Loading
to

Palmares Reviews

Kenny from United Kingdom
on Mon, 23rd Apr 2018
Great course.Poor management.
All three 9 holes loops are great.However the golf was over shadowed by the total lack of organisation.We played 3 times in a week.Day 1 they had booked us for the Saturday instead of Monday.After checking e-mails they confirmed it was their mistake but as the course was fully booked we wouldn't be able to play!This was eventually resolved and we played 45 mins after booked time.3rd day took over 35mins to check in due to lack of staff in pro shop.It's a shame that i wouldn't return to play again due to the terrible off course management.
Esther from Portugal
on Tue, 17th Apr 2018
Toilets????
The birdie book (6€!,,) is not very helpful, lack of hints about distance. Should be more precise.

No proper toilets on the course.

Esther from Portugal
on Tue, 17th Apr 2018
5 hours , definitely too long
No proper toilets, description about distances in the birdie book should be better
Geoff from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Apr 2018
Hurry up
Great course , Veiws are fantastic!

Just a word of warning , at one stage a coarse ranger came up to us, to ask if we were enjoying? It turned out it was a excuse to ask us to speed up! Well excuse me , as we were. right behind the group in front ,and two holes in front of the group behind,I questioned the request? Only to be told that he was trying to speed everybody up! We paid good money to play and I don’t think it’s very fair to put unnecessary pressure on our game!

If they are over booking the coarse it’s not the customers fault!

Having said that I would definitely play again!

Peter from Germany
on Sun, 15th Apr 2018
Very good condition, always worth the money👍🏻
Geoff from United Kingdom
on Sun, 15th Apr 2018
Overloaded? I
We played the Alvor & Praia sections very good ! Just one note ; at one stage we were asked by a coarse ranger, if we were enjoying ourselves;

It turned out to be an excuse to ask us to speed up! Totally unnecessary as we were a clear two holes ahead of the group behind & right behind the group in front ? Very strange? I pointed this out to the ranger; this was met by a comment about speeding everybody up? If you are loading the coarse up to much ; please don’t put unnecessary pressure on your guests!

Paul Bushell from United Kingdom
on Thu, 8th Mar 2018
Had played the original 18 holes about 10 years ago but started on what must be a new 9. I was very impressed with the condition and layout. Unfortunately the thunder and lightning curtailed our round and we only played 6 holes.
Evan from United Kingdom
on Tue, 6th Feb 2018
Beautiful course with some of the best golf views in the Algarve. Reason its only got 4 stars is it can get very crowded.
Alan Horne from United Kingdom
on Wed, 31st Jan 2018
Enjoyable course and views
Well kept fairways and greens , great views, not too taxing, possibly the best in the region.
Terry
on Tue, 21st Nov 2017
Palmares
Looking a bit worn and greens had lots of marks on them
Nick from Portugal
on Wed, 8th Nov 2017
Enjoyable, challenging track
Great layout and condition fairly good given weather extremes. Would play again.

Played the back tees and was tight for first 6 holes then opened up to allow scoring.

Service levels could lift a bit but young starter (forget his name) was very helpful and enthusiastic.

Sjas
on Thu, 2nd Nov 2017
Excellent course poor clubhouse
Ian from United Kingdom
on Thu, 26th Oct 2017
Nearly a 5 star course
The first three and last two holes are dull and uninspiring but in between is an excellent course. Great ocean views when teeing off on a number of holes. The tees and greens were in 5 star condition. The fairways were a bit patchy which is to be expected on a links course. If it wasn't for the fairways and the start and finish I would have rated this course 5 star.
Geoff from United Kingdom
on Sat, 21st Oct 2017
Great Greens.
Excellent course with fantastic views.
Jim Parker from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th Oct 2017
Palmares is a gem
Great courses and great staff ( Debra and Diane) in the pro shop.

Unfortunately the day we went was very busy. We should have teed off at 14.10 and didn't get off until 14.40!! need marshalls on the course making sure speed of play is acceptable

Matthew from United Kingdom
on Tue, 10th Oct 2017
Lovely Course.
Lovely course. Played all 27 holes and the greens are consistent and smooth throughout. Would love to play again. Provides good value for twilight golf.
dick durrant from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Oct 2017
Very nice course. Staff could be better
Enjoyed the course. Very busy but in decent condition. Very chaotic on arrival. Was told no buggy had been allocated and that it was not guaranteed with twilight bookings. This was the first we'd heard of this. Booking agency need to let people know this. We got one in the end though. Attitude of clubhouse was surly to the point of being rude. Because of 3 tee start and crossovers we teed off 25 mins late which meant we only got 16 holes in and the buggy ran out of juice too. Really enjoyed the golf course and would play it again, but the off course stuff leaves a lot to be desired hence the 3 stars. But for golf alone it would be 4
Mike from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Oct 2017
Alvor & Lagos
We played Alvor & Lagos which in my opinion are the two best nines. Course was in good condition views spectacular as always.
Kevin from Ireland
on Thu, 28th Sep 2017
Course and Clubhouse hard to find
As a former golf club manager, I know what to look for at a golf course. Road signage for the course is limited. I got lost...even with GPS! There is also next to no signage in the car park. I walked towards on building, figured it wasn't the Clubhouse, so I walked to a distant building. That wasn't the Clubhouse and I was told the first building was the Clubhouse. All in all, I spent about 8 minutes looking for Reception.

The Reception and Golf Shop is tiny, but the staff were pleasant and helpful. We wanted lunch and eventually had to go and find a waiter and menus. The food was fine...standard golf club fare and our lunch came out quickly.

I thoroughly enjoyed the course with a number of scenic, elevated tees (be warned, you do need a buggy). The fairways were generous and in good condition. Greens were also well condition but a wee bit on the slow side - typical in a number of Algarve course. The shaping and contouring of the greens was very good with moderate undulations (unlike Epiche).

Overall, I would rate Palmares very highly. I am playing it again in a few days time. That says it all.

Sverker from Denmark
on Sat, 23rd Sep 2017
Very interesant golf course, with challenges. Good standard and good greens.
David Moore from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Sep 2017
A great course in excellent condition.

A tough but fair challenge for our group of mid range handicappers

Hans from Austria
on Sat, 9th Sep 2017
From the hills to the sea
Beautiful views, interesting shape
Barb from Canada
on Tue, 5th Sep 2017
Definitely not worth the money or time
The course is in just ok condition, and the clubhouse is absolutely awful - very old and run down. Some of the holes have scenic views of the ocean, but the bad condition of the course takes it all away.
Eamon from United Kingdom
on Wed, 19th Jul 2017
Palmares
Excellent courses. All Three. No stroke savers were available which for visiting good golfers is essential. Playing off white tees would also be a better option as otherwise it's a 4 iron off the tee for many holes.

Maybe it's a bit rough around the edges on approach to club house and clubhouse itself. Boavista has a better feel for club house facilities. Views from course and veranda at club house are amazing. A little more investment in this area and I would have given it 10/10.

Clifford
on Sun, 2nd Jul 2017
Really worth the journey
3 great nine hole courses a bit off the beaten track but well worth the journey. Very quiet millionaires golf fantastic value for money
J.P. from Netherlands
on Fri, 30th Jun 2017
Wunderfull linkscourse
Joachim Robitzki from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Jun 2017
We had a lovely time at Palmares, however I played Palmares several times before the last 9 holes were added, and must say, a very good golf course was ruined. Palmares is no longer an attraction.
Jackie from United Kingdom
on Fri, 16th Jun 2017
Fantastic views
Will be a great course when building works finished. Very slow round- 5 hours.
Sally Villette from United Kingdom
on Thu, 18th May 2017
Six lady golfers!
Friendly, welcoming staff greeted us and made sure we knew where to go. The course is great; interesting holes, well planned and very well maintained. Although busy, we were not held up. We would definitely play the course again on a return visit.
John from United Kingdom
on Tue, 16th May 2017
Palmares in May
Greens are a bit slower than in the past - seem to have a mix of grasses. They are true however. Also generally less tidy around the course.

We still had a great round of golf with stunning views.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Palmares page's or to connect with other Palmares golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.