Loading
to

Salgados Reviews

George from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Oct 2020
One of my favourite courses
My friend and I have played here every year for the last 4 years and do not hesitate to go back each time. It is one of our favourites. The course itself is very challenging and, for me personally, very hungry in terms of balls! It’s also quite open and next to the sea, albeit not links, so wind is definitely a factor. The greens were mostly true but quick, so all-in-all sensible golf is the way forward with this course. The club house staff are very friendly and helpful, there is a really good atmosphere.
Michael from Ireland
on Sun, 25th Oct 2020
A good test of accuracy
Floridian in style , water everywhere and tight , good value in decent condition
Aidan Bagnall from Ireland
on Sun, 25th Oct 2020
Aidan, Ireland
Love it. It's always on our list when we visit. friendly and very helpful staff, lovely location, and a nice course also, can't wait to get back.
Renald from Belgium
on Mon, 19th Oct 2020
Great course
We enjoyed the golf course which is very well maintained. All holes are surrounded with water which make it special. Greenfee is correct
Philip from Portugal
on Sat, 17th Oct 2020
Great greens almost rude to miss from 6 ft. Two tough par 5's against wind even off yellows.
Monika from Portugal
on Mon, 12th Oct 2020
great golf course
Jim from Portugal
on Tue, 6th Oct 2020
Sweet course and fair challenge .
I like the course. Even though there is a lot of water. Not hilly like many if the courses around Vilamora and reasonably priced, unlike those same courses. They would get more players if they weren't so in love with themselves. Salgado offers the same challanges but doesn't fleece you when charging for the play. Salgado is always on our short list of courses we play.
Ian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 6th Oct 2020
Late round in the sun.
Good value as a single with a buggy after 4. Round in under two and a half hours as the course was quiet. Good condition and a lot of water to gobble up errant shots. I nearly ran out. Flat but enough to keep you interested. Staff efficient and helpful.
Paul
on Fri, 18th Sep 2020
Great course
Great course, lots of water, and the fairways were great and greens superb and true. Very reasonable for both green fee and club hire. Would definitely play here again.
Alan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Sep 2020
Salgados ... again!
Can't get enough of this course, so much fun! Water everywhere, and there is usually a stiff breeze coming in from the coast which is a couple of hundred yards from the course, so all in all a great challenge. If you hit the ball straight you should score well. If not, well you can always go for a paddle.

Along with VDL Ocean this is one of my favourite courses on the Algarve.

Course in great condition early Sept-20. The greens had been spiked and sanded (but not butchered) a week or two before but were great to putt on.

Edward from United Kingdom
on Sun, 6th Sep 2020
Great clubhouse!
Loved the course, quite open considering how much water is about. Greens slow
George from Portugal
on Mon, 31st Aug 2020
Very good, greens could be better
Beautiful course, very good fairways. Challenging but fun, with really good clubs rental. Only issue was the greens were all top layered with sand, which wasn’t ideal.
Abderrahmane Bouazza from France
on Wed, 26th Aug 2020
Pas mal mais trop de monde
Beau parcours, un peu monotone mais beaucoup de monde.
Maxime from Portugal
on Wed, 12th Aug 2020
Good value
Good value for the price, greens were ok
Massimo from Portugal
on Tue, 4th Aug 2020
Fantastico, i’ll play again
Daniel from Slovakia
on Thu, 13th Feb 2020
Nice golf course...servis ok..
Allison from Canada
on Mon, 3rd Feb 2020
Course was in beautiful shape considering it’s winter here. Very tranquil. Pace of play was good.
Ulrich from Portugal
on Tue, 10th Dec 2019
Sorry to say....
This is an easy course to play and to walk. no undulation at all. Flat as a pancake. t-boxes in poor condition. fairways not much better. Greens fairly okay. overall unlikely to play the course again.
Kari from Finland
on Mon, 18th Nov 2019
Good course, slow progress.
Very slow round, the group ahead of us very slow.
Marc from Portugal
on Sat, 9th Nov 2019
Everything was ok

Thanks

Gaston from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Nov 2019
Salgados
Nice course, not very difficult. Quite busy, therefore a lot of waiting. Good greens, reasonable fairways. Expensive.
Brigitte from Portugal
on Thu, 31st Oct 2019
Perfect booking
Platz war in einwandfreiem Zustand. Booking über Algarvegolf.net war perfekt!!
Mauricio from Norway
on Mon, 28th Oct 2019
Put aside that the course was a little bit dry, we had a great experience. Some tee areas was not that good, but the greens was good and challenging.
Marc from Belgium
on Fri, 25th Oct 2019
Nice clubhouse

Well maintained course

Ian from United Kingdom
on Wed, 23rd Oct 2019
Spoilt by the weather
Course condition was fine and staff helpful and efficient. Round was at a reasonable pace. Food service a little slow. You have to be able to hit it straight . Had to stop at half way in view of the unforecasted storms but that’s not the golf course’s fault!
Darren from United Kingdom
on Tue, 22nd Oct 2019
Salgados
Tiny tight course, that just about works. Enjoyable 4,10 18 holes.
Graham from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Oct 2019
Excellent course and facilities. Lots of water and some long holes. Very flat course but would recommend buggies. Have loads there.
Colin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Oct 2019
Plain and boring
Long and flat the only interest is the water but that is not too hard to navigate. Staff in bar area slow and unfriendly.

practice facilities poor with one large driving net, chipping area in need or serious repair

Andy Cutler from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Oct 2019
Mr Cutler
Second time round this course this year, in May the fairways were much better. But after a summer of buggies charging around on an easily walkable course, the wear and tear is now showing.

Still a fun course to play and never lost a ball, so I beat the water this time.

Gerard from Portugal
on Mon, 14th Oct 2019
Beautiful but not easy
Brian Howorth from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
Very Enjoyable. Good test of golf. Lots of water and palms. Not for high

handicap golfers.

Mike from United Kingdom
on Fri, 4th Oct 2019
Hopeful but disappointing
Course ok and picturesque but golf was spoiled by playing in a 3-ball behind a large(50 ) society that reduced the round to over 5.5 hours. Post-round, 1 person serving refreshments couldn’t cope with the number of drinkers so after ordering a meal, I was told they had to stop serving food to focus on the bar. Left thirsty and hungry.
Pam from Portugal
on Thu, 3rd Oct 2019
Relaxing golf
Relaxing course if you can stay out the water, and there is a lot of water to avoid. The course was in good condition. Suitable for all.

Starter was friendly and helpful and equipment was in good order.

David from United Kingdom
on Mon, 30th Sep 2019
Salgados Course review
Tough course, no easy holes. Water on every hole but good value compared to other courses in the area
David from United Kingdom
on Mon, 30th Sep 2019
Salgados Course review
Tough course, no easy holes. Water on every hole but good value compared to other courses in the area
James Purshall from United Kingdom
on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
Water, water, water, water! Keep it straight and away from the water! A great test. Very busy course.
CYRILLE GUERY from France
on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
club de golf au milieu de nul part
Le tracé est sympathique ,terrain et green de bonne qualité, accueil correct ; Mais les alentours du club house font vraiment pitié plusieurs chantiers abondonnés...
Philip from United Kingdom
on Sat, 21st Sep 2019
Very good but could be first class
Good design, well planned, water hazards in play but a fair course for good golf. Greens pitted with so many pitchmarks, reflecting on visitors lack of etiquette rather than course maintenance. Bunkers were poor quality generally and course conditioning could be improved given still growing weather. A very nice course however, worth a visit.
Rob from Portugal
on Fri, 20th Sep 2019
Ok if you like water
Far too much water hazard, felt like every shot could go in the drink. More water than fairway with half decent shots being punished. Course was in good condition but far too busy, having to wait 10 mins on each tee, which was also probably due too the amount of balls going in the water. I'd say you have to play off single figures to stand any chance of enjoying course. Much better courses in the Algarve.
Symon from United Kingdom
on Fri, 20th Sep 2019
A golf course not to be missed
Great course , staff were very helpful and club house service was excellent
Keith from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Sep 2019
Salgados golf course review
Great American style course with lots of challenging holes with water on quite a few holes. Flat course but you need to be able to keep the Ball in play to score. Fast greens but lovely to putt on. A course you have to think your way around. Good short game area and putting greens. No driving range but there is a great practice net where you can warm up your swing. Good bar and restaurant.
David from United Kingdom
on Fri, 13th Sep 2019
Good experience
Played here twice & enjoyed the experience. The course in pretty good condition. We found all the staff very pleasant & our meal after was good & well priced.
Ant from United Kingdom
on Thu, 12th Sep 2019
Fantastic. Well organised, well kept course, scenic, challenging , good service. Good value
Ian from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Sep 2019
Ideal
Good condition. Mix of challenging and more gentle holes. Par 5 6th the standout. Staff helpful. Perfect holiday golf. And value for money versus ‘big name’ courses in the area.
Terry from United Kingdom
on Fri, 6th Sep 2019
Father and son golf
Good course with plenty of hazards, particularly water. Lots of interesting bird life. Friendly staff well run.
Andrew Kirton from United Kingdom
on Wed, 4th Sep 2019
Review Salgados, 3/9/19, 8 players
Course itself was a great design but over watered. Staff leave a lot to be desired. Drink / food buggy drove passed us at speed 4 separate times before we could flag him down. Bar service is terrible, which was the same when we last played 2 years ago. No table service, tables not cleared and bar not staffed. Staff sat on phones and when trying to place an order for 8 drinks say that might take a while.
EDUARDO from Portugal
on Tue, 3rd Sep 2019
Salgados
Campo bonito, bien cuidado y para disfrutar.
grant ritchie from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Sep 2019
Grant
Great open course and greens are in great condition.

Best value for money course in the Algarve

Colin from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Aug 2019
Nice relaxing round
Decent course. Lots of water, but pretty much zero rough and very few bunkers. A nice breeze off the coast, so not too hot. I played by myself at 1pm and walked with a trolley (6 euros) - managed to get round in 2 hours 45 mins. The course was really quiet at that time.
Brent from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Aug 2019
Great club house, super course on great condition. Open enough and loads of water in play. Great 6th hole. Greens flatter than most around but soft and accessible with good approach shots.
Martin from Portugal
on Mon, 12th Aug 2019
Really enjoyable course and staff really helpful
Tony from United Kingdom
on Fri, 9th Aug 2019
The course was in great condition. This was one of the cheaper courses, so the others must be brilliant. There are some tough holes and many with water, so plenty of balls needed for us high handicappers. Hire clubs were Nike and in good condition. Food in the bar afterwards was good and cheap.
Patrick from United Kingdom
on Mon, 5th Aug 2019
Tough test with plenty of water. Wind made it tricky. Would definitely play again.
Mark from United Kingdom
on Tue, 23rd Jul 2019
Great Course
Fantastic 18 holes on a testing golf course.. well maintained, greens smooth and receptive. Lots of water hazards throughout...
Hazel from United States
on Tue, 16th Jul 2019
Great day
Warm welcome. Course in excellent condition with interesting challenges.
John from Portugal
on Mon, 15th Jul 2019
A great course.
This is a lovely golf course with a mixture of challenging and more open holes. The condition of the course is excellent. Signposting is clear and easy to follow.
Carlos from Portugal
on Tue, 9th Jul 2019
Beautiful Course
Had a great round at Salgados golf course. The course was well maintained and the greens were excellent. No major complaints, just a suggestion, would be good to have a starter to ensure people tee off at the correct time and course has good spacing. Overall, I really enjoyed the round and without question would play at Salgados again!
Grzegorz from Poland
on Sun, 30th Jun 2019
Very nice looking course with many palms and a lot of water everywhere. With a strong wind from the ocean which is very close can be quite demanding. Unfortunately no view to the ocean from the course. Nice personnel, course in good condition, with soft greens.
Ondřej from Czech Republic
on Wed, 19th Jun 2019
Made 2 birdies and two ”9” :))
The course was friendly to play, full of water hazards and has low speed greens. The staff was very friendly, no problem to have children in buggy.
Kenny from United Kingdom
on Mon, 17th Jun 2019
Enjoyed my golf course quite tricky due to the wind disappointed with greens which had been hollow cored.
Gordon from Portugal
on Sun, 9th Jun 2019
Best Course west of Vilamoura!
Water surrounds many of the holes but the course is very well laid out and both the fairways / greens are in very good shape. Greens are quick but will hold a ball with spin.

Excellent clubhouse and good food in the restaurant.

Denise Hennin from United Kingdom
on Fri, 7th Jun 2019
Lovely course. Great facilities and staff were friendly and helpful. My only disappointment was having to play on my own and not being paired up with anyone else.
Kim from United Kingdom
on Mon, 3rd Jun 2019
We have a great day our, the course is well worth playing
Ryan from United Kingdom
on Thu, 23rd May 2019
Great course in great condition
Mike Lewis from United Kingdom
on Thu, 23rd May 2019
Mike lewis from Wales
Excellent service, course was fantastic. Would definitely play again 👍⛳️
Sally
on Tue, 14th May 2019
Great course!
Great course, tad busy but not held up or pushed. Wonderful bird life around the MANY water holes. Very pretty course with excellent facilities. Played twice in five days and will definitely return
DAMIEN HAROLD from Ireland
on Sun, 12th May 2019
Excellent course. Staff were fantastic to deal with, clubs/buggy/food and service all excellent. 👍
graham from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th May 2019
Water water everywhere leave the driver in the bag all 17 lakes yes 17 plus the waterways that connects them come into play but a great day
John from Portugal
on Thu, 9th May 2019
Salgados Course
Great course in good condition. Lots of water. Hired clubs, which were a good set of Nike’s. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Thomas from Germany
on Mon, 6th May 2019
Nice course only very straight and not that natural. Anyhow we enjoyed playing.
walter from Austria
on Sun, 5th May 2019
I like Salgados nice course and in a very good condition! I come again next year. Regard Walter köhle
Terry from United Kingdom
on Sun, 5th May 2019
Salgados Golf Review 12 Handicap.
Outstanding course..... not overly difficult but easy to get out of position and then the course becomes challenging.

Play what you can see and don’t be greedy and you’ll get round the course safely and to your handicap. Take the risks and you can easily shoot under handicap but be warned take the risk and it doesn’t pay off you can easily have high number on your scorecard.

Michael from Ireland
on Thu, 25th Apr 2019
We had to come in after 9 holes on Tuesday because the course was so slow.
Dominique from Belgium
on Sun, 7th Apr 2019
Que d'eau, que d'eau !
Que d'eau que d'eau !! En bord de mer, le vent joue donc un grand rôle. Parcours plat, mais précision requise, ou un bon stock de balles !!
Philip from United Kingdom
on Thu, 4th Apr 2019
Salgados Review
Great Course albeit the wind played a little into the hands of the handicap we didn't have. The course was in great condition and we will certainly be playing it again.
Craig from United Kingdom
on Tue, 2nd Apr 2019
Salgados
Absolutely beautiful course. Very fast greens and good selection of challenging holes.

Only negative couldn't find anyone to get our club deposit back at the end!

Peter from Germany
on Thu, 28th Mar 2019
Ok course, would not go back, more interesting courses can be found easily.
Tony from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Mar 2019
Weekend of Golf at the Salgados.
For a holiday golf course and with the feedback from our group its a Five Star Course. The staff all very helpful, friendly and the booking process really straight forward. We were they in March and it was busy but the course moved really nicely. The course its self isn't as hard as advertised but you need to take it seriously or you could be in a world of pain (Our handicap spread is 9-23). Our scoring was spread between 38 - 28 over two days. Greens very tricky but fair. Would recommend the whole experience and we are planning to return next year.
Jaroslav from Czech Republic
on Wed, 27th Feb 2019
a bit windy but pleasant
Dymphie from Netherlands
on Mon, 25th Feb 2019
Nice course with a lot of water!

Take extra balls with you.

The driving range was very poor for such a beautiful club. You have to hit own balls in the net with 5 other players.

Harry from Portugal
on Mon, 25th Feb 2019
Watery Course
Lovely course. Pro shop staff not friendly. Starter very friendly. Beauitiful condition with lots of water.
Sylvie from France
on Thu, 14th Feb 2019
Les 2 sylvie
Nice setting a long the océan. Lots of water....reception not so gold but despote the first approach the rest went extrêmement Well. Nice course

We took a buggy as Well despite à flat course. The design is Nice and the holes were taff because of the water every where.good service on the courses but no toilettes.

Paul Bushell from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Feb 2019
Cotswold Tour 2019
Beautiful golf course and great clubhouse facilities.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

A great test for all standards and excellent greens.

Peter from Germany
on Wed, 6th Feb 2019
Demanding If your T-shots are not straight
Course in good shape. A lot of interesting birds on the course
Walter from Austria
on Sat, 26th Jan 2019
Schöne Runde einem gepflegten Platz
Schöne Runde auf einem sehr gut gepflegten Platz. Wenig los, so dass man ganz entspannt spielen könnte.

Schnelle Grüns und viel Wasser hat uns ordentlich gefördert.

Die Leihschläger waren in sehr guten Zustand. Sehr gutes Preis/Leistungsverhältnis.

John from Portugal
on Sat, 26th Jan 2019
A course that has hidden challenges. Need to play more than once to fully appreciate it. Good greens lots of water 💧
Harry from Portugal
on Sun, 20th Jan 2019
Great golf course, lots of water hazards. The wind today didn’t make golf that great. Would play it again.
Robert from Russian Federation
on Thu, 17th Jan 2019
Salgados Course Conditions
Windy but course in very good condition including greens. Pace of play was great. Less than 3-1/2 with groups walking in front. Lots of water in play if not hitting accurately Played poorly & lost 6 balls but enjoyed the course, fast play & round overall
Thomas from Portugal
on Sun, 6th Jan 2019
In the Dunes..
The name Salgados Dunes is correct, some spectacular views. The Course was in perfect condition and is playable for Players of all handicaps. We had a package of Greenfee, cart and clubs for a very reasonable price. Staff was friendly and helpful. Come, play and see for yourself!
Lewis David from Portugal
on Thu, 3rd Jan 2019
Great course for mid handicaps.
Amazing layout among saltwater lagoons, behind the sand dunes. I played over New Year holiday for the first time in years, but this course is an old friend. Excellent condition. This is a very playable course for mid handicaps who can keep the ball in play. Higher handicappers will suffer as a lot of water to catch wayward shots, and can get brutal if the wind is up, as it often is here on the coast. Flat and no long walks between tees, so buggy not necessary. Can get round in 3 and a half hours no problem if course isn't busy.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Salgados page's or to connect with other Salgados golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.