutes between tee times.

The course itself is looking rough around the edges and they are obviously not carrying out enough mainenance. This was in evidence when one of my group thinned a ball into the face of a bunker only for the bunker to gobble it up. The lip of the bunker had, what can only be described as the bristles of a baleen whale (look it up) hanging down from it. In 30 years of playing golf I have never seen this happen before on any course, anywhere. The only way to retrive the ball was to rake under the bristles with an upturned club until it fell out. Find that one in the rules!

Finally, the staff are completely apathetic and customer care is not high on their agenda.

Bjorn Egertz from Sweden
on Mon, 23rd Jul 2018
Old dull course
After 9 holes the course feels dull. Fairways not good with kind of rough gras.
Stephen from United Kingdom
on Thu, 19th Jul 2018
Great historic course - just a shame greens were on maintenance week.

also buggies were not included but we believed they were.

Miikka from Belgium
on Thu, 12th Jul 2018
Our first time on Penina Championship course. Greens were with a lot of sand and under aeration, thus putting was not that much fun. Course itself is technical with perfectly placed water hazards and numerous bunkers. Old eucalyptus trees give a nice smell to the air. Although flat and without fantastic manoramas, it is very interesting for golf itself!
Maurice Murphy from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Jun 2018
Played 10-27 course was in great condition
Josephine from Portugal
on Sun, 17th Jun 2018
1st time playing Penina Championship.
Pretty course and well landscaped. Mature course with trees that can provide shelter yet a pain if your balls land anywhere below the trees. Bad experience was we started at hole 10 as it was a busy day and after hole 18, we went to hole 1. When we got there, a lady came up and said to us “You play fast? Did you book?”. She was quite obnoxious and I said this was our 2nd 9. I also said if you play fast, you can go ahead as this is our first time playing here. She mumbled something and her husband said is better we proceed as they are walking and we have a buggy.
Phil from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
First golf holiday - 8 Lads
Great course to play on. Superb greens. Very pleasant staff, went above and beyond for us.
Ian
on Mon, 21st May 2018
Nice course worth a visit.
A good course some tight holes and water to negotiate but a fair test of Golf. Greens were very good. Staff could have been more welcoming and helpful but overall worth a visit.
Paul from Ireland
on Tue, 8th May 2018
Greens were reasonably good, fairways could be better , lot of grass,
Gerard from Europe
on Mon, 7th May 2018
Very good test of golf. Fabulous condition. Very enjoyable
Don from Portugal
on Wed, 2nd May 2018
Over charged for buggy
We enjoyed the course and it was in good shape. However, we were there on a twilight rate which was nice. We were charged 50 Euros for a buggy...this is outrageous! We are attracted to the course for a good green fee and then get jammed on the buggy cost. Very disappointed with that.
James from Canada
on Tue, 5th Dec 2017
Nice course but not well maintained.
John from Ireland
on Mon, 13th Nov 2017
Great challenge of golf
Brian from United Kingdom
on Wed, 8th Nov 2017
Dissappointingly average condition.
The course layout is good, but the course has had a lot of heavy traffic. Fairways were not in great condition, and the greens need a lot of attention. We were paired with a couple who played the course in March, they said the course was in excellent condition then.
Martin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 6th Nov 2017
Great course
Great course - varied, challenging holes and in fantastic condition. Looks like a lot of the issues previously mentioned have been resolved.
Hildegard from Germany
on Sun, 29th Oct 2017
For a Championship Course were the fairway and greens not good.

The green fee was too expensive for that.

Jamie from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Oct 2017
Great course. Greens need attention but overall it's a great place.
Sverker from Denmark
on Sat, 23rd Sep 2017
Not a good day
We were very disappointed. The standard of the course was low. Greens were good. It took us 2h40min to complete 7 holes. and over 5 hours to complete 18 holes. We waited at every hole and there were no personnel to speed up the game .
Debbie Mason from United Kingdom
on Wed, 26th Jul 2017
Loved the course. It was also very quiet which made it even better
Stan Mack from United Kingdom
on Sun, 21st May 2017
Needs a bit of work
A good course but seems to suffer on the fairways and water due to it being part of a hotel.

Not as good as in previous visists and it could do with a bit of TLC around the fairways as they seem to be suffering from overplay

Phil from United Kingdom
on Thu, 23rd Jun 2016
Looking a little neglected. Bunkers not raked and very compact. Needs some TLC to get it back to where it deserves to be
mark from United Kingdom
on Wed, 22nd Jun 2016
Very disappointed - course was tired -close on 5hours to complete - considering the green fee - poor value for money - will not be returning
Remi
on Tue, 21st Jun 2016
Nice course, morencrowded than the others.

challenging tee shots

Michael from United Kingdom
on Sun, 24th Apr 2016
Tired!
The worst course conditions we have played in Portugal. Scruffy presentation, bumpy greens, inconsistent fairways. Over-played and living off of past glories. In much need of TLC

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Penina Championship page's or to connect with other Penina Championship golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.