Loading
to

Salgados Reviews

Moal from France
on Sat, 25th Jun 2022
A découvrir
Golf très agréable, bon entretien, bonne ambiance. Et pas trop cher..
George from Portugal
on Tue, 21st Jun 2022
Windy course
Nice windy course… a bit slow, but that’s normal with the tourists
Stephanie Roosenboom from Portugal
on Wed, 15th Jun 2022
Nice court, we enjoyed it very much.
Douglas from United Kingdom
on Wed, 15th Jun 2022
Salgados golf.
My 5th and last game on my vacation.

Unfortunately not as enjoyable as Morgado or Alamos.

The fairways were not in great condition, many divits and disease, the bunkers were extremely wet due to the sprinkler system, i.e. big puddles.

The greens were not bad but lazy players not repairing.

Staff were excellent, very helpul and friendly.

scott from United Kingdom
on Tue, 14th Jun 2022
Salgados
On arrival we were greeted nicely,

Purchased lakeballs €10 for 10 balls,

Walk through clubhouse hired a buggy and 2 sets of clubs the clubs are 'nike vapor full sets'

Course is hard, surrounded by water but beautiful and well maintained greens were nice and soft.

Thanks

Scott

Richard from United States
on Thu, 9th Jun 2022
Nice chipping practice Area!
This was the second time I played on this course so managed it a bit better! Fairway Conditions were better than the first time and the greens were good! Very easy to have a little miss-hit or use too much club that records a score breaker!
Erwin from United States
on Mon, 6th Jun 2022
Salgados, a well maintained course worth playing.
The course is well maintained and the caddy master is friendly and efficient in the execution of his task.
David from United Kingdom
on Mon, 6th Jun 2022
Good value course in excellent condition.
Salgados today was superb. Fairways and greens immaculate.

We wanted to stop half way for a drink and a snack, with the thought of rejoining the back nine after a half hour or so. We were advised however that this wasn’t possible due to how busy the course was. Wonder if a 15 min stop would be a good idea for all, especially on a hot day!?

Richard from United States
on Sat, 4th Jun 2022
Bring extra balls if your swing is a bit rusty
The conditions of the fairways were ok not great! The Greens were better than expected and fast! This was the first time I played golf in three months so this course penalized me for any miss-hits! I would bring extra balls to be safe. I am looking forward to going back to it next week and do a better job! Can't leave that course with 106! It wasn't that demanding!!!!
Jamie from United Kingdom
on Thu, 2nd Jun 2022
2 Mid handicappers first time playing Salgados.
A great course that rewards a good golfer. Receptive greens in excellent condition give you a chance to attack the flag. Fairways have taken a bit of a beating. A lot of water but a great challenge. Would definitely play again.
Enrique from Spain
on Sun, 29th May 2022
Personal muy atento y amable. Buena gestión de las salidas y los tiempos.
Dale from United Kingdom
on Sat, 28th May 2022
Water, water and more water
Fantastic course loved all the water even though I found it a few times excellent condition great facilities b back soon
Kenneth from Sweden
on Wed, 25th May 2022
More variton of the holes have been much nicer. Otherwise good standard on grevens and fairways. Kenneth from Sweden
Robbie from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th May 2022
Accuracy Over Distance On This Cracking Course
Accuracy over distance is the key. Very nice course, thoroughly enjoyed the challenge although all the water cost me a couple of balls! Highly recommend
Richard from Portugal
on Sun, 22nd May 2022
Nice course beat handicap
Fantastic course green keepers are amazing I gave one star less because it’s very expensive and when renting clubs you’ve to buy balls even tees but course is superb
James Donald from United Kingdom
on Fri, 20th May 2022
Slow play or overbooking ?
Course itself is ok but our round was ruined by slow play / overbooking . Took us 4 and a half hours to play 16 holes before we walked off as we had plans at night. Hire clubs weren’t great either . One set had a left handed putter and some of the grips were ripped or loose.
Bradford from Canada
on Tue, 17th May 2022
Excellent links course, well worth it.
Gordon from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th May 2022
Get tee off before 4pm if want full round
First the positive - the course was in fantastic condition, as other reviews state lots of water and some tricky shots where local knowledge would be a great advantage, the long 6th was very tight and had unseen danger, but still a joy to play. The clubhouse and facilities were excellent. The location is great, just a short distance from Albufeira.

Now the negative, we booked 18 holes and after booking were informed in the confirmation that due to the time (16:40 tee off) we 'may not complete the full round due to time of sunset'. When we arrived (thankfully very early) the staff informed us that you only get 9 holes if tee off after 16:00, this was very different to 'may not'. After some discussion with the staff we agreed that we would play as many as possible - we managed to tee off at 16:20, had two games in front let us play through, had no one in front of us for the back nine, and a buggy, so managed the full 18 - but it was tight. If we had gone out at the scheduled time, or any of the games had not let us through then we would have managed 12 holes top - because of this I felt selling the package as 18 holes was not correct. As per other reviews also thought that the rental clubs were dated, I couldn't use my driver due to damage, but because of the time constraint didn't attempt to change before the round - as there were two of us we just shared that club.

5 stars for the golf, lower rating due to the other stuff

Paul from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th May 2022
Nice compact course
Water, water everywhere even in some of the bunkers but a nice course, good facilities, driving net, chipping area and putting green, friendly staff and well looked after.
Kelvin from Europe
on Sat, 14th May 2022
Just how many people can you fit on a golf course
Just how many people can you fit on a golf course. Ask Salgardos.

Nice course with reasonable greeens (early May 22). Water all round to give your golf balls a cushioned landing.

Nice clubhouse with a freaky big net to practice before a round.

All the good is offset by waiting for the group in front while feeling guilty for the group behind.

Went out at 2pm and first 9 holes took 2 and a half hours.

Thankfully the course got quieter later in the day and it was only 2 and a bit hours fir the second nine.

Edward from Canada
on Tue, 10th May 2022
Walkable and well maintained
Busy course that has a strict 2 hour per 9 hole policy. The course is well maintained and the staff is polite. Challenging but if you keep your ball in play, you can have birdie opportunities. Lots of water in play. Walkable and flat the course has a Florida feel. Greens could be faster. Overall, a fun experience to spend four hours.
peter from Russian Federation
on Mon, 9th May 2022
salgados
Played this may 2022 when there was a large society booked and was therefore paired up with 2 others to make a 4 ball and feared how long it would take. Initial few holes were slow but it sped up quite quickly and we completed a 4 ball in 4 hours 15. The fairways seemed a little overplayed but the greens were very good condition and whilst a couple of holes only require irons of tees, there are plenty of long holes, especially the back nine. Lots of water and lots of shouts of 'fore' as it is quite enclosed and flat and a stroke saver would have helped, but there are some pretty decent holes and it exceeded my initial expectations. As a comparison, probably better than laguna but not quite as good as millennium but at 70 euros if you can get a deal, worth a go.
chris from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th May 2022
Course in great condition. Greens very true. Overall very good experience. However rental clubs are a little dated. Nike Vapor fly 2015. But useable and still a great day.
Sean from United Kingdom
on Sat, 7th May 2022
Salgados.
Absolutely excellent. Great condition, greens were immaculate and the service from all was brilliant.
Peter Mordecai from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd May 2022
Excellent
George from United Kingdom
on Sat, 30th Apr 2022
Great course
A wonderful course on the coast that always provides the last day’s rounds for my friend and me. There is plenty of water so challenging for people playing wayward shots, and has been very expensive for both of us on balls. Nevertheless we would not fail to make a visit here every year we come
Luke from United States
on Mon, 18th Apr 2022
Very good course
Liam from Portugal
on Wed, 13th Apr 2022
Brilliant course. Well maintained greens and fairways.
Neil from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Apr 2022
Recent Portugal trip to Salgados golf club
The Salgados course was in good condition, the weather was excellent with breeze coming off the sea for the back 9

All in all a great day with friends, no pressure from the course or other golfers, definitely recommend the course with some challenging holes and a fair few water hazards 👍👍

David from United Kingdom
on Mon, 28th Mar 2022
Not Great
Course was very busy and in poor condition. Fairways were terrible. The club house was very uninviting and lacked any atmosphere.
Glyn Hughes from United Kingdom
on Sat, 12th Mar 2022
Course was in the best condition we have ever played on it. Great greens quick and true, fairways and bunkers very tidy.

Staff in shop and caddy very polite and helpful..

Nice clubhouse friendly staff recomend this course to anyone.

Matthias from Germany
on Tue, 1st Mar 2022
Worth for the price
Well, not the best place at the Algarve but for the price it was worth playing. The driving range ist strange as you have to use your own balls and hit into a net.
Patrick from Ireland
on Sun, 27th Feb 2022
Salgados
Course is in decent condition. Nothing spectacular but a nice neat course. Food was nice and service also.
Toni from Germany
on Wed, 23rd Feb 2022
Fairways u. Greens in gutem Zustand

Leider werden zuviel 4er Flights auf die Runde geschickt. 4,5 bis 5 Stunden Spielzeit sind für diesen Platz einfach zu viel

DEBORAH from United Kingdom
on Tue, 22nd Feb 2022
Lovely course
A great course some lovely holes, particularly the par 3’s. The kind of course you need to play again as you learn so much the first time
ROGER from Portugal
on Sun, 20th Feb 2022
Terrain très bien entretenu et personnel accueillant
Judith from Portugal
on Mon, 14th Feb 2022
Course in good condition, play was not held up, an excellent days golf
louis from Portugal
on Thu, 10th Feb 2022
Journée agréable
Beau terrain, bien agréable

Fairway à améliorer

Bel environnement

Gary from Portugal
on Wed, 19th Jan 2022
Fun golf course. Lots of water, wide fairways. Very enjoyable. Would certainly golf here again.
J.C. from Netherlands
on Sun, 9th Jan 2022
Nice playable course
Very nice and easy to play course. Very enjoyable and the greens are or great quality.
Lars from Sweden
on Sat, 1st Jan 2022
No fun at all…
Bland course that does not provide a great experience. All the flags had blown over when we went as the first ball of the day. Completely destroyed the feeling and the course feels like one of the courses to avoid playing.
Mattia from Portugal
on Sat, 1st Jan 2022
No droning range only a net, long wait at desk (the secretary was at the bar and came without hurry).

The course is nice but nothing special

Ulrich from Portugal
on Thu, 30th Dec 2021
Nice Experience
Nice course, but not too challenging. play was slow due to certain pairings having photo sessions on the fairway in front of us. Service was very good and price reasonable.
Malcolm from Portugal
on Fri, 3rd Dec 2021
Malcolm
Good golf course, great condition, super greens offering good value for money. Really enjoyed playing there whole experience very good.
Andy from Canada
on Fri, 3rd Dec 2021
Flatest of the Algarve courses
One of the flatest Algarve course with likely the most water hazards. Be prepared to hit it straight or bring extra balls. Easy to walk course
Alexandre from France
on Sat, 27th Nov 2021
Boring course. No driving range.
Volker from Germany
on Fri, 26th Nov 2021
Schöner Platz mit vielen Wasserhindernissen
Spitzenreiter unter den 3 Plätzen der NAU-Hotels. Interessanter Platz mit viel Wasserhindernissen. Freundliches Personal.. Gepflegte Greens.
Thomas from Austria
on Mon, 8th Nov 2021
best greens
great condition, great tough course!
jan from Russian Federation
on Wed, 3rd Nov 2021
Ok, but not the greens.
Steve from Portugal
on Tue, 2nd Nov 2021
Salgados
Very nice day out in great condition. Lots recent rain helped the course… spoils play again…
Jacky Cougrand from France
on Thu, 14th Oct 2021
Interesting , flat and Nice greens
Gary from Portugal
on Tue, 12th Oct 2021
Excellent.
Brian from Portugal
on Fri, 8th Oct 2021
Plenty of water!
The course was in excellent condition. As it was coming into high season it was expectedly busy, big thanks to the starter who started us early when a gap arrived. Play was quite slow at the end so skipped the last two holes. Enjoyed the day and would play here again
Brian from Portugal
on Fri, 8th Oct 2021
Plenty of water!
The course was in excellent condition. As it was coming into high season it was expectedly busy, big thanks to the starter who started us early when a gap arrived. Play was quite slow at the end so skipped the last two holes. Enjoyed the day and would play here again
Dean from United Kingdom
on Thu, 30th Sep 2021
Salgados GC
Lovely course, looks great & played great,well manicured greens and lots of water but was very slow, nearly 5hrs was to long.
Desmond from Russian Federation
on Thu, 30th Sep 2021
Salgados Course Condition 29/9/2021
We have played Salgados over the past few years and thought that today it was in the best condition of all our visits. Greens were particularly good.
Ricky from United Kingdom
on Mon, 27th Sep 2021
Good value
Good value green fees with buggies included, very nice clubhouse and easy free flowing course. A lot of water but don't let that put you off as its only a one shot drop from a water hazard and not 2!lol Nice predictable greens, nothing too difficult. Only issue we found was no driving range and lady on the pro shop desk couldn't have been more disinterested in serving customers and utterly miserable.
Derek Carrick from United Kingdom
on Mon, 27th Sep 2021
Lovely course but difficult
George from Portugal
on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Nice and flat
Well kept course with lot’s of water but pretty wide fairways.

Did find the lay out a little bit boring but again fun to play.

Could be a pretty tough course when windy but I was lucky to play it with just a light breeze.

Martin from United Kingdom
on Sat, 11th Sep 2021
Excellent course greens were a bit bumpy and slow though usually excellent. Maybe just the time of year.
Michael from Ireland
on Mon, 6th Sep 2021
first c lass course in excellent condition . Staff where very helpful.
Joe from Portugal
on Thu, 2nd Sep 2021
Good course. Not very long but still a challenge. Helpful staff and excellent equipment provided
Mark from United Kingdom
on Sun, 29th Aug 2021
Disappointing they was doing a lot of work on the course with no prior notice
Stuart from United Kingdom
on Fri, 27th Aug 2021
Outstanding course
Had a few games and loved every hole.

Beautiful course and well layed out, no issues with finding the next tee box!

Excellent facilities and very friendly staff.

Great chipping and putting.g green but the driving net area is a fantastic size and helps get ride of the 1st tee slice!

Slow players will definitely be an issue though as I asked to play through a 3 ball who refused twice, causing a long bottleneck behind .

James Baker from United Kingdom
on Mon, 23rd Aug 2021
Good course for all
Great course in good condition. Lots of water and there is always a gentle breeze.

Greens are excellent.

Ross from United Kingdom
on Thu, 19th Aug 2021
Highly Recommend
This is my third time playing this course over the past few years whilst on holiday.

Course was in brilliant condition as always, greens were perfect and not too busy. Highly recommend.

Max Harvey from Russian Federation
on Tue, 17th Aug 2021
Enjoyable Salgados Golf
Fun enjoyable course even in 30mph Winds. Greens were in fantastic condition however some of the fairways and tee boxes needed better maintaining
P-O from Portugal
on Thu, 12th Aug 2021
Nice technical course. Risk and reward questions on several holes. Expected more from the surrounding facilities e.g no driving range. Hcp 21 net score 68.
Zoe from Portugal
on Sat, 7th Aug 2021
Would play again
Great course and some challenging holes. Friendly and attentive staff. Wouldn’t recommend the club hire.
Jose from Portugal
on Fri, 30th Jul 2021
Good value for a course in good condition
Greens were in great condition. Fairways were generally good but had some spots that need some work. The golf carts (buggies) and rental clubs were adequate, but not current. Staff was welcoming and helpful. Generally good experience. The course is interesting but there's nothing spectacular. Lots of water. It's target golf.
Sultan Riaz Khan from United States
on Thu, 29th Jul 2021
A suggestion !
Sure would be nice if these websites posted the outline of each hole with showing distances to sand traps, water to green. Some have even drone videos at least in Netherlands how about it for this golfers 'paradise'
Craig from United Kingdom
on Tue, 13th Jul 2021
Great course
Fantastic course, not the longest. You need to plot your way round and often the stiff breeze will play a factor and make you think about your club selection. Well worth playing.
Douglas from Portugal
on Mon, 28th Jun 2021
Doug & son
A very nice course - open, but challenging; we had a lot of wind today. And there seems to be lot's of opportunity to land in water :)
Ian from Portugal
on Thu, 3rd Jun 2021
Salgados good challenge
Helpful friendly set up and challenging course but reasonably short
Erwin Stulz from Switzerland
on Fri, 14th May 2021
Perfect...

Nixe People

Frans from Portugal
on Sun, 11th Apr 2021
Nice challenging course
Great day at a great course , challenging and still all do able .. venue is good , Pity it closed at 13;00 but that was out of control of the golf club ... All is wide and corona proof
Denise Hennin from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Jan 2021
Great Course but not really challenging
2nd time I have played here. Lovely course but a but too flat and boring for me after 2nd round. Staff friendly and helpful. Food is exceptional.
Cyril from France
on Sun, 15th Nov 2020
Floridian style golf course... To discover....
Tee white - Hcp 6.9

Reception quality 3/5

Views, environment 3/5

Driving Range, short game area 2/5 No driving range just a 'cage' of practice

Architecture, golf course drawing 4/5 Lot holes with water and many bunkers

Maintenance quality 3/5

Ease of play 3/5 - not really difficult except some par 5 narrow

Value for money 4/5 - 49€

Jari from Portugal
on Mon, 9th Nov 2020
Beware of water
Front 9 not too challenging but back 9 sucks a lot of balls in the water hazards, otherwise nice course
George from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Oct 2020
One of my favourite courses
My friend and I have played here every year for the last 4 years and do not hesitate to go back each time. It is one of our favourites. The course itself is very challenging and, for me personally, very hungry in terms of balls! It’s also quite open and next to the sea, albeit not links, so wind is definitely a factor. The greens were mostly true but quick, so all-in-all sensible golf is the way forward with this course. The club house staff are very friendly and helpful, there is a really good atmosphere.
Michael from Ireland
on Sun, 25th Oct 2020
A good test of accuracy
Floridian in style , water everywhere and tight , good value in decent condition
Aidan Bagnall from Ireland
on Sun, 25th Oct 2020
Aidan, Ireland
Love it. It's always on our list when we visit. friendly and very helpful staff, lovely location, and a nice course also, can't wait to get back.
Renald from Belgium
on Mon, 19th Oct 2020
Great course
We enjoyed the golf course which is very well maintained. All holes are surrounded with water which make it special. Greenfee is correct
Philip from Portugal
on Sat, 17th Oct 2020
Great greens almost rude to miss from 6 ft. Two tough par 5's against wind even off yellows.
Monika from Portugal
on Mon, 12th Oct 2020
great golf course
Jim from Portugal
on Tue, 6th Oct 2020
Sweet course and fair challenge .
I like the course. Even though there is a lot of water. Not hilly like many if the courses around Vilamora and reasonably priced, unlike those same courses. They would get more players if they weren't so in love with themselves. Salgado offers the same challanges but doesn't fleece you when charging for the play. Salgado is always on our short list of courses we play.
Ian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 6th Oct 2020
Late round in the sun.
Good value as a single with a buggy after 4. Round in under two and a half hours as the course was quiet. Good condition and a lot of water to gobble up errant shots. I nearly ran out. Flat but enough to keep you interested. Staff efficient and helpful.
Paul
on Fri, 18th Sep 2020
Great course
Great course, lots of water, and the fairways were great and greens superb and true. Very reasonable for both green fee and club hire. Would definitely play here again.
Alan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Sep 2020
Salgados ... again!
Can't get enough of this course, so much fun! Water everywhere, and there is usually a stiff breeze coming in from the coast which is a couple of hundred yards from the course, so all in all a great challenge. If you hit the ball straight you should score well. If not, well you can always go for a paddle.

Along with VDL Ocean this is one of my favourite courses on the Algarve.

Course in great condition early Sept-20. The greens had been spiked and sanded (but not butchered) a week or two before but were great to putt on.

Edward from United Kingdom
on Sun, 6th Sep 2020
Great clubhouse!
Loved the course, quite open considering how much water is about. Greens slow

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Salgados page's or to connect with other Salgados golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.