Loading
to

Santo Antonio Reviews

colin from Portugal
on Mon, 23rd May 2022
Good course, great condition
Thought the course was in excellent condition both fairways and greens

Very demanding today with 2-3 club wind through the valleys. In fact it was wind against on 13 out of 18 holes

Quite challenging if you walk but did love the way each hole changed

Would definitely play again and at a cost of 45 euros it’s a bargain

Matthew from Ireland
on Wed, 11th May 2022
Slope
Tough Course you have drive to the slope of each fairway to setup a good second shot
Harry from United Kingdom
on Tue, 10th May 2022
Never Stop Enjoying This Course
I've been playing at the course for around 15 years now and still enjoy it just as much as I did when I first started. Unique design and variety of holes in beautiful surroundings with a fab terrace and bar overlooking the 18th green to finish - my favourite course to play.
Steve from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd May 2022
Santo Antonio golf
Santo Antonio was good fun and quite challenging, with some interesting changes of elevation tee to green. Would perhaps have been hard work without a buggy. Very helpful staff in the golf shop and bar.
George from United Kingdom
on Sat, 30th Apr 2022
Hilly but picturesque
As previously reviewed, I never fail to come back here. It is by far and away my favourite course that I’ve played. Hilly and challenging, but a picturesque round
George from United Kingdom
on Sat, 30th Apr 2022
My favourite course
100% my favourite course in the world (that I’ve played). Very hilly and usually quite windy, but nonetheless really, really enjoyable. I’ve been here 6 years in a row now and won’t hesitate to come back next time. The greens are pretty true and the backdrop and scenery is outstanding.
Walter from Switzerland
on Thu, 14th Apr 2022
Somewhat disappointing course
I liked the architecture of the course, lots of ups and downs, not easy.The fairways and greens unfortunatly were not well maintained. Clubhouse and especially the restaurant are a disgrace, which seems quite astonishing because the course is surrounded by million-euro villas
Stephan from Germany
on Fri, 8th Apr 2022
Very interesting course, good conditions, very good price.
Richard from United Kingdom
on Sun, 27th Mar 2022
Not worth it
The caveat to this review is that it isn’t based on me having a bad day (which I did!) as I have played badly on many courses but rated them highly.

Conditions were poor with scrappy and uneven tee-boxes and the greens were untidy and very slow.

Back 9 definitely less challenging than front 9, but also much better laid out to be fair.

Buggies in poor condition too with little padding left in the torn seats.

One of the few courses of the almost 200 we played across Europe, Asia, Americas and Caribbean that I definitely would not bother with again.

Kari Kauppinen from Finland
on Mon, 14th Mar 2022
Hilly course
Quite hilly course, most of the players used buggies. Some undulating fairways & sloping laterally. Some blind spots on course. Staff was very friendly. Restaurant was good.
Tim from United Kingdom
on Sun, 13th Mar 2022
A repeat visit to this course .
Enjoyed the challenge once again. Friendly and helpful staff. Could do with replacing the tee markers on the tee boxes.
Thomas from Germany
on Mon, 28th Feb 2022
great golf course but poorly maintained
what a pity, such a nice course, but......not very well maintained, a lot of dried leaves on the fairways, Signs no longer legible.....
ROGER from Portugal
on Mon, 28th Feb 2022
Très joli parcours assez difficile mais bien entretenu
Martine from France
on Sun, 30th Jan 2022
Very hilly, buggy needed. Great course. We enjoyed playing there.
Andy from Canada
on Fri, 3rd Dec 2021
One of the hilliest Algarve courses
Very hilly with lots of break on the greens. Take a buggy but be careful on the hills, some of the buggy brakes are worn from all the ups and downs. Good course condition.
Mark from United Kingdom
on Sun, 28th Nov 2021
Great round again greens not as quick as on our last round but that was members competition day

Winter course so buggies not allowed on a few fairways

Adam from United Kingdom
on Thu, 18th Nov 2021
Front 9 could have been designed by Walt Disney! Good greens, buggy essential.
Gerald Smith from Portugal
on Tue, 9th Nov 2021
Gerald from Rocha Brava
As always an enjoyable course with varied holes but it gets more difficult as you get older - even with a buggy!
Dieter from Germany
on Tue, 9th Nov 2021
Alles bestens
Mark from United Kingdom
on Tue, 2nd Nov 2021
Quick Round
Great round. And only three hours to play 18 holes as we were the first out at 9am
Stefan Duijndam from Portugal
on Mon, 27th Sep 2021
In love with Santo Antonio
Absolutely in love with this course. Challenging but fair. Makes you think (and think again) about every shot you are about to take. Could not name just one favorite hole, that would not be fair to the other holes :). Special thanks to Aurora travels for recommend this beautiful venue to play and book t-time and greenfees. Will be back definitely!!!
Ninna from Portugal
on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Very hilly and very spectacular course.

It was hard walking around with trolleys.

Challenging course

Sam from Netherlands
on Wed, 11th Aug 2021
Awesome golf course
Enjoyed this morning @ Santo Antonio!

Wonderful course, scenery and greens. Would recommend a buggy in the heat.

John from Portugal
on Mon, 26th Jul 2021
Great

Very windy

Greens quite slow

Really enjoyed

George from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Oct 2020
A real gem of a course
A real gem of a course. Extremely hilly, so definitely need a buggy, but it really gets you thinking in terms of ball placement, as the ball can end up a long way away sideways from where it initially lands. However, this also lends some of the nicest views I have come across in golf. Greens were good and played true.
Jörg from Germany
on Mon, 16th Mar 2020
Sehr interessanter, anspruchsvoller Platz, schöne Pars 3, Pflegezustand sehr gut. Immer wieder
Hans Petter from Norway
on Sun, 1st Mar 2020
Nice course, much up and down.
Hans from Netherlands
on Wed, 19th Feb 2020
I really liked the course, everything looked nice and fairways and greens were very fast.

A lot of height differences which made it very interesting to play.

I would recommend a buggy, but even then you have to walk a fair amount as they needed to stay on the paths.

AlgarveGolf.net
Thank you kindly Hans and for your review of
William from United Kingdom
on Tue, 4th Feb 2020
Okay course nothing to shout about, we decided to walk it big mistake
Sean from United Kingdom
on Wed, 15th Jan 2020
Course was in great condition with fast greens, even in early January!
Kenneth from United Kingdom
on Mon, 9th Dec 2019
Physically challenging course with too many hillside lies. Greens in decent condition and very friendly clubhouse.
Jukka Ahtinen from Finland
on Thu, 28th Nov 2019
Santo Antonio Golf Course was a game condition. Challenging and bolt. Greens and Farways were good. The service worked. Thank you
Peter from United Kingdom
on Wed, 27th Nov 2019
A real challenge!
We’ve played here many times and still struggle to shoot a respectable score mainly because of the steeply sloping fairways which demand you find the level ground - often easier said than done. Well worth the trip, course is always in good condition and always a challenge!
Nin Rösth from Sweden
on Sun, 17th Nov 2019
Very nice golfcourse, nice staff.
Hans-Peter Engeler from Switzerland
on Fri, 8th Nov 2019
good day on a course
Very interesting course. Tricky holes but with a defensiv play they are well playable. Friendly staff. We will play it again.
monique from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Nov 2019
Beautiful course. Lots off hill climbing but it was worth it.
monique from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Nov 2019
Wonderful course. Come back soon.
Andy Cutler from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Oct 2019
Mr Cutler
Had a very enjoyable round here, played with a couple of members (Rob & Keith) They were great company and a big help going round the course.

Buggy is a must have, very hilly...…

Clubhouse is great but pro shop could do with some more varied stock.

paul from United Kingdom
on Sat, 12th Oct 2019
Santo antonio
Great course but very hilly. Buggy recommended.
Jan from Portugal
on Sat, 12th Oct 2019
Great cource
Beautiful course with friendly staff.

Clubhouse is not mutch and the price for excemple a cappucino is 3,50 with is to high.

Paddy Duddy from United Kingdom
on Sat, 5th Oct 2019
Golf in Portugal
Lovely course,well maintained and a good challenge.
William from Portugal
on Sat, 28th Sep 2019
Excellent picturesque course.
Jaeson from United Kingdom
on Sat, 21st Sep 2019
Challenging course
Challenging course and great fun to play especially when you birdie the last
david from United Kingdom
on Fri, 20th Sep 2019
Great course
Brendan from United Kingdom
on Wed, 18th Sep 2019
An interesting course with a variety of holes, some blind and some with elevated greens. The course was in excellent condition with the greens in particular in very good. The bunkers could, however, have done with some more sand in them. Overall, a very good course and good value for money.
Alan from Portugal
on Wed, 18th Sep 2019
Nice but challenging
A tough course with lots of blind shots. Most fairways are sloping one way or the other. Staff very nice.

If you are looking for an easy game of golf then this is not for you.

A buggy is essential.

Value for money excellent.

MICHAEL HARRIS from United Kingdom
on Wed, 11th Sep 2019
front nine very hard to play due buggies finding it very difficult to get near course

back nine though very good and very well presented

Mark from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Aug 2019
Really nice course.
Richard from United Kingdom
on Tue, 20th Aug 2019
Right and tough but well worth a visit.
Tough, tight, and hilly but a great challenge and well worth a visit. Always in good condition and even the brown parts of the course have good grass coverage. You will need to play sensible golf and keep the driver at home, as it isn’t overly long but it does require accurate tee shots. If the wind is blowing - good luck, it can put 4 clubs (up or down) on any shot if you have the wind behind or into your face. Getting accurate distance is tough.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Mon, 15th Jul 2019
Tricky But Fun
Have played many rounds in Portugal but it was our first visit to Santo Antonio and we were not disappointed. Great course, tricky tee shots and tight in places however, stunning views (if the golf isn't going great) and would recommend.

20 handicapper may find it a bit of a challenge, however it's not massively long so playable by all. Very enjoyable course and would defiantly play again.

The 19th has cracking views too!!

Pieter from Netherlands
on Wed, 3rd Jul 2019
Hidden gem
Very Nice.

Especially the back nine. Front nine is ok but has quite some blind shots which requires some knowledge on hole layouts. Perfect for a holiday. Would return doe sure.

Arend Koster from Netherlands
on Tue, 25th Jun 2019
One of the nicest courses in the neighbourhood of Lagos, beautiful in the Hills with lot of daling drives. The course goes up and down. Well maintained and good service
Antony from United Kingdom
on Thu, 6th Jun 2019
Great coursd
Great course. Friendly pro and staff. Tricky front nine. Pretty back nine. Greens were good. Is a good test of your handicap. We will play it again.
May from Portugal
on Fri, 31st May 2019
Nice golf course
mark westoby from United Kingdom
on Sun, 19th May 2019
This course was the furthest west we played; in fact it’s probably the furthest west in the Algarve.

Well-kept and a nice layout, undulating and didn’t lose too many balls.

ian Bardsley from Netherlands
on Mon, 6th May 2019
Nice course very picturesqe
Well kept course. Good value for money in comparison to a lot of courses. Lots of uphill downhill lies if you stray off the fairway which isnt difficult to do!! Enjoyable day. Not recommended for high handicappers.
Robert from United Kingdom
on Thu, 2nd May 2019
Top Course with fantastic views
Fantastic course, challenging but rewarding with the right play. Superb views, well maintained with friendly staff and members. Could not speak highly enough of the facilities and course. Would deffinately play again.
Hanne Reinholt from Denmark
on Thu, 18th Apr 2019
Really a nice course.

Good fairways and good greens.

Klaus-Dieter from Germany
on Sun, 24th Mar 2019
Better information requiered
Spectaculary course, very hilly in good shape. Not recommendable for elder player because on at least 8 holes buggy on fairways forbitten. Can be difficult for player with 'double' handicap. Should be known before booking.
Marilyn from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Mar 2019
Difficult course for a one off. Beautifully maintained
Robert Nutt from Portugal
on Sun, 24th Feb 2019
magnificent
from the welcome in the pro shop to the surroundings and condition of the course, everything was first class.

Unfortunately the course was too difficult for my ability but it was so good I returned to try again.

If you are in the area I would seriously ask you to consider this golf course, it's quite hilly so a buggy may be required althugh during my two rounds I did se plenty of golfers carrying and with push/electric trollies.

Paul Bushell from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Feb 2019
Cotswold Tour 2019
Course was in excellent condition.

A little too difficult for your average golfer and play was very slow.

Fredrik from Sweden
on Wed, 30th Jan 2019
Funny and hilly.
Gerlinde from Austria
on Sun, 23rd Dec 2018
Beautiful course with wonderful views
Very nice course, beautiful landscape, club house at place with wondeeful views, description of holes could be improved
Janne from Finland
on Fri, 30th Nov 2018
Nice course
There are plenty of ups and downs. The course is not long but the transitions are. The greens are in good shape. The course was full. I played first front nine and when I came to ten, there was a long queue. Somehow I got past many of the really slow groups. I recommend a buggy. Price was good.
Jan from Netherlands
on Mon, 26th Nov 2018
Nice course

Friendly people

Proper price

Kenneth from United States
on Mon, 26th Nov 2018
Scenically golf course
Scenic challenges golf course. Good conditions and nice small restaurant on hole 19.
Bart from Netherlands
on Thu, 22nd Nov 2018
Minder verzorgd doch mooie baan. Niet gemakkelijk omdat je overal behalve op de teebox schuin staat.
Jukka Ahtinen from Finland
on Mon, 19th Nov 2018
A pleasant, challenging field. Good green and fairways.

Jukka Ahtinen

paul cromwell from United Kingdom
on Fri, 16th Nov 2018
brilliant course with some fantastic holes. Not really suitable for a beginner unless they're straight hitters but most holes are different so you have to really think about where you're going to aim for, challenging but a fantastic course. Some people really don't like the course but all of us who played it agree that its one of the best and most scenic courses we've ever played and we can't wait to do so again
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 22nd Oct 2018
Quite simply 'A hidden Gem' !! We loved everything about this course.
Gertjan Brands from Netherlands
on Fri, 19th Oct 2018
Mooie baan , clubhuis wel aan een update toe .ik kreeg pas 30 minuten voor de ronde mijn buggy .deze heb je echt wel nodig. De medewerker aan de receptie mag wel wat vriendelijkheid uitstralen .het had geregend en we moesten op de cart paden blijven ook al lag de bal bijna aan de andere kant . Zeer vermoeiend spelen . soms leek ik wel een bergbeklimmer. Maar dat lag meer aan mijn spel. Maar al met al een leuke baan.
Rupert from United States
on Thu, 18th Oct 2018
Don't bother stick to Villamoura
Greens were very slow, the pro shop made a mistake with our booking and provided us with a buggy. I'd assumed given the wetness and hilly nature of course, it was the course's policy as every group had buggies. Marshal was sent out to the inform us of their error with two holes to play. Debated the issue with the professional who was rude and lacked an understanding of the situation. Eventually paid for buggy and left feeling rather disappointed. Food was decent.
Irene from Switzerland
on Sun, 14th Oct 2018
Great course, wonderful atmosphere and scenery! I recommend this place a lot!
Stuart from United Kingdom
on Sat, 6th Oct 2018
Nice course
Nice course, well kept, reasonably challenging due to the hilly nature of it. I would recommend this course.
Graham Barron from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd Oct 2018
Played twice great course
Great course quite testing sloping fairways and some blind shots can make it slow. We played twice during our week and the first day was slow on the course and the buggy broke down causing 30 min delay However second outing played virtually alone on course . Would definitely recommend as views are stunning.
Geoff from United Kingdom
on Thu, 6th Sep 2018
Not for the faint hearted.
It must be more than 10 years since I last played the course and it hasn't changed for the better- it just has too many quirky holes because of the terrain. In good condition bar some wet spots, ( too much irrigation? ) it requires a buggy to be enjoyable but be careful there are some hair raising moments!
Ludmila from Czech Republic
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
Excellent value !
Our husbands played this course years ago and they love it there. Very good golf at an interesting course at the best price on the Algarve. Very nice layout, undulating, narrow - tight drives, blind holes and no 2 holes the same but very playable. The course was in great condition.
Josephine from Portugal
on Mon, 25th Jun 2018
First time playing Santa Antonio
Fantastic and challenging course!! Very undulating, narrow, blind holes, uphill and not for golfers looking for a leisure game. I personally love it even though I played poorly and my partner absolutely hated the course. 13th hole is stunning with fairways like a narrow valley and the pine trees backdrop framing the green looks picture perfect!!
Tony Clements from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Jun 2018
This was the first of three courses played on our recent visit and it was the cheapest to play. But I have to say it was the favorite of 4 of our group of 6.

Very interesting layout, tight drives, very undulating and no 2 holes the same. We played the course the day after their Club Championship and the course was in great condition. We would happily play here all week on future visits. A real hidden gem of a course.

Adrian from United Kingdom
on Sun, 3rd Jun 2018
A perfectly good starter course.

Better ones out there to experience.

Vincent Darby from Ireland
on Fri, 11th May 2018
Recommended- lovely course, excellent price
Excellent value overall. A warm welcome from staff. Tees and greens in good condition considering the wear and tear they get from holidaymakers. As others have said, scary buggy ride holes 1-6 adds to the fun, and when the wind blows it’s interesting! Undulating course but very playable, even for my wife who is a relative beginner (36 h’cap). The barman was lovely - so welcoming, and the food was excellent. A great days golf at a picturesque course at the best price on the Algarve.
Denise Swindells from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd May 2018
Denise Swindells
Excellent course the greens were amaizing

Staff very helpfull

Had a fabulous day

Thanks

Mike from United Kingdom
on Mon, 26th Mar 2018
We played in wet and windy conditions so was quite a challenge in particular the 9th hole. Greens were in great condition despite the weather.
Peter Therrien from Portugal
on Fri, 2nd Mar 2018
Interesting Layout, Fairly tough, So-so conditionn
Very interesting course, with a variety of holes. Cart a must even though I play a hilly course at home and always walk it. The cart paths for the first 5 holes are downright dangerous, so be very careful ( especially second tee, 5th and 6th). Greens in very good condition, but the fairways not great. As others have said, the course is a little tricky the first time around. Pretty good value for the price, but if you are expecting a well manicured resort course, this isn't it. It plays pretty tough, and you need to hit good shots.
Judith from Portugal
on Fri, 23rd Feb 2018
Amazingly picturesque course, very challenging for first time playing, maybe a second round with more course knowledge would make it kinder.
Tim from United Kingdom
on Mon, 19th Feb 2018
Golf in the Western Algarve
A great way to start a sunny Sunday in the Algarve. Nice course but challenging if you haven’t played it before as lots of little obstacles all the way around. A buggy is a must unless you fancy a full aerobic work out.

Friendly staff so all in all worth a return visit.

William from United Kingdom
on Sun, 4th Feb 2018
Not for me
Viewing the course looks amazing, however playing it is another matter, for me there was to many blind shots which slows down play and for that reason would not play again.
Mirko from Italy
on Fri, 19th Jan 2018
Up and down beautiful hills
Beautiful and well mainteined course, with some difficult and very long holes and lots of up-and-down in the front 9 holes. Quite challenging but all in all very playable and enjoyable. We had a problem with our car (due to our dumbness, we took the gear off inadvertently) and the staff quickly got the car (at the 8th hole) and brought us on the 10th hole. Recommendable.
Alan Horne from United Kingdom
on Thu, 4th Jan 2018
Enjoyable course
A challenging course but enjoyable. You need to be fit to walk and carry.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Santo Antonio page's or to connect with other Santo Antonio golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.