Loading
to

OConnor Reviews

Karl from United Kingdom
on Tue, 28th Jun 2022
Course was in decent condition, no hold ups, always enjoy this course.
James Redfern from United Kingdom
on Mon, 27th Jun 2022
Really enjoyed playing O'connor would definitely play again
Joel from Netherlands
on Sun, 19th Jun 2022
Easier than Faldo, still a beautiful course
Very good course to play, a bit easier than the Faldo course. Also it was really busy so we waited at every hole. Still had a good day and the staff was kind.
Barry from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th May 2022
Very good but not an easy course. Made to feel very welcome both at reception and the buggy people.
Peter Willcox from Portugal
on Wed, 11th May 2022
O’conner in Great Shape May 2022
The practice Green has some devilishly difficult breaks to read around the pins but fear not the O’Connor Jr course greens are more straightforward to read. On the day of play they were in wonderful condition running fast and true and with minimal unrepaired plug marks. The bunkers were perhaps the best I have ever encountered. There was 1/2” of dry light sand with a wetter layer underneath in every one I encountered (4 or 5). A highly skilled player could pick the ball off the dry layer taking relatively little sand or a mid handicapper or less proficient could take more sand and find the sand wedge travels through the wetter sand without encountering a hard-packed base layer. Such uniformity between bunkers is quite rare.

The fairways were in excellent condition although one could quibble that the grass on the yellow tees, being most used, could have been more uniformly cut to a slightly shorter length.

The design was very enjoyable with a well defined shape to most holes. The yellow tees suited my average driving distance of 230-240 yds. If you are a longer hitter you will find the landing areas narrow or run out in some cases beyond 240 yds off the yellows and it might be less risky to play off the whites. Although there is water on the majority of holes I only found it only on one hole although to be fair wind speed was only 10mph or less. On a windy day expect to lose more balls.

I thoroughly enjoyed the round.

Patrick from France
on Sun, 5th Dec 2021
Quality of services and challenging golf course when it is windy
John from Portugal
on Sat, 6th Nov 2021
enjoyment
Always a pleasure to play
Ian Mcleod from United Kingdom
on Sun, 17th Oct 2021
Bristol Portugal golf 2021
Lovely course with great views, fairways and greens. However, course buggy paths were a little tired and require maintenance.
Mark from england
on Fri, 1st Oct 2021
Excellent
John from Ireland
on Thu, 30th Sep 2021
Sad christy
Far too many long shots over the birancas and the buggy sat nav doesn’t give you any distance information to any hazards.
James from United Kingdom
on Thu, 30th Sep 2021
Not up to usual high standard
Over the years have played this course (&the Faldo), several times. Unfortunately on this occasion our visit was very disappointing. The usual meet & greet service was not in place, poor service in the bar/ restaurant with very limited choice available. The condition of the practice range & putting green was poor. Onto the course and it is evident it is suffering from a lack of attention. Teeing grounds and their surrounds looking not cared for. Fairways were in good condition but the greens far from their usual high standards. Halfway house was open and friendly staff member with basic but good selection on offer.

I am sure they have suffered during the pandemic with lack of visitors and staffing issues but things need to improve given the premium prices being charged.

Shane Keane from Ireland
on Wed, 22nd Sep 2021
This was a fine looking course but the greens and bunkers were not brilliant, the greens played quite slowly and the bunkers were very compacted (although we did see the course staff working on them)
Darren from United Kingdom
on Sat, 17th Jul 2021
OC
Nice course good clubhouse worth the drive out from Vale do Lobo for a change.
peter from Russian Federation
on Tue, 27th Oct 2020
Has potential
Has potential to be much better. The layout was really good, no silly holes and a few real challenges. Fairways in v good condition but tee boxes were overgrown and badly prepared and the greens are struggling from a bit of infection, as well as being far too long. Course felt like it hadnt been looked after for the last week or two so should have been a bit cheaper. Putting green was not usable and course lacks distance markers to greens. However, cut the greens and redo the tee boxes and it’s a championship course but in current state, the old course and victoria offer much better value.
Michael from Ireland
on Thu, 1st Oct 2020
Decent Day out !!
A typical resort style course with wide fairways and big greens , pretty Location and nice variety with dog legs . Highlight is the condition of fairways , absolutely top

Class , Greens were mixed with a lot of bumps and lumps . The tee boxes were in bad condition , they looked like they had been resodded and relayed ! Anyway we did enjoy the course and it’s a lovely resort

Dirk from Germany
on Sun, 23rd Aug 2020
Schöner Platz
Netter Platz der nicht ganz ohne ist. Hat Spaß gemacht.
phil from United Kingdom
on Fri, 6th Dec 2019
O’Connor course
Very unkept but a nice lay out .
Ben from United Kingdom
on Thu, 24th Oct 2019
We had a very enjoyable round of golf at Amendoeira O,Connor.

The staff were friendly and efficient and the course was in excellent shape,

We will definitely be back.

Colin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Oct 2019
Far better than the Faldo for condition
Far better maintained than Faldo, course is easier but still interesting enough to keep you going. Greens still could be better maintained
Gary from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Oct 2019
Course very busy , 5 balls playing , 5.30 hour round not acceptable , green awful state , staff didn't care , over priced for what it is and offering
richard from Portugal
on Mon, 30th Sep 2019
a disappointment
Unfortunately, the greens are in very bad order diluting the enjoyment of the game.
David Keating from Ireland
on Sun, 22nd Sep 2019
An enjoyable day out
A real resort course, not too difficult but has plenty to offer in terms of water, bunkers and length. Hard to miss a fairway yet the course is well protected. An enjoyable place overall, with a clubhouse to savour too. The back nine is a treat especially the last few holes.
Stewart from Portugal
on Thu, 1st Aug 2019
O Connor course
Este campo do golfe é um dos melhores no Algarve. Está fantástico.
Michael from Sweden
on Fri, 12th Jul 2019
Really good course
We really had a good day. Challenging holes, course in very good condition.

Just be award that the paths are very slippery

Michelle from Canada
on Wed, 3rd Jul 2019
A bad day of golf is better than _____. Not here.
Chaotic club house, terrible pace of play, slow greens, scorched fairways, and worst of all, warm beer off the cart (which came around once).

I should have stayed on the beach...speaking of which, the traps were sloppy, too.

William from Portugal
on Fri, 21st Jun 2019
Fantastic
Fantastic from arrival to departure, great course in fantastic condition, but the whole visitor experience 10/10
giovanni from Italy
on Tue, 18th Jun 2019
Bearyful
Beatyful course
Dougie from United Kingdom
on Sun, 16th Jun 2019
Love this course!
Great layout and excellent condition. Staff all very pleasant and practice facilities are excellent. The only thing that slightly spoiled the experience for me was the slow rate of play. There are plenty of stewards on the course but they appear unwilling to do anything about slow groups. Will definitely play again though.
Alan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 14th Jun 2019
Superb course
Superb course - lovely condition and a very interesting layout which makes you think carefully about each shot.

Greens were top notch.

Probably the best course I’ve played on the Algarve.

Colin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
We will be back
Service is second to none.

Course is suitable for all handicaps as long as you are sensible.

Lots of wildlife and great views

Neil Rattray from Portugal
on Fri, 7th Jun 2019
Great course for intermediate & good golfers
Lovely course layout and good facilities, well conditioned tees fairways and greens when we played in June. I would recommend for 18 or lower handicappers, lots of water and impenetrable plants line the fairways so if you’re not straight off the tee bring balls, lots of balls
Eva from Portugal
on Sat, 11th May 2019
Bad Organisation
The course is nice, but the organisation terrible! We waited for 50 minutes before we got our buggy. Obviously more tee times are being sold than there are buggies available.
Gerlinde from Austria
on Wed, 2nd Jan 2019
One of our favorite courses at the Algarve
Great golf course, beautiful plants, lot of water, very well maintained.
AlgarveGolf.net
Another great photo, thank you Gerlinde
Ian from United Kingdom
on Mon, 31st Dec 2018
O’Connor Course 30/12/18
Course in excellent condition, staff all very friendly and helpful. Was also a good price.
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Fri, 2nd Nov 2018
Nov 2018 review
Course layout good and condition good. But there are some scruffy areas bordering the course, junk under bridges etc which detract from the enjoyment. Clubhouse bar lacks character.
Julius from Belgium
on Sat, 6th Oct 2018
Beautiful,
NIGEL from United Kingdom
on Sat, 8th Sep 2018
Good test
Good course in good condition. Haven’t played here previously but will return. Arrived alittle late but did not provide a problem.
Ludmila from Czech Republic
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
The best condition
Beautiful course in very good condition, lots of water, beautiful vegetation. Changing course but not for high handicap golfers. Great service included!
Gerlinde from Austria
on Tue, 31st Jul 2018
Tricky course with lots of water
Very nice course in good condition, lots of water, beautiful vegetation. We certainly will come back!
Tom from Ireland
on Wed, 27th Jun 2018
First Class
Really beautiful and changing course but not for high handicap golfers - anyone over 18 will struggle to score with all the water and carries to the fairway. Great service included!
Graham from United Kingdom
on Tue, 17th Oct 2017
No buggies. Chaos.
Waited an hour for a buggy.

Chaotic. Disorganised.

Didn't get anywhere near finishing the round.

Tony from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Oct 2017
Only if you are on your game
Be precise on all of your green approaches.

There is water, ditches & bulrushes everywhere.

You will need a course plannner & yardage, if you want to finish with the ball you started with?

Liam from United Kingdom
on Wed, 4th Oct 2017
Excellent course and facilities
Fantastic facilities and customer service. Course in great condition. Better for higher handicappers than the Faldo, but still testing enough for better players.
Kevin from Canada
on Mon, 28th Aug 2017
service was average , course and course conditions were very good
Robert from United Kingdom
on Mon, 14th Aug 2017
Mr Smith
Great course fair but hard, in great condition the day we played too, I don't think you will be disappointed with this course.
Adam from United Kingdom
on Tue, 20th Jun 2017
Fantastic course!
Course was in fantastic condition - the fairways were like carpets and the greens were smooth and ran well. A fair test of golf with wide fairways and big greens but plenty of bunkers and water also. The buggies are very smart, but a little too smart at times, meaning you have to reverse out of places which is a slight inconvenience.

Also great views from the 19th!

matt from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd May 2017
Disappointing round on a very nice course
Nice, scenic course with excellent greens. Unfortunately due to the time of year the course had far too many people on and from what I saw the clubhouse should be very strict on handicaps as our round took 5 hours and we were held up on every hole!! Disappointing round on a very nice course!!
Stefan from United States
on Sat, 31st Dec 2016
Very tough course especially from the back tees. Many ravines require clever game strategy. Course was in fantastic conditions. Not as undulating as Faldo course. We liked both courses a lot.
Pether
on Tue, 27th Sep 2016
Best course so far for us
Good course with a great lay out. Good maintenance and friendly staff.
Geraint from UK
on Thu, 15th Sep 2016
Not quite as good as previous years. Bunkers need more sand. That was the same problem as last year. Excellent service from the staff. Lovely food.
Celine
on Sat, 30th Apr 2016
Très beau golf
Andy from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Apr 2016
OConnor
Great layout but greens in average condition and far too slow. They looked like they hadn't been cut that morning. Not good for peak season prices of £100 a round.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on OConnor page's or to connect with other OConnor golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.