Loading
to

Boavista Reviews

David from United Kingdom
on Sat, 20th Apr 2024
Good course
Fairways in good order. Greens look to be suffering from an infection but playable.

Some of the bunkers need topping up with fresh sand. Tee boxes aren’t in great shape. Well run course and sensibly timed order of play so you’re not being chased !

John from United Kingdom
on Mon, 15th Apr 2024
Fair golf course and in good condition.

But a slow round of golf in buggies. 4hr45mins

Gordon Gidney from United Kingdom
on Mon, 8th Apr 2024
BoaVista was a great
Warm welcome and the course was in very good condition. Very slow play and would have preferred to play as a 2 ball as were partnered with very high handicappers but they tried their best to keep up with time.
Andrea from Portugal
on Wed, 21st Feb 2024
Driving Range closed
Very big disadvantage: the driving range has been closed for months due to broken side nets! This means that you can only practice short game or putting with Luis Espadinha, the PRO - which is a real shame!

It's also not possible to practice tee shots before the round - really bad!

The golf course is fantastic - challenging terrain with numerous wonderful views of Lagos and the bay.

Ben from Europe
on Thu, 15th Feb 2024
Challenging course.
Great track. Buggy definitely required
Ian
on Sun, 11th Feb 2024
Well done Boavista
Always a good standard
Mair Jones from Portugal
on Fri, 26th Jan 2024
Course in very good condition

Pleasant Club house and welcoming staff

Difficult course and often busy so slow rounds

Nick Salter from United Kingdom
on Thu, 4th Jan 2024
Excellent course
Fabulous greens, interesting holes, a great round of golf
Chris from United Kingdom
on Tue, 5th Dec 2023
Fantasic
Brilliant course in perfect condition. We’ll ran and friendly. Lots of challenging holes particularly the par 3 sixth. Had a great time. Highly recommended 👍
Peter from Slovakia
on Sun, 5th Nov 2023
Nice course but some holes are very hard not only for begineers, fairways and greens are in very good condition. Amazing buggy with gps.
Neil from United Kingdom
on Mon, 9th Oct 2023
Not the most challenging of courses but never disappoints.
David from United Kingdom
on Thu, 5th Oct 2023
A course in very good condition with an exceptiona
If in the Lagos area you need to play this course , it is fair and the finishing 6 holes are really challenging. The Ravine holes are extremely difficult
David from United Kingdom
on Thu, 5th Oct 2023
Good condition great finishing holes
Boavista is a very nice course in very good condition. The last 6 holes are really good a test for all golfers. If in the Lagos area you need to play Boavista.. Clubhouse very nice too
Dirk from Portugal
on Sat, 30th Sep 2023
Super course and friendly service
John from United Kingdom
on Wed, 27th Sep 2023
Good value
Typical hotel based course which partly weaves its way through villas . Some very interesting holes with spectacular views . Reasonably priced as well. Worth a try in my opinion
Marc from Canada
on Mon, 18th Sep 2023
Good course.
Allen from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Sep 2023
Played many years ago and still a good and favourable experience this time around.
Martyn from United Kingdom
on Fri, 18th Aug 2023
Good course but…
Great course. 4stars not 5 only because breakfast not available before 9.30 - played poorly as a result!😂
Robin from Portugal
on Tue, 18th Jul 2023
As would expect
Perfectly acceptable. Not too tough. All staff very friendly. Course snakes around villas. Maybe 1 standout hole. But all in fine condition. Marshall’s kept it moving. Wont blow you away but absolutely fine for a knock around.

Clubhouse and shop very good.

Gavin Farrell from Portugal
on Sun, 9th Jul 2023
A well designed course!
A really well designed course and great fun.
Marcus from United Kingdom
on Fri, 30th Jun 2023
Windy boa vista
Lovely course in great condition - but very windy when played
Joshua from United Kingdom
on Mon, 5th Jun 2023
Beautiful course, Shocking bunkers
Good golf course and fairways and greens well kept.

Bunkers were dreadful, no sand and full of gritty pebbles/rocks.

Kevin from United Kingdom
on Thu, 1st Jun 2023
Challenging course in excellent condition
Really enjoyed the course , very well maintained, greens very good but bunkers are more gravel than sand which requires a bit of adjusting to . Staff friendly and helpful , a good golf experience.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Sun, 23rd Apr 2023
Played this course for the last 20 years and it doesn’t get any easier but a great challenge.
Keith Lewis from United Kingdom
on Tue, 28th Mar 2023
Great course!
Best course we played on the trip. Challenging but fair. Big fairways but also some difficult holes. Long walk but worth it!
Mike from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th Feb 2023
Boavista
The course was not in great condition, everywhere was dry and short of watering.
Geraldine from United Kingdom
on Wed, 18th Jan 2023
Boavista
Super challenging hillycourse buggy’s are a must.
Julie from United Kingdom
on Mon, 19th Dec 2022
Great Course with interesting holes
Course was in good condition. Greens were great and fairways were well maintained.
Les from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Nov 2022
Very good condition
Michael from United Kingdom
on Sat, 29th Oct 2022
Disappointing
Holes run up and down hill through a growing estate of holiday homes. Some views of Lagos and the coast. A number of the holes are impressive to look at, especially those crossing a ravine.

Fairways were in ok condition. Most teeing areas were in poor condition. Many of the greens were distressed and with bare patches and very uneven. Round took well over 4.5 hours.

Jon Butler from United Kingdom
on Tue, 25th Oct 2022
Boa Vista - Dreadful quality
Very poor quality greens, bunkers were unplayable and should have been GUR. Many areas also unplayable and not marked GUR.

Driving range facility appalling.

Staff didn't really seem to care about our experience

Alistair from United Kingdom
on Fri, 21st Oct 2022
Boavista
Interesting course ,only issue I had were the greens.

Not in the best condition and I had several pitch marks to repair.

Seemed typical of a resort course ,people don’t seem to care .

Michael from Germany
on Wed, 12th Oct 2022
poor greens and surrounded by villas.
edward from United Kingdom
on Wed, 5th Oct 2022
good but busy
course in good condition, much to busy 5 hours to play the round, with 6 groups on the 6th hole at one time.
knut from Germany
on Thu, 22nd Sep 2022
Sehr interessanter gepflegter Kurs mit leider teilweise sehr schlechten Grüns.

Durch das GPS ist das Fahren mit den Buggies manchmal schwierig.

John Hampson from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Sep 2022
Tough course
Course in good condition, a tough test of golf.
Steve Sadler from Portugal
on Thu, 22nd Sep 2022
Boavista golf
A good and interesting course, with some lovely feature holes. Quite a lot of building work around the course, but I guess there is building everywhere. Very pleasant clubhouse/bar with very good service.
Nigel from Grenada
on Mon, 19th Sep 2022
Renwick review
Nice course . Wide fairways . Greens a little patchy .
Martin from Ireland
on Sat, 10th Sep 2022
Excellent course. Well maintained. Good greens. Good restaurant.
William from Belgium
on Thu, 8th Sep 2022
Good Resort course with interesting layout
Course was very playable with reasonable greens and fairways. Good lies even in rough , only downside ,bunkers need more sand to be consistent .
Frans from Portugal
on Wed, 17th Aug 2022
I did njoy playing Boavista
Well maintained, beautifull views of Lagos & sea, challenging, you’ll get enough chances of playing well. Buggy with gps. €67 for playing 18 with buggy.
Andrea from Switzerland
on Thu, 11th Aug 2022
Nice course with nice people
Nice course, good infrastructure, friendly people, nice clubhouse with good food and a good experience overall
Jon from United Kingdom
on Thu, 11th Aug 2022
Boavista
Lovely staff on arrival and throughout the day Tee was 850 so no waiting all 18 holes Course was in good nick some interesting holes Well deserved beer after with playing partners
Daniel from United Kingdom
on Sun, 7th Aug 2022
Boavista golf
Great course, fair challenge. Pace of play was excellent, as were the facilities.
Thomas from United Kingdom
on Sun, 24th Jul 2022
Great course in perfect condition
Great course, would recommend booking buggy’s prior to save money, the buggy’s are fitted with GPS tracker which gives yardage from every point on the course automatically. Great holes such as a par 3 across a huge ravine!

10/10 would recommend if coming from UK/abroad

WILLIAM from United Kingdom
on Mon, 4th Jul 2022
pleasurable course.
Lovely course well maintained,

Development work around some parts of the course but this takes nothing away from the pleasure of the course,

unlike other courses we played this course is marshalled and the only one we played in our week in Portugal and it helped as we had a bad experience on an other course earlier on in the week, kept things moving and made sure everyone playing respected other people on the course,

If we had played this on our first day we would have returned to play it again but this was our last round before we returned home,

Played it on the summer saver and this made it affordable as not the cheapest course to play,

We can't wait to return to play it again and may look at staying on the course next trip.

Nigel from United States
on Wed, 29th Jun 2022
3 old gits and a young one back in the Algarve
Looking at past reviews, many would disagree but we think that this is the best course in the Western Algarve. Its opening and closing holes meander between the resort's villas, whilst the middle holes are in more open countryside where old farm buildings add to the scenery.

Well maintained and a fair test for all handicaps.

Karl from United Kingdom
on Tue, 28th Jun 2022
Way too slow, 5 hours to go round.

Restricted buggy areas so more walking than expected.

Matt from United States
on Mon, 13th Jun 2022
Bush league
Good: Course was in great shape! Had a blast playing and wish we could have for longer.

Bad: Reserved a 2 round package for 2 adults, but came up as 2 ppl, one round, and 1 buggy. Was assured at the clubhouse that it would be a better deal if we wanted to play another 18, but it wasn't. After inquiring to play another 18, they wanted to charge us for another club rental and another shoe rental also. We were told nothing of shoe rental on their website and the clubs I received were graphite shaft junior clubs from another course. Fair enough its hard to find left handed clubs in portugal but still would expect more or at least a reservation option on the website. Terrible management style. We bought golf shirts, balls, beers, and food but they would not accommodate club and shoe rental for same day golf. Only reason I give it 2 stars is because some of the locals felt bad for our situation and gave us a shuttle back to town. Losing a couple passionate golfers for no reason at all....

Michael
on Fri, 20th May 2022
Efficient buggy pickup. Tee time management excellent. Clubhouse as good as always
William from United Kingdom
on Fri, 13th May 2022
Excellent course and clubhouse
Played twice. A fair course with many excellent holes. A good challenge for most players. 2 nd day we played it took 5 hours, something not right there . Should be about 4 hours at most. Too many poor players and not enough Marshalls would be my guess. We played at 12.30 and damage was done earlier in the day on a few holes there were 2 groups and on one hole 3 groups on the tee. Good range of goods in shop and the staff in clubhouse very helpful and friendly . We had played here earlier in week and enjoyed it
Frank Hendricks from United Arab Emirates
on Fri, 22nd Apr 2022
Challenging but interesting
Front 9 are pretty steep and I was missing a cart. Pretty rough country look kind of feeling. Back 9 are nice - with beautiful landscaping and still interesting. E-buggies are good - and for EUR 20 recommendable. Service at reception appeared not really friendly - but anyhow.
JACK from Portugal
on Wed, 13th Apr 2022
Nice course.
Boavista is a fun course, maybe with too many elevation changes and uneven lies for novice golfers. It is in very good condition for the Algarve with greens running fast and true.

Given the season, our 4 1/2 hour round was acceptable - no Marshalls out on the course. GPS in carts, decent although somewhat rigorous walk. Soon, it will be surrounded by well kept houses, which is not ideal.

Lars Hermanson from Sweden
on Wed, 6th Apr 2022
Poor condition at Tee, fairway and greens. Compare to other courses its not good. Driveways are extremely Bumby.. And to many holes are blind.
Darius from Ireland
on Wed, 6th Apr 2022
Fabulous layout and underrated course
I found this golf course among the very best I played. Maybe its only me, but I like the layout winding between villas. I was thrilled by rugged terrain and especially hole No.6. Water hazards in pristine condition, with fountains and so appealing to the eye. It is definitely underrated golf course
Frans from Netherlands
on Mon, 4th Apr 2022
Boavista spacious and boa!
The playa and alvor were played. Playa gives a links course feeling. Most holes near by the ocean. Fairways very short and dry. Greens ok.

Alvor more inland and hilly. Fairways more grass and good greens. Nice lay out in the hills. Kind starters and nice overlooking clubhouse.

Gerald Smith from Portugal
on Sun, 3rd Apr 2022
An interesting course with a few tough challenges but with long walks between holes a buggy is essential!
Rudolf from Netherlands
on Wed, 23rd Mar 2022
Alles klopt
Geweldige baan waar echt alles op orde is. De ontvangst, de vriendelijkheid en accuratesse van het personeel in het restaurant en in de baan. Fantastisch mooi aangelegde en onderhouden baan. Feestje.
Michael from United Kingdom
on Tue, 15th Feb 2022
Worth a visit
A hilly challenging resort course with some interesting features. Worth a visit
Martine from France
on Sun, 30th Jan 2022
First course after arrival, may be thats why we did'nt play so well.
Patrick from Netherlands
on Sat, 29th Jan 2022
Fantastic
Boavista is a fantastic course.
Martin from United Kingdom
on Thu, 18th Nov 2021
Great clubhouse food staff and facilities. In my opinion the course doesn't match the resort set up that's surrounded by beautiful properties. The course is hilly and has a number of blind shots and would probably be better enjoyed if played a second time when you knew your way round the course. Greens weren't in great condition though in fairness I think they had recently had work done on them and am sure they would normally be good. Some fine holes great panoramic views but some blind shots as well.
Richard from Canada
on Sun, 14th Nov 2021
Not crowded, easy pace of play
Andrew from Ireland
on Mon, 1st Nov 2021
Very enjoyable golf course, a little disappointed with the greens on the day but still tested our golf game.
Clive from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Oct 2021
Good course which has a lot of blind tee shots... forgiving though
Olivier Richard from France
on Thu, 14th Oct 2021
Un bon rapport qualité prix
Nice course, not so easy

Starts and fairways are good

The greens are generally in poor status

Welcome at the pro shop and with the Caddymaster is quite nice

The package at 150€ for two GF and buggy is really competitive

Martin from United Kingdom
on Fri, 24th Sep 2021
Excellent facilities and decent course.
Very good facilities and clubhouse. The course is harder than it looks with water and hidden ravines, the semi rough is high and the fairways heavily watered, so no roll. However overall a good course and nice lunch on the terrace.
Andrew from Portugal
on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Strange staff
Course and people in pro shop very good . But greens very bad due to a local problem. Which happens. But I gave the low rating because the staff in the bar restaurant were so strange. Rude but sarcastic and nice all at same time .
Steve from United Kingdom
on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Mr Stephen Hather
Good course nice welcome

Driving range and practice areas could do with an upgrade however very enjoyable day and good food

Jean Manuel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Aug 2021
Beau parcours venté
Parcours vallonné et technique surtout par grand vent comme ce fut le cas pour nous. Alternance de trous longs et courts. Greens roulants.
Ronald from Portugal
on Tue, 22nd Jun 2021
Excellent visit
Lovely course in very good condition. Friendly staff and very nice food. Just a really pleasant round of golf
Dave from Italy
on Mon, 3rd May 2021
Great golf course and clubhouse
Awesome course with challenging layout, rolling hills and undulating greens with tough pin position. And, the clubhouse was nice too. Really loved it!
Nigel from United States
on Fri, 6th Nov 2020
Three old gits on a golfing week in the Algarve
Our favourite course in the Western Algarve.

It's a challenge for gifted players and fair for the not so gifted.

A little damage from wild boars

Green were a little inconsistent

There is no putting area in the Boavista Academy.

Huig Sip from Netherlands
on Fri, 2nd Oct 2020
Adventurest course
Nice👍
Olivier Richard from France
on Thu, 1st Oct 2020
Very good and difficult
Klaus-Dieter from Germany
on Fri, 20th Mar 2020
best eyechachter of this region
really boavista. Spectacular views, up and down holes, fast and partly strong undulated greens. A challenge for everyone who like to enjoy the game and the environment.
Franz from Switzerland
on Sat, 14th Mar 2020
Extremely hilly and challenging course.
Extremely challenging course. Very hilly. Maintenance not up to the best courses, including greens. Bunkers almost no sand.
gordon from United Kingdom
on Tue, 10th Mar 2020
Played Boavista today.Greens are very poor.Had played Palmares,Morgado and Alamos the previous 3 days and the greens were immaculate.So disappointing ,in particular because Boavista was the most expensive-really disappointed.Best thing was the lunch in the clubhouse.
Martin from Portugal
on Thu, 20th Feb 2020
Good course
Fun course to play and fairly good condition. The greens need some work.
Allison from Canada
on Tue, 11th Feb 2020
Boavista
Very challenging course one of the par 3 from the front red tees is exceeding difficult from below the hole move those tees up
Jeff
on Thu, 5th Dec 2019
A bit tired and needs some work. A bit beat up.
Ben from United Kingdom
on Fri, 25th Oct 2019
Disappointing day at BoaVista.
The course was in poor shape with a number of areas where wild boar had been digging.

The weather was bad and the rain was so heavy that both the 4th green and 5 tee box were flooded.We called the clubhouse from the 5 th tee and suggested that we return to the clubhouse as conditions were dangerous and at that time the course was unplayable.A marshall was sent to talk to us at the 5 th tee but told us there was nothing he could do .We again called the office and suggested we finish and be furnished with a voucher to play another day.Unfortunately we were told that this was not possible and that the course was playable.

We took shelter for 30 minutes in the on course toilets and then played on despite the poor conditions.

We eventually managed 16 holes and retired soaked to the skin and very disappointed with the attitude of the course management.

Needless to add ,we will not be back.

Sylvia from Germany
on Mon, 21st Oct 2019
great enjoyable course with very friendly staff
Keith from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
Worth playing
Well organised and in good condition. Although busy, the groups didn’t create any problems like the other courses. We will return.
George from United Kingdom
on Wed, 9th Oct 2019
Boavista October 19
Great views with a variety of holes. Suited to all handicaps. Par 3, 6th a memorable hole.

Friendly ,organised welcome.

Definitely worth a visit.

Jaeson from United Kingdom
on Sat, 21st Sep 2019
Still good
Having played here a couple of times before it’s still a good course, although the greens were not in as good a condition as they have been in the past
Brendan from United Kingdom
on Wed, 18th Sep 2019
Worth paying
An excellent course with some really good holes with lots of character. There are dog legs, holes with large ravines to cross and holes where you cannot just boom the driver off the tee. A good test of golf on a well maintained course. Definitely worth playing and good value for money.
Joe from Poland
on Fri, 13th Sep 2019
Great course very well maintained
MICHAEL HARRIS from United Kingdom
on Wed, 11th Sep 2019
excellent
Keith from United Kingdom
on Wed, 4th Sep 2019
Return to Boavista not played since 2014
Played on 3 Sept enjoyed my round,

Well worth the drive down to Lagos (35 minutes from Carverio)

Staff always helpful,Course in good condition.

Down side is construction work next to course but not to much of a problem

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Boavista page's or to connect with other Boavista golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Green Fees & Tee Times
All golf course green fees, deals, and tee times displayed on Algarve Golf are offered at the lowest discounted rates permissible. We look forward to assisting you with your booking in Portugal. ⛳
Algarve Golf uses cookies.