Loading
to

Santo Antonio Reviews

Hans from Netherlands
on Wed, 19th Feb 2020
I really liked the course, everything looked nice and fairways and greens were very fast.

A lot of height differences which made it very interesting to play.

I would recommend a buggy, but even then you have to walk a fair amount as they needed to stay on the paths.

AlgarveGolf.net
Thank you kindly Hans and for your review of
William from United Kingdom
on Tue, 4th Feb 2020
Okay course nothing to shout about, we decided to walk it big mistake
Sean from United Kingdom
on Wed, 15th Jan 2020
Course was in great condition with fast greens, even in early January!
Kenneth from United Kingdom
on Mon, 9th Dec 2019
Physically challenging course with too many hillside lies. Greens in decent condition and very friendly clubhouse.
Jukka Ahtinen from Finland
on Thu, 28th Nov 2019
Santo Antonio Golf Course was a game condition. Challenging and bolt. Greens and Farways were good. The service worked. Thank you
Peter from United Kingdom
on Wed, 27th Nov 2019
A real challenge!
We’ve played here many times and still struggle to shoot a respectable score mainly because of the steeply sloping fairways which demand you find the level ground - often easier said than done. Well worth the trip, course is always in good condition and always a challenge!
Nin Rösth from Sweden
on Sun, 17th Nov 2019
Very nice golfcourse, nice staff.
Hans-Peter Engeler from Switzerland
on Fri, 8th Nov 2019
good day on a course
Very interesting course. Tricky holes but with a defensiv play they are well playable. Friendly staff. We will play it again.
monique from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Nov 2019
Beautiful course. Lots off hill climbing but it was worth it.
monique from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Nov 2019
Wonderful course. Come back soon.
Andy Cutler from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Oct 2019
Mr Cutler
Had a very enjoyable round here, played with a couple of members (Rob & Keith) They were great company and a big help going round the course.

Buggy is a must have, very hilly...…

Clubhouse is great but pro shop could do with some more varied stock.

paul from United Kingdom
on Sat, 12th Oct 2019
Santo antonio
Great course but very hilly. Buggy recommended.
Jan from Portugal
on Sat, 12th Oct 2019
Great cource
Beautiful course with friendly staff.

Clubhouse is not mutch and the price for excemple a cappucino is 3,50 with is to high.

Paddy Duddy from United Kingdom
on Sat, 5th Oct 2019
Golf in Portugal
Lovely course,well maintained and a good challenge.
William from Portugal
on Sat, 28th Sep 2019
Excellent picturesque course.
Jaeson from United Kingdom
on Sat, 21st Sep 2019
Challenging course
Challenging course and great fun to play especially when you birdie the last
david from United Kingdom
on Fri, 20th Sep 2019
Great course
Brendan from United Kingdom
on Wed, 18th Sep 2019
An interesting course with a variety of holes, some blind and some with elevated greens. The course was in excellent condition with the greens in particular in very good. The bunkers could, however, have done with some more sand in them. Overall, a very good course and good value for money.
Alan from Portugal
on Wed, 18th Sep 2019
Nice but challenging
A tough course with lots of blind shots. Most fairways are sloping one way or the other. Staff very nice.

If you are looking for an easy game of golf then this is not for you.

A buggy is essential.

Value for money excellent.

MICHAEL HARRIS from United Kingdom
on Wed, 11th Sep 2019
front nine very hard to play due buggies finding it very difficult to get near course

back nine though very good and very well presented

Mark from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Aug 2019
Really nice course.
Richard from United Kingdom
on Tue, 20th Aug 2019
Right and tough but well worth a visit.
Tough, tight, and hilly but a great challenge and well worth a visit. Always in good condition and even the brown parts of the course have good grass coverage. You will need to play sensible golf and keep the driver at home, as it isn’t overly long but it does require accurate tee shots. If the wind is blowing - good luck, it can put 4 clubs (up or down) on any shot if you have the wind behind or into your face. Getting accurate distance is tough.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Mon, 15th Jul 2019
Tricky But Fun
Have played many rounds in Portugal but it was our first visit to Santo Antonio and we were not disappointed. Great course, tricky tee shots and tight in places however, stunning views (if the golf isn't going great) and would recommend.

20 handicapper may find it a bit of a challenge, however it's not massively long so playable by all. Very enjoyable course and would defiantly play again.

The 19th has cracking views too!!

Pieter from Netherlands
on Wed, 3rd Jul 2019
Hidden gem
Very Nice.

Especially the back nine. Front nine is ok but has quite some blind shots which requires some knowledge on hole layouts. Perfect for a holiday. Would return doe sure.

Arend Koster from Netherlands
on Tue, 25th Jun 2019
One of the nicest courses in the neighbourhood of Lagos, beautiful in the Hills with lot of daling drives. The course goes up and down. Well maintained and good service
Antony from United Kingdom
on Thu, 6th Jun 2019
Great coursd
Great course. Friendly pro and staff. Tricky front nine. Pretty back nine. Greens were good. Is a good test of your handicap. We will play it again.
May from Portugal
on Fri, 31st May 2019
Nice golf course
mark westoby from United Kingdom
on Sun, 19th May 2019
This course was the furthest west we played; in fact it’s probably the furthest west in the Algarve.

Well-kept and a nice layout, undulating and didn’t lose too many balls.

ian Bardsley from Netherlands
on Mon, 6th May 2019
Nice course very picturesqe
Well kept course. Good value for money in comparison to a lot of courses. Lots of uphill downhill lies if you stray off the fairway which isnt difficult to do!! Enjoyable day. Not recommended for high handicappers.
Robert from United Kingdom
on Thu, 2nd May 2019
Top Course with fantastic views
Fantastic course, challenging but rewarding with the right play. Superb views, well maintained with friendly staff and members. Could not speak highly enough of the facilities and course. Would deffinately play again.
Hanne Reinholt from Denmark
on Thu, 18th Apr 2019
Really a nice course.

Good fairways and good greens.

Klaus-Dieter from Germany
on Sun, 24th Mar 2019
Better information requiered
Spectaculary course, very hilly in good shape. Not recommendable for elder player because on at least 8 holes buggy on fairways forbitten. Can be difficult for player with 'double' handicap. Should be known before booking.
Marilyn from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Mar 2019
Difficult course for a one off. Beautifully maintained
Robert Nutt from Portugal
on Sun, 24th Feb 2019
magnificent
from the welcome in the pro shop to the surroundings and condition of the course, everything was first class.

Unfortunately the course was too difficult for my ability but it was so good I returned to try again.

If you are in the area I would seriously ask you to consider this golf course, it's quite hilly so a buggy may be required althugh during my two rounds I did se plenty of golfers carrying and with push/electric trollies.

Paul Bushell from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Feb 2019
Cotswold Tour 2019
Course was in excellent condition.

A little too difficult for your average golfer and play was very slow.

Fredrik from Sweden
on Wed, 30th Jan 2019
Funny and hilly.
Gerlinde from Austria
on Sun, 23rd Dec 2018
Beautiful course with wonderful views
Very nice course, beautiful landscape, club house at place with wondeeful views, description of holes could be improved
Janne from Finland
on Fri, 30th Nov 2018
Nice course
There are plenty of ups and downs. The course is not long but the transitions are. The greens are in good shape. The course was full. I played first front nine and when I came to ten, there was a long queue. Somehow I got past many of the really slow groups. I recommend a buggy. Price was good.
Jan from Netherlands
on Mon, 26th Nov 2018
Nice course

Friendly people

Proper price

Kenneth from United States
on Mon, 26th Nov 2018
Scenically golf course
Scenic challenges golf course. Good conditions and nice small restaurant on hole 19.
Bart from Netherlands
on Thu, 22nd Nov 2018
Minder verzorgd doch mooie baan. Niet gemakkelijk omdat je overal behalve op de teebox schuin staat.
Jukka Ahtinen from Finland
on Mon, 19th Nov 2018
A pleasant, challenging field. Good green and fairways.

Jukka Ahtinen

paul cromwell from United Kingdom
on Fri, 16th Nov 2018
brilliant course with some fantastic holes. Not really suitable for a beginner unless they're straight hitters but most holes are different so you have to really think about where you're going to aim for, challenging but a fantastic course. Some people really don't like the course but all of us who played it agree that its one of the best and most scenic courses we've ever played and we can't wait to do so again
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 22nd Oct 2018
Quite simply 'A hidden Gem' !! We loved everything about this course.
Gertjan Brands from Netherlands
on Fri, 19th Oct 2018
Mooie baan , clubhuis wel aan een update toe .ik kreeg pas 30 minuten voor de ronde mijn buggy .deze heb je echt wel nodig. De medewerker aan de receptie mag wel wat vriendelijkheid uitstralen .het had geregend en we moesten op de cart paden blijven ook al lag de bal bijna aan de andere kant . Zeer vermoeiend spelen . soms leek ik wel een bergbeklimmer. Maar dat lag meer aan mijn spel. Maar al met al een leuke baan.
Rupert from United States
on Thu, 18th Oct 2018
Don't bother stick to Villamoura
Greens were very slow, the pro shop made a mistake with our booking and provided us with a buggy. I'd assumed given the wetness and hilly nature of course, it was the course's policy as every group had buggies. Marshal was sent out to the inform us of their error with two holes to play. Debated the issue with the professional who was rude and lacked an understanding of the situation. Eventually paid for buggy and left feeling rather disappointed. Food was decent.
Irene from Switzerland
on Sun, 14th Oct 2018
Great course, wonderful atmosphere and scenery! I recommend this place a lot!
Stuart from United Kingdom
on Sat, 6th Oct 2018
Nice course
Nice course, well kept, reasonably challenging due to the hilly nature of it. I would recommend this course.
Graham Barron from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd Oct 2018
Played twice great course
Great course quite testing sloping fairways and some blind shots can make it slow. We played twice during our week and the first day was slow on the course and the buggy broke down causing 30 min delay However second outing played virtually alone on course . Would definitely recommend as views are stunning.
Geoff from United Kingdom
on Thu, 6th Sep 2018
Not for the faint hearted.
It must be more than 10 years since I last played the course and it hasn't changed for the better- it just has too many quirky holes because of the terrain. In good condition bar some wet spots, ( too much irrigation? ) it requires a buggy to be enjoyable but be careful there are some hair raising moments!
Ludmila from Czech Republic
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
Excellent value !
Our husbands played this course years ago and they love it there. Very good golf at an interesting course at the best price on the Algarve. Very nice layout, undulating, narrow - tight drives, blind holes and no 2 holes the same but very playable. The course was in great condition.
Josephine from Portugal
on Mon, 25th Jun 2018
First time playing Santa Antonio
Fantastic and challenging course!! Very undulating, narrow, blind holes, uphill and not for golfers looking for a leisure game. I personally love it even though I played poorly and my partner absolutely hated the course. 13th hole is stunning with fairways like a narrow valley and the pine trees backdrop framing the green looks picture perfect!!
Tony Clements from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Jun 2018
This was the first of three courses played on our recent visit and it was the cheapest to play. But I have to say it was the favorite of 4 of our group of 6.

Very interesting layout, tight drives, very undulating and no 2 holes the same. We played the course the day after their Club Championship and the course was in great condition. We would happily play here all week on future visits. A real hidden gem of a course.

Adrian from United Kingdom
on Sun, 3rd Jun 2018
A perfectly good starter course.

Better ones out there to experience.

Vincent Darby from Ireland
on Fri, 11th May 2018
Recommended- lovely course, excellent price
Excellent value overall. A warm welcome from staff. Tees and greens in good condition considering the wear and tear they get from holidaymakers. As others have said, scary buggy ride holes 1-6 adds to the fun, and when the wind blows it’s interesting! Undulating course but very playable, even for my wife who is a relative beginner (36 h’cap). The barman was lovely - so welcoming, and the food was excellent. A great days golf at a picturesque course at the best price on the Algarve.
Denise Swindells from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd May 2018
Denise Swindells
Excellent course the greens were amaizing

Staff very helpfull

Had a fabulous day

Thanks

Mike from United Kingdom
on Mon, 26th Mar 2018
We played in wet and windy conditions so was quite a challenge in particular the 9th hole. Greens were in great condition despite the weather.
Peter Therrien from Portugal
on Fri, 2nd Mar 2018
Interesting Layout, Fairly tough, So-so conditionn
Very interesting course, with a variety of holes. Cart a must even though I play a hilly course at home and always walk it. The cart paths for the first 5 holes are downright dangerous, so be very careful ( especially second tee, 5th and 6th). Greens in very good condition, but the fairways not great. As others have said, the course is a little tricky the first time around. Pretty good value for the price, but if you are expecting a well manicured resort course, this isn't it. It plays pretty tough, and you need to hit good shots.
Judith from Portugal
on Fri, 23rd Feb 2018
Amazingly picturesque course, very challenging for first time playing, maybe a second round with more course knowledge would make it kinder.
Tim from United Kingdom
on Mon, 19th Feb 2018
Golf in the Western Algarve
A great way to start a sunny Sunday in the Algarve. Nice course but challenging if you haven’t played it before as lots of little obstacles all the way around. A buggy is a must unless you fancy a full aerobic work out.

Friendly staff so all in all worth a return visit.

William from United Kingdom
on Sun, 4th Feb 2018
Not for me
Viewing the course looks amazing, however playing it is another matter, for me there was to many blind shots which slows down play and for that reason would not play again.
Mirko from Italy
on Fri, 19th Jan 2018
Up and down beautiful hills
Beautiful and well mainteined course, with some difficult and very long holes and lots of up-and-down in the front 9 holes. Quite challenging but all in all very playable and enjoyable. We had a problem with our car (due to our dumbness, we took the gear off inadvertently) and the staff quickly got the car (at the 8th hole) and brought us on the 10th hole. Recommendable.
Alan Horne from United Kingdom
on Thu, 4th Jan 2018
Enjoyable course
A challenging course but enjoyable. You need to be fit to walk and carry.
Jim from Portugal
on Fri, 24th Nov 2017
J & J golf Portugal
Wonderful course very picturesque with great views of the surrounding country side. Course has great elevation changes. Greens were the best we had in Portugal. Would definitely play it again.
ZIGGY PASTWA from Poland
on Tue, 14th Nov 2017
Absolutely fantastic hills where you do not see greens most of the time .

Hitting well you can achieve long distances .

Retailleau from Portugal
on Thu, 9th Nov 2017
Very beautiful course.
Peter from United Kingdom
on Sun, 5th Nov 2017
Mickey Mouse helter skeltor but good value for money.
Peter from United Kingdom
on Sun, 22nd Oct 2017
Back after many years.
Had not played here for many years but played twice this holiday and really enjoyed it. Got to play each time on our own which was great. It’s a quirky course and you have to plot your way round but great fun.
Torben from Portugal
on Mon, 16th Oct 2017
Up and down
Very hilly. Hardly ever a decent lie. Everything rolls right or left. In general bad condition
Jonathan from Portugal
on Mon, 16th Oct 2017
Superb course but VERY hilly
Superb course in fantastic condition.

Hiring of buggy is a little confusing.....I would recommend a trolley......very hilly but there are fairways you can't take the buggy down making it very awkward when you're down a valley....pick the wrong club then have to walk back up a steep incline to pick another club.....next time it'll be a power trolley.

Allan from United Kingdom
on Wed, 4th Oct 2017
Very picturesque but challenging course with a couple of blind holes. Was in excellent condition
Graham Barron from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Oct 2017
Best of the year
Best course of the week for us. Beautiful area difficult but very fair. Clubhouse great Staff great. Will definitely be back next year .
Martha from Netherlands
on Tue, 26th Sep 2017
Very nice course
James
on Sat, 16th Sep 2017
Miller/Logan annual golf outing
Very good, course in great condition speed of play good no waiting time

Staff very good

Bar/restaurant very good

Matthew from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Sep 2017
Windy mid September.
Greens and fairways have improved considerably since early July.

Course in great condition. Staff were friendly. Food in restaurant OK.

Would return again.

Would have given 5 stars but most of the ball cleaners had no water in them!

Philip Cotton from Portugal
on Fri, 8th Sep 2017
A bit worn, greens certainly needed alot more attention. However, it's certainly a fun course to play what with its hills, slopes and undulations. Certainly would not play it without a buggy
Paul Harrison from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Aug 2017
Worth a visit
They've made very good use of the hilly terrain. Yes, it is resort golf but it's well kept, the greens were good and some of the holes were fun and some were spectacular. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Eamon from United Kingdom
on Wed, 19th Jul 2017
Santo Antonio FDF 4/10
Very picturesque course but not an enjoyable course for the first timer or faint hearted. A lot of blind holes where it. Was very difficult to decide what club to play and where. There were a few great holes but all in all our party of four decided it wasn't a course they would revisit. We also played in under four hours but we we're still ushered along by a Marshall and comments were made to us in the club house by a two ball who were behind us. We won't be back!
Nigel Kirkpatrick from United Kingdom
on Tue, 11th Jul 2017
Really enjoyable
Really enjoyable course especially the second time we played it. Good variety of holes , greens good and some good challenges thrown in for high or low handicappers
Coert from Portugal
on Sun, 25th Jun 2017
Nice course. Als lot of wind.
Alan Lee from United Kingdom
on Sun, 18th Jun 2017
Front nine is a bit of a jumble of fun and crazy holes; back nine was excellent. All holes had very good greens, and we enjoyed a nice lunch in the clubhouse afterwards. A lot of elevation changes on the course - recommend a buggie.
Rent from Netherlands
on Wed, 24th May 2017
To fast starting and not respecting the tee times
Very nice golf but only the do not respect the time between the teetime

Also special at hole 3 we have problems that the flight on hole 1 play the ball on hole 3 and not respect the rules and we must wait 4 times on poeple that came on our hole

After that they complane that they must wait to long because they must wait on our flight and we must play faster of the Marshall

after 5 holes we did not see them anymore and also we can play normal

For some of our players is was not nice

Michael from Ireland
on Mon, 8th May 2017
A cracker
An absolute joy to play. A fair course with stunning views together with a fantastic variety of holes
Charlotte from Portugal
on Mon, 13th Mar 2017
Beautiful course. Greens very good. Fairways as well. We really had a very nice afternoon. Service excellent. Charlotte
Mair Jones from Portugal
on Mon, 30th Jan 2017
First vist to Santo Antonio
Very pretty course with some interesting holes. Good test of golf but suitable for all handicaps. Good shots rewarded by birdie chances. Buggy recommended as long walks between holes. Lovely club house with great views and very welcoming staff.
Geertjan from Portugal
on Wed, 18th Jan 2017
Challenging!
Friendly reception, great views, well-kept course, greens in supercondition (mid-January). Sloping fairways that tend to be a bit unfair at times.
Danny Pitchley from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Nov 2016
Santo Antonio
Great course in great condition, especially for the time of year (November). Lovely way to finish our golf weekend.
Christophe from Portugal
on Sat, 15th Oct 2016
Partie du 15 octobre 2016.
Golf très correct rapport qualité prix (50€/18 trous via internet) pour la région. Très bon accueil. Bien entretenu. Environnement vallonné et assez technique, jeux souvent en devert mais jouable. Green très roulant mais bien arrosé donc bon pitching à la réception. Bon qualité des fairways et avant greens.
anthony aldred from United Kingdom
on Mon, 3rd Oct 2016
Santo Antonio GC
Clubhouse now looking old

Great pint of Somersby larger

Friendly staff

1st 9 holes mickey mouse

2nd 9holes better

Greens dry and patchy.

Ian from Denmark
on Tue, 27th Sep 2016
Some spectacular views, the greens were really fast. Very challenging course especially when the wind gets up. Some ridiculously long holes in particular the 9th but overall definitely worth playing.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Santo Antonio page's or to connect with other Santo Antonio golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.