Loading
to

San Lorenzo Reviews

David from United Kingdom
on Sun, 3rd Dec 2017
Must Play
This is one of the best courses in the world. Fantastic condition and stunning layout. Expensive but a must play if you are in the Algarve.
Steve from United Kingdom
on Sat, 11th Nov 2017
Steve Dickinson
Great weather great condition
Phil from United Kingdom
on Mon, 2nd Oct 2017
Happy golfers
Great layout with some fantastic views.

This was our final round in our 4 day competition. The last 2 holes decided the outcome....risk and reward.

Shirley from United Kingdom
on Mon, 25th Sep 2017
My favourite course
My favourite course so far in Portugal never disappoints always challenges
Simona from Portugal
on Fri, 25th Aug 2017
All smoke....nothing roasted
All holes in bed conditions...bullshit greens. For all golf courses available saving golf packages, but not San Lorenzo. Vale do Lobo Ocean and Royal as well as all Pinheiros Altos are much better than this and cost less. Holes along ocean are not that great as those in Vale do Lobo, and too many people walking on the edge of the holes. This golf course is defintely worth less than 120 euro. They should pay us to play there
Martin from United Kingdom
on Sun, 20th Aug 2017
Great course although started from the 10th.
Marcel Brunner from Portugal
on Fri, 14th Jul 2017
fairway not in good condition, buggy old, no icebox, not water, restaurant with limited drinks, under staffed, no value for money
David from United Kingdom
on Wed, 12th Jul 2017
Good experience but......
Not in as good condition as expected. Some areas lacking water, others looking a bit scruffy, buggy paths bumpy and suffering from tree roots. Greens excellent but slow. Surprisingly quiet. However, as ever some great golf holes, wonderful views, and amazing bird life.
Simon from United Kingdom
on Fri, 7th Jul 2017
San Lorenzo Review
Challenging but fair course - it has an interesting layout of holes; with some beautiful holes next to the water on the front 9 (coastal aspect) and the closing holes on the back 9 (lake/lagoon aspect). Wind can be a factor. We found the course in good condition and the greens very true.

Expensive but a must play for the capable golfing visitor.

PAUL MCPHERSON from Australia
on Tue, 4th Jul 2017
Carts very expensive,

Beautiful views .

course well presented

RICHARD from United Kingdom
on Tue, 27th Jun 2017
Holiday high handicapper.
Course in excellent condition. Magnificent course up to expectations in terms of lay out and environment. A challenge for all handicaps. Expensive but justified by the experience.
David from United Kingdom
on Wed, 3rd May 2017
The epitome of millionaire golf.
Fantastically enjoyable course. A great mixture of challenging holes without being too unforgiving.
David from United Kingdom
on Thu, 20th Apr 2017
Reputation maintained
I was given trusted advice to play from experienced Algarve golfer. Recently played San Lorenzo on Easter Sunday early morning.

The drive to the course sets the scene of what this place is about; money, class and style.

Played course of white tee and I play off 4 handicap.

I really enjoyed the variety and style of each hole. Each hole different and require different strategy and shot type. A course you can play different strategy where I played aggressive, you could equally plot yourself around leaving longer second shots. Greens were very good and rolled well and receptive. Course was fair and errant shots were punished fairly.

Not 5 stars?

I have voted for 4 stars as I feel the price is high where reputation has maintained its stature. Signs of some disease damage and greens were not wiped of dew. Tee boxes were bit sloppy and grass not cut.

Definitely worth playing if happy to spend top money.

Graham Taylor from Portugal
on Thu, 9th Mar 2017
San Lorenzo
Attactive course, especially the front 9, with good fairways but unfortunately the greens were very slow. The 18th supposedly the signature hole was a bit of a funny hole, suppose the architect ran out of ideas ! Too expensive for the price (140€).
Francois from Portugal
on Thu, 9th Mar 2017
San Lorenzo
Fairways and course layout were good but greens were poor and slow.

Does not warrant the price requested.

Also the proshop lady assistant does not make customers welcome.

deborah from United Kingdom
on Mon, 27th Feb 2017
An enchanting golf course
A wonderful picturesque layout which provides a stern test of golf and every hole provides a different challenge. Loved it so much
Gary from United Kingdom
on Wed, 28th Dec 2016
Boxing Day golf
The greens were in excellent condition and the course was set up well considering the time of year. Unfortunately the welcome in the pro shop was very under par! As we were spending nearly 500 euros you would have expected a warmer welcome!
Peter from Portugal
on Fri, 9th Dec 2016
Lived up to its reputation.
The finishing holes on the back nine make a visit to this course worthwhile. Beautiful and tough. Great day out and worth the price.
Claudia from Germany
on Wed, 16th Nov 2016
perfect day!
some challenging holes along the water, but a very fair course.

welcoming staff, top condition of course

Peter from United States
on Mon, 17th Oct 2016
Favorite of the 4 that we played - super holes down by the bird preserve. Helps that we played with a regular, some holes definitely needed local knowledge. But spectacular course even if 18 felt a bit contrived - coming from a 5 handicap in case anyone cares. Club house and facilities on the rough side but you don't hit golf shots in the bar.
Ian from United Kingdom
on Tue, 2nd Aug 2016
Really good track, worth playing
Rated as a 4 simply because there were a few few holes where the fairways were pretty poor. A very good, picturesque golf course with very good greens. Would definitely play again, pace of play best of all four courses on this trip.
David Crews from United Kingdom
on Mon, 16th May 2016
San Lorenzo from TAGGS tour 2016
An outstanding golf course and in excellent condition when we played in May. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Length is a challenge for mid handicappers with some long and well constructed par fours and even par 5s tough to get home in regulation but it was windy ! On the expensive side as a visitor but worth the money for a great golfing experience.
Anthony Fletcher from United Kingdom
on Thu, 5th May 2016
Best course on the Algarve
We have been coming to the Algarve to play golf for about 12 years and not had the chance to play San Lorenzo until this visit.

What a fabulous course---very tough but fair..We look forward to playing the course again next year

Michael from United Kingdom
on Tue, 23rd Feb 2016
Great course anyone would love playing this one.
James from Germany
on Mon, 22nd Feb 2016
Poor Service
Have played San Lorenzo around 10 times as own a property near by and always make an effort to play when I am here, one of my favorite courses in the region with a few stunning holes out towards the sea.

My opinion sadly has fallen down from my most recent visit. The course was as always in fantastic condition and I bought 5 other players with me this time, due to the poor quality of the golf carts and even poorer quality of cart paths the strap holding my bag onto the buggy failed on the 10th resulting in my bag falling off the cart and snapping my driver in half.

I reported this to the club house after my round, the golf pro and colleauges all but laughed and called me a liar. I was informed the manager was not around and he would call me the day after. No surprise that there were no attempts to contact me.. Not something you would expect of a club at this price point.

Poor show from a regular customer, in addition to bringing a large group with me this time round.

AlgarveGolf.net
Sorry to hear about the poor service your received at San Lorenzo . We will call the director this morning and send you an email later today.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on San Lorenzo page's or to connect with other San Lorenzo golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.