Loading
to

Salgados Reviews

Daniëlle from Portugal
on Mon, 9th Jan 2023
Nice course. Beautiful setting
Beautiful surrounding. Very flat. No buggy needed. Fast green. Being straight ov the tee makes your round of golf very pleasant 😃
Alan from United States
on Fri, 6th Jan 2023
Salgados golf course
Great course , nice staff & easy to get to ..

You have to have your wits about you though and be strategic in your shots ..

raymond from United Kingdom
on Fri, 30th Dec 2022
Sunshine golf
Couldn't fault this course excellent condition and a good challenge.
Les from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Nov 2022
very good overall.
steve piper from Portugal
on Wed, 2nd Nov 2022
A trial with nature
A challenging course with a lot of water hazards and the day i played a brisk breeze blowing in off the sea. Its layout and location make the beach side course unique and its landscaped tree lioned holes add extra spice to the holes. I have to say the staff were excellent and the tee times were arranged perfectly to avoid hold ups on the course. A very enjoyable day and we will be back.
Dean from Portugal
on Sat, 29th Oct 2022
Really nice round, helpful staff.
mark from United Kingdom
on Fri, 28th Oct 2022
Mark watson
Excellent round of golf,course in good condition and hospitality good
Bertil from Sweden
on Thu, 27th Oct 2022
Bad greens
Mario from Switzerland
on Tue, 25th Oct 2022
Juste Exceptionel, mon préféré, beaucoup beaucoup d'eau, soyez droit
James from United Kingdom
on Mon, 24th Oct 2022
Great course
Great course! Busy but to be expected.
Susan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 21st Oct 2022
Very busy, nice course
Liam from United Kingdom
on Tue, 18th Oct 2022
Highly recommend
Great course. Clubhouse and welcome were top class with a quick check-in and cart and clubs ready to go. Course was in great condition with high quality fairway and greens.
John from Portugal
on Sat, 15th Oct 2022
Challenging, Course but waste of Drinking Hackers
Well presented and challenging.

Greens pretty good, given the ‘traffic’.

Some very poor golfers with less than satisfactory etiquette on the course. I would have been upset if I had been asked to share a round with them.

justin from Netherlands
on Tue, 11th Oct 2022
Trevor
Who knows didn’t get out of bed
James from United Kingdom
on Wed, 5th Oct 2022
10 out of 10
Very good set up at the club house straight in, golf cart and clubs and onto the Grange, nets and putting green then onto the course! Which is in fantastic condition 10 out of 10 for me!
Phil Jones from Portugal
on Tue, 27th Sep 2022
Good, but not great!
Cons -

1. hire clubs are dross. Miss match set sling together.

2. Woman handing out buggies/clubs was miserable

3. Course a little scruffy in some areas

Pros:

1. It’s a really enjoyable course with some nice holes

2. It is a proper holiday golfers course. The marketing hook to get you to play is “oohh look at all this water”, when in reality, it’s never really in play apart from a short par 3 early on the back 9 which is all over water. The course is very generous off the tee, so you’ll have to be pretty wild to lose a load of balls

3. Because it’s so generous off the tee, you play a lot of shots/2nd shots off the fairway and even when you stray it’s not too penal. Couple this with big greens (although they are pretty undulating) - you can score well, which also makes you feel good coming off the course!

4. It was really, really busy with huge groups going out, but the pace of play was actually good and I got around in 4hrs having teed off at 8.40am

5. Pace of play is helped by the fact it’s hard to lose your ball so people aren’t searching. The only trouble is water, so if you’re in it, it’s drop and go.

Kieron Sculthorpe from Ireland
on Thu, 22nd Sep 2022
Good course
Great course, lots of water hazards not many bunkers, nice par three's, a good challenge. Greens slow
Anthony from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Sep 2022
Very slow round golfers playing who weren't club members had no handicap cert. Greens not in good condition many scuff marks and left pitch marks.
Stephen from United States
on Wed, 21st Sep 2022
Salgado golf
Greens are cord and very sandy. Clubhouse lacks a bit of atmosphere. Facilities were good however no choice in club hire all regular shaft stiffness. Were told someone was joining our 3 ball and instead he went out on his own before us and we were playing behind 1 person all through the round. Beer was good and cheap and the coolers were useful, could of done with a cart on the course at times far away from club house for both bathrooms and drinks.
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Mon, 19th Sep 2022
Great experience but rather 'samey' af
Not really a links course, as advertised but a great test with plenty of water.

Greens very slow due to aeration work....but it has to be done sometime!

Nearby wildlife resort a plus.

ANDREW from United Kingdom
on Mon, 19th Sep 2022
Salgados
Decent layout to course and very flat but condition of tees and greens not great due to drought and amount of use it’s had this season. Tees and greens scabby with lots of pitch mark damage and lack of water. Luckily two partners were regulars and showed us the way. Lots of water hazards which due to the drought were mainly mud.
Martin from United Kingdom
on Sun, 18th Sep 2022
Fun course requiring careful club/shot selection
Fun course, with plenty of variety in holes. Unfortunately the greens had recently been treated, so putting surfaces were poor. Well organised course, but no driving range only a large net and practice chipping and putting areas. Would be a tough course on a very windy day, given there’s water on many holes.
John from United Kingdom
on Sat, 17th Sep 2022
Flat with Water
This course has not suffered in the same ways as others in the area and as such is busy, I mean very busy with late groups of playing teeing off from both the 1 st and 10 tee.

With so many players on the course daily as you would expect it is showing signs of wear.

The course is the flattish I have played in the area with a number of dog legs and water the protection of the green.

Good value for money but be warned it’s busy

Friedrich from Germany
on Wed, 14th Sep 2022
Nice stay
Very friendly staff. Nice course. Poor greens
JUSTIN from United Kingdom
on Tue, 13th Sep 2022
Overpriced as all greens had been worked on. Very disappointing
JUSTIN from United Kingdom
on Tue, 13th Sep 2022
All 18 Greens had been worked on and were very poor. Shame as if I’d of known I wouldn’t of played that course today
Robert from Portugal
on Mon, 12th Sep 2022
Beautiful course
The people of the course are very kindly and it’s a beatiful area to play. It looks easy to play but some holes are ready tuf.
Darren from United Kingdom
on Sun, 11th Sep 2022
Salgados September 22
Excellent course, warm welcome , plenty of water to keep people interested, Greens were being repaired and top dressed but they ran reasonably well . Club house was fantastic
Christian FlüTsch from Portugal
on Thu, 8th Sep 2022
Nice Laguna course
Nice course in very good condition. Lot of water, what it makes necessary to play precisely. A nice laguna course.
Andrea from Portugal
on Fri, 2nd Sep 2022
Flat but scenographic field with its palm trees and the surrounding lagoon. Great for my average level of play and yes my wife, we had a great time.
Barry from United Kingdom
on Tue, 30th Aug 2022
Excellent course and facilities
Good and fair test of golf, course including greens in very good condition. Good hire clubs and facilities at the club. Will definitely be returning.
Karl from Portugal
on Mon, 29th Aug 2022
Birdie time..
I played 2 rounds here in August 2022,what a wonderful course.

Good narrow fairways, tests your wit at times with all the water.

The greens were in great condition.

Get out there and get a few birdies... Bravo

Jukka from Finland
on Sun, 28th Aug 2022
Me like 🥳🕺🏌️‍♂️🥳
Wayne from Ireland
on Fri, 26th Aug 2022
Excellent service
It’s a must if you enjoy playing golf.

For the price you can’t go wrong.

Nothing like great golf(when you play well) great weather and a few beers after.

The service from start to finish was excellent.

Jukka from Finland
on Wed, 24th Aug 2022
Recomended
Very interesting course! Club house is very nice. Easy parking next to the club house. Friendly staff.
Rui Morgado from Portugal
on Wed, 24th Aug 2022
Lovely and well maintained course.

Afternoon well spent.

Curtis from United States
on Sat, 20th Aug 2022
August golf trip
Very much a resort course, nothing amazing but great for beginners as it was very flat and open. Good value for money.
Stewart from Portugal
on Thu, 18th Aug 2022
Lovely course - trickier than it might seem
Resort style course with a lot of water hazards. Course is trickier than it may look as many holes require a drive in the right place or even taking less than the big stick. Greens very receptive and pure, running at a good speed.
Jackie from Portugal
on Wed, 17th Aug 2022
Family golf at Salgados.
Warm welcome, expertly organised thank you. Information we required was on the card, found our way round by following the buggy path. Greens quite slow and not in the best condition is our only criticism. Lovely staff, good after golf snack, reasonably priced. Unfortunately didn’t see expected buggy bar !
Dougie from Portugal
on Mon, 15th Aug 2022
Course was in good shape. Good value for a 2 ball plus buggy and clubs 136 euros. Staff was pleasant. A good morning.
Olli from Finland
on Fri, 12th Aug 2022
Good way to spend youre day
Course was very enjoyable to play. It isnt easy to play between many ditches and small lakes. Course dont deserve fith star because unpleasant service in caddies office and quite slow going playing of some players
martin from Netherlands
on Thu, 11th Aug 2022
Leuke course om gespeeld te hebben!
Prima course, geen Top baan.
Derek Craig from United Kingdom
on Wed, 10th Aug 2022
Lovely course great condition. Play was a little bit slow
Stephen from United States
on Mon, 8th Aug 2022
Two becomes four
Course was generally in excellent conditions. I wish people would take time to repair pitch marks on the green.

My main criticism was specifically booking a two ball tee time at 08:00 we got paired with another two ball. I did not get what I paid for!

David from Ireland
on Sat, 6th Aug 2022
Good, fun course. Nice staff, good value👍
Barry from Portugal
on Thu, 4th Aug 2022
Flat but very challenging
Tough course with lots of water hazards

Course management essential

Greens in good condition and very quick

All staff at the course very friendly

Will play again

PAUL from Portugal
on Mon, 1st Aug 2022
Salgados
Staff were great on booking ...super relaxing atmosphere... the course is not long but you can get into trouble easy enough... fast greens ..
Arran from United Kingdom
on Mon, 1st Aug 2022
Salgados review
Very good course lots of tricky holes and lots of water. Service not the greatest (no Ice in buggies, nobody driving the course with drinks and food) but the course is very good.
Darren from United Kingdom
on Sun, 31st Jul 2022
Excellent course
Great course, really enjoyed it. Lots of water but fairways are wide enough to give you a chance of staying out of it. I enjoyed the way you have to plot your way around. You can’t just hit driver every hole, you have to think about it. Greens were supers too. Would definitely play here again!
Alex from Portugal
on Wed, 27th Jul 2022
Summer 18holes
Fabulous course - a must visit. Well run and buggy hire was first class. Course was tricky and was a really good test - super experience though and hopefully will return
Alan from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Jul 2022
Pre wedding day
Had a great day course was amazing and very friendly staff would 100% play here again when we come back
anth from United States
on Mon, 11th Jul 2022
Excellent service start to finish can’t wait to be back
Steven from United Kingdom
on Mon, 11th Jul 2022
Well worth a visit
Course is great for holiday golf, I had the green fee, buggy and club hire deal. A few holes you needed to know where to lay up but course is in good condition greens are lovely. The staff are friendly and the beer is cold after a round in July
Mark from United Kingdom
on Fri, 1st Jul 2022
Enjoyed the course but lots of water means if not on your game plenty of balls needed
Danny Cowe from United Kingdom
on Thu, 30th Jun 2022
Very slow play
Course in good condition but play was so slow we stopped after 9 holes
John Paul Leahy from United States
on Wed, 29th Jun 2022
Fabulous course and very good staff,very helpful
Phil from United Kingdom
on Sun, 26th Jun 2022
A long
Greens and fairways in good condition and a relatively short course if you avoid the lakes. Round spoiled by terrible slow play, waited on every tee and eventually quit on the 17 th tee with 3 groups on the tee.
Phil from United Kingdom
on Sun, 26th Jun 2022
A long
Greens and fairways in good condition and a relatively short course if you avoid the lakes. Round spoiled by terrible slow play, waited on every tee and eventually quit on the 17 th tee with 3 groups on the tee.
Phil from United Kingdom
on Sun, 26th Jun 2022
A long
Greens and fairways in good condition and a relatively short course if you avoid the lakes. Round spoiled by terrible slow play, waited on every tee and eventually quit on the 17 th tee with 3 groups on the tee.
Phil from United Kingdom
on Sun, 26th Jun 2022
A long
Greens and fairways in good condition and a relatively short course if you avoid the lakes. Round spoiled by terrible slow play, waited on every tee and eventually quit on the 17 th tee with 3 groups on the tee.
Moal from France
on Sat, 25th Jun 2022
A découvrir
Golf très agréable, bon entretien, bonne ambiance. Et pas trop cher..
George from Portugal
on Tue, 21st Jun 2022
Windy course
Nice windy course… a bit slow, but that’s normal with the tourists
Stephanie Roosenboom from Portugal
on Wed, 15th Jun 2022
Nice court, we enjoyed it very much.
Douglas from United Kingdom
on Wed, 15th Jun 2022
Salgados golf.
My 5th and last game on my vacation.

Unfortunately not as enjoyable as Morgado or Alamos.

The fairways were not in great condition, many divits and disease, the bunkers were extremely wet due to the sprinkler system, i.e. big puddles.

The greens were not bad but lazy players not repairing.

Staff were excellent, very helpul and friendly.

scott from United Kingdom
on Tue, 14th Jun 2022
Salgados
On arrival we were greeted nicely,

Purchased lakeballs €10 for 10 balls,

Walk through clubhouse hired a buggy and 2 sets of clubs the clubs are 'nike vapor full sets'

Course is hard, surrounded by water but beautiful and well maintained greens were nice and soft.

Thanks

Scott

Richard from United States
on Thu, 9th Jun 2022
Nice chipping practice Area!
This was the second time I played on this course so managed it a bit better! Fairway Conditions were better than the first time and the greens were good! Very easy to have a little miss-hit or use too much club that records a score breaker!
Erwin from United States
on Mon, 6th Jun 2022
Salgados, a well maintained course worth playing.
The course is well maintained and the caddy master is friendly and efficient in the execution of his task.
David from United Kingdom
on Mon, 6th Jun 2022
Good value course in excellent condition.
Salgados today was superb. Fairways and greens immaculate.

We wanted to stop half way for a drink and a snack, with the thought of rejoining the back nine after a half hour or so. We were advised however that this wasn’t possible due to how busy the course was. Wonder if a 15 min stop would be a good idea for all, especially on a hot day!?

Richard from United States
on Sat, 4th Jun 2022
Bring extra balls if your swing is a bit rusty
The conditions of the fairways were ok not great! The Greens were better than expected and fast! This was the first time I played golf in three months so this course penalized me for any miss-hits! I would bring extra balls to be safe. I am looking forward to going back to it next week and do a better job! Can't leave that course with 106! It wasn't that demanding!!!!
Jamie from United Kingdom
on Thu, 2nd Jun 2022
2 Mid handicappers first time playing Salgados.
A great course that rewards a good golfer. Receptive greens in excellent condition give you a chance to attack the flag. Fairways have taken a bit of a beating. A lot of water but a great challenge. Would definitely play again.
Enrique from Spain
on Sun, 29th May 2022
Personal muy atento y amable. Buena gestión de las salidas y los tiempos.
Dale from United Kingdom
on Sat, 28th May 2022
Water, water and more water
Fantastic course loved all the water even though I found it a few times excellent condition great facilities b back soon
Kenneth from Sweden
on Wed, 25th May 2022
More variton of the holes have been much nicer. Otherwise good standard on grevens and fairways. Kenneth from Sweden
Robbie from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th May 2022
Accuracy Over Distance On This Cracking Course
Accuracy over distance is the key. Very nice course, thoroughly enjoyed the challenge although all the water cost me a couple of balls! Highly recommend
Richard from Portugal
on Sun, 22nd May 2022
Nice course beat handicap
Fantastic course green keepers are amazing I gave one star less because it’s very expensive and when renting clubs you’ve to buy balls even tees but course is superb
James Donald from United Kingdom
on Fri, 20th May 2022
Slow play or overbooking ?
Course itself is ok but our round was ruined by slow play / overbooking . Took us 4 and a half hours to play 16 holes before we walked off as we had plans at night. Hire clubs weren’t great either . One set had a left handed putter and some of the grips were ripped or loose.
Bradford from Canada
on Tue, 17th May 2022
Excellent links course, well worth it.
Gordon from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th May 2022
Get tee off before 4pm if want full round
First the positive - the course was in fantastic condition, as other reviews state lots of water and some tricky shots where local knowledge would be a great advantage, the long 6th was very tight and had unseen danger, but still a joy to play. The clubhouse and facilities were excellent. The location is great, just a short distance from Albufeira.

Now the negative, we booked 18 holes and after booking were informed in the confirmation that due to the time (16:40 tee off) we 'may not complete the full round due to time of sunset'. When we arrived (thankfully very early) the staff informed us that you only get 9 holes if tee off after 16:00, this was very different to 'may not'. After some discussion with the staff we agreed that we would play as many as possible - we managed to tee off at 16:20, had two games in front let us play through, had no one in front of us for the back nine, and a buggy, so managed the full 18 - but it was tight. If we had gone out at the scheduled time, or any of the games had not let us through then we would have managed 12 holes top - because of this I felt selling the package as 18 holes was not correct. As per other reviews also thought that the rental clubs were dated, I couldn't use my driver due to damage, but because of the time constraint didn't attempt to change before the round - as there were two of us we just shared that club.

5 stars for the golf, lower rating due to the other stuff

Paul from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th May 2022
Nice compact course
Water, water everywhere even in some of the bunkers but a nice course, good facilities, driving net, chipping area and putting green, friendly staff and well looked after.
Kelvin from Europe
on Sat, 14th May 2022
Just how many people can you fit on a golf course
Just how many people can you fit on a golf course. Ask Salgardos.

Nice course with reasonable greeens (early May 22). Water all round to give your golf balls a cushioned landing.

Nice clubhouse with a freaky big net to practice before a round.

All the good is offset by waiting for the group in front while feeling guilty for the group behind.

Went out at 2pm and first 9 holes took 2 and a half hours.

Thankfully the course got quieter later in the day and it was only 2 and a bit hours fir the second nine.

Edward from Canada
on Tue, 10th May 2022
Walkable and well maintained
Busy course that has a strict 2 hour per 9 hole policy. The course is well maintained and the staff is polite. Challenging but if you keep your ball in play, you can have birdie opportunities. Lots of water in play. Walkable and flat the course has a Florida feel. Greens could be faster. Overall, a fun experience to spend four hours.
peter from Russian Federation
on Mon, 9th May 2022
salgados
Played this may 2022 when there was a large society booked and was therefore paired up with 2 others to make a 4 ball and feared how long it would take. Initial few holes were slow but it sped up quite quickly and we completed a 4 ball in 4 hours 15. The fairways seemed a little overplayed but the greens were very good condition and whilst a couple of holes only require irons of tees, there are plenty of long holes, especially the back nine. Lots of water and lots of shouts of 'fore' as it is quite enclosed and flat and a stroke saver would have helped, but there are some pretty decent holes and it exceeded my initial expectations. As a comparison, probably better than laguna but not quite as good as millennium but at 70 euros if you can get a deal, worth a go.
chris from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th May 2022
Course in great condition. Greens very true. Overall very good experience. However rental clubs are a little dated. Nike Vapor fly 2015. But useable and still a great day.
Sean from United Kingdom
on Sat, 7th May 2022
Salgados.
Absolutely excellent. Great condition, greens were immaculate and the service from all was brilliant.
Peter Mordecai from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd May 2022
Excellent
George from United Kingdom
on Sat, 30th Apr 2022
Great course
A wonderful course on the coast that always provides the last day’s rounds for my friend and me. There is plenty of water so challenging for people playing wayward shots, and has been very expensive for both of us on balls. Nevertheless we would not fail to make a visit here every year we come
Luke from United States
on Mon, 18th Apr 2022
Very good course
Liam from Portugal
on Wed, 13th Apr 2022
Brilliant course. Well maintained greens and fairways.
Neil from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Apr 2022
Recent Portugal trip to Salgados golf club
The Salgados course was in good condition, the weather was excellent with breeze coming off the sea for the back 9

All in all a great day with friends, no pressure from the course or other golfers, definitely recommend the course with some challenging holes and a fair few water hazards 👍👍

David from United Kingdom
on Mon, 28th Mar 2022
Not Great
Course was very busy and in poor condition. Fairways were terrible. The club house was very uninviting and lacked any atmosphere.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Salgados page's or to connect with other Salgados golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.