Loading
to

Palmares Reviews

Michael from Ireland
on Tue, 29th Sep 2020
Disappointing maintenance and condition
A spectacular location with 27 holes and a high end housing development under serious construction activity . While spectacular views make the course enjoyable , the actual holes can be quite bland and typical of a resort situation are on the less challenging variety . The VERY bad greens spoiled the experience for us and they really were very diseased and spongy , one might think overwatering has been the cause , a number of bunkers were also hard pan and wet , given that there has been no rain in months this is caused by misdirected irrigation . Given the nature and cost of golf at Palmares they really need to up

The game on maintainamce , I wouldn’t rush back in a hurry !!

Marina Massari from Luxembourg
on Wed, 23rd Sep 2020
hello,

is Palmares ok ok for hcp36?

thank you for helping,

Marina

Ian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 18th Aug 2020
Palmares
First time I have played the new layout - excellent. Penalises poor shots but generally find your ball! Staff very helpful and friendly. Views Of the sea all the way round are pretty special. I will certainly play again. Once the new clubhouse opens this will be an outstanding facility.
Sean Walsh
Hi, I'm looking to play at Palmeres in September. However, I've only started 6 months ago and have an handicap of 24. Will this be too difficult for my standard?
James from Portugal
on Mon, 17th Aug 2020
Some construction going on at the moment but causes only minor disruptions. Very nice layout and enjoyable round. Course was in good shape for August and greens were extremely well groomed and rolled true.
Kelvin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 17th Aug 2020
Conditioning Improving on this great layout.
Conditioning of course improved significantly since we last played it in April 2019 . Great course - very scenic . Would be interested to know how you book online to play holes 19 to 27 rather than always 1 to 18 . Probably should have phoned them .
Jean-Patrick from Belgium
on Wed, 22nd Jul 2020
Not so nice!
Nice course but not really well maintained. Lots of homes around with heavy music or noises (construction). The course is not friendly for junior or kids. The holes 19-27 are links, quiet nice but not in very good shape. The holes 1-18 are classic but in better shape. This course needs to evolve and get a better maintenance.
andrew from United Kingdom
on Sat, 18th Jul 2020
Great game of golf
Great course. Amazing sea views throughout the course.
Armin from Germany
on Wed, 11th Mar 2020
We played holes10-27. The First meine were o.k., fairways in good condition, greens o.k., many phantastic Atlantic Views. The Back nine along the Coast have many blind Shorts, we didn't enjoy that much. Due to a Lot of buildings unser construction around the course IT was a noisy round, Club House and Restaurant still provosional.
Michael from Sweden
on Tue, 3rd Mar 2020
Will play it again
Nice layout, great finish despite pre season and fantastic views. Would have got 5 if the practise in front of us and some of the course staff had paid more attention that we were waiting. I will fore sure play this course again.
Carol from Ireland
on Thu, 23rd Jan 2020
Enjoyable.
Holes 1 to 18 lovely. 19 to 27 not as good but still nice.

Staff were helpful and friendly.

Speed of play was reasonable compared to some other courses.

Enjoyed the whole experience.

Cyril from France
on Wed, 11th Dec 2019
beautiful views and interresting!!!
nice golf course especialy the nine last holes. Cool team and good advices from the starter before to play. Becareful some works on the course: sand on the tees and greens beetween the 10 and the 18.
Jeff
on Thu, 5th Dec 2019
Great course. Fantastic condition and I wish I could have played t10 to t18 which is better than t19 to t27 in my opinion. What a great course however.
martin from United Kingdom
on Fri, 22nd Nov 2019
Fantastic undulation with spectacular views
Stunning golf course with fantastic undulation and spectacular views. Greens very receptive and course was in superb condition.

Pace of play was a bit slow despite steward prompting some groups, this did not spoil experience.

Alan from United Kingdom
on Thu, 21st Nov 2019
Happy Days
Lovely fast round as two ball very quiet, staff very friendly, helpful. Greens good, spoilt by too many pitch marks from previous players! Gareat views, all nine holes combinations a real challenge, recommended,. Should be a stand out course when all the developments are complete, new clubhouse etc.
Declan from Portugal
on Tue, 22nd Oct 2019
Absolutely fabulous course, very well maintained, well run and stunning views. Twilight golf option is excellent value.
Brian from United Kingdom
on Sun, 20th Oct 2019
Great course
A MUST play
Callum from United Kingdom
on Sun, 13th Oct 2019
Loved it !
My favourite course of the holiday i even booked another 18 for the following day! Would recommend doing all 27 holes so you don’t miss out
Keith from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
Nice course but need to reduce groups
Very busy and slow with a lengthy delay on our start time because again, too many groups booked. Once the group in front finished after 9 we did manage to get a move on. It’s a lovely course though but I really hope they reconsider the booking system.
jaap from Netherlands
on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
Superb views, nice holes
Top course, a lot of construction work on appartments don’t spoil the nice atmosphere. Marvelous ocean views
jaap from Netherlands
on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
Superb views, nice holes
Top course, a lot of construction work on appartments don’t spoil the nice atmosphere. Marvelous ocean views
Ursula from Ireland
on Thu, 3rd Oct 2019
Thought it was a bit expensive to play
Joerg from Germany
on Tue, 24th Sep 2019
wonderful course, especially the praia course
Lindsay from United Kingdom
on Sat, 14th Sep 2019
Palmares
We very much enjoyed playing the Old Course. Quite challenging but with fabulous views!

Next time would like to include the other 9

Oliver Zug from Germany
on Thu, 12th Sep 2019
Gerne wieder
Schöner Platz, abwechselnd Parkland und Links. Fairways bretthart. Grün superschnell. Toller Tag.
Alex Shapcott from Canada
on Thu, 12th Sep 2019
Great golf course with gorgeous views
Beautiful golf course just minutes away from the beautiful beaches in Lagos, the views are great, the course was in immaculate condition. Greens were fast and undulated. Super fun.

I rented clubs and was given TaylorMade M2 driver to putter, they were great.

I also made this booking at 5pm the day before for 9 am the next day and Algarve golf really takes care of you, they call you back or email you within minutes of any request.

MICHAEL HARRIS from United Kingdom
on Wed, 11th Sep 2019
excellent
Martin from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Sep 2019
Martin Smith
Great welcome and great course
Shelton from United States
on Sun, 8th Sep 2019
Enjoyable old course.
This is an old but lovely course. It’s not the best maintained but I think the terrain has to do with that. I think you would enjoy it.
Guillaume from France
on Sun, 1st Sep 2019
Links in Algarve
Very interesting Golf Course. Holes are sloping and your have a view on the see and the cliffs of Lagos. Greens and fairways are of good quality. Some transitions between two holes are a little bit long.
Paul from Portugal
on Tue, 6th Aug 2019
Played the Praia and Alvor course. Course is in fantastic condition. Staff were helpful and professional. This is my second time playing here and will be back again.
Phil from United Kingdom
on Sat, 3rd Aug 2019
Fantastic course, one of the best in the Algarve.
Matthew from United Kingdom
on Wed, 24th Jul 2019
Beautiful Views
Had a great time here! Played the Links 9 first and parkland back nine! Some beautiful views of Lagos! Currently undergoing maintenance on the middle nine. The buggies are basic and don’t have a cooler box or hole to hole guide.
Martin from United Kingdom
on Sun, 7th Jul 2019
Martin from Scotland
Good course played the Lagos and alvor courses.

Good condition great views but play was slow a near 5 hour round.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Larc from Germany
on Sun, 26th May 2019
Excellent course, some ongoing constructions
Excellent course and playing experience. Currently and expected for at least the next year quite some construction work going on, but not close to the course.
John Sneade from United Kingdom
on Mon, 20th May 2019
palmares
very nice course good layouts and good tests , greens were very good and scenery was very nice obviously a lot of construction going on at the moment but all for the better cause definatley play this one
Sally
on Tue, 14th May 2019
27 great holes
All 27 holes a challenge but very different. Hilly but walkable. Very well looked after course but club house very basic. Played a few times and would definitely return
Mark
on Tue, 14th May 2019
love the layout of this course and the condition was very good, have played all 3 loops now and each is a s good as the other so it doesn't matter which you get to play, staff are very good here as well
Hannes Loekkoes from Austria
on Fri, 3rd May 2019
Sehr langer hügeliger Kurs
Interessante Löcher, tolle Ausblicke - Buggy empfehlenswert.
Klaus-Dieter from Germany
on Fri, 26th Apr 2019
Spectacular views
27 hole course. We played each combination. Preference for ALVOR/LAGOS because PRAIA is more like a beach course. Not too hilly but overall attractive to play. Good maintenance. Limited Club House facility, extension under construction.
Paul Bushell from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Feb 2019
Cotswold Tour 2019
A fantastic course. Superb variety of holes with great greens.

Would highly recommend.

Alastair from Scotland, UK
on Thu, 24th Jan 2019
Palmares Golf
My favourite course in the Algarve. The layout on all three loops of nine is excellent and the variety of parkland and links tests your game! Views are stunning and no-one should be disappointed if they visit.
Carol from Ireland
on Mon, 31st Dec 2018
Lovely but slow.
Beautiful course but unfortunately took nearly 5 hours to get around.

No stewards there moving things along.

Paul from United Kingdom
on Tue, 23rd Oct 2018
Course good
Excellent course enjoyed the variety. Only negative the temporary clubhouse and the surrounding work.
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 22nd Oct 2018
Enjoyable although we weren't able to choose which 18 holes out of the 27 we played. We missed holes 10 to 18 which I understand are the best. The course was very busy & fairly expensive compared to others in the area.
Ursula from Ireland
on Wed, 10th Oct 2018
A most enjoyable experience
Graham Barron from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd Oct 2018
Visually stunning 27 holes.
This is 3 loops of nine built into the hills running down to the beach and is visually stunning with great views. The rough is very rough so you need to be a straight hitter. Par 4s are very long. Well worth playing not crowded and you get a nice breeze off the sea after lunch. Small clubhouse but good facilities and very friendly.
Keith from United Kingdom
on Fri, 28th Sep 2018
The course is fantastic and I would have given it 5 stars had it not been for the lack of decent pro shop and club house especially with so much money being spent elsewhere.
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Sep 2018
Great course with spectacular views
Beautiful views and a really wonderful course. Definitely my favourite Algarve course. 3 different loops of 9 holes make it different and interesting every time. There are some spectacular holes/sea views on this course.
David Moore from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Sep 2018
Great holes

Obliging staff

Schuler Johann + Heidi from Switzerland
on Mon, 10th Sep 2018
Challenging golf course
Paul Dix from United Kingdom
on Thu, 26th Jul 2018
Palmeres coastal delight
By UK 5 handicap ...

Fantastic location, fun course awesome views.

The surrounding area still somewhat under construction / a building site (July 2018) but once we found the course was well worth it

Andreas from Germany
on Wed, 25th Jul 2018
Excellent course
Excellent course, fantastic and demanding greens. No real signature holes from 1-18...
Bjorn Egertz from Sweden
on Mon, 23rd Jul 2018
Algarve Links course
Nice and fun links course with some difficulties.
Damian from Portugal
on Mon, 23rd Jul 2018
Palmares golf. A great calling course.
A challenging course especially the holes from 19-27.

We play 10-18 As our front nine.

Course was in great shape , in a beautiful location overlooking Lagos, the long beach next to it and the estuary that feeds up to Alvor.

A little bit expensive but worth it.

Staff all very helpful.

Pamela from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Jun 2018
A must for Golfers of all standards
Still my favourite. Interesting, colourful and a good golfing venue.
Maurice Murphy from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Jun 2018
A pleasure to play this special golf course
Steve Paddison from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Jun 2018
Palates now and then
In the middle of expanding the complex. Course now difficult to find. Staff friendly. Played Lagos and Praia and in good nick though busy. They were happy to let us go out as a 2 ball. Somehow preferred it when there were only 18 holes.
Neil from United Kingdom
on Mon, 28th May 2018
loved it would play again
Neil from United Kingdom
on Mon, 28th May 2018
palmarès golf course
the course at palmares was in great condition i was pared up with 3 member we played 1-18 of the 27 holes fantastic view would play this course gain
Sally Villette from United Kingdom
on Fri, 18th May 2018
Palmares Lagos &Praia
Lagos & Praia- great courses in fabulous condition. Pace of play was a little slow but the views are worth it!
Sally Villette from United Kingdom
on Fri, 18th May 2018
Alvor & Lagos
Played Alvor and Lagos 18 having played all three nines last year. Beautiful views from almost every hole. The courses were well prepared and running like an English summer!! The club house and toilets are tired and could definitely do with an upgrade. The Pro Shop staff are extremely helpful if the barman is a tad grumpy. All three courses are great to play and we will definitely return next year.
Anthony from United Kingdom
on Thu, 17th May 2018
Stunning 27 holes but needing water and TLC
Very dry. Course a little on the wild side, felt like it needed a bit of TLC. Enjoyable due stunning scenery. Course in need of a bit of quite a bit of water. True greens. Bunkers lacking sand and scruffy. Take a buggy.
Sean Nyhan from United States
on Tue, 15th May 2018
Played Alvor & Lagos 9's. The fairways weren't in great shape but the greens were really good. The Alvor 9 only had 3 memorable holes compared to the quality of the holes on the Lagos course.

Some issues tho, the pace of play was a disgrace & there was no ranger to speed things up. A group ahead of us were waiting for their 2nd group to play certain holes & were waiting on the back of the greens rather than carrying on playing the next hole right away. JOKE!

The 2nd was the price, almost €130 plus €40 for a buggy. Very poor value.

Also we couldnt even get a sandwich when we returned to the clubhouse afterwards. The place seemed poorly kept compared to all the other resorts in the Algarve that I've played.

Mark Sheppey from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th May 2018
a very different course for the algarve, totally different nines that we played in great condition, not as manicured as some of the others but a real honest trust test of golf with a very friendly atmosphere
steve from United Kingdom
on Mon, 30th Apr 2018
A good course with excellent greens
Kenny from United Kingdom
on Mon, 23rd Apr 2018
Great course.Poor management.
All three 9 holes loops are great.However the golf was over shadowed by the total lack of organisation.We played 3 times in a week.Day 1 they had booked us for the Saturday instead of Monday.After checking e-mails they confirmed it was their mistake but as the course was fully booked we wouldn't be able to play!This was eventually resolved and we played 45 mins after booked time.3rd day took over 35mins to check in due to lack of staff in pro shop.It's a shame that i wouldn't return to play again due to the terrible off course management.
Esther from Portugal
on Tue, 17th Apr 2018
Toilets????
The birdie book (6€!,,) is not very helpful, lack of hints about distance. Should be more precise.

No proper toilets on the course.

Esther from Portugal
on Tue, 17th Apr 2018
5 hours , definitely too long
No proper toilets, description about distances in the birdie book should be better
Geoff from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Apr 2018
Hurry up
Great course , Veiws are fantastic!

Just a word of warning , at one stage a coarse ranger came up to us, to ask if we were enjoying? It turned out it was a excuse to ask us to speed up! Well excuse me , as we were. right behind the group in front ,and two holes in front of the group behind,I questioned the request? Only to be told that he was trying to speed everybody up! We paid good money to play and I don’t think it’s very fair to put unnecessary pressure on our game!

If they are over booking the coarse it’s not the customers fault!

Having said that I would definitely play again!

Peter from Germany
on Sun, 15th Apr 2018
Very good condition, always worth the money👍🏻
Geoff from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Apr 2018
Overloaded? I
We played the Alvor & Praia sections very good ! Just one note ; at one stage we were asked by a coarse ranger, if we were enjoying ourselves;

It turned out to be an excuse to ask us to speed up! Totally unnecessary as we were a clear two holes ahead of the group behind & right behind the group in front ? Very strange? I pointed this out to the ranger; this was met by a comment about speeding everybody up? If you are loading the coarse up to much ; please don’t put unnecessary pressure on your guests!

Paul Bushell from United Kingdom
on Thu, 8th Mar 2018
Had played the original 18 holes about 10 years ago but started on what must be a new 9. I was very impressed with the condition and layout. Unfortunately the thunder and lightning curtailed our round and we only played 6 holes.
Evan from United Kingdom
on Tue, 6th Feb 2018
Beautiful course with some of the best golf views in the Algarve. Reason its only got 4 stars is it can get very crowded.
Alan Horne from United Kingdom
on Wed, 31st Jan 2018
Enjoyable course and views
Well kept fairways and greens , great views, not too taxing, possibly the best in the region.
Terry
on Tue, 21st Nov 2017
Palmares
Looking a bit worn and greens had lots of marks on them
Nick from Portugal
on Wed, 8th Nov 2017
Enjoyable, challenging track
Great layout and condition fairly good given weather extremes. Would play again.

Played the back tees and was tight for first 6 holes then opened up to allow scoring.

Service levels could lift a bit but young starter (forget his name) was very helpful and enthusiastic.

Sjas
on Thu, 2nd Nov 2017
Excellent course poor clubhouse
Ian from United Kingdom
on Thu, 26th Oct 2017
Nearly a 5 star course
The first three and last two holes are dull and uninspiring but in between is an excellent course. Great ocean views when teeing off on a number of holes. The tees and greens were in 5 star condition. The fairways were a bit patchy which is to be expected on a links course. If it wasn't for the fairways and the start and finish I would have rated this course 5 star.
Geoff from United Kingdom
on Sat, 21st Oct 2017
Great Greens.
Excellent course with fantastic views.
Jim Parker from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th Oct 2017
Palmares is a gem
Great courses and great staff ( Debra and Diane) in the pro shop.

Unfortunately the day we went was very busy. We should have teed off at 14.10 and didn't get off until 14.40!! need marshalls on the course making sure speed of play is acceptable

Matthew from United Kingdom
on Tue, 10th Oct 2017
Lovely Course.
Lovely course. Played all 27 holes and the greens are consistent and smooth throughout. Would love to play again. Provides good value for twilight golf.
dick durrant from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Oct 2017
Very nice course. Staff could be better
Enjoyed the course. Very busy but in decent condition. Very chaotic on arrival. Was told no buggy had been allocated and that it was not guaranteed with twilight bookings. This was the first we'd heard of this. Booking agency need to let people know this. We got one in the end though. Attitude of clubhouse was surly to the point of being rude. Because of 3 tee start and crossovers we teed off 25 mins late which meant we only got 16 holes in and the buggy ran out of juice too. Really enjoyed the golf course and would play it again, but the off course stuff leaves a lot to be desired hence the 3 stars. But for golf alone it would be 4
Mike from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Oct 2017
Alvor & Lagos
We played Alvor & Lagos which in my opinion are the two best nines. Course was in good condition views spectacular as always.
Kevin from Ireland
on Thu, 28th Sep 2017
Course and Clubhouse hard to find
As a former golf club manager, I know what to look for at a golf course. Road signage for the course is limited. I got lost...even with GPS! There is also next to no signage in the car park. I walked towards on building, figured it wasn't the Clubhouse, so I walked to a distant building. That wasn't the Clubhouse and I was told the first building was the Clubhouse. All in all, I spent about 8 minutes looking for Reception.

The Reception and Golf Shop is tiny, but the staff were pleasant and helpful. We wanted lunch and eventually had to go and find a waiter and menus. The food was fine...standard golf club fare and our lunch came out quickly.

I thoroughly enjoyed the course with a number of scenic, elevated tees (be warned, you do need a buggy). The fairways were generous and in good condition. Greens were also well condition but a wee bit on the slow side - typical in a number of Algarve course. The shaping and contouring of the greens was very good with moderate undulations (unlike Epiche).

Overall, I would rate Palmares very highly. I am playing it again in a few days time. That says it all.

Sverker from Denmark
on Sat, 23rd Sep 2017
Very interesant golf course, with challenges. Good standard and good greens.
David Moore from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Sep 2017
A great course in excellent condition.

A tough but fair challenge for our group of mid range handicappers

Hans from Austria
on Sat, 9th Sep 2017
From the hills to the sea
Beautiful views, interesting shape
Barb from Canada
on Tue, 5th Sep 2017
Definitely not worth the money or time
The course is in just ok condition, and the clubhouse is absolutely awful - very old and run down. Some of the holes have scenic views of the ocean, but the bad condition of the course takes it all away.
Eamon from United Kingdom
on Wed, 19th Jul 2017
Palmares
Excellent courses. All Three. No stroke savers were available which for visiting good golfers is essential. Playing off white tees would also be a better option as otherwise it's a 4 iron off the tee for many holes.

Maybe it's a bit rough around the edges on approach to club house and clubhouse itself. Boavista has a better feel for club house facilities. Views from course and veranda at club house are amazing. A little more investment in this area and I would have given it 10/10.

Clifford
on Sun, 2nd Jul 2017
Really worth the journey
3 great nine hole courses a bit off the beaten track but well worth the journey. Very quiet millionaires golf fantastic value for money

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Palmares page's or to connect with other Palmares golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.