Loading
to

Palmares Reviews

Moal from France
on Sat, 25th Jun 2022
Très beau
Très beau parcours, bien dessiné, bien entretenu. Les fairways ne sont pas arrosés ( il va falloir s’y faire), ce qui permets de gagner en longueur ! Départ à 14h, 21/06, nous avons vu deux golfeurs. Ambiance particulière..
Isobel from United Kingdom
on Thu, 23rd Jun 2022
Disappointed that the course was so dry .. yellow fairways only green grass on the tee boxes and greens
Graham from United Kingdom
on Wed, 22nd Jun 2022
A long time had passed since I last played this course and I hardly remembered it with all the changes made.

Still a great course with some great views of Lagos in the distance.

A good links type venue with some great holes

Monika from Poland
on Fri, 10th Jun 2022
Must play - but wait until the course recovers
Spectacular course with great ocean views. Challenging and diferir holes. Unfortunately at the time I was playing the course was not in a good shape - very dry (yellow) fairways. Greens haas and ridiculously fast. Took away much pleasure.
Steve from United Kingdom
on Fri, 10th Jun 2022
Review of palmares
Very friendly staff, excellent golf course, really enjoyed our day!
brian from United Kingdom
on Thu, 2nd Jun 2022
Have to pay to park!!!
Lovely course great condition. Will play again. We didn’t give it 5 stars for one reason- we had to pay to park in the club car park. I don’t think this is acceptable as already paid £400 to play and eat there. You would have thought they would knock off the 5 euros to park!!!

If management are reading this please consider this.

Lawrence from Portugal
on Sun, 29th May 2022
lovely morning of golf by the sea
played 1-18 at palmares- varied holes- wide fairways- quite enjoyable- greens in nice shape, running well- traps well maintained- views from hills of ocean lovely- recommend for a round when in the area

I played early am- fast and quiet- me, the rabbits and the birds-

Lawrence from Portugal
on Sun, 29th May 2022
pleasurable ocean view golf
Played 1-18; very enjoyable- wide fairways- greens in nice shape- very fair and varied holes- totally enjoyable- the lovely views icing on t he cake
Michael
on Fri, 20th May 2022
Course good but very dry. Access to 1st tee confused. Greens excellent.
Alan from Canada
on Thu, 19th May 2022
Wonderful golf course
Absolutely stunning course, and a pleasure to play
Arthur Scholte from Netherlands
on Wed, 18th May 2022
Mr Scholte
Played the Alvos and Lagos this time I like it more then the Praia course

praia is pretty flat Alvos and Lagos are more spectacular course was great condition with fast greens

Henrik from Russian Federation
on Mon, 9th May 2022
Pleasantly surprised how good the course was - a good golfing challenge .

Very links style on the 19-27th which was very different to others .

Could have been good to have a course guide as many holes were completely blind and didn’t reward a good shot . (lost ball on 2nd after a good 2nd shot )

Paul from Portugal
on Sun, 24th Apr 2022
Links holes were spectacular
Beautiful course. The best I have played in the Algarve his year! Holes 19-27 are a spectacular links style. Great condition, interesting layout and fairly forgiving but the wind can be a real danger. Holes 1-9 were very different, more of a woodland feel and much longer. Is seemed that every approach was from almost 200yds!! I would play this course again as long as I could play the links holes 19-27. Clubhouse layout is very strange with no clear parking and or club drop off.
Stuart from Norway
on Mon, 18th Apr 2022
A stunner!
Great clubhouse great course stunning views. Worth a visit anytime. Very friendly and courteous staff.
Nick from United Kingdom
on Sun, 17th Apr 2022
Lovely refurb since last visited
Very nice course - brilliant refurbishment since I last played in 2016.
Angela from United Kingdom
on Fri, 15th Apr 2022
Unbelievable course doesn’t disappoint at all even if the weather was cloudy. Course conditions were excellent and views services top class
Nicole from Portugal
on Sat, 9th Apr 2022
Very nice
Ashok from United Kingdom
on Fri, 8th Apr 2022
Played Alvor/Lagos

Can’t fault anything, great tee boxes, fairways and greens. Challenging round but loved it all.

Services and amenities were spot on and the view from the 19th is beautiful!

Felix from United States
on Mon, 4th Apr 2022
Sehr schöner Platz
Der Platz ist wunderschön.

Wir spielten mit Buggy und hatten einen wunderschönen Tag.

Die Pflege des Platzes war sehr gut.

Löcher anspruchsvoll aber sehr gut Spielbälle auch für mittleres Hcp.

Jederzeit gerne wieder(Hcp9.0)

Alain from Portugal
on Thu, 24th Feb 2022
Well worth the money
Played 27 holes under misty skies. Greens in excellent condition. Great variety of holes. Staff very pleasant. Taylor Made rental clubs in good condition
Gary from Portugal
on Mon, 3rd Jan 2022
Great golfing challenge
Great course , some fantastic holes and views. A bit rough round the edges but great tees, fairways and greens. A good challenge, even if the place has major construction and weird clubhouse layout.
Mattia from Portugal
on Sat, 1st Jan 2022
Great views, good course well prepared.

The 9 holes near to the see are not special

Andy from Canada
on Fri, 3rd Dec 2021
Play the Praia nine
We played the linksy Praia 9 and the dunesy Lagos 9, which I think are the better of the 3 9's. Interesting holes, really liked the Praia with it's links feel that is quite different than most of the Algarve courses
Mark from United Kingdom
on Sun, 28th Nov 2021
Lovely condition

Paired with a Finnish couple as we were a two lovely company our other four in front

Starter and Marshall worked well holding the field back on the tenth so we as a group stayed together good organisation

Ermanno Masa from Italy
on Sat, 27th Nov 2021
Meraviglioso
Campo ben tenuto con 3 percorsi da 9 buche. Purtroppo non è stato possibile giocare nel links. Il fondo è compatto i green complicati. Lo consiglio
Adam from United Kingdom
on Mon, 22nd Nov 2021
Wonderful courses, very well presented with great greens and delightful staff! Our favourite Algarve courses.
Andrew Jaye from United Kingdom
on Fri, 19th Nov 2021
Palmares 16 and 19 Nov 21 - great golf course
Played both Alvor, Lagos and Lagos, Praia. We really enjoyed all 3 courses ( 9 holes). Good condition fairways, lay out excellent, greens true and good condition and overall views excellent. Would definitely play again.
Stephen from Portugal
on Thu, 18th Nov 2021
Great Day of Golf
We played a round of golf on Thursday, November 18th. We were warmly greeted, and assisted, by the ladies at the clubhouse check in desk. The people working here were so friendly and helpful, we were beyond impressed.

We were assigned to the two higher courses, Alvore & Lagos, both were challenging courses with good elevation changes and bunkers (and a few really exceptional views). The course was well maintained and it was a beautiful day. After golf we enjoyed a couple of drinks on the clubhouse deck and enjoyed amazing food, drinks and a spectacular view. Feeling beyond blessed!

Adam from United Kingdom
on Thu, 18th Nov 2021
Excellent in every way, a cut above most Algarve courses for presentation.
Philip from United Kingdom
on Fri, 12th Nov 2021
Oozes quality
A great course and overall a top quality experience - the new clubhouse, excellent practice facilities, and the professional welcome from all staff all add to a great day even before you get to the tee. Course is in great shape - if you can, start on the 1st as the views down 4, 5 and 6 are stunning.
Peter Thornton
on Tue, 2nd Nov 2021
Very enjoyable
A great layout, club house was in the process of some development. Overall course condition was good without being amazing. Good value as far as Algarve is concerned and well worth a visit. Certainly won't disappoint but probably won't be the most memorable either. No issues with buggy availability or speed of play and I think this place will only get better.
Andrew from Ireland
on Mon, 1st Nov 2021
Excellent course and very well maintained. Fastest greens I have play in Algarve. Very testing course and anyone's golf game.
Ian Mcleod from United Kingdom
on Sun, 17th Oct 2021
Bristol Portugal golf 2021
A great course with outstanding views of the coastline. Fantastic club house with again amazing views
Michael from United Kingdom
on Sat, 16th Oct 2021
Wonderful views & great course but one drawback
Have not played the Pria 9 but returning to the Alvor & Lagos loops again because of the wonderful views across the estuary and coastline. Worth every penny usually except this time there is a large scale building development just behind the new clubhouse. The latter is stunning but some discount off the golf is in order because you are by a building site. Shame as it is a great course.
Clive from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Oct 2021
Excellent course with outstanding views and some tough holes
Mark from england
on Fri, 1st Oct 2021
Excellent
James from United Kingdom
on Thu, 30th Sep 2021
Excellent
Simply stunning. Well worth the drive in our case from Vilamoura (50 mins).

Lot of work going on but the new clubhouse is outstanding with great views out to Lagos / Alvor.

Very friendly & helpful staff. Courses in great condition.

Shane Keane from Ireland
on Wed, 22nd Sep 2021
Some beautiful views on this course, but unfortunately the greens were a bit slow.
Paul Woodward from United Kingdom
on Tue, 21st Sep 2021
What a disappointment !
How to spoil a great golf course ! I played here initially in 1981 and have played a few times since - before the Corporate boys turned it into a resort. If I’d paid a few million for an adjoining property which included membership, I would be fuming. The course was in a dreadful state - especially the Praia 9 holes ( which were my favourite in the whole of the Algarve ). Club house staff were awful too. There was absolutely no-one in the bar areas at all ( not surprising ) and we were put in our place when we sat outside in an area reserved for “ fine diners “ ! What a joke of a place this is - and it makes me very sad to say so !
Steve from United Kingdom
on Thu, 16th Sep 2021
Mr Stephen Hather
Wonderful place and course best in this area we have played will all want to go back some of scenery and views fantastic

New club house will be amazing good food very helpful starter on tee made for a great day

Roger from United States
on Wed, 8th Sep 2021
Beautiful course, love the twilight booking option as there was little to none traffic out there.
Martin Weibeler from Portugal
on Sat, 4th Sep 2021
Nice
Greens on first 9 were sanded and unputtable but anything else was awesome!
Jean Manuel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Aug 2021
Très beau golf en bord de mer
Joli parcours avec des trous aux points de vue saisissants offrant un vrai contact avec la nature sur une bonne partie du 18 trous.

Greens techniques et roulants.

VICTOR MARTINS from France
on Thu, 29th Jul 2021
Paradis du golf
Magnifique parcours
Joe from United Kingdom
on Sun, 25th Jul 2021
Course in great condition - wind makes it a challenge
Remco from Netherlands
on Tue, 22nd Jun 2021
great course,

wind makes it mor difficult

Chris from United Kingdom
on Wed, 16th Jun 2021
Loved this course! Spectacular views and a good level of challenge, with the course in excellent condition when I played it. Would love to play it again.
Tony from United Kingdom
on Thu, 10th Jun 2021
Golf course.
Top top golf course .Best in the Algarve.Great value fo money also .
John from Portugal
on Sat, 29th May 2021
Palmares GC
Excellent condition, the greens were true and quite fast. Stunning views.
Fredrik from Germany
on Fri, 28th May 2021
Top course and very enjoyable to play. Excellent service and starter to ensure good flow on the course. Would come again any time.
Jeremy Richards from United Kingdom
on Sun, 27th Dec 2020
Worthy of a detour !
I have played Palmares many times over the past 4 or 5 years and it has some of the most enjoyable golf in the Algarve.

The best two loops are the Alvor and Lagos which have some wonderful views and great golf holes. The first three holes on the Alvor are not attractive or particularly easy but then you cross the road and the three holes that follow all have wonderful views down to the Alvor bay.

On the back nine (Lagos) you start with an excellent par 4 down the hill which is followed by another great par 4 and then one of the best par 3s on the Algarve. Apart from the 18th every hole on the back nine is memorable and when the greens are running at a good pace (over 10 on the stimp) you need to bring your best game.

The addition of the new clubhouse makes this a must on every visit to the Algarve.

Michael from Ireland
on Fri, 30th Oct 2020
Worth a try
One of the new kids in the block ! It’s a property play so they say build a good track and it will sell the inventory !! 27 holes great views of Lagos and overall a nice experience , course Condition and greens could be much better
Michael from Ireland
on Tue, 29th Sep 2020
Disappointing maintenance and condition
A spectacular location with 27 holes and a high end housing development under serious construction activity . While spectacular views make the course enjoyable , the actual holes can be quite bland and typical of a resort situation are on the less challenging variety . The VERY bad greens spoiled the experience for us and they really were very diseased and spongy , one might think overwatering has been the cause , a number of bunkers were also hard pan and wet , given that there has been no rain in months this is caused by misdirected irrigation . Given the nature and cost of golf at Palmares they really need to up

The game on maintainamce , I wouldn’t rush back in a hurry !!

Marina Massari from Luxembourg
on Wed, 23rd Sep 2020
hello,

is Palmares ok ok for hcp36?

thank you for helping,

Marina

Ian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 18th Aug 2020
Palmares
First time I have played the new layout - excellent. Penalises poor shots but generally find your ball! Staff very helpful and friendly. Views Of the sea all the way round are pretty special. I will certainly play again. Once the new clubhouse opens this will be an outstanding facility.
Sean Walsh
Hi, I'm looking to play at Palmeres in September. However, I've only started 6 months ago and have an handicap of 24. Will this be too difficult for my standard?
James from Portugal
on Mon, 17th Aug 2020
Some construction going on at the moment but causes only minor disruptions. Very nice layout and enjoyable round. Course was in good shape for August and greens were extremely well groomed and rolled true.
Kelvin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 17th Aug 2020
Conditioning Improving on this great layout.
Conditioning of course improved significantly since we last played it in April 2019 . Great course - very scenic . Would be interested to know how you book online to play holes 19 to 27 rather than always 1 to 18 . Probably should have phoned them .
Jean-Patrick from Belgium
on Wed, 22nd Jul 2020
Not so nice!
Nice course but not really well maintained. Lots of homes around with heavy music or noises (construction). The course is not friendly for junior or kids. The holes 19-27 are links, quiet nice but not in very good shape. The holes 1-18 are classic but in better shape. This course needs to evolve and get a better maintenance.
andrew from United Kingdom
on Sat, 18th Jul 2020
Great game of golf
Great course. Amazing sea views throughout the course.
Armin from Germany
on Wed, 11th Mar 2020
We played holes10-27. The First meine were o.k., fairways in good condition, greens o.k., many phantastic Atlantic Views. The Back nine along the Coast have many blind Shorts, we didn't enjoy that much. Due to a Lot of buildings unser construction around the course IT was a noisy round, Club House and Restaurant still provosional.
Michael from Sweden
on Tue, 3rd Mar 2020
Will play it again
Nice layout, great finish despite pre season and fantastic views. Would have got 5 if the practise in front of us and some of the course staff had paid more attention that we were waiting. I will fore sure play this course again.
Carol from Ireland
on Thu, 23rd Jan 2020
Enjoyable.
Holes 1 to 18 lovely. 19 to 27 not as good but still nice.

Staff were helpful and friendly.

Speed of play was reasonable compared to some other courses.

Enjoyed the whole experience.

Cyril from France
on Wed, 11th Dec 2019
beautiful views and interresting!!!
nice golf course especialy the nine last holes. Cool team and good advices from the starter before to play. Becareful some works on the course: sand on the tees and greens beetween the 10 and the 18.
Jeff
on Thu, 5th Dec 2019
Great course. Fantastic condition and I wish I could have played t10 to t18 which is better than t19 to t27 in my opinion. What a great course however.
martin from United Kingdom
on Fri, 22nd Nov 2019
Fantastic undulation with spectacular views
Stunning golf course with fantastic undulation and spectacular views. Greens very receptive and course was in superb condition.

Pace of play was a bit slow despite steward prompting some groups, this did not spoil experience.

Alan from United Kingdom
on Thu, 21st Nov 2019
Happy Days
Lovely fast round as two ball very quiet, staff very friendly, helpful. Greens good, spoilt by too many pitch marks from previous players! Gareat views, all nine holes combinations a real challenge, recommended,. Should be a stand out course when all the developments are complete, new clubhouse etc.
Declan from Portugal
on Tue, 22nd Oct 2019
Absolutely fabulous course, very well maintained, well run and stunning views. Twilight golf option is excellent value.
Brian from United Kingdom
on Sun, 20th Oct 2019
Great course
A MUST play
Callum from United Kingdom
on Sun, 13th Oct 2019
Loved it !
My favourite course of the holiday i even booked another 18 for the following day! Would recommend doing all 27 holes so you don’t miss out
Keith from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
Nice course but need to reduce groups
Very busy and slow with a lengthy delay on our start time because again, too many groups booked. Once the group in front finished after 9 we did manage to get a move on. It’s a lovely course though but I really hope they reconsider the booking system.
jaap from Netherlands
on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
Superb views, nice holes
Top course, a lot of construction work on appartments don’t spoil the nice atmosphere. Marvelous ocean views
jaap from Netherlands
on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
Superb views, nice holes
Top course, a lot of construction work on appartments don’t spoil the nice atmosphere. Marvelous ocean views
Ursula from Ireland
on Thu, 3rd Oct 2019
Thought it was a bit expensive to play
Joerg from Germany
on Tue, 24th Sep 2019
wonderful course, especially the praia course
Lindsay from United Kingdom
on Sat, 14th Sep 2019
Palmares
We very much enjoyed playing the Old Course. Quite challenging but with fabulous views!

Next time would like to include the other 9

Oliver Zug from Germany
on Thu, 12th Sep 2019
Gerne wieder
Schöner Platz, abwechselnd Parkland und Links. Fairways bretthart. Grün superschnell. Toller Tag.
Alex Shapcott from Canada
on Thu, 12th Sep 2019
Great golf course with gorgeous views
Beautiful golf course just minutes away from the beautiful beaches in Lagos, the views are great, the course was in immaculate condition. Greens were fast and undulated. Super fun.

I rented clubs and was given TaylorMade M2 driver to putter, they were great.

I also made this booking at 5pm the day before for 9 am the next day and Algarve golf really takes care of you, they call you back or email you within minutes of any request.

MICHAEL HARRIS from United Kingdom
on Wed, 11th Sep 2019
excellent
Martin from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Sep 2019
Martin Smith
Great welcome and great course
Shelton from United States
on Sun, 8th Sep 2019
Enjoyable old course.
This is an old but lovely course. It’s not the best maintained but I think the terrain has to do with that. I think you would enjoy it.
Guillaume from France
on Sun, 1st Sep 2019
Links in Algarve
Very interesting Golf Course. Holes are sloping and your have a view on the see and the cliffs of Lagos. Greens and fairways are of good quality. Some transitions between two holes are a little bit long.
Paul from Portugal
on Tue, 6th Aug 2019
Played the Praia and Alvor course. Course is in fantastic condition. Staff were helpful and professional. This is my second time playing here and will be back again.
Phil from United Kingdom
on Sat, 3rd Aug 2019
Fantastic course, one of the best in the Algarve.
Matthew from United Kingdom
on Wed, 24th Jul 2019
Beautiful Views
Had a great time here! Played the Links 9 first and parkland back nine! Some beautiful views of Lagos! Currently undergoing maintenance on the middle nine. The buggies are basic and don’t have a cooler box or hole to hole guide.
Martin from United Kingdom
on Sun, 7th Jul 2019
Martin from Scotland
Good course played the Lagos and alvor courses.

Good condition great views but play was slow a near 5 hour round.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Larc from Germany
on Sun, 26th May 2019
Excellent course, some ongoing constructions
Excellent course and playing experience. Currently and expected for at least the next year quite some construction work going on, but not close to the course.
John Sneade from United Kingdom
on Mon, 20th May 2019
palmares
very nice course good layouts and good tests , greens were very good and scenery was very nice obviously a lot of construction going on at the moment but all for the better cause definatley play this one
Sally
on Tue, 14th May 2019
27 great holes
All 27 holes a challenge but very different. Hilly but walkable. Very well looked after course but club house very basic. Played a few times and would definitely return
Mark
on Tue, 14th May 2019
love the layout of this course and the condition was very good, have played all 3 loops now and each is a s good as the other so it doesn't matter which you get to play, staff are very good here as well
Hannes Loekkoes from Austria
on Fri, 3rd May 2019
Sehr langer hügeliger Kurs
Interessante Löcher, tolle Ausblicke - Buggy empfehlenswert.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Palmares page's or to connect with other Palmares golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.