Loading
to

Vale do Lobo Ocean Reviews

Mark Sheppey from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th May 2018
brilliant as with every other time i have played it, stunning location and very good condition
Steve from Portugal
on Tue, 8th May 2018
Vale do Lobo (Ocean)
Very nice course, a tricky test especially on the blind shots first time round.

Considering the price I was a little disappointed that the range balls weren’t free like nearly all the other courses I have played and the fact that no one told me until I was at the range and didn’t have time to go all the way back to the shop. Would have thought the starter would have some tokens.

Peter from United Kingdom
on Tue, 8th May 2018
Best course we have ever played
Awesome course, simply beautiful - clubhouse and surroundings are top notch and very high end but still friendly and welcoming. Golf doesn't get any better than this. Suprisingly undulating and quite hard work with a trolley but well worth it.

Only gripe was we played twilight (good value and a better time of day to play) and the sprinklers came on when we are on 17th, and there were people behind us - why not have them come on after play has finished?

Gerard from Europe
on Mon, 7th May 2018
Fantastic course. Pristine condition. Very enjoyable
Lutz from Germany
on Wed, 2nd May 2018
sehr guter und auch hervorragend gepflegter Platz
Steven from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Apr 2018
Five Star Course
Lovely course but difficult. My dad and I enjoyed two rounds here and would recommend to all.
Gerard from Ireland
on Wed, 28th Mar 2018
Val De Lobo Ocean
Excellent course, would give it five stars if I was a better golfer, tough track but some great holes. Also wind was well up when we played.

Will return to play again next year

Klaus
on Mon, 26th Mar 2018
Wauww - nice clubhouse, great golfcourse and friendly staff. I just don't know why the buggy have to be €5 more expensive than at other courses
Jeff from Canada
on Thu, 15th Mar 2018
Vale do Lobo-Ocean
Nice layout-a bit wet since it had rained a lot recently there. Greens were in good shape. Some significant elevation changes made for interesting club selections at times.
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Sun, 4th Mar 2018
Very good holes by the sea but too many average parkland holes
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Sun, 4th Mar 2018
Very good holes by the sea but too many average parkland holes
James from Portugal
on Sat, 24th Feb 2018
Beautiful course and well maintained. Some very long challenging holes.
Daniel J. from Portugal
on Wed, 27th Dec 2017
Very nice, not too demanding course. The location is simply awesome. Great clubhouse with decent food. Friendly service at both the restaurant and front desk.
Thomas Nordlund from Portugal
on Sun, 3rd Dec 2017
I played in the morning , I liked the course. Maybe a little better service from the reception would be good.
richard brindley from United Kingdom
on Wed, 22nd Nov 2017
Played this course a number of times in the past and still a great course in good condition. Service in the bar area a tad slow but ok.
Terry
on Tue, 21st Nov 2017
One of the best courses on the Algarve. Quite tough but playable. Fantastic views.
Nicholas from Germany
on Mon, 23rd Oct 2017
Critical Comments re. Vale do Lobo Ocean Course
A first-rate course with some challenging and scenic holes patricularly among the last nine. Regrettably some of the first nine holes were not in the best shape and were overly damp in some cases. The general upkeep of the

fairways and greens does not measure up to the standards of the Quinto do Lago courses: South, North and Laranjal.

Robin from United Kingdom
on Fri, 29th Sep 2017
Ocean golf course Vale Do Lobo
5☆ quality all round
Bradley Allen from Portugal
on Wed, 27th Sep 2017
Course was great with amazing views! Good challenge for all golfers!!
Alan from Portugal
on Thu, 21st Sep 2017
Interesting experience
Greens on the course had been subject to maintenance spiking the day before so not a great putting experience. Otherwise course presented very welll. Would have been useful to have had hole information on the white tees e.g. Hole length , stroke index etc
Barry from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Sep 2017
Superb course
Superb course in excellent condition . No boring holes on this course. This is one of the best courses that I have had the pleasure of playing in Europe
Richard from United Kingdom
on Mon, 11th Sep 2017
A must if visiting the algarve
This was the first course we played on our trip but I regretted it as I wished I saved it for the end. Everything about the course is what I would expect from a top course in the algarve. I found the course very challenging but I just seen it as the more shots I took the more of the beautiful course I'd get to see.
Barb from Canada
on Tue, 5th Sep 2017
A must when in the Algarve
The course is in very good shape and has gorgeous, scenic views on most holes. The clubhouse is big, modern and clean - a real pleasure to golf at a 5 star course!
Jamie from United States
on Thu, 24th Aug 2017
Fabulous condition & amazing views . Thoroughly enjoyed it .
Jacky from France
on Tue, 22nd Aug 2017
Excellent!

Excellent fairways!

Excellent sceneries!

We 'll come back

Roberto from Portugal
on Mon, 17th Jul 2017
Number one!
Very wonderful course, one of the best ever seen!
Kieran from Portugal
on Sun, 2nd Jul 2017
Misleading name but fabulous course
Awesome - the only downside being that the majority of the course is not in view of the sea!
Stephen
on Sun, 2nd Jul 2017
Not great value for money
Not a fan unfortunately. The front 9 was a bit boring and although the back 9 was more interesting there are far more enjoyable courses to play in the Algarve especially for the money. Apart from the ladies on the golf reception the staff in the clubhouse were not welcoming or friendly in the slightest. You just feel you are another group on the treadmill of golfers that come through the resort.
Mike from United Kingdom
on Fri, 30th Jun 2017
Course was in good condition and the scenery on the back nine was stunning. Greens in great condition and with the sea breeze it is a good test for all levels. Would be very happy to play there again and again.....
George from Portugal
on Fri, 23rd Jun 2017
Disappointed
Had high hopes for playing the course. We hired clubs and was disappointed to find I had been given ladies clubs which does not say much about the quality control. (Managed to change them after 9 holes). Having played Quinta two days earlier this was second best by some distance.
Jung from France
on Tue, 20th Jun 2017
Fantastic course. nice hole's near he sea. I've played

Ocean and was really satisfied

Dave from United Kingdom
on Fri, 2nd Jun 2017
Afternoon out with the boys
Great venue ... lovely facilities... front nine of the ocean is a little open and as a low handicapper this is where you need to get off to a good start as the back nine will give you more of a challenge... all the greens where true and if you picked the right line you could be pretty confident... they where also very receptive so no worries about firing straight at the pin... in my opinion the back nine is more pictures but in all great little course.
Steven Brice from United Kingdom
on Thu, 18th May 2017
Excellent course. Greens excellent and bunkers good. Some fantastic views and some challenging holes. Would definitely play again
John from United Kingdom
on Thu, 4th May 2017
Vale do Lobo ocean course
Course in good condition. Reception eficient and a warm welcome from starters etc. Quite a hilly course especially towards the end of the round and longish walks from green to tees.Electric trolley or electric buggy recommended for older golfers. Bar area and restaurant good but service was slow.
Robert Moore from United Kingdom
on Sun, 30th Apr 2017
Great course, as good as I'd remembered.

Unfortunately, starters are as 'rigid' as ever. We had a 16.05 tee-off time, but even though the course was half-empty from 15.00 they wouldn't let us off any earlier which meant playing holes 17 & 18 pretty much in the dark, & then we hadn't time for a drink at the 19th!

adam from United States
on Fri, 21st Apr 2017
Absolutely amazing - from the clubhouse to the friendly stuff this course was on a different level to anything have played before. The course was in top class condition and the views throughout were amazing
Nick from United Kingdom
on Tue, 18th Apr 2017
Great course and was not too crowded given it was Easter week. Usually get put with another 2 ball when playing as a 2 but that was OK for us.
Dean from United Kingdom
on Fri, 14th Apr 2017
The tee boxes were not very woman friendly. Most only gave a 10 yard break.
Bernard from France
on Sun, 2nd Apr 2017
perfect.amazing views.
Mikhail from Sweden
on Fri, 3rd Mar 2017
Fantastic course but Very expensive buggy
Rob from Portugal
on Fri, 13th Jan 2017
Very nice staff. Very helpful. Great course
Stefan from United States
on Sat, 31st Dec 2016
Typical real estate course, could be located in the US. Design is secondary and course is squeezed in. Some nice holes close to the ocean with great views. A course you can miss.
Michael Allen from United States
on Thu, 24th Nov 2016
Lovely
I loved this track, especially the holes down by the beach. Superb conditioning. A challenging walk but worth every step.
Danny Pitchley from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Nov 2016
Good course
Well set out course but not in great condition. The views and holes playing towards the Sea were spectacular
Christian from Germany
on Sun, 23rd Oct 2016
Good: Not too many villas alongside the course; Great views

Room for improvement: a couple of fairways are of poor quality

Matthew from United Kingdom
on Fri, 21st Oct 2016
Complete Algarve golfing experience
Stunning ocean views, well kept grounds and a lovely bar.
Barbara OBrien from United Kingdom
on Wed, 19th Oct 2016
Excellent- better than the royal imho
Best course I've played this year. Great holes throughout especially those by the shore. 6th fairway had been heavily dressed, but were advised of this and got a 15euro reduction on buggy hire which was fair.
Ken Yagoda from United States
on Wed, 12th Oct 2016
Review of Vale do Lobo 10/13/16
It was the last course we played on our trip to Portugal. It was challenging but fair. Some very dramatic holes and stunning vistas.

Our foursome was composed of different styles and levels of experience and we ALL love the experience!

Pether
on Tue, 27th Sep 2016
Not in best shape
Not in best shape. I have played it when it was better. the greens were to soft and rough cut. they needed to be cut and rolled over to be more even .
John
on Mon, 26th Sep 2016
1st, 2nd, 4th & 5th aren't much (highly critical) to look at but after that this course comes into its own. Highly recommend playing.
Liam from United Kingdom
on Tue, 20th Sep 2016
Great course
Played a great course, lovely views and really enjoyable! Not a negative word to say about the course just a shame that the speed of play was slow
Eric from Italy
on Mon, 15th Aug 2016
A pleasure to play
It is a beautiful and challenging golf course with fantastic sea views in a wonderful context
Ian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 2nd Aug 2016
Nice course but extremely slow
Nice course, very tight though and pace of play felt painfully slow. Worth playing but be prepared for a 4.5 hours plus round.
Roger Springett from United Kingdom
on Sat, 30th Jul 2016
Great course. Good service. Club hire expensive and not great quality.
Remi
on Tue, 21st Jun 2016
Beautifull view of the ocean
Andrew from Portugal
on Thu, 16th Jun 2016
Ocean views
Superb course for Me (mid handicapper) with great views especially on the second 9. Slow play in front the only drawback so allow plenty of time.
Mark from Portugal
on Thu, 2nd Jun 2016
Beautiful course
Amazing course with some spectacular views and beautiful nature.

Only reason for a lack of 5 stars is for the slow play on the course, a lot of 4 balls with friends coming along to watch which slows up play. 18 holes took nearly 5 hours

GICQUEL Pierre from France
on Mon, 16th May 2016
No problem in spite of rain for the 3 last holes
Ann Eeckman from Portugal
on Sun, 15th May 2016
Ocean golf
The back nine is beautiful, the front nine rather disappointing.

Very crowdy course, to commercial for us, you have the impression to be running all the time. Ten buggies were waiting to start and they let people start to quickly.

Not our cup of tea.

We enjoyed the views from the back nine, that's it ,but we will not return to this course.

QUENOUILLE from France
on Fri, 13th May 2016
Nice homes on the océan sied but to Michel of a factor type golf complex. Toi mantes players, toi much pressure ton plat fast.
Celine
on Sat, 30th Apr 2016
1 des plus beau golf !
Barry from United Kingdom
on Fri, 15th Apr 2016
Some nice holes, although a couple of holes didn't live up to expectation. Preferred the Royal course which was a better challenge.
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 4th Apr 2016
Very enjoyable but very busy, however, this may have been due to the closure of the Royal course for maintenance
Nigel from United Kingdom
on Mon, 4th Apr 2016
Good course but very busy, however, this may have been due to the Royal course being closed for maintenance.
Chris from United Kingdom
on Sat, 26th Mar 2016
One to recommend
Wow turn each corner and there is something new to astound you a superb golf course and well worth that little bit extra. the marshals were on the ball and it is easily played walking in 4 hours 30 minutes

Not enough stars at the top for this course and its sister is even better.

Wendy from Netherlands
on Thu, 17th Mar 2016
A beauty I don't want to see again
Vale do Lobo is a big fancy operation. So there are good service people everywhere, stylish golfers galore, a huge shop, good restaurant, etc. A bit too fancy for my tastes but the course is green and inviting, the proximity to Faro airport great, the spiel appealing, the elegance a bit hypnotizing. Both times I've played here have gone from delightful to anguish - this course is too hard for me (although hcp 30 I usually find my way nicely on all courses but I expect this is one beauty I will not choose to return to. Probably. Hard to admit defeat....
Gordon from United Kingdom
on Tue, 15th Mar 2016
Fabulous Ocean
Magnificent- the course, the views, the condition. Some very long walks between green and tees. Hire a buggy!!!!!

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Vale do Lobo Ocean page's or to connect with other Vale do Lobo Ocean golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.