Loading
to

Espiche Golf Reviews

Irene from Switzerland
on Sun, 14th Oct 2018
Great course, some interesting and demanding holes. I recommend this course a lot.
Alan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 5th Oct 2018
Espiche. A tough test
Not for the feint-hearted. Tight fairways, miss them and you may lose your ball due to their being very little run off areas.

The greens are unbelievably tough with severe slopes but great fun to play.

Keith from United Kingdom
on Tue, 25th Sep 2018
Great course enjoyed our round there !

Not for high handicap players

James
on Sun, 16th Sep 2018
Best course around, great staff, great condition a pleasure to play....a most enjoyable day
Shaun from Portugal
on Wed, 12th Sep 2018
Average
Very well kept course but not very interesting. Very challenging course especially in the wind.
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Sep 2018
Nice course but tough if you miss the fairway
Course is interesting and in great condition but it’s tough. Fairways are mostly narrow and if you hit it off the fairway you are in bushes and the ball is lost. Not a course for wayward drivers.
Schuler Johann + Heidi from Switzerland
on Mon, 10th Sep 2018
Very good and chellanging golf course

Excellent restaurant

Geoff from United Kingdom
on Thu, 6th Sep 2018
Developing rapidly into a fine course .
It's 2 years since I last played Espiche and in that time it has improved significantly. The course is immaculate with firm fairways and the best greens I have played on this year- they are true , even paced and consistent across the course.

Espiche is for the straight hitter and even then there are bad bounces into oblivion- never play blind over a hill, always have a spotter. With stunning views and an impressive Clubhouse it is well worth a visit.

Andreas from Germany
on Wed, 25th Jul 2018
Challenging course
Excellent Course,sometimes very narrow landing zones, rough is almost non-existent, heavy rough almost unplayable (thorny scrubs and waste area). Tough!
Miikka from Belgium
on Tue, 10th Jul 2018
Very interesting. Beautiful. Will play again.
Derek from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Jul 2018
Very tight
Wonderful views

Very tight with quick running fairways

martin Pollard from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
Excellent Espiche
Delightfully inland course. Very interesting and worth playing. Definitely one of our favourites on the Algarve. Will certainly revisit
Padraic from Ireland
on Mon, 4th Jun 2018
Excellent, improving every year. Good food in Bar
Vincent Darby from Ireland
on Fri, 11th May 2018
Unlikely to return
A mixed bag really. Beautiful clubhouse and facilities and some of the staff were polite and helpful. Sadly, others weren’t . Sat at a table on the terrace at 5.25pm no staff came out from the bar, so I went inside at 5.30 and it was as much as they could do to end their conversation as I waited patiently to ask for a drink at the bar. I ordered 2 drinks and asked if there were any menus available and was told quite curtly that the kitchen closed at 5.30. That’s fine, but there’s a right and a wrong way to deal with guests and, this was the only time in Portugal that we we were not made very welcome. The course itself has some good holes but does need watering. Greens were nicely paced and consistent. Plenty of blind shots and, given the gradients, you hit a shot to one side of the fairway only to find it some time later almost in the bushes on the other side - really slows down the game. A few marker posts beside the undergrowth would help to give you some idea where the ball went since one bush looks very much like another from 200 or so yards! But it’s the staff that really need to improve - many don’t seem happy at their work - probably sick of loud British golfing parties which myself and my wife were not part of. Sadly, in the hospitality industry, you have to be nice to the customers or they complain in reviews and won’t come back. Could and should be an outstanding venue but work to be done on the course and with some staff
Dermot
on Thu, 10th May 2018
Atrocious
Very poor and unforgiving No suitable for handicap golfers

Fairways very poor

Don from Portugal
on Fri, 4th May 2018
Great facility. Fairways need a little water.
Denise Swindells from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd May 2018
Denise Swindells
Course average very tight disapointed when you take a good shot and you lose your ball would not go back
Gavin from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th Apr 2018
Great service and great find
A tight little number but good fun non-the-less, just bring lots of balls to get you around. Rained in the morning, course closed but they sorted us out with a rearranged tee time, no questions asked.
Petra from Germany
on Sun, 22nd Apr 2018
wonderful course - nice views and good landscape
very nice course, unfortunately the weather was not as expected, but we enjoyed it - will definitely come back to play again with better weather
Trevor from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th Apr 2018
Tight but enjoyable. Clubhouse great and staff top class.
Paul Bushell from United Kingdom
on Thu, 8th Mar 2018
What a cracking golf course. Would like to go back sometime now we know the lie of the land. In good condition,some very interesting holes and tested all aspects of the game. Great clubhouse and friendly staff. Would highly recommend.
William from United Kingdom
on Sun, 4th Feb 2018
Difficult course to play quite hilly with narrow fairways not a course for the mid to high handicappers. Make sure you've got plenty of balls.
Gerald E from Portugal
on Fri, 2nd Feb 2018
short but entertaining
Espiche is a short but challenging course. At this time of year some holes are unfair because it is dry and there is a lot of run out. A good shot shot can end up being unplayable. Knowledge of course idiosincracies after playing it a couple of times can make a big difference. Ball placement, not distance is the key.
Tim from United Kingdom
on Thu, 1st Feb 2018
A nice way to start February
Played here on a windy day which made the course even more challenging! Greens are like lightening so be aware. Lots of hidden surprises given the gorse runs along most fairways.

Worth a return visit.

Wolfgang from Germany
on Sun, 21st Jan 2018
Unser Geheimfavorit
Schöner Platz mit hervorragend gepflegten Fairway und Grüns

Kommen gerne wieder und werden das nächste Mal sicher bei algarvegolf.net buchen!

Mirko from Italy
on Fri, 19th Jan 2018
Good course but too few grass
The course is beautiful, the staff very kind. The only thing is there is not much grass, the fairways are quite dry, and also the greens look a bit like the fairways, in some holes one can not easily spot the difference between the two. Lots of up-and-downs but in general an enjoyable course.
Chris from Portugal
on Mon, 15th Jan 2018
Very Enjoyable
As a mid handicapper, i found the course very enjoyable. But my advise is use your shots and settle for Bogeys. Drivers from the tee and you are asking for trouble, i used a hybrid 3 iron and was in play on all the holes, where my playing partners were well, lost balls in the scrubland. You got to be stright. Also fast greens.
Alan Horne from United Kingdom
on Mon, 8th Jan 2018
Enjoy the views
Good views, well kept, narrow fairways so be prepared to lose balls. Great food at club house.
Lars from Portugal
on Sat, 30th Dec 2017
Narrow and challenging
Narrow and challenging course in good winter condition. Nice clubhouse with helpful and friendly staff.
Ross from Portugal
on Sun, 17th Dec 2017
Espiche not for faint hearted
This is a very difficult golf course. Even if you can hit the often tight fairway, there is a very good chance your ball will roll 30-50 yards left or right with no rough to stop the ball disappearing into the impenetrable bush that lines every hole. One foot off, you might as well be 30 yards off. Add wind into the equation and just stay in the beautiful clubhouse and enjoy yourself instead.

Having started with that, the course is almost hypnotic in its beauty and toughness. Makes you want to keep coming back just to try and beat it. In addition to its beauty the course is in excellent shape, all the staff were friendly and helpful and during our rounds, pace of play was excellent.

So if you have lots of balls, figuratively and literally, you should give it a whirl. Plus December and January, Espiche was offering two persons with a buggy for €65!

Ross Canada

Brigitte from Netherlands
on Sun, 26th Nov 2017
Een dagje Espiche golf
Een hele mooie golfbaan en zeker geen gemakkelijke, het personeel is zeer vriendelijk en denkt mee in diverse situaties

Kosten voor de 18 holes twee personen en een buggy € 80

Kenneth from United States
on Thu, 23rd Nov 2017
Planning is beneficial
Nice course where planning of your shoot is beneficial.

Nice restaurant with good service also reception staff is very friendly.

Will play it again

Alan from Portugal
on Tue, 7th Nov 2017
Nice but tough
Very tight course. Take plenty of balls. If you drift off the fairway there is a good chance you won’t find your ball. Greens were in a fair condition and true. I hit a rescue off the tee more times than my driver.

I would play again but my wife it too difficult.

Peter from United Kingdom
on Sun, 5th Nov 2017
Tough course holes poorly cut.
Hildegard from Germany
on Sun, 29th Oct 2017
Espiche is a very good and well-kept course
Karen from Germany
on Sat, 28th Oct 2017
Gerne wieder!
Uns ( HCP -4/-15) hat der Platz sehr gut gefallen, er ist hügelig aber gut zu Laufen. Bälle kann man schon verlieren da die Bahnen oft nach rechts oder links hängen.

Die Jungs an der Rezeption und der Marshall waren super nett und hilfsbereit. Das Clubhaus ist schon beeindruckend und man hat einen herrlichen Blick über den Platz.

Peter from United Kingdom
on Sun, 22nd Oct 2017
Too tight.
Lovely position great price but the rough is just impossible. Slightly off the fairway and the ball is lost.
Moon from Netherlands
on Wed, 18th Oct 2017
Beautiful view. For me to much blindspot to the hole.
Eric Tocabens from France
on Wed, 18th Oct 2017
Beau golf vallonné.
Beau golf, beau greens. Vallonné et tres agreable. Bon rapport qualité prix
Lars from Portugal
on Mon, 16th Oct 2017
Narrow and challenging
A very narrow and challenging course. When you are out you are most of the time completely out in the bush. Fun to play. Very good condition.
Tony from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Oct 2017
Keep this a secret
Stunning!

The layout of the course.

The clubhouse nearly always in view.

What a hidden jewel.

Staff always courteous.

Nigel from Portugal
on Thu, 12th Oct 2017
Espiche review
A demanding 18 holes set in stunnning Portuguese countryside. The course was in superb condition when we played and although busy we were round in 4 hours.

The Club House is excellent with beautiful views over the course.

Food is very good and the staff friendly and efficient.

I would recommend a visit.

Raymond Charles from Portugal
on Thu, 12th Oct 2017
Espiche Golf
Very nice course with excellent greens. Not overbusy. Unique clubhouse with spectacular surroundings with friendly staff. 10 out of 10.
David from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Oct 2017
Sublime
Beautiful course, very tight and quite demanding. fantastic customer service and the best tuna baguette i have ever had
Graham Barron from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Oct 2017
Espiche an experience not to miss
Great surroundings club house facilities exceptional. To play a real experience, personally as a high handicap it is very hard. Unfortunately they're are no run off areas and balls landing on the fairways can run and run out. But having said that it is worth playing and making your own mind on whether to run. Staff brilliant and helpful first thing starter said to us was how many balls do you have?
Jamie from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Oct 2017
Best greens great course
Great course I will most definitely return on my next visit to Portugal.

The greens are amazing best I have ever seen. Tough on some holes if you don't hit the fairway as lots of bushes you can't play out of but if you can hit a straight iron that is the best way.

Great price great people great course you won't be disappointed this is a must play if you go to Portugal to play golf.. thanks Espiche golf see you again soon.

Mats from Sweden
on Wed, 27th Sep 2017
Mats
Hard and fantastic,club house marvelous
Martha from Netherlands
on Tue, 26th Sep 2017
Very difficult course. You have to play on the fairway otherwise you will not find your ball back
simon from United Kingdom
on Sun, 24th Sep 2017
Lovely golf club.
Wonderful reception from all staff. We met roll up Roy,who was great and gave us some good advice that enabled us to enjoy our round.Plot your way round this beautifully presented course,or it will bite ya.We loved it,thanks to all at Espiche.
Keith Clissold from United Kingdom
on Sun, 24th Sep 2017
Fantastic but challenging course

Staff could not be more helpful

David
on Fri, 22nd Sep 2017
Very windy when we played, but the course was in reasonable condition, tough if you miss the fairway!
Gwyneth Holt from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Sep 2017
Bring your A game and keep up the pace
This is a challenging course - especially if windy - high handicappers and those lacking accuracy will lose many balls! Stunning course is great condition with each hole feeling quite separate from the others due to being guarded by quite vicious plants. Lack of a Marshall to speed up players meant an uncomfortably slow five and a half hour round, which spoiled our experience. Fabulous clubhouse with really good proper restaurant serving lovely food
Gwyneth Holt from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Sep 2017
Bring your A game and keep up the pace
This is a challenging course - especially if windy - high handicappers and those lacking accuracy will lose many balls! Stunning course is great condition with each hole feeling quite separate from the others due to being guarded by quite vicious plants. Lack of a Marshall to speed up players meant an uncomfortably slow five and a half hour round, which spoiled our experience. Fabulous clubhouse with really good proper restaurant serving lovely food
James
on Sat, 16th Sep 2017
Miller/Logan annual golf outing
Always the best course of the annual tour

as they say in Glasgow 'Pure Dead Brilliant'

Staff excellent, available snacks OK

David Moore from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Sep 2017
The course setting is great - no traffic noise.

With a fairly strong wind blowing our group of mid range handicappers found it quite difficult to score well. However all of us enjoyed the challenge and the bar after. Clubhouse looks great.

Geoff from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Sep 2017
Tough, tight but rather nice.
This course is very tight. It is loveley but miss a fairway and you may as well deem the ball lost. Would really benefit from more lateral hazard red posts to prevent wasting time trudging into the bramble to try and find a ball that probably is unplayable. Greens were amongst the best I've ever seen but it was difficult to get the ball to sit down.
Philip Cotton from Portugal
on Fri, 8th Sep 2017
Excellent golf course, well manicured and no pitch marks on any green. However, this is a golf course for an experienced golfer.
David from United Kingdom
on Sat, 2nd Sep 2017
Great value
Very enjoyable. Excellent fairways, greens a bit slow. Good value , excellent clubhouse.
Robert from United States
on Sun, 13th Aug 2017
Lovely quiet course
Had a most enjoyable round at Espiche, despite severe winds (used to them in Scotland although usually wet and cold with it!). I think we had the entire course to ourselves with our 4pm tee time!

Pretty wide fairways on most holes, which are needed as not much rough before bushes etc where you'll struggle to find your ball (think we lost about 7 balls between the 2 of us).

Some greens had been cored and were sandy, but still played nice.

Overall a great late afternoon round at Espiche and would definitely go back again.

Paul Harrison from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Aug 2017
Good course shame about the greens
Good course, well kept, great clubhouse, I enjoyed my round here. The thing that lets it down though is the type of grass they've used on the greens. I think it's too coarse which leads to the ball bobbling rather than rolling smoothly. I've attached a photo so you can see what I mean.
Rob from United Kingdom
on Thu, 10th Aug 2017
Espiche, Wed 9th Aug
Slow pace of greens on the day stop me from giving five stars. Clubhouse is awesome, staff good, very friendly.
Jonathan from United Kingdom
on Thu, 3rd Aug 2017
Classy but tight !
Lovely welcome at reception along with the staff dealing with buggies etc. I heard this course was difficult, its not particularly long but boy does it have some teeth! Tee's and fairways were in good condition but the greens were way too slow. Great to play a course where your not overlooked by villas and apartments, this place has a bit of class about it. Didnt stay for food or drinks after but regret it know as the club house was stunning! Would certainly return with an extra sleeve of balls.!
Harald from Portugal
on Fri, 28th Jul 2017
Nice place with an unique Clubhouse
Thomas from United Kingdom
on Wed, 26th Jul 2017
Espiche - summer deal
Quiet, picturesque course that uses the undulating landscape well. Blind tee shots on some holes - study the hole maps on these. Friendly staff. Relaxing clubhouse with airy feel and great views across the course. Value for money with a summer two players and buggy deal for 80 Euro.
Marianne from Portugal
on Sat, 15th Jul 2017
Epic Espiche
Beautiful course, good maintenance pays off. However rather long, the greens were like a blanket. No pitchmarks, not dressed with sand, we enjoyed our round to the max!!!👍
Smanatha from Portugal
on Tue, 11th Jul 2017
Sam Tobin
Beautiful club house. Really great staff that can't do enough to help, even when out on the course. The course has some stunning views and is really well maintained - it also has loads of staff working on it which was great to see. Beware though the course is tight so make sure you are hitting straight and if not make sure you take plenty of balls! Overall, well worth playing in my view.
Coert from Portugal
on Sun, 25th Jun 2017
Nice course, good restaurant andere friendly employees
Jackie from United Kingdom
on Fri, 16th Jun 2017
Great course and clubhouse
Interesting holes and a bit tight - need to be a straight hitter
Richard from United Kingdom
on Wed, 7th Jun 2017
Great but tough course .Very tight faiways with little room for error.

Greens were fantastic as were fairways (when i found them).

Plenty of balls recomended but would play again.

Rent from Netherlands
on Wed, 24th May 2017
simple course
Nice simple course without zny problems to play
Mark from Austria
on Wed, 10th May 2017
Espiche on the up
Good fun, but leave the driver in the bag on most holes or take plenty of balls!

Course condition greatly improved since last year. Clubhouse is the best in the Western Algarve

Charles from Portugal
on Mon, 8th May 2017
Very unfair course. No semi rough and no rough just brush scrub. Even good shots penalised by the hog back fairways. You loose a lot of balls and find a lot of balls! For such a tight course there are too many blind shots. Not a holiday friendly course.

A beautiful clubhouse though!

A from United Kingdom
on Thu, 4th May 2017
Espiche Golf Course
Lovely course, friendly and helpful staff, excellent greens. Unless you hit straight you will lose balls - this is not really a course for high handicappers.
Michael Wilson from Ireland
on Tue, 2nd May 2017
Espiche
Very tight and challenging course, fine for low-medium handicap but very unfair for higher handicaps as anything slightly off line and ball is lost due to a lot of scrub and bushes. Greens a little hairy, could do with cutting a bit tighter. Will do well to come away with 30-32 points on first visit.
Mogens from Denmark
on Fri, 28th Apr 2017
Exciting course
A good course and also with some difficulties.

A very nice clubhouse with good at good restaurant

Thomas from Spain
on Sat, 15th Apr 2017
Beautiful course, bad greens
Course was beatiful but the greens were quite bad. The greens were very slow and not true. If you're going to play there for the first time it would be a good idea to look at google earth and research where you want to land the ball off the tee. Range tokens were €5 each that should really be included in the green fee. The Marshall was good and the staff was friendly. Sad to say I would not play this course again.
Jacob from Portugal
on Sat, 1st Apr 2017
Greens were not good. Clubhouse is very nice. Good price .
Jan from Portugal
on Wed, 29th Mar 2017
Short but challenging course. Play it!
Short but challenging course, mainly when teeing of (white) back tees. Not so tight as I expected after reading some other reviews. But you have to hit straight drives or (if slicing ;-)) at least hit target zone. Mainly when driving from (white) back tees. Eventhough not located direct at cost Espiche has very great views as course is integrated in landscape with hills and valleys. Greens are not looking spectacularly but was in very good conditions. Not too fast and playable. Service at club (renting clubs, explanations, Pro Shop) was great, staff was very friendly. They opened driving range before regular hours for me to hit some balls before starting my early round. Club house looking very nice upon the hill. Due to lack of time I did not have a drink or lunch nor used changing rooms...but everything was looking fine. I absolutely recommend Espiche.
Gerald from Portugal
on Wed, 8th Mar 2017
Espiche in March.
The day we played the course was not over busy but as there was a ladies competition on in the morning which we were not aware of as a consequence as our start time was 1 o'clock we ended up joining those who had began on the 10th tee so it became slightly congested. The course was on a whole in good condition, although I thought the fairways were cut too short so the ball on some down slopes ran off into the scrub where they ideally would stay on the fairway. But, overall the course was an enjoyable experience and well worth the fee, l would recommend it as a place to play.
Lionel from Portugal
on Tue, 7th Mar 2017
Very friendly staff

Course in great condition.Very narrow fairways so bring plenty of ball.Very enjoyable day

James from United States
on Fri, 20th Jan 2017
Enjoyable!
Course was in good condition really like the layout. We had a slight frost delay but the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely play here again.
Stefan from United States
on Sat, 31st Dec 2016
Super interesting course. Keep driver at home! Narrow and uneven faiways with low chances to find your ball if you miss them. Requires passive approach. Many blind shots. A course you must play a second time. Greens in great conditions.
Manfred from Portugal
on Tue, 29th Nov 2016
Top Platz
Landschaftlich abwechslungsreich und wunderschön. Das Clubhaus ist für mich das beste was ich bisher erleben durfte. Wunderbare Materialien , absolut einfallsreiches Gebäude, nicht angberisch einfach nur absolut gut. In dieser Umgebung macht das Arbeiten dann wohl auch mehr Freude. Ich durfte nur freundliche Mitarbeiter erleben: Anmeldung, Restaurant und Starter. ( Hier sollten einige Clubs mal eine Fortbildung buchen)

Die Fairs und die Grüns sind gut. Bälle die zu sehr links oder rechts platziert werden sind bei einigen Löchern unwiederbringlich weg. Nachdem ich den Platz ein zweites Mal gespielt habe fand ich keine Bahn mehr unfair sondern nur noch reizvoll.

Amnon from Portugal
on Wed, 16th Nov 2016
beautiful
Glen from United Kingdom
on Wed, 9th Nov 2016
Very nice course visually. challenging even after you get used to the slow greens. Take out the driver hit it 300yards if you dare. I did and I managed an eagle on the 10th and the 17th in the same round.my son (aged 10) managed 2 birdies on the same holes. Take plenty of balls and get a buggy.The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Jacob from Portugal
on Fri, 28th Oct 2016
beautiful golf course
this course is to recommand. Well maintained and a challenge to play.

I'll play this course during my next visit to Lagos

Matthew from United Kingdom
on Fri, 21st Oct 2016
Stunning and challenging
Excellent staff, new buggies, beautifully kept course in the middle of nature.

This course is fairly remote, or at least it felt that way, which meant, at least for our early tee off time, that we had no groups in front or behind us, meaning we could relax and really enjoy the golf here.

Will be going back every time I visit the region.

Roland from Netherlands
on Mon, 10th Oct 2016
Beautiful golf course with many beautiful holes and views. Golf course plays not entirely fair because of the lack of rough. Greens are fine.
Ian from United Kingdom
on Thu, 6th Oct 2016
Course in great condition. Challenging but very fair holes with great variety and several stand-out holes. Highly recommended.
Steve from United Kingdom
on Tue, 4th Oct 2016
Espiche good value for money
Course in great condition greens a bit on the slow side on the back nine months but still achallenge would play again

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Espiche Golf page's or to connect with other Espiche Golf golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.