Loading
to

Vila Sol Reviews

Michael from United Kingdom
on Tue, 16th Jul 2024
Had a great day paired with 2 Norwegian guys, course and conditions excellent, good track
Mark from Ireland
on Tue, 2nd Jul 2024
Great Course
Great course in great condition, it was busy but pace of play wasn't an issue.
Karl from United Kingdom
on Mon, 24th Jun 2024
I was disappointed because we didn’t play the back 9 due to work being done, we wasn’t informed of this and we all went to the 1st tee and was told by a member that we were off the 19th tee so it was total confusion and a mad rush. The greens were poor and the staff on reception when booking in kept me waiting at least 5 mins before dealing with me.

16/20 of us coming back next year but it won’t be at Villa Sol.

Rob from Ireland
on Mon, 10th Jun 2024
good 27 hole course
Ron Cookson from United Kingdom
on Thu, 23rd May 2024
Great layout fast greens , fairways very tight and nippy
John from United Kingdom
on Tue, 21st May 2024
Twighlight at Villa Sol
Booked twighlight tee time430pm was aware might not get 18 holes in was not expecting how busy it was eventually away at 500pm played on till 830pm only to see club house bar shop all shut far to busy and no thought given once we paid
david from Russian Federation
on Mon, 13th May 2024
May 2024
Excellent - from initial booking / checking in, quality of clubs and the course itself
Robert from United Kingdom
on Tue, 7th May 2024
Great course
Always a great test. 27 holes , each 9 has its own unique characteristics. In very good condition. Highly recommended
James Keegan from United Kingdom
on Tue, 7th May 2024
Better Options available!
Decent enough course with the key elements of Tee Boxes, Fairways, Bunkers and Greens all in good condition, HOWEVER, play was painfully slow, we walked off the 11th Tee after 3 hours and 10 mins - we had a sunset rate so we were willing to do so, however any etiquette of allowing smaller/quicker groups through appears non existent, the course also has 27 holes, we started on the “19th” which was no big deal, when we merged on the 10th for the back 9 it became chaotic and backed up even more! also a little disappointing that the half way drinks/food facility was closed even though there was plenty of players still out. We played 3 other courses across the 5 days and this was by far the worst experience.
Darren Howes from United Kingdom
on Thu, 25th Apr 2024
Great value for money course
Lovely traditional course. Some truly great holes and great value for money. Course had been busy all day. We tee’d off at 4.15 as a 4 ball in a buggy and was finished by 7.25. Speed of play on course was much quicker than the other courses.
Roland from United Kingdom
on Fri, 5th Apr 2024
Golf
Fantastic from Booking up to playing golf.will use again for sure
Roland from United Kingdom
on Fri, 5th Apr 2024
Vila sol Gc
Excellent from start to finish. Bookings very east course in superb condition. Staff very accommodating. 5xxxxx
graham from France
on Fri, 22nd Mar 2024
nice established course
very good track,nice clubhouse and facilities ,not as expensive as old course villamoura but nearly as good .buggys a bit expensive 55 euros 18 holes
Kevin from United Kingdom
on Thu, 19th Oct 2023
Play every year
Rained of today but beautiful coarse we play this every year
John from United Kingdom
on Wed, 27th Sep 2023
Worth a visit
Very good all round. Course in very good condition considering the dry summer, good pace of play . Interesting course and competitively priced
Robin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 27th Sep 2023
In good condition, very friendly staff
Alistair Riddoch from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Sep 2023
Decent enough course for holiday golf
We played the challenge and the prime combination for our 18 holes. The front 9 was had some really nice holes, tees, fairways and greens in really nice condition, some parts of the course rough about the edges but fully playable. The back 9 I found the rough just a foot off the fairway and 'penal' and struggled to find balls in it. It should not be as long as that as near to a fairway it was like there was no 1st or 2nd cut!!! Apart from that issue it was a decent course and more than acceptable for holiday golf. It is definately a notch below the Vale do Lobo or Quinta do Lago courses. Clubhouse had very nice facilities and the staff were very nice and friendly, all in a very pleasant experience.
Roberto from Portugal
on Mon, 14th Aug 2023
Excellent golf course
Excellent course with good quality fairways and greens! Highly recommended
Stuart from United States
on Sun, 13th Aug 2023
Accommodating staff lovely course
Very well maintained course. Accommodating staff really enjoyed the twilight round
Karl from United Kingdom
on Thu, 29th Jun 2023
First time at Villa Sol, all the lads enjoyed the course and the greens were excellent.
Terry from United Kingdom
on Thu, 29th Jun 2023
Great course hugely enjoable
A great 27 hole course 3 9 holes, quite tight yet very enjoyable, We pas this course every time we go to Vilamoura, but have never thought to play it. always thought it to be the poor relation of the Algarve courses, but will definitely be going back again and hopefully next time we will play a combination of all 3 courses. The greens had just been hollow tined didnt help the putting. The club house has the tribute to sir Bobby Robson and the charity work that he does which was great to spend a little time reviewing. There is a half way house for a nit of light refreshments, give it a go we had a great deal €88.00 inc buggy
David from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Jun 2023
27/06/23 - course was in good condition and the greens evenly paced across the 18. A fair challenge and every shot required, par threes seemed to be the same club every time but a different look off every tee, I look forward to 2 more rounds this week and see if I can beat 35 points
Graham from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Jun 2023
Vila Sol golf is great
Vila Sol was the last course we played on our six day holiday. They offered an excellent deal with buggies included. The course was in good condition and offered a true test of golf.

It was a pleasure to play here and I will certainly return

I stay 10 mins from here so it was really easy to get to

Badri from Netherlands
on Tue, 20th Jun 2023
Thanks Algarve Golf. Net for facilitating.,
Beautiful golf course. People friendly. Greens and fairways well maintained.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Tue, 20th Jun 2023
Great course but poorly organised
Really liked the course but groups of juniors were put out ahead of us. No tee times set aside for them and a number of groups got delayed for about 40 minutes. And because of the backlog from the course not being organised the front 9 took close to three hours
Darren Howes from United Kingdom
on Thu, 15th Jun 2023
Darren Howes
Not played this course in 20 years. Really nice condition and very interesting course
John Kelly from Ireland
on Wed, 14th Jun 2023
Green Fees are very well priced and for that reason wasn’t expecting a world class course.Worth playing if u on a budget. Fab clubhouse is an added bonus
David from United Kingdom
on Tue, 13th Jun 2023
Villa Sol
Great course played with two members who were knowledgeable had a great four ball
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 12th Jun 2023
Terrible. A complete joke!
Sorry but very disappointed with this course. Organisation was the main issue. Lack of buggies, no starter, tee running 20 minutes late, three groups of 8-12 year olds in front with parent supervision with no idea! Flags left out, bunkers not raked, it took over 3 hours on the front 9! No food at half way house and the kitchen had closed by the time we finished. Frankly an absolute disgrace. Ruined the final round of our golf trip.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Sat, 3rd Jun 2023
Villa Sol- Challenge & Prime
Tough course, 3 opening par 4's over 400 yds each. A real competition course. Thoroughly enjoyed. Lovely par 3's. Valuewise, the best course in the area bar-none.
Ian from United Kingdom
on Fri, 2nd Jun 2023
return to vila sol
wonderful morning, course very quiet played the prime and challenge great fun followed by family lunch on the terrace. we’ve been doing it for years rarely disappoints.

i think they should reinstate the Sunday morning competition as it generates traffic on the course and the inevitable edge to the golf.

Sean from Ireland
on Wed, 17th May 2023
Excellent course and staff were really friendly and helpful.
Gary from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd May 2023
Tight but enjoyable tree lined course
Tight but enjoyable tree lined course. Very good condition.
Jonathan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 28th Apr 2023
Great challenge
Well laid out course in very good condition. Challenging but very pretty and easy on the eye.
Jonathan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 28th Apr 2023
Great course
Lovely but challenging course in great condition. The greens were some of the best in the area.
Joanne Burdett from United Kingdom
on Mon, 20th Mar 2023
Amazing
Lots trees 🌲

Very good condition loved the course

Mark from Portugal
on Sat, 18th Feb 2023
Decent course but very pricey for the conditions.
Nice layout and very playable. I thought the turf conditions were below average which was disappointing considering the cost to play here. Facilities were excellent. Staff very friendly and accommodating. I’d play twilight for $50 bucks again but would not spend the $$$ for 18 holes and a buggy
Olivier Richard from France
on Thu, 19th Jan 2023
Not the price for money
Not so well maintained and far too expensive
Patrick from United Kingdom
on Sat, 19th Nov 2022
Had forgotten just how good this course is. Greens and fairways in excellent condition. Tee boxes however need some attention
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Fri, 11th Nov 2022
Decent to good golf day
Generally a nice course, although off the fairway at times tended to be hard as a rock. If one hits the ball straight, then playing your handicap shouldn't be too hard. The green were well maintained, with a lot fewer pitch marks than on some other courses. The tee boxes were substandard (especially for the ladies) but playable. The pace of play was okay, allowing us to finish in just over 4 hours. The staff at the reception were super friendly and efficient.
Claire from Ireland
on Wed, 19th Oct 2022
Lovely but expensive
Stanley Savage from Ireland
on Wed, 19th Oct 2022
Never again
We were told before booking that buggies could not be pre-booked. When we got there it was clear there was never any possibility of a buggie. Mayhem in the pro shop with others in the same position. Paid 120 euro {not worth it) on a hot day. We would not have booked here if we knew this. Charged 10 euro for a rickety pull trolley. Left after 9 holes. Golf day ruined.
Denis from Canada
on Thu, 13th Oct 2022
A little dissatisfied
A little dissatisfied with this course. Condition was quiet tardy. Rough a bit too high. Some holes unfair.

Would however play it again and will suggest it to friends.

Tony Higgins from Ireland
on Wed, 12th Oct 2022
Tony Higgins
This is a very good golf course but in terrible condition at the moment. Tees are like football goalmouths, greens poor and course had an overall feeling of neglect- the overflowing waste baskets around the course said it all. Have had many good days on this course and hopefully those in charge will get their act together in the near future.
Jim from Israel
on Wed, 12th Oct 2022
Beware when booking
Arrived an hour early and was told to wait until 10 min before tee off for buggies but hey presto no buggies available but we can have pull trollies for an exorbitant €10 each. Inform people when booking golf that buggies may be available so they chose an alternative. For what is supposed to be a 5 star resort you would think that there would be ample supply of buggies. Ruined our round as we only played 9. We will not be back!
Anja from Switzerland
on Tue, 11th Oct 2022
Average Course
Over booked, long waits and chaotic at check-in - DR absolutely below average, very old balls and in very poor condition. Course is nice
Judi from United Kingdom
on Fri, 7th Oct 2022
Overpriced for condition
Very busy course. Staff helpful but cannot guarantee buggies. Bunkers had little sand. Conversely, greens had many pitch marks. Despite saying there’s handicap limits, these are not checked & groups with poor etiquette are accepted. Don’t intend playing again.
Dan from Portugal
on Tue, 4th Oct 2022
Fantastic greens at Vale Sol
We played the first 2 nines in early October. The course design is interesting and very challenging. Fairways are tight. Greens are in great shape. Only give it four stars cuz the fairways are very beat up. Would love to see the course when it’s in prime shape
Alan from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Sep 2022
Nice course but
This is a nice course but….

It’s quite long, there is no marshalling of play so punters take as long as they like. Even with a buggy it was over 5hrs to get round. Course is in good order though.

James Redfern from United Kingdom
on Sun, 11th Sep 2022
Chester golfers
Great course fantastic experience
andrew from United Kingdom
on Fri, 9th Sep 2022
Good course, friendly staff
Very well kept course. A good challenge, with most fairways narrow and trees down both sides.

Staff all very friendly and helpful.

Neil from United Kingdom
on Fri, 9th Sep 2022
Enjoyed the golf, greens were bit scared in places.
Nick from United Kingdom
on Sun, 28th Aug 2022
Vila Sol
Course was in great condition!
Olivier from Portugal
on Mon, 22nd Aug 2022
Nice and difficult course (Prime and Challenge).

Long holes and slow greens.

Curtis from United States
on Sat, 20th Aug 2022
August golf trip
Great golf course. Very tight and challenging.
John from Portugal
on Thu, 21st Jul 2022
Very enjoyable
Really enjoyed Vila Sol. Good course in good condition. Narrow with penal rough but scoreable provided you find the fairway and don’t get behind the encroaching trees. Far better than I was expecting. Good value.
Ayaz Khan from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Jul 2022
Great course great caddy masters - helpful
Alan from United Kingdom
on Mon, 18th Jul 2022
COURSE WAS IN GREAT CONDITION AND SUITS ALL ABILITIES. STAFF AND FOOD WERE TERRIFIC.WOULD CERTAINLY RETURN
Mark from United Kingdom
on Fri, 1st Jul 2022
Disappointing having played this course many times before. Hadn’t booked our Tee Time despite receiving the email from Algarve Golf.

Then when we got to Tee the starter wasn’t there but course was empty so lot of fuss over nothing.

No refreshments on the course

Stuart from Portugal
on Fri, 1st Jul 2022
Excellent day, the course was in great condition, looking forward to playing there again 👍
Joseph from Ireland
on Mon, 27th Jun 2022
Very enjoyable round.Two of us got around in just over 3 hours.Greens were very good.
Ronnie Carswell from United Kingdom
on Wed, 22nd Jun 2022
A very enjoyable but tough course. If you go into the pine trees your gonna drop at least a shot, that’s if you find your ball.
Richard from United States
on Sat, 4th Jun 2022
Overall, a great experience!
This course was a pleasure to play on! Fairways and Greens are both in good condition! Smooth play! Demanding but not hard difficult that you are losing confidence!
jeff from United Kingdom
on Thu, 2nd Jun 2022
Excellent
Excellent course, excellent service. Will definitely be playing it again
Declan from Ireland
on Wed, 25th May 2022
Course was in excellent condition, other than tee boxes which were very scrappy. No service facilities available, neither coffee hut at 10th or drinks buggy.
Barry from Portugal
on Wed, 25th May 2022
Tight course greens were slow but true
Tony from United Kingdom
on Fri, 20th May 2022
TT
Twilight golf - really good value - nice course well kept with very rapid greens!
Paoloi w from India
on Wed, 18th May 2022
Bel campo.
Campo ben curato. Si gioca in mezzo ai pini. Club house piccola ma funzionale.

Merita di essere giocato.

Norman from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th May 2022
Vila Sol
Really enjoyed the course played 1-18

Greens were tricky and fast but ran very true

Definitely needed to keep on fairways to score

Was long and glad we used buggy

Clubhouse was friendly and was glad of a beer at the finish

LACANAL from France
on Wed, 11th May 2022
Golf magnifique!

Accueil en français, très courtois

Merci

marinus matheus from Netherlands
on Thu, 5th May 2022
Good course play long
Gerard from Ireland
on Sun, 1st May 2022
Buggy shortage
Played A and C. Courses were in good condition with a good roll on the greens. C course trees are too encroaching on the course and make some holes too difficult. I think they should consider cutting some back. A is a better layout and a great test. The price of 45 euro for twilight is very reasonable. However, the shortage of buggies is disgraceful. One of our party could not play due to only 1 buggy available at 3pm tee time. This must happen every single day and has not been addressed since i last played here some 10 years ago. A golfer teeing off at 3pm should recieve the same service as one that tee's off at any time. We did get a reduced rate for our trolleys but would have preferred buggies. Please address this.

Staff were pleasant.

Molly from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Apr 2022
Stunning course, but painfully slow play.
The course condition was stunning and service by all staff was excellent, facilities were great and the club hire was great standard new Taylormade full sets. However, the course was absolutely rammed with 4balls, most of whom seemed to be complete amateur golfers, meaning play was painfully slow. At no point did anyone seem to be asked for handicap certicates, which is desperately needed.
David
on Tue, 26th Apr 2022
Good course.
Nice course, well organised. Some slow play from other golfers. Maybe have a Marshall at the first tee box to prevent pile up.
ian from United Kingdom
on Sat, 23rd Apr 2022
Really enjoyed course. Nice challenge, good pace play and nice Clubhouse. Good value.
STEPHANE from France
on Mon, 18th Apr 2022
Bon rapport qualité prix
Un parcours étroit mais intéressant et agréable
Peter from Ireland
on Fri, 15th Apr 2022
Great golf at very reasonable price
Really enjoyed our round on a splendid course, a most enjoyable experience right from check in all the way to returning the buggy.
Karen Clarke from Portugal
on Tue, 5th Apr 2022
Vila Sol is well worth a visit.
I have always liked Vila Sol. I think it is probably the best value in the area particularly for twilight golf. Hopefully this will not change. The 27 holes offer 3 options for a full 18 holes and most of the course is very playable for anyone who has a fair playing ability or better. Probably a bit tougher for novices but they should also enjoy it. My latest experience was that the round was played at a reasonable pace. The greens were excellent, fairways very good but some of the tees were cut up. They are not the biggest tees and that might be half the problem. In my view the stand out hole is the 6th. Overall I would be happy to recommend playing at Vila Sol and I will be going back the next time we visit Villamoura.
David from United Kingdom
on Mon, 28th Mar 2022
Great golf course
Very well organised course. Interesting course with some stunning holes. Club house was very nice as well

Will definitely play here again

ian from United Kingdom
on Fri, 25th Feb 2022
Really good value. Lovely condition.
Michael Mclean from United Kingdom
on Sun, 30th Jan 2022
Worth visit
Excellent course and club house very good.
Lars from Sweden
on Sat, 1st Jan 2022
Much better than expected
The course was a really positive surprise. Nice layout and a well-planned course. Best fairways of the 7 courses we played during the Christmas and New Year weekend. Good greens and a positive overall impression.
Maura from Ireland
on Thu, 4th Nov 2021
Nice course
Nice course. A bit difficult to find your way, sign posting could be improved for people who don’t know the course
Noel from Portugal
on Wed, 13th Oct 2021
Villa Sol
Staff very friendly, course ( played 19 to 27, great design and goodish condition.

Very enjoyable apart from the extremely slow three ball ahead. Highly recommend!

Nelson from Portugal
on Sat, 2nd Oct 2021
GOLF at VILA SOL with Buggy
Course in perfect conditions again, 2nd day.

With the use of Buggy much better.

For seniors is the right way to play this long course.

5*****

Nelson from Portugal
on Fri, 1st Oct 2021
GOLF at VILA SOL
The ONLY minus is NO availability of enough Buggies
Timothy from United Kingdom
on Thu, 30th Sep 2021
Decent golf challenge.
Challenging course, generally good condition.

Ended round at 7.15pm bar closed at 7pm !!! Unfortunate.

Graham from United Kingdom
on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Vila Sol Golf
Played at 3pm on Wednesday and was very pleased with the way the course was presented. Speed of play was ok considering some people were walking and others were in buggies. Our buggy was brand new and was the best I have ever had in the Algarve. Only disappointment was the bar had closed when we finished.
Chris from Portugal
on Sun, 12th Sep 2021
Vila Sol golf Course.
Club and staff extremely helpful and very welcoming. Course has been in better condition, lots of divots not replaced on fairway, and many greens had pitch Marks that we’re not repaired. But always worth playing.
Simon from United Kingdom
on Tue, 7th Sep 2021
Really lovely course - challenging but fair with some really picturesque holes - will definitely play again next time we are in Villamoura.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Vila Sol page's or to connect with other Vila Sol golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Green Fees & Tee Times
All golf course green fees, deals, and tee times displayed on Algarve Golf are offered at the lowest discounted rates permissible. We look forward to assisting you with your booking in Portugal. ⛳
Algarve Golf uses cookies.