Loading
to

Castro Marim Reviews

Michael from Ireland
Castro Marim Golf on Wed, 11th Nov 2020
Underwhelming
What a disappointment this course was , poor condition , it has a great opportunity to be a good course but needs investment and TLC , elevations play a key role in the design and some holes are a good challenge but overall it underwhelms and although cheap by Algarve standards not worth a 45 minute drive if you are around Faro , there are better options available in the Eastern Algarve .
Philip from Portugal
Quinta do Vale on Sat, 17th Oct 2020
Good condition despite looking dry. Need to think your way around the penalty areas on the front nine. The back nine tests the legs if walking!
raymond from Portugal
Quinta do Vale on Tue, 13th Oct 2020
A hidden gem
A very tough course with lots of water. The course was in fine order & the greens were slick.

We found the clubhouse staff friendly & helpful

Richard from Spain
Monte Rei on Mon, 12th Oct 2020
Excellent . I have been lucky enough to play all over the world and this is in my top 10. Not for the high handicapper but a real test and what a facility
Juergen B. from Portugal
Monte Rei on Mon, 5th Oct 2020
Exzellenter Kurs. Perfekte Organisation. Hoher Preis, aber einmaliges Erlebnis.
ANDY from Portugal
Quinta do Vale on Fri, 25th Sep 2020
September 2020
Interesting Course in not bad condition- greens were very good! Fantastic location and scenery. Very quite - the only down side is all the unfinished house building that has laid dormant for what looks like decades!!! Very friendly and helpful staff - definitely worth playing!!
Marjan from Portugal
Castro Marim Golf on Wed, 16th Sep 2020
Course review
When you’re ball isn’t on the fairway, it’s lost because the grass is too high, very difficult to find
Joaquim Vilà from Spain
Monte Rei on Thu, 27th Aug 2020
No question the best course that we have played this week. Greens were high but, still the course is beautiful. We will come back.
Abderrahmane Bouazza from France
Quinta do Vale on Wed, 26th Aug 2020
Très belle expérience
Très beau parcours, pas très facile. Accueil sympathique. Mon préféré
Ian from United Kingdom
Castro Marim Golf on Mon, 20th Jul 2020
A Sunday round.
Great day. Lovely setting. Excellent views. Helpful and efficient staff. Could not master the greens. Slower than expected but that was my problem. Good value.
Jens-P. from Germany
Castro Marim Golf on Sun, 22nd Mar 2020
all perfect, except we had rain
Jochen from Germany
Monte Rei on Fri, 6th Mar 2020
The best
Terence from Portugal
Quinta do Vale on Thu, 5th Mar 2020
Bring plenty of balls
Fairways excellent, greens true good pace, lots of water, some stunning views, staff very helpful,and of course it’s a Seve course ! The great man, a pleasure to play there
John from United Kingdom
Quinta do Vale on Wed, 4th Mar 2020
Great course
Lovely course in excellent condition. Lots of water, especially on front 9. We lost about 20 balls between the two of us! Greens in excellent condition. Clubhouse staff very friendly and accommodating.
raymond from Portugal
Monte Rei on Wed, 4th Mar 2020
Monte REI tough but fair
A very tough but fair golf course. The condition of the golf course was superb with exceptionally challenging bunkers. The greens were very fast with lots of borrows. We had a very friendly welcome & we found the staff very helpful & charming. We bought the Tapas package & would highly recommend this as the variety of food plus the amount was spectacular value for money
Ulrich from Portugal
Castro Marim Golf on Tue, 25th Feb 2020
Room for improvement
very good: the Club House and the service

partly good: the greens

most of them OK but some of them .....

not good: the fairways

some of them remind us of concrete

John from United States
Quinta do Vale on Fri, 21st Feb 2020
Enjoyable but hard course
Great but tough course. Lots of water to avoid but the course is in very good shape. The greens were quite fast and ran true. The scenery is spectacular. Good course for all levels of golfers.
David from Portugal
Castro Marim Golf on Thu, 20th Feb 2020
Nice round but could have been better
Nice course layout and in pretty good condition for February. People were friendly and helpful. A couple of improvements would be: the rental set was awful, for 25 euros they should provide a decent set of clubs and a bag that isn’t ripped. Also provide a pencil with the score card or on the buggy. Charging for pencils is lame.
Rick from Spain
Quinta do Vale on Mon, 10th Feb 2020
Convenient location. Reasonable price.
Nice course. Unfortunately we were behind a corporate tournament. We were not notified of this until we were on the first tee. It was very slow - over 5 hours. We had booked several weeks ahead and it would have been a courtesy to have let us know and offer us an alternative time.
Olivier from France
Monte Rei on Thu, 30th Jan 2020
Excellent
Parcours magnifique, varié, difficile mais amusant à jouer.

Qualité parfaite

Service excellent

Francois WITRAND from France
Quinta do Vale on Tue, 7th Jan 2020
Very challenging quality course. We had a splendid round of golf
Ulrich from Portugal
Castro Marim Golf on Mon, 6th Jan 2020
Nice Layout
Okay to play with many interesting and challenging holes. Fairways not in particular great condition (maybe due to the season??) Several holes requiring precise tee shots from elevated tees. Greens generally true but with varying speeds. Golfing Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely patio for a nice after-golf beer or snack.
Gerlinde from Austria
Monte Rei on Thu, 26th Dec 2019
One of our Algarve favorits
Very beautiful course, well maintained, lots of water and bunkers, great seevice
Cyril from France
Quinta do Vale on Sat, 14th Dec 2019
This golf course is a chess game!!!!!
Not the best prepared, not the most beautiful views but what an interesting design .... If you want to work on your game strategy it's the golf course that you must play. Enjoy !!!
Les from Germany
Castro Marim Golf on Mon, 9th Dec 2019
Great value Eastern Algarve golf
Excellent condition and great round
raymond from Portugal
Quinta do Vale on Thu, 5th Dec 2019
A really strong challanging golf course with a terrific layout. Really worth playing. Bring your 'A' game & a few extra golf balls. The greens are large with lots of slopes. I look forward to my next visit.
Peter from United Kingdom
Quinta do Vale on Wed, 27th Nov 2019
Seve certainly created a challenging course
Fabulous course but very busy and also extremely windy when we played. Fortunately the group in front let us play through and we then only had a horizontal wind and numerous water hazards to overcome. Can’t wait to play it again - on a calm day!
Manfred from Portugal
Quinta do Vale on Tue, 12th Nov 2019
Ersatzbälle nicht vergessen
Diesen Platz zu spielen war eine Herausforderung. An unserem Spieltag blies der Wind sehr heftig. Das rechte Maß zu finden für die Verkürzung des Ballflugs bei Gegenwind und die Länge bei Rückenwind ist mir leider nicht gelungen. Sechs Bälle habe ich versenkt. Dafür kann der Platz natürlich nichts. Der Platz ist abwechslungsreich und spannend zu spielen.. Die Grüns sind in einem perfekten Zustand gewesen .
Marc from Belgium
Castro Marim Golf on Fri, 25th Oct 2019
Perfect
Marc from Belgium
Quinta do Vale on Fri, 25th Oct 2019
Ok
andrew from United Kingdom
Castro Marim Golf on Fri, 25th Oct 2019
Castro Marim Aaahhhh
Not as expected from previous visit years ago . Course looked tired especially Atlantic nine holes tee boxes were a disgrace chopped to bits , greens patchy, generally shabby , buggy paths need repair not all worth the money .

It will be off the list for the immediate future. Disappointed ☹️

andrew from United Kingdom
Quinta do Vale on Fri, 25th Oct 2019
Quinta do Vale
First time here smashing course front nine and back nine completely different, nice and relaxed and allowed to play as a two ball what a bonus
Ian from United Kingdom
Castro Marim Golf on Wed, 23rd Oct 2019
Nice day
Staff helpful and efficient. Food service also efficient. Bit out of the way but compensated by a very nice golf course. Many holes are individual requiring accurate shot placement. Attractive. Will be going back there. Good pace of play
Mike Knockedon from United Kingdom
Quinta do Vale on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
A Great golf course
played the course three times last week ( Friday, Saturday and Wednesday) each day we had fabulous weather the course was dry and in fantastic condition. The greens were in very good order- a superb course that would challenge ANY golfer. 7 holes on the front nine have water and when the wind is blowing it always comes into play. Only two holes on thje back have water but they are hilly. All in all a great experience. The staff are fabulous and very accomodating.
Gitte from Portugal
Quinta do Vale on Mon, 7th Oct 2019
Very good
Very good condition - just a nice course to play.
Bertrand from Canada
Castro Marim Golf on Thu, 3rd Oct 2019
Castro Marim Golf course.
Nothing boring about that course.

Very good test of golf with plenty of challenging shots.

Very nice panoramic course: We had our money’s worth.

David Bigelow from United States
Castro Marim Golf on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
Nice course, a bit intimidating with the closeness of the trees on some holes. Service was top notch, young man at the desk very accommodating and informative. Would play it again.
David Bigelow from United States
Quinta do Vale on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
Loved this course, all agreed that it would be worth playing again. Very well designed with many challenging pin placements. Fairways were quite wet the day we played but to be fair had rained the night before. Likely best value for the price paid.
Adam Douglas from Portugal
Quinta do Vale on Sat, 21st Sep 2019
Adam UK
Great design that is really fun to play. Was in great condition with really helpful staff and nice food. The best value in the algarve.
Shelton from United States
Castro Marim Golf on Sun, 8th Sep 2019
Won’t play again
I wouldn’t waste time playing this course. If you are in Castro Marim play Qunito De Vale instead....much better. The greens were very slow and the course wasn’t maintained very well. I would skip it.
Shelton from United States
Quinta do Vale on Sun, 8th Sep 2019
Good course close to Spain border
The. course was a little brown and not maintained in some spots. I would give it a 3.5. But if you’re close to the Spain border you should play it.
Norbert from Portugal
Castro Marim Golf on Sat, 7th Sep 2019
Super interessant.
Schwerer Course. Wir kommen gerne wieder.
midas touch from United Kingdom
Monte Rei on Thu, 29th Aug 2019
Great 70 the birthday present
We live, part year, in Castro Marim, Algarve. We have played golf in many places including the Algarve, USA, Tunisia, Morocco, Spain, UK (including The Belfry), Ireland (Lahinch...fantastic in itself).

I'm not sure if the layout, course condition, customer service, scenery, quality of course, greens, attention to detail could be bettered ANYWHERE on this planet. Every hole is in its own environment, and you do not see anyone else playing at the same time.

Carl from Portugal
Quinta do Vale on Wed, 28th Aug 2019
Interesting and challenging
Interesting and challenging course with plenty of penalty areas (water hazards). Beautiful views from a number of holes towards the border river and the bridge to Spain.
Giorgio Rutishauser from Switzerland
Quinta do Vale on Fri, 23rd Aug 2019
A more than interesting journey
Very nice course that I play regularly after discovering it last year.

Not easy to judge the club to take because the wind is often at stake.

The greens, including the impeccable greens and fairways, are maintained.

Beware of roughs that are not easy.

If you tend not to be straight with your face-offs, plan to use balls, especially on the holes in the way.

Stefan from Germany
Quinta do Vale on Sat, 10th Aug 2019
Toler Platz in gutem Zustand. Fairways und Grüns super gepflegt. Sehr empfehlenswert.
Ronald from Portugal
Castro Marim Golf on Thu, 11th Jul 2019
Good layout needs more water
The course is a little short in length but has an interesting layout. They need to water it more. The grass is too short and missing in some areas. If watered more it would be 4 stars.
Estelle from United Kingdom
Quinta do Vale on Wed, 10th Jul 2019
Great Value, superb course & views
Thouroughly enjoyed this challenging course - it was my day for losing balls but it did not detract from this being a beautiful course. Could not beleive we were only one of 3 2 balls on the whole course. Its great value for money and in a lovely setting - win win
AlgarveGolf.net
Suburb photo 😊
John from United Kingdom
Quinta do Vale on Sun, 7th Jul 2019
Pretty course
The course overlooks the Guardiana and Spain. Lots of water on first five holes but not too punishing. A very nice clubhouse and friendly staff. Course was practically empty when we played it.
John from United Kingdom
Castro Marim Golf on Sat, 6th Jul 2019
July 2019
Set in the hills, a buggy is essential. Several blind shots on dog leg holes. Not quite as scenic as Quinta do Vale but course in good condition. Lovely club house.
William from Portugal
Monte Rei on Sat, 29th Jun 2019
#1 visitor experiences in Algarve
Tremendous course in perfect condition, helpful, friendly staff, pampered for a day.

Without a doubt #1 visitor experiences in Algarve, try it 👍👍👍⛳🇵🇹

Ben Thompson from United Kingdom
Quinta do Vale on Sat, 15th Jun 2019
Excellent condition course
Excellent condition course, loys of water on the front nine so be careful! Very enjoyable, great value, easy to get to.
Antony from United Kingdom
Quinta do Vale on Fri, 7th Jun 2019
Masterful course design
I loved this course. Seve designed and you can tell. 1st and 10th and 7th holes all brilliant. Nice 18th. Good food at the clubhouse.
Allan from United Kingdom
Castro Marim Golf on Mon, 27th May 2019
Excellent golf at a competitive price.
Our 5th year back at Castro Marim and once more it didn't disappoint. Each of the 3 courses were in good condition and we played here over 3 days, playing each of the 9 hole courses 3 times. Clubhouse facilities are excellent and the staff are very welcoming. We will be back again next year to face the challenge of the Atlantic, the Guadiana and the Grouse courses.
Mark
Monte Rei on Tue, 14th May 2019
Monte Rei review
what an experience, brilliant, great service from start to finish, stupidly expensive but worth every penny in my opinion, all the staff made us feel very special and the condition of the whole package was first class
Chris from United Kingdom
Monte Rei on Fri, 10th May 2019
Montei Rei
The best course in the Algarve. A magical experience, if you get the chance you need to play this course. Exceptional service and a stunning golf course that is a great challenge
Paul from Belgium
Quinta do Vale on Sun, 5th May 2019
Paul
pretty hilly with lots of elevated greens
Paul from Belgium
Castro Marim Golf on Sun, 5th May 2019
Paul
friendly staff nice course but frequently have to play your second shot from fairway with ball below or above your feet quick greens
David from United Kingdom
Castro Marim Golf on Thu, 2nd May 2019
All of our party really enjoyed our games some tough driving holes but w all enjoyed the course lost a few balls. Possibly because we drank too much night before. All golfers were over 70 but you certainly need a buggie.
Philip Bocking from Germany
Monte Rei on Sat, 27th Apr 2019
Stunning
Simply stunning. There is not a single hole that does not inspire.

Golf Destination

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Castro Marim page's or to connect with other people who play golf in Castro Marim, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.