Loading
to

Alamos Reviews

Les from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Nov 2022
Fairways a bit worn in places but overall condition good with very good greens.
Claude from United States
on Tue, 8th Nov 2022
Belle journée
Nous avons été bien reçu par le personnel à notre arrivée. Le terrain est en assez bonne condition malgré le manque d’eau, les allées sont bien et donne beaucoup de roulement . Les verts sont très bien, beaucoup d’ondulation et c’est assez difficile d’en faire une bonne lecture. La vitesse de verts est bonne mais pas très rapide. En général nous avons bien apprécié notre journée.
Jamie Willacy from United Kingdom
on Tue, 25th Oct 2022
Better courses out there
Quite a forgiving course for a casual golfer but my god its a trek. No buggies available when we played and felt like miles between holes. Play a bit rushed and generally the course was a bit too busy. We got teamed up with another 2-ball which I suppose is common but we paid a fortune for the experience with green fees, club & trolley hire so we should have been given the choice. No where near as organized as other courses and felt like they were just getting as many round as they could. Sorry wouldn't play there again.
Susan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 21st Oct 2022
Nice course but they are struggling to maintain it due to lack of water
Mark from United States
on Thu, 20th Oct 2022
Course was beautiful. My complaint is only could play 11 holes before trolley battery went dead.
Paul from United Kingdom
on Sat, 15th Oct 2022
Disappointed
Never again! Full size crazy golf. Too gimmicky, was just missing windmills
justin from Netherlands
on Tue, 11th Oct 2022
Algarve golfer
Terrible, no value for money

Abrupt staff in pro shop

Over booked

No course service

Lack of irrigation

Tatty all round

Simon Hannan from United Kingdom
on Tue, 20th Sep 2022
Lads golf Ladies beach
Nice course on the short side

Condition was ok

Speed of play was decent

John from United Kingdom
on Sat, 17th Sep 2022
Still playable after very long summer
You have to take into consideration the drought that this area has experience this year in particular.

Yes the majority of the fairways were burnt and without grass but you could not fault the greens or tee boxes which the course openly says they have to prioritise as both dams are dry

The course has the felling of being quite compared to others due to the design it’s a pity we did not get the chance to play in its glory as some of the holes would have been stunning.

Nigel from United States
on Wed, 29th Jun 2022
3 old gits and a young one back in the Algarve
We love this course, actually far more that its sister course, Morgado. Alamos has some interesting holes, the views of the Monchique mountains are lovely, it's a challenge for medium and high handicaps, and it's usually very quiet (because most visitors to the region opt for Morgado. They don't know what they're missing!
Alan from United States
on Mon, 27th Jun 2022
3 Putting my way to the clubhouse.
The course was fairly difficult but the greens were extremely difficult. They undulated, sloped, and ran on some from a front to back pitch. Very hard to land the ball on the green and keep it there.
Chi from United Kingdom
on Sun, 26th Jun 2022
Great course in excellent condition
Great course, excellent greens in this heat! Challenging in the wind! But with a buggy a great day out!
Clive from United Kingdom
on Fri, 24th Jun 2022
Excellent test for all handicaps
Ludo Van Kerckhoven from Belgium
on Fri, 17th Jun 2022
Dry , yellow fairways,
Douglas from United Kingdom
on Wed, 15th Jun 2022
Alamos golfing experience
My favorite course played it twice and a great challange each time.

It was in great condition considering how dry it is, the greens were fantastic, a real challange for both speed and reading.

Staff were excellent very friendly and helpful, I would definately recommend if your in the vicinity.

Luc Doneux from Portugal
on Tue, 7th Jun 2022
A lot of wind and extremely dry. Very difficult to hold onto the greens.

Challenging

Richard from United States
on Sat, 4th Jun 2022
Confidence booster course!
Was better than expected! There were reviews of slow play but I few through the course. The conditions were good except for most greens were slower than we would like! Shorter course big confidence booster is not a long hitter but most hit it straight on its narrow fairways
Tim from United Kingdom
on Tue, 10th May 2022
May 2022
Course in good condition but play was exceptionally slow and the groups in front were not monitored. 5 hours to get round.!!

Good quality club hire and very friendly welcome at both check in and at the start.

Would definitely play this course again .Its a challenge but enjoyable

Richard from United Kingdom
on Mon, 9th May 2022
Great curse. Fantastic greens
David from Portugal
on Wed, 20th Apr 2022
Alamos golf course
The Easter deal was very good 2players and a buggy with 2 sets of clubs for €143 and the alamos course was in very good condition
Felix from United States
on Wed, 30th Mar 2022
?
Leider in einem schlechtem Zustand.

Das Personal war zudem nicht sehr freundlich.

Keine Begrüßung,keine Verabschiedung.

Das Übungsgrün war überhaupt nicht zu gebrauchen da das

Fairway nicht bewachsen war.

Der Kurs ist interessant aber hat auch weite Wege.

Bitte nur mit Buggy wenn man nicht gut zu Fuss ist.

In meinen Augen gibt es wesetlich bessere Clubs an der Algarve(Hcp:9.0).

Richard from United Kingdom
on Sun, 27th Mar 2022
Worth playing
Very good course and in good condition when we played in March ‘22. The layout is great, as were course conditions with the greens in particular well -presented

Slightly more challenging than the sister course and well worth a visit.

Jan Van De Wassenberg from Netherlands
on Mon, 28th Feb 2022
Beautiful course, great greens. Friendly staff.

Jan (handicap 20.6(

DEBORAH from United Kingdom
on Tue, 22nd Feb 2022
Fast, sloping greens
Some fabulous hole son this course but the green were too severe. Wicked slopes and very fast. You couldn’t stop the ball on the greens even with a good shot on.
ROGER from Portugal
on Thu, 17th Feb 2022
Beau parcours avec des greens très rapide .Un peu déçu de l'état des fair way très roussis
louis from Portugal
on Tue, 8th Feb 2022
Sable des bunkers injouable

Très sec et râpé

Acceuil peu agréable

Volker from Germany
on Fri, 26th Nov 2021
Ungepflegter Platz
Ungepflegter Platz, Deutlich schlechter als vor 2 Jahren. Für den Zustand nicht gerechtfertigte Greenfee-Preise.

Ich werde diesen Platz nicht mehr spielen

Andy from Canada
on Fri, 19th Nov 2021
Worst course so far
A 5 hour 15 minute round with no rangers in sight. Awful! To add to that misery all the on course washrooms were locked, so not a very friendly course for ladies. Will not be back.
Roger from United Kingdom
on Thu, 18th Nov 2021
Average, bit pricey for an average course
Bit dry & boney!
Andrew from Ireland
on Mon, 1st Nov 2021
Superb condition, great greens and fairways.

Play was slow on the day though but that is similar with all courses at that time of year.

Mark from Ireland
on Mon, 25th Oct 2021
Alamos Course
Very friendly and helpful staff. Course was a little rough around the edges. Not much help in terms of distances when on fairways. Very acceptable greens in good condition. The pathways for the buggy’s were a little dangerous in some areas due to unfinished surfacing. All in all a very enjoyable days golf.
Lena Bohman from Sweden
on Wed, 13th Oct 2021
Too slow!
I agree-a marsall is necessary! Very,very slow today! We had to wait at least 10 min on each tee! After 14 holes we gave up, so far we had played for 4 hours and 20 minutes.

The condition is not good: very bumpy roads, fairways and greens could be better.

Jenneke from Netherlands
on Sat, 2nd Oct 2021
Where is the Marshall ….
The course needs a Marshall…. Slow play by Britts with hangover. Shame because course is nice and well kept.
Lesley from United Kingdom
on Mon, 27th Sep 2021
Alamos not at its best
The course was in poor condition and I found the buggy paths a problem. I have a knee injury which means I need a buggy and with the “entrance “ to the fairway the best part of 200m from the . This meant I had to walk some considerable distance on each hole. I admit I didn’t ask if I could have a blue flag ( I have had this previously at Boavista) which would have allowed me more access to the fairway.

I have played Alamos before and the set up was different and the course was in much better condition- not sure I would go back

Stephanie from Portugal
on Wed, 2nd Jun 2021
Challenging for a beginner like me
Quite a tricky course for me being an inconsistent golfer but I would go again as it was very enjoyable and the scenery is stunning. Very well maintained fairways and greens.
Marco from Germany
on Mon, 31st May 2021
You pay what you get for
I am the first time playing in Portugal . Alamos was the last of 4th courses i played. It is not nice and wast of time . Place number 5. I only pay 30 Euro - thanks god
Joerg Krames from Germany
on Mon, 31st May 2021
Wide fairways and nice views on the landscape
we played the course last year in February

I have to say the greenkeeper did an excellent job in the meantime

outstanding price value

will be a challenge if it get warmer

Gaetan Guillermou from France
on Tue, 4th Aug 2020
Very good course , some hole very difficult and require a good technic , the landscape is wonderfull, long fairway as well, i have spent a good time. Probably one of the best golf course in the area
Ian from United Kingdom
on Thu, 23rd Jul 2020
Midday round.
Great value round. Big greens and very smooth. One or two holes need more water but it’s been very dry.
Klaus-Dieter from Germany
on Fri, 20th Mar 2020
Family course
Not as long as the Morgado course and a bit more effort made in the design.
Michael from Sweden
on Tue, 3rd Mar 2020
Short, tricky and very good but difficult greens
Short but tricky golf course in very good shape apart from tees. The greens are in very good condition but extremely difficult. The rest of the area could be in little better shape.
Daniel from Slovakia
on Thu, 13th Feb 2020
All ok...
William from United Kingdom
on Tue, 4th Feb 2020
Bill Stoker Stocksfield golf. Club
Enjoyed playing the course it getting better as the years go by. Greens in great condition whether that's got something to do with Margodo and Alamos hosting some pro comp. However I was pleasantly surprised
Petra from Germany
on Sun, 5th Jan 2020
Quitly, Naturell Place
A quitly Place with tricky fairways.. very Naturell.. wonderfull View, Not crowed

Not easy

Gerlinde from Austria
on Mon, 30th Dec 2019
Lots of landscape!
Nice, beautifully landscaped course. Not very tricky, but a joy to play.
Jukka Ahtinen from Finland
on Thu, 5th Dec 2019
The golf course was surprisingly diverse. The Greens were brisk and fast. Nice experience. Thank you
Mauricio from Norway
on Mon, 28th Oct 2019
Excellent course with a lot of water hazard. The greens was really good. Some dry areas on the tee. A great excperience!
Gilbert from Belgium
on Fri, 25th Oct 2019
Ok
Jeff from Ireland
on Wed, 16th Oct 2019
Alamos
87.50 for a course that’s v average and in poor nick!

Greens have an issue of some kind.

Tees brought very forward...... holding up play even more as one waits for some par 4s greens!

Course generally in poor nick/ v dusty turf.

Keith from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Oct 2019
Don’t bother.....
Despite teeing off on time, it took 3.5 hours to play just 12 holes and it completely ruined the game and we walked off. Far too many groups playing. The groups in front of us were playing Texas scramble which should be quick but they were holding us and others up on every hole. The marshal said he would sort it out but nothing improved.

We complained to reception but they wasn’t interested.

David Bigelow from United States
on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
Bigelow Group Review
Obviously a well designed course, visually pleasing and challenging, but was in poor repair the day we played it. Dry in many places, several greens had patchwork of new turf that had not been rolled correctly. We were especially disappointed that no one mentioned the toilets on the back nine were out of order - with no alternative provided - not good for the ladies in our group.
CYRILLE GUERY from France
on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
Correct mais beaucoup mieux en Algarve
Terrain correct mais monotone toujours les mêmes paysages bordés de palmiers terrain plat sans surprise

bien entretenu greens corrects

Ian from Ireland
on Sun, 29th Sep 2019
Not great. 10 min queues in every timebox
Brendan from United Kingdom
on Wed, 18th Sep 2019
A nice course with some interesting holes. They had suffered with a lack of rain this summer which meant that some of the fairways were a little brown, which didn’t affect the golf and the course gave us a free drink due to this which was a nice touch! A good course with plenty of character.
Freddie from Ireland
on Tue, 17th Sep 2019
Terrible
Played 13 Sept. terrible condition. No grass anywhere but for a few greens. Stay away from it. Treated poorly by staff as a EuropeanTour event on. We paid too much to be treated that way.
Martin from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Sep 2019
Martin Smith
The course is suffering from the lack of water so many fairways are brown and dried out. Greens still ok
Guillaume from France
on Sun, 1st Sep 2019
Alamos Golf Course
The first 9 is more interesting, than the back. Fairways and some greens have been heat and are a little burnt. The golf team prepare the Morgado golf course for the Portugal Open in mid September, it could be explain the lack of maintenance.
Brent from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Aug 2019
Good course, challenging and narrow in parts. Tee boxes need some work. Greens rapid and undulating. Overall and good 12 handicap course
Phil from United Kingdom
on Tue, 30th Jul 2019
Ok for tourism friendly golf, reasonably easy without many features or hazards. Ok value.
Grzegorz from Poland
on Sun, 30th Jun 2019
Short but with nice demanding greens. Not in very good condition
Harry from United Kingdom
on Wed, 26th Jun 2019
Great day
The course was stunning, would recommend to anyone
Waldemar from Portugal
on Tue, 25th Jun 2019
Beloura Golf Club
Arend Koster from Netherlands
on Tue, 25th Jun 2019
Nice course in the mountains of Portimao, we played Los Álamos and one of us had a hole in one. What a joy. Not every hole is very difficult, the last weeks it was day so the course was also hard and dry, The greens were well maintained.
Patrick from United Kingdom
on Fri, 21st Jun 2019
Tight but loved it my kind of course parkland superb greens
Ondřej from Czech Republic
on Wed, 19th Jun 2019
Children not allowed
The course looked well, but includes ”ghost' houses around - maybe old development project w/o access. We were not able to play due children safety, was dissapointed because it happened to us first time...
Dany from Belgium
on Fri, 14th Jun 2019
Álamos Algarve
Mooie korte maar technische baan. Moeilijk door harde wind. Mooi onderhouden greens met veel hoogteverschil . Prijs - kwaliteit uitstekend
John from Portugal
on Thu, 13th Jun 2019
Amazing Alamos
Amazing peaceful course set in the hills. Beautiful scenery. Sara on reception was really welcoming as the was the first time I have played here, she gave us some useful tips on where to go etc.. greens conditions were excellent considering the lack of rain in the area. This course is separate from the 18 hole Morgardo which uses the same clubhouses facilities. Overall one of my favourite courses in the algarve. Will play here again.
giles from Russian Federation
on Wed, 12th Jun 2019
Great fun. Mad greens! Nice bar etc but resort as a whole looking like a buiding site.
Gordon Innes from United Kingdom
on Wed, 5th Jun 2019
Alamos June 2019
Course in ok condition. Greens good. Tough challenge in strong wind.
May from Portugal
on Fri, 31st May 2019
Nice golf course
graham from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th May 2019
Great course quick greens staff helpful and friendly already planning next years trip will definitely include it on the agenda and
David from United Kingdom
on Tue, 9th Apr 2019
Super sister course of Morgado, well presented when we played on 3rd April, fast greens and well presented course. Hardly anyone on the course when we played so speed of play was great
Kevin from United Kingdom
on Sat, 30th Mar 2019
Course in good condition and strong winds made play challenging. Greens very difficult and even the best of approach shots can be penalised.
Harry from Portugal
on Mon, 25th Feb 2019
Alamos a Hilly Course
Very hilly course. Not good for walking. Could be in better condition. Friendly staff.
Sylvie from France
on Thu, 14th Feb 2019
Golf service all a long the course.toilettes on the courses.bar service as Well.for the course it was Nice à bit dry fairway and very fast greens surrounded by bankers fairly technic. Long holes and the distance between the starters are long.i recommend a buggy
Libor from Czech Republic
on Mon, 11th Feb 2019
Below the average
Missing clubhouse (shared with Morgado course, but too far from holes 1 and 18). Only one functional toilet on the playground, the rest was closed. Long gradients with rocky surface, unsuitable for walking players. The layout of the course does not allow playing nine holes only.
Harry from Portugal
on Fri, 25th Jan 2019
Alamos golf is challenging
Very friendly staff. Course conditions not great. Greens were fun generally the course is very challenging. Directions to course are none existent. Our GPS took us on a terrible dirt road.
Anders Waldebrant from Sweden
on Thu, 20th Dec 2018
Nice course , quick play ( no players )
monty from United Kingdom
on Mon, 12th Nov 2018
Very slow play.
Course Ok but course management very poor, played 3 holes after over one hour. A round of golf should not be over 5 hours.
Alan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 5th Oct 2018
Alamos. A course for everyone
Probably one of the easiest golf courses on the Algarve but great fun. Some interesting holes which make you think about your tee shot and approach.
Alison
on Sun, 23rd Sep 2018
Good all round course
Lovely course, friendly and helpful staff. Was challenging in places but everyone loved this. Would highly recommend for medium to high handicap players.
David Moore from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Sep 2018
A challenging layout
Geoff from United Kingdom
on Thu, 6th Sep 2018
Disappointing condition of a good course.
I have always been a fan of both Morgado and Alamos courses particularly the back nine on the former and the front nine on the latter. However I was disappointed on this visit in the condition of the course. The greens were slow and there was little definition between fairway and rough. Of greater concern was the amount of long coarse grass on the approaches and surrounds to the greens which made it look scruffy. I didn't understand why these areas hadn't been treated with a product like Rescue to kill off the invasive species. I am sure it just needs some care and attention to bring it back to normal.
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Thu, 6th Sep 2018
Really nice course, would definitely recommend hiring a buggy as its a long course to walk!
Chris Munro from United Kingdom
on Mon, 13th Aug 2018
Superb round at Alamos!
Alamos is a superb course with plenty of challenging and fair holes. The views are really nice and the course was in excellent condition. The only reason this doesn't get 5 stars is that the greens were extremely slow. The growth and coverage on them was superb, but they were more like really short fairways. However it didn't detract too much from the day as in most cases you could get aggressive with shots at the flag.

The clubhouse is really nice with a terrace over looking the driving range and some of the holes from the Morgado course. The food and drink was excellent.

Paul Dix from United Kingdom
on Thu, 26th Jul 2018
Decent
Decent value for money, short and tight course with some nice and intersesting holes. Worth playing as part of a golf holiday but not as a main event I would suggest ...
Bjorn Egertz from Sweden
on Mon, 23rd Jul 2018
Alamos a nice course
Very good course. A little easy and not that long from yellow but really fun and good.
Stephen from England
on Mon, 23rd Jul 2018
Staff very friendly and course in excellent condition
Martyn from United Kingdom
on Mon, 9th Jul 2018
Good condition but slow play
Course in great condition. Fairly short but means that you have to play for position rather than just smashing it. We were stuck a few groups back of a 40 man society. Very slow play.
Karen from United Kingdom
on Thu, 5th Jul 2018
Álamos Golf Course
Very pleasant welcome, good hire equipment, well signed and nIce scenery. Greens were slow, bunkers need raked, long distance between holes. All in all nice course.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Alamos page's or to connect with other Alamos golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.