Loading
to

Palmares Reviews

Ursula from Ireland
on Wed, 10th Oct 2018
A most enjoyable experience
Graham Barron from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd Oct 2018
Visually stunning 27 holes.
This is 3 loops of nine built into the hills running down to the beach and is visually stunning with great views. The rough is very rough so you need to be a straight hitter. Par 4s are very long. Well worth playing not crowded and you get a nice breeze off the sea after lunch. Small clubhouse but good facilities and very friendly.
Keith from United Kingdom
on Fri, 28th Sep 2018
The course is fantastic and I would have given it 5 stars had it not been for the lack of decent pro shop and club house especially with so much money being spent elsewhere.
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Sep 2018
Great course with spectacular views
Beautiful views and a really wonderful course. Definitely my favourite Algarve course. 3 different loops of 9 holes make it different and interesting every time. There are some spectacular holes/sea views on this course.
David Moore from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Sep 2018
Great holes

Obliging staff

Schuler Johann + Heidi from Switzerland
on Mon, 10th Sep 2018
Challenging golf course
Paul Dix from United Kingdom
on Thu, 26th Jul 2018
Palmeres coastal delight
By UK 5 handicap ...

Fantastic location, fun course awesome views.

The surrounding area still somewhat under construction / a building site (July 2018) but once we found the course was well worth it

Andreas from Germany
on Wed, 25th Jul 2018
Excellent course
Excellent course, fantastic and demanding greens. No real signature holes from 1-18...
Bjorn Egertz from Sweden
on Mon, 23rd Jul 2018
Algarve Links course
Nice and fun links course with some difficulties.
Damian from Portugal
on Mon, 23rd Jul 2018
Palmares golf. A great calling course.
A challenging course especially the holes from 19-27.

We play 10-18 As our front nine.

Course was in great shape , in a beautiful location overlooking Lagos, the long beach next to it and the estuary that feeds up to Alvor.

A little bit expensive but worth it.

Staff all very helpful.

Pamela from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Jun 2018
A must for Golfers of all standards
Still my favourite. Interesting, colourful and a good golfing venue.
Maurice Murphy from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Jun 2018
A pleasure to play this special golf course
Steve Paddison from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Jun 2018
Palates now and then
In the middle of expanding the complex. Course now difficult to find. Staff friendly. Played Lagos and Praia and in good nick though busy. They were happy to let us go out as a 2 ball. Somehow preferred it when there were only 18 holes.
Neil from United Kingdom
on Mon, 28th May 2018
loved it would play again
Neil from United Kingdom
on Mon, 28th May 2018
palmarès golf course
the course at palmares was in great condition i was pared up with 3 member we played 1-18 of the 27 holes fantastic view would play this course gain
Sally Villette from United Kingdom
on Fri, 18th May 2018
Palmares Lagos &Praia
Lagos & Praia- great courses in fabulous condition. Pace of play was a little slow but the views are worth it!
Sally Villette from United Kingdom
on Fri, 18th May 2018
Alvor & Lagos
Played Alvor and Lagos 18 having played all three nines last year. Beautiful views from almost every hole. The courses were well prepared and running like an English summer!! The club house and toilets are tired and could definitely do with an upgrade. The Pro Shop staff are extremely helpful if the barman is a tad grumpy. All three courses are great to play and we will definitely return next year.
Anthony from United Kingdom
on Thu, 17th May 2018
Stunning 27 holes but needing water and TLC
Very dry. Course a little on the wild side, felt like it needed a bit of TLC. Enjoyable due stunning scenery. Course in need of a bit of quite a bit of water. True greens. Bunkers lacking sand and scruffy. Take a buggy.
Sean Nyhan from United States
on Tue, 15th May 2018
Played Alvor & Lagos 9's. The fairways weren't in great shape but the greens were really good. The Alvor 9 only had 3 memorable holes compared to the quality of the holes on the Lagos course.

Some issues tho, the pace of play was a disgrace & there was no ranger to speed things up. A group ahead of us were waiting for their 2nd group to play certain holes & were waiting on the back of the greens rather than carrying on playing the next hole right away. JOKE!

The 2nd was the price, almost €130 plus €40 for a buggy. Very poor value.

Also we couldnt even get a sandwich when we returned to the clubhouse afterwards. The place seemed poorly kept compared to all the other resorts in the Algarve that I've played.

Mark Sheppey from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th May 2018
a very different course for the algarve, totally different nines that we played in great condition, not as manicured as some of the others but a real honest trust test of golf with a very friendly atmosphere
steve from United Kingdom
on Mon, 30th Apr 2018
A good course with excellent greens
Kenny from United Kingdom
on Mon, 23rd Apr 2018
Great course.Poor management.
All three 9 holes loops are great.However the golf was over shadowed by the total lack of organisation.We played 3 times in a week.Day 1 they had booked us for the Saturday instead of Monday.After checking e-mails they confirmed it was their mistake but as the course was fully booked we wouldn't be able to play!This was eventually resolved and we played 45 mins after booked time.3rd day took over 35mins to check in due to lack of staff in pro shop.It's a shame that i wouldn't return to play again due to the terrible off course management.
Esther from Portugal
on Tue, 17th Apr 2018
Toilets????
The birdie book (6€!,,) is not very helpful, lack of hints about distance. Should be more precise.

No proper toilets on the course.

Esther from Portugal
on Tue, 17th Apr 2018
5 hours , definitely too long
No proper toilets, description about distances in the birdie book should be better
Geoff from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Apr 2018
Hurry up
Great course , Veiws are fantastic!

Just a word of warning , at one stage a coarse ranger came up to us, to ask if we were enjoying? It turned out it was a excuse to ask us to speed up! Well excuse me , as we were. right behind the group in front ,and two holes in front of the group behind,I questioned the request? Only to be told that he was trying to speed everybody up! We paid good money to play and I don’t think it’s very fair to put unnecessary pressure on our game!

If they are over booking the coarse it’s not the customers fault!

Having said that I would definitely play again!

Peter from Germany
on Sun, 15th Apr 2018
Very good condition, always worth the money👍🏻
Geoff from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Apr 2018
Overloaded? I
We played the Alvor & Praia sections very good ! Just one note ; at one stage we were asked by a coarse ranger, if we were enjoying ourselves;

It turned out to be an excuse to ask us to speed up! Totally unnecessary as we were a clear two holes ahead of the group behind & right behind the group in front ? Very strange? I pointed this out to the ranger; this was met by a comment about speeding everybody up? If you are loading the coarse up to much ; please don’t put unnecessary pressure on your guests!

Paul Bushell from United Kingdom
on Thu, 8th Mar 2018
Had played the original 18 holes about 10 years ago but started on what must be a new 9. I was very impressed with the condition and layout. Unfortunately the thunder and lightning curtailed our round and we only played 6 holes.
Evan from United Kingdom
on Tue, 6th Feb 2018
Beautiful course with some of the best golf views in the Algarve. Reason its only got 4 stars is it can get very crowded.
Alan Horne from United Kingdom
on Wed, 31st Jan 2018
Enjoyable course and views
Well kept fairways and greens , great views, not too taxing, possibly the best in the region.
Terry
on Tue, 21st Nov 2017
Palmares
Looking a bit worn and greens had lots of marks on them
Nick from Portugal
on Wed, 8th Nov 2017
Enjoyable, challenging track
Great layout and condition fairly good given weather extremes. Would play again.

Played the back tees and was tight for first 6 holes then opened up to allow scoring.

Service levels could lift a bit but young starter (forget his name) was very helpful and enthusiastic.

Sjas
on Thu, 2nd Nov 2017
Excellent course poor clubhouse
Ian from United Kingdom
on Thu, 26th Oct 2017
Nearly a 5 star course
The first three and last two holes are dull and uninspiring but in between is an excellent course. Great ocean views when teeing off on a number of holes. The tees and greens were in 5 star condition. The fairways were a bit patchy which is to be expected on a links course. If it wasn't for the fairways and the start and finish I would have rated this course 5 star.
Geoff from United Kingdom
on Sat, 21st Oct 2017
Great Greens.
Excellent course with fantastic views.
Jim Parker from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th Oct 2017
Palmares is a gem
Great courses and great staff ( Debra and Diane) in the pro shop.

Unfortunately the day we went was very busy. We should have teed off at 14.10 and didn't get off until 14.40!! need marshalls on the course making sure speed of play is acceptable

Matthew from United Kingdom
on Tue, 10th Oct 2017
Lovely Course.
Lovely course. Played all 27 holes and the greens are consistent and smooth throughout. Would love to play again. Provides good value for twilight golf.
dick durrant from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Oct 2017
Very nice course. Staff could be better
Enjoyed the course. Very busy but in decent condition. Very chaotic on arrival. Was told no buggy had been allocated and that it was not guaranteed with twilight bookings. This was the first we'd heard of this. Booking agency need to let people know this. We got one in the end though. Attitude of clubhouse was surly to the point of being rude. Because of 3 tee start and crossovers we teed off 25 mins late which meant we only got 16 holes in and the buggy ran out of juice too. Really enjoyed the golf course and would play it again, but the off course stuff leaves a lot to be desired hence the 3 stars. But for golf alone it would be 4
Mike from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Oct 2017
Alvor & Lagos
We played Alvor & Lagos which in my opinion are the two best nines. Course was in good condition views spectacular as always.
Kevin from Ireland
on Thu, 28th Sep 2017
Course and Clubhouse hard to find
As a former golf club manager, I know what to look for at a golf course. Road signage for the course is limited. I got lost...even with GPS! There is also next to no signage in the car park. I walked towards on building, figured it wasn't the Clubhouse, so I walked to a distant building. That wasn't the Clubhouse and I was told the first building was the Clubhouse. All in all, I spent about 8 minutes looking for Reception.

The Reception and Golf Shop is tiny, but the staff were pleasant and helpful. We wanted lunch and eventually had to go and find a waiter and menus. The food was fine...standard golf club fare and our lunch came out quickly.

I thoroughly enjoyed the course with a number of scenic, elevated tees (be warned, you do need a buggy). The fairways were generous and in good condition. Greens were also well condition but a wee bit on the slow side - typical in a number of Algarve course. The shaping and contouring of the greens was very good with moderate undulations (unlike Epiche).

Overall, I would rate Palmares very highly. I am playing it again in a few days time. That says it all.

Sverker from Denmark
on Sat, 23rd Sep 2017
Very interesant golf course, with challenges. Good standard and good greens.
David Moore from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Sep 2017
A great course in excellent condition.

A tough but fair challenge for our group of mid range handicappers

Hans from Austria
on Sat, 9th Sep 2017
From the hills to the sea
Beautiful views, interesting shape
Barb from Canada
on Tue, 5th Sep 2017
Definitely not worth the money or time
The course is in just ok condition, and the clubhouse is absolutely awful - very old and run down. Some of the holes have scenic views of the ocean, but the bad condition of the course takes it all away.
Eamon from United Kingdom
on Wed, 19th Jul 2017
Palmares
Excellent courses. All Three. No stroke savers were available which for visiting good golfers is essential. Playing off white tees would also be a better option as otherwise it's a 4 iron off the tee for many holes.

Maybe it's a bit rough around the edges on approach to club house and clubhouse itself. Boavista has a better feel for club house facilities. Views from course and veranda at club house are amazing. A little more investment in this area and I would have given it 10/10.

Clifford
on Sun, 2nd Jul 2017
Really worth the journey
3 great nine hole courses a bit off the beaten track but well worth the journey. Very quiet millionaires golf fantastic value for money
J.P. from Netherlands
on Fri, 30th Jun 2017
Wunderfull linkscourse
Joachim Robitzki from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Jun 2017
We had a lovely time at Palmares, however I played Palmares several times before the last 9 holes were added, and must say, a very good golf course was ruined. Palmares is no longer an attraction.
Jackie from United Kingdom
on Fri, 16th Jun 2017
Fantastic views
Will be a great course when building works finished. Very slow round- 5 hours.
Sally Villette from United Kingdom
on Thu, 18th May 2017
Six lady golfers!
Friendly, welcoming staff greeted us and made sure we knew where to go. The course is great; interesting holes, well planned and very well maintained. Although busy, we were not held up. We would definitely play the course again on a return visit.
John from United Kingdom
on Tue, 16th May 2017
Palmares in May
Greens are a bit slower than in the past - seem to have a mix of grasses. They are true however. Also generally less tidy around the course.

We still had a great round of golf with stunning views.

Pieter from Netherlands
on Sat, 13th May 2017
We played the Praia and Alvor course of Palmares.

I expected the Praia course to be a kind of links course, which I like very much. I played many links courses in Scotland. But for that the Praia course was too sloppy, I'm sorry to say.

The Alvor course on the other hand was very beautiful and we all liked that much more. So I can really recommend that. Pity not to have played the Lagos course, which might resemble the Alvor most likely.

Dave from United Kingdom
on Sun, 2nd Apr 2017
Course was stunning and in great condition. Views and set up fantastic. Just one major downside it took 4 hours 40 minutes for 14 holes before we walked off. It was a pity as last 4 holes looked very good
david from United Kingdom
on Tue, 21st Mar 2017
late review of the new layout
was a great fan of the old palmares layout, particularly the holes by the beach. the new layout there has lost much of its charm but has probably avoided some congestion sites. once we stop comparing it to fond memories it proves a spectacular and beautiful place to play not too long to walk but plenty of elevation to clime. we will be back
Edward from United Kingdom
on Tue, 28th Feb 2017
Great course in good condition clubhouse doesn't match very friendly and helpful

Could do with better signs on arrival to find club house and first tee!

Petra from Portugal
on Fri, 6th Jan 2017
nice view and difficult course
the course was very nice and havy.. the view is very well..
Rod from United Kingdom
on Mon, 19th Dec 2016
Fantastic golf course, very well kept, friendly staff , would definitely go back although a little expensive .
Danny Pitchley from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Nov 2016
Picturesque course
Good course in excellent condition. Challenging but fair. Some of the views and holes were spectacular to play.
Geoff
on Wed, 26th Oct 2016
Course being greedy, too many people
Beautiful trio of 9 holes, inland and beach, one of our favourites but they are killing it with overbooking, 300 on the course when we played, twice this has happened, love the course but they are being greedy and spoiling it.
Odd from Norway
on Fri, 21st Oct 2016
Challenging
Links course was difficult and not so funny, the Park lane was very nice.

Disappointed that the driving range was out of order?

Matthew from United Kingdom
on Fri, 21st Oct 2016
A good fail safe if you cant get on anywhere else.
Stunning views and reasonable price only spoiled by just how busy and overbooked the course was.

A good fail safe if you cant get on anywhere else.

Brian
on Fri, 14th Oct 2016
Fabulous golf course. Definitely the best in this part of the Algarve. Be prepared for 5 hour rounds though.
Roland from Netherlands
on Mon, 10th Oct 2016
Superb golf course. A must to play.
Raymond from Netherlands
on Tue, 4th Oct 2016
Top
Top
Ian from Denmark
on Tue, 27th Sep 2016
Fabulous course with some breathtaking views, greens were super quick with some very tricky breaks. The staff were really friendly but the clubhouse/shop is a bit basic.
Ian from Denmark
on Tue, 27th Sep 2016
Fabulous course with some breathtaking views. Clubhouse is a bit basic but the star are very friendly.
Theo Van Solkema from Portugal
on Sun, 25th Sep 2016
Great course, perfect weather, good starter and cooperative other players
Phil Brook from United Kingdom
on Mon, 19th Sep 2016
Great course
Great course, well laid out and nice mix of holes. Course in great condition with slick and true greens. Recommended.
Geraint from UK
on Thu, 15th Sep 2016
Excellent course in great condition. Views were spectacular. Already planning on booking it again for next year's trip.
Geoff from Portugal
on Thu, 18th Aug 2016
Balls lost and found!!
Great golf course in pretty good condition, the greens were fantastic when compared with others in the Algarve at the moment.

Fair price including buggy again compared to others at present.

Played Lagos and Praia course as Alvor was closed.

Only downside on the Praia course is people wandering around to and from the beach, clearly very dangerous. Also ball sellers and even worse ball finders wandering around the middle of the links section of the course and when out of site picking up the ball you are playing with if its not on the fairway. Lesson learned 'Keep it on the fairway!!'

Gareth from United Kingdom
on Mon, 15th Aug 2016
Course is in a lovely setting . Found the sand to be awful no sand in bunkers to play out of / fairways could have been softer ( obviously hot weather plays massive part ) played 10 holes on Lagos then went onto 19 found 3 sets players waiting so played 19 and had to skip onto hole 24 then finish off the last few holes disappointed to be honest . Staff were great and the buggy man who took me to tee 10 gave me some great advice .
Kris from United Kingdom
on Sat, 16th Jul 2016
Long course, but fantastic experience
This was the first time we played Palmares since the new course layout and it was a fantastic experience. Unfortunately for mid-handicappers the course is a little too long, especially when playing into the wind! Definitely will return though
David from United Kingdom
on Fri, 10th Jun 2016
Fantastic course in great condition, made to feel welcome when you arrive quick and easy check-in. Best greens we played on all holiday.
Colin from United States
on Wed, 18th May 2016
Second rate Palmares charging premium prices
The new course layout provides amazing views but sacrifices quality golf holes. Bare fairways and inconsistent greens that incorporate silly roll offs making shot making impossible. Much better condition and layout before the changes
Kevin from Portugal
on Tue, 3rd May 2016
Best course and condition l have played on in E U will definitely be back Excellent
Andy from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Apr 2016
Palmares - fantastic!
Beautiful layout and great condition. Greens were some of the best I've played in the Algarve. Walking is not for the faint hearted.
Dirk
on Mon, 4th Apr 2016
schöne Umgebung, hügelig, guter Zustand. Einzig die Bunker wirken ungepflegt.
Nigel from Portugal
on Mon, 4th Apr 2016
Palmares
We played the Praia 9 and then the Alvor 9. I had a poor round (after a blinding start!) so am trying not to be biased. The course was plagued by itinerant lost golf ball sellers with their bags of balls on display for purchase at many of the tees. There was also considerable course maintenance work taking place with noise from machinery which I found unsettling and annoying. Poor signage, some nice views, wouldn't return.
Andy from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd Mar 2016
A 'must play'course in the Algarve. Don't miss it.Stunning views and some great holes
Tom from United Kingdom
on Wed, 24th Feb 2016
Tom Mcavoy
Course was fantastic,only to be stuck behind the slowest players ever with no stewards pushing on slow play 5 and1/4 hrs.

It took us almost 40 minutes to get served breakfast and the whole order was wrong

The worst service in a clubhouse I have ever seen.

Will not be back

Tom Mcavoy

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Palmares page's or to connect with other Palmares golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.