Loading
to

Morgado Reviews

Alan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 5th Oct 2018
Morgado. A good test.
Very enjoyable, a proper test of golf with some long holes, as well as some that will punish a stray shot.
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Thu, 6th Sep 2018
Greens were in poor condition as the course had been closed for maintenance. In fairness we were offered to play on the sister course (Alamos) as an alternative. Good layout with nice variety of hole layouts. Would recommend
Stewart from Portugal
on Sat, 4th Aug 2018
Really good back 9. Front 9 a little less inspiring but still a decent track.
Tony Clements from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Jun 2018
6 of us played Morgado and we loved it. The course was demanding as it was windy when we played. Nice layout, but more of a links/moorland feel, compared to the typical resort courses on the Algarve. Would like to play it again on a less windy day.
Neill from Portugal
on Wed, 20th Jun 2018
Played alto golf 3 years ago and 2nd time playing Morgado in 2 years course in grear condition both timesand is good challenge for golferss of all handicaps
jeffrey hogg from United Kingdom
on Mon, 18th Jun 2018
The course is good value for money - but - they had lost our tee booking - squeezed us in - the course has a general air of being unkept - in particular balls going into the first cut can easily be lost - altogether disappointing - won’t be going back
Josephine from Portugal
on Sun, 17th Jun 2018
1st time playing Morgado
Great course!! Wide fairways but rough is treacherous!! Very dense and swallow the balls even though the grass is not tall. Trees are not mature enough to provide shelter from the heat. Best play in cooler months.
CARL from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Jun 2018
slow greens
course inexcellent condition except for one major issue, the long and fluffy slow greens, never putted on slower, i know the greens were recovering from the recent open but these should let people know, have enjoyed it previously
Phil from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
First golf holiday - 8 Lads
Great course to play on. Superb scenery. Very pleasant staff.
Padraic from Ireland
on Mon, 4th Jun 2018
Played it on a windy day with a lovely couple from Swedan. Course in good nick. Greens much faster than Espiche
Anthony from United Kingdom
on Thu, 17th May 2018
Excellent scenic course in good condition.
Huge number of bugs on front nine....probably bad timing, but the course is excellent. Fantastic scenery and wildlife. Greens better here than elsewhere. Glad to have had a buggy. Course just hosted Tour event so would expect it to be in good condition.
Karl from Germany
on Thu, 10th May 2018
Terrible slow playing. 5:30 Round. No marshal available.
Gavin from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th Apr 2018
A worthwhile visit
Second time I've played it and better than I remember. Lots of work being done to get it ready for the Portuguese Open but didn't impact our game nor the quality of the course.
Kenny from United Kingdom
on Mon, 23rd Apr 2018
Morgado
Prefer the layout of Alamos for fun holiday golf.
Anthony from United Kingdom
on Mon, 19th Mar 2018
Morgado Review
T boxes poor.

Bunkers full of water - no drainage.

Greens good considering the weather.

Fairways ok.

Bernd from Portugal
on Mon, 19th Mar 2018
Try it and you will love it
Best place Algarve, not so much „overdone“ golfer without any idea of golf! Fairways are wide enough for mistake driven balls. No houses to close to the golf area, that’s prevents accidents! Greens and Fairways excellent.

The shop and the restaurant is o.k.

When you stay at Algarve and you are a real golfer, you should go there.

Paul Bushell from United Kingdom
on Thu, 8th Mar 2018
Good layout and good variety of holes.Unfortunately heavy rain stopped play and only played first 9 holes.
John from England
on Mon, 26th Feb 2018
Morgado - a bit disappointing.
Very good well stocked pro-shop with friendly , attentive and helpful staff. Caddy mater very helpful.

Course not in that good condition with very heavily sanded tee boxes and fringes of the greens. Some greens cut but others were not making it difficult to judge the speeds of the putts. Fairways were very dry and showing signs of wear and some were quite bear and bald in places.

Very nice clubhouse and bar / restaurant facilities with friendly staff.

Having played Pestana courses Gramacho & Alto earlier in the week, Morgado was quite disappointing.

Tero from Finland
on Mon, 19th Feb 2018
Nice course
Leppoisa lomakenttä - tilaa on hyvin, joskin paljon myöskin bunkkereita. Good course, lot of space and in good condition.

Vuokramailat keskinkertaiset hintaan nähden - kannattaa vuokrata jostain muualta. Kärryt ja pallot molemmat 6 euroa. Ystävällinen henkilökunta.

Judith from Portugal
on Thu, 15th Feb 2018
Lovely golf course, had a great round. Club staff all very helpful. Had a lot of bunker practise!
Uwe Karges from Germany
on Thu, 15th Feb 2018
Fast greens
The Morgado Golfcourse looked brown. But. The fairways and the greens were very well maintained. It made us very comfortable. The starter was very attentive and sent us on the Tee 10 because there was a large group in front of us. Very good...
William from United Kingdom
on Sun, 4th Feb 2018
Nice course, pity about the unfinished building works which spoils the setting
Björn Jakobsson from Portugal
on Tue, 30th Jan 2018
Nice Course
Alan Horne from United Kingdom
on Sat, 27th Jan 2018
Enjoyable
This is a course which is wide open and forgiving for those few wide shots. The greens are in good condition. Overall an enjoyable course.
Wolfgang from Germany
on Sun, 21st Jan 2018
Sehr schöner Platz
Sehr schön und nur zu empfehlen!Kommen gerne wieder und werden das nächste Mal sicher bei algarvegolf.net buchen!
Jean-Pierre from France
on Thu, 18th Jan 2018
Morgado c'est beau
Trés agréable parcours ,mais comme beaucoup de parcours de golfs certains golfeurs restent incorrects sur le parcours. Une certaine éducation se perd . Je précise je joue index à un chiffre .
Brigitte from Netherlands
on Sun, 26th Nov 2017
Our day at Morgado
Very good and Nice golfcourse, very friendly persons and everyone is kind to show you everything what you wanted to lnow
Peter from Portugal
on Sat, 18th Nov 2017
Morgado
A nice course with greens under work!
ZIGGY PASTWA from Poland
on Tue, 14th Nov 2017
Very well mainained course .Greens very fast.Very much enjoyed.Thanks
Peter from United Kingdom
on Sun, 5th Nov 2017
Okay baguettes.
Bunkers not even sand and holes badly cut.
Miikka from Belgium
on Thu, 2nd Nov 2017
First 9 very flat. Holes going back and forth. Not that interesting setting, though holes are of interest for golf. Back nine more hilly and variable.

The whole setting is a bit strange, as it seems that a huge hotel/golfinh enter had been started to be built. Yet, one hotel-looking building is completely empty, and anohter huge complex is only half way built....?

David from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Oct 2017
Enjoyable days golf
Nice course, the practice area is very good. Bunkers on the course are perfectly placed and in great condition
Graham Barron from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Oct 2017
Open course with bunkers as the main hazard. Attached to a hotel well maintained busy course also los alamos attached. Well worth a visit. Staff friendly and facilities good.
Nigel Fallon from United Kingdom
on Sun, 24th Sep 2017
Very disappointing. Course was in poor condition and there were some temporary greens which was surprising as we were in the 'high' season.
David
on Fri, 22nd Sep 2017
Always a pleasure!
David
on Fri, 22nd Sep 2017
What a difference a week makes!
Morgado back to its stunning best, all the greens in great condition after the maintenance, worth the wait!
David
on Fri, 22nd Sep 2017
Greens recovering from maintenance, but rest of the course was in great condition.
Keith
on Tue, 19th Sep 2017
The course was having a heavy maintanance programme in operation.
Kevin from United Kingdom
on Sat, 16th Sep 2017
An interesting course to play and well worth a visit.

The greens had been treated and were a little rough in places but we had been warned about this in advance and were given a discount so no complaints.

James
on Sat, 16th Sep 2017
Miller/Logan annual golf outing
Morgado was not in best condition but playable, in fairness we were advised in advance of temporary greens

An enjoyable game in good time

Club house excellent good choice of food served very quickly

Staff friendly & efficient

David from United Kingdom
on Sat, 2nd Sep 2017
Morgado greens shocking!
Extremely disappointed with conditions of greens. Lots of bare patches and covered in sand. Almost impossible to putt on. Staff disinterested in feedback. Appreciate your comments?
Adam from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Aug 2017
Reasonable course & value
Course in reasonable condition, clubs and buggy ok
Robert from United States
on Tue, 15th Aug 2017
Enjoyable, but too dry (course and us!)
Lovely set out course, but areas in poor condition for having held the Open de Portugal recently.

The rough was like straw and other areas were burnt/not watered correctly too.

Also the drinks cart managed to avoid us the whole round, which was poor, as we were in desperate need of refreshments come the back 9.

Overall the course looked like it could be a great one if looked after like others in the Algarve are or out of Summer season when its naturally wetter.

Still enjoyed the game, but could have been outstanding with better watering.

Duncan from Portugal
on Fri, 30th Jun 2017
Nice and open course, good for holiday golf
Would have awarded 7 from 10 but 3.5 not an option.. Open fairways and decent greens. Not the most interesting course and it was very busy when we played so felt a little rushed. Give it a go though...it's good value and ideal to make up one of your holiday rounds. Sister course Alamos is better though in my opinion.
Colin
on Sat, 24th Jun 2017
Colin F
Enjoyed a pleasant mornings golf at Morgardo. Not too busy, course in good condition.
Barry from Portugal
on Thu, 15th Jun 2017
Suitable for mid to high handicappers
This course isn't spectacular in its scenery or it's layout but it is a very good course for mid to high handicappers. Plenty of room and in good condition, I would have no problem playing it again.
Brian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 13th Jun 2017
Enjoyable course to play
Myself & my fellow golfer are high handicap golfers (25) and found the course enjoyable to play. As suggested in other reviews the first 9 are fairly flat and benign. However, this prepares you for the second 9 which is more challenging but nonetheless just as enjoyable.
Brian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 13th Jun 2017
Enjoyable course to play
Myself & my fellow golfer are high handicap golfers (25) and found the course enjoyable to play. As suggested in other reviews the first 9 are fairly flat and benign. However, this prepares you for the second 9 which is more challenging but nonetheless just as enjoyable.
Jamie from Canada
on Fri, 9th Jun 2017
Nice golf course. We were out early and finished in just over 3 hours 40 minutes. Fun to play, wide open except for the many bunkers protecting the greens.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Thu, 8th Jun 2017
Great Course. We highly recommend playing
We played this course today. Great Course, for all range's of handicaps. Course was in great condition & all staff were very accommodating. Will definitely be playing this course again.
Darren Ferguson from United States
on Mon, 5th Jun 2017
Great Day Overall
Excellent course but slow play. Not enough refreshment buggys.
ian from United Kingdom
on Sat, 29th Apr 2017
Golf trip
Played morgado a few times and would recommend it with its wide fairways and good greens the clubhouse is good with excellent food and drink
Dave from United Kingdom
on Sun, 2nd Apr 2017
Course was good but needs to mature a bit more and felt a little over busy.
Steven Browning from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th Feb 2017
disappointing
if you like fairways that are almost baldy then this is for you,also paid for buggy only to be told stay off the fairways.until fairways are in better condition i would not want to play this course again
Steven from Portugal
on Fri, 3rd Feb 2017
No buggies on fairways
Having played both courses this week I was disappointed by the fact I paid for a buggy but was told to stay off the fairways on both occasions,buggies cost a fair bit of money so why does no one tell us we cannot use the buggy to reach our ball unless we keep it to the side of fairway next to cart path.No doubt the courses don't want us to know about this until we get there and most times you have paid in advance so no chance of a refund.Seems to me courses are more interested in getting money out of visitors whether we enjoyed the course or not is not important as get the money first.
keith from United Kingdom
on Sat, 28th Jan 2017
Great greens after several inches of rain
Enjoyed a relaxing game of golf at Morgado. Went out on my own and was let through when appropriate. After very heavy rain the day and night before the course was a little wet but the greens were in really good condition, ball ran true and were challenging. all staff were very hospitable and helpful, Food great too. The course manager came round twice to check I was happy, not being help up etc. would definitely recommend a visit
Petra from Portugal
on Tue, 17th Jan 2017
a super course.. a bit of water but not to lot.. very friendly.. up and down.. not too much
John from Portugal
on Tue, 10th Jan 2017
morgado
First time here. Not in great condition a bit tatty. Greens were OK. Some decent holes on the back nine. Looks like an area which had great promise at one time but is a bit forlorn and in need of investment.
Richard from Portugal
on Fri, 6th Jan 2017
Highly recommended.
First time I've played this course and thoroughly enjoyed it. Course is in really good condition apart from a few soggy patches although there is a lot of preparation work taking place in readiness for the Portugal Open in May 2017. I've played the Alamos course here a few times and always found the staff to be friendly, helpful and welcoming.
David from Portugal
on Thu, 5th Jan 2017
Mr
Enjoyed Morgado. First time for me, the greens were the best I have seen. Long open fairways, good to let go with the driver.
John from Portugal
on Thu, 5th Jan 2017
Morgado - One to play
Lot of work being done to improve the quality of course. Much improved on last time I played there. Pity the 'gentleman' acting as caddy master when we picked up our buggy hasn't undergone a similar transformation. He was unpleasant and not customer focused at all 🙁
Odd from Norway
on Fri, 21st Oct 2016
Boring and nice
The front 9 was very dull, long and 'dry'. The back 9 was quite another course.
Colin from United Kingdom
on Fri, 21st Oct 2016
Good holiday golf course.
We bought a 2 round package from AG which provided 1 round on each of Morgado and Alamos Golf Courses; this provided good value holiday golf. Morgado is the longer of the 2 courses with mainly wide inviting fairways that allow you to 'open your shoulders'. The course is relatively flat on the front 9 with more undulation and challenging terrain on the back 9, but relatively easy if you choose to play without a buggy. The greens are larger and flatter than the sister course Alamos so 2 putts were certainly not guaranteed!
Douglas Russell from United Kingdom
on Tue, 18th Oct 2016
Not a good experience
The course was in quite a poor condition, it had obviously been raining for a few days so fairways and rough were wet and heavy.

The greens had been tined and a covering of sand on all the greens made putting difficult.

When I booked the tee times well in advance, I had asked for an extra buggy as we wanted to go out in 2, three balls. Only to find on the day that the course had over booked the buggys so no chance of an extra one.

All in all not a happy chap, course in poor condition, no extra buggy and the course had so many people on it it took 2 hours to play the first nine and 3 hours to play the second nine.

As a group we have played the course on a number of occasions and always liked its layout and playability but not this year.

We won't be playing it next year

Ian from Denmark
on Tue, 27th Sep 2016
Nice wide fairways but well bunkered to offer a good challenge. Friendly staff a and a nice clubhouse.
Phil Brook from United Kingdom
on Mon, 19th Sep 2016
Parched...
Easy course to play, wide open fairways. The recent hot weather has parched the grass and the greens, bit like playing off weetabix, but enjoyable.
Jacinta from Portugal
on Sun, 18th Sep 2016
Chris from Ireland
Very disappointed greens sanded should have been told this before starting also direction to tee boxes very badly sign posted won't be coming back
Bernd from Germany
on Sat, 17th Sep 2016
Oberview!
Easy but interesting to play. Well maintained fairways and greens. More challenges are welcomed. Service in the clubhouse could be improved further.
Alan from United Kingdom
on Sun, 24th Jul 2016
Excellent condition
Tees, fairways, bunkers, driving range and greens all in excellent condition. Good service from the Caddie Master. Nice clubhouse overlooking the course.

Only issue was the refreshment wagon didn't pass us the entire round - it was in excess of 30 degrees C - we had to pop into the shop after the 9th hole to top up again.

mark from United Kingdom
on Wed, 22nd Jun 2016
Excellent facilities - staff both friendly and professional-our group really enjoyed the experience
Stefan from Sweden
on Fri, 13th May 2016
Good course!
Very good condition!

Been a lot of rain these past days but the course was not that wet.

Paul from United Kingdom
on Wed, 4th May 2016
Disappointing day
Course very wet and almost unplayable in places. Wouldn't go back.
Trevor from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Apr 2016
Really enjoyed the course fairways great condition. Greens played bit slow but really consistent.
Seamus
on Sun, 7th Feb 2016
Bare Fairways
As usual the service from yourselves was very good.

However we were very disappointed with Morgado. Having played there a number of times previously we were looking forward to it but it was in very poor condition.

A real shame as I've played it lots of times before but the fairways were very bare, like grass was dead, the greens were very slow.

There seems to be a disease in the grass as it was like a links course that had been burned.

There is a lovely bar and reception there and that's the best part.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Morgado page's or to connect with other Morgado golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.