Loading
to

Salgados Reviews

manuel from Switzerland
on Mon, 15th Oct 2018
Très beau parcours avec de nombreux points d’eau.
Anthony from United Kingdom
on Sat, 13th Oct 2018
Nice course with tough but fair greens, disappointed to be put with 2 strangers from Sweden who have different rules of etiquette than us..

Started on the 10th but ran smoothly..

Take plenty of balls.. I only lost 3 but was lucky

Mark from United Kingdom
on Thu, 11th Oct 2018
Not recommended
It was the first time that we played the course and it will definitely be the last.

Massively over subscribed, rude staff and a manufactured plastic course with no character at all.

I now know why is a cheaper than the other courses, It was definately a case of penny wise and pound foolish.

Alan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 5th Oct 2018
Salgados. Great fun!
Some short holes, some long, but on nearly all there are water hazards!

I have played this twice and look forward to playing it again. The best greens on the Algarve for me.

Graham Barron from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd Oct 2018
Good course but overwatering is a problem
This course has water everywhere even on the fairways but is a great test. Completely flat but well designed and reasonably open if you can avoid the lakes. We played tee time 0944 and the course was very wet indeed due to heavy watering. Enjoyed it but not in my top ten. V busy but well controlled balls will be flying around a bit so keep your eyes open. Good clubhouse attached to Nau hotels so amenities very good. Well worth playing good situation.
Colin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd Oct 2018
Great course staff very friendly well organised only had to wait at the 10th lots of water so lost a few balls will certainly play it again
Stanley from Portugal
on Fri, 28th Sep 2018
Stan.
Very good. Excellent service. Played using a buggy but not necessary if you like to walk or carry. Challenging with lots of water.
Mark from United Kingdom
on Mon, 24th Sep 2018
Slow.
Delayed start due to no buggies being available even though pre booked.

Couse in good condition but very slow round of 5 hours.

Alison
on Sun, 23rd Sep 2018
Disappointing
I was really looking forward to playing this course, however the staff really let this place down. Very unfriendly and rude. Course is OK but for ladies the water challenge is basically non existent as all the T boxes are positioned away from the water. Not one I would play again.
Michael from United Kingdom
on Fri, 21st Sep 2018
Good service, friendly staff, not mastered the English breakfast yet though what we had was hot through, odd sausage
Richard from United Kingdom
on Thu, 20th Sep 2018
Mr
A good test with excellent greens, challenging water hazards and beautiful views. Overall well worth a visit.
Colin from United Kingdom
on Thu, 20th Sep 2018
Lovely course, some holes get a bit repetitive but very good condition
Martin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 17th Sep 2018
Good interesting course
The course is an interting Challenge for accurate play and in a lovely Sletting near the coast. Fairways nand Greens were good but tee require a bit of attention .
Martin from Portugal
on Thu, 13th Sep 2018
Shame about the service
Enjoyed the round, a bit tight , unfortunately spoiled by the clubhouse staff who seemed to have had a personality bypass, attitude of waitress was shocking.
Carl Baronii from Portugal
on Wed, 12th Sep 2018
Really good value for money
Really good value for money, 115€. For 2 players and a buggy. Shows ,you get a little more for your money when you drive out a bit from vilamoura ,

Greens were very good , loads a water around which makes it more fun. Worth the trip

Ross from United Kingdom
on Tue, 4th Sep 2018
Great course, great test, great scenery and wonderful staff service, Thanks
Simon from Portugal
on Thu, 30th Aug 2018
Green lush warm and great!!
First 18 hole course played abroad. Was great! Weather and quietness of course was brilliant. Fantastic facilities and staff!! Really enjoyed it!! My son really did 14yrs and with his hcap buried me!!
Homayoun from Luxembourg
on Sun, 26th Aug 2018
Good condition of the course and friendly reception.
James from Ireland
on Fri, 24th Aug 2018
Nice to look at but that is it, greens are good, course is wet in parts and wouldn't really recommend it to anybody definitely not worth the money
Christian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 14th Aug 2018
Easy-going golf. Not over challenging. Nice.
Really enjoyed this course but its not as designed as others. Quite forgiving by course to suit the highest handicaps. Average to good conditions.
jeff schweizer from United States
on Tue, 14th Aug 2018
Salgado...nice
Nice course, in good condition, many different layouts for holes, staff was friendly and the clubs we rented better than average. Pace of play was quick and this is a solid value for the price.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Mon, 13th Aug 2018
Disappointing
Played today with my son. I was quiet disappointed. There is a net for 'drivibg' range where you hut your own balls, along with a scabby chipping area.

The Nike hire clubs where average at best along with many of the tees.

Water on virtually every hole makes it almost a joke with being adjacent sea and windy. My handicap is 6BTW.

Would not return, sorry.

Chris Munro from United Kingdom
on Mon, 13th Aug 2018
Excellent round at sunny Salgados!
Excellent course with lots of fair holes rewarding good shots.

Good course for a mixed group of golfers, some single figure handicaps and some 'once-a-year-golfers'. Greens were excellent too!

Of particular mention is the admin staff, outstanding customer service and organisation for a group of 11 guys. Flawless!

Ross from United Kingdom
on Mon, 13th Aug 2018
Great Course
A friend and I booked Salgados through Algarve Golf during our holiday and were very impressed with the service from both companies. This was only my 4th round of golf so I did find the water challenging but still enjoyed it. The staff were very helpful and the course was in great condition.

We had no equipment with us at all but got a great deal for 18 holes, a buggy and 2 sets of clubs.

Pat from Portugal
on Tue, 7th Aug 2018
Sal irelanda
Enjoy the course very windy - time between tees needs to be reviewed too many players out and disappointed that on the 10 hole another 2 ball were introduced slowing play down even further. Starter friendly can’t say the same for receptionist. Overall good experience would come again
Conor from United Kingdom
on Tue, 7th Aug 2018
Good but could be better
Great course and very challenging but the quality of clubs was very poor. Hadn't even been cleaned from their previous use and we weren't even provided with free golf tee's which is a bit stingey. Would play it again though but only with my own clubs.
Gerlinde from Austria
on Sat, 4th Aug 2018
Has seen better days
Nice course with water at nearly every hole but lots of rubbish at the course
Ludmila from Czech Republic
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
Nice day
Fun and fine course with some crazy holes. Course was in very good condition. The reception desk was unfriendly. Overall though a very enjoyable day of golf.
Tracy Millard from United Kingdom
on Sat, 28th Jul 2018
Take plenty of balls! Water in play. Enjoyable. Nice breeze from the sea.
Bjorn Egertz from Sweden
on Mon, 23rd Jul 2018
nice course
Fun and fine course with some tricky holes.
Colin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 9th Jul 2018
Golf at Salgados - very worthwhile.
Course was in excellent condition. Arrangements for picking up clubs and buggies were very straightforward. The reception desk was very unfriendly and the resort should examine this as we are not the first group to comment on this. Overall though a very enjoyable days golf.
Carol Dennehy from United Kingdom
on Sat, 7th Jul 2018
Great experience!
Tough course, especially when the wind picks up. Beautiful layout with people working around the clock to maintain the high level of quality seen throughout. The only negatives I'd find in Salgados is that there were a couple of flooded bunkers which were near enough impossible to play out of. Another is the greens which were of a poorer quality when compared to the perfect fairways.

Overall an awesome experience and will definitely play again.

Kerli Maro from Denmark
on Fri, 6th Jul 2018
lovely course, good quality
Philip from United Kingdom
on Thu, 5th Jul 2018
Salgados review
A challenging course. Well presented. Water for a large number of the holes not always in line of play but to the sides. Well worth a visit.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Sat, 30th Jun 2018
Great place.
A great test, good mix of long and short holes, a lot of dog legs but fairways wide but beware, water is every where... take plenty of balls!!
David from United Kingdom
on Thu, 28th Jun 2018
Salgados June 2018
Very challenging course spoilt as only the front 9 was open, we played it twice which was ok but would have liked to do all 18. The par 5's are really tough holes and worth their stroke indexes of 1 and 3. Will go back next year looking forward to playing the full course.
mark from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Jun 2018
A very pleasant day out.
Derek from Ireland
on Mon, 18th Jun 2018
Lots and lots of water so being wayward not an option on a lot of holes. Liked the course though but staff could break out a smile once in a while
David from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Jun 2018
How many balls did I lose in the water
Excellent challenge beat me again
martin Pollard from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
Course lived up to our expectations. Some tight tee off positions and water on 17 holes. Front nine more difficult than back nine in our opinion. Hole 2 is a real tester par 5 with some tight fairways. You really have to be pretty straight and accurate. Very enjoyable experience. Ladies have a 1000m shorter course than men off the yellow tees. Needless to say the wife won our friendly match
David Colwell from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
Excellent thank you
Aidan from Ireland
on Mon, 11th Jun 2018
Nice course 😎
Nice course , in good condition. Plays easy off yellows , worth playing off whites for the extra challenge. A bit of a pain that the starter starts people off the 10th tee aswell as the first. Leads to congestion on the 10th which can disrupt your round.
Richard from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Jun 2018
Beautiful course, lots of water. Fairways quite wide and forgiving when there isn't a water obstacle

Staff throughout the course are incredibly rude. Only the barman was polite.

Julian from United Kingdom
on Fri, 8th Jun 2018
We had a thoroughly enjoyable round
We had a thoroughly enjoyable round and not too busy. Greens were in good order. Friendly staff, good all round experience.
James from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Jun 2018
Mr springer
Quite a tight course with lots of water. Nice and challenging!
matthew from United Kingdom
on Fri, 1st Jun 2018
Nice course shame about the staff and pace of play
Very nice course but very slow. Was regularly being pestered and threatened by a member of the course staff/starter who had the worst attitude I have ever encountered on a golf course. This despite our group being held up on every shot. 5 hour round versus a sub 4 hour 18 holes the next day on another course proves that it wasn't us being slow.
Brian from United Kingdom
on Fri, 1st Jun 2018
Very slow round.
Nice course lots of water, but far to many people playing. Took hours to get round.
Sean
on Thu, 31st May 2018
very good course
Mollie from South Africa
on Thu, 31st May 2018
Really enjoyed the course. Challenging with all the water hazards. The greens were great.
Barry from United Kingdom
on Wed, 30th May 2018
Decent but not the best
Decent but too flat for me. Very busy and it always felt a bit rushed. Looked even busier at lunchtime.
Alberto from Italy
on Mon, 28th May 2018
Salgado rider
Nice course, fun for a medium-high score player. A lot of water f, required precisone from the tee shot, but then and (for me) third shots without too much trouble. Green small, but easy and unprotected: guaranteed fun (HCP 21)
matthew from United Kingdom
on Thu, 24th May 2018
Good course, lovely greens but far too slow
First time playing in Portugal and this was the first course I played. I have nothing to compare it to but the course was tough with high winds and lots of water. A good challenge for any golfer. The course wasn’t overly long and you could get away with hitting long irons on most holes. Only downside was the pace of play. Far too slow.
David from United Kingdom
on Tue, 22nd May 2018
Worth a go
Good course, excellent greens. Hired clubs are in poor condition. Some of the staff are very miserable.
Michael from Portugal
on Mon, 21st May 2018
To much unexpected side waters. Strong wind and inexperienced players cause long playing times. Grens are excellent.
Don from Portugal
on Wed, 9th May 2018
Fun to play!
Really enjoy playing this course!
Michael from Ireland
on Fri, 4th May 2018
Nice course, greens are well maintained, pleanty of water around not for everyone, it can be slow as some golfers are very very bad
Lutz from Germany
on Wed, 2nd May 2018
war o.K.
Erwin from Germany
on Sat, 28th Apr 2018
Commurcial corse
Gavin from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th Apr 2018
Home Course
Always love going back, class it as my home course in the Algarve and never have any complaints. Greens were far better this year, looks as though the course has benefitted from some much needed rain. Will be back in October.
Gauthier from France
on Sun, 22nd Apr 2018
Nice course
Darragh from Ireland
on Thu, 19th Apr 2018
Great course, Lovely weather but extremely slow play. Also I would advise bringing your own clubs as the rental clubs are terrible. Other than the slow play and poor clubs it was a magnificent course to play and I really enjoyed it.
filippo from United Kingdom
on Fri, 13th Apr 2018
Played before a few years ago but has matured really well some cracking holes with tricky water features which make you think before you tee off

another lovely course

Peter from Germany
on Thu, 12th Apr 2018
Golf course very nice, in great condition, eventhough it rained a lot .

Pitty though that golfers were allowed to start at the 10th hole which delayed our round substantial.

Paul Bushell from United Kingdom
on Thu, 8th Mar 2018
Great course with excellent greens. Played in a challenging breeze made the course very interesting. Obviously a popular course as it was very busy. Staff very helpful and welcoming.
John from Portugal
on Mon, 26th Feb 2018
Salgados Disappointment
Greens are great but course in general is tired looking. Not worth 70 euros to play
Tero from Finland
on Fri, 23rd Feb 2018
Hyvä kenttä kun lyönti kunnossa
Hieno kenttä - hyvässä kunnossa. Keltaisilta pärjää vesiväylillä pääasiassa raudoillakin, muutamalla pidemmällä väylällä tilaa on kohtuullisen hyvin. Griineillä joko piilokallistuksia tai sitten en osannut lukea niitä ;o). Täälläkään ei kannata vuokrata mailoja klubilta vaan muualta (hyviä vuokrafirmoja useita).
Uwe Karges from Germany
on Thu, 15th Feb 2018
A nice day of golf.
The place was in a very good condition. The greens were very fast. We had no waiting. The service was good.
Peter from Germany
on Mon, 5th Feb 2018
Demanding but fair
Challenging course layout in close vicinity to a bird sanctuary. Good shape despite some construcion work ongoing. Marshal service might be improved toachieve decent speed of game. (more than 5 hours is too slow)
Geoffrey from United Kingdom
on Tue, 23rd Jan 2018
Flat,llinksy,lots of water,need to be straight. Good greens, good course.
Wolfgang from Germany
on Sun, 21st Jan 2018
Auch ohne Buggy spielbar
Schöner, komplett ebener Platz.

Kommen gerne wieder und werden das nächste Mal sicher bei algarvegolf.net buchen!

Mirko from Italy
on Fri, 19th Jan 2018
Nice and easy course
The course is very beautiful, though all flat with generous fairways and landing zones around the greens, very beautiful to walk, well maintained and very enjoyable. Maybe a bit too easy for more experienced players (not my case). 6 euros for a hand trolley the only drawback.
stephen baines from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Dec 2017
Golf hols
Brilliant 3 days lots of water lost a few balls .staff very helpful and food in club house was excellent
stephen baines from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Dec 2017
Challenging course
Very good course will definatly be coming back . 3 days was sufficient to get used to course lots of water did lose a few balls
HERMANN from France
on Thu, 23rd Nov 2017
superbe golf ,greens de très bonne qualité
Mark from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th Nov 2017
Played yesterday ,great weather great golf until we realised after 2 holes that all the four balls ahead of us had 2 lady's in them ,,15 min wait at every tee box & finished on the 16 th cause we run out of day light ,,waisted trip ,,,
Retailleau from Portugal
on Thu, 9th Nov 2017
We don't need buggy on this course!

At first time we ask only 2 greenfees for 140 euros and at least your order was 160 with the buggy!

Henrik from Sweden
on Mon, 6th Nov 2017
Water everywhere..
Nice course with water on all holes except for the 17th. Very flat.
Miikka from Belgium
on Thu, 2nd Nov 2017
Completely flat. Not exciting.
Jamie from United Kingdom
on Sun, 29th Oct 2017
Great cpurse
Great course excellent condition
Nicolas from Portugal
on Sun, 29th Oct 2017
Very interesting course
Very nice course with interesting design

Quite Large fairway, green very well maintain

Staff very friendly

I enjoy the time spent on the course

Dominique from Portugal
on Mon, 23rd Oct 2017
Salgados
Very nice golf course, well maintained, not too tricky just a little with water in some places. We did not like the fact that we had to wait a long time at each hole starting at hole nr 10.
Moon from Netherlands
on Wed, 18th Oct 2017
Services not well. The fairway to much sand.
Tony from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Oct 2017
Flat plain and water
An easier test of golf.
Mark from United States
on Thu, 12th Oct 2017
Fine Course
Challenging course. Lots of water. Very busy, but moved pretty well with some slight delays.. 4 1/2 hour round. No buggys available. Course and greens in good shape. Flat course, so walking OK.
J from United Kingdom
on Wed, 11th Oct 2017
Ok course but very low play t this time of year and buggies 45 euro
Roland from Austria
on Sun, 8th Oct 2017
Great day
Nice course. Fairways and greens almost perfect.We had a great day with friendly flightpartners. I cannot confirm unfriendly staff as mentioned in other reviews.
dick durrant from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Oct 2017
Really enjoyed it
Played today with my missus. Got paired up with French couple

Very efficient friendly welcome. Unlike Palmares yesterday. Started a few mins late but got round in 4hrs 35

Course was busy but kept moving

In lovely condition. Really enjoyed it and would play again

Paul from United Kingdom
on Fri, 6th Oct 2017
Fun day
A bit of fun but a once only.
Liam from United Kingdom
on Wed, 4th Oct 2017
OK, but better options elsewhere.
The course was an enjoyable one and has some interesting holes. There are some minor course maintenance issues, but nothing too bad. The staff weren't the friendliest (very unusual for Portugal) and service was slow. The course had a lot of groups of half drunk hackers, which is the main reason it only gets 3/5. Like playing through the bars of Albufeira.
Erik de Vries from Germany
on Fri, 29th Sep 2017
Beautiful, well kept course and friendly staff! everything is pretty flat so walking is an option.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Salgados page's or to connect with other Salgados golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.