Loading
to

Castro Marim Golf Reviews

Mike Humbles from United Kingdom
on Fri, 12th Jul 2024
Hidden gem!
What a hidden gem of a course, very near to the Portuguese/Spanish border.

Perhaps not quite as well maintained in places as some of the more expensive courses in the Algarve, but there are so many interesting holes here that it's easy to forgive that. It's a really enjoyable course with some lovely views. Would absolutely recommend a visit here.

Philip from Netherlands
on Thu, 11th Apr 2024
Very good
Nice courses and good organization
Donnie from Portugal
on Tue, 27th Feb 2024
Castro Marim on a windy Saturday in late February.
We played the Grouse and the Guadiana as the 2x9 combination. On balance the course was in fair condition for February. The fairways were very patchy with preferred lies in operation. The greens were excellent. The downside was the pace of play. Both courses were too difficult (long) for the standard and age profile of those playing. I play off 7 and it was a challenge for me. Push the tees up for both men and women with a handicap recommendation of who should play off which tees. This would speed up play and make it more enjoyable.
Jason from United Kingdom
on Mon, 6th Nov 2023
Really enjoyed our golf at Castro Marim friendly staff made us feel really welcome- course in ok condition greens had a lot of unrepaired pitch marks - but definitely would return
Danielle from Turkey
on Tue, 17th Oct 2023
Give yourself a test!
Technically hard and testing course. Up keep could be better. Greens need more work. Staff are lovely and most helpful.
William from United Kingdom
on Sun, 14th May 2023
What A Challenge
Although a fairly new golf course it was in great condition. The greens are true and fast with all the bunkers in good condition. For what looks like a short course, yardage wise, it is a tough challenge with narrow fairways and steep changes in gradients. Add to this the narrow entrance to greens and run offs and you have to be accurate. The pro shop and bar were both friendly and helpful. A real test of your golf skills. Only small issue was that some fairways had wear and could give you a poor lie.
Timothy from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd May 2023
Friendly reception and Golf Pro shop. Course a little bare in places due to lack f rainfall we assumed but greens in good condition and all three 9 hole courses were very pleasant to play. Note there are no water stations on the courses so take plenty of water!!
Michael from Portugal
on Mon, 1st May 2023
Nice and easy
Nice golf course in good condition.

Good and kind service

Jon from United Kingdom
on Thu, 16th Mar 2023
Lovely course, good test and greens fantastic
Timothy from United Kingdom
on Tue, 10th Jan 2023
Average for Algarve
Very imposing club house, but course not quite up to same standard. Reasonable value friendly staff.
Daniel from United Kingdom
on Sun, 27th Nov 2022
.
Juhani Uljas from Finland
on Sat, 5th Nov 2022
Partly in poor condition, rented clubs and buggies old
Annette from Germany
on Sat, 5th Nov 2022
Unfortunately the fairways and greens are not in a good shape. Difficult course, which was very beautiful to play three years ago. Sad, that the quality lacks. But still a very beautiful surrounding and clubhouse. Very, very friendly and helpful Marshall !!
Antoon from Portugal
on Fri, 4th Nov 2022
Finding driving range and various courses pretty difficult. Better signs pls.
Martin from Germany
on Sat, 29th Oct 2022
A very good overall experience
Golf course in excellent condition, very interesting to play, relaxing as not overcrowded, stunning views, very friendly staff. A very good overall experience. We will be back.
David from United Kingdom
on Sat, 15th Oct 2022
Challenging course, fantastic views
Very picturesque course and quite hilly. Several challenging holes as you would expect in the hills and tight fairways due to shale/rocky edges. Some areas a touch boggy, presumably through overwatering but do understand that it does need regular watering due to the dry landscape. Will definitely return.
Philippe from Portugal
on Fri, 14th Oct 2022
Too much people
Greens and Fairways in bad shape, insufficient number of buggies, no starter on course and certain holes with five parties on one hole, slowly game much more than 4 hours and alf,... Positive point the staff at the proshop very kind, and an electric charger on the parking for electric cars.
Stephen Watson from United Kingdom
on Tue, 11th Oct 2022
Poor condition
Played 10th october 2022. Dreadful greens. Poor tees. Very disappointing. I hope we won't come back next year.
Duncan from Portugal
on Mon, 3rd Oct 2022
Nice course great value
Great value, nice course in the hills with plenty of natural features and a few lakes. Bunkers sand to course but maybe needed that way due to winds. Green had been treated and were not the best but overall a really nice round and great value for the Algarve.
John from Ireland
on Tue, 27th Sep 2022
Hotel and golf review
Transport excellent very polite on time .

Golf Course could do with some attention , greens were not in the best shape.

Golf clubs at course could do with being updated.

Hotel staff were rude at times and did not have enough drinks or snacks , disappointing.

Stephen from Portugal
on Mon, 26th Sep 2022
An enjoyable day’s golf
It is still a good course but not as good as it was pre Covid. The greens, in particular, are not as good. Before they were some of the best I have ever played on. Now they are average.

The service in the bar was excellent and the food good.

Mark from Portugal
on Fri, 23rd Sep 2022
Tough course
Super course, definitely not for the novice, tight narrow fairways, greens are good, could do with a little more work on them, but overall a tough demanding course, well worth every penny, will definitely play it again
Andreas from Portugal
on Mon, 12th Sep 2022
Good value for the money
Good value for the money. Fairway a bit dry, but that’s normal for the time.

Some greens could have been in better shape.

Little shadow on the terrace of the bar.

Geert from Netherlands
on Tue, 31st May 2022
Castro Marim review
Great course! Beautiful views from the teeboxes! Fairways in good condition. Not easy because of undulations. Fysical conditions challenging.
Paddy Duddy from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th May 2022
Excellent course. Greens A1. Staff very helpful. Only downside for me was the poor standard of rental clubs.
Angela from United Kingdom
on Wed, 18th May 2022
Castro Marim hilly walk
Castro Marim good course but book a buggy very hilly not an easy walk. Quirky clubhouse
Jean-Rodolphe Dirix from Belgium
on Tue, 22nd Feb 2022
Vert nice course, poor hospitality
Hazel from Portugal
on Tue, 22nd Feb 2022
An interesting hilly course
An interesting course with lovely views very hilly and a buggy recommended for seniors like ourselves. Friendly staff and comfortable clubhouse.
Andy Richardson from United Kingdom
on Fri, 3rd Dec 2021
Challenging track with good greens.
Played Guadiarna/Atlantico combo. Good challenge with fast and true greens. Course generally in very good condition except for tee boxes which were poor. Reception and all s staff were excellent, clubhouse very good.
Andy from Canada
on Fri, 3rd Dec 2021
A little rougher condition than other courses
Fairways a bit rough, most of the greens OK, you do get what you pay for. Layout interesting but fairly tight, can lose balls.
Mike from United Kingdom
on Wed, 10th Nov 2021
The course was in poor condition; greens had many bare patches and the roll was uneven, the fairways and tees were also poor with lots of weeds . We played here 3 years ago and the change for the worse was dramatic
Steve from Portugal
on Tue, 2nd Nov 2021
Castro Marim
Nice undulating course quiet challenging… Greens not in the best condition but ran true…

Friendly helpful staff in club house..

Les from Germany
on Sun, 24th Oct 2021
Excellent early morning golf
Course in good condition , greens true and quick, well worth a visit
John from United Kingdom
on Mon, 27th Sep 2021
Two challenging 9 hole courses.
Course not in perfect condition but really interesting layout and range of challenges more than made up for it.
Les from Germany
on Mon, 7th Jun 2021
Good days good at Castro marim
It doesn’t get any easier here, played many times and it’s still as tight as ever. Course in ok condition although seems to have suffered a bit during covid lockdown. No doubt it will be back to its best very soon .
Michael from Ireland
on Wed, 11th Nov 2020
Underwhelming
What a disappointment this course was , poor condition , it has a great opportunity to be a good course but needs investment and TLC , elevations play a key role in the design and some holes are a good challenge but overall it underwhelms and although cheap by Algarve standards not worth a 45 minute drive if you are around Faro , there are better options available in the Eastern Algarve .
Marjan from Portugal
on Wed, 16th Sep 2020
Course review
When you’re ball isn’t on the fairway, it’s lost because the grass is too high, very difficult to find
Ian from United Kingdom
on Mon, 20th Jul 2020
A Sunday round.
Great day. Lovely setting. Excellent views. Helpful and efficient staff. Could not master the greens. Slower than expected but that was my problem. Good value.
Jens-P. from Germany
on Sun, 22nd Mar 2020
all perfect, except we had rain
Ulrich from Portugal
on Tue, 25th Feb 2020
Room for improvement
very good: the Club House and the service

partly good: the greens

most of them OK but some of them .....

not good: the fairways

some of them remind us of concrete

David from Portugal
on Thu, 20th Feb 2020
Nice round but could have been better
Nice course layout and in pretty good condition for February. People were friendly and helpful. A couple of improvements would be: the rental set was awful, for 25 euros they should provide a decent set of clubs and a bag that isn’t ripped. Also provide a pencil with the score card or on the buggy. Charging for pencils is lame.
Ulrich from Portugal
on Mon, 6th Jan 2020
Nice Layout
Okay to play with many interesting and challenging holes. Fairways not in particular great condition (maybe due to the season??) Several holes requiring precise tee shots from elevated tees. Greens generally true but with varying speeds. Golfing Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely patio for a nice after-golf beer or snack.
Les from Germany
on Mon, 9th Dec 2019
Great value Eastern Algarve golf
Excellent condition and great round
Gilbert from Belgium
on Fri, 25th Oct 2019
Perfect
andrew from United Kingdom
on Fri, 25th Oct 2019
Castro Marim Aaahhhh
Not as expected from previous visit years ago . Course looked tired especially Atlantic nine holes tee boxes were a disgrace chopped to bits , greens patchy, generally shabby , buggy paths need repair not all worth the money .

It will be off the list for the immediate future. Disappointed ☹️

Ian from United Kingdom
on Wed, 23rd Oct 2019
Nice day
Staff helpful and efficient. Food service also efficient. Bit out of the way but compensated by a very nice golf course. Many holes are individual requiring accurate shot placement. Attractive. Will be going back there. Good pace of play
Bertrand from Canada
on Thu, 3rd Oct 2019
Castro Marim Golf course.
Nothing boring about that course.

Very good test of golf with plenty of challenging shots.

Very nice panoramic course: We had our money’s worth.

David Bigelow from United States
on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
Nice course, a bit intimidating with the closeness of the trees on some holes. Service was top notch, young man at the desk very accommodating and informative. Would play it again.
Shelton from United States
on Sun, 8th Sep 2019
Won’t play again
I wouldn’t waste time playing this course. If you are in Castro Marim play Qunito De Vale instead....much better. The greens were very slow and the course wasn’t maintained very well. I would skip it.
Norbert from Portugal
on Sat, 7th Sep 2019
Super interessant.
Schwerer Course. Wir kommen gerne wieder.
Ronald from Portugal
on Thu, 11th Jul 2019
Good layout needs more water
The course is a little short in length but has an interesting layout. They need to water it more. The grass is too short and missing in some areas. If watered more it would be 4 stars.
John from United Kingdom
on Sat, 6th Jul 2019
July 2019
Set in the hills, a buggy is essential. Several blind shots on dog leg holes. Not quite as scenic as Quinta do Vale but course in good condition. Lovely club house.
Allan from United Kingdom
on Mon, 27th May 2019
Excellent golf at a competitive price.
Our 5th year back at Castro Marim and once more it didn't disappoint. Each of the 3 courses were in good condition and we played here over 3 days, playing each of the 9 hole courses 3 times. Clubhouse facilities are excellent and the staff are very welcoming. We will be back again next year to face the challenge of the Atlantic, the Guadiana and the Grouse courses.
Paul from Belgium
on Sun, 5th May 2019
Paul
friendly staff nice course but frequently have to play your second shot from fairway with ball below or above your feet quick greens
David from United Kingdom
on Thu, 2nd May 2019
All of our party really enjoyed our games some tough driving holes but w all enjoyed the course lost a few balls. Possibly because we drank too much night before. All golfers were over 70 but you certainly need a buggie.
Bart from Belgium
on Tue, 23rd Apr 2019
15 holes ... twilight
Very nice course and friendly and clear and helpful reception. Nice variation on the Grouse and Guadiana nines. Unfortunately we were politely (!) asked to cut 3 holes short to make it back before closing at 7 pm (we started a twilight at 3 pm and took shelter for the rain , assuming there was ample time before sunset around 8). Still, defenitely worth a revisit!
Nicole from Germany
on Tue, 26th Mar 2019
Nice golfcourse
Very nice course, especially the Atlantic course.
GEORGE from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Mar 2019
Guardiana & Atlaantic. Trickey courses and a bit difficcult to find our way around. We were with another couple for a while which helped. Your arrangements worked perfectfully. The problems we had were with the clubs we hired from the club itself. They were old and battered and the grips were appalling; badly maintained, slippery, shiny and and in some cases damaged. The buggy got us round, but was on its last legs and found the slopes a problem. Recommend the course but not the pro shop or equipment, for which we paid 50 euros to hire.
Veroniek from Netherlands
on Tue, 5th Mar 2019
Great course Castro Marim
Castro Marim is a really great course. We played two times and now we know all 36 holes. Challenging but not too much.

The people are very kind. We are coming back, that for sure.

Alastair from Scotland, UK
on Thu, 24th Jan 2019
Castro Marim Golf
Wonderful variety of holes, particularly the Guadiana. Played in very strong wind and fast, true greens proved very difficult in the conditions. Friendly welcome at course. Definitely will return.
J from UK
on Mon, 21st Jan 2019
Castro Marim sold out for the money
Too many golfers who have no idea of the etiquette of golf. Waited 20 mins on the 3rd hole while the 2 ball in front played fishing for balls in the lake. You are turning away proper golfers, you need to police the handicap requirements. Doubt I will at Castro Marim again. It's a true shame
Gerlinde from Austria
on Sat, 29th Dec 2018
Great 27 holes
Great 27 holes - we played them all!😀😀😀
Marianne from Belgium
on Thu, 13th Dec 2018
Thank you for booking
Kevin Kelly from United Kingdom
on Wed, 28th Nov 2018
A most enjoyable day on a well presented course . An excellent Breakfast with excellent service
Pete from Portugal
on Tue, 20th Nov 2018
Good course
Pete from Portugal
on Tue, 20th Nov 2018
Good quality course.
Hennie from Portugal
on Mon, 19th Nov 2018
Castro Marim review
The course is beautifull but a part of the service is below par.

The driving range does not have good tees so you can ‘t use your driver.

Kevin Simpson from United Kingdom
on Wed, 17th Oct 2018
Recommended
Very nice course in good condition with good greens, very enjoyable would recommend this course.
Mark from United Kingdom
on Thu, 11th Oct 2018
Quirky and good value
Nice little course, not too long but challenging.

Really friendly staff, well organised and not too busy.

Worth a round.

Mike from United Kingdom
on Wed, 10th Oct 2018
Course was beautiful, greens were excellent, only downside was one of the buggies ran out of gas
Keith from United Kingdom
on Mon, 8th Oct 2018
Course in good condition
Bernard from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd Oct 2018
Value at Castro Marim
Super course and the best value, play it every year, though it’s a tough narrow fairway course if you are a bit wayward off the tee - bring lots of golfballs
Philip from United Kingdom
on Tue, 25th Sep 2018
Worth a visit, but tight
Visited for a day. Good deal on 2 people buggy. Excellent club house, restaurant and service. Played the Grouse and Guardiana 2x9. Course has some interesting holes, but tight driving on most. Greens OK but slow.
Corina from Portugal
on Mon, 17th Sep 2018
very nice course, lovely views, good greens
Trevor from Portugal
on Tue, 4th Sep 2018
have played it a number of times , nice course.
James from United Kingdom
on Wed, 29th Aug 2018
Castro marim golf 2018
Very nice course can be testing when the wind is blowing, but I have to compliment the greens staff. I play this course every year and the condition of the greens is always a sore point. But this year they are much improved keep up the top work.

I will play again

Richard from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Jul 2018
Definitely worth playing.......
Played Grouse and Guardina ..... quite different courses, greens in good condition, not easy courses for high h/c. Club house lovely, staff very good. Definitely worth a visit (at the right price ). NEED A BUGGY ,
Anthony from Portugal
on Thu, 21st Jun 2018
Poor maintenance
I have played castro Marim many times and find it fun to play. This time the maintenance let them down big time.

I accept it has to be done but the hollow tyning and dressing the greens left them almost unplayable. I've been on others that have been done that are nowhere near as bad as these. Also the fairways had been done but they hadn't cleared the debris away. I mentioned these problems in the clubhouse and they said we should have been informed but we weren't.

Derek from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st May 2018
Challenging holiday course
Played twilight from 1400 hours - good value. Course fairly empty only 'mad Englishman'! Did Grouse and Guadiana nines - need to drive ball well for some tight dog-legs. Holes 3 & 5, plus holes 3, 4 & 5 on respective nines very good. Greens rolled well, fairways decent. Clubhouse very pleasant, helpful caddie master, access to locker rooms, nearby driving range, and reasonable priced 19th hole
Alun John from United Kingdom
on Thu, 17th May 2018
BGT 2018
Bransgore Golf Tour had a very enjoyable afternoon playing all three of the nine hole courses (Grouse, Guardinia and Atlantic). The courses and greens are in excellent condition with lots of variation and challenges, and an abundance of great scenery and views. Hilly courses, so buggies recommended. Excellent restaurant, bar and clubhouse. Thank you to Rita and to all the fabulously friendly staff that ensured we had an amazing day. Alun BGT 2018.
Marion from United Kingdom
on Thu, 17th May 2018
Very good layout
We loved the golf course, interesting and challenging without being too difficult, worth the drive. We really enjoyed it.
Alastair from Scotland, UK
on Sun, 6th May 2018
Castro Marim Feedback
First time at Castro Marim but we'll be back. Great challenge in wild countryside and natural lakes. We played the Grouse and the Guadiana. Very slick and fairly flat greens on the former and more lush but sloped greens on the latter. Probably an underrated course but we would certainly recommend a game here .... also got a great deal to include buggies. Buggies recommended as a few steep climbs.
Frans from Portugal
on Thu, 26th Apr 2018
Excellent golfing day at Castro Marim
Excellent views, well maintained fairways & greens, many challenges. A buggy is “neccesary” if you want to finish with enough air 😉.

Nice staff, very helpfull.

What did we not like?

- to pay € 3 for 22 balls on the driving range

- rental clubs NOT in good condition

Derek from Ireland
on Fri, 13th Apr 2018
Castro Marim...fantastic variety, very fair and sp
Excellent front 9, very fair and great variety of shots, the back nine which I think was the original front 9 was good, it was tougher, but just looked a bit different from the opening 9, but having said that it was very enjoyable.

I loved the course, I loved the tee boxes, some were spectacular, overall I would love to play it again some day and comparing the prices of some other courses we played in Portugal and Spain which were more expensive and didn't come close to Castro Marin, the course was very good value.

Jack from Portugal
on Mon, 5th Mar 2018
We were not told that the flight was with 4 persons.
Alan from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Dec 2017
Some scabby greens and boar damage. Bunkers are hard and gritty. However every hole is unique and some are quite challenging.
Erik from Portugal
on Wed, 29th Nov 2017
2 nice rounds on a hilly course
Very nice hilly layout. Local knowledge is an advantage. The Grouse 9 are quite entertaining but testing!

Take a lot of spare balls!

gerhard from Portugal
on Mon, 13th Nov 2017
Netter hügeliger Platz mìt teilweise schönem Blick. Für ältere Leute Buggy empfehlenswert. Angebot 120 EUR für 2 Spieler u Buggy war für uns attraktiv.
Mark from United States
on Mon, 23rd Oct 2017
Picturesque club in the Hills
Too hilly to walk. Some greens and fairways could be in better shape. Interesting layout with some challenging holes.

No starters at the No. 1 holes, so golfers just tee off regardless of tee times.

Enjoyable Golf

Ben
on Sat, 21st Oct 2017
Castro Marim
Friendly and organised reception desk, enjoyed a good breakfast before play in the modern and spacious clubhouse. Played Guardinia and Grouse nines which we always seem to get (never the Atlantic). Some greens were showing signs of extreme wear but otherwise the course was in good condition, didn’t think Buggy would make the whole 18 and it would be a long walk without one. Very much enjoyed our day.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Castro Marim Golf page's or to connect with other Castro Marim Golf golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Green Fees & Tee Times
All golf course green fees, deals, and tee times displayed on Algarve Golf are offered at the lowest discounted rates permissible. We look forward to assisting you with your booking in Portugal. ⛳
Algarve Golf uses cookies.