Loading
to

Santo Antonio Reviews

Geoff from United Kingdom
on Thu, 6th Sep 2018
Not for the faint hearted.
It must be more than 10 years since I last played the course and it hasn't changed for the better- it just has too many quirky holes because of the terrain. In good condition bar some wet spots, ( too much irrigation? ) it requires a buggy to be enjoyable but be careful there are some hair raising moments!
Ludmila from Czech Republic
on Thu, 2nd Aug 2018
Excellent value !
Our husbands played this course years ago and they love it there. Very good golf at an interesting course at the best price on the Algarve. Very nice layout, undulating, narrow - tight drives, blind holes and no 2 holes the same but very playable. The course was in great condition.
Josephine from Portugal
on Mon, 25th Jun 2018
First time playing Santa Antonio
Fantastic and challenging course!! Very undulating, narrow, blind holes, uphill and not for golfers looking for a leisure game. I personally love it even though I played poorly and my partner absolutely hated the course. 13th hole is stunning with fairways like a narrow valley and the pine trees backdrop framing the green looks picture perfect!!
Tony Clements from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Jun 2018
This was the first of three courses played on our recent visit and it was the cheapest to play. But I have to say it was the favorite of 4 of our group of 6.

Very interesting layout, tight drives, very undulating and no 2 holes the same. We played the course the day after their Club Championship and the course was in great condition. We would happily play here all week on future visits. A real hidden gem of a course.

Adrian from United Kingdom
on Sun, 3rd Jun 2018
A perfectly good starter course.

Better ones out there to experience.

Vincent Darby from Ireland
on Fri, 11th May 2018
Recommended- lovely course, excellent price
Excellent value overall. A warm welcome from staff. Tees and greens in good condition considering the wear and tear they get from holidaymakers. As others have said, scary buggy ride holes 1-6 adds to the fun, and when the wind blows it’s interesting! Undulating course but very playable, even for my wife who is a relative beginner (36 h’cap). The barman was lovely - so welcoming, and the food was excellent. A great days golf at a picturesque course at the best price on the Algarve.
Denise Swindells from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd May 2018
Denise Swindells
Excellent course the greens were amaizing

Staff very helpfull

Had a fabulous day

Thanks

Mike from United Kingdom
on Mon, 26th Mar 2018
We played in wet and windy conditions so was quite a challenge in particular the 9th hole. Greens were in great condition despite the weather.
Peter Therrien from Portugal
on Fri, 2nd Mar 2018
Interesting Layout, Fairly tough, So-so conditionn
Very interesting course, with a variety of holes. Cart a must even though I play a hilly course at home and always walk it. The cart paths for the first 5 holes are downright dangerous, so be very careful ( especially second tee, 5th and 6th). Greens in very good condition, but the fairways not great. As others have said, the course is a little tricky the first time around. Pretty good value for the price, but if you are expecting a well manicured resort course, this isn't it. It plays pretty tough, and you need to hit good shots.
Judith from Portugal
on Fri, 23rd Feb 2018
Amazingly picturesque course, very challenging for first time playing, maybe a second round with more course knowledge would make it kinder.
Tim from United Kingdom
on Mon, 19th Feb 2018
Golf in the Western Algarve
A great way to start a sunny Sunday in the Algarve. Nice course but challenging if you haven’t played it before as lots of little obstacles all the way around. A buggy is a must unless you fancy a full aerobic work out.

Friendly staff so all in all worth a return visit.

William from United Kingdom
on Sun, 4th Feb 2018
Not for me
Viewing the course looks amazing, however playing it is another matter, for me there was to many blind shots which slows down play and for that reason would not play again.
Mirko from Italy
on Fri, 19th Jan 2018
Up and down beautiful hills
Beautiful and well mainteined course, with some difficult and very long holes and lots of up-and-down in the front 9 holes. Quite challenging but all in all very playable and enjoyable. We had a problem with our car (due to our dumbness, we took the gear off inadvertently) and the staff quickly got the car (at the 8th hole) and brought us on the 10th hole. Recommendable.
Alan Horne from United Kingdom
on Thu, 4th Jan 2018
Enjoyable course
A challenging course but enjoyable. You need to be fit to walk and carry.
Jim from Portugal
on Fri, 24th Nov 2017
J & J golf Portugal
Wonderful course very picturesque with great views of the surrounding country side. Course has great elevation changes. Greens were the best we had in Portugal. Would definitely play it again.
ZIGGY PASTWA from Poland
on Tue, 14th Nov 2017
Absolutely fantastic hills where you do not see greens most of the time .

Hitting well you can achieve long distances .

Retailleau from Portugal
on Thu, 9th Nov 2017
Very beautiful course.
Peter from United Kingdom
on Sun, 5th Nov 2017
Mickey Mouse helter skeltor but good value for money.
Peter from United Kingdom
on Sun, 22nd Oct 2017
Back after many years.
Had not played here for many years but played twice this holiday and really enjoyed it. Got to play each time on our own which was great. It’s a quirky course and you have to plot your way round but great fun.
Torben from Portugal
on Mon, 16th Oct 2017
Up and down
Very hilly. Hardly ever a decent lie. Everything rolls right or left. In general bad condition
Jonathan from Portugal
on Mon, 16th Oct 2017
Superb course but VERY hilly
Superb course in fantastic condition.

Hiring of buggy is a little confusing.....I would recommend a trolley......very hilly but there are fairways you can't take the buggy down making it very awkward when you're down a valley....pick the wrong club then have to walk back up a steep incline to pick another club.....next time it'll be a power trolley.

Allan from United Kingdom
on Wed, 4th Oct 2017
Very picturesque but challenging course with a couple of blind holes. Was in excellent condition
Graham Barron from United Kingdom
on Tue, 3rd Oct 2017
Best of the year
Best course of the week for us. Beautiful area difficult but very fair. Clubhouse great Staff great. Will definitely be back next year .
Martha from Netherlands
on Tue, 26th Sep 2017
Very nice course
James
on Sat, 16th Sep 2017
Miller/Logan annual golf outing
Very good, course in great condition speed of play good no waiting time

Staff very good

Bar/restaurant very good

Matthew from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Sep 2017
Windy mid September.
Greens and fairways have improved considerably since early July.

Course in great condition. Staff were friendly. Food in restaurant OK.

Would return again.

Would have given 5 stars but most of the ball cleaners had no water in them!

Philip Cotton from Portugal
on Fri, 8th Sep 2017
A bit worn, greens certainly needed alot more attention. However, it's certainly a fun course to play what with its hills, slopes and undulations. Certainly would not play it without a buggy
Paul Harrison from United Kingdom
on Fri, 11th Aug 2017
Worth a visit
They've made very good use of the hilly terrain. Yes, it is resort golf but it's well kept, the greens were good and some of the holes were fun and some were spectacular. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Eamon from United Kingdom
on Wed, 19th Jul 2017
Santo Antonio FDF 4/10
Very picturesque course but not an enjoyable course for the first timer or faint hearted. A lot of blind holes where it. Was very difficult to decide what club to play and where. There were a few great holes but all in all our party of four decided it wasn't a course they would revisit. We also played in under four hours but we we're still ushered along by a Marshall and comments were made to us in the club house by a two ball who were behind us. We won't be back!
Nigel Kirkpatrick from United Kingdom
on Tue, 11th Jul 2017
Really enjoyable
Really enjoyable course especially the second time we played it. Good variety of holes , greens good and some good challenges thrown in for high or low handicappers
Coert from Portugal
on Sun, 25th Jun 2017
Nice course. Als lot of wind.
Alan Lee from United Kingdom
on Sun, 18th Jun 2017
Front nine is a bit of a jumble of fun and crazy holes; back nine was excellent. All holes had very good greens, and we enjoyed a nice lunch in the clubhouse afterwards. A lot of elevation changes on the course - recommend a buggie.
Rent from Netherlands
on Wed, 24th May 2017
To fast starting and not respecting the tee times
Very nice golf but only the do not respect the time between the teetime

Also special at hole 3 we have problems that the flight on hole 1 play the ball on hole 3 and not respect the rules and we must wait 4 times on poeple that came on our hole

After that they complane that they must wait to long because they must wait on our flight and we must play faster of the Marshall

after 5 holes we did not see them anymore and also we can play normal

For some of our players is was not nice

Michael from Ireland
on Mon, 8th May 2017
A cracker
An absolute joy to play. A fair course with stunning views together with a fantastic variety of holes
Charlotte from Portugal
on Mon, 13th Mar 2017
Beautiful course. Greens very good. Fairways as well. We really had a very nice afternoon. Service excellent. Charlotte
Mair Jones from Portugal
on Mon, 30th Jan 2017
First vist to Santo Antonio
Very pretty course with some interesting holes. Good test of golf but suitable for all handicaps. Good shots rewarded by birdie chances. Buggy recommended as long walks between holes. Lovely club house with great views and very welcoming staff.
Geertjan from Portugal
on Wed, 18th Jan 2017
Challenging!
Friendly reception, great views, well-kept course, greens in supercondition (mid-January). Sloping fairways that tend to be a bit unfair at times.
Danny Pitchley from United Kingdom
on Mon, 7th Nov 2016
Santo Antonio
Great course in great condition, especially for the time of year (November). Lovely way to finish our golf weekend.
Christophe from Portugal
on Sat, 15th Oct 2016
Partie du 15 octobre 2016.
Golf très correct rapport qualité prix (50€/18 trous via internet) pour la région. Très bon accueil. Bien entretenu. Environnement vallonné et assez technique, jeux souvent en devert mais jouable. Green très roulant mais bien arrosé donc bon pitching à la réception. Bon qualité des fairways et avant greens.
anthony aldred from United Kingdom
on Mon, 3rd Oct 2016
Santo Antonio GC
Clubhouse now looking old

Great pint of Somersby larger

Friendly staff

1st 9 holes mickey mouse

2nd 9holes better

Greens dry and patchy.

Ian from Denmark
on Tue, 27th Sep 2016
Some spectacular views, the greens were really fast. Very challenging course especially when the wind gets up. Some ridiculously long holes in particular the 9th but overall definitely worth playing.
Kris from United Kingdom
on Sat, 16th Jul 2016
Nice course
Very nice course, although some holes are unnecessarily long. Will certainly return though
Bjorn Egertz from Sweden
on Fri, 15th Jul 2016
Difficult if you have´nt played before.
Barry from United States
on Wed, 29th Jun 2016
Exciting, hilly course
We played five courses in the west Algarve recently and this was our favourite. I played it three years ago without a buggy and that is not a good idea. This course is very hilly with lots of raised tees. It's the usual Algarve excellent condition. Golf snobs dismiss it as 'mickey mouse' because of the extreme slopes but as mid handicappers we think it's very exciting with superb views and scenery. It's well worth the extra drive west.
Peter from Portugal
on Thu, 23rd Jun 2016
Easily and wrongly overlooked on the Algarve.
This course takes a little adjustment. Initial dread of long sloping fairways is overcome once you know your system around and the standard f green keeping is admirable . A challenging course needing good course management will see average golfers s ore well. Try being too adventurous and you'll pay a price. All in all, this was a good test of golf and worth a visit greens in excellent condition and a warm welcome from starter and all staff made in an enjoyable experience.
Peter from Portugal
on Tue, 21st Jun 2016
Initial trepidation turns into a good day of golf
Get over the initial shock of the undulating fairways. This is a good test of golf, long in places and needs a good approach to some tricky holes. We have played it three times and enjoy it more each time. Nice club house and a pleasant experience.
Stuart from Portugal
on Mon, 9th May 2016
Friendly club. Good course with some challenging holes
Andrew from Portugal
on Sun, 10th Apr 2016
Good starter course
Greens were well maintained, back 9 is more picturesque than the front 9.

Some challenging holes but a fun course for keen amateurs.

Dave from Portugal
on Fri, 4th Mar 2016
Hilly
We thought this was 'undulating' it's just plain hilly ! The course is nice enough there can be quite some distance between holes so we took a buggy rather than pull carts which we normally would.

The staff are lovely and the food and service a the club are excellent

Andy from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd Mar 2016
Great location, not the easiest of courses, several blind drives but well worth playing .Buggies essential.
John from United Kingdom
on Wed, 2nd Mar 2016
Played on the 1st March, found everyone friendly and helpful. Course was in a good condition and the greens where fast and true. The course is hilly and we thought would be a little difficult for the high handicapper. We would recommend a buggy.

Club house after was very good with a great view and good food.

Klaus from Germany
on Thu, 25th Feb 2016
Not for rainy days!
To strenuous for elder seniors, even with a Golfcart.

Dangerous when slippery on bad weather.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Santo Antonio page's or to connect with other Santo Antonio golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.