Loading
to

Palmares Reviews

Terry
on Tue, 21st Nov 2017
Palmares
Looking a bit worn and greens had lots of marks on them
Nick from Portugal
on Wed, 8th Nov 2017
Enjoyable, challenging track
Great layout and condition fairly good given weather extremes. Would play again.

Played the back tees and was tight for first 6 holes then opened up to allow scoring.

Service levels could lift a bit but young starter (forget his name) was very helpful and enthusiastic.

Sjas
on Thu, 2nd Nov 2017
Excellent course poor clubhouse
Ian from United Kingdom
on Thu, 26th Oct 2017
Nearly a 5 star course
The first three and last two holes are dull and uninspiring but in between is an excellent course. Great ocean views when teeing off on a number of holes. The tees and greens were in 5 star condition. The fairways were a bit patchy which is to be expected on a links course. If it wasn't for the fairways and the start and finish I would have rated this course 5 star.
Geoff from United Kingdom
on Sat, 21st Oct 2017
Great Greens.
Excellent course with fantastic views.
Jim Parker from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th Oct 2017
Palmares is a gem
Great courses and great staff ( Debra and Diane) in the pro shop.

Unfortunately the day we went was very busy. We should have teed off at 14.10 and didn't get off until 14.40!! need marshalls on the course making sure speed of play is acceptable

Matthew from United Kingdom
on Tue, 10th Oct 2017
Lovely Course.
Lovely course. Played all 27 holes and the greens are consistent and smooth throughout. Would love to play again. Provides good value for twilight golf.
dick durrant from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Oct 2017
Very nice course. Staff could be better
Enjoyed the course. Very busy but in decent condition. Very chaotic on arrival. Was told no buggy had been allocated and that it was not guaranteed with twilight bookings. This was the first we'd heard of this. Booking agency need to let people know this. We got one in the end though. Attitude of clubhouse was surly to the point of being rude. Because of 3 tee start and crossovers we teed off 25 mins late which meant we only got 16 holes in and the buggy ran out of juice too. Really enjoyed the golf course and would play it again, but the off course stuff leaves a lot to be desired hence the 3 stars. But for golf alone it would be 4
Mike from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Oct 2017
Alvor & Lagos
We played Alvor & Lagos which in my opinion are the two best nines. Course was in good condition views spectacular as always.
Kevin from Ireland
on Thu, 28th Sep 2017
Course and Clubhouse hard to find
As a former golf club manager, I know what to look for at a golf course. Road signage for the course is limited. I got lost...even with GPS! There is also next to no signage in the car park. I walked towards on building, figured it wasn't the Clubhouse, so I walked to a distant building. That wasn't the Clubhouse and I was told the first building was the Clubhouse. All in all, I spent about 8 minutes looking for Reception.

The Reception and Golf Shop is tiny, but the staff were pleasant and helpful. We wanted lunch and eventually had to go and find a waiter and menus. The food was fine...standard golf club fare and our lunch came out quickly.

I thoroughly enjoyed the course with a number of scenic, elevated tees (be warned, you do need a buggy). The fairways were generous and in good condition. Greens were also well condition but a wee bit on the slow side - typical in a number of Algarve course. The shaping and contouring of the greens was very good with moderate undulations (unlike Epiche).

Overall, I would rate Palmares very highly. I am playing it again in a few days time. That says it all.

Sverker from Denmark
on Sat, 23rd Sep 2017
Very interesant golf course, with challenges. Good standard and good greens.
David Moore from United Kingdom
on Wed, 13th Sep 2017
A great course in excellent condition.

A tough but fair challenge for our group of mid range handicappers

Hans from Austria
on Sat, 9th Sep 2017
From the hills to the sea
Beautiful views, interesting shape
Barb from Canada
on Tue, 5th Sep 2017
Definitely not worth the money or time
The course is in just ok condition, and the clubhouse is absolutely awful - very old and run down. Some of the holes have scenic views of the ocean, but the bad condition of the course takes it all away.
Eamon from United Kingdom
on Wed, 19th Jul 2017
Palmares
Excellent courses. All Three. No stroke savers were available which for visiting good golfers is essential. Playing off white tees would also be a better option as otherwise it's a 4 iron off the tee for many holes.

Maybe it's a bit rough around the edges on approach to club house and clubhouse itself. Boavista has a better feel for club house facilities. Views from course and veranda at club house are amazing. A little more investment in this area and I would have given it 10/10.

Clifford
on Sun, 2nd Jul 2017
Really worth the journey
3 great nine hole courses a bit off the beaten track but well worth the journey. Very quiet millionaires golf fantastic value for money
J.P. from Netherlands
on Fri, 30th Jun 2017
Wunderfull linkscourse
Joachim Robitzki from United Kingdom
on Thu, 22nd Jun 2017
We had a lovely time at Palmares, however I played Palmares several times before the last 9 holes were added, and must say, a very good golf course was ruined. Palmares is no longer an attraction.
Jackie from United Kingdom
on Fri, 16th Jun 2017
Fantastic views
Will be a great course when building works finished. Very slow round- 5 hours.
Sally Villette from United Kingdom
on Thu, 18th May 2017
Six lady golfers!
Friendly, welcoming staff greeted us and made sure we knew where to go. The course is great; interesting holes, well planned and very well maintained. Although busy, we were not held up. We would definitely play the course again on a return visit.
John from United Kingdom
on Tue, 16th May 2017
Palmares in May
Greens are a bit slower than in the past - seem to have a mix of grasses. They are true however. Also generally less tidy around the course.

We still had a great round of golf with stunning views.

Pieter from Netherlands
on Sat, 13th May 2017
We played the Praia and Alvor course of Palmares.

I expected the Praia course to be a kind of links course, which I like very much. I played many links courses in Scotland. But for that the Praia course was too sloppy, I'm sorry to say.

The Alvor course on the other hand was very beautiful and we all liked that much more. So I can really recommend that. Pity not to have played the Lagos course, which might resemble the Alvor most likely.

Dave from United Kingdom
on Sun, 2nd Apr 2017
Course was stunning and in great condition. Views and set up fantastic. Just one major downside it took 4 hours 40 minutes for 14 holes before we walked off. It was a pity as last 4 holes looked very good
david from United Kingdom
on Tue, 21st Mar 2017
late review of the new layout
was a great fan of the old palmares layout, particularly the holes by the beach. the new layout there has lost much of its charm but has probably avoided some congestion sites. once we stop comparing it to fond memories it proves a spectacular and beautiful place to play not too long to walk but plenty of elevation to clime. we will be back
Edward from United Kingdom
on Tue, 28th Feb 2017
Great course in good condition clubhouse doesn't match very friendly and helpful

Could do with better signs on arrival to find club house and first tee!

Petra from Portugal
on Fri, 6th Jan 2017
nice view and difficult course
the course was very nice and havy.. the view is very well..
Rod from United Kingdom
on Mon, 19th Dec 2016
Fantastic golf course, very well kept, friendly staff , would definitely go back although a little expensive .
Danny Pitchley from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Nov 2016
Picturesque course
Good course in excellent condition. Challenging but fair. Some of the views and holes were spectacular to play.
Geoff
on Wed, 26th Oct 2016
Course being greedy, too many people
Beautiful trio of 9 holes, inland and beach, one of our favourites but they are killing it with overbooking, 300 on the course when we played, twice this has happened, love the course but they are being greedy and spoiling it.
Odd from Norway
on Fri, 21st Oct 2016
Challenging
Links course was difficult and not so funny, the Park lane was very nice.

Disappointed that the driving range was out of order?

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Palmares page's or to connect with other Palmares golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.