Loading
to

Morgado Reviews

Kevin from United Kingdom

An interesting course to play and well worth a visit.

The greens had been treated and were a little rough in places but we had been warned about this in advance and were given a discount so no complaints.
Sat, 16th Sep 2017

James

Miller/Logan annual golf outing
Morgado was not in best condition but playable, in fairness we were advised in advance of temporary greens

An enjoyable game in good time

Club house excellent good choice of food served very quickly

Staff friendly & efficient
Sat, 16th Sep 2017

David from United Kingdom

Morgado greens shocking!
Extremely disappointed with conditions of greens. Lots of bare patches and covered in sand. Almost impossible to putt on. Staff disinterested in feedback. Appreciate your comments?
Sat, 2nd Sep 2017
Adam from United Kingdom

Reasonable course & value
Course in reasonable condition, clubs and buggy ok
Mon, 21st Aug 2017
Robert from United States

Enjoyable, but too dry (course and us!)
Lovely set out course, but areas in poor condition for having held the Open de Portugal recently.

The rough was like straw and other areas were burnt/not watered correctly too.

Also the drinks cart managed to avoid us the whole round, which was poor, as we were in desperate need of refreshments come the back 9.

Overall the course looked like it could be a great one if looked after like others in the Algarve are or out of Summer season when its naturally wetter.

Still enjoyed the game, but could have been outstanding with better watering.
Tue, 15th Aug 2017

Duncan from Portugal

Nice and open course, good for holiday golf
Would have awarded 7 from 10 but 3.5 not an option.. Open fairways and decent greens. Not the most interesting course and it was very busy when we played so felt a little rushed. Give it a go though...it's good value and ideal to make up one of your holiday rounds. Sister course Alamos is better though in my opinion.
Fri, 30th Jun 2017
Colin

Colin F
Enjoyed a pleasant mornings golf at Morgardo. Not too busy, course in good condition.
Sat, 24th Jun 2017
Barry from Portugal

Suitable for mid to high handicappers
This course isn't spectacular in its scenery or it's layout but it is a very good course for mid to high handicappers. Plenty of room and in good condition, I would have no problem playing it again.
Thu, 15th Jun 2017
Brian from United Kingdom

Enjoyable course to play
Myself & my fellow golfer are high handicap golfers (25) and found the course enjoyable to play. As suggested in other reviews the first 9 are fairly flat and benign. However, this prepares you for the second 9 which is more challenging but nonetheless just as enjoyable.
Tue, 13th Jun 2017
Brian from United Kingdom

Enjoyable course to play
Myself & my fellow golfer are high handicap golfers (25) and found the course enjoyable to play. As suggested in other reviews the first 9 are fairly flat and benign. However, this prepares you for the second 9 which is more challenging but nonetheless just as enjoyable.
Tue, 13th Jun 2017
Jamie from Canada

Nice golf course. We were out early and finished in just over 3 hours 40 minutes. Fun to play, wide open except for the many bunkers protecting the greens.
Fri, 9th Jun 2017
Paul from United Kingdom

Great Course. We highly recommend playing
We played this course today. Great Course, for all range's of handicaps. Course was in great condition & all staff were very accommodating. Will definitely be playing this course again.
Thu, 8th Jun 2017
Darren Ferguson from United States

Great Day Overall
Excellent course but slow play. Not enough refreshment buggys.
Mon, 5th Jun 2017
ian from United Kingdom

Golf trip
Played morgado a few times and would recommend it with its wide fairways and good greens the clubhouse is good with excellent food and drink
Sat, 29th Apr 2017
Dave from United Kingdom

Course was good but needs to mature a bit more and felt a little over busy.
Sun, 2nd Apr 2017
Steven Browning from United Kingdom

disappointing
if you like fairways that are almost baldy then this is for you,also paid for buggy only to be told stay off the fairways.until fairways are in better condition i would not want to play this course again
Thu, 9th Feb 2017
Steven from Portugal

No buggies on fairways
Having played both courses this week I was disappointed by the fact I paid for a buggy but was told to stay off the fairways on both occasions,buggies cost a fair bit of money so why does no one tell us we cannot use the buggy to reach our ball unless we keep it to the side of fairway next to cart path.No doubt the courses don't want us to know about this until we get there and most times you have paid in advance so no chance of a refund.Seems to me courses are more interested in getting money out of visitors whether we enjoyed the course or not is not important as get the money first.
Fri, 3rd Feb 2017
keith from United Kingdom

Great greens after several inches of rain
Enjoyed a relaxing game of golf at Morgado. Went out on my own and was let through when appropriate. After very heavy rain the day and night before the course was a little wet but the greens were in really good condition, ball ran true and were challenging. all staff were very hospitable and helpful, Food great too. The course manager came round twice to check I was happy, not being help up etc. would definitely recommend a visit
Sat, 28th Jan 2017
Petra from Portugal

a super course.. a bit of water but not to lot.. very friendly.. up and down.. not too much
Tue, 17th Jan 2017
John from Portugal

morgado
First time here. Not in great condition a bit tatty. Greens were OK. Some decent holes on the back nine. Looks like an area which had great promise at one time but is a bit forlorn and in need of investment.
Tue, 10th Jan 2017
Richard from Portugal

Highly recommended.
First time I've played this course and thoroughly enjoyed it. Course is in really good condition apart from a few soggy patches although there is a lot of preparation work taking place in readiness for the Portugal Open in May 2017. I've played the Alamos course here a few times and always found the staff to be friendly, helpful and welcoming.
Fri, 6th Jan 2017
David from Portugal

Mr
Enjoyed Morgado. First time for me, the greens were the best I have seen. Long open fairways, good to let go with the driver.
Thu, 5th Jan 2017
John from Portugal

Morgado - One to play
Lot of work being done to improve the quality of course. Much improved on last time I played there. Pity the 'gentleman' acting as caddy master when we picked up our buggy hasn't undergone a similar transformation. He was unpleasant and not customer focused at all 🙁
Thu, 5th Jan 2017
Odd from Norway

Boring and nice
The front 9 was very dull, long and 'dry'. The back 9 was quite another course.
Fri, 21st Oct 2016
Colin from United Kingdom

Good holiday golf course.
We bought a 2 round package from AG which provided 1 round on each of Morgado and Alamos Golf Courses; this provided good value holiday golf. Morgado is the longer of the 2 courses with mainly wide inviting fairways that allow you to 'open your shoulders'. The course is relatively flat on the front 9 with more undulation and challenging terrain on the back 9, but relatively easy if you choose to play without a buggy. The greens are larger and flatter than the sister course Alamos so 2 putts were certainly not guaranteed!
Fri, 21st Oct 2016
Douglas Russell from United Kingdom

Not a good experience
The course was in quite a poor condition, it had obviously been raining for a few days so fairways and rough were wet and heavy.

The greens had been tined and a covering of sand on all the greens made putting difficult.

When I booked the tee times well in advance, I had asked for an extra buggy as we wanted to go out in 2, three balls. Only to find on the day that the course had over booked the buggys so no chance of an extra one.

All in all not a happy chap, course in poor condition, no extra buggy and the course had so many people on it it took 2 hours to play the first nine and 3 hours to play the second nine.

As a group we have played the course on a number of occasions and always liked its layout and playability but not this year.

We won't be playing it next year
Tue, 18th Oct 2016

Ian from Denmark

Nice wide fairways but well bunkered to offer a good challenge. Friendly staff a and a nice clubhouse.
Tue, 27th Sep 2016
Phil Brook from United Kingdom

Parched...
Easy course to play, wide open fairways. The recent hot weather has parched the grass and the greens, bit like playing off weetabix, but enjoyable.
Mon, 19th Sep 2016

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Morgado page's or to connect with other Morgado golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.