Loading
to

Vila Sol Reviews

Joseph from Ireland
on Mon, 27th Jun 2022
Very enjoyable round.Two of us got around in just over 3 hours.Greens were very good.
Ronnie Carswell from United Kingdom
on Wed, 22nd Jun 2022
A very enjoyable but tough course. If you go into the pine trees your gonna drop at least a shot, that’s if you find your ball.
Richard from United States
on Sat, 4th Jun 2022
Overall, a great experience!
This course was a pleasure to play on! Fairways and Greens are both in good condition! Smooth play! Demanding but not hard difficult that you are losing confidence!
jeff from United Kingdom
on Thu, 2nd Jun 2022
Excellent
Excellent course, excellent service. Will definitely be playing it again
Declan from Ireland
on Wed, 25th May 2022
Course was in excellent condition, other than tee boxes which were very scrappy. No service facilities available, neither coffee hut at 10th or drinks buggy.
Barry from Portugal
on Wed, 25th May 2022
Tight course greens were slow but true
Tony from United Kingdom
on Fri, 20th May 2022
TT
Twilight golf - really good value - nice course well kept with very rapid greens!
Paoloi w from India
on Wed, 18th May 2022
Bel campo.
Campo ben curato. Si gioca in mezzo ai pini. Club house piccola ma funzionale.

Merita di essere giocato.

Norman from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th May 2022
Vila Sol
Really enjoyed the course played 1-18

Greens were tricky and fast but ran very true

Definitely needed to keep on fairways to score

Was long and glad we used buggy

Clubhouse was friendly and was glad of a beer at the finish

LACANAL from France
on Wed, 11th May 2022
Golf magnifique!

Accueil en français, très courtois

Merci

marinus matheus from Netherlands
on Thu, 5th May 2022
Good course play long
Gerard from Ireland
on Sun, 1st May 2022
Buggy shortage
Played A and C. Courses were in good condition with a good roll on the greens. C course trees are too encroaching on the course and make some holes too difficult. I think they should consider cutting some back. A is a better layout and a great test. The price of 45 euro for twilight is very reasonable. However, the shortage of buggies is disgraceful. One of our party could not play due to only 1 buggy available at 3pm tee time. This must happen every single day and has not been addressed since i last played here some 10 years ago. A golfer teeing off at 3pm should recieve the same service as one that tee's off at any time. We did get a reduced rate for our trolleys but would have preferred buggies. Please address this.

Staff were pleasant.

Molly from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Apr 2022
Stunning course, but painfully slow play.
The course condition was stunning and service by all staff was excellent, facilities were great and the club hire was great standard new Taylormade full sets. However, the course was absolutely rammed with 4balls, most of whom seemed to be complete amateur golfers, meaning play was painfully slow. At no point did anyone seem to be asked for handicap certicates, which is desperately needed.
David
on Tue, 26th Apr 2022
Good course.
Nice course, well organised. Some slow play from other golfers. Maybe have a Marshall at the first tee box to prevent pile up.
ian from United Kingdom
on Sat, 23rd Apr 2022
Really enjoyed course. Nice challenge, good pace play and nice Clubhouse. Good value.
STEPHANE from France
on Mon, 18th Apr 2022
Bon rapport qualité prix
Un parcours étroit mais intéressant et agréable
Peter from Ireland
on Fri, 15th Apr 2022
Great golf at very reasonable price
Really enjoyed our round on a splendid course, a most enjoyable experience right from check in all the way to returning the buggy.
Karen Clarke from Portugal
on Tue, 5th Apr 2022
Vila Sol is well worth a visit.
I have always liked Vila Sol. I think it is probably the best value in the area particularly for twilight golf. Hopefully this will not change. The 27 holes offer 3 options for a full 18 holes and most of the course is very playable for anyone who has a fair playing ability or better. Probably a bit tougher for novices but they should also enjoy it. My latest experience was that the round was played at a reasonable pace. The greens were excellent, fairways very good but some of the tees were cut up. They are not the biggest tees and that might be half the problem. In my view the stand out hole is the 6th. Overall I would be happy to recommend playing at Vila Sol and I will be going back the next time we visit Villamoura.
David from United Kingdom
on Mon, 28th Mar 2022
Great golf course
Very well organised course. Interesting course with some stunning holes. Club house was very nice as well

Will definitely play here again

ian from United Kingdom
on Fri, 25th Feb 2022
Really good value. Lovely condition.
Michael Mclean from United Kingdom
on Sun, 30th Jan 2022
Worth visit
Excellent course and club house very good.
Lars from Sweden
on Sat, 1st Jan 2022
Much better than expected
The course was a really positive surprise. Nice layout and a well-planned course. Best fairways of the 7 courses we played during the Christmas and New Year weekend. Good greens and a positive overall impression.
Maura from Ireland
on Thu, 4th Nov 2021
Nice course
Nice course. A bit difficult to find your way, sign posting could be improved for people who don’t know the course
Noel from Portugal
on Wed, 13th Oct 2021
Villa Sol
Staff very friendly, course ( played 19 to 27, great design and goodish condition.

Very enjoyable apart from the extremely slow three ball ahead. Highly recommend!

Nelson from Portugal
on Sat, 2nd Oct 2021
GOLF at VILA SOL with Buggy
Course in perfect conditions again, 2nd day.

With the use of Buggy much better.

For seniors is the right way to play this long course.

5*****

Nelson from Portugal
on Fri, 1st Oct 2021
GOLF at VILA SOL
The ONLY minus is NO availability of enough Buggies
Timothy from United Kingdom
on Thu, 30th Sep 2021
Decent golf challenge.
Challenging course, generally good condition.

Ended round at 7.15pm bar closed at 7pm !!! Unfortunate.

Graham from United Kingdom
on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Vila Sol Golf
Played at 3pm on Wednesday and was very pleased with the way the course was presented. Speed of play was ok considering some people were walking and others were in buggies. Our buggy was brand new and was the best I have ever had in the Algarve. Only disappointment was the bar had closed when we finished.
Chris from Portugal
on Sun, 12th Sep 2021
Vila Sol golf Course.
Club and staff extremely helpful and very welcoming. Course has been in better condition, lots of divots not replaced on fairway, and many greens had pitch Marks that we’re not repaired. But always worth playing.
Simon from United Kingdom
on Tue, 7th Sep 2021
Really lovely course - challenging but fair with some really picturesque holes - will definitely play again next time we are in Villamoura.
Eva Maria from Portugal
on Mon, 23rd Aug 2021
Lovely course in good conditions
The course is in really good conditions so you can enjoy 18 exciting fairways. The biggest difficulties might be the trees that run along the fairways so you wish to keep your shots straight. The layout is not as breathtaking as on the Top 10-Courses in Portugal, but no fairway looks the same and it is perfect for a decent round of golf that does not cost a fortune. Unfortunately the fairways are mostly framed by smaller and bigger houses so don't expect a look at the landscapes.
James Baker from United Kingdom
on Mon, 23rd Aug 2021
Brilliant
Stunning course. Trees lining the fairways and surrounding the tees and greens. There are 27 holes and you play whichever 18 they put you on. They’re all great!
Paul from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Aug 2021
Great course, not so good with service in pro shop or bar. Need reminding I am the customer
David from United States
on Mon, 19th Jul 2021
Vale do Sol
Nice layout and well maintained. Greens are a little bumpy and therefore slow. Driving Range has room for improvement, unless you like to hit the balls on a slope while warming up. Restaurant Terrace overlooks the 18th hole.
Tony Higgins from Ireland
on Tue, 29th Jun 2021
Always a good day at Vila Sol.
Tony Higgins from Ireland
on Fri, 25th Jun 2021
Always loved Vila Sol. Its a tight course but with some wonderful holes and usually in top condition. Great value for the green fee.
Greg McMillan from United States
on Fri, 25th Jun 2021
Great shape .Long par 3’s . Need a set of Shorter tees for women and seniors. Played in 4 hrs. Hilly with blind shots and lots of trees. Nice clubhouse . Food great. Good layout.
Craig from Russian Federation
on Fri, 18th Jun 2021
Not a happy customer
Played 9 holes. Nothing special. Narrow pretty and tree lined. I was told by tee times that carts would be available but none were available. So did not finish the next 9..not happy. Long walks from green to next tee and thick grass from tee to fairway.. Quite tiring on the legs and was not an enjoyable day.. Will not go back
Henk from Netherlands
on Fri, 4th Jun 2021
Perfect course. Nice people
Jan from Netherlands
on Sat, 29th May 2021
Excellent course 27 beautifull holes
Jonathan from United Kingdom
on Sat, 29th May 2021
Vila Sol
Beautiful course, played 1to18, course in lovely condition, greens nice and true
Alex from United Kingdom
on Mon, 24th May 2021
Vila
Great course condition, challenging holes and variety
Thomas Manth from Germany
on Thu, 6th May 2021
Not again
Course was absolutely neglected compared to last round two years ago, a shame

Pestana-Style...

Dave from Switzerland
on Wed, 7th Apr 2021
Decent condition post lockdown
The ability of owners to maintain their courses properly during lock down is patchy. I was delighted to see Vila Sol 1-18 are as in as good condition as I have seen. Not a big fan of the 3rd 9 but haven't played it in a while.
Denise Hennin from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Jan 2021
Course OK but ....
Did not think the green fees reflect the course condition. It was interesting and had some really hard holes but as I was playing alone, I spent a lot of time waiting. Staff were lovely but unfortunately course needs some work.
Ian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Nov 2020
Mr I Birch
Started from 19th . Enjoy the 3rd nine. Definitely going to play the 27 holes next time
Ian from United Kingdom
on Sun, 1st Nov 2020
Mr I Birch
Loved the set up. Course is amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful
Michael from Ireland
on Sun, 25th Oct 2020
Underrated
Undertrated good solid course and best value
Jan from Netherlands
on Tue, 13th Oct 2020
Everybody happy
Top course for every player. Played with my wife hcp 28. I hcp 15 lost. What a night we had...😉
Jan from Netherlands
on Tue, 6th Oct 2020
Villa Sol good day
Nice golfcourse
Roderick from Netherlands
on Fri, 2nd Oct 2020
Vila sol
Good course with nice greens! People should fix their pitchmarks
Trevor Richardson from United Kingdom
on Thu, 10th Sep 2020
Love Vila Sol, convenient to Vilamoura and lovely!
Very tight but manicured course, with greens in great condition and running true although not fast. Love the design, we played our front 9 from tee 19, with our back nine from tee 1, thoroughly enjoyed the game and with a buggy we got round in exactly 3 hours with no hold ups, which was much appreciated, as playing twilight golf we needed to return the buggy by 8pm and actually returned in by 7pm! Great clubhouse and friendly staff completed our experience. 5 stars
Paul Rimmer from United Kingdom
on Tue, 8th Sep 2020
P. Rimmer
Played here the last 4 years and probably the worst condition that I’ve seen it in. However it’s still a very tough course and enjoyed it.
Ian from United Kingdom
on Mon, 31st Aug 2020
Superb could not fault it. Very good
Glenn from Canada
on Tue, 11th Feb 2020
Long holes
Some very long par 4s. Great course for straight hitters. Very challenging.
Rebecca Draper from United Kingdom
on Sun, 2nd Feb 2020
too slow - again!
Once again we (a two ball in a buggy) were held up for every shot, behind a four ball walking. Took 2 hours 40 to do 9 holes, which meant we were then going to be unable to complete our round before dark (teed off at 2.20). The course rules state on the back to let faster groups through, but this elderly group had no intention of letting us through, even though we were actually on the 1st tee ready to go before all four of them had even teed off, so they had opportunity from the start to do so.

Spoilt the round again ...this is now the third time we have played there and the second time we have not been able to complete 18 holes. Very disappointing and the pace of play needs to be addressed and marshalled better.

DIncau from Switzerland
on Tue, 14th Jan 2020
Merci, excellent service, le parcours était parfait la température idéale pour jouer au golf (17 degrés).

Le seul bémol, le jeu lent ou l'étiquette n'est pas contrôlé, quatre joueurs devant nous (2joueurs) derrière pas possible de passer, c'est énervant.

M B from Portugal
on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
play to slow
play far to slow....this needs to be addressed!

We had to wait at most tees

Rob from United Kingdom
on Thu, 10th Oct 2019
Enjoyable course
Excellent course. Some challenging holes but not ridiculously difficult. Unable to pre-book buggies, but staff very helpful and managed to arrange some for we seniors. Slow round, waiting on most tees.
Ian from Ireland
on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
All Good
Great set up
René Duit from Netherlands
on Tue, 17th Sep 2019
Vila Sol
Af en toe gele (verdroogde) plekken op de fairway.

Medewerk(st)ers zijn onvriendelijk en doen alles plichtmatig.

Géén baancatering en bij halfway-house geen moeite om een broodje te organiseren.

Sam from United Kingdom
on Mon, 15th Jul 2019
Great Course, rude staff
A beautiful round, lovely course. However, the staff in the pro shop were rude a dismissive, put a damper on the round.
Michael from Sweden
on Fri, 12th Jul 2019
Best Algarve experience this year
Fantastic course. Really friendly reception, course in great condition. I like Donald Steel courses, You can always find your ball eventhough you are a bit off the fairway.
Graham from United Kingdom
on Thu, 11th Jul 2019
a good resort course in fair condition, nothing was exceptional but on the same time no complaints either

Enjoyed the day

ROB from United Kingdom
on Sun, 23rd Jun 2019
Great course
Great course with fast greens which added to the challenge. Hire clubs were good quality and all staff were very helpful. Will be back again.
Robert from Ireland
on Mon, 17th Jun 2019
golf review
Great course in excellent condition with lovely greens. Great clubhouse in a lovely location
Colin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
Difficult course
Having not played here for some time, we were looking forward to it.

We had a deal with buggies but they were all out on the course. We eventually got sorted.

Course more difficult than we remembered but in good nick

Arto from Finland
on Thu, 25th Apr 2019
Ok course
Peter from Germany
on Thu, 28th Mar 2019
Would not play the offered combination again.
Mark from United Kingdom
on Thu, 11th Oct 2018
Fantastic course
Brilliant course, great facilities, premier division, fully recommended and certainly worth paying that little bit more.
Stephen Mcmullan from United Kingdom
on Mon, 8th Oct 2018
First time at Vila Sol
Played 3 days in a row. Tees were not changed and all were quite worn especially the par 3s. Pin positions on greens were not changed either. If would have been nice to have had a bit of variety. Also no buggy bar on course for all 3 days. It was 28 degrees and the buggy bar would have been very welcome. The bar / hut at 10 was only open 2 out of the 3 days.... Greens were just ok and pace was good.. We were fortunate to have buggies but quite a few of the paths are very bumpy and could do with being resurfaced.... We stayed in the deluxe garden rooms, they were excellent very clean and the breakfast in hotel was first class.. Special mention to Jorge and Ricardo on reception they both couldn't do enough for us.. Would certainly go back to resort unfortunately not to play golf
Paul from United Kingdom
on Sat, 29th Sep 2018
Very Disappointed, played there several times before this week but not recently. Course was ok. However, there were no buggies available. We were told we would have to wait for buggies to come in which is understandable. But people who had booked in before us but were teeing after us, had buggies. The staff were very unsympathetic and didn't seem bothered. The organisation was poor. No staff on the course to keep play moving. We were behind a four ball who had buggies (we were a four ball) that had fell several holes behind. They wouldn't let us play through, so we walked off after nine holes. Also wihlst having a drink a six ball came down the 18th. All in all it was a very disappointing experience. The staff were very poor.

Regards Mr Paul Preston

Robin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 24th Sep 2018
Played 1 to 18.there are 27 holes here.the front 9 is good but for me the back 9 is verry good and was in much better condition
Eoin from Ireland
on Tue, 18th Sep 2018
Started off on hole 19 and to be honest holes 19-27 were a bit rough..fairways were burnt and bare but when we moved onto holes 1-9 there was a marked improvement in the condition of the fairways and greens..would go back if it holes 1-18
Nikki from United Arab Emirates
on Tue, 28th Aug 2018
Truly lovely course
Lovely course, fabulous holes and amazing views.
Domingo Ramos from Portugal
on Fri, 24th Aug 2018
Very good conditions
Josephine from Portugal
on Thu, 28th Jun 2018
First time playing at Vila Sol.
It wasn't a particularly challenging course as long as you keep to the fairways. Cow grass rough and loads of trees so stay clear if you can. We started on hole 19 as 1 -9 was closed for maintenance. Chockers when we went back to hole 10 for our cross over. Some fairways weren't in the best condition. Overall, did not enjoy as much as other Pestana courses due to slow play in front and tailgating golfers behind.
Lin from Portugal
on Sun, 17th Jun 2018
Golf in the sun
Great round of golf on this course. Was in excellent condition would definitely play here again
Boccaccio from France
on Wed, 13th Jun 2018
Very nice golf course, quiet, well equiped
Paul from Portugal
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
Nice course
Nice, crisp course, with some challenging and some not so challenging holes.
Lance
on Sun, 10th Jun 2018
Vila Sol Review
Played 19-27 then 1 - 9 Vila Sol

Friendly pro shop, starter introduced himself showed us to the tee.

Course condition - Green were good running smooth, sand in bunkers were consistent fairways a little patchy in places. Tee boxes and buggy paths looking tired in need of attention.

Overall - course layout great

Ronald Duffy from United Kingdom
on Thu, 24th May 2018
Long course
Good long course with some good challenges.
Mark Sheppey from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th May 2018
great course, first time i have played it but real enjoyed the course and the way it is looked after
Darren Corbett from United Kingdom
on Fri, 27th Oct 2017
Good not great
Good set up but didn't have the same feel as other courses in the area, not in such good condition either. It was really busy too. I would choose others around before returning.
Paul Griffiths from United Kingdom
on Thu, 19th Oct 2017
Terrible organisation
Course was ok but so bably organised.

If we had known there would be no buggies available then we would not have booked to play here. 4 guys in our group over 65 yrs of age.

5 1/2 hours to play and then charge you 23 Euro for a electric push cart!!!

Utter disgrace and certainly one place we won't be returning.

Nick from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Oct 2017
Nick P
Good course but completely disorganised no proper organised starter took 5.5 hrs to play 18 holes. Then got to the 16th and a 3 ball had cut in (is this what you expect for 80 euros a round? Maybe that’s ok for a run down municipal but not what you’d expect for a top course on the Algarve?) in summary course ok golf management leaves a lot to be desired.
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Sun, 1st Oct 2017
Love it, but course can have a sting in the tail
A lovely place to play golf, fairways can be a bit soft in places, and the course is very tight in places with very small margins for error. A little unfair sometimes, and a bad shot is always punished. Would never turn up the opportunity to play here. Allow plenty of time for a drink after as it probably has the best club house in the area.
David
on Fri, 22nd Sep 2017
Overcrowded, very pricey and so slow which was a shame as the golf course itself was well presented and a real challenge
Alan from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Sep 2017
Vila Sol
Condition bit patchy especially on 3rd nine holes. No golf carts for drinks. Course very busy.
NIGEL from United Kingdom
on Fri, 25th Aug 2017
Enjoyed
Course in good condition. Played here some years ago and has improved. Greens a little slow but understand must be protected in the heat. Good test of golf, I'll be back!!

Nigel Jones Blackwood

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Vila Sol page's or to connect with other Vila Sol golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.