Loading
to

Penina Resort Reviews

Marion Bakker from Portugal
on Sun, 3rd Oct 2021
Holes with a lot of space
Nice course but because of the long dry summer the grass was brown and difficult to play.
Susan from United Kingdom
on Sun, 26th Sep 2021
Disappointing
What a disappointment this was. I’ve played on better municipal courses! It definitely wasn’t worth the money
ROGER BOWDEN from Portugal
on Wed, 15th Sep 2021
Penna is not up to standard
Very sorry to say that this course in very poor condition.

The greens are very bumpy and the fairways are up to the of most municipal courses.

Do not waste your money playing here.

Stuart from United Kingdom
on Wed, 15th Sep 2021
Nice course but needed maintenance
Bit disappointed with the over all conditions of the fairways on the 12.9.21 .

Decent enough course with some nice long holes and a good challenge for mid handicap golfers.

ROGER BOWDEN from Portugal
on Mon, 6th Sep 2021
A good experince at Penina
Very friendly staff. The resort course, which we had booked, was in very poor condition. After playing 9 I voiced my concerns tp Maria at the golf desk and we were having lunch Maria approached us and said we could complnatary use of the use of the championship course. A good outcome for us.
Frans from Portugal
on Wed, 1st Sep 2021
Nice golf but the fairways ……!
This golfcourse needs maintenance, because the fairways were not in good condition.
Johan from Portugal
on Fri, 21st May 2021
Boring and bad
Boring and badly maintained
Nigel from United States
on Fri, 6th Nov 2020
Three old gits on a golfing week in the Algarve
This course was in dreadful condition.

Wild boars have caused damage in many areas but that wasn't the main problem.

The fairways were patchy in place (i,e, with no grass), and had weeds growing out in other places. It appears that they hadn't been watered for weeks.

The greens were consistent, save for one which was a temporary one, caused by boar damage on the real green.

Overall, it appears the Pennina Group ploughs its funds into the championship course and ignores the Resort course.

Very disappointing.

We will never return.

Steve from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Nov 2019
Small resort course ( 9x2)
Good course for starting with on a vacation. Greens are good but very flat, not hard to read. Fairways are flat and wide. Not a big challenge, can be played easily in around 4 hours unless allowed to get overloaded.
Marilyn from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Mar 2019
Course a bit rough in places but a good one for a warm up playing holes twice
David from United Kingdom
on Sat, 16th Feb 2019
Nice to have two goes at the nine holes trying to improve on the first nine score albeit off slightly different tee positions. Greens more like we are used to.
Jukka Ahtinen from Finland
on Sat, 24th Nov 2018
Cource
Good 9 hole course, greens a bit soft, just playable course. 200 m par 3 was challenging. thank you
Mark from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th Apr 2018
Very busy course!! The pace was slowish but when your on hols I don’t think that that is so much of a problem. Great course, all fairways and greens in good condition.
Don Bark from Portugal
on Tue, 20th Mar 2018
Very wet and almost unplayable, especially on the 9th
William from United Kingdom
on Sun, 4th Feb 2018
There are only two words to describe this course Mickey Mouse. Worst course on the Algarve. How they can justify the green fee is beyond me.
Wolfgang from Germany
on Sun, 21st Jan 2018
Fehlbuchung?
Leider mussten wir den falschen Platz spielen! Ni8cht wie im Internet gebucht den 18-Loch Kurs sondern 2x den 9-Loch Kurs :-(
Brigitte from Netherlands
on Sun, 26th Nov 2017
Our Day on the Penina resort
Nice Course only we missed the overviews from the courses
Kevin from United Kingdom
on Sat, 16th Sep 2017
Having played three courses before playing a 9 hole course twice, with little difference between the tees on the first and second rounds, Penina Resort course was a little disappointing.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Jul 2017
Very enjoyable
Very friendly and efficient staff ensured that the hiring of clubs and buggy went very smoothly. The course could perhaps do with a little TLC, but it played very well - don't forget, this is a course where a handicap certificate is NOT required. I feel that some of the more negative reviews have been a little harsh because of this. As well as this, there are also comments about 'not knowing' that the Resort Course is a 9 hole course. I find this hard to believe as both the Penina and Algarve Golf websites clearly state as such. All in all, and enjoyable experience.
Rent from Netherlands
on Wed, 24th May 2017
Beautifull to play

we have only that day a very strong wind that gives for some players a handycap

Alex from United States
on Tue, 23rd May 2017
Well maintained, had the course to ourselves the whole day.
Robert Moore from United Kingdom
on Sun, 30th Apr 2017
Robert Moore
Quite scruffy, not in the best of conditions.

Only nine holes, so often very slow play.

All things considered, quite expensive but still enjoyable

Don from Portugal
on Wed, 29th Mar 2017
Don M
Older course...good value. Not in great shape at the time of play.
Rod from United Kingdom
on Mon, 19th Dec 2016
Would not recommend this course to anyone

Untiedy did not know it was two nines pay the extra and play the championship course

Peter from Portugal
on Fri, 25th Nov 2016
Well?
Nice! Quite short and tricky. Greens little bumpy. Good variation of the holes. Worst (after my score) was the traffic on N125 just aside
Jacob from Portugal
on Fri, 28th Oct 2016
Expensive pitch en put course
The maintainance of this course is beyond value for money. It's like a Pitch en Put course.
Geoff
on Wed, 26th Oct 2016
Poor relation to Championship
Bit of a poor relation to the Championship course across the road, greens were ok but a little scruffy off the fairways. Quite long at times, it's only 9 holes that you play twice from similar tee positions. Ok fora game but would be first choice.
Brian
on Tue, 11th Oct 2016
Decent course but soooo slow
Course is fine but as it is the resort course it seems to attract awful golf players. Because of this it takes too long to play.
Ian from Denmark
on Tue, 27th Sep 2016
Not worth the money
We played this course on our first full day in Portugal and what a dissapointment.Vastly overated and living on its reputation. The course wasn't in great condition, the staff weren't particularly friendly. On the day we played it was scorching hot we werent given any water and there wasn't any available on the course. We saw the drinks cart once and even then he ignored us and drove past us even though we got his attention. We had to nip into the clubhouse at the 10th to buy a bottle of water which was 7euros what a rip off and added 15 minutes to our round. This was the most expensive of the 5 courses we played and we played it a few days before the season changed and the prices went up. Overall this was the worst course we played both in terms of the quality of the course and the overall experience. Not worth the time or the money, wish we had played somewhere different that day.
Christopher from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th May 2016
chris.womersley
very disopointed with 9 hole penina golf course thought we had book the 18 hole one.did not get told this till we got there.so make sure its the 18 hole one and not the 9 two times round.or you will be very disopointed like us.
vinny from Ireland
on Thu, 21st Apr 2016
Course in poor condition.. bad attitude from a French member playing ahead of us in a four whom refused to let us play through..not impressed...
Paul from Portugal
on Fri, 18th Mar 2016
course in great condition even though it was wet.
Excellent condition especially Greens. Very true and fast even though it was drizzling during the round. Bunkers have lots of sand. No fear of hitting bottom with full swing.
Irma from Slovakia
on Thu, 10th Mar 2016
Wonderful experience
Fine weather and the course was not too crowded. Friendy and efficient staff. The net reserving system was quite good also.
Paul from Portugal
on Sat, 5th Mar 2016
Nice course and good value for money. It is a 9 hole course with 18 tees, but not bad for your average golfer.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Penina Resort page's or to connect with other Penina Resort golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.