Loading
to

San Lorenzo Reviews

David from United Kingdom

The epitome of millionaire golf.
Fantastically enjoyable course. A great mixture of challenging holes without being too unforgiving.
Wed, 3rd May 2017
David from United Kingdom

Reputation maintained
I was given trusted advice to play from experienced Algarve golfer. Recently played San Lorenzo on Easter Sunday early morning.

The drive to the course sets the scene of what this place is about; money, class and style.

Played course of white tee and I play off 4 handicap.

I really enjoyed the variety and style of each hole. Each hole different and require different strategy and shot type. A course you can play different strategy where I played aggressive, you could equally plot yourself around leaving longer second shots. Greens were very good and rolled well and receptive. Course was fair and errant shots were punished fairly.

Not 5 stars?

I have voted for 4 stars as I feel the price is high where reputation has maintained its stature. Signs of some disease damage and greens were not wiped of dew. Tee boxes were bit sloppy and grass not cut.

Definitely worth playing if happy to spend top money.
Thu, 20th Apr 2017

Graham Taylor from Portugal

San Lorenzo
Attactive course, especially the front 9, with good fairways but unfortunately the greens were very slow. The 18th supposedly the signature hole was a bit of a funny hole, suppose the architect ran out of ideas ! Too expensive for the price (140€).
Thu, 9th Mar 2017
Francois from Portugal

San Lorenzo
Fairways and course layout were good but greens were poor and slow.

Does not warrant the price requested.

Also the proshop lady assistant does not make customers welcome.
Thu, 9th Mar 2017

deborah from United Kingdom

An enchanting golf course
A wonderful picturesque layout which provides a stern test of golf and every hole provides a different challenge. Loved it so much
Mon, 27th Feb 2017
Gary from United Kingdom

Boxing Day golf
The greens were in excellent condition and the course was set up well considering the time of year. Unfortunately the welcome in the pro shop was very under par! As we were spending nearly 500 euros you would have expected a warmer welcome!
Wed, 28th Dec 2016
Peter from Portugal

Lived up to its reputation.
The finishing holes on the back nine make a visit to this course worthwhile. Beautiful and tough. Great day out and worth the price.
Fri, 9th Dec 2016
Claudia from Germany

perfect day!
some challenging holes along the water, but a very fair course.

welcoming staff, top condition of course
Wed, 16th Nov 2016

Peter from United States

Favorite of the 4 that we played - super holes down by the bird preserve. Helps that we played with a regular, some holes definitely needed local knowledge. But spectacular course even if 18 felt a bit contrived - coming from a 5 handicap in case anyone cares. Club house and facilities on the rough side but you don't hit golf shots in the bar.
Mon, 17th Oct 2016
Ian from United Kingdom

Really good track, worth playing
Rated as a 4 simply because there were a few few holes where the fairways were pretty poor. A very good, picturesque golf course with very good greens. Would definitely play again, pace of play best of all four courses on this trip.
Tue, 2nd Aug 2016
David Crews from United Kingdom

San Lorenzo from TAGGS tour 2016
An outstanding golf course and in excellent condition when we played in May. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Length is a challenge for mid handicappers with some long and well constructed par fours and even par 5s tough to get home in regulation but it was windy ! On the expensive side as a visitor but worth the money for a great golfing experience.
Mon, 16th May 2016
Anthony Fletcher from United Kingdom

Best course on the Algarve
We have been coming to the Algarve to play golf for about 12 years and not had the chance to play San Lorenzo until this visit.

What a fabulous course---very tough but fair..We look forward to playing the course again next year
Thu, 5th May 2016

Michael from United Kingdom

Great course anyone would love playing this one.
Tue, 23rd Feb 2016
James from Germany

Poor Service
Have played San Lorenzo around 10 times as own a property near by and always make an effort to play when I am here, one of my favorite courses in the region with a few stunning holes out towards the sea.

My opinion sadly has fallen down from my most recent visit. The course was as always in fantastic condition and I bought 5 other players with me this time, due to the poor quality of the golf carts and even poorer quality of cart paths the strap holding my bag onto the buggy failed on the 10th resulting in my bag falling off the cart and snapping my driver in half.

I reported this to the club house after my round, the golf pro and colleauges all but laughed and called me a liar. I was informed the manager was not around and he would call me the day after. No surprise that there were no attempts to contact me.. Not something you would expect of a club at this price point.

Poor show from a regular customer, in addition to bringing a large group with me this time round.
Mon, 22nd Feb 2016

AlgarveGolf.net
Sorry to hear about the poor service your received at San Lorenzo . We will call the director this morning and send you an email later today.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on San Lorenzo page's or to connect with other San Lorenzo golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.