Loading
to

Penina Championship Reviews

Christian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 14th Aug 2018
Great course design and conditions.
Beautiful old style course. Lovely design and conditions great. A little more pricy than others but a worthwhile visit.
richard from United States
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
Don't Waste Your Money
Where do I start?

I played Penina about 20 years ago and remember it being a great course. Not anymore.

The greens had been hollow tined and sanded, but the course didn't think this was important enough to provide a discount or even let us know in advance.

They put us out on the 10th unnecessarily. Courses are designed to be played 1 through 18.

We were a 4-ball and as part of the terms and conditions the course reserves the right to make your group, if smaller, up to a 4-ball. Why then did they put multiple 2-balls behind us (all residents), therby putting us under constant pressure? During the round we let 4 groups through but this never relieved the pressure and we had to stop doing this as there was a never-ending stream behind us champing at the bit. Ther is no way that they were allowing 8 minutes between tee times.

The course itself is looking rough around the edges and they are obviously not carrying out enough mainenance. This was in evidence when one of my group thinned a ball into the face of a bunker only for the bunker to gobble it up. The lip of the bunker had, what can only be described as the bristles of a baleen whale (look it up) hanging down from it. In 30 years of playing golf I have never seen this happen before on any course, anywhere. The only way to retrive the ball was to rake under the bristles with an upturned club until it fell out. Find that one in the rules!

Finally, the staff are completely apathetic and customer care is not high on their agenda.

Bjorn Egertz from Sweden
on Mon, 23rd Jul 2018
Old dull course
After 9 holes the course feels dull. Fairways not good with kind of rough gras.
Stephen from United Kingdom
on Thu, 19th Jul 2018
Great historic course - just a shame greens were on maintenance week.

also buggies were not included but we believed they were.

Miikka from Belgium
on Thu, 12th Jul 2018
Our first time on Penina Championship course. Greens were with a lot of sand and under aeration, thus putting was not that much fun. Course itself is technical with perfectly placed water hazards and numerous bunkers. Old eucalyptus trees give a nice smell to the air. Although flat and without fantastic manoramas, it is very interesting for golf itself!
Maurice Murphy from United Kingdom
on Wed, 20th Jun 2018
Played 10-27 course was in great condition
Josephine from Portugal
on Sun, 17th Jun 2018
1st time playing Penina Championship.
Pretty course and well landscaped. Mature course with trees that can provide shelter yet a pain if your balls land anywhere below the trees. Bad experience was we started at hole 10 as it was a busy day and after hole 18, we went to hole 1. When we got there, a lady came up and said to us “You play fast? Did you book?”. She was quite obnoxious and I said this was our 2nd 9. I also said if you play fast, you can go ahead as this is our first time playing here. She mumbled something and her husband said is better we proceed as they are walking and we have a buggy.
Phil from United Kingdom
on Tue, 12th Jun 2018
First golf holiday - 8 Lads
Great course to play on. Superb greens. Very pleasant staff, went above and beyond for us.
Ian
on Mon, 21st May 2018
Nice course worth a visit.
A good course some tight holes and water to negotiate but a fair test of Golf. Greens were very good. Staff could have been more welcoming and helpful but overall worth a visit.
Paul from Ireland
on Tue, 8th May 2018
Greens were reasonably good, fairways could be better , lot of grass,
Gerard from Europe
on Mon, 7th May 2018
Very good test of golf. Fabulous condition. Very enjoyable
Don from Portugal
on Wed, 2nd May 2018
Over charged for buggy
We enjoyed the course and it was in good shape. However, we were there on a twilight rate which was nice. We were charged 50 Euros for a buggy...this is outrageous! We are attracted to the course for a good green fee and then get jammed on the buggy cost. Very disappointed with that.
James from Canada
on Tue, 5th Dec 2017
Nice course but not well maintained.
John from Ireland
on Mon, 13th Nov 2017
Great challenge of golf
Brian from United Kingdom
on Wed, 8th Nov 2017
Dissappointingly average condition.
The course layout is good, but the course has had a lot of heavy traffic. Fairways were not in great condition, and the greens need a lot of attention. We were paired with a couple who played the course in March, they said the course was in excellent condition then.
Martin from United Kingdom
on Mon, 6th Nov 2017
Great course
Great course - varied, challenging holes and in fantastic condition. Looks like a lot of the issues previously mentioned have been resolved.
Hildegard from Germany
on Sun, 29th Oct 2017
For a Championship Course were the fairway and greens not good.

The green fee was too expensive for that.

Jamie from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Oct 2017
Great course. Greens need attention but overall it's a great place.
Sverker from Denmark
on Sat, 23rd Sep 2017
Not a good day
We were very disappointed. The standard of the course was low. Greens were good. It took us 2h40min to complete 7 holes. and over 5 hours to complete 18 holes. We waited at every hole and there were no personnel to speed up the game .
Debbie Mason from United Kingdom
on Wed, 26th Jul 2017
Loved the course. It was also very quiet which made it even better
Stan Mack from United Kingdom
on Sun, 21st May 2017
Needs a bit of work
A good course but seems to suffer on the fairways and water due to it being part of a hotel.

Not as good as in previous visists and it could do with a bit of TLC around the fairways as they seem to be suffering from overplay

Phil from United Kingdom
on Thu, 23rd Jun 2016
Looking a little neglected. Bunkers not raked and very compact. Needs some TLC to get it back to where it deserves to be
mark from United Kingdom
on Wed, 22nd Jun 2016
Very disappointed - course was tired -close on 5hours to complete - considering the green fee - poor value for money - will not be returning
Remi
on Tue, 21st Jun 2016
Nice course, morencrowded than the others.

challenging tee shots

Michael from United Kingdom
on Sun, 24th Apr 2016
Tired!
The worst course conditions we have played in Portugal. Scruffy presentation, bumpy greens, inconsistent fairways. Over-played and living off of past glories. In much need of TLC

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Penina Championship page's or to connect with other Penina Championship golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.