Loading
to

Espiche Golf Reviews

Marc from Belgium
on Fri, 25th Oct 2019
Fantastic clubhouse

Nice services

Beautiful vieuws

Pitty for the boars

Rosemary from United Kingdom
on Sun, 20th Oct 2019
Good value, excellent greens
paul from United Kingdom
on Sat, 12th Oct 2019
Espiche
Great course. Fair but unforgiving of wayward shots.
Tim from Portugal
on Tue, 8th Oct 2019
Staff are the most polite and accommodating I’ve found in Portugal. Course in good order. Greens superb, best I’ve been on this trip.
Ursula from Ireland
on Thu, 3rd Oct 2019
Lack of signage on course made it difficult to get from green to next tee. Pin positions were extreme with the majority on front of the green. Food in clubhouse was excellent.
Joerg from Germany
on Tue, 24th Sep 2019
interesting layout. the course is aligned in the landscape
Ryan from Malaysia
on Sat, 21st Sep 2019
My favourite golf course in the Algarve
After playing vale da pinta and don pedro Victoria, this is by far a better course than both of those. Extremely good value for money and excellent staff and service. Playing from the tips with the afternoon wind made it an extremely tough challenge. You better be able to hit a straight ball off the tee and know how to control your ball. The most scenic and amazing greens I have seen ...greens bigger than the width of the fairways. Definitely one to play on the Algarve swing and play off the tips for a good challenge. Greens very tricky
Jaeson from United Kingdom
on Sat, 21st Sep 2019
Amazing
An amazing golf course you need to keep it straight and when you get to the greens they are superb
Brendan from United Kingdom
on Wed, 18th Sep 2019
First class
The best value course on the Algarve. Immaculate greens, white sandy bunkers, well kept fairways. Lots of holes with character and well placed traps. The rough is, however, very punishing - anything off line is dead, going into scrubland full of thorn bushes. As such, accuracy is required off the tee. This will be the first course we book on our next trip to the Algarve.
MICHAEL HARRIS from United Kingdom
on Wed, 11th Sep 2019
excellent
COCCOLO SEBASTIEN from France
on Wed, 4th Sep 2019
Espiche
Superbe golf très bien entretenue.

Golf avec de belles perspectives et du relief.

Éviter juste les rought

Mark from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Aug 2019
Nice course, very tight fairways.
Paul from Portugal
on Tue, 6th Aug 2019
Fantastic course. Need to be accurate otherwise bring lots of golf balls. Enjoyed the round. Professional and courteous staff. Will definitely be back.
Lars from Portugal
on Sat, 6th Jul 2019
Played Espiche Golf for the first but not the last
Fantastic golf one of the best I have ever played, greens and fairways really top friendly and professional staff
Arend Koster from Netherlands
on Tue, 25th Jun 2019
Difficult course, you have to be straight. One of the most beautiful courses in the Algarve. Nice and helpfull staff at a course beautiful situaties in the Hills at Lagos. A must play in the Algarve
Clive Richards from United Kingdom
on Sun, 16th Jun 2019
Play within yourself and you will really enjoy the experience. Open your shoulders and spray the ball around and the other experience will be totally out of this world ,!!!!!!

The staff are exceptional and we will return

Larc from Germany
on Sun, 26th May 2019
Perfect atmosphere and location, conservative play
5 star for the clubhouse, the environment and the personal atmosphere. Course is very nice but really challenging due to the course design and therefore narrow spots one needs to hit. Playing the most conservative way is the answer, accepting bogeys upfront. Can be windly due to the elevated position.
mark westoby from United Kingdom
on Sun, 19th May 2019
On the drive up I didn’t know what to expect, however I was pleasantly surprised by the course, nice holes and layout, friendly staff.
Hannes Loekkoes from Austria
on Fri, 3rd May 2019
Ballfordernd
Defensive Spielweise von Vorteil, da Bälle leicht verloren gehen. Allerdings selten so viele fremde Bälle gefunden

;-)

walter from Austria
on Tue, 30th Apr 2019
A very nice Course Not rearly easy . I come again
Klaus-Dieter from Germany
on Fri, 26th Apr 2019
A challenge
challenging golf course on a plateau, unpredictable shoots downhill on sloping fairways. Not easy to play but great environment.
Kathleen from Switzerland
on Wed, 10th Apr 2019
So much potential .... but
On the positive side, very friendly reception and helpful starter. The course lies fully in nature with views unobstructed by real estate development. Unfortunately, while the fairways are easily playable and the greens in decent condition, the course can't really be considered in good condition. In addition, the pace of play was slow to say the least. The first 9 went okay, but holes 10 to 12 took almost one hour to play. That and the extremely strong winds led to to stop after 12 holes. A pity, as the course layout was interesting and the conditions playable.
Kevin from United Kingdom
on Sat, 30th Mar 2019
This is an extremely challenging course made worse by very strong winds. Take a good supply of balls. A buggy is recommended for mature golfers!
Dymphie from Netherlands
on Mon, 25th Feb 2019
You have to hit straight, otherwise your ball rolls to the left or right and you lost the ball in the bushes. It is not a fair course.

It looks beautyfull but it is terrible to play.

adam from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st Jan 2019
Nice course and staff. Tough holes. It enjoyable
Tapio from Portugal
on Wed, 19th Dec 2018
The course was in a good condition, but it is so difficukt to keep the ball in play. You just need to be a few meters off the fairway and you wount find the ball because of the very tigt and sticky bushes. I lost more balls this round than during the whole season. It was not fun!
Alfonso from Austria
on Sat, 8th Dec 2018
Nice course, but if you loose fairway, you loose tour ball
Bart from Netherlands
on Thu, 22nd Nov 2018
Toplocatie . Mooie verzorgde baan.
paul cromwell from United Kingdom
on Fri, 16th Nov 2018
great course in excellent condition, people have warned me off playing here but its a proper course where you have to think about your shots and position . A great challenging course with fantastic views
Marc
on Sun, 4th Nov 2018
Super golf

Our prefered in the algarve

Marc
on Sun, 28th Oct 2018
Super golf

,my prefere

Nigel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 22nd Oct 2018
Fairly short course but still a tough test of accuracy & in great condition
Gertjan Brands from Netherlands
on Wed, 17th Oct 2018
Zeer mooie baan lekker eten zeer snelle greens en fairways die zo goed zijn dat het wel bijna voorgreens zijn . Een buggy 25€ is wel aan te raden ,niet noodzakelijk maar wel heel erg fijn . Mooie vergezichten
Irene from Switzerland
on Sun, 14th Oct 2018
Great course, some interesting and demanding holes. I recommend this course a lot.
Alan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 5th Oct 2018
Espiche. A tough test
Not for the feint-hearted. Tight fairways, miss them and you may lose your ball due to their being very little run off areas.

The greens are unbelievably tough with severe slopes but great fun to play.

Keith from United Kingdom
on Tue, 25th Sep 2018
Great course enjoyed our round there !

Not for high handicap players

James
on Sun, 16th Sep 2018
Best course around, great staff, great condition a pleasure to play....a most enjoyable day
Shaun from Portugal
on Wed, 12th Sep 2018
Average
Very well kept course but not very interesting. Very challenging course especially in the wind.
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Sep 2018
Nice course but tough if you miss the fairway
Course is interesting and in great condition but it’s tough. Fairways are mostly narrow and if you hit it off the fairway you are in bushes and the ball is lost. Not a course for wayward drivers.
Schuler Johann + Heidi from Switzerland
on Mon, 10th Sep 2018
Very good and chellanging golf course

Excellent restaurant

Geoff from United Kingdom
on Thu, 6th Sep 2018
Developing rapidly into a fine course .
It's 2 years since I last played Espiche and in that time it has improved significantly. The course is immaculate with firm fairways and the best greens I have played on this year- they are true , even paced and consistent across the course.

Espiche is for the straight hitter and even then there are bad bounces into oblivion- never play blind over a hill, always have a spotter. With stunning views and an impressive Clubhouse it is well worth a visit.

Andreas from Germany
on Wed, 25th Jul 2018
Challenging course
Excellent Course,sometimes very narrow landing zones, rough is almost non-existent, heavy rough almost unplayable (thorny scrubs and waste area). Tough!
Miikka from Belgium
on Tue, 10th Jul 2018
Very interesting. Beautiful. Will play again.
Derek from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Jul 2018
Very tight
Wonderful views

Very tight with quick running fairways

martin Pollard from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
Excellent Espiche
Delightfully inland course. Very interesting and worth playing. Definitely one of our favourites on the Algarve. Will certainly revisit
Padraic from Ireland
on Mon, 4th Jun 2018
Excellent, improving every year. Good food in Bar
Vincent Darby from Ireland
on Fri, 11th May 2018
Unlikely to return
A mixed bag really. Beautiful clubhouse and facilities and some of the staff were polite and helpful. Sadly, others weren’t . Sat at a table on the terrace at 5.25pm no staff came out from the bar, so I went inside at 5.30 and it was as much as they could do to end their conversation as I waited patiently to ask for a drink at the bar. I ordered 2 drinks and asked if there were any menus available and was told quite curtly that the kitchen closed at 5.30. That’s fine, but there’s a right and a wrong way to deal with guests and, this was the only time in Portugal that we we were not made very welcome. The course itself has some good holes but does need watering. Greens were nicely paced and consistent. Plenty of blind shots and, given the gradients, you hit a shot to one side of the fairway only to find it some time later almost in the bushes on the other side - really slows down the game. A few marker posts beside the undergrowth would help to give you some idea where the ball went since one bush looks very much like another from 200 or so yards! But it’s the staff that really need to improve - many don’t seem happy at their work - probably sick of loud British golfing parties which myself and my wife were not part of. Sadly, in the hospitality industry, you have to be nice to the customers or they complain in reviews and won’t come back. Could and should be an outstanding venue but work to be done on the course and with some staff
Dermot
on Thu, 10th May 2018
Atrocious
Very poor and unforgiving No suitable for handicap golfers

Fairways very poor

Don from Portugal
on Fri, 4th May 2018
Great facility. Fairways need a little water.
Denise Swindells from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd May 2018
Denise Swindells
Course average very tight disapointed when you take a good shot and you lose your ball would not go back
Gavin from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th Apr 2018
Great service and great find
A tight little number but good fun non-the-less, just bring lots of balls to get you around. Rained in the morning, course closed but they sorted us out with a rearranged tee time, no questions asked.
Petra from Germany
on Sun, 22nd Apr 2018
wonderful course - nice views and good landscape
very nice course, unfortunately the weather was not as expected, but we enjoyed it - will definitely come back to play again with better weather
Trevor from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th Apr 2018
Tight but enjoyable. Clubhouse great and staff top class.
Paul Bushell from United Kingdom
on Thu, 8th Mar 2018
What a cracking golf course. Would like to go back sometime now we know the lie of the land. In good condition,some very interesting holes and tested all aspects of the game. Great clubhouse and friendly staff. Would highly recommend.
William from United Kingdom
on Sun, 4th Feb 2018
Difficult course to play quite hilly with narrow fairways not a course for the mid to high handicappers. Make sure you've got plenty of balls.
Gerald E from Portugal
on Fri, 2nd Feb 2018
short but entertaining
Espiche is a short but challenging course. At this time of year some holes are unfair because it is dry and there is a lot of run out. A good shot shot can end up being unplayable. Knowledge of course idiosincracies after playing it a couple of times can make a big difference. Ball placement, not distance is the key.
Tim from United Kingdom
on Thu, 1st Feb 2018
A nice way to start February
Played here on a windy day which made the course even more challenging! Greens are like lightening so be aware. Lots of hidden surprises given the gorse runs along most fairways.

Worth a return visit.

Wolfgang from Germany
on Sun, 21st Jan 2018
Unser Geheimfavorit
Schöner Platz mit hervorragend gepflegten Fairway und Grüns

Kommen gerne wieder und werden das nächste Mal sicher bei algarvegolf.net buchen!

Mirko from Italy
on Fri, 19th Jan 2018
Good course but too few grass
The course is beautiful, the staff very kind. The only thing is there is not much grass, the fairways are quite dry, and also the greens look a bit like the fairways, in some holes one can not easily spot the difference between the two. Lots of up-and-downs but in general an enjoyable course.
Chris from Portugal
on Mon, 15th Jan 2018
Very Enjoyable
As a mid handicapper, i found the course very enjoyable. But my advise is use your shots and settle for Bogeys. Drivers from the tee and you are asking for trouble, i used a hybrid 3 iron and was in play on all the holes, where my playing partners were well, lost balls in the scrubland. You got to be stright. Also fast greens.
Alan Horne from United Kingdom
on Mon, 8th Jan 2018
Enjoy the views
Good views, well kept, narrow fairways so be prepared to lose balls. Great food at club house.
Lars from Portugal
on Sat, 30th Dec 2017
Narrow and challenging
Narrow and challenging course in good winter condition. Nice clubhouse with helpful and friendly staff.
Ross from Portugal
on Sun, 17th Dec 2017
Espiche not for faint hearted
This is a very difficult golf course. Even if you can hit the often tight fairway, there is a very good chance your ball will roll 30-50 yards left or right with no rough to stop the ball disappearing into the impenetrable bush that lines every hole. One foot off, you might as well be 30 yards off. Add wind into the equation and just stay in the beautiful clubhouse and enjoy yourself instead.

Having started with that, the course is almost hypnotic in its beauty and toughness. Makes you want to keep coming back just to try and beat it. In addition to its beauty the course is in excellent shape, all the staff were friendly and helpful and during our rounds, pace of play was excellent.

So if you have lots of balls, figuratively and literally, you should give it a whirl. Plus December and January, Espiche was offering two persons with a buggy for €65!

Ross Canada

Brigitte from Netherlands
on Sun, 26th Nov 2017
Een dagje Espiche golf
Een hele mooie golfbaan en zeker geen gemakkelijke, het personeel is zeer vriendelijk en denkt mee in diverse situaties

Kosten voor de 18 holes twee personen en een buggy € 80

Kenneth from United States
on Thu, 23rd Nov 2017
Planning is beneficial
Nice course where planning of your shoot is beneficial.

Nice restaurant with good service also reception staff is very friendly.

Will play it again

Alan from Portugal
on Tue, 7th Nov 2017
Nice but tough
Very tight course. Take plenty of balls. If you drift off the fairway there is a good chance you won’t find your ball. Greens were in a fair condition and true. I hit a rescue off the tee more times than my driver.

I would play again but my wife it too difficult.

Peter from United Kingdom
on Sun, 5th Nov 2017
Tough course holes poorly cut.
Hildegard from Germany
on Sun, 29th Oct 2017
Espiche is a very good and well-kept course
Karen from Germany
on Sat, 28th Oct 2017
Gerne wieder!
Uns ( HCP -4/-15) hat der Platz sehr gut gefallen, er ist hügelig aber gut zu Laufen. Bälle kann man schon verlieren da die Bahnen oft nach rechts oder links hängen.

Die Jungs an der Rezeption und der Marshall waren super nett und hilfsbereit. Das Clubhaus ist schon beeindruckend und man hat einen herrlichen Blick über den Platz.

Peter from United Kingdom
on Sun, 22nd Oct 2017
Too tight.
Lovely position great price but the rough is just impossible. Slightly off the fairway and the ball is lost.
Moon from Netherlands
on Wed, 18th Oct 2017
Beautiful view. For me to much blindspot to the hole.
Eric Tocabens from France
on Wed, 18th Oct 2017
Beau golf vallonné.
Beau golf, beau greens. Vallonné et tres agreable. Bon rapport qualité prix
Lars from Portugal
on Mon, 16th Oct 2017
Narrow and challenging
A very narrow and challenging course. When you are out you are most of the time completely out in the bush. Fun to play. Very good condition.
Tony from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Oct 2017
Keep this a secret
Stunning!

The layout of the course.

The clubhouse nearly always in view.

What a hidden jewel.

Staff always courteous.

Nigel from Portugal
on Thu, 12th Oct 2017
Espiche review
A demanding 18 holes set in stunnning Portuguese countryside. The course was in superb condition when we played and although busy we were round in 4 hours.

The Club House is excellent with beautiful views over the course.

Food is very good and the staff friendly and efficient.

I would recommend a visit.

Raymond Charles from Portugal
on Thu, 12th Oct 2017
Espiche Golf
Very nice course with excellent greens. Not overbusy. Unique clubhouse with spectacular surroundings with friendly staff. 10 out of 10.
David from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Oct 2017
Sublime
Beautiful course, very tight and quite demanding. fantastic customer service and the best tuna baguette i have ever had
Graham Barron from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Oct 2017
Espiche an experience not to miss
Great surroundings club house facilities exceptional. To play a real experience, personally as a high handicap it is very hard. Unfortunately they're are no run off areas and balls landing on the fairways can run and run out. But having said that it is worth playing and making your own mind on whether to run. Staff brilliant and helpful first thing starter said to us was how many balls do you have?
Jamie from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Oct 2017
Best greens great course
Great course I will most definitely return on my next visit to Portugal.

The greens are amazing best I have ever seen. Tough on some holes if you don't hit the fairway as lots of bushes you can't play out of but if you can hit a straight iron that is the best way.

Great price great people great course you won't be disappointed this is a must play if you go to Portugal to play golf.. thanks Espiche golf see you again soon.

Mats from Sweden
on Wed, 27th Sep 2017
Mats
Hard and fantastic,club house marvelous
Martha from Netherlands
on Tue, 26th Sep 2017
Very difficult course. You have to play on the fairway otherwise you will not find your ball back
simon from United Kingdom
on Sun, 24th Sep 2017
Lovely golf club.
Wonderful reception from all staff. We met roll up Roy,who was great and gave us some good advice that enabled us to enjoy our round.Plot your way round this beautifully presented course,or it will bite ya.We loved it,thanks to all at Espiche.
Keith Clissold from United Kingdom
on Sun, 24th Sep 2017
Fantastic but challenging course

Staff could not be more helpful

David
on Fri, 22nd Sep 2017
Very windy when we played, but the course was in reasonable condition, tough if you miss the fairway!
Gwyneth Holt from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Sep 2017
Bring your A game and keep up the pace
This is a challenging course - especially if windy - high handicappers and those lacking accuracy will lose many balls! Stunning course is great condition with each hole feeling quite separate from the others due to being guarded by quite vicious plants. Lack of a Marshall to speed up players meant an uncomfortably slow five and a half hour round, which spoiled our experience. Fabulous clubhouse with really good proper restaurant serving lovely food
Gwyneth Holt from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Sep 2017
Bring your A game and keep up the pace
This is a challenging course - especially if windy - high handicappers and those lacking accuracy will lose many balls! Stunning course is great condition with each hole feeling quite separate from the others due to being guarded by quite vicious plants. Lack of a Marshall to speed up players meant an uncomfortably slow five and a half hour round, which spoiled our experience. Fabulous clubhouse with really good proper restaurant serving lovely food
James
on Sat, 16th Sep 2017
Miller/Logan annual golf outing
Always the best course of the annual tour

as they say in Glasgow 'Pure Dead Brilliant'

Staff excellent, available snacks OK

David Moore from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Sep 2017
The course setting is great - no traffic noise.

With a fairly strong wind blowing our group of mid range handicappers found it quite difficult to score well. However all of us enjoyed the challenge and the bar after. Clubhouse looks great.

Geoff from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Sep 2017
Tough, tight but rather nice.
This course is very tight. It is loveley but miss a fairway and you may as well deem the ball lost. Would really benefit from more lateral hazard red posts to prevent wasting time trudging into the bramble to try and find a ball that probably is unplayable. Greens were amongst the best I've ever seen but it was difficult to get the ball to sit down.
Philip Cotton from Portugal
on Fri, 8th Sep 2017
Excellent golf course, well manicured and no pitch marks on any green. However, this is a golf course for an experienced golfer.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Espiche Golf page's or to connect with other Espiche Golf golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.