Loading
to

Vale do Lobo Reviews

Peter from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Royal on Sat, 25th Jun 2022
Played the Royal course, absolutely loved it but that white ball refused to go in the hole 😫

P

Damian from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Royal on Tue, 21st Jun 2022
Excellent condition challenging course
Darren Howes from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Royal on Sat, 18th Jun 2022
A lot of short insignificant holes even off the back tees, but it has 4-5 great holes and one of the best par 3’s you will ever play. 16th is worth the green fee alone. 235 yards into a wind over the beach. Par 3’s don’t get harder that that
Peter from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Royal on Thu, 16th Jun 2022
Great track
Excellent track and in great condition. Will come again.

One gripe; too many single players racing round and pressurising 3 and 4 balls. Not good.

Heinz-Peter Clodius from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Sun, 12th Jun 2022
Excellent Ocean Course with wonderful views!
Wir sind jedes Mal begeistert: sehr freundlicher Empfang, guter Service vor Start, excellent gepflegte Fairways und Spurtreue Grüns!
Adam from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Royal on Sun, 12th Jun 2022
Amazing
Amazing course, we played 4 big courses this holiday and this was the best by a mile
Monika from Poland
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Fri, 10th Jun 2022
Spectacular views
Spectacular views! Diverse holes - you won’t be bored and will definitely need a camera 📷!
Stephen from Israel
Vale do Lobo Royal on Fri, 10th Jun 2022
Royal is worth considering
Arguably not as much a test of golf for the serious player, but we rated it highly as it was fun to play and all golfers would enjoy. (We were paired with 2 high handicappers, 1 M 1 F, and although they didn’t score well they had fun and we weren’t incessantly looking for balls.)
Stephen from Canada
Vale do Lobo Royal on Thu, 9th Jun 2022
Great condition
Darren from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Royal on Wed, 1st Jun 2022
Great course
Love the Royal always a good test especially the 16th par three.
Glen from United States
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Fri, 27th May 2022
Val do lobo
Was in great condition. We’ll worth playing, was very quiet on the sunset tee time.
Morgan from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Royal on Mon, 23rd May 2022
Course is not that interesting and lacks distance by modern standards.

Needs a lot of upgrade especially bunkers which are well overdue for modernisation

Standard of players playing the course must be poor as pitch marks and bunker raking is virtually non existent

Paoloi w from India
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Wed, 18th May 2022
Spettacolo!
Campo spettacolare!

Struttura e organizzazione di gran livello. Bella club house e pro shop.

Il campo è praticamente perfetto.

Le seconde nove più difficile ma con una vista meravigliosa sull'oceano.

Assolutamente da provare!

Tiernan from Ireland
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Thu, 12th May 2022
Amazing course can’t wait to play here again
Tiernan from Ireland
Vale do Lobo Royal on Thu, 12th May 2022
Wet tight course with no forgiveness for a miss placed shot
Veronique from France
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Mon, 9th May 2022
Fantastic course
Fantastic course.
Hugh from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Royal on Mon, 9th May 2022
Really enjoyable
Played this with my 21 year son and he said it was best course he has played, not a bad hole on the course. My third time playing and I probably appreciated it more this time. Some cracking holes. One of my favourite holes I have ever played is the 9th playing down to lake on right then large water feature on your left as you play up to the green. Iconic holes to the beach never fail to impress. Course was in pretty good condition and the green were very receptive. Great way to spend 3.15 hours.
Henrik from Russian Federation
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Sun, 8th May 2022
Nice round but a bit slow. Definitely come back again
Tony from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Tue, 19th Apr 2022
A great course and staff
Karen Clarke from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Tue, 5th Apr 2022
The Ocean Course atVale do Lobo another must play.
This is the second time I have played the Ocean Course. Every bit as good as the first time and of help is knowing my way round. I got out early and on my own so got round with no hold ups other than letting the greenkeepers finish on z couple of holes. They have sit on mini tractors to smooth the bunkers. An interesting watch. Everything is in terrific condition. The subtlety of the slopes on the greens still caught me out. The holes on the back 9, in particular 11, 14 and 15, the latter being the signature hole, are the most memorable although the 9th is right up there with the somewhat quirky. I rate this course another must play and only marginally behind the Royal course and the Old Course. A buggy or trolley definitely needed although I struggle to see how 50 euros is a fair price for a buggy. That though is my only gripe. Give both Vale do Lobo courses a go because you will definitely want to play them again.
Karen Clarke from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Royal on Sat, 2nd Apr 2022
Vale do Lobo Royal Course is a must play.
This is a stunning golf course. Tees, fairways and greens all in first class condition despite some evidence of small areas of ongoing maintenance and upgrades. These did not detract from a thoroughly enjoyable round in the company of a retired couple from Norwich who, incidentally, played the most consistently straight hitting off the tee you can imagine and they backed this up with some excellent grenside bunker play. What I would strongly advise is to get a buggy. The course is a long walk, as I found out, and harder still to carry. There are consistently changes in elevation throughout the course and at times a bit of a trek from green to tee particularly on the back 9. 16 to 17 is some distance and a little confusing so look out for the stone columns either side of a walkway / buggy track. Other than that the frustration was not with the course but other players. It was slow going and way too many bunkers had been left unraked and pitch marks not repaired. Nevertheless I would not hesitate to go back as I think it is better than the Ocean course, the other Vale do Lobo course, which is another belter, and as good as the Old Course which I think is the best course I have played here. All in all a must play in my opinion if you are staying in Villamoura. By the way the surrounding properties are equally fabulous.
David from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Royal on Sun, 27th Mar 2022
Not Great
Greens were good but rest of the course scrappy to say the least. It looks overplayed and wouldn’t hurry back
Richard from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Royal on Sun, 27th Mar 2022
Losing something
Marginally disappointed in conditions when we played there in March 22. Opinions vary of course but I just feel that VDL Ocean was better, however it is some time since we played there. We all felt that the famous par 3 - 16th - is over-rated (but we have had the good fortune to play on many courses).

Tees a bit untidy, although greens ran well (but not as slick as say Alamos). I wonder if VDL is losing out to nearby neighbours at Quinta ….. ? Much better options in the Algarve I feel.

Keiran from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Thu, 24th Mar 2022
Enjoyable course but had higher expectations
A good course saved by the greens and the views. The course was a bit rough in all honesty and the conditions weren’t as I’d expect for a course that’s 100 euros. The service in the resort also was disappointing, range not open until 8am and cafe/clubhouse not open until 8am. No good for us if we’re teeing off at 7.50am. Not the 5 star resort we expected it to be.
paul from Netherlands
Vale do Lobo Royal on Tue, 22nd Mar 2022
Royal course.
beautiful challenging golf course with a beautiful hole 16 on the sea. nice terrace to finish the round of golf.
Matthew from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Sat, 19th Mar 2022
Amazing staff, great environment. Course was impeccable, very well taken care of especially the greens!

Can’t wait to try out the royal course soon.

Mike from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Wed, 16th Mar 2022
An excellent course in excellent condition. Not to be missed.
Bernd from Germany
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Fri, 11th Mar 2022
Mare e Monte
Challenging, changeable and great teeshots (e.g. 10) and greenviews (e.g. 11 & 14) and even after good teeshot at 9 a green high above defended by bunkers, pines and waterfalls.
Karl from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Royal on Fri, 11th Mar 2022
Without a doubt a jewel

Every hole is a different challenge Nice social scene and clubhouse

Karl from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Fri, 11th Mar 2022
An ok course but on some blind holes possibility of harming other golfers
Luc from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Thu, 10th Mar 2022
Quality time
Played the Ocean 18 holes. Back 9 are the most beautiful playing close to the see. Green are fast and difficult. Had diner afterwards to conclude a great day!
Bruno from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Royal on Thu, 10th Mar 2022
Toller Platz
Toller Platz! Sehr gepflegt! Gute Zeiteinteilung
francoise from Belgium
Vale do Lobo Royal on Wed, 9th Mar 2022
Très beau parcours
Les derniers trous sont les plus beaux

Et par 3 au trou 16 .. challenging

francoise from Belgium
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Wed, 9th Mar 2022
Superbe
Incroyable vue

Superbe parcours

Ricardo Paulino from Canada
Vale do Lobo Royal on Mon, 7th Mar 2022
All around nice , 16 hole over the gully was hard , lots of wind from ocean side,

View of 16 hole is priceless!!!

Christopher from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Royal on Sat, 5th Mar 2022
Great course in great condition - loved it
Christopher from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Sat, 5th Mar 2022
Loved it even although our opponents were cheating barstewards
Thomas from Germany
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Tue, 1st Mar 2022
Lovely place
Very nice course and place
ian from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Fri, 25th Feb 2022
Long way from some greens to next tee.
Tony from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Fri, 18th Feb 2022
Love VdL Ocean course
Love Ocean course and my favourite over the Royal. Good variety of holes.
Tony from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Royal on Fri, 18th Feb 2022
A pleasure to play
Great course and a pleasure to play.
Urs Luther from Switzerland
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Sat, 12th Feb 2022
Vale do lobo super this year
Actually best in the area

Perfect round

Urs Luther from Switzerland
Vale do Lobo Royal on Sat, 12th Feb 2022
Vale do lobo excellent
Excellent condition

Must play

Tony from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Wed, 9th Feb 2022
Excellent
Excellent and a real joy to play and the views are genuine “ocean”
Chris from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Royal on Tue, 8th Feb 2022
Excellent fairways and greens,but a lot of crossing roads. Views are nicer on the Ocean course.
Chris from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Mon, 7th Feb 2022
Beautiful course, well maintained, diverse, great ocean views. Fairways in great shape.
Tony from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Mon, 7th Feb 2022
Love Ocean
Love the course that has challenging holes but nothing ridiculous and hence very enjoyable.
Tony from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Royal on Mon, 7th Feb 2022
Enjoyable Royal
Always enjoy Royal but on balance the Ocean course is better.
Birgit from Germany
Vale do Lobo Royal on Mon, 31st Jan 2022
Overall good condition. Nice greens. Bunkers a bit varying depending on location on the course. Challenging but fair course.
Michael Mclean from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Sun, 30th Jan 2022
Bit pricey for the experience
Bit disappointed with course layout. Expected more. Not cheap to play and it wasn't worth the price. Nice open course with some lovely vistas. Club house very good and staff were excellent.
Michael from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Royal on Wed, 12th Jan 2022
Fantastic course, great facilities and in mint condition.

I thoroughly recommend the royal course.

10 out of 10.

Didn’t do it justice😩

Ken Norden from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Royal on Wed, 5th Jan 2022
Ken
The condition of the course and greens are great. However, this is not a course for a serious golfer. It's almost as if you had some spare land so you decided to squeeze a golf course in there. It's way too short for serious golfers and probably suits golfers who are excited when they can drive 150 metres. We had to wait on every hole for the players in front to be almost on the greens before we could tee off. Very frustrating to take over 5 hours to play. The marshall needs to be involved in moving people along.
Lars from Sweden
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Sat, 1st Jan 2022
Wow feeling!
Real fun and exciting layout. In addition to hole 2, the course is an experience to play. Fantastic views and generally in good condition.

The restaurant is well worth a visit. Committed staff and really well-cooked food and good service.

Lars from Sweden
Vale do Lobo Royal on Sat, 1st Jan 2022
Nice and fun course to play.
Really nice couse. Good finish and many fun holes to play. The restaurant is well worth a visit. Committed staff and really well-cooked food and good service.
Mattia from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Royal on Sat, 1st Jan 2022
Great course, service can be improved.

Pull trolley 9€, pitch and put at the end of driving range, no possibility to wash your clubs alone.

Michael from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Sun, 26th Dec 2021
Some strange hole, overall it’s just ok for me, nice view’s and environment
Andy from Canada
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Fri, 3rd Dec 2021
Good course but Royal is better
Not quite as interesting as the Royal course. A couple of ocean holes. Condition was slightly worse than the Royal course as well. Some blind holes.
Einar from Portugal
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Thu, 2nd Dec 2021
The fourth star for the Ocean holes!

Very modest start but second nine are really good with nice views!

Shop and restaurant what is expected. Staff friendly and service minded even if service in restaurant was slow.

bernard from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Royal on Fri, 26th Nov 2021
Early bird fly round 3hrs 15 mins
A pleasant course in great condition -definitely the better of the 2 at Val do Lobo. All was going well all day apart from the 2 par 3s which unfortunately were card wreckers for both me and my playing partner-slight wrong choice of club on one and a ball still travelling to USA on the other.

Let down a little by the 18th which does not even end up near the clubhouse.

bernard from United Kingdom
Vale do Lobo Ocean on Fri, 26th Nov 2021
Satisfactory only
I was somewhat disappointed by the Ocean ,only on 6 holes did i think it was worth the money and we paid 70 euro as an early bird. Nice 1st and last and the few where you can see the sea are okay.

My problem ? I have played Westcliffs north of Lisbon so everywhere else cannot match that gem.

Golf Destination

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Vale do Lobo page's or to connect with other people who play golf in Vale do Lobo, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.