Loading
to

Castro Marim Golf Reviews

Derek from United Kingdom
on Mon, 21st May 2018
Challenging holiday course
Played twilight from 1400 hours - good value. Course fairly empty only 'mad Englishman'! Did Grouse and Guadiana nines - need to drive ball well for some tight dog-legs. Holes 3 & 5, plus holes 3, 4 & 5 on respective nines very good. Greens rolled well, fairways decent. Clubhouse very pleasant, helpful caddie master, access to locker rooms, nearby driving range, and reasonable priced 19th hole
Alun John from United Kingdom
on Thu, 17th May 2018
BGT 2018
Bransgore Golf Tour had a very enjoyable afternoon playing all three of the nine hole courses (Grouse, Guardinia and Atlantic). The courses and greens are in excellent condition with lots of variation and challenges, and an abundance of great scenery and views. Hilly courses, so buggies recommended. Excellent restaurant, bar and clubhouse. Thank you to Rita and to all the fabulously friendly staff that ensured we had an amazing day. Alun BGT 2018.
Marion from United Kingdom
on Thu, 17th May 2018
Very good layout
We loved the golf course, interesting and challenging without being too difficult, worth the drive. We really enjoyed it.
Alastair from Scotland, UK
on Sun, 6th May 2018
Castro Marim Feedback
First time at Castro Marim but we'll be back. Great challenge in wild countryside and natural lakes. We played the Grouse and the Guadiana. Very slick and fairly flat greens on the former and more lush but sloped greens on the latter. Probably an underrated course but we would certainly recommend a game here .... also got a great deal to include buggies. Buggies recommended as a few steep climbs.
Frans from Portugal
on Thu, 26th Apr 2018
Excellent golfing day at Castro Marim
Excellent views, well maintained fairways & greens, many challenges. A buggy is “neccesary” if you want to finish with enough air 😉.

Nice staff, very helpfull.

What did we not like?

- to pay € 3 for 22 balls on the driving range

- rental clubs NOT in good condition

Derek from Ireland
on Fri, 13th Apr 2018
Castro Marim...fantastic variety, very fair and sp
Excellent front 9, very fair and great variety of shots, the back nine which I think was the original front 9 was good, it was tougher, but just looked a bit different from the opening 9, but having said that it was very enjoyable.

I loved the course, I loved the tee boxes, some were spectacular, overall I would love to play it again some day and comparing the prices of some other courses we played in Portugal and Spain which were more expensive and didn't come close to Castro Marin, the course was very good value.

Jack from Portugal
on Mon, 5th Mar 2018
We were not told that the flight was with 4 persons.
Alan from Portugal
on Wed, 6th Dec 2017
Some scabby greens and boar damage. Bunkers are hard and gritty. However every hole is unique and some are quite challenging.
Erik from Portugal
on Wed, 29th Nov 2017
2 nice rounds on a hilly course
Very nice hilly layout. Local knowledge is an advantage. The Grouse 9 are quite entertaining but testing!

Take a lot of spare balls!

gerhard from Portugal
on Mon, 13th Nov 2017
Netter hügeliger Platz mìt teilweise schönem Blick. Für ältere Leute Buggy empfehlenswert. Angebot 120 EUR für 2 Spieler u Buggy war für uns attraktiv.
Mark from United States
on Mon, 23rd Oct 2017
Picturesque club in the Hills
Too hilly to walk. Some greens and fairways could be in better shape. Interesting layout with some challenging holes.

No starters at the No. 1 holes, so golfers just tee off regardless of tee times.

Enjoyable Golf

Ben
on Sat, 21st Oct 2017
Castro Marim
Friendly and organised reception desk, enjoyed a good breakfast before play in the modern and spacious clubhouse. Played Guardinia and Grouse nines which we always seem to get (never the Atlantic). Some greens were showing signs of extreme wear but otherwise the course was in good condition, didn’t think Buggy would make the whole 18 and it would be a long walk without one. Very much enjoyed our day.
Glen from United Kingdom
on Thu, 19th Oct 2017
Great Course, worth the drive
Great looking course with some quite challenging holes,drove 50 minutes from villamoura but worth the drive , reasonably priced for 2 and a buggy, greens weren't in the best condition but still a good treck out.
Tim from United Kingdom
on Thu, 12th Oct 2017
Very disappointing visit.
Very disappointing round of golf, buggies were old and tired the course was in very bad condition considering this is the meant to be their main season, tee boxes very shabby and greens full of disease, overall a waste of money.
RAYMOND from United Kingdom
on Sun, 8th Oct 2017
Course ok but our original booking was changed.
We were allocated two of the three 9 hole courses - the Atlantic & Grouse. My son & I enjoyed playing the Atlantic as it was nicely tree-lined and contained some interesting holes. The Grouse was a bit too open and a bit boring or it may also be because of the slow play.

I was disappointed that our original tee-time was changed from 12.05 to 13.15, due to what they said was an 'administrative error' on their part, as it disrupted our plans slightly for later in the day. Annoyingly, when we collected our buggy from the caddy master, his list had a different player named for the 13.15 time suggesting it had been changed deliberately. Other than this, the staff were excellent nd we enjoyed the experience.

Ger from United States
on Wed, 4th Oct 2017
An excellant golf course, some very tricky holes. Well designed and lovely greens. Lovely clubhouse
vince Clarke from Portugal
on Sat, 30th Sep 2017
nice course but once again the condition of the greens let it down
Trevor from Portugal
on Tue, 5th Sep 2017
Excellent Course in a great setting. Great value. Club house one of the best I have been in.
Michael from Portugal
on Fri, 26th May 2017
Great track.

Up and down and up and down...on every fairway.

Greens were disappointing, though. Not in very good condition.

René Frydenlund from Denmark
on Sun, 14th May 2017
High quality golf course.
We played 18 out of 27 holes. Greens and fairways was well dressed and there were a great view from more or less all holes. Especially the view to The Spain border was amaising. Also the clubhouse and the service at the reception and in the restaurant was highly appriciated. We will come back.
Marc from Belgium
on Mon, 8th May 2017
Very good service,from the staf and from algarve golf.net
Annie from Portugal
on Sat, 29th Apr 2017
Great golf course
Very nice golf course with challenges. You need to take a buggy, it's not a walkable course. Tee offs and greens were in good shape.
Sidney from United Kingdom
on Wed, 26th Apr 2017
a windy day at castro marim
forth visit so no surprises as the day I played very windy club selection vital course in good condition as usual
Gitte from Portugal
on Wed, 12th Apr 2017
Great course
Great course - diffucult and exiting. The greens were not in top conditions - but - never the less, a good course
Charlie from Portugal
on Thu, 30th Mar 2017
Great scenery, shame about the state of the course
Played Atlantic-Grouse combination. Both courses were scenic hilly courses, tight but on the short side. Atlantic course was terribly scruffy whilst the Grouse course was in much better condition. Either the Club need to sack their Head Greenkeeper or give him a bigger budget to treat fairways and greens. The clubhouse was relatively luxurious suggesting the Management care more for the off course revenue than providing a well tended group of courses. Would visit again but may avoid the Atlantic 9. Didnt play the Gaudiano 9.
Michael from Austria
on Wed, 4th Jan 2017
Seasoned course , where you need to be straight, not long ...
Peter from Portugal
on Fri, 25th Nov 2016
My favourite
Lovely layout and breathtaking view. Good if you like some exercise and burn fat. If you don't want be sure you get a buggy
William from Portugal
on Tue, 1st Nov 2016
Castro Marim Groups
Greens were in good condition, fairways a little soft but ok to hit from. Buggy brakes needed attention and worth checking these before going out as some steep cart paths. All in all an enjoyable day.
JOHN from Ireland
on Tue, 25th Oct 2016
played friday 22/10/2016
course needs revamp fairways bare in places and weedy, tee boxes worn out and uneven, greens uncared for, diseased, ant covered, great views, long, but playable, buggy essential expected better
Leen from Portugal
on Sun, 23rd Oct 2016
Beautiful course with nice views!
Rik van Cauter from Belgium
on Tue, 18th Oct 2016
casa ninho de passarinho
Guadiana course : greens not so good with brown stips but nice short course.

Atlantic course : very good greens and very short challenging course.

Fiona from Portugal
on Mon, 10th Oct 2016
Nice course but be prepared to take all day...
Nice course but VERY slow pace of play. We were a 2 ball and it took us 5 hours! We lost the will to live having to wait to hit every single shot. Couldn't wait to get off the course in the end, completely spoiled the experience for us, shame.
Douglas from Portugal
on Sat, 8th Oct 2016
Great round on a challenging but fun course - fast greens and great views - will return for sure
Theo Van Solkema from Portugal
on Fri, 30th Sep 2016
Great
Great views, wonderfully maintained, great service and great weather !!!
Marinus from Portugal
on Mon, 26th Sep 2016
very good and well maintained coursd
Very challanging course. Greens very fast. Wide and good maintained fairways
Ron from United Kingdom
on Mon, 26th Sep 2016
Hard but fair
A tough course, where errant drives or approach shots received due penalty. The greens, apart from a couple early in our round on the Grouse, which were very dry, were receptive and putted well being true and even paced. I didn't play well, but that didn't detract from a totally enjoyable round on a beautiful course.
Remi
on Tue, 21st Jun 2016
Nice course but poor facilities

40min away from vilamoura

Sidney from United Kingdom
on Thu, 14th Apr 2016
I have played benamor and castro marim a few times before. Both are in good condition considering lack of water in the area both clubhouses and staff maintain high standards.would give both courses a 4 star rating will definitely recommend both courses looking forward to my next trip regards sid stuart
Guy
on Mon, 22nd Feb 2016
Castro Marim
I played Castro Marim with my son. The course was one of few to offer junior rate but still fairly expensive but better than many. We really enjoyed the Grouse Course and the Atlantic course was more difficult. Can be a problem when switching between the 9 hole courses. Still recommended and pleasant setting to play golf.

Golf Course

Post Review

To post a review, score or a notice on Castro Marim Golf page's or to connect with other Castro Marim Golf golfers, please log in to your account or sign up using Google or Facebook.
Browse…
Browse…
Reservations
Credit Cards are only debited after we block the tee times at a course. In the event a tee time is no longer available, your credit card will not be debited.
Algarve Golf uses cookies.