Loading
to

Alto Golf Reviews

Lee
on Sun, 8th Jul 2018
Alto golf course
Make sure you wear a collar!! But

What a little cracker of a course .

If you keep the ball in play from the tee you have a chance to hit all of the small two tiered greens in regulation ,but beware if you are on the wrong side of the hole 3 Putts are likely ,that’s a warning all of the greens are in fantastic nick but visitors really need to repair their Pitch marks thats just laziness.

All in all a fantastic course

Lee Meldrum 15 handicap

Caledonian golf club

Carnoustie

Josephine from Portugal
on Fri, 29th Jun 2018
First time playing Alto Golf & Country Club
Pretty well maintained fairways, not challenging but a relaxed round of golf. Weather was perfect the day we played with a breeze and sun behind the clouds.
Jacques from Portugal
on Thu, 17th May 2018
Not the best conditions that I seen.
Jussi from Portugal
on Sat, 12th May 2018
Certainly worth a round
Interesting course in good shape but on some holes you had better not to top your approach because the next tee is just behind the green. And not to mix it with the Alto Club on the GPS. 😉
alan from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th May 2018
not 4 the faint hearted..
we were both short on practice.had 40 mins on driving range before hand.both being 28 handicappers,course was enjoyable and testing.
Ron Pettifor from United Kingdom
on Sat, 28th Apr 2018
Greens ?
Course is good but some of the greens are ' very difficult ' and impossible to play for speed of them. The surface of the greens was like playing on ice floor. Unfair is a good way to talk about them.
Matti from Finland
on Wed, 18th Apr 2018
Lemon Classics 2018,
Fairways good , greens demanding, slow to play. Easy to play.

Score cards missin elaboration of the nature of the tee.

Andrew from United Kingdom
on Sat, 17th Mar 2018
Definitely worth playing
Not as good as Gramacho but still a good course. I didn't like the par 3 start but other than that some good holes. Greens are tricky but good condition following heavy rain. Fairways were lush but somewhat damaged by players not replacing divots after the rain.
Mair from Portugal
on Tue, 30th Jan 2018
Alto Pestana - missing hole!
Very slow play - made far worse by the terrible golfers in front who sometimes took 10 strokes to finish the hole. Surely such busy courses should have marshals to speed up play

Course was but not bad but what happened to the 'legendary 600 metre' hole which is still advertised on their website? Seems they have put in a series of short par 3s which are not great.

Not worth the green fee when compared to other courses in the area.

Edward from Portugal
on Fri, 8th Dec 2017
Famously long par 5 16th hole abolished
Very disappointing to find that the famously long par 5 16th hole has been abolished and replaced with a par 3 and an ordinary par 5.
HERMANN from France
on Thu, 23rd Nov 2017
golf plat ,green très rapides
ZIGGY PASTWA from Poland
on Tue, 14th Nov 2017
Very demanding due nerrow fairways. Otherwise fantastic. Long holes .Have to hit long and in direction.
Brian from United Kingdom
on Wed, 8th Nov 2017
Tight tree lined course
Tight challenging course, with fast greens. In good condition for the time of Year.
Tracey from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Oct 2017
Simmons Group
Very dissatisfied with our booking today the front 9 holes were having lots of repairs

Hole 12 was out of action altogether and not all of the group were aware of this so it totally messed up their round! The back 9 were in better condition than the front Overall very disappointing day and some very frustrated players!

Graham Barron from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Oct 2017
Clubhouse and facilities are excellent here Staff very good not crowded when we played ok for all handicaps. Lots of trees but fairways big so hit straight or play out of trees sideways. Course a bit overwatered whe we played which was a pity but overall all good
Ben from Netherlands
on Sun, 24th Sep 2017
Nice but some maintenance needed
Excellent greens. Fairway fair and sometimes muddy. It was a quiet Sunday and we could play without delays or benig rushed. Improve your maintenance.
terry from United Kingdom
on Sun, 17th Sep 2017
Very tight and testing front nine holes . More open and forgiving on back nine. We felt distances on card did not truly match the course and so we were under clubbing most of our round. Facilities were excellent though and staff very polite. Just not our favourite of three played.
Kevin from United Kingdom
on Sat, 16th Sep 2017
An interesting course and would include it if I were playing a number of local courses.

Good value for money.

Joe from Poland
on Sat, 16th Sep 2017
Great course
Great course would definately come back
Bill from Australia
on Fri, 15th Sep 2017
Slow round
Very tight course off back markers , greens ok . Very slow round 5 hrs .
William Nicholson from United Kingdom
on Sat, 9th Sep 2017
Mr William Nicholson
Played a round of golf on 4th August 2017 with my father in law and uncle, we loved it. All staff made you feel very welcome on arrival. Although it was a very tough and challenging course with narrow fairways and doglegs it was very enjoyable and fun. The course and scenery was stunning. Only downside was not being able to play the mammoth 16th as it was shortened due to maintenance. I would highly recommended this course and would definitely return.
Jacky from France
on Tue, 22nd Aug 2017
Nice but not great. The longest par 5 was cut by 200 meters, and some fairways were in regular conditions. Not as good as the other golfs we played. We will not come back.
Bjorg from Norway
on Mon, 14th Aug 2017
Excellent for beginners
Easy course, very suitable for us that are not among the best once🏌️‍♀️⛳️
Ulf from Sweden
on Sat, 8th Jul 2017
Nice
Chris from United Kingdom
on Fri, 23rd Jun 2017
Lovely course, very tidy, good greens & clubhouse.

Would play this one again

Jonathon from United Kingdom
on Wed, 7th Jun 2017
Bed time to visit.
Greens had been heavily sanded and hallow tyned, whilst the fairways had been sacrificed. I know this is essential work but for our visit it spoilt Was is potentially an OK course
KEVIN BARRY from Canada
on Thu, 18th May 2017
Alto Golf.
The fairways are very close together. In some places green, fairway, and teebox - all from different holes - come together. It was a bit dangerous in places.

The course - except for 17 - was in reasonable condition.

The cost of the buggy is really too high, especially for a threeball.

Gavin from United Kingdom
on Wed, 10th May 2017
Better than I remembered
Played here before a few years ago and had mixed memories. Overall generally feeling once I walked off the course was 'that was better than I remembered'.

Food took an age to arrive before we went out but we had plenty of time to kill so didn't feel rushed before we went onto the 1st tee.

debra from Portugal
on Mon, 10th Apr 2017
Alto Golf Course
The course was in good condition.

The Marshall was not so pleasant very rude and not helpful needs to attend a few lessons in manners servility and learn take lessons in smiling.

Trevor from United Kingdom
on Sat, 4th Feb 2017
A Day at Alto GC 30 Jan 2017
I played this course 10 years ago, it has been improved since and was in good condition this time. The course is well laid out and the greens are running true. The driving range is okay but tee areas badly divited, some mats would be useful as an alternative. Hired clubs were worn but acceptable.
James from United States
on Fri, 20th Jan 2017
Fast greens!
Greens were really fast and had a lot of slope. Green superintendent must have had a bad night because some pin placements were just not fair.
Jeff from United Kingdom
on Sat, 10th Dec 2016
Disappointing
Tough and challenging course

Difficult to read greens

Unfortunately course very wet today and in poor condition

Ian from United Kingdom
on Thu, 6th Oct 2016
Great value and less busy than other courses. A course that the 4 of us all agreed we would go back there on our next visit to the Algarve.
Oran from United States
on Thu, 22nd Sep 2016
Tricky narrow parkland course . A few very short par 3s and par 5s are only made difficult with challenging greens.
Geoff
on Mon, 12th Sep 2016
Nice course
Very nice course but a little testing for a high handicapper. On some holes you can be penalised for a decent drive yet get away with a wayward one. Wouls visit this course again.

Very disappointed with having a delayed tee off time due to there being no buggies available even though we had booked them some months earlier.

tony from United Kingdom
on Mon, 12th Sep 2016
Disappointing as the condition of the course was poor
chris from United Kingdom
on Sun, 31st Jul 2016
alto golf course
Brilliant challenging course worth the price

Nice staff

Nice food

john from Ireland
on Wed, 6th Jul 2016
Mr John Ryan
Lovely course fairway in great order and very generous to novice golfer. Really enjoyed my round of golf here and would recommend it to anybody.
David from United Kingdom
on Fri, 10th Jun 2016
Enjoyed playing the course the only complaint was the greens, they had started working on them and had put sand on them which made them look poor which was a pity as the variety of holes is very good.
QUENOUILLE from France
on Fri, 13th May 2016
Kittel course with Kittel interest. Avoir of you can.
Markku from Finland
on Sat, 7th May 2016
Beautilful, prices ok.
Nigel from Portugal
on Tue, 26th Apr 2016
Alto
This is a very friendly course to play with some interesting holes. The course has improved dramatically since Pestana took it over. It was full when we last played so took just over 4 hours but always very pleasant.
Plessers from Belgium
on Mon, 14th Mar 2016
deze baan ga je niemand aanbevelen
korte en smalle baan met onmogelijke greens. Deze baan kan je eens spelen als je echt niks anders te doen hebt.
Andy from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd Mar 2016
A good starting course for a first round after a wet English winter.
Maret from United States
on Sun, 21st Feb 2016
Fairways and scenery lovely. Greens fast but unfair. Sloped too dramatically. Touch the ball on the green from above a back nine hole and you are likely to roll off the front. Chip it up and likely to roll back at you. Lovely people in the pro shop and out on the course. I had a wonderful time at Alto Golf. Enjoyed my men's Calloway rental clubs. The women's ProstaffWilsons were useless.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Alto Golf page's or to connect with other Alto Golf golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.