Loading
to

Vila Sol Reviews

Josephine from Portugal
on Thu, 28th Jun 2018
First time playing at Vila Sol.
It wasn't a particularly challenging course as long as you keep to the fairways. Cow grass rough and loads of trees so stay clear if you can. We started on hole 19 as 1 -9 was closed for maintenance. Chockers when we went back to hole 10 for our cross over. Some fairways weren't in the best condition. Overall, did not enjoy as much as other Pestana courses due to slow play in front and tailgating golfers behind.
Lin from Portugal
on Sun, 17th Jun 2018
Golf in the sun
Great round of golf on this course. Was in excellent condition would definitely play here again
Boccaccio from France
on Wed, 13th Jun 2018
Very nice golf course, quiet, well equiped
Paul from Portugal
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
Nice course
Nice, crisp course, with some challenging and some not so challenging holes.
Lance
on Sun, 10th Jun 2018
Vila Sol Review
Played 19-27 then 1 - 9 Vila Sol

Friendly pro shop, starter introduced himself showed us to the tee.

Course condition - Green were good running smooth, sand in bunkers were consistent fairways a little patchy in places. Tee boxes and buggy paths looking tired in need of attention.

Overall - course layout great

Ronald Duffy from United Kingdom
on Thu, 24th May 2018
Long course
Good long course with some good challenges.
Mark Sheppey from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th May 2018
great course, first time i have played it but real enjoyed the course and the way it is looked after
Darren Corbett from United Kingdom
on Fri, 27th Oct 2017
Good not great
Good set up but didn't have the same feel as other courses in the area, not in such good condition either. It was really busy too. I would choose others around before returning.
Paul Griffiths from United Kingdom
on Thu, 19th Oct 2017
Terrible organisation
Course was ok but so bably organised.

If we had known there would be no buggies available then we would not have booked to play here. 4 guys in our group over 65 yrs of age.

5 1/2 hours to play and then charge you 23 Euro for a electric push cart!!!

Utter disgrace and certainly one place we won't be returning.

Nick from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Oct 2017
Nick P
Good course but completely disorganised no proper organised starter took 5.5 hrs to play 18 holes. Then got to the 16th and a 3 ball had cut in (is this what you expect for 80 euros a round? Maybe that’s ok for a run down municipal but not what you’d expect for a top course on the Algarve?) in summary course ok golf management leaves a lot to be desired.
Andrew from United Kingdom
on Sun, 1st Oct 2017
Love it, but course can have a sting in the tail
A lovely place to play golf, fairways can be a bit soft in places, and the course is very tight in places with very small margins for error. A little unfair sometimes, and a bad shot is always punished. Would never turn up the opportunity to play here. Allow plenty of time for a drink after as it probably has the best club house in the area.
David
on Fri, 22nd Sep 2017
Overcrowded, very pricey and so slow which was a shame as the golf course itself was well presented and a real challenge
Alan from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Sep 2017
Vila Sol
Condition bit patchy especially on 3rd nine holes. No golf carts for drinks. Course very busy.
NIGEL from United Kingdom
on Fri, 25th Aug 2017
Enjoyed
Course in good condition. Played here some years ago and has improved. Greens a little slow but understand must be protected in the heat. Good test of golf, I'll be back!!

Nigel Jones Blackwood

Olivier from Portugal
on Thu, 17th Aug 2017
Nice and good race, service not bad but not excellent
Michael from United Kingdom
on Sun, 13th Aug 2017
Lovely course and great golf experience.
Great course and a very enjoyable golf experience. Course playing well, considering it is open all year round.

The only negative was the cost of buggy hire, at 45€ each.

Michael Currie, member of Edenmore Golf and Country Club.

David from United Kingdom
on Mon, 31st Jul 2017
A must to play
Best course we played on our trip, great clubhouse with welcoming staff. Course condition fantastic, greens slow compared to West cost of Scotland which seems normal for the area. Great value
James from United Kingdom
on Fri, 28th Jul 2017
Excellent course
Penny from United Kingdom
on Tue, 25th Jul 2017
Vila Sol now one of
Fabulous course. Front 9 though was poor regarding the greens. Sooooo long. And the fairway grass was very long too. Back 9 fabulous. Lovely setting and a real treat to play the course. A definite favourite now
Roberto from Portugal
on Sat, 22nd Jul 2017
So and so
Not bad... the holes are funny and it's very good that there are 27 holes! But the grass was dry in a lot of parts and the green were very ruined.
Rodney Cooper from United Kingdom
on Wed, 28th Jun 2017
Majorca Friends - Vila sol June 2017
The course was well maintained and in good condition. It was interesting in that all holes were different. A challenge but nevertheless very enjoyable. The fairways were ample and the greens good to putt on if not a bit slow ( time of year ). The staff ( bar, reception and caddy master ) were brilliant - helpful, polite and pleasant.
Gary Armstrong from United Kingdom
on Sun, 25th Jun 2017
Vila Sol
Played 1-18. Testing opening holes. Very busy front 9 with most groups playing it as their back 9, then nobody on our back 9. Probably need to look at and monitor tee times and speed of play. Enjoyable visit
Adam from United Kingdom
on Tue, 20th Jun 2017
Good course but probably won't be returning
A challenging course and in good condition, however I have now played here twice and on both occasions very slow pace of play! Round took over 5 and a half hours.

Also one player in our group had to pay full price due to a late decision to play (the rest of the group got summer special deals) however we were disappointed that at least half of the tee boxes were forward off the red tees.

Thomas from United Kingdom
on Mon, 19th Jun 2017
Vila Sol June 2017
Holes as interesting as ever but the manicuring around the greens was very poor plus the greens were patchy and had disease on them. Overall enjoyed the course but it does need a lot of TLC
Rebecca from United Kingdom
on Sat, 10th Jun 2017
Excellent condition course
Excellent course in fantastic condition. The staff are very helpful and the club house is great overlooking the course
Jonny from United Kingdom
on Sun, 21st May 2017
Challenging course but untidy attention to detail.
Vila Sol is a good layout that is a challenge. However, the condition is below par. There are courses in better condition in the area for a similar price.
Gavin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 10th May 2017
Good to be back playing it again
Course could do with a bit of maintenance but good fun to play again. Some great holes and really enjoyable.
David from Switzerland
on Wed, 12th Apr 2017
3rd nine very tight
Avoid playing 19-27 if you can. They seem to be an afterthought and there was probably not quite enough room.
Bernard from France
on Sun, 2nd Apr 2017
fairways not very good
Thomas from Sweden
on Sun, 19th Mar 2017
Challange
Very technical lots of tree
Jonathan from United Kingdom
on Wed, 22nd Feb 2017
Vila sol Feb 2017
Greens were pretty good but fairways were shockingly bad. Very over priced for the condition of the course.
James from United Kingdom
on Sun, 30th Oct 2016
Vila Sol - too busy and very slow
Very busy and very slow - 3 groups waiting to play one of the par 3s. Electric trolley cost Eur23 to hire!
Pether
on Tue, 27th Sep 2016
Good shape and lay out
Good shape and nice lay out. We played prestige and challage course.
Nigel Featherstone from United Kingdom
on Mon, 1st Aug 2016
Vila Sol, 9 holes closed!
Great Course, a very traditional Portuguese course with fairways lined by Umbrella Pine Trees. We could only play the front nine of the Championship course and the 'Primo' 9 because the back nine of the Championship course was closed for maintenance, which really just looked like a rest as there was no visible maintenance taking place! This was disappointing and we had no prior notice of this being the case, despite the front 9 having been closed for at least 2 weeks before we got there, so not great from Algarve.net. the Primo 9 is a good and enjoyable walk but not as challenging as the Champ course.
Lloyd Young from United Kingdom
on Fri, 24th Jun 2016
I've played this course many times and it was a treat on my birthday. Ticks all the boxes for me, challenging, pretty & fair.👍
Remi
on Tue, 21st Jun 2016
Nice course
Marion Bridgen from United Kingdom
on Tue, 7th Jun 2016
Greens were poor
Greens were poor, slow and bumpy, the course overall was reasonable. If it were in really good condition it would be fantastic as it would be a great test of golf.
Derek from United Kingdom
on Mon, 30th May 2016
Very good.
Course and greens in very good condition, weather of late has obviously benefitted the course.
Howard from United Kingdom
on Sun, 1st May 2016
Golf break
Wonderful course. Well organised, good communications. Nice lunch, attentive staff.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Vila Sol page's or to connect with other Vila Sol golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.