Loading
to

Salgados Reviews

Ondřej from Czech Republic
on Wed, 19th Jun 2019
Made 2 birdies and two ”9” :))
The course was friendly to play, full of water hazards and has low speed greens. The staff was very friendly, no problem to have children in buggy.
Kenny from United Kingdom
on Mon, 17th Jun 2019
Enjoyed my golf course quite tricky due to the wind disappointed with greens which had been hollow cored.
Gordon from Portugal
on Sun, 9th Jun 2019
Best Course west of Vilamoura!
Water surrounds many of the holes but the course is very well laid out and both the fairways / greens are in very good shape. Greens are quick but will hold a ball with spin.

Excellent clubhouse and good food in the restaurant.

Denise Hennin from United Kingdom
on Fri, 7th Jun 2019
Lovely course. Great facilities and staff were friendly and helpful. My only disappointment was having to play on my own and not being paired up with anyone else.
Kim from United Kingdom
on Mon, 3rd Jun 2019
We have a great day our, the course is well worth playing
Ryan from United Kingdom
on Thu, 23rd May 2019
Great course in great condition
Mike Lewis from United Kingdom
on Thu, 23rd May 2019
Mike lewis from Wales
Excellent service, course was fantastic. Would definitely play again 👍⛳️
Sally
on Tue, 14th May 2019
Great course!
Great course, tad busy but not held up or pushed. Wonderful bird life around the MANY water holes. Very pretty course with excellent facilities. Played twice in five days and will definitely return
DAMIEN HAROLD from Ireland
on Sun, 12th May 2019
Excellent course. Staff were fantastic to deal with, clubs/buggy/food and service all excellent. 👍
graham from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th May 2019
Water water everywhere leave the driver in the bag all 17 lakes yes 17 plus the waterways that connects them come into play but a great day
John from Portugal
on Thu, 9th May 2019
Salgados Course
Great course in good condition. Lots of water. Hired clubs, which were a good set of Nike’s. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Thomas from Germany
on Mon, 6th May 2019
Nice course only very straight and not that natural. Anyhow we enjoyed playing.
walter from Austria
on Sun, 5th May 2019
I like Salgados nice course and in a very good condition! I come again next year. Regard Walter köhle
Terry from United Kingdom
on Sun, 5th May 2019
Salgados Golf Review 12 Handicap.
Outstanding course..... not overly difficult but easy to get out of position and then the course becomes challenging.

Play what you can see and don’t be greedy and you’ll get round the course safely and to your handicap. Take the risks and you can easily shoot under handicap but be warned take the risk and it doesn’t pay off you can easily have high number on your scorecard.

Michael from Ireland
on Thu, 25th Apr 2019
We had to come in after 9 holes on Tuesday because the course was so slow.
Dominique from Belgium
on Sun, 7th Apr 2019
Que d'eau, que d'eau !
Que d'eau que d'eau !! En bord de mer, le vent joue donc un grand rôle. Parcours plat, mais précision requise, ou un bon stock de balles !!
Philip from United Kingdom
on Thu, 4th Apr 2019
Salgados Review
Great Course albeit the wind played a little into the hands of the handicap we didn't have. The course was in great condition and we will certainly be playing it again.
Craig from United Kingdom
on Tue, 2nd Apr 2019
Salgados
Absolutely beautiful course. Very fast greens and good selection of challenging holes.

Only negative couldn't find anyone to get our club deposit back at the end!

Peter from Germany
on Thu, 28th Mar 2019
Ok course, would not go back, more interesting courses can be found easily.
Tony from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Mar 2019
Weekend of Golf at the Salgados.
For a holiday golf course and with the feedback from our group its a Five Star Course. The staff all very helpful, friendly and the booking process really straight forward. We were they in March and it was busy but the course moved really nicely. The course its self isn't as hard as advertised but you need to take it seriously or you could be in a world of pain (Our handicap spread is 9-23). Our scoring was spread between 38 - 28 over two days. Greens very tricky but fair. Would recommend the whole experience and we are planning to return next year.
Jaroslav from Czech Republic
on Wed, 27th Feb 2019
a bit windy but pleasant
Dymphie from Netherlands
on Mon, 25th Feb 2019
Nice course with a lot of water!

Take extra balls with you.

The driving range was very poor for such a beautiful club. You have to hit own balls in the net with 5 other players.

Harry from Portugal
on Mon, 25th Feb 2019
Watery Course
Lovely course. Pro shop staff not friendly. Starter very friendly. Beauitiful condition with lots of water.
Sylvie from France
on Thu, 14th Feb 2019
Les 2 sylvie
Nice setting a long the océan. Lots of water....reception not so gold but despote the first approach the rest went extrêmement Well. Nice course

We took a buggy as Well despite à flat course. The design is Nice and the holes were taff because of the water every where.good service on the courses but no toilettes.

Paul Bushell from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Feb 2019
Cotswold Tour 2019
Beautiful golf course and great clubhouse facilities.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

A great test for all standards and excellent greens.

Peter from Germany
on Wed, 6th Feb 2019
Demanding If your T-shots are not straight
Course in good shape. A lot of interesting birds on the course
Walter from Austria
on Sat, 26th Jan 2019
Schöne Runde einem gepflegten Platz
Schöne Runde auf einem sehr gut gepflegten Platz. Wenig los, so dass man ganz entspannt spielen könnte.

Schnelle Grüns und viel Wasser hat uns ordentlich gefördert.

Die Leihschläger waren in sehr guten Zustand. Sehr gutes Preis/Leistungsverhältnis.

John from Portugal
on Sat, 26th Jan 2019
A course that has hidden challenges. Need to play more than once to fully appreciate it. Good greens lots of water 💧
Harry from Portugal
on Sun, 20th Jan 2019
Great golf course, lots of water hazards. The wind today didn’t make golf that great. Would play it again.
Robert from Russian Federation
on Thu, 17th Jan 2019
Salgados Course Conditions
Windy but course in very good condition including greens. Pace of play was great. Less than 3-1/2 with groups walking in front. Lots of water in play if not hitting accurately Played poorly & lost 6 balls but enjoyed the course, fast play & round overall
Thomas from Portugal
on Sun, 6th Jan 2019
In the Dunes..
The name Salgados Dunes is correct, some spectacular views. The Course was in perfect condition and is playable for Players of all handicaps. We had a package of Greenfee, cart and clubs for a very reasonable price. Staff was friendly and helpful. Come, play and see for yourself!
Lewis David from Portugal
on Thu, 3rd Jan 2019
Great course for mid handicaps.
Amazing layout among saltwater lagoons, behind the sand dunes. I played over New Year holiday for the first time in years, but this course is an old friend. Excellent condition. This is a very playable course for mid handicaps who can keep the ball in play. Higher handicappers will suffer as a lot of water to catch wayward shots, and can get brutal if the wind is up, as it often is here on the coast. Flat and no long walks between tees, so buggy not necessary. Can get round in 3 and a half hours no problem if course isn't busy.
Lee from United Kingdom
on Sat, 24th Nov 2018
Salgados
Up there with one of the nicest courses I have played, Very tricky course! If back in Portugal I will be coming back here.
James from United States
on Thu, 22nd Nov 2018
Enjoyed playing Salgados today
This is a must do course in the Algarve. Different than all the rest. Very well maintained and some great holes. We enjoyed it very much.
André from Portugal
on Tue, 20th Nov 2018
To wet and too narrow designed.
Paul Bell from United Kingdom
on Sun, 18th Nov 2018
Poor course and management
Poor course run by unprofessional people booked buggies no buggies was lucky to get a trolly totally over crowded 2 mins between tee times took over 5 and gals hours to play no lockers had to leave gear behind reception book another course
John from Portugal
on Mon, 12th Nov 2018
Second visit
Golf reception was very very poor. No communication., no interaction . We were not really welcome. Even though we had paid in advance! We only found out from caddy master we had been doubled booked. The Starters were brilliant. Polite and very pro active.

Usual problem - tee times pushed too close together.

Gordon from United Kingdom
on Tue, 30th Oct 2018
Salgados golf .
I have played this a number of times and always enjoy , it is a test of golf. One sore point is the beer buggy doesn't come round enough.

Very enjoyable day and I would play it again.

Gordon& Rab

From Paisley.

Rob Wells from Portugal
on Wed, 24th Oct 2018
Excellent & Challenging course
Excellent course. Challenging but a great design. And the previous reviewer who suggested you’ll need plenty of balls wasn’t wrong! Great service too. Will be returning again
Rupert from United States
on Thu, 18th Oct 2018
Tricky little test, bring plenty of balls.
Greens were good, pretty tight, course was very busy but worth a visit.
manuel from Switzerland
on Mon, 15th Oct 2018
Très beau parcours avec de nombreux points d’eau.
Anthony from United Kingdom
on Sat, 13th Oct 2018
Nice course with tough but fair greens, disappointed to be put with 2 strangers from Sweden who have different rules of etiquette than us..

Started on the 10th but ran smoothly..

Take plenty of balls.. I only lost 3 but was lucky

Mark from United Kingdom
on Thu, 11th Oct 2018
Not recommended
It was the first time that we played the course and it will definitely be the last.

Massively over subscribed, rude staff and a manufactured plastic course with no character at all.

I now know why is a cheaper than the other courses, It was definately a case of penny wise and pound foolish.

Alan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 5th Oct 2018
Salgados. Great fun!
Some short holes, some long, but on nearly all there are water hazards!

I have played this twice and look forward to playing it again. The best greens on the Algarve for me.

Graham Barron from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd Oct 2018
Good course but overwatering is a problem
This course has water everywhere even on the fairways but is a great test. Completely flat but well designed and reasonably open if you can avoid the lakes. We played tee time 0944 and the course was very wet indeed due to heavy watering. Enjoyed it but not in my top ten. V busy but well controlled balls will be flying around a bit so keep your eyes open. Good clubhouse attached to Nau hotels so amenities very good. Well worth playing good situation.
Colin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd Oct 2018
Great course staff very friendly well organised only had to wait at the 10th lots of water so lost a few balls will certainly play it again
Stanley from Portugal
on Fri, 28th Sep 2018
Stan.
Very good. Excellent service. Played using a buggy but not necessary if you like to walk or carry. Challenging with lots of water.
Mark from United Kingdom
on Mon, 24th Sep 2018
Slow.
Delayed start due to no buggies being available even though pre booked.

Couse in good condition but very slow round of 5 hours.

Alison
on Sun, 23rd Sep 2018
Disappointing
I was really looking forward to playing this course, however the staff really let this place down. Very unfriendly and rude. Course is OK but for ladies the water challenge is basically non existent as all the T boxes are positioned away from the water. Not one I would play again.
Michael from United Kingdom
on Fri, 21st Sep 2018
Good service, friendly staff, not mastered the English breakfast yet though what we had was hot through, odd sausage
Richard from United Kingdom
on Thu, 20th Sep 2018
Mr
A good test with excellent greens, challenging water hazards and beautiful views. Overall well worth a visit.
Colin from United Kingdom
on Thu, 20th Sep 2018
Lovely course, some holes get a bit repetitive but very good condition
Martin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 17th Sep 2018
Good interesting course
The course is an interting Challenge for accurate play and in a lovely Sletting near the coast. Fairways nand Greens were good but tee require a bit of attention .
Martin from Portugal
on Thu, 13th Sep 2018
Shame about the service
Enjoyed the round, a bit tight , unfortunately spoiled by the clubhouse staff who seemed to have had a personality bypass, attitude of waitress was shocking.
Carl Baronii from Portugal
on Wed, 12th Sep 2018
Really good value for money
Really good value for money, 115€. For 2 players and a buggy. Shows ,you get a little more for your money when you drive out a bit from vilamoura ,

Greens were very good , loads a water around which makes it more fun. Worth the trip

Ross from United Kingdom
on Tue, 4th Sep 2018
Great course, great test, great scenery and wonderful staff service, Thanks
Simon from Portugal
on Thu, 30th Aug 2018
Green lush warm and great!!
First 18 hole course played abroad. Was great! Weather and quietness of course was brilliant. Fantastic facilities and staff!! Really enjoyed it!! My son really did 14yrs and with his hcap buried me!!
Homayoun from Luxembourg
on Sun, 26th Aug 2018
Good condition of the course and friendly reception.
James from Ireland
on Fri, 24th Aug 2018
Nice to look at but that is it, greens are good, course is wet in parts and wouldn't really recommend it to anybody definitely not worth the money
Christian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 14th Aug 2018
Easy-going golf. Not over challenging. Nice.
Really enjoyed this course but its not as designed as others. Quite forgiving by course to suit the highest handicaps. Average to good conditions.
jeff schweizer from United States
on Tue, 14th Aug 2018
Salgado...nice
Nice course, in good condition, many different layouts for holes, staff was friendly and the clubs we rented better than average. Pace of play was quick and this is a solid value for the price.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Mon, 13th Aug 2018
Disappointing
Played today with my son. I was quiet disappointed. There is a net for 'drivibg' range where you hut your own balls, along with a scabby chipping area.

The Nike hire clubs where average at best along with many of the tees.

Water on virtually every hole makes it almost a joke with being adjacent sea and windy. My handicap is 6BTW.

Would not return, sorry.

Chris Munro from United Kingdom
on Mon, 13th Aug 2018
Excellent round at sunny Salgados!
Excellent course with lots of fair holes rewarding good shots.

Good course for a mixed group of golfers, some single figure handicaps and some 'once-a-year-golfers'. Greens were excellent too!

Of particular mention is the admin staff, outstanding customer service and organisation for a group of 11 guys. Flawless!

Ross from United Kingdom
on Mon, 13th Aug 2018
Great Course
A friend and I booked Salgados through Algarve Golf during our holiday and were very impressed with the service from both companies. This was only my 4th round of golf so I did find the water challenging but still enjoyed it. The staff were very helpful and the course was in great condition.

We had no equipment with us at all but got a great deal for 18 holes, a buggy and 2 sets of clubs.

Pat from Portugal
on Tue, 7th Aug 2018
Sal irelanda
Enjoy the course very windy - time between tees needs to be reviewed too many players out and disappointed that on the 10 hole another 2 ball were introduced slowing play down even further. Starter friendly can’t say the same for receptionist. Overall good experience would come again
Conor from United Kingdom
on Tue, 7th Aug 2018
Good but could be better
Great course and very challenging but the quality of clubs was very poor. Hadn't even been cleaned from their previous use and we weren't even provided with free golf tee's which is a bit stingey. Would play it again though but only with my own clubs.
Gerlinde from Austria
on Sat, 4th Aug 2018
Has seen better days
Nice course with water at nearly every hole but lots of rubbish at the course
Ludmila from Czech Republic
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
Nice day
Fun and fine course with some crazy holes. Course was in very good condition. The reception desk was unfriendly. Overall though a very enjoyable day of golf.
Tracy Millard from United Kingdom
on Sat, 28th Jul 2018
Take plenty of balls! Water in play. Enjoyable. Nice breeze from the sea.
Bjorn Egertz from Sweden
on Mon, 23rd Jul 2018
nice course
Fun and fine course with some tricky holes.
Colin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 9th Jul 2018
Golf at Salgados - very worthwhile.
Course was in excellent condition. Arrangements for picking up clubs and buggies were very straightforward. The reception desk was very unfriendly and the resort should examine this as we are not the first group to comment on this. Overall though a very enjoyable days golf.
Carol Dennehy from United Kingdom
on Sat, 7th Jul 2018
Great experience!
Tough course, especially when the wind picks up. Beautiful layout with people working around the clock to maintain the high level of quality seen throughout. The only negatives I'd find in Salgados is that there were a couple of flooded bunkers which were near enough impossible to play out of. Another is the greens which were of a poorer quality when compared to the perfect fairways.

Overall an awesome experience and will definitely play again.

Kerli Maro from Denmark
on Fri, 6th Jul 2018
lovely course, good quality
Philip from United Kingdom
on Thu, 5th Jul 2018
Salgados review
A challenging course. Well presented. Water for a large number of the holes not always in line of play but to the sides. Well worth a visit.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Sat, 30th Jun 2018
Great place.
A great test, good mix of long and short holes, a lot of dog legs but fairways wide but beware, water is every where... take plenty of balls!!
David from United Kingdom
on Thu, 28th Jun 2018
Salgados June 2018
Very challenging course spoilt as only the front 9 was open, we played it twice which was ok but would have liked to do all 18. The par 5's are really tough holes and worth their stroke indexes of 1 and 3. Will go back next year looking forward to playing the full course.
mark from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Jun 2018
A very pleasant day out.
Derek from Ireland
on Mon, 18th Jun 2018
Lots and lots of water so being wayward not an option on a lot of holes. Liked the course though but staff could break out a smile once in a while
David from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Jun 2018
How many balls did I lose in the water
Excellent challenge beat me again
martin Pollard from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
Course lived up to our expectations. Some tight tee off positions and water on 17 holes. Front nine more difficult than back nine in our opinion. Hole 2 is a real tester par 5 with some tight fairways. You really have to be pretty straight and accurate. Very enjoyable experience. Ladies have a 1000m shorter course than men off the yellow tees. Needless to say the wife won our friendly match
David Colwell from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
Excellent thank you
Aidan from Ireland
on Mon, 11th Jun 2018
Nice course 😎
Nice course , in good condition. Plays easy off yellows , worth playing off whites for the extra challenge. A bit of a pain that the starter starts people off the 10th tee aswell as the first. Leads to congestion on the 10th which can disrupt your round.
Richard from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Jun 2018
Beautiful course, lots of water. Fairways quite wide and forgiving when there isn't a water obstacle

Staff throughout the course are incredibly rude. Only the barman was polite.

Julian from United Kingdom
on Fri, 8th Jun 2018
We had a thoroughly enjoyable round
We had a thoroughly enjoyable round and not too busy. Greens were in good order. Friendly staff, good all round experience.
James from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Jun 2018
Mr springer
Quite a tight course with lots of water. Nice and challenging!
matthew from United Kingdom
on Fri, 1st Jun 2018
Nice course shame about the staff and pace of play
Very nice course but very slow. Was regularly being pestered and threatened by a member of the course staff/starter who had the worst attitude I have ever encountered on a golf course. This despite our group being held up on every shot. 5 hour round versus a sub 4 hour 18 holes the next day on another course proves that it wasn't us being slow.
Brian from United Kingdom
on Fri, 1st Jun 2018
Very slow round.
Nice course lots of water, but far to many people playing. Took hours to get round.
Sean
on Thu, 31st May 2018
very good course
Mollie from South Africa
on Thu, 31st May 2018
Really enjoyed the course. Challenging with all the water hazards. The greens were great.
Barry from United Kingdom
on Wed, 30th May 2018
Decent but not the best
Decent but too flat for me. Very busy and it always felt a bit rushed. Looked even busier at lunchtime.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Salgados page's or to connect with other Salgados golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.