Loading
to

Salgados Reviews

Derek from Ireland
on Mon, 18th Jun 2018
Lots and lots of water so being wayward not an option on a lot of holes. Liked the course though but staff could break out a smile once in a while
David from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Jun 2018
How many balls did I lose in the water
Excellent challenge beat me again
martin Pollard from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
Course lived up to our expectations. Some tight tee off positions and water on 17 holes. Front nine more difficult than back nine in our opinion. Hole 2 is a real tester par 5 with some tight fairways. You really have to be pretty straight and accurate. Very enjoyable experience. Ladies have a 1000m shorter course than men off the yellow tees. Needless to say the wife won our friendly match
David Colwell from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
Excellent thank you
Aidan from Ireland
on Mon, 11th Jun 2018
Nice course 😎
Nice course , in good condition. Plays easy off yellows , worth playing off whites for the extra challenge. A bit of a pain that the starter starts people off the 10th tee aswell as the first. Leads to congestion on the 10th which can disrupt your round.
Richard from United Kingdom
on Sun, 10th Jun 2018
Beautiful course, lots of water. Fairways quite wide and forgiving when there isn't a water obstacle

Staff throughout the course are incredibly rude. Only the barman was polite.

Julian from United Kingdom
on Fri, 8th Jun 2018
We had a thoroughly enjoyable round
We had a thoroughly enjoyable round and not too busy. Greens were in good order. Friendly staff, good all round experience.
James from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Jun 2018
Mr springer
Quite a tight course with lots of water. Nice and challenging!
matthew from United Kingdom
on Fri, 1st Jun 2018
Nice course shame about the staff and pace of play
Very nice course but very slow. Was regularly being pestered and threatened by a member of the course staff/starter who had the worst attitude I have ever encountered on a golf course. This despite our group being held up on every shot. 5 hour round versus a sub 4 hour 18 holes the next day on another course proves that it wasn't us being slow.
Brian from United Kingdom
on Fri, 1st Jun 2018
Very slow round.
Nice course lots of water, but far to many people playing. Took hours to get round.
Sean
on Thu, 31st May 2018
very good course
Mollie from South Africa
on Thu, 31st May 2018
Really enjoyed the course. Challenging with all the water hazards. The greens were great.
Barry from United Kingdom
on Wed, 30th May 2018
Decent but not the best
Decent but too flat for me. Very busy and it always felt a bit rushed. Looked even busier at lunchtime.
Alberto from Italy
on Mon, 28th May 2018
Salgado rider
Nice course, fun for a medium-high score player. A lot of water f, required precisone from the tee shot, but then and (for me) third shots without too much trouble. Green small, but easy and unprotected: guaranteed fun (HCP 21)
matthew from United Kingdom
on Thu, 24th May 2018
Good course, lovely greens but far too slow
First time playing in Portugal and this was the first course I played. I have nothing to compare it to but the course was tough with high winds and lots of water. A good challenge for any golfer. The course wasn’t overly long and you could get away with hitting long irons on most holes. Only downside was the pace of play. Far too slow.
David from United Kingdom
on Tue, 22nd May 2018
Worth a go
Good course, excellent greens. Hired clubs are in poor condition. Some of the staff are very miserable.
Michael from Portugal
on Mon, 21st May 2018
To much unexpected side waters. Strong wind and inexperienced players cause long playing times. Grens are excellent.
Don from Portugal
on Wed, 9th May 2018
Fun to play!
Really enjoy playing this course!
Michael from Ireland
on Fri, 4th May 2018
Nice course, greens are well maintained, pleanty of water around not for everyone, it can be slow as some golfers are very very bad
Lutz from Germany
on Wed, 2nd May 2018
war o.K.
Erwin from Germany
on Sat, 28th Apr 2018
Commurcial corse
Gavin from United Kingdom
on Tue, 24th Apr 2018
Home Course
Always love going back, class it as my home course in the Algarve and never have any complaints. Greens were far better this year, looks as though the course has benefitted from some much needed rain. Will be back in October.
Gauthier from France
on Sun, 22nd Apr 2018
Nice course
Darragh from Ireland
on Thu, 19th Apr 2018
Great course, Lovely weather but extremely slow play. Also I would advise bringing your own clubs as the rental clubs are terrible. Other than the slow play and poor clubs it was a magnificent course to play and I really enjoyed it.
filippo from United Kingdom
on Fri, 13th Apr 2018
Played before a few years ago but has matured really well some cracking holes with tricky water features which make you think before you tee off

another lovely course

Peter from Germany
on Thu, 12th Apr 2018
Golf course very nice, in great condition, eventhough it rained a lot .

Pitty though that golfers were allowed to start at the 10th hole which delayed our round substantial.

Paul Bushell from United Kingdom
on Thu, 8th Mar 2018
Great course with excellent greens. Played in a challenging breeze made the course very interesting. Obviously a popular course as it was very busy. Staff very helpful and welcoming.
John from Portugal
on Mon, 26th Feb 2018
Salgados Disappointment
Greens are great but course in general is tired looking. Not worth 70 euros to play
Tero from Finland
on Fri, 23rd Feb 2018
HyvÀ kenttÀ kun lyönti kunnossa
Hieno kenttÀ - hyvÀssÀ kunnossa. Keltaisilta pÀrjÀÀ vesivÀylillÀ pÀÀasiassa raudoillakin, muutamalla pidemmÀllÀ vÀylÀllÀ tilaa on kohtuullisen hyvin. GriineillÀ joko piilokallistuksia tai sitten en osannut lukea niitÀ ;o). TÀÀllÀkÀÀn ei kannata vuokrata mailoja klubilta vaan muualta (hyviÀ vuokrafirmoja useita).
Uwe Karges from Germany
on Thu, 15th Feb 2018
A nice day of golf.
The place was in a very good condition. The greens were very fast. We had no waiting. The service was good.
Peter from Germany
on Mon, 5th Feb 2018
Demanding but fair
Challenging course layout in close vicinity to a bird sanctuary. Good shape despite some construcion work ongoing. Marshal service might be improved toachieve decent speed of game. (more than 5 hours is too slow)
Geoffrey from United Kingdom
on Tue, 23rd Jan 2018
Flat,llinksy,lots of water,need to be straight. Good greens, good course.
Wolfgang from Germany
on Sun, 21st Jan 2018
Auch ohne Buggy spielbar
Schöner, komplett ebener Platz.

Kommen gerne wieder und werden das nÀchste Mal sicher bei algarvegolf.net buchen!

Mirko from Italy
on Fri, 19th Jan 2018
Nice and easy course
The course is very beautiful, though all flat with generous fairways and landing zones around the greens, very beautiful to walk, well maintained and very enjoyable. Maybe a bit too easy for more experienced players (not my case). 6 euros for a hand trolley the only drawback.
stephen baines from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Dec 2017
Golf hols
Brilliant 3 days lots of water lost a few balls .staff very helpful and food in club house was excellent
stephen baines from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Dec 2017
Challenging course
Very good course will definatly be coming back . 3 days was sufficient to get used to course lots of water did lose a few balls
HERMANN from France
on Thu, 23rd Nov 2017
superbe golf ,greens de trÚs bonne qualité
Mark from United Kingdom
on Thu, 9th Nov 2017
Played yesterday ,great weather great golf until we realised after 2 holes that all the four balls ahead of us had 2 lady's in them ,,15 min wait at every tee box & finished on the 16 th cause we run out of day light ,,waisted trip ,,,
Retailleau from Portugal
on Thu, 9th Nov 2017
We don't need buggy on this course!

At first time we ask only 2 greenfees for 140 euros and at least your order was 160 with the buggy!

Henrik from Sweden
on Mon, 6th Nov 2017
Water everywhere..
Nice course with water on all holes except for the 17th. Very flat.
Miikka from Belgium
on Thu, 2nd Nov 2017
Completely flat. Not exciting.
Jamie from United Kingdom
on Sun, 29th Oct 2017
Great cpurse
Great course excellent condition
Nicolas from Portugal
on Sun, 29th Oct 2017
Very interesting course
Very nice course with interesting design

Quite Large fairway, green very well maintain

Staff very friendly

I enjoy the time spent on the course

Dominique from Portugal
on Mon, 23rd Oct 2017
Salgados
Very nice golf course, well maintained, not too tricky just a little with water in some places. We did not like the fact that we had to wait a long time at each hole starting at hole nr 10.
Moon from Netherlands
on Wed, 18th Oct 2017
Services not well. The fairway to much sand.
Tony from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Oct 2017
Flat plain and water
An easier test of golf.
Mark from United States
on Thu, 12th Oct 2017
Fine Course
Challenging course. Lots of water. Very busy, but moved pretty well with some slight delays.. 4 1/2 hour round. No buggys available. Course and greens in good shape. Flat course, so walking OK.
J from United Kingdom
on Wed, 11th Oct 2017
Ok course but very low play t this time of year and buggies 45 euro
Roland from Austria
on Sun, 8th Oct 2017
Great day
Nice course. Fairways and greens almost perfect.We had a great day with friendly flightpartners. I cannot confirm unfriendly staff as mentioned in other reviews.
dick durrant from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Oct 2017
Really enjoyed it
Played today with my missus. Got paired up with French couple

Very efficient friendly welcome. Unlike Palmares yesterday. Started a few mins late but got round in 4hrs 35

Course was busy but kept moving

In lovely condition. Really enjoyed it and would play again

Paul from United Kingdom
on Fri, 6th Oct 2017
Fun day
A bit of fun but a once only.
Liam from United Kingdom
on Wed, 4th Oct 2017
OK, but better options elsewhere.
The course was an enjoyable one and has some interesting holes. There are some minor course maintenance issues, but nothing too bad. The staff weren't the friendliest (very unusual for Portugal) and service was slow. The course had a lot of groups of half drunk hackers, which is the main reason it only gets 3/5. Like playing through the bars of Albufeira.
Erik de Vries from Germany
on Fri, 29th Sep 2017
Beautiful, well kept course and friendly staff! everything is pretty flat so walking is an option.
Mats from Sweden
on Wed, 27th Sep 2017
Mats
Nice course , a lot of water but often not really in play
Nigel Fallon from United Kingdom
on Sun, 24th Sep 2017
Excellent value as always. Most enjoyable round with very friendly and helpful staff.
Darren from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Sep 2017
rude and arrogant woman on reception
the woman on reception was one of the most arrogant and rude i have ever met. happy to take money days before and didnt want to help assist in any way. will not be returning.
Stephen from Portugal
on Wed, 20th Sep 2017
Very nice.
Lovely course with superb fairways and greens.I would definitely come back to this course.lots of greenkeepers on course ensuring great conditions.food and beverage in restaraunt nice and great prices
Kevin from United Kingdom
on Sat, 16th Sep 2017
An excellent, interesting and challenging course with lots of water so it makes the average golfer think about placement and risk/reward shots.

Would certainly recommend a visit for golfers in the area.

Joe from Poland
on Sat, 16th Sep 2017
Need a wetsuit
Very challenging course water everywhere need to be accurate but very enjoyable
David from United Kingdom
on Fri, 15th Sep 2017
Salgados
Great course for the price. Lots of water but hit it straight and you'll be fine 😀
Barry from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Sep 2017
Good value
Not bad for a resort course, plenty of water hazards and be warned, think about hitting a long iron on some of the par 4's, any wood can and probably will end up in trouble! Both rounds that I played here were quite long, 5 hours as the course is very busy, however, it is also very good value (as long as you don't hit too many proV1's in the water hazards!😀)
Pia from Finland
on Thu, 14th Sep 2017
Nice course. Back nine was more complicated. Too many people playing at the same time, very long waiting times at every tee.
jeff from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Sep 2017
Golf at salgodos
Really organised, well kept pleasure to play a top class course. Will certainly comeback to play golf in the algarve
Rory Whyte from Ireland
on Tue, 5th Sep 2017
Poor greens
Very very slow round. Greens horrendous and placed with a man who had over 150 strokes.
Lisa from United Kingdom
on Tue, 5th Sep 2017
Amazing golf course
Really enjoyed the golf course was amazing. The only thing I would moan about is we got a buggy for 2 people to be a little bit quicker and was paired up with 2 people walking the course and then was asked to be a little bit quicker but was having to wait for the 2 people walking. Would suggest that you don't put walkers and buggies together.
Peter from Portugal
on Thu, 31st Aug 2017
Salgados in the wind
Good but tough course( especially in the wind) Rental clubs were reasonable quality Nike SQ, but need re-gripping, especially the putters ! Will improve as it matures.
Gerard Attane from France
on Wed, 23rd Aug 2017
Une palmeraie
Golf tout plat avec 500 palmiers rĂ©partis sur le parsours. On se croirait Ă  Marrakech. Contrairement Ă  ce qui est dit, pas de links, la mer est Ă  200m et on ne la voit pas. Sans grand rĂ©el intĂ©rĂȘt, amusant et de bons greens.
Jacky from France
on Tue, 22nd Aug 2017
So many palm trees! So many lakes!

Great golf! Unique. You have to play there!

EDWARD from United Kingdom
on Wed, 16th Aug 2017
Great course, poor service
Course itself excellent - would be 5 stars comfortably. However quality of the rental clubs was pretty poor - one driver had no grip on it! Also customer service not what it should be; we appeared to be an inconvenience rather than a welcomed paying guest.
Michael from United Kingdom
on Mon, 14th Aug 2017
Salgados Easter Special round of golf.
Lovely course, in good condition, that offers a real challenge to golfers of any handicap. Hired clubs did make a difference in a stiff breeze, but still managed 35 pts. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would be more than happy to play it again in the future.
Michael from United Kingdom
on Mon, 14th Aug 2017
Salgados Golf Club.
Great course with plenty to offer in both challenge and enjoyment. Using hired clubs instead of my own made a difference with a score of 32 pts playing off 18 handicap. Michael Currie, member of Edenmore Golf and Country Club.
Graeme from United Kingdom
on Sun, 30th Jul 2017
Salgados July 2017
Played this course twice in mid July. Good test for the average golfer. Lots of water if you don't hit the ball straight. One really daunting par 5 on the front 9 with large lake to go over for 3rd shot. Greens were ok but had a few bare patches. Good deal for round,buggy and clubs and no restriction on when we could play. Only complaint about clubs were no stiff driver and putters not the best. Clubhouse nice and food and drinks good. Overall good value price wise compared to Villamoura courses.
James from Austria
on Sat, 22nd Jul 2017
Enjoyed this course, so went back again
NIce course, well kept, courteous staff nice bar and locker room. Some areas of greens suffering from the sun, but in generally good condition. Played the course twice on consecutive days.
Espen from Portugal
on Tue, 18th Jul 2017
Hit it straight!
Very dry and just sanded and dressed the greens. But very fun! Beware of water hazards everywhere!
Ryan from Portugal
on Tue, 11th Jul 2017
Great Course
I've been to Albufeira twice in the last two years, I've played this course on both visits, great course and very reasonably priced.
Jean-François from Canada
on Mon, 10th Jul 2017
Nice game
Nice course. Water hazards can be a challenge if you don't aim correctly. Very windy also. Altogether a nice place to play. On a downside note, the rental club are a little bit runout.
Marko Hiltunen from Sweden
on Thu, 29th Jun 2017
The course was in good shape. Some par 4s were surprisingly short, just 8 iron and wedge to reach the green in 2. There is a lot of water but not always in play, especially if you leave the driver in the bag. I was surprised about how many impact marks there were on the greens, it seems that some players don’t know how to fix them. Besides these marks the greens were in nice shape.

The staff was kind and helpful. I rented clubs and they were not in the best shape, some irons were not cleaned after previous user. I play from the left-hand side and wanted a driver with stiff shaft but there was only regular flex, that was really bad and I recommend the club to upgrade the equipment. Therefore, I didn’t use the driver as much as I would have wanted. Overall a nice experience, I could see myself playing the course again in the future.

Rodney Cooper from United Kingdom
on Wed, 28th Jun 2017
Majorca Friends G.S. June 2017
What a lovely setting and a different golf course. In great condition and the greens great to putt on. A challenge but a pleasure to be there and such great value. All the staff were both polite and helpful. Despite the threat of all the water on the course the fairways were ample and not overly long. Well worth a visit
Gary Armstrong from United Kingdom
on Sun, 25th Jun 2017
Salgados
Love this course. Won't be for everybody as there is water on most holes which makes it vital to keep straight. Situated in a nature reserve and some very picturesque views especially played late afternoon/ early evening. Very good value
Ray from United Kingdom
on Fri, 23rd Jun 2017
A fine Father's Day gift whilst on holiday
Well worth a visit to play this course , it's not too long and the greens run true. I was panicking about losing a lot of balls as there is water near all but one hole however it's not that bad. We hired clubs and with a buggy paid €140 for 2 ... The clubs were pretty poor however at that price you could not complain.
John from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Jun 2017
Super Layout
Fine layout yellow tees

Greens great & fast

Score 79 with rentals not bad lots of water & photo opportunity s

Jung from France
on Tue, 20th Jun 2017
Wter on each hole , nice birds , a very nice trip
Declan from Ireland
on Wed, 14th Jun 2017
Salgados
Good course very fair. Staff unhelpful in golf shop.
Re from Portugal
on Sun, 11th Jun 2017
Pity
Very nice golf course but poorly maintained. The tee-times are not respected, so there are plugs everywhere.
Michael from United Kingdom
on Fri, 9th Jun 2017
Bring extra spare balls!
Great price for a well looked after course.

Fairways are mostly narrow and there is a lot of water about - still made for a good round and makes you think.

Jonathon from United Kingdom
on Wed, 7th Jun 2017
Great course
Tough challenge but in very good condition. Not for the beginner. Really good facilities for warm up and the 19th is of a high standard
Steven from United Kingdom
on Mon, 29th May 2017
What a lovely course lots of water but would hi recommended it fantastic
Lea from Finland
on Mon, 29th May 2017
Nice course near Albufeira
Very lovely course in good shape. Lot's of water. Very crowded, lot of wating your turn.
Catherine from United Kingdom
on Tue, 23rd May 2017
Nice course, slightly crammed in, but greens in excellent condition
David from Portugal
on Sun, 21st May 2017
Great golf course with plenty of water and hazards . Book a tee time earlier than later as it gets very busy.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Salgados page's or to connect with other Salgados golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.