Loading
to

OConnor Reviews

Karl from United Kingdom
on Mon, 24th Jun 2024
Always like playing O’Connor, staff were brilliant especially the young lady on reception and the starter.

Course was in pretty good condition and will play again in October if the price is right.

Lawrence from South Africa
on Mon, 17th Jun 2024
O'Connor course
Challenging with a lot of water hazards, Good greens although a bit on slow side. Bunkers can improve
Dale from United Kingdom
on Sun, 19th May 2024
Disappointing O’Connor
Spectacular views from the clubhouse, but unfortunately the course was in poor condition. Buggies had no course navigation. Course too brown for mid May. Totally overpriced
joshua from United Kingdom
on Sat, 18th May 2024
Good course easier than the faldo, course was in good condition but play time was over 5 hours
John from Portugal
on Wed, 1st May 2024
Gone downhill.
Very poor condition on the O'connor course.

Buggy clapped out with torn vinyl

Sat nav on buggies give no distances.

Service from the staff nowhere near what is used to be.

Even pencils were rationed, 1 between 2 players.

Stephen from United Kingdom
on Wed, 10th Apr 2024
Much more enjoyable and playable course than Faldo.
Richard Ledgard from United States
on Mon, 8th Apr 2024
Not as good as last year but still worth a visit.
Lee from United Kingdom
on Sat, 10th Feb 2024
Lee J on tour
Played in the rain as could not get a refund if cancelled.

A very good Course which is more ‘friendly’ for amateur golfers than it’s neighbour The Faldo.

Peter from Portugal
on Wed, 3rd Jan 2024
Fairways
Greens great just bare lies in faiways
Iain
on Thu, 21st Dec 2023
Good Layout and Excellent Greens
We had played Faldo previously and had been very impressed so tried O’Connor this time. Unlike Faldo there are no elevation changes but we were not disappointed. Good layout and excellent condition of greens.
Colin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 18th Oct 2023
Very enjoyable and challenging
Another great course next door to the Faldo course. Not quite as difficult, but still challenging and very enjoyable to play.
TIMOTHY from Nigeria
on Fri, 13th Oct 2023
Average
Course was in reasonable condition but we had a 25 minute delay due to non availability of golf carts. Play was also slow and we finished in the dark
Michael from Germany
on Tue, 10th Oct 2023
Worth to play!
Very nice course!
Anthony from Austria
on Thu, 5th Oct 2023
Just fantastic

Great course for higher handycap golfers

John Hampson from United Kingdom
on Sun, 1st Oct 2023
OConnor course review
A reasonable test of golf. The course was in excellent condition, and the greens were in good condition as well.
Robin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 27th Sep 2023
Tee boxes not in good condition,it was like tee'in it up in rough( not that i have lol )but apart from that the course not bad at all
Mark from United States
on Tue, 19th Sep 2023
O’Conner Course
Great challenge and in pretty good condition. Some areas of tee boxes were worn and occasionally there were some dug up areas. Greens, fairways and bunkers were in good condition.
Kevin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Sep 2023
Really enjoyed the course .The whole process including ,hire clubs buggy etc was easy and the club hours was friendly and pleasant
Jonathan from Portugal
on Mon, 11th Sep 2023
Jonathan
Good test of golf
Derek from United Kingdom
on Wed, 6th Sep 2023
Have played many times over the years. Course was in very good condition, clubhouse excellent. 8 low to mid handicappers had great day out.
gerry from United States
on Sun, 30th Jul 2023
Oconnor
Great course
Daniel from United Kingdom
on Tue, 6th Jun 2023
O’Connor Course
Really enjoyed the golf course. Challenging but not too tough that you can’t enjoy (8.3 handicap index) would definitely recommend for anyone below a 25 handicap
Mike Humbles from United Kingdom
on Sun, 28th May 2023
Enjoyable experience
Maybe not as challenging as the Faldo Course but not easy either. Some nice looking holes and an enjoyable course to play.
Richard from Ireland
on Sat, 22nd Apr 2023
Played on a very windy day. Did not enjoy too much.would prefer the Faldo course.
David from United Kingdom
on Thu, 2nd Feb 2023
Good enjoyable experience if a big overpriced.
Course is a lot more playable than Faldo. O’Connor was very much a more enjoyable experience and while we had a buggy, it is certainly walkable. Greens, fairways were all in great order. Paths were in better order on this than the Faldo.

My one gripe would be that for a quality setting the course should have a Pin Placement Notice for the day. This should be on the first tee, with corresponding pin locations on the scorecard. E.g. A, B, C, D or E for example. It’s just when playing to the green, we had no idea what oar5 of the green the Pin was cut. I’ve played O’Conner designed courses before in Ireland and feel this is overpriced compared to his Ireland courses which are every bit as good.

Jimmy Pham from Spain
on Tue, 24th Jan 2023
good course
played the O'Connor in Jan 2023...good winter condition...it's relatively flat ...walkable...a bit easier than the Faldo course...staff were very accommodating...👍👍👍
Ryan from Ireland
on Tue, 10th Jan 2023
Thoroughly enjoyed
Elisabeth Brandy from Germany
on Sat, 31st Dec 2022
Sehr schöner Platz in gutem Pflegezustand
raymond from United Kingdom
on Fri, 30th Dec 2022
Albefera Golf
Excellent course and facility's.
Julie from United Kingdom
on Sun, 25th Dec 2022
Great Course
Great course in good condition for the winter. Greens run true. The layout is challenging but playable for all levels.
Steven Dranfield from United States
on Fri, 25th Nov 2022
solid track. conditions a bit spotty again, mostly fwy.
Eric from Portugal
on Fri, 25th Nov 2022
Reasonable test for all handicaps
Very enjoyable round although a little slow. Obviously the management are trying to get maximum amount of tee times in which is understandable to a degree. The course was in reasonable condition considering the amount of players although the greens were showing lots of unrepaired pitch marks. It provides a reasonable test for all levels with bale out areas when a hazard is just too difficult to take on. Definitely recommend.
Stewart from Portugal
on Thu, 17th Nov 2022
O Connor
Great course. Really Need to know your way round certain holes or you are in big trouble!!
Mario from Switzerland
on Tue, 25th Oct 2022
Magnifique parcours, entretien parfait, très bon green, à recommander
Michael from Germany
on Wed, 12th Oct 2022
great experience
Course in very good condition! We had a lot of fun. Play OConner first and then the Faldo course.

The service in the Clubhouse really is a joke. But I imagine the problems they have in hiring good staff.

We certainly will play Faldo and OConnor a second time

Peter from Europe
on Thu, 6th Oct 2022
Disappointing service
Course was in good condition, but a real tough challenge for us being mid to high handicaps.

What was very disappointing was the service in the clubhouse after the round, waited over 20 mins to get table service for a drink and a further 20 mins to come back for the food order, over an 1 1/2 hr to have a burger and a beer, When paying those prices i'd expect better service than that. Won't be going back for a while.

Alistair from United Kingdom
on Sun, 2nd Oct 2022
Stunning course and venue
Stunning facilities, excellent course with challenging holes but overall very enjoyable. Good pace of play and course very well maintained.
Jimmy Gallagher from Ireland
on Sun, 25th Sep 2022
Shocker
Played it Sept 2022, should be avoided at all costs. The tee boxes are an absolute disgrace. Greens ok but overall this place is in dire need of some serious work on the course as it is very tired and gives the instant feel of a course in trouble. Best avoided if possible.
Dermot
on Sat, 24th Sep 2022
Very pleasant lady in reception and very smooth procedure on check in Fairways and greens in great condition Tee boxes and surrounding areas in very poor condition Green fees a little on high aside but OConnor course better value for money than any of the Pestana course
Carol Shields from United Kingdom
on Wed, 21st Sep 2022
Super course. Great service from the staff.
Damien from Ireland
on Mon, 19th Sep 2022
Great Course
Really well designed modern course with plenty of water. Course in great condition.
William from United States
on Sun, 11th Sep 2022
Was a great course to start our Golf Bonanza!
Nice layout. Very playable but challenging. Was very challenging on the back nine when the wind kicked up always in our face. Didn’t give 5 stars because too many par fours….you couldn’t hit driver…just had to lay up. One or two is OK but 5 or 6 is too many. All for of us thought it was the perfect starter course for our trip. (Lastly…the carts we’re horrible. Had so many areas where they were automatically slowed…very irritating. Also the carts had maps of holes but no gps distances…which made club selection difficult.
Richard from United Kingdom
on Wed, 24th Aug 2022
Satisfied returning golfer
I love the O'Connor course. Easier than the Faldo (which is arguably the hardest course I've ever played) but still a challenge. Fairways and greens have clearly been well used this summer but this is the second time I've played in the last 2 months and both times I've been more than happy with the overall state (which will only get better when the heatwave subsides). Staff are friendly and the bar also serves a nice burger!
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 1st Aug 2022
Friendly service at a good price with the summer special.

The course was a good challenge and the greens were in excellent condition.

Allan from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Jul 2022
Nice enough layout, not in the best of condition though. Tees were very poor and some greens were poor.
mark from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Jul 2022
Mark Watson
Great condition,greens really good
Karl from United Kingdom
on Tue, 28th Jun 2022
Course was in decent condition, no hold ups, always enjoy this course.
James Redfern from United Kingdom
on Mon, 27th Jun 2022
Really enjoyed playing O'connor would definitely play again
Joel from Netherlands
on Sun, 19th Jun 2022
Easier than Faldo, still a beautiful course
Very good course to play, a bit easier than the Faldo course. Also it was really busy so we waited at every hole. Still had a good day and the staff was kind.
Barry from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th May 2022
Very good but not an easy course. Made to feel very welcome both at reception and the buggy people.
Peter Willcox from Portugal
on Wed, 11th May 2022
O’conner in Great Shape May 2022
The practice Green has some devilishly difficult breaks to read around the pins but fear not the O’Connor Jr course greens are more straightforward to read. On the day of play they were in wonderful condition running fast and true and with minimal unrepaired plug marks. The bunkers were perhaps the best I have ever encountered. There was 1/2” of dry light sand with a wetter layer underneath in every one I encountered (4 or 5). A highly skilled player could pick the ball off the dry layer taking relatively little sand or a mid handicapper or less proficient could take more sand and find the sand wedge travels through the wetter sand without encountering a hard-packed base layer. Such uniformity between bunkers is quite rare.

The fairways were in excellent condition although one could quibble that the grass on the yellow tees, being most used, could have been more uniformly cut to a slightly shorter length.

The design was very enjoyable with a well defined shape to most holes. The yellow tees suited my average driving distance of 230-240 yds. If you are a longer hitter you will find the landing areas narrow or run out in some cases beyond 240 yds off the yellows and it might be less risky to play off the whites. Although there is water on the majority of holes I only found it only on one hole although to be fair wind speed was only 10mph or less. On a windy day expect to lose more balls.

I thoroughly enjoyed the round.

Patrick from France
on Sun, 5th Dec 2021
Quality of services and challenging golf course when it is windy
John from Portugal
on Sat, 6th Nov 2021
enjoyment
Always a pleasure to play
Ian Mcleod from United Kingdom
on Sun, 17th Oct 2021
Bristol Portugal golf 2021
Lovely course with great views, fairways and greens. However, course buggy paths were a little tired and require maintenance.
Mark from england
on Fri, 1st Oct 2021
Excellent
John from Ireland
on Thu, 30th Sep 2021
Sad christy
Far too many long shots over the birancas and the buggy sat nav doesn’t give you any distance information to any hazards.
James from United Kingdom
on Thu, 30th Sep 2021
Not up to usual high standard
Over the years have played this course (&the Faldo), several times. Unfortunately on this occasion our visit was very disappointing. The usual meet & greet service was not in place, poor service in the bar/ restaurant with very limited choice available. The condition of the practice range & putting green was poor. Onto the course and it is evident it is suffering from a lack of attention. Teeing grounds and their surrounds looking not cared for. Fairways were in good condition but the greens far from their usual high standards. Halfway house was open and friendly staff member with basic but good selection on offer.

I am sure they have suffered during the pandemic with lack of visitors and staffing issues but things need to improve given the premium prices being charged.

Shane Keane from Ireland
on Wed, 22nd Sep 2021
This was a fine looking course but the greens and bunkers were not brilliant, the greens played quite slowly and the bunkers were very compacted (although we did see the course staff working on them)
Darren from United Kingdom
on Sat, 17th Jul 2021
OC
Nice course good clubhouse worth the drive out from Vale do Lobo for a change.
peter from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Oct 2020
Has potential
Has potential to be much better. The layout was really good, no silly holes and a few real challenges. Fairways in v good condition but tee boxes were overgrown and badly prepared and the greens are struggling from a bit of infection, as well as being far too long. Course felt like it hadnt been looked after for the last week or two so should have been a bit cheaper. Putting green was not usable and course lacks distance markers to greens. However, cut the greens and redo the tee boxes and it’s a championship course but in current state, the old course and victoria offer much better value.
Michael from Ireland
on Thu, 1st Oct 2020
Decent Day out !!
A typical resort style course with wide fairways and big greens , pretty Location and nice variety with dog legs . Highlight is the condition of fairways , absolutely top

Class , Greens were mixed with a lot of bumps and lumps . The tee boxes were in bad condition , they looked like they had been resodded and relayed ! Anyway we did enjoy the course and it’s a lovely resort

Dirk from Germany
on Sun, 23rd Aug 2020
Schöner Platz
Netter Platz der nicht ganz ohne ist. Hat Spaß gemacht.
phil from United Kingdom
on Fri, 6th Dec 2019
O’Connor course
Very unkept but a nice lay out .
Ben from United Kingdom
on Thu, 24th Oct 2019
We had a very enjoyable round of golf at Amendoeira O,Connor.

The staff were friendly and efficient and the course was in excellent shape,

We will definitely be back.

Colin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Oct 2019
Far better than the Faldo for condition
Far better maintained than Faldo, course is easier but still interesting enough to keep you going. Greens still could be better maintained
Gary from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Oct 2019
Course very busy , 5 balls playing , 5.30 hour round not acceptable , green awful state , staff didn't care , over priced for what it is and offering
richard from Portugal
on Mon, 30th Sep 2019
a disappointment
Unfortunately, the greens are in very bad order diluting the enjoyment of the game.
David Keating from Ireland
on Sun, 22nd Sep 2019
An enjoyable day out
A real resort course, not too difficult but has plenty to offer in terms of water, bunkers and length. Hard to miss a fairway yet the course is well protected. An enjoyable place overall, with a clubhouse to savour too. The back nine is a treat especially the last few holes.
Stewart from Portugal
on Thu, 1st Aug 2019
O Connor course
Este campo do golfe é um dos melhores no Algarve. Está fantástico.
Michael from Sweden
on Fri, 12th Jul 2019
Really good course
We really had a good day. Challenging holes, course in very good condition.

Just be award that the paths are very slippery

Michelle from Canada
on Wed, 3rd Jul 2019
A bad day of golf is better than _____. Not here.
Chaotic club house, terrible pace of play, slow greens, scorched fairways, and worst of all, warm beer off the cart (which came around once).

I should have stayed on the beach...speaking of which, the traps were sloppy, too.

William from Portugal
on Fri, 21st Jun 2019
Fantastic
Fantastic from arrival to departure, great course in fantastic condition, but the whole visitor experience 10/10
giovanni from Italy
on Tue, 18th Jun 2019
Bearyful
Beatyful course
Dougie from United Kingdom
on Sun, 16th Jun 2019
Love this course!
Great layout and excellent condition. Staff all very pleasant and practice facilities are excellent. The only thing that slightly spoiled the experience for me was the slow rate of play. There are plenty of stewards on the course but they appear unwilling to do anything about slow groups. Will definitely play again though.
Alan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 14th Jun 2019
Superb course
Superb course - lovely condition and a very interesting layout which makes you think carefully about each shot.

Greens were top notch.

Probably the best course I’ve played on the Algarve.

Colin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
We will be back
Service is second to none.

Course is suitable for all handicaps as long as you are sensible.

Lots of wildlife and great views

Neil Rattray from Portugal
on Fri, 7th Jun 2019
Great course for intermediate & good golfers
Lovely course layout and good facilities, well conditioned tees fairways and greens when we played in June. I would recommend for 18 or lower handicappers, lots of water and impenetrable plants line the fairways so if you’re not straight off the tee bring balls, lots of balls
Eva from Portugal
on Sat, 11th May 2019
Bad Organisation
The course is nice, but the organisation terrible! We waited for 50 minutes before we got our buggy. Obviously more tee times are being sold than there are buggies available.
Gerlinde from Austria
on Wed, 2nd Jan 2019
One of our favorite courses at the Algarve
Great golf course, beautiful plants, lot of water, very well maintained.
AlgarveGolf.net
Another great photo, thank you Gerlinde
Ian from United Kingdom
on Mon, 31st Dec 2018
O’Connor Course 30/12/18
Course in excellent condition, staff all very friendly and helpful. Was also a good price.
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Fri, 2nd Nov 2018
Nov 2018 review
Course layout good and condition good. But there are some scruffy areas bordering the course, junk under bridges etc which detract from the enjoyment. Clubhouse bar lacks character.
Julius from Belgium
on Sat, 6th Oct 2018
Beautiful,
NIGEL from United Kingdom
on Sat, 8th Sep 2018
Good test
Good course in good condition. Haven’t played here previously but will return. Arrived alittle late but did not provide a problem.
Ludmila from Czech Republic
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
The best condition
Beautiful course in very good condition, lots of water, beautiful vegetation. Changing course but not for high handicap golfers. Great service included!
Gerlinde from Austria
on Tue, 31st Jul 2018
Tricky course with lots of water
Very nice course in good condition, lots of water, beautiful vegetation. We certainly will come back!
Tom from Ireland
on Wed, 27th Jun 2018
First Class
Really beautiful and changing course but not for high handicap golfers - anyone over 18 will struggle to score with all the water and carries to the fairway. Great service included!
Graham from United Kingdom
on Tue, 17th Oct 2017
No buggies. Chaos.
Waited an hour for a buggy.

Chaotic. Disorganised.

Didn't get anywhere near finishing the round.

Tony from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Oct 2017
Only if you are on your game
Be precise on all of your green approaches.

There is water, ditches & bulrushes everywhere.

You will need a course plannner & yardage, if you want to finish with the ball you started with?

Liam from United Kingdom
on Wed, 4th Oct 2017
Excellent course and facilities
Fantastic facilities and customer service. Course in great condition. Better for higher handicappers than the Faldo, but still testing enough for better players.
Kevin from Canada
on Mon, 28th Aug 2017
service was average , course and course conditions were very good

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on OConnor page's or to connect with other OConnor golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Green Fees & Tee Times
All golf course green fees, deals, and tee times displayed on Algarve Golf are offered at the lowest discounted rates permissible. We look forward to assisting you with your booking in Portugal. ⛳
Algarve Golf uses cookies.